(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Oops.. sorry abt the straw part. Forgot abt it..

I really have no idea how to train them.. Ariene had no problems with straws since the first time I let her try. Her only problem then was she sucked too much water and tended to choke on the water. Like u said, I think most breastfed babies don't have a problem with sucking. I was thinking, how about you show your boy how to suck in a very exaggerated manner and let him imitate? That's how I taught Ariene how to chew big pieces of food. I do a very exaggerated show of chewing motion.

since we are at the topic for schools. is another one going to send their little ones to ACS Junior. Edgar will be going there coz hb is old boy. just wondering if any baby here is going there as well. :p

mamapanda

haha, i do that too! maybe that's why he thinks that anything that's in the mouth is for chewing. hahaa.

celine
prob mine lor. either ACSJ or ACSP. My hb is an old boy too. Is there any difference whether you entered only from sec onwards or must be from pri too? coz my hb only went in from sec onwards.

Tracy,

I was from NYGH and I didn't keep long hair till I went to JC. During my JC2 days, I voluntarily cut my hair short. Realised that long hair is so troublesome in our hot climate. : )

Mamapanda,
Charmaine has the same problems with straws! She has no problems sucking from it but I think she usually suck a lot then try to swallow all at one go then choke. Is this a common problem with BF babies?
CL,
Hmm.. I wonder if old gals from NYGH is also eligible for the alumni phrase in Nanyang pri? I think the alumni association is the same....

Cookie,
Don't worry so much - it could turn out fine as the rest of the mummies mentioned, the likelihood of false alarm for such tests is high.

Mashybrainz

Happy to meet you today. Will help you check with my colleage on ACS since her 2 boys are there. Are you all talking about the one in bukit timah ?

SL,
I will ask my fren and let you know about the Nanyang Alumni.

Mamapanda
Now I must work hard and hope I strike for toto on thur. Will buy myself a car then ha ha sure no problem to rotate on ferry. Then ask SY to move to west too. I feel school bus not safe for gals. I am a gal whereby my dad ferry me to and fro school till university years. So I will do the same for my kids.

chickenlittle
Haha.. I also striving to strike Toto but I'll be buying myself a car whether or not I strike. Once I start work in NTU, its tough not to have a car cuz its so far! I'm targetting cars +-40K range. Actually my hb saw a COE BMW 320 going for 32k in a really good condition but its manual and its 2L and the road tax kills so I rejected it. So, my hb suggested PI Honda Fit instead. Well, still looking around. Can consider a 2nd hand G9 too.

CL

Is it too early to talk about pri sch now? by then also dunno what will happen. Anyway, my colleague who sent her kid to ACPS said that it's better as it's made up of children from less well-to-do families and thus had a less snobbish factor in it. Also has a very good principal.

For me it's just to save the hassle of queueing for schools since if in alumni, it's more or less a sure in.

wah, your dad very bao bei you leh.
I didn't have such fu qi. From pri sch already take sch bus.

Mashy
I know abt long names.. so have supershort middle name... as standby...

Celine
Was planning to send my boi boi to ACS junior.. but no affiliation (cos hubby not local) so must start planning now.. either by doing volunteer work or saving money for a large donation

MamaPanda,
Thanks a lot for the receipe! Will try that for JW. Hopefully meal time will be more enjoyable for him!

MamaChan,
Really hope Daren gets well soon. It sounds really hard for him at the PD

Cookie,
I am not sure what a triple test is. but hope your test results turn out ok. Take care and don't worry too much

I kaypo and put the recipes posted by MamaPanda and MamaChan into a shared folder in the yahoo group under recipes so that it will be easier for all to access it since the thread is moving so fast.

Hi Mummies;

Happy Chinese New year!

It's been ages since my last post. Will read the forum from time to time but very lazy to post because this thread moves too fast! am currently back in SG with my boy for a 3 months holiday and will be flying back to London next month.

Hi Cookie;

I read your post about your triple test result with a sinking heart =( I'm currently 16 weeks pregnant and can relate to how you feel.

There is a MTB in the Aug 2007 thread who had less than satisfactory result for her triple test. She seeked opinion from a 2nd gynae and gynae assured her results are alright and there's no need to do an amniocentesis. I hope this will bring you some comfort. Meanwhile am keeping my fingers crossed for your amniocentesis test results.

SH,
Would you like me to write a more presentable form of the recipes for you to post in yahoo group? What I posted are abit messy without formatting cuz I wanted to keep the posting short..

Re: Recipes

My mum taught me a stew-ish sort of meat/veggie porridge that Rory loves. It smells greats even i feel like eating it. It's very simple:

Lightly fry some finely chopped shallots in a knob of unsalted butter. Add a little bit of flour, fry further and then proceed to add some water or homemade stock.

Pour this mixture into a slow cooker with chopped potatoes, chopped carrots, chopped brocolli and some rice. We put whole pieces of chicken,pork, or beef in the porridge to further enhance the flavour of porridge (not for eating). When porridge is ready, you can also add finely minced meat of your choice if u want to bulk it up.

I normally just agar agar the amount of ingredients to use.

With the use of shallots and meat, porridge is naturally tasty.

Enjoy!

ACPS and ACJS
My bro was from ACJS. My father, my grandfather, my cousins and my uncles are all from ACS too. I had thought ACJS is the less snobbish school compared to ACPS?

CassCL,
What do u do with the whole pieces of meat you place into the porridge after cooking (you mentioned its not for eating)? Do u throw it away? Maybe u can try using bones or scallops for taste instead? I tried cooking porridge in slow cooker with scallops for my dad when he was hospitalised last week and I scooped some out for Ariene to eat. In the end, she ate more than 1/2 of what I had cooked and my dad had to eat less
Guess I added too much scallops and the porridge was savoury tasting after adding the scallops.

Mamapanda;

Ya lor, throw away. I've never seen bones in the supermkt we frequent in london, i think have to buy a whole chicken to get the bones! My mum will use bones since easily obtainable in mkts here.

I don't use scallops because Rory's right ankle can get very itchy and dry, has eczema like his dad. If im not wrong, scallops might worsen the condition.

Your Ariene sure has a good appetite

Cookie,

Pls dun worry too much ok..like the rest of the mummies mentioned..most of them are false alarms.

Cass,

Welcome Back! Hope you are enjoying your stay here

Tabbs,

We've decided to name baby Leroy. However, as I am into numerology, I will need to wait for his birthdate then see if I need to add in a middle name..

Cass,
Yeah, Ariene has a huge appetite. Once she suffered from indigestion and vomitted over 7 times in 2 hours. When we sent her to Mt A A&E and told the doc she had 1 bowl of porridge, half an avocado and 150ml milk for dinner, he almost fainted and said that's too much for a 10m old baby. But, that's how much she usually eats.. only that we don't give her avocado for dinner now cuz its harder to digest. Instead, we give her other fruits like rock melon(her favourite), papaya, pear, sweet orange etc. When my relatives see how much fruits she eats, they always commen that I feed her too much fruits but, even after eating 1 whole wedge of rock melon or half a huge Valencia orange, she'll still want more!

Funny thing is, despite the amount she eats, she's still quite small sized, just keeps growing taller . Now, her weight is only between 8.5 - 8.8kg but she's 78cm tall.

Hey mummies, need your advise. If money is not a problem, will you girls choose to stay home to look after baby or go out to work still?

I'm stumped- previously was really thinking that it will be good to go out and work cos I figured that I'll be independent in a way and probably get a better social life. But now that the job seem imminent, I kinda am getting cold feet. Dunno if Im making the right decision especially when baby is still in the formative years. Thinking of who I can trust regarding baby's meals, discipline, welfare etc. Oh dear...

mamachan,

i totally know how you feel coz when elijah was 3 mths we brought him to kkh and they nub his cry breaks my heart.. but it doesn't work on him.. so very ke lian coz now he is on the puff..

sandra,

i am feeling just like you..especially when my mil keep bugging me to work but there is no one i can trust...

sandra,
I'd rather stay at home and watch my girl grow. Really feeling the financial stress for the last 8 months since I switched to part time teaching. I'm really going to miss all the time and luxury of watching my girl grow once I revert back to a 8-5 job.

sandra, rena, same here... Though money is not a problem, and I am really having lots of fun watching baby grow, I'm beginning to feel I need to get my brain working again. I don't have anyone who can help to look after baby if I work, that's why need to hire a good maid and monitor for a few months to see if can leave baby with maid at home alone. I will really miss being with her 24 hrs a day but I feel the need to work for personal reasons...

Cookie,
Dont worry. It's probably a false alarm. I had a falsm alarm too when preggers with Keenan and I also freaked out big time.

Tabbs,
OMG! Tabitha Kay - Thaddeus Jay... that is so so so cute! I'm still at the selection process.

Tabbs
Yah, Daren is sick again, after 3 months of being well after withdrawing him from IFC. hai...I guess it was abit hard with the CNY period around. Seems like alot of pple fell sick after CNY too. But other than that, he's still his usual active self, running around at home, playing basketball with the new toy rack I got him.

Neubilizing
I brought Daren back tonight to be neubilized again. My hb came with me this time and held him on his lap, Daren just cried and cried thru out. Heart breaking sight. PD weighed him to calculate the amount of medication to give him. Daren is now 11.8 kg!!!!

sandra/rena/valerie
As of now, am in the midst of settling with my HR side to convert to Part-time work. Hope to spend as much time with Daren as possible also. Their 1st few years till they start attending school are really precious moments right now. Maybe can consider part-time work?

Cl,Mamapanda,SL
i checked with the NY alumni before. the difference is that if u r in alumni u will be in phase 2A1. if not u will be in phase 2A2. not sure whether it is a lot of difference.

anyway we only need to join the alumni one year before the registration. it costs $1k to join the alumni!

hee, good that JH will have so many classmates next time. that's one of the reasons why i m planning to move house

mamachan
oh, sounds really bad. the last time when JH had a bad cough, he kept throwing up his milk. really scary.

Daren is quite a big boy. hope he gets better soon!

how do u convert to part time work? i m trying to find part time work. but dunno how to find. i brought the topic up to my boss and if i can't find part time work in my current co, i will tender and look elsewhere.

mamapanda
the recipes sound so delicious

re straw drinking
JH also can't use straw. he is fine with drinking water from bottle but i want to start him on cup. so maybe got to skip the straw stage and go straight to cup

tracy
yeah man, i very scared JH will be stuck to the pacifier till dunno when!! just now before he slept i tried to act blur and not give him his pacifier but he kept whining...

cookie
dun worry too much. we will pray for you. do update us...

CL
wow your dad ferry u all the way? pri sch i take sch bus, then sec sch i take sch bus. only in JC my dad ferried me and in U started driving.

yup, once i move to west, we can take turns to ferry our kids.

sandra, rena, val
if i have a choice now, i will choose to stop working and look after JH and watch him grow. workload can be unpredictable at times. even if i leave on time from work, sometimes the stress and commuting can tire me out and i dun do much with JH when i reach home. i try my best to use whatever energy i have left for him but i stlil feel that it is not enough. becos of my heavy workload, i m considering working part time or stop working for a period of time for JH.

just sharing my thoughts. i really envy those who can be SAHM. when i told my hb i want to work part time, he jsut say he won't be able to afford that. felt a bit discouraged at hearing that but i will still go ahead with my plans.

RE: Names for No.2
Haha.. actually hb and me already have names in our mind.
Boy will be James and Girl will be Jermaine.
We still want both our initials to appear in our PRODUCT ! That's why we have <font color="ff0000">J</font>a<font color="ff0000">M</font>ie !

Still too early to say as our plant will only start in Sep 2007. Hahaha...

Was feeling very sick yesterday due to stomach flu. had been vomiting the whole day..really cant I imagine how I went thru my morning sickness... Worst of all, got a bad headache. HB sent me to MILs house to rest instead of going home as he knew that I cant have any rest if I go home with my 2 boys around. So touch with my mil that she cooked me porridge and bird nest yesterday. But too bad keep vomiting. cant take the bird nest, otherwise will be wasted.

Mamachan,
I jus sent Meg to PD last night too cos she had fever of 40deg. I almost fainted when I saw my thermometer. She's now 10.45kg. Doc inserted suppository and the fever dropped immed. She's got the runny nose and cough with phlegm. Very sian. The doc said her throat has some tiny white spots but no other signs of HFMD. So we're jus monitoring to see if she gets well by Friday.

Hope Daren is feeling better and slept well after the neubilizing last night.

Babylon,
uh oh...you feeling better today already? Stomach flu is no joke.

Re: Names for #2
hmm..never tot of naming our kids with any link to our names or even any link between the kids. :p I jus name based on feeling. Very random. Maybe cos my sis and I were named this way too. heehee..

Good morning mummies! I've not logged on for weeks and sooo many postings i can't catch up!

Really need all your advice on my desperate situation here that really puts me in a dilemma...

Situation:
Janelle needs to be hugged to sleep (nap or night-time) and it's driving me nuts!! She actually doesn't need to be rocked to sleep but as long as i'm hugging her, she's happy. BUT, the problem is - the moment i put her down when she's asleep, she'll wake up crying to be hugged!! So i can spend many hours in 1 day just trying to hug/carry her to sleep (considering 2 day naps + night sleep)!!
And only i can carry her - she doesn't want daddy to carry her. We tried letting him carry her to sleep and close her room door behind me, but she'd still be wailing for me to carry.
Also, she wakes up once in the middle of the night and we have developed this bad habit of just carrying her over to sleep between us on our bed coz we're usually too tired to spend more than 1 hour in her room trying to rock her back to sleep. So now she's used to the idea that we'll carry her when she cries in the middle of the nite, plus that we'll bring her to our bed.

Problems with this situation:
1) I'm getting back ache and arm-ache from carrying her for so long.
2) Extremely time-consuming for me. Leaves me with little time to do anything else!
3) Every night my hubby will be squeezed out of the bed and will have to sleep on the sofa (my girl is a very 'messy' sleeper).
4) Both hb and i end up being tired in the morning. Especially for me - coz when i bring her to our bed in the middle of the nite, she still takes some time to go to sleep and she'll hug me, lie on top of me, caress my face, hair, etc etc before falling asleep. So with me being a light sleeper, it means that i am also kept awake by her 'harrassing' till she goes to sleep (which sometimes can take up to 1.5 hrs).

Attempted Solution:
Tried the cry-it-out method (recommended by Sleep Sense for babies above 1 yr old) last night but it was too painful. She cried and screamed and jumped in her cot for 1 hour before falling asleep.

To solve waking up in the middle of the night, Sleep Sense recommends letting them cry for 10 mins if they wake up in the middle of the nite. And Janelle cried for 11 mins and was fully awake and extremely angry by the time i attended to her. In the end i felt so guilty i brought her to our bed to sleep again!

Now my Dilemma / Question is:
Should i continue with the cry-it-out method??
If not, how can i deal with this "hug-me-to-sleep" problem??

Honestly, i feel like wavering with regards to this cry-it-out method coz i feel that Janelle's a little different. She just wants the reassuring hug and i feel really cruel letting her cry on her own
But then again, if i were to keep hugging her, she will (and already has) grow dependent on it to sleep and it really takes up my time and energy.

Appreciate your advice!!

Hi Durianlover,

i m facing the same problem with you..hug-me-to-sleep. Damien needs to be hug and pat to sleep everynite. Now we co-sleep together. At first we used to put him on the cot..but he slept till around 12am..started crying..so no choice, we carried him to sleep with us. He can sleep till 2-3 am in the morning..wake up and need to hug and pat to sleep. He is also such a light sleeper that i can't even leave the room. The moment i opened the door, he will wake up and start cying he does not see me around.

Green Eye Monster Damien
Damien was such a green eye monster that he dun allow me to hug or carry my elder boy. He will pushed duncan away if he see me carried carried Duncan.

Tracy,
feeling much more better today..lucky that i have good rest yesterday.

Tracy - wow! did your MIL not detect the initial temperature rise? 40degree wld have freaked me out too... the highest i saw on celeste's thermo is 39.6, aldy sent me in buckets of tears... hope Meg gets well soon, its reali not easy for you too.. take care!!!

mamachan - hope daren is sleeping better last nite after the neubulising... poor boi,pray that he will get well soon too... *sayang sayang*

cookie - all the best for your amino results... i too heard of so many cases where the positives are false... be hopeful!

durianlover - can sit beside her while placing her in the cot to roll? let her play until she is tired and then get her in the sleepy mode? when i first started to do it cos i was so tired from carrying her in my arms ( i dun wan muscle arms! ), i sat beside and lay her in the roll and play til she falls asleep... the first nite,it took bout 1hour before KO. but it got shorter and shorter. just on a dim light will do. if you are worried that she will stil cry for you,mabbie get HB to do it? now tat celeste is used to her cot rolling,she doesnt want me to carry her to sleep ,she will point at her bed!

mashybrainz,
i understand that old boy gotta mean that enrolment is in pri 1. If sec school, it's not considered. that's what I heard lah. but I'm not sure if it defers from school to school.

durianlover,
sorry can't help u much on this, coz edgar needs to be rocked to sleep too. but if he wakes up in the middle of the nite, i juz latch him on and he will be in la-la in a matter of minutes. when he used to wake up several times a nite, i tried the cry-it-out method for 2 nites. i couldn't continue with it coz it was too traumatizing for both me and him. he could go on crying for hours. so we decided that method is not for us. i'm glad now he only wakes up at most once at nite if at all.

some suggestions here: maybe you can try giving her milk or water when she wakes up at nite? or use sarong? pacifier? give her a comfort pillow/soft toy?

Tracy,
megan getting better. I did experience before when damien got fever up to 40.4 degree. Me was total freaked out.

Can i know how do you all measure temperature for your bb.

Normally i will placed the thomometer underarm. I also got the ear type but found it not so accurate.

durianlover
seems like the cry-it-out method is working for Janelle. Coz you mentioned that she'll cry, scream and jump in her cot for 1 hour before falling asleep? It's working. When I used that method on Daren, took about 45 min. At this age, have to do it, if not really affect your quality of life for you and hb and not to mention, when we're so tired out, we can't give the best to our toddlers.
At this age, they will be more persistant in getting their way and some can actually cry for longer than 1 hour. Maybe you can continue to try for tonight and tomorrow night. Normally, after 3 nights, they will get the idea of falling asleep on their own. Now, Daren has got his bed friends to sleep with him, namely his beloved white seal stuff toy, lion stuff toy and teddy bear. He would go around to sayang them in his cot before rolling himself silly to sleep.

I can understand how painful it can get to hear them cry, but if you are fatiqued at the end making her sleep and cannot give her your best energy the next day, it might cause you to snap one day at Janelle. Jia You!

Daren is getting better
Thanks to all you mummies for your love and well-wishes. Daren is definitely much better after yesterday evening's neubilizing. He slept thru from 11pm all the way till 8am! He only woke up once for his pacifier and went right back to sleep after that. He didn't cough during his sleep, so that's pretty good. But the PD advised to bring him back tonight for one more dose of neubilizing. Thanks once again for your prayers!

durianlover
Oh yah, before letting her go to bed, just hug Janelle and assure her by whispering into her ear that "mummy loves you and this is for your own good. Mummy will see you in the morning and we'll have more good times together when we sleep well, ok?" than just kiss her and put her in the cot. Make sure that the cot's sliding barrier is safely secured. and tell Janelle "Night night" and leave the room.

It seems positive that the cry-it-out method will work as Janelle took 1 hour to sleep. I know some friends' babies took 2 hours or more and by then, the parents gave in, but it didn't help as they kept going in every 5 min to reassure them as their babies bout as old as ours and boy are they persistent.

babylon,
i use the ear thermometer. my fren's IFC uses this thermometer that can measure temp from the ear or just placing it on the back of the ear. She says it's really good. Last time we saw it at baby hypermarket.

Durianlover,
hmm...last time Meg also needs to be carried by me to sleep. Then one day, she just decided she doesn't wanna be carried anymore. If she falls asleep in the car, we only need to trsf her to her cot. If not, she will only need me to pat her with her lying in her cot.

maybe you wanna try the cry out method for another 2nights? Sounds like it may work. 1hr sounds short to us, but i'm sure it's like an eternity to you. Persevere..for the best of everyone.

Mamachan,
At least Daren sayangs his little bed friends. Meg has Elmo, Eeyore, teddy bear, ikea heart and a rooster as her bed friends. She doesn't sayang them, instead she 'murders' them by throwing them out of her cot and 'eats' Elmo's eye. Oh ya, you know Elmo's eyes are those hard round ones? When she throws Elmo and it hits me....ouch!!

mamachan,
glad to hear tat daren's better already. The neublizer quite effective.

babylon and durianlover,
we used to carry and rock caleb to sleep as well. But we found that he had problems going back to sleep when he wakes up in the night. Hence we had to carry and pat him in the middle of the nite. Really very tiring.

But now, Caleb is able to fall asleep on his own areadi. He will roll himself on his bed. I find that with this change, both HB and me and BB is getting sufficient sleep.

mamapanda

haha, maybe i got the 2 schools mixed up. :p

Tracy
gosh, that's very high. I panicked too when my boy got 39 degrees fever. u must be so worried.

durianlover
sorry, can't help u on that. whenever my boy wakes up and cries at night, we'll feed him. If he's still crying after that, then we'll bring him over to co sleep with us. On good days, he'll sleep through without waking.

Tracy
Hahahaha. Daren also do throw out his bed friends out of the cot at times, when he wants our attention, including his pacifier!! Then he would cry when those will not be retrieved coz no one else in the room with him. When we return to his room to pass him bacl the "friends" and pacifier, he does it again in our presence! *faintz*

durianlover,
it's really up to you how comfortable you are with the cry it out method. i believe it works for some babies but not all. i oso believe that there may be adverse effects on the babies's emotional health if it's not for him/her.

when i tried the method on edgar, he cried for more than 2 hours and broke out into cold sweat. when i went into the room to console him, he was totally inconsolable. he cried till he was all wet from tears and sweat and hicupping. it's not a sight many mummies can bear to see. but i was tough enough to actually leave the room coz i was pretty determined at that time. but after another few returns to the room, he was still the same. he was practically sitting in the cot, wailing his lungs out and sobbing in between, juz waiting for me to return to the room. totally unbearable for me. i tot he would sleep after 2 over hours of crying but i was so wrong. the 2nd night was the same, if not worst. so i told myself, forget it, that method is not for us. as the PD told me, it's a matter of time our little one learn how to soothe themselves to sleep
i believe too much intense crying is not good. harmful to his physical and emotional health. i guess at the end of the day, mummies knows best what to do.

god's child,
the fever came on rather suddenly. When i reached MIL's, Meg was still fine. Then just suddenly about 45mins later, the fever came.

I think maybe Meg is like me. When I get the fever, it's always 39deg and above.

Re:Wolfberries
oh ya, wanna ask you mummies, is wolfberry 'heaty' or 'liang'? Cos my mum and I thinks its 'heaty' while MIL says 'liang'. Previously my mum asked me to put some wolfberries into hot water and drink every morning, i fell sick.

So last week when i saw my MIL put many wolfberries into Meg's porridge, I told her it's heaty. She says not. So i'm wondering whether Meg's fever came about becos of the wolfberries, like me.

Mamachan/Tracy - Hope that Daren & Meg get well soon!

Maids: Last yr, my fren & I got a maid each. She got herself her Filipino while I got myself an Indon one. I deduce it's luck of the draw at the end. I didn't get to interview mine thru webcam cos it was not working & I needed one almost immed & she was available. I just looked at her biodata & picked her out aft the agency recommended her as most ideal one.

We got to interact with my fren's Filipin one because she was at the agency waiting to be employed. She was pleasant & was able to communicate well in order to look aft my 7-yr old God-dau.

After 6 months, I must say that I am still rather happy with mine. it took us a while to adjust to each other & well, I must say she has improved a lot. We treat her well too in terms of food, lodging, outings & rewarding her. There are times that she is forgetful & will do wrong thing but then she will compensate by bucking up after that.

My fren is also nice to hers but hers is staring to give problems. So I believe it's luck of the draw at the end of the day. For those who are getting one, I wish that you all will get a good one!

Durianlover,
I told my gal is nite time, she hav to sleep, daddy, mummy got to sleep, baby sleep already (she loves baby), bird no longer chirp chirp cos they sleep already etc etc. She got the msg, roll for less then 5mins & off to her wonderland till next morning. Works very well.

Upset:

Last evening, was at United Sq Toys R Us. There was a little boy who was abt 1/2 head taller than Cephas who walked into the same aisle as us. Cephas, being the friendly & sociable one, looked at him & smiled. No reaction from boy & mother who were beside us. So we moved on to other aisles. After a while, I went to see other things while HB was with Cephas. When I turned around, I saw HB carrying Cephas & walking twds us. I asked him "What happened?". HB told me that the same boy & his mother came along. Cephas went near him & tapped him on the shoulders & was talking baby language with him. The boy pushed Cephas away & the mum didn't say anything. As a result, HB decided to carry Cephas away. I got upset because if Cephas pushed another child in my presence, I wld stop my child & say something plus apologise to the other child & his parent. Quite maddening when I think about it!

tracy

Wolfberries are heaty. It's used by pp in winter to 'bu'. So you're right about it.

Like u said, it could really be that. I remember I took LingZhi (also heaty) with my hb. I had fever the very next day. Like u, I'm also heaty based, so have to drink more chrysathemum etc to keep cool.

Thanks mummies for your advise. The job will most likely encompass travelling and long hours. I'm really mixed up cos it's something that I love to do yet I really can't bear to dump sarah to someone else right now. Even if I get a maid, I'll need at least a couple of months to train her and to trust her. But the job might have to start immediately. The funny thing was I didnt actively seek out the job. It was my ex-boss who called me up out of the blue. It has been 5 years since I left... Now very vexed...

My hubby also gave me mixed signals- on one hand he is supportive of me to go and work for the sake of my social well-being, but on the other hand, he says that I have to work from 9-5 only. Says my first priority is Sarah and that he doesn't want me to travel overseas... I feel really torn.

SY, I have a friend who can fixed u up with part time work. She says her company got alot of part time workers (mostly fellow mommies).

Sandra, have u considered putting sarah in childcare? for me, even thou i have my dad and maid to take care of edgar, i'm still considering putting edgar in childcare coz i find that he really does nothing at home. i'd rather he go to childcare. at least there, he gotta mix around and learn some stuff.

Thanks for all your advice! Really appreciate it!
The thing is - i've tried all those methods suggested. Yesterday, when i was determined to try the cry-it-out method, i even prepared Janelle the whole day, telling her she's a big and good girl, will sleep by herself the whole night, etc etc. And kept reassuring her that mummy loves her, hugged her, kissed her, etc, but the moment i put her down on her cot, she'd scream for me to hug her!! In fact, last nite, she was contented standing in her cot hugging me for a full 5 minutes. And i was getting tired hugging her in that position so i actually carried her to hug her for another 15 minutes before putting her down to sleep on her own. Of course, she then screamed for me to hug her but i left the room and there she cried for 1 hour.

Going in to check on her after 5 or 10 minutes doesn't help pacify Janelle at all. In fact, she becomes more frantic that i come in and leave the room without carrying her!

As for sitting beside her cot, it doesn't work. She'll stand up and jump and raise both arms wanting me to hug/carry her.

It's really strange that she's going thru this difficult phase coz last time she was really easy to put to bed! I just had to put her in her cot, kiss goodnite, and she'd roll around for 5 or 10 mins and go to sleep. So i'm not sure if it's now just an insecure phase that she's going thru that she needs me to hug her?!

Mamachan,
Hmm i thought 1 hour is really long for her to be crying so was pretty surprised when u said that if she cries for 1 hr means it's working!

celine,
Giving her water / milk / soft toy / pacifier doesn't help. She only wants to be HUGGED! *faint*

Cry-To-Sleep Method

I know alot of mummies on this thread advocates the cry-it-out method. I've tried it before and like celine, I also do not think it works as sarah is left more traumatised than Ive ever seen her.

I read a book by Dr William Sears & Martha Sears and it actually frowns upon that method. Let me quote it- " Beware of sleep trainers who package directions for getting babies and children not to bother parents at night. They are all variations of the same tired theme: Let your baby cry it out. Use caution about succumbing to this advertised quick-fix-cry-it-out method. It not only creates a distance between parent and child, but it keeps you from finding out why your baby is restless and what you can do about it. Every situation is unique , and there are no easy answers to complex sleep problems. We have observed that parents who insensitively persist in using the cry-it-out method are more likely to have more problems disciplining their children.

Children should acquire healthy attitudes about sleeping- and about life- in the first two years. If the infant has been nursed to sleep at the mother's breasts or parented to sleep in the caregiver's arms, the child develops the attitude that sleep is a pleasant state to enter. If the infant sleeps close to the parents and the parents sensitively respond to the crying baby during night waking, the infant learns that sleep is a secure state to remain in. So, night time attachment parenting lays the foundation for healthy sleep attitudes."