(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

HAPPY NEW YEAR MUMMIES!!

Am not feeling very well today but thought I should stay up to countdown with HB... didn't realised it was already approachng 12am just now and was reading through the posts when HB came into the study counting 3, 2, 1 and POP! the "champagne" bottle... it was actually sparkling juice from a Christmas Hamper... so funny of him.... =)

I will always remember countdown 2006 cos I was doing confinement, sitting in the living room watching TV and pumping milk when i heard the fireworks went off!!! So fast 1 year has gone... May we all have a TRULY BLESSED 2007!!!

Tabb
I can feel how much it hurts not to be able to be with Tabi right now when she's sick, but you're not well too so you must really rest well so that you can see her again real soon!! Dun worry we will pray for speedy and complete healing for BOTH Tabi and you ok! GOD BLESS!

Welcome vmum!!
We're really glad that you found our thread informative... we're all learning from one another so do post more often we'll love to hear from you. =)

Wow our thread has gone international huh... Indonesia, Vietnam, HK, even London!! =)

DurianLover
I also dun like to use a TOY to distract Ashley when she eats cos that's not supposed to be the way at proper meal time.

My trick I realised is to use her Mickey Mouse feeding bowl... when she starts to fuss or show signs of not wanting anymore, I will ask her "Where is Mickey Mouse?" She will then peer into the bowl but because it is still covered with her porriage, the MM picture cannot be seen yet... so I'll tell her she cannot see MM yet cos she has not eaten enough. She will usually open her mouth to eat more and progressively I will slowly tilt the bowl and show her bit by bit MM pic and tell her MM is looking for her so she must quickly eat up. She will usually be very excited as she sees MM's ears and rest of the pic appearing.

Another method is to let them "self-feed". Recently, my mum tells me when Ashley starts to fuss half way through her meals my mum will ask her to "feed herself" by scoping the porriage on the spoon first and passing the spoon to Ashley's hand and helping Ashley to feed herself. Surprisingly Ashley can really eat alot more when she's "self-feeding". Maybe it was a subconcious thing but I thougt that's quite a good to get her to eat more and also to let her learn how to eat herself.

Happy 2007!!!! Hope everyone has a blessed new year!

Just to check with you all, I understand that last time "Mind your Body" stated that giving too much brown rice will affect the absorption of certain minerals... I have been giving clarisse HT brown rice cereal everyday, any problem? Cos we usually mix into her milk feed... any other type of cereal suitable to mix in the milk besides HT?

Another thing is my mil is responsible to buy the food for Clarisse. Some vegetables and fishes I can't identify what is that... I thought the more popular will be like spinach/ broccoli, cod/ salmon... but those she buys frequently normally are those which I don't know. Does this matter?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Chicken Little
Thanks for your reminder on the 20% on Neo Garden.

Sherene
Thanks for your new year wishes!

Happy New Year, ladies!!!

Tabbiesus
hope tabby get well soon
you try to rest as much as you can, too.

clare
wow... your way of letting Ashley concentrate on eating is very good!!! Like you, i nvr let her play with toy when it's meal time. 'cos i adopt 'to-do-thing-at-one-time' method i.e play time is play time, meal time is just strictly meal time (no TV, no toy).

for self feeding, normally when the cereal or porridge is not so warm anymore, i will hold her hand to use spoon to feed herself. she enjoys it most of the time. mayb i should let her try real self feed.

zhimin
for the 1st few months when i just started solid for my gal, i will buy vege for my mil to cook. but now, i will leave it to my mil to decide what kind of vege to cook 'cos we plan to let my gal to have adult food (but with lesser salt and oil) after she turns one.

Tabbiesus - *hugz* do take good care of yourself! im sure Tabby will be well soon to come home, will pray for you and family... pls rest and get yourself well too

zhimin - did u ask ur MIL? mabbie you can ask lor, so tat you also know which are clariss's faves and common meals...

Re: Hard stools
yest my maid taught me a way to prevent celeste fr having torn anual tissue/bleeding while poo-ing.the last time when she had LS fr the antibiotics,and thereafter recovered and started to poo every alt day, she will poo til she bleeds... so worried for her cos it must have been painful..and also, her poo looks super big and wide, MIL says hers is truly adult size!after giving her more n more water,it took a turn for ther better.. but yest after not having poo-ed for 2 days, i wld hav expected bleeding..cos when she tried to poo, cld see it was very 'xin ku' and she din wana continue pushing. My maid asked me to apply baby oil on her anus so as to ease the pushing which worked!!! my never used before baby oil can serve its purpose now.. hee

Blessed and Happy new year 2007 to all mummies, daddies and babies!!!

self-feeding

I also want to teach Vania to self-feed but she is quite a challenge. My sis trained her son early by always giving him bowl and spoon to play with during meal times. Now he could feed himself at abt 18mths. As compared to my friend who never trained her son and so clueless about feeding himself.

My girl has surely developed some attitude hee hee
If I want to hold her hand to teach her something, she will pull back and make noise.

Disciplining her will be a problem because I stay with PIL who seems to give in to what she wants. I am not an outspoken person so everytime I just whine to my sis heehee. The other day MIL said she saw in TV saying that we cant say 'CANNOT or NO' to our children. I have seen my friend growing up with this kind of teaching and I must say I wouldnt want my children to be like that ! :p

Mashy - welcome back home! how's Caeden and your rashes going? was it warm in Bangkok or rainy like Singapore? your album sounds intersting... care to share share a few pages??

hey mommies, i m from the feb/mar 05 thread. i looking to buy a 2nd hand medela PIS. anyone here has one to let go? or know anyone who wants to let go? pls let me know at [email protected]

thanks and have a great 2007 ahead!

jannie

tabbiesus,
Oh poor tabby! Must be really tough and depressing for u to cross the new year with your darling girl in hosp
Do take care and cheer up! I'm sure she'll get better soon!

Clare,
Thanks for sharing on how to get Ashley to feed! I thought your both methods (mickey mouse bowl & self-feed) are fantastic! Shall try them out! But since i don't have a cartoon bowl, i'll try out the self-feed method when Janelle gets bored with her food

SSF,
All the best for ur new job! With regards to informing the company abt ur pregnancy, i feel it shd be done before you sign the contract. Hmm but that's my personal opinion. Coz i think it's only fair to the organisation that they're informed of ur pregnancy before they accept you in - so that they are prepared for it and it'll also remove the risk of them 'discriminating' u. Well, but that's just my personal opinion!

Chickenlittle,
Thanks for ur kind offer to help us collect the spinach! For myself, i doubt i'll be able to go to Denmy's house or shop to collect, so it'll depend on whether Mamapanda's free. If she's not, then will tompang you to help us both collect! Thanks in advance

SSF,

Good luck to your new job. Wow then u have the new job, new baby, new house in 2007. I agree with Durian lover to declare before signing the contract. It is a new workplace so you do not know the style. In my company, as long as by the time u give birth, you are with the company for 6 months, you will be entitled to the full maternity benefit.

Durianlover,
Let me know anytime if you need my help. Np at all because anyway I am collecting mine.

God's Child,
Hmm talking about poo. Aden's poo still soft soft kind, have not seen those "solid" one yet leh. You are lucky to get such a maid this time.

Vmum,
You can try saying No without mentioning the word. I always tell Charmaine " what do you think", she will say No herself. Tell her the consequence and let her decide.

durianlover - thks for ur advise...ya i also feel bad telling them after that. i am also having a headache abt it. anyway will wait for them to call me to view the contract before deciding what to do. if there is a body checkup prior to that..i don;t think i can hide it too. so see how it goes. I will count on GOD to work this out for me.

tabby - i can understand how u felt. Caleb was also send to KK recently and i really feel sad when he is sick. and me being preggy somemore..somehow i feel like tearing each time he cries and not wanting to eat. so u not being there definitely make things worse. i will keep you guys in my prayer and pray for a quick recovery. you take care of urself too.

SH,

I think when u call Neo Garden that you know about 20% for birthday celebration. Then they will advise you how to proceed

Chicken Little,
Thanks a lot for the information! Organising birthday celebration this sat but still haven't got the caterer. Kena long weekend some more...hope i can make it :)

Sh- yes u just call neo garden and let them know u are celebrating ur bb 1st yr old bd. they will ask u to fax his birth cert over before u are entitled to 20% discount.

chicken little - ya if i get the job..it be new hse, new baby and new job indeed. wat an exciting 2007 for me.

wenyl - i dropped u an email abt ur deco. i will need it by this sun. let me know ya. thks!

Tabb,
Dont worry, I'm sure your gal will get well real soon. Take good care of yourself.

MamaPanda,
Wah...I'll probably react like u. Somehow I feel that when parents are disciplining their children, grandparents shld juz leave it alone. My mom likes to interfere and my sis and BIL hated it. When I discipline my son, my MIL will quickly..."come, ma ma teng." urgh!!!

Cookie,
My boy doesnt seem to be hungry at any time. He never ask for milk or food even though we've past his meal time. When i put him on chair for meal, he'll struggle. Its like a punishment for him... :p

RE : Self Feed
My boy doesnt know yet. He's not good with the pincher thingy too. Trying to teach him now.

Happy 2007 !!!!

mummes
happy new year!!

re sick babies
hope all babies get well soon

tabby
hope u get well soon too! do take care of yourself

sl
your MIL so unreasonable....but your hb also quite good. got tell your MIL cannot go over

mamapanda
my IL also like that. they will scold my hb for discplining JH. i always tell my hb why last time they can spank him but now cannot let him discipline the son...

may
sent u the photos liao

krissie
glad to hear that your dad is better

queen
i thought not good to give too much salmon cos of the mercury? i usually give cod fish as well.

anyone going to give cod liver oil?

chichkenlittle
think you have one of the most reasonable IL..
my IL will interfere with how we discipline JH.

SH
so u having your celebration this sat? hee, happy preparing!

durianlover,clare
i also let JH self feed to make him finish his food. he likes it and wlil eat more. sometimes i will just give him something to hold in his hands while he finish his food as well.

Flo
so u play a few disc each day? actually i think some experts say no TV for the bb before 2 years old but without the TV, we dun get to rest sometimes

mashy
u working in govt sector? tot govt sector supposed to be more work life balance...

SSF
congrats that your job hunt seems positive! keep us posted....

Tabby
Sorry to read abt tabitha... I'm sure she will recover very speedily. Yes Cheer up for Tabitha and the little one in you! and take care too *hugzzz*

SY,clare,
i tried letting Janelle self-feed during lunch just now after she started to spit out her food. She was only halfway through her usual bowl of pasta then. Well, she enjoyed self-feeding but guess what? She'd put the food in her mouth and spit it out still! Naughty girl. In the end, she ate only half the usual bowl...i gave up trying to force-feed her.

Mamapanda,
I agree that others shouldn't interfere with the way we parents discipline our kids. My parents and ILs will always tell Janelle "wait mummy scold" whenever she does something naughty. Sometimes i also don't like them to say that coz it seems like i'm the bad one always scolding my girl, yet i also understand that people in general like to stop a child from doing wrong by saying that his/her mummy or daddy will scold.

SSF,
Yup agree, do trust that God will pave the way. I believe that things will work together for your good! Wow really a lot of new changes for you this year!!

Happy New Year everyone!

So glad that it's been finally 1 year! Last year I was stuck in the delivery ward and in pain despite having epidural.

Caeden thanks for aunties' birthday wishes! May all of you continue to be pretty, strong and healthy too in the new year.

Am glad that we're back too before the bombings yesterday at Bangkok. haha, didn't even know about the bombings until my friends told me. :p

Will take a pic of the album and post it when I can.

Tabby

take care! when our darlings get sick, we're most heart pained.

SY
no such thing lah. Say only. But it really depends on your boss. My friend's boss in govt sector actually gave her warning when she kept having to take leave to take care of her sick child.

SY

I've started to give cod liver oil to caeden. Bought from vitakids in forum. U can go check it out. he hates it, so i mix it with his milk.

it has been two to three days since i log in.. so many posting to read.. my internet is totally down ...

RE: photo shoot

i had his photo on the 30th and i was so happy that he smile alot and was very happy coz past few days he has been very cranky...

RE: accident

yesterday we went to ck tangs .. then hb was pushing the pram.. near the clothings then a boy around 11years old or so was running and he try to jump pass the pram.. but it was to high for him therefore he hit the pram causing it to fly to the pile of clothings.. and my SON WAS INSIDE.. i scream and shouted to the boy.. he was shock.. i was shock too.. luckly elijah was not hurt..

sysac,
think I missed ur msg.
Yes.. Panu is not bad. Cannot ask for too much as I know doing housework needs alot of energy. It is already good to have someone to help out. She will confirm the next cleaning with me again as she say she needs to rearrange her timing as I wanted a Sat AM.

Rena,
Lucky he did not hit Sumo. Just went downstairs playground with Jamie. I scolded a group of boys there too. They were throwing ball at playground where there are a couple of toddlers playing at the slide. One of it nearly hit jamie and I use my arm to block. They got scolded by me.

May, Rena,

Lucky your darlings not hurt. I will also tell the kids like not suppose to play ball at the void deck. The other day I even tell this boy to get off the sofa at a shoe shop when his shoes are on the sofa. Charmaine oso told " you dirty the seat how can i sit down to try my shoes"

god's child

here's the photos of the album.

there are a few formats to choose from. there's one that's just photos. very nice. now regret didn't choose that format. haha.

This is a hard cover book. Can choose soft covers or calendar or notebook.

For this format that i chose, can put between 1-6 photos in 1 page.

632699.jpg

632700.jpg

632701.jpg

632702.jpg

Rena & May

I also hate it when other children come bashing our kids. They're so reckless. Then again, i was hoping that our own kids won't turn out the same.

what a wonderful day! Nice beautiful weather and Ryan's birthday bash was great fun...will post some pics when i have time.

By the way, any mummies want to take over the Happy birthday scene setter from me? I bot it and couldnt find an empty space to paste it on the venue so its brand new.

I bot it from TLL's spree at $9.90

Item name: Pooh Happy Birthday Scene Setter Add-on http://www.birthdaydirect.com/pooh-happy-birthday-scene-setter-addon-p-8499.html

i m just back from KKH. my gal is down with stomach flu. kept vomitting almost everytime she wakes up since morning. luckily doc didn't ask her to stay in the hospital just now. and lucky that no diarrhea and fever. phew....

chickenlittle, chillies, durianlover
Sometimes, I really wish my FIL could be more reasonable and understanding. He's really very one kind and does not respect other people's wishes. In my 3 years of married life, each and every one of our quarrels are linked to my FIL. Even my MIL has given up on him.

Anyway, I just want to wish all of you a very HAPPY NEW YEAR!

thanks CL, May

May
Jamie also had stomach flu? what did you feed her to let her have more fluid intake? my gal doesn't really have wet diaper for the whole day.
and just now, she vomitted all the milk again.... but still manage to zzz with all the wet clothes and bedsheet......

vmum
re discipline
my hb also said that bb centre website says that we cant say no to bb so often. I was telling him, if cant tell him no, then how do we tell them not to do a certain thing?

tabb
hope you and tabby will recover soon.

SSF
congrats on your new job.

rena
what a scare.. lucjily Elijah is ok.

so sad to hear so many babies are sick. Caleb just recovered from fever and today he is down with cough. quite bad that he missed some of his milk feed. keep coughing and immediately cry and hug me. so sad to see him in such plight. i pray that Caleb will recover soon for his party this sun. now i also no mood to plan much just hoping he gets well soon.

rena - wow...thank goodness Elijah is fine. yes now that we are mummies..we tend to be protective over our little one. just 2 weeks ago, Caleb was sitting this coin machine in Tampines mall. then this boy abt pri sch keep shaking the plane even with Caleb in it. I told him off and ask him not to do that. then he still do it. i see that he seems abit strange...so i just carried Caleb and went away. so bad of that boy..just keep me wondering where his parents are mann!

mashybrain - wow the book u created looks really good. can u bring it to the bd bash and show us. hee...

Hi Mommies
Happy New Year, wishing you and your little darlings a great year ahead.

Vmom,
Welcome to this thread

SSF, Tabbie, Sunny
Hope your little ones get well soon, you take care too.

Happy Belated birthday to Caeden and Gracie. Hope you had a great party.

SY
Ya my mom and me will normally play different disc if she gets to watch more than 1 time a day. I think it should be ok to watch disc that are educational but in moderation I guess. I realised Mel does try to pronounce words/follow actions that are taught in the disc. Moreover it gives us some free time too.

SSF
Good luck for your new job. I do agree that is better to let your prospective employer know you are preggy cos if they really mind they can ask you to leave before confirmation too.

Mashy/SY
RE: ProFamily Employer
Although corporate culture does play a part, it depends very much on your immediate boss. I guess they will be more pro-family if they themselves are married with kids cos they are able to empathise with you.

Rena/May
Agree some of these kids are really out of control. Lucky Elijah and Jamie were unhurt.

sunny
my nephew had stomach flu and was admitted to KK last month. Vania was infected on the day we were supposed to fly back to Jkt. Luckily she did not have to be admitted.
Did the doctor prescribe Pedialyte? the cherry flavour is sour though. I think you can also give Gluco. Blue colour tin.
For me it was easier to keep Vania hydrated because she didnt reject BM. She vomitted in the cab on our way to the aport and I didnt get time to change. So i travelled home with smelly shirt hee hee.. the price of being a mother :p

Hope the sick babies will recover soon. May God give extra strength to the mummies.

mashy
very nice momento !

bb activities
mummies, can I know what kind of activities you do with bb when at home? i feel bad le coz all she does is wander around while the playhouse disney is playing on the background :p she will watch when her fav prog comes up. She has just recently mastered the art of crawling and climbing.

Happy New Year to all mummies and babies!

rena,

How could the boy be like that?!

tabby,
Will pray for little tabby.

So sad to see so many little ones sick these few days. Guess the weather had something to do with this? Charmaine was sick for 2 days on Thur and Fri too. She was less smiley than usual but on the whole, she's quite okay. Vmum, same like you, the only way I can keep her hydrated is to keep latching her on. She will never reject the breast. Which is why I have reservations in weaning her off. : (

re: TV
I realise that her attention span is too short to watch any shows. The only one that she likes is Hi-5 - more accurately, the opening and closing songs in Hi-5. She will imitate their actions and "dance" along. : ) But I can't find any Hi-5 DVD in Sg.

re: appetite
Any babies' appetite decreasing? Charmaine eats only half of what she used to eat leh.