(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SH
Chicken alphabet soup
Cook the Alphabet pasta according to manufacturer recommendation without the salt and oil. In another pot, boil 3/4 pot of water with the bones of 1 chicken, 1 small piece of ginger and 3 cloves of garlic (there'll be enough soup for 2 adults and your baby here). For more taste, add 2 tsp soy beans and 2 tbsp of ikan bilis. (Alternatively, you can add some toasted ikan bilis powder I posted on SUnday). Boil for at least 30min or until the water level has reduced to 1/2 pot. Add in chicken breast or chicken thigh meat and boil until cooked. Remove from flame and shred the meat (you'll need to shred your baby's portion finer). Add baby's portion of vegetables in the soup and chop into fine pieces when cooked. Pour vegetable and soup into the bowl containing the pasta and serve when cooled. You can add salt and pepper to the remaining soup for yourself and your husband to eat.

Pasta
To make the tomato sauce, cook 1 large tomato in a pot of boiling water until softened. Plunge tomato into a bowl of cold water (iced if possible). The skin should be easy to remove now. Mash the skinned tomato, removing the seeds. Chop 1 small clove garlic and 1/8 med yellow onion finely (alternatively, use leek). Melt about a small knob of unsalted butter in a small saucepan (I bought a mini saucepan specially for cooking Ariene's food cuz the portion is so small). Sautee the onion and garlic (or leek) until softened. Add in the mashed tomato and 1 tsp of tomato sauce (optional, for stronger taste). Add a small amount of plain boiled water if the sauce is too dry. Add cheese to the sauce and add in the cooked pasta. Off fire and stir until cheese has melted.

Fish in cheese sauce
Mine tend to be abit runny cuz I don't add flour to thicken the sauce. If u want the mixture alittle thickened, add 1tsp corn starch mixture.

Melt some unsalted butter in the saucepan under very low heat. Add in 100-150ml milk (I use EBM) and stir. (Add in corn starch and stir to a smooth consistency). Add in 1 wedge of roughly cut-up cheese or shredded parmesan cheese. Stir vigourously until cheese has melted. Pour over steamed de-boned fish (or u can just cook the fish in the sauce but it'll break up into small bits). I've tried Cod fish, salmon and threadfin and they taste great. You can also use this cheese sauce with steamed brocoli and cauliflower and carrots or mix both together for a more complete meal.

Chicken, leek and butternut squash (My fave homemade instant baby food)
Melt 30-50g butter in saucepan. Sautee chopped leek (or 1/4 large yellow onion) until soft and slightly browned. Add 150g diced or finely chopped chicken thigh (or breast) and fry until chicken is almost cooked. Add in 14 cubes of butternut squash (I freeze all my steamed butternut squash into freezer cubes). Add in suitable amount of liquid (plain water or milk, abt 50-100ml, depending how dry your mixture is) and stir to even out ingredients. Cover and cook for 5 min under low fire, stirring ocassionally to prevent burns on the bottom. Transfer to blender and blend food to a puree. Can be kept frozen for up to 3 months.

Hmm, I don't buy anything off the shelf for my girl at all. All her foods are home made and I don't use any salt or sugar for her foods.

RE: maid

i have one on hand which i am suppose to engage but due to her age i can only engage her services only in nov. but it is too late for me so i have found another one.. this one is coming 23 only in nov but she has 1 year experiece in child care and has nursing aid certificate she is also a degree holder.. if any one would like , please pm me ok.. she is from mynmar.. they are usually honest and simple but of course you will have to guide them in terms of house work..

Thinks for sharing the recepi...

I remember someone mentioned mamachan's beef stew...can someone paste here again?
Sorry really no time to go thru the archive...paisey paisey

chicken little
My hb is also from Nanyang Pri and he also wants to send Ariene there

KC groove dance
Ariene likes the dance. She'll tap tap tap her feet and clap clap clap her hands whenever she sees it. She tried doing the rest of the movements like the aeroplane but she'll fall down. Guess the rest of the steps are too cheem for her now. Haha

Mamachan, thanks for your pm and sms. I'll call her within this week. Oh dear, poor Daren! Hope he will recover soon! Really heartbreaking to see them cry when they're suffering...

Sandra, your husband doesn't look deadpan to me leh... Hehee... Wah, your friend's maid really too much, using the law to her advantage. Is she highly educated?

I guess it's really down to luck too. All the good maids I have experienced with are philipinos, that's why I got a good impression of them. Will have to pray hard for a good one. I have been really hesitant on hiring one but thinking of going back to work before end of this year and prob will try for #2 after that. Hubby is the one who keeps bugging me to hire one because we are always so exhausted by end of the day. Haiz...

cookie, I've also heard most of the cases tend to be false alarms. So, don't worry too much ok?

Mamapanda, your recipes sound so delicious. I've tried cheese sauce with broccoli and cauliflower long ago but kirsten didn't like it. Maybe I'll try again.

mamapanda
What kind of cheese you use?
The optional tomatoe sauce.. is the same as what adult ate?
Have u add any meat in your paste to feed you baby yet?

Re: Fussy Eater
Kae has always been a fussy eater... when at one stage she is more receptive to her porridge. Seems like recently, alike a few baby here.. the fussy eater in her is back again...aaaggrrhhh

feeling her porridge is really a challeange and also depend on her mood.. and good days she will eat more, on bad days feeding her the same porridge which she previously accept... she will refused after 1st mouth.

There was one nite I used soy bean and ikan bilis to boil soup and I over do it. the soup turn out to be saltish.. I cook porrige with it anyway.. and Kaelyn was VERY keen with the porridge. Din feed her all anyway cos HB still find it's too saltish to feed her.. end up feed cereal.

I wonder if Kae is craving for more taste now..

SY
After the "intensive" visits during CNY, he started having funny nose which we thought could be due to on the night of day 1 where he cried until very ke lian at bedtime as he was so tired out ( he only had 2 naps 1/2 hour each time). By Thursday, his nose was still running like a tap so I got my hb to bring him to the PD on last Friday morning, where he started coughing a little. Now his cough is really bad, each time he sleeps, you can hear the phlegm stuck in his chest/throat. This morning he puked out his milk and my maid informed me that the phlegm in the milk was yellow, so had to bring him back to the PD. The PD listened to his lungs and said that alot of phlegm is trapped and he recommended to neubilize so that the medicine could get directly into his lungs faster.
He mentioned that in this case of really bad cough, best to neubilize one more time and the best time to catch that hour is aroun 7 - 8pm, and he assured that I'll find that Daren would sleep better tonight. *cross fingers*

No more CNY visits for me and my family!!!!

cookie
*pat pat* don't be too worried k. I'm sure that your bb will be healthy and nothing will be wrong. Which gynae you went to? What the clinic nurse say that it's quite true that usually higher than normal triple tests are most of the times false alarms, but most gynaes will do more like amniocentesis or CVS (at early stage of pregnancy) to rule out anything. You'll have to wait about 14 days for results. I used to work in the pre-natal cytogenetics lab dealing with culturing all these. Have you known the gender of your bb yet? If not, you'll be able to find out also thru the amniocentesis test. Will keep u in prayer

Hi May
thanks for the tip. yap, I got big bottles of non-toxic paints n mahjong paper. hm, must go and look for old clothes now.

Hi Sandra, went thru' the car manual... nothing to switch off air-bag :<

Hi CL/SY

I hear Nanyang pri is good and very hot... need to do 80 hrs of PV. So if can get in, pls do so... for NC pri, my nephews are in it. Was just discussing this with my SIL over the weekend. She said it was easy to get in 6 yrs ago when it just moved, now it's pretty difficult as it's one of those Hokkien-clan-related schools like Tao Nan.

Maids :
It all comes down to luck. I have only one maid so far - a FIL. She's not like a FIL maid at all. Slow but diligent and honest. My SIL had an Indo maid who's fast and street-smart. Turned out had stealing habit and was send back. My hubby and I trained my maid very thoroughly, down to showing her step by step and reviewing with her her chores. She's really very very good now and very happy with my kids; or my kids are very happy with her. I'm trying to persuade her to continue to work for my neighbour once her contract with me is done. My priority when choosing maid was fresh from Fil (so not so streetsmart, slow is acceptable but must be prepared to work hard), young but married (so that can be playmates for my kids). The rest such as honesty, willing to learn and have a caring nature is impt but you wouldn't know till after a while. We didn't want Indo coz hear that fresh ones can't speak english even when the bios said so, and can't eat pork (so food preparation would be troublesome).

Re : Discipline
I'm getting to believe that each kid is unique and discipline should be conducted to suit the kid. For eg, my #1 has not been caned before. We do not have a cane in the house. He has not even have a proper timeout done on him. Coz he's quite good-nature and positive discipline works better on him.... hm, I'm not seeing that in #2 as he's more challenging.

.ky.

Valerie, looks can be deceiving... =) Not too sure about the maid's education level but I suppose she learnt from her fellow maid friends? I really dunno how she got so creative to do such a thing. Agree also that getting a good maid is down to luck and God's blessings. Guess, we'll just have to pray and have faith. Tough. =)

lady chua
You shouldn't be giving glucose, honey or anything sugary or salty to your baby at such a young age. Honey contains bacterial and pollen in it which may be harmless to adults but harmful to children. As for sugar and salt, its best not to add into their food or water cuz it overworks their kidneys and liver. You can try diluting some Heinz baby grape juice in water to feed your baby? If not, I think any home made fruit juice diluted is better than glucose (which my PD strongly advises against and even warned me not to give it to my girl even when she's sick)

mamachan

Take care! Is this the first time that Daren is nebu? When my boy was first put on nebu, I also wanna cry. So poor thing and he was crying buckets. But I told myself maybe it's a gd thing for him to cry, then he'll breathe in more of the fumes. Daren will recover soon, don't worry. Nebu usually work very fast.

sandra
Under this kinda circumstances, your friend should have installed a security cam at home so that can tape down evidences of what the maid is doing. Anyway, my parent's have hired several fil and indon maids to take care of us since we were young. I must say that getting an indon maid is a safer bet. Language barriers can be intimidating initially but it'll be overcomed. Ultimately, its still like Toto. You'll never know when you'll get lucky / unlucky.

Hi Mamachan,
don't worry.... neubilizer helps best with young babies. Did your PD ask u to do it every 4 hrly? It would usually take the child 2 weeks to recover so even though u don't hear the phlegm, it might still be there. Make sure he sleep more and drink more fluids.

.ky.

queen
how's isaac?
for my gal, at 1st she started refusing to latch on at night before her sleep. then she refused it during daytime, few days later, she just refused to latch on in the morning when she woke up. But, if i gave her bottle, she will happily finish the whole bottle of milk.
now, going out is a headache for me. 'cos got to think of where to chill and warm the EBM. else, got to bring pump liao.
stop BF? i think for my case, it's easy to stop since she doesn't wanna latch even before sleep. but, the supply is good leh.... so, still don't know wanna stop or not.

mamachan
hope daren get well soon.

cookie
*pat pat*

cookie,
I forgot to mention I add different kinds of meat into the pasta sauce. Meats I've tried are Salmon, beef, pork and chicken. Tomato sauce I use it Heinz tomato sauce, same as the one we eat. Its only for abit of taste cuz sometimes, the tomato not ripe enough, can taste quite raw, so I add 1 tsp to the food. Cheese, I use perfect italiano shredded parmesan cheese cuz I'm too lazy to shred a whole block myself. It melts easily and contains less sodium than kraft or laughing cow wedges, and has a stronger cheese flavour. I also use this cheese for my own pasta or alfredo sauce.

cookie
I cut and paste from the archive

MamaChan's version of Beef Stew:
Eh, just my humble share of how I cook my beef stew, not just for babies, but whole family can eat. My granny's recipe

500g - 1kg (depends on how much beef you would like and the size of your slow cooker) of beef, cubed (if you prefer the rendang type, can let the butcher know, my mum prefers Daren to eat the softer parts)
3 - 4 medium sized potatoes, cubed
2 - 3 carrots, cubed
1 large yellow onion, diced
1 thumb-sized ginger
3 - 4 star anis
3 - 4 cloves
1 long stick of cinnamon
2 - 3 cups of water
optional:
bay leaves
Red cooking Wine
Salt (to taste)
Black Pepper (to Taste)

In a slow cooker (set to Auto Mode), place the cubed carrots, followed by cubed potatoes, diced onion and lastly the cubed beef in as well as the spices (cloves, star anis, cinnamon, ginger), pour in the water (make sure DO NOT COVER all the ingredients but the carrots and potatoes will be enough). And you can cook in the morning and by dinner time, it'll be ready to serve. Just stir the contents to even out the ingredients *optional : add in 1 - 2 Bay leaves for that added fragrance 1/2 - 1 hour before serving.

If you're comfortable to add in a little salt for taste even for toddlers, do so, if not, just take out the portion for your toddlers. For me, I'll add in a little salt (about 1 flat teaspoon which is very minimal for the entire pot), stir evenly then serve.

Once babies' portion have been seperated, for the rest of the family, can add in some red cooking wine and further add salt to your taste and liking as well as some black pepper. I hope you and your family will enjoy this dish.

One more note on beef stew
If you use the soft parts of beef for your toddler, please note that after slow cooking, it should be soft and as you stir to mix the ingredients more evenly, the beef would sort of break apart. You can add the stew into the alphabet macaroni or even porridge. But do make sure they don't swallow big chunks. make sure the beef is "fine" or that your toddlers chew food relatively well. If not, can let them have the broth with the soft carrots and potatoes.

And as for the ginger, you need to use "flatten" or beat the ginger flatly before adding into the stew to cook. The ginger is to get rid of the strong beefy smell.

mama panda... but he just don drink any water leh... heniz fruit juice where can i buy...he will even shut his mouth tight when we feed him water.... so strange....

ky
Thanks. yah, one good thing is that Daren drinks plenty of water and barley water. Now that he's sick, can drink 4 x 180ml of water on top of his milk feeds.

sunny
You're lucky.. ur baby self weaned off.. I gave up trying to wean off Ariene. She'll cry till cows come home if I don't give her the breast. Sometimes, if she's not on her cot, she'll want to help herself and starts pulling my shirt and my bra.

lady chua,
How do u feed him water? If he don't drink water at all, how come he drinks honey? Its still water right? Its all a matter of choice. Don't give him the choice of any sugared drink. Start with something non-sugar but has a strong taste like baby grape juice. I dilute it 50-50 but if your boy is used to drinking sweet drinks, you can try giving it to him undiluted first, then eventually, aim for a 50-50% dilution. The juice can be bought from NTUC or cold storage or kiddy palace but the grape flavour is hot selling. Always out of stock. Don't bother buying the pear juice. It sucks. Apple and apple/cranberry is sour so, don't try either. Grape is strong tasting but not sweet (I tried it myself to convince myself its really sugar free and it is). Another juice u can try (but must dilute) is pigeon vegetable fruit juice. This one MUST dilute. I think instructions is dilute juice to water 2:3.

PS: Don't use milk bottle to feed juices. Many of us here use Pigeon Mag Mag Stage 3 cup with straw. Sometimes, when my girl don't want to suck from her Magmag, I give it to her in an adult cup and she'll slurp happily. You can also give in adult cup with a colourful straw. He'll like it if he knows how to suck from straw.

Mamapanda, SY
I called them up to check on being old gals registration. They assure me it is quite easy for me to get in because it is a phase before grassroots leaders. Unless we ganna the year where there are a lot of siblings in the same school. Because I was thinking if there is a need to join the alumni to increase the chance etc. Ha ha will feedback to you after Charmaine enters. Maybe next time Ariene, JH and Aden will be classmates next time. My fren is the HOD for gifted education in Nanyang.

Cookie,
I am sure you will be fine. I ask my family GP has always ask me not to take triple test. He feels that I am still "young", plus this triple test is not 100% accurate so it makes you more miserable and upset if you are tested positive and have to go through another test. So for both I never take the test. You should have done another Chorosome (dunno if I have spell correctly) this test result is immediate, this will put in more at ease.

sysac
I'll still have my reservations abt giving cocktail sausages to my girl cuz even if it did not taste salty cuz its processed meat and contains preservatives which is harmful to babies. No amount of cooking or soaking can get rid of the preservatives and sodium inside the meat. We can only get rid of the surface sodium and preservatives. To us, baby food may taste bland but to the baby who has not tasted anything else before, it'll not be bland. They just need variety cuz they get bored easily eating the same thing all the time.

chicken little
yeah.. maybe classmates haha! My hubby was still saying wanna keep Ariene's hair shoulder length short. No long hair cuz Nanyang Girls High cannot keep long hair. Waaa.. he think so far ahead. Nanyang Pri, Nanyang Girls.

mamapanda
i consider myself lucky 'cos like that i have no worry to think of method to wean her off. i hope when i totally switch it to FM which i still don't know when :)P), she can adapt to it easily, too.

ladychua
mayb you can let your bb drink from cup? my gal likes to drink water. but if drink from cup, she will drink more. else, you can drink in front of your bb, and give him a yummy and satisfactory face.

CL
hmm.. I never went thru any Chorosome test ley.

mamachan
Thanks for your encouragement. I spoke to my CG leader and members.. they comfort me a lot and I felt much better after talking to them

sunny.... i tried b4... but it doesnt work on him... thats why the whole family so headache... and cuz of lack of water he got very dry skin.... and also fall sick easily....

mashy
Yes, this is 1st time Daren on neubilizer, he gave me that "Help me mummy please" look while my maid helped to hold him still. He cried until like very traumatized. I just hope that this sick episode will be over soon and stay away for a long time to come.

cookie
Which gynae did the procedure for you? Your gynae linked to TMC? Maybe the sample might be sent to my previous workplace.

ladychua
if you use spoon to feed him water, will it help? else, you can boil vege soup and let him drink? i think using the natural flavour from the vege is better.

Mamapanda,
I was very surprised to read the girls at Nanyang can't keep long hair! My colleague was an ex-gal there too and I was just looking at her in disbelief when she told me she never had long hair till she turned 17 or so.

I'm truly amazed at this ruling....

sunny,
I can see light at the end of the tunnel after reading that you girl self wean. I was reading kelly mom's website and was happy to read that sucking to sleep is not such a serious and terrible habit. then I read that your girl actually self wean. similar to mamapanda's ariene, my clariss is such a addict to my breast. I am happy to be close to her most of the time but I am really hoping that her weaning will be painless for both of us but guess I won't try to initiate it till she is 18-24 mths unless she self wean.

Ladychua,
Clariss doesn't drink water by sucking from straw or bottle. we usually feed her using a spoon and we have to distract her while feeding her. I was so hopeful because a few mothers was sharing that their babies can suck from straws well and breastfed babies can adapt to sucking from straw very well. Clariss turn out to be the odd one out and only chew on the straw.
I usually distract her by giving her toys to play when feeding her water or sometimes I break up the gerber puffs into small pcs and put the gerber puffs on a spoonful of water to entice her to drink. a lot of effort but no choice. I don't give her fruit juice or other liquid besides milk and clear soup.

Mamapanda,
your recipes sound delicious but quite a bit of effort required. such a hardworking mum.

mongs
before she did that, i always thought that self wean is impossible and ppl who said that were trying to console the others who had difficulties in weaning their bb off. now i believe that.
it's painless, but whenever i see my friend's bb who is same age as ours still latching on, i feel envy.
my hb is quite happy about it 'cos meaning i can stop BF and start #2. gosh....

Mamapanda,

I was so upset when I was young to always have to cut my hair so short. So tu. Then you those senior who goes into secondary will keep long hair and perm it. You will see the great different. Only thing is the stupid uniform is in white. Ha ha next time if you still stay in Bukit Panjang , I can help ferry Ariene. I already plan I will send Charmaine to school in the morning.

was at ikea tampines for lunch and i saw a boy the age of about 4YO walking around with a pacifier in his mouth and its the same pacifier that Megan has. *faintz* Told myself better wean Meg off when she turns 2YO!

sunny / mongs,
I think Flo's Mel also self weaned...

MamaPanda,
I also do not add salt or sugar into Isaac's main meals as well. But he's exposed to some of those when we let him try bits and pieces of adult food sometimes. When exactly can our babies start taking salt and sugar then?

Tracy,
Don't be surprised! When I was in RV, girls weren't allowed to keep long hair too, except for Dance Society members. Chinese tradition schools are like that one lah. Not too sure whether the rules have changed now.

cookie,
Isaac is almost back to normal liao. Except that he's way too thin, still below 9kg. Don't worry about the triple test / amniocentesis results. I remember my gynae explained that these tests are known for high false positives and that none of his patients who are tested positive for these tests ended up with a DS baby. So don't worry too much!
Actually, if you don't mind me asking, are you christian or catholic?

Mamachan,
Gosh! Can understand your heartache! Hope Daren recovers soon!

cookie

don't worry about the test. Like what the rest of the gals said, there's a high false positive. My gynae discouraged me from taking it last time too.

Queen,
Good to hear Isaac is recoverying well. Don't worry, they put on their weight back pretty fast.

Cookie,
Don't worry, i'm sure the test result will be fine.

Mamachan,
Oh dear...poor Daren and poor you too. Hope he gets well soon.

queen,

I add 1 drop of reduced salt soya sauce into clariss porridge. my MIL has been adding that since 3 months ago when she was about 10mths old. I din't stop her but when I cook for her, I use chicken and vege stock that is so rich that I don't need to use soya sauce.
I don't give sugared drink or cereal as well but I intend to let her go to childcare when she is between 18 to 24 mths so sooner or later she will be exposed to sugar and salt.

Cookie

sorry to hear the news... really pray hard for you that it is a false alarm... I can understand how worried you are. Take care.. how are you coping with Kaelyn now?

Mamachan
Oh dear.. i didn't realise Daren was sick again.. i hope he gets well soon..

KY
what's PV?

Esther, Denmy
now that you know you are having a boy.. have you thought of a name yet? I'm thinking of calling my boi boi Thaddeus Jay, hehe to match Tabitha Kay... so Tabby can call him Tad-de de (Teddy) for short..

mashybrainz,
u can try to use the straw to "suck" up the liquid and "release" it into your little one's mouth. that's how i used to feed edgar water other than the spoon.

mongs,
edgar also self weaned. infact he weaned himself totally off milk. so now he doesn't drink milk at all. i add them to his cereal and porridge instead. coz i think babies still need milk intake no matter what. now i only latch him on at night to sleep, of which, i oso have to force him. only time that he will willingly suckle is when he stirs at night and can't get back to sleep. fortunately that only happens occasionally and only once night.

Tabbiesus

So cute, Tabby and Teddy.
Thaddeus is a very nice name. Love it.

But hor, since their names are so similar, can u go to the window and shout a few rounds and see whether your hb can tell who you're calling for? haha. This is to test that Tabby and Teddy will know who you are calling for and who is in trouble. Haha.

Read this funny book about naming babies and thought it had a rather useful tip. The author wanted to name the baby a very very long name, but after getting advice from her mom, she tried shouting the name many times (imagine screaming after a running kid, hehe), found it really tiring and changed it to plain Bob that kind of name. Haha.

Chickenlittle,
Yeah.. we'll probably be staying around this bukit timah, bukit batok, bukit panjang region even in the future. We can take turns to ferry our kids to school ya? Better than school bus. I dun like school buses.

Mongs
The recipes sounds like alot of effort but its really no effort at all. For eg, the chicken n leek recipe, u can one time make for many meals and freeze. I use those as my instant baby food on days when we go out and have no time to cook her dinner. Porridge requires 1hr of cooking for it to be soft but those recipes I mentioned only requires 5-10min of cooking time. You can also make extra pasta sauce and freeze into cubes for future meals. Its really more convenient than having to cook porridge everyday.

I asked my PD about sugar and salt before and his reply was delay for as long as possible. Like you said, sooner or later, they'll be exposed to it but the main thing is not to let them develop the preference for salty or sweet foods at home. Outside home, we don't really have a choice but what I do is I'll wash whatever food she wants to taste with plain water first then feed her. Once my hb ate her piece of chicken breast by accident and commented why that particular piece of meat so tasteless. Haha.