(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Denmy
Re: The Price of Children
Thats a good one

Yuki,
Another of my frens niece and nephew whom grew up in the US are totally out of control. Her BIL (an ang mo) doesnt even allow her SIL to scold the kids cos he said will hurt their feelings and affect them psychologicallyfaintz

Janmom & LadyChua
Welcome!

Mamachan
Hope Daren, you and your maid get well soon.

Rena
Welcome back. Looks like Elijah is having a ball of a time in Japan

Tracy,
Mel very itchy hand will always move things all over the place. Thats how she got the blue-back on her cheek. I did see the 2 gals having a discussion so is about the pictures on the wall and the balls. haha

Hi Mamapanda,

Thanks for sharing. I stayed in Seng kang and was thinking of enrolling ashley into Nan Chiao Primary. However my friend commented that it's wierd that i sent ashley to a montessori school and then to a very traditional school......... she commented that these established schools are harder and slower to change. So the other so call neighbourhood schools like Sengkang Pri, etc are better in the sense that they adopt newer method............ Hai....... Me still pondering over these issues.

Hi Mamachan,

Really? cannot have too much cod fish? Basically there are two types of fish that megan eats - cod fish and threadfin. What other fish can we let them eat?

Thanks for the recipe. Sounds tasty. Yummy. Beef is my hubby and mine favourite.

Hi Florence,

Yes. My friend commented her niece who was four, went to 'instruct' her daddy to tell the teacher not to force her to do things that she doesn't like and the daddy has to do it infront of the teacher and the child so that this instruction can be carry out.........

That's the problem with giving the child too much freedom/ choice which sometimes they are too young to make the decision. in cases like that parents has to interver and not let them have the way. Discipline has to be instil since young.

I strongly agree with 'spare the rod and spoil the child'.

My cousin is frobidden to beat her gal in US. I can foresee discipline problems already. Children learn very fast. My niece picks up the slang after staying there for 6 months and forget her Chinese. It seems like the 5 years training has gone to waste??

Morning Mummies!

SH,
Oh dear! just read that you are sick... Feeling better now? Must take care cos the weather nowadays very erratic...

Re: Education
Hmmm.... My cousins all grew up in Australia. My aunt sent them for "foundation classes" with private teachers even for art classes. cos she found that the schools there stressed too much on creativity which might not be good as she felt that before you can draw a creative table, you must first know what is a table?!!! After they have a good foundation, then she just let the school take over to stress on the creativity part.

MamaPanda,
Nope I have never tried those? Can give more details?

The chicken alphabet soup cooked with real chicken? Is it supposed to be really soupy?

The pasta: How to make the paste? I only know those buy off the shelf kind? Can bb eat?

Even the fish in cheese sauce sounds yummy. but is it a different dish?

Hmm...no wonder JW is not eating....he is bored with mummy's food liao

Chicken Little,
Ya, my fever is not subsiding. Only panadol can bring it down. Once the effect of the medicine passes, it comes back again.
Hmm...it took your hb 2 days is it? Okie...today day 2. Hope I get well soon coz I really miss JW.

Yesterday nite was the first nite that we didn't bring him home. Missed him a lot leh. I think when my hb reached home, he thinks I siao liao coz I kept telling him "hey no baby at home very quiet hor" or "hey this is the first time I can eat in peace at home...but no fun lei" ;p

Can you imagine, when I heard a baby cry yesterday, I actually stood up wanting to run into the room b4 I remembered that JW is not home. Crazy mummy.

Sandra,
I didn't know that the airbags in the car can be switched off. How do you do it? Is it only available with certain car models?

Yuki,

Maybe you would like to visit the school during their open house. I was previously from Nanyang Pri oso very traditional. But with young teachers the teaching is total different now. My fren is a teacher there so she is feeding me with new information. I am now getting more and more determined to convince my hb to put Charmaine in Nanyang, 1) I am old gal registration is easier 2) I like the way the lesson is being conducted

SH,

Ya it took my hb 2 full day, only from 3rd day he start to subside. But he felt very weak. It will take a while before you regain. Ya he missed kissing his kids too. But only can see them from far.

I am always like that. When Aden or Charmaine not home, I keep thinking I hear baby cry and will go to their room to check. This is something daddies dun understand one.

Mamachan - Yes, Cephas loves beef stew too!

Yuki - I washed the cocktail sausages thoroughly, cut into bite size & boiled it together with the macaroni. I tasted it & it was not saltish at all. It was good that I added the dried scallops or else the meal was bland.

SL,
Just forwarded your details out. If they still looking for pple, they will give you a call. If not, they will still probably keep your name in their database until they have something else coming up.

Hi Chicken Little,

My friend teaches there. My hubby also has some work connections with them. NC Primary is under the Hokkien Huey Kwan so very much still under their influence as i understand from hubby. The teachers are also scritinzed by the HKHK.

Yes, old girls means higher chances!

Hi Sysac,

What brand is the cocktail sauages?

Meg started having mega running nose ystrdy and while she slept at 9pm, she woke up at 10.30pm and screamed the whole building down! My goodness, she is really loud.. And she didn't stop for half an hour. Aiyo...so scary. I was having migraine (from the lack of oxygen in the office) and resting, but her scream made me forget my migraine.

She cried till she vomitted some milk out. After feeding her the runny nose med, she vomitted more milk. Then she went back to bed at 11.30pm. Whew...

This morning i didn't dare feed her the med, so i added it into her milk with the cough med as well.

Just wondering, is it ok to mix the med into the milk? I figure should be ok bah, since you can drug a person by adding pills into drinks.

Or would the med strength be weakened if i add into the milk??

mummis... i got one serious problem... my son doesnt like to drink water... he will actually throw the btl away when we feed him water... and he don drink more than one btl a day.... so any one pls help... my solutions is i make the milk very diluted for him... or i even put a bit of honey to mix with water....
and also i hope to send him to child care once he turn 18 mths... but his immune system is rather weak... is there any vitamins which he can take to boost is immune system

LadyChua

My boy and yours can be good friends. He hates water too.

Well, I managed to get him to drink by giving him apple/pear juice. I make my own juice and mix with water. For the pear juice, I boil with chuan bei, bei xing coz he always cough and give him the water. So far he's ok with these.

If you want to get vitamins, can get from any pharmacy or vitakids. I feed my boy with cod liver oil & multivits which I bought from Vitakids. His health has greatly improved.

oic... cuz my mum always add glucose and honey... but then it will create more phelgm... my son got lots of phelgm in his lungs... which i don know why... we even add barley to feed him....

Tracy,

I think as long as Megan can finish up all the milk , the medication is all taken in it is ok. If the milk is not finish means she may not have taken a full dosage so it will be less effective.

Hi Demny/Esther,

I booked the trial class for friday at 415pm. Please let me know what time u gals changing it to so that I can rearrange. Thanks.

Valerie- Yup, hubby told me about their video. Sounded quite funny. He doesn't really know how to relate stuff, quite deadpan. =)

Regarding maids, I've heard horror stories as to both Filipino as well as Indonesian maids. So still deciding. Hubby's galfriend had a filipino maid that was really scary. She didn't like the friend so cooked up stories of abuse. The employer actually had to work in Hong Kong so brought her along with the kid (she was expecting #2 then). When she wanted to terminate the contract, HK laws apparently favour the maid, so the maid used the law there and didnt get fired. Very smart. She refused to return to Singapore when they came back for a couple of months thinking that she'll be fired here. When the employer gave birth back in HK, the maid burnt herself with an iron and reported to authorities that she was abused. The police came and threw my hb's friend into jail for one night during her confinement some more. Very poor thing. Several days later, the maid called
hubby's friend from her agency. The husband answered the phone and the maid told him to pay her S$6000 and she'll drop the charges. They paid her in the end. Really pity them. See, so it makes me think twice. Filipino maids are smarter but really can be shrewd. Indonesian maids are dumber but in a way more domesticated. HIAZ... really confusing...

SH, I think some models might not be able to turn off airbag. Our switch is in the glove compartment. I dunno about yours. Maybe you can check your car manual?

SH - Do rest well,the nasty fever and headache visited my HB last year too..he had MC for 5days straight! the fever came to and fro and severe headache somemore.. never seen him so tong ku... i did find out eventually he got into 'sun rain' which i always hear pple saying as very 'toxic'... sigh,so no play play wf sun rain ... reali scary during tat period when his fever kept goin up and so weak!

Tracy - ya,i tink if she can down the milk in all, shld not be a prob...

i have MIA for a few days! dunno how to catch up with the posts.

been really busy with work and only reach home at 1+am last night...
think hb a bit pissed with me...

SH
hope u get better soon. i also din bring JH home when maid was sick and i missed him so much!!

CL
u from nanyang pri? me too! i intend to put JH there next time so JH and Aden can be classmates..

sleepingdeer
the photos of shannon are so pretty. she looks different.

re recipes
i am also thinking of how to rotate porridge. i tried giving pasta and macoroni but JH doesn't quite like it. is it too hard for him?

i m taking leave next mon to bring JH to sit the duck tour. any mummies want to join?

re playgroup
i m thinking of sending him for a playgroup for 2-3 hours when he turns 18 months. any recommendation?

re gymboree trial
is it still on?

SH,

Ya i think not all car models can be switched off. I'm driving a Rav4 now, cant be switched off. Just bought another car and the air bag can be switched off at the side of the door. I think its more convenient sometimes as if I need to bring Renee out alone, I can put the car seat in front.

Sandra,

I agree with you that its a very tough choice between Indon and Fil maids. Currently, mine is Fil and is giving me many problems. I have to also agree that Fil maids are especially smart as compared to the Indons. I'm in the midst of changing mine to an Indon.

However, at the end of the day, I think its also about luck. Not all Fils are bad. And many Fils when they go for their off days, they tend to get to know many others and learn funny stuff from them

hi mummies...took an MC today to rest. got abit of headache and thot it be good time to rest at my mum's hm.

ladychua - wat my mil did was to add slices of apples in the water and feed him. Caleb also does not like to drink water. he spits out more than he consume.

SH - i gave the potatoes as main dish.

mamachan - thks for the beef stew recipes. looks delicious! guess i will try it one day but it seems that it is alot of work ya. haha...more tedious than porridge. oops...maybe its me la the lazy mummy here.

have u started your babies on using cup? JH haven start to use yet. how do i start him on using cup? dunno whether to let him use straw or just try drinking from cup

SY

i tried lah, but not successful, he spilled the water all over.
He can't use the sprout nor the straw. Now still a little baby using the bottle for his milk and juices. sigh. My hb had been trying to feed him using the mineral water bottle coz my boy seemed curious about about the bottle. We shall see whether he will master it.

sandra
i agree with esther. getting a good maid is all about luck.i think my indo maid is quite good with my son but when it comes to housework, cannot make it...

SH
i also give potato as main dish but i will give sweet potato so tht he likes it better

mashybrainz

Mine oso samasama. I tried giving him small cup , it must be small small sip then he can lor. Otherwise he wll just spill all the water out.

re maids

i just got an phil maid.. and she is really slow and not very good at all... my idon maid is really very good with housework as well as with baby but we recently discovered that she has been stealing.. really stuck cos she's really good but dunno why she has to have this "third hand". Its not like we are don't give her stuff.. we already tell her she only needs to ask us first before she wants anything.. somemore we always buy phone cards for her la and give her ang paos for special occasions... big headache!!

Tabbs,

I think honesty is the most impt.Otherwise, you live in fear everyday..dunno wat needs to be locked up and all..haiz..i know wat u are going thru..i've been struggling with my maid for few mths..to keep or not to keep.

she's very careless..which i'm really afraid when big accidents happen then it will be too late. she's also very petty and stubborn. You tell her to do the things she will do otherwise and still argue with me..now its better but she's still very careless..and also rather rough handling.

Maids: Actually my Grandparent-In-Laws have an Indo maid that really want to work for hb and I. She's been with them for 3 years or more already but really cannot put up with Grandma In Law anymore. Anyways, I can see that she really love kids alot since day 1. Her housework skills is really sloppy though. That's y Ive been hesitating taking her in. Yet, I really like the fact that she love Sarah. Kinda put my heart at ease when she's with her...

Hey mummies, really want to share some of Sarah's chinese new year pics with you. Please check out her blog www.sarahmaeloke.blogspot.com
Hehe... can't believe Im gushing about her... Motherhood really make me quite aunty. =)

Ladychua / JanMom,
Welcome to our thread. Do post often, we are a bunch of very warm mummies!

Re. Rotavirus vaccination
It's true that there are several other kinds of bacteria or viruses that can cause similar fever/diarrheoa/vomit symptoms but the PD told me that 50% of such cases affecting infants worldwide are caused by rotavirus. I supposed it's still worthwhile getting the vaccine since it would have reduced the risk of contracting such sickness by 50%. Is it true that the vaccination can only be done during the 1st 6 months? I'm thinking of getting Isaac vaccinated cos this rotavirus episode has really left Isaac, me and HB traumatised. Read somewhere that the body does not produce immunity against the virus and it is possible to contract such virus again.

Sunny,
How did you Yingxin self wean? Just refused to latch suddenly? Are you considering to stop BF?

sl,
I think that it is amazing that Charmaine has not had FM since she was born! Good job! To intro FM, try mixing FM with EBM, start with 1 scoop, then 2 scoop and so on until you can give a full feed on FM. Or you can just try to give her pure FM from the start. She might like it.

Ladychua,
I think we are not supposed to give honey to our babies until they are 2 to 3 years old right? Something about the honey bacteria that our babies cannot take...

SH,

Tracy,
I'm also thinking of hitting the jackpot for #2 in June. So that means I should start taking folic acid now is it? If want to conceive in June, does that mean have to start trying and time ovulation and all that now? But I'm worried that I'll conceive before June cos my probabtion period at my new job will only end in May.

HK maids

THEY ARE TO BE AVOIDED AT ALL COSTS!! That's all i can say... my hb is from HK.. and my cousin is having a hard time with her maids.. both indon and phil... problem is that the law is too protective and they are too fierce there..

Sandra
That's just a horrible maid story... Just pray hard to god for a good pair of hands... that's all we can do... some maids are just better at taking care of kids then housework...

tabbs,
yup, maids are all about luck. My SIL had 3 Indon maids and this third one is the best. With us for 4 years, and leaving this Sat. Sob sob...she gotta go home cos her mum wants her to marry some man she prob hasn't seen before. So poor thing. She's a good maid, does her job, love the kids etc. She loves Meg very much too.

I hope the next maid will be just as good.

Queen,
According to my gynae, we should time our ovulation now and start taking the folic acid and multi-vits. I bot my folic acid from pharmacy. BUT i only will try in June, not now.

Then again, I will only be taking my 2nd dose of chickenpox vaccine on 10Mar, and GP advise to wait 4mths before TTC. So looks like I can only try from July onwards to be on safe side.

My gynae ask me to use ovulation strip etc but I'm too lazy lah. Anyway, I know my ovulation period so just try my luck.

Chicken Little, God's Child,
Oh goody, then I will just continue putting the med in her milk. She finishes the milk anyway. Better than her puking it all out.

RE: maids

yah maids are really a big headache.. that is why i insist to wait and employ the mynmar maid.. but they are rather expensive unless you direct hire..

RE: japan

During the japan trip i was so suprise that my little boy is so adaptive to the weather and he simply sleeps on the coach and keeps playing with the tour mates sitting behind us..one good thing is that he also sleeps well on plane just that when we fly there he did cry a little coz we dress him too thick.. so during the flight we undress him like siao as it seems like the plane has no aircon...he was strip to his diapers only.. so funny.. after that he slept so well...so during our flight back i change him to shorts and t shirt before boarding.. and thank god he slept so well..

chillies
I was the one who used Hippychick. Not sure if any other mummies used it. It was very useful last time. But, now that Gerald is heavier, there is more strain at the hip, but, i find it still useful. If I walk for a long distance, I'll alternate b/w carrying him and letting him rest on the hippychick, then not that siong on my arms and hips.

tabby
i also think honesty is the most impt thing. i can close my eyes to a lot of things but the maid must be honest. once they start stealing, dun keep them.

tracy, queen,
wow trying for second one in june! i dun dare to try so soon. feel that i dun have enough time for JH.

rena
wow elijah sounds really well behaved during the trip. any photos to see?

i m thinking of going to twn. when is a good time to go?

Just got back from PD. Daren's phlegm and cough is really bad. When the PD recommended for him to be neubilized, my heart just sank. Daren was alright for the 1st half of the neubilizing procedure, he was curious why is this face mask in front of him, he got bored and wanted to go away, we just held him still and hold his head, which I think freaked him out as he's wondering what's going on. He cry until so poor thing. Nearly wanted to cry as well. Have to go back to the PD again tonight. Hopefully he'll sleep better tonight.

Maids
I guess it really all boils down to the maid's character. Mine is Fillipino and ex-HK and taiwan. But so far, by the grace of God, no problems. She's got quite a good attitude too. Guess it really is the mentality and maturity of the domestic helper. Can only pray and trust God for a reliable maid. We can't all expect perfect or super maids, just hope that she'll be teachable. That's what I prayed for and my maid happened to pray for a Christian family to work with. So I guess God's intervention was at hand, as I was supposed to have chosen someone else to work for me. I too was warned against getting maids with expereince from HK and Taiwan and I had my own doubts, but my mum's friend highly recommended this current maid.

mamachan
what happen to daren? how come the cough so bad? so poor thing. last time when JH's cough din get well, PD had to give antibiotics in order for the cough and phlegm to clear.

how come need to go back tonight again?

wow wow.. the thread really move soooo fast.
By the time I finish reading.. I forgot what I wanna reply.

Anyway...

Queen
So glad to know Issac has got better already. nevermind abt the money, I know it's xin tong... but most importantly Issac gets better and everyone is fang xin.

I think u can now start to take Folic acid just in case.

Re: Worrying
On the 4th day of CNY I received a worrying news... Gynae clinic called me to inform me abt triple test result show higher risk than normal.
I never expect myself to react that way but I cry none stop for the next 1 hr or so.
Just felt extremely sad... tho the nurse has advise not to worry as most cases are false alarm I still help it.

On the 6th day of CNY I was schedule for amniocenteses test... was very worry of pain and of course the result but Thank God the procedure was relatively painless and fast.

Right now I'm still worry ( well a little) abt the result but I have also learn to leave my burden with God and totally trust him of what he has blessed me with.