(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mamachan

He's already on Zaditen and singulair. But he still falls sick.

mashybrainz
is it the practice at the IFC not hygenic enough? sometimes when my boy falls sick, i will instruct my maid to wash his hands and wipe his face more often so that he recovers faster. it is inevitable that they fall sick. even when i come back from outside, i think m carrying a lot of germs on my clothes. the only thing i try to minimise the chance of him falling sick is to wash my hands with soap before i carry him...

Flo
i like those herbal type..yummy.

Prevention
I learnt this from my maid after observing how she cared for Daren. In the afternoons, I noticed that she'll always put a small handtowel behind the back of his clothes, so a little bit will hang out like he's superman. And I noticed that he has not fallen sick with cough and phelgm for quite awhile. I asked her about it and my maid mentioned that it's to soak up their sweat (my boy perspires alot) and they will not catch cold easily due to the sweat, thus keeping the lungs "protected". This was shared to her by a Taiwan doctor (when she was working in Taiwan) whose recommended method was to put newspaper, but she felt was too dirty to use that so she used a hand towel instead. Mashy, hope this might help to keep his lung area warm and protected and recover faster.

Mashy
I've replied your PM =) Hope am not too long winded.

Mamachan,
My hubby on the salsa class liao. so count me in!

may,
I also think that that maid is one kind one. Better don't get her otherwise later got more problems.

Wenyl,
Oh dear! Don't think too much abt it and take care okay? Must build up your body for the next one.

CL,
I also go to the keppel Bak Kut Teh. It's really a bit ex hor?

Gosh! I was so tired earlier at work that I nearly fell asleep so many times.

Wenyl - do take care.. *pat pat*

May - i wld tink u r rite in not hiring tis maid.. so $ minded... indon maid u are looking for rite? take ur time, dun hav to rush into getin one... did u ask agency if u cld interview the current employer? i wld insist on it and so far, my agent does let me talk to them. and when the employer knows tat im gettin maid for caring of baby, they are rather truthful...guess they also wont wana risk tellin us lies and bringing harm to our baby... one call tat i made actuali told me : if its gona be one to one at home, then i dun tink u shld take the maid. but since ur inlaws are gona b home as supervision, it should be fine... even when i wana tsf my ex maid out, the prospective employer called me and told me tat it was for her newborn bb who is gona b left wf the inlaw... i was also frank to tell her tat hp was the only thing tat is causing her to be so ill attitude. so if they cld ctrl tat, things might work out.cos she does have a wealth of baby experience...

Mashy - the no. 1 question i wld ask the maid is : do u hold a handphone? if so, are you agreeable to me keeping it for you during daytime? and since Caeden is gona be looked after by maid solo at home,it is only wise not to let her hold one... they wont know how to stop. my first maid used hp like nobody biz and had lotsa frens!sms kept coming in... now tat hav changed to filipino,i told her firmly no hp is allowed during daytime... so far stil so good..cross fingers she will stay good

mamachan - agree wf you on tat towel thingie... it is esp good for babies who do wheeze and have cough easily... when celeste has broncholitis the other time,my neighbour suggested tat too... i din use the towel though,i just kept using a towel to wipe and kept changing her clothes and keep her dry...

god's child
Hmmmm, I think maybe they should consider making those Dri-Fit baby clothes! Haha, draw sweat away from the body and evaporate via the clothes.

sl
Cool, ok will add you in =)

###SALSA BEGINNERS CLASS DETAILS###

To sign up for classes, you may email us at [email protected] or register online at http://www.jjsalsarengue.com

Please note that pre-registration is required for all classes. All classes are held at our studio at{24A Murray Terrace(Tanjong Pagar).

If you have queries, please feel free to call Jackson at 9671-8985 or June at 9671-1952.

Beginner
(by Jackson & June)
Every Saturday, starts 13 January
2pm to 3:15pm
Fees: $90 per pax
Duration: 6 wks (7.5 hrs)

Mummies who are keen on Salsa classes
So sorry, I've not done any follow up, tried looking for the list but it's backdated all the way back till before the Botanic Gardens Photoshoot. Those who are still keen, kindly put down your names k?

1) MamaChan + hb
2) Rachel + hb
3) sl + hb
5)
6)

SY,

Paiseh, was thinking of black pepper too much. Sorry no signboard only have white pepper crab which makes it different others. :p

Crab feast yummy yummy, we can have the no signboard outing but we have to take turns looking after kids otherwise hands dirty very difficult.

Mamachan,

Come to think of that. Charmaine's few classmates with filippino maids and one of the filippino classmates also use the same method of putting a small towel either on the back of the top or at the waist. Always thought it is for easy retrieval of hanky. Hmm, since my aden sweats easily maybe I should ask nanny and practice that myself too

rachel,
I am very tempted to buy the shoes but clariss don't like to wear shoes and she is very angry if I put shoes on her feet and always cry to have it remove.
Any of the babies have this problem? I think I didn't let her get used to wearing socks and shoes so she don't like it now.
think I will order a XL size, let me select the design.

wenyl,
so sorry to hear about ur loss. you take care ya...

re Shoo Shoos,
i tot our babies are too old for these kind of shoes already coz they are attempting or can walk. I have already let edgar wear the rubbersole shoes. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Celine77,
Would rubbersolde shoes be too hard? I dunno...
Can Edgar walk in rubbersoles?
I'm also wondering whether to buy shoes with soles.

SY,
You had a HP problem with your maid some time ago right?
how did it turned out?

Chicken Little,
Are you coming by my place tonight?

queen,
think juz gotta make sure the rubbersoles are soft and bendable. i got mine from clarks. they have a pair meant for crawlers/prewalkers. find that one quite good coz its very soft. edgar can walk(with support) quite well in that pair of shoes. if i don't remember wrongly, rena got a pair for sumo as well.

celine77
re: rubbersole shoes
Hmmm, I read somewhere in a parenting magazine quite sometime back that for babies learning to walk, it's best for them to wear soft sole shoes. So that they can feel the ground much better when learning to walk. In fact, if possible to wear soft soles till about up to 2 years of age. Rubber-soles will be too hard for them and might be too heavy for their little feet as well. Once they are able to walk on their own rather stabily without support, then it'll be good for them to wear the rubber-sole shoes.

So far, I've bought for Daren bobux shoes to wear. The only hard-sole sandal he has is the squeaky ones that he wears when he goes for a short walk downstairs.

Hi Mummies,.

RE: Sweet fran Kiss to share.
Today morning before step out from my house, my daughter Gracie give me a fren kiss and with wave her hand ( bye bye ) to me..oh dear...I'm so happy and sweet..MIL bring her to me and she even kiss me and kiss MIL ..after that I also give her fren kiss and bye bye to her.... So Sweet be a MUMMY..

RE: Crab
Whoaaaaa yummy my favorite,...I love crab, prawn, sotong and fish. There is place sell a lot crab to those restaurant or Che Cha place...I used to bought 8 big crab from there...is really fresh. Haa..haa. I dont know how to cut the crab but I know how to cook. SO hb will do the cuttig section..

There is restaurant at Joo Chiat road got a very nice Crab...they got sambal belacan crab.. and also somewhere there got a small coffee shop che cha,,they sell a very nice crab....
Thai village restaurant serves a very nice shark fin and crab vermicili. Thai village and no sign board crab located at OASIS ( Indoor stadium Kallang ) Shiok Shiok ,,,nice food...really hungry for that

We really must find a day for those food...since we have a lot yummy queen mummy here

Queen,

Yes I will drop by your place tonight. Better to go Sembawang or Woodlands ? Will ask hb to go for the bah ku teh at Masiling.

Linda,
U are a lucky mummy. Oh the crab at Joo chiat is still road. Very long q one. The person in charge Ah Hoon oso super Tau. Thai village has got very nice sharks fin. Yummy. Fil's favourite restaurant. Another is Lei Garden for Dim sum. But we never go there now because they know us like frequent shopper so they will ask about my mil who has passed away. Sob Sob

Celine77
I love that clark shoes. But Aden has such fat leg I have to buy the toddler one which is not as soft.

mamachan,
ic... i tot it's better to wear rubbersoles... thanks for the info! :D

linda,
where to u buy the crabs, i mean the uncooked ones?i used to buy from rivervale market but that stall no longer there liao.

chickenlittle,
hehe... me oso love that pair of shoes. very nice.. so i suppose there are still some advantages in being petite. haha!

celine77
yes, what mamachan said is what i read from an article sometime back too. best to let our babies wear soft sole shoe till 2 yr old. tats why i decide to get shoo shoos. hmm maybe i should get another pair at XL size hahaha

re: Bah Kut Teh
*drool* making me so tempted. quite sometime since i had bah kut teh liao.

linda
wow, Grace so clever n sweet. my Dylan now only start to 'wave' bye bye, or rather its those 'cao cai mao' action *faint*

I have some feedback with the Look-a-like contest and Prince/Princess.

Are you fine with me posting the photos here?
If no.. I will need to open the voting to only the committee members and we shall choose the finalist within ourselves.

It will be better for you to sign up via forum post so it will be more visible.

Send me the photos: [email protected]

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
Format: Nick - Baby's name
1)
5)

Diaper Contest
Format: Nick (we will call out for the daddy on that day)
1)
5)

Look-A-Like (Daddy & Baby)
Format: Nick - Hubby & Baby's Name
1) Maywong - Hubby & Jamie
5)
6)

..cont.

Look-A-Like (Mummy & Baby)
Format: Nick & Baby's Name
1)
5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
Format: Nick - Baby's Name
1) Maywong - Jamie
5)
6)

..cont.

Sorry if I confuse anyone of u.

wendyl
so sorry to hear abt your loss.. pls take care. *hugs*

Gymboree trial
1. SY
2. SSF
3. SL
4. Esh_mummy
5. ChickenLittle
6. Flo
7. Cookie
8. cheng
9. krissie

erh, when's the trial?

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1)
5)

Diaper Contest
1)
5)

5)
6)

..cont.

1) Chicken Little - Mummy n Aden
5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
5)
6)

..cont.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1)
5)

Diaper Contest
1) rena / elijah
5)

2) Rena076 - hubby and Elijah
5)
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5)
6)

..cont.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
5)

Diaper Contest
1)
5)

5)
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
5)
6)

..cont.

Repost, coz i was posting at the same time as Rena.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
5)

Diaper Contest
1) rena / elijah
5)

5)
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5)
6)

..cont.

re cake ave
mummies, who hv ordered or tried their cakes, can u recommend which flavour is the nicest, pls?we've not tried their cakes before.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
5)

Diaper Contest
1) rena / elijah
5)

5)
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
4) Tracy - Megan (picture email liao)
5)
6)

..cont.

Crab feast is good lor..

remember we tried to organise before..

but i think it would be better to have it at someone's house coz at least it will be more comfy for bb..

re: Shoes
Hmmm... my gal walks around in oshkosh shoes and clark shoes (both for walkers). Are these okay?

CL,
My family frequents Lei Gardens too! The one at orchard road, not the chijmes branch.
I like dim sum at crystal jade too but always got queue. If you like escargots, should try the one at funan, cafe de amigo and the apple pie there is tops! They just shifted there from specialist centre.

Linda,
When our babies do something like that, it just warms your hear doesn't it?

queen
now my maid will switch off her phone in the day and only use it at night after she's done with her chores. actualyl i find that she improved after the incident. maybe she knows i m not too happy abt it so she's better now. JH seems to like her more now.

re gymboree trial
which day do u wan to do it? it will be a sun for me.

Gymboree trial
1. SY
2. SSF
3. SL
4. Esh_mummy
5. ChickenLittle
6. Flo
7. Cookie
8. cheng
9. krissie

since limited contestants for each games, can we restrict to bb taking part in multiple games? This is to ensure that the rest of the mums/dads/bb can participate in our games?

re crab feast
it wd be quite troublesome to eat with our babies ard unless got someone to hel pto look after them...

re shoes
there was once when i went to buy shoes for my boy and the lady told me not to buy those meant for walking until they are ready to walk and have been walking for a few weeks. then we get them measures to get the right size shoes.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
5)

Diaper Contest
1) rena / elijah
5)

3) SY - HB n JH
5)
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5) Sy - JH
6)

..cont.

wenyl - I am sorry to hear abt your loss. please take care of yourself and dun worry too much. we are here if you ever need a listening ear. * hugz*

joanna - yes malacca is lots of fun! i havent been there for almost a yr since i have Caleb. but before that i go like at least thrice per yr. me and hb will drive up..stay at renaissance/equatorial and find our way to good food like satay celup, newton hawker (they sell whole lot of variety of food), their famous pork porridge beside mahkota parade mall, chicken rice ball of course and cendol in jonkers walk and wanton mee beside renaisance hotel. aiyoh i miss miss miss their food! oh so u bought the beaded shoes in jonker's walk? hee...nice right? btw, i am a peranakan and my mum do have those beaded shoes and for my wedding i wore a kebaya. i have lotsa of relatives staying in malacca so my childhood was spent in malacca too. tats why i lurve malacca so much and its is safer that JB and KL. and its just 3hrs drive frm SGP. things are also much cheaper in Malacca. oh no u are tempting me again

It will be better for you to sign up via forum post so it will be more visible.

Send me the photos: [email protected]

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) SSF - Caleb
5)

Diaper Contest
1)
5)

2) SSF - Hubby and Caleb
5)
6)

..cont.

1)
5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) SSF - Caleb
5)
6)

..cont.

Updated one ...

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
2) SSF - Caleb
5)

Diaper Contest
1) rena / elijah
5)

3) SY - HB n JH
4) SSF - Hb and Caleb
5)
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5) Sy - JH
6) SSF - Caleb

..cont.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
2) SSF - Caleb
5)

Diaper Contest
1) rena / elijah
5)

3) SY - HB n JH
4) SSF - Hubby and Caleb
5)
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5) Sy - JH
6) SSF - Caleb

..cont.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
2) SSF - Caleb
5)

Diaper Contest
1)
5)

3) SY - HB n JH
4) SSF - Hubby and Caleb

5)
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5) Sy - JH
6) SSF - Caleb

..cont.

SSF,

I have added in for you..

RE: Multiples

since sept 03 mention to restric to one event then i took out .. however for the prince and princess also cannot?????

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
2) SSF - Caleb
5)

Diaper Contest
1) MamaChan - Hb (can call him as PapaChan) + Daren
5)

3) SY - HB n JH
4) SSF - Hubby and Caleb

5)MamaChan - Hb and Daren
6)

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5) Sy - JH
6) SSF - Caleb

..cont.

sl
Hmmmm, is your girl already walking without support for a few weeks? If yes, then I suppose it should be fine. The most impt thing is that the rubber soles are not so stiff that it's not bendable, coz at this present moment, it's impt for them to develop the natural arch in their feet. That's why soft soles are recommended.

SSF,

You are so familiar with Malacca! I have been there twice. Once with Charmaine as a rehearsal for her first overseas trip to Australia. Have to say that I quite like it but the only drawback is that I can't find anywhere to nurse her there! : P
Hey, we can organise a drive-up to malacca with our families.

Rachel,

Really to wear soft sole shoes till 2yrs? But I also read that those soft sole shoes are only for walking indoors right? I think by 2, most babies can walk quite well and would be walking a lot already. Can these soft soles shoes meet their needs?

SY,
I am okay with sun PM. Thanks for organising!

sl
think there is no hard rules that must be till 2yrs old. tats what professionals advise. still up to us parent to decide =) at this point of time, i prefer to let Dylan wear soft sole shoe, since he is jus beginning to learn walking. what mamachan said is very true, give them some to develop the natural arch in their feet.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
2) SSF - Caleb
5)

Diaper Contest
5)

3) SY - HB n JH
4) SSF - Hubby and Caleb

6) tabbiesus_ hb and tabby

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
2) SSF - Caleb
5)

Diaper Contest
5)

3) SY - HB n JH
4) SSF - Hubby and Caleb

6)Linda_tjhin - Hb and Gracie

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5) Sy - JH
6) SSF - Caleb
7) Linda_tjhin - Gracie

..cont.

Hi SSF...Ya boy... I pre-ordered the beaded shoes from a shop known as Nyona Heritage...Really very very nice...
There's this new shopping mall opposite Mahkota Parade...very nice and cheap...and currently having up to 50% sale...bought all the clothes form a store called Padini....very nice kidswear...so cute also...also shopped at their esprit cos really good buys...for my kid...hehe..so you are a peranakan...I really like the peranakan culture...so nice leh....so envious....had no time cos it was raining...on my next visit...I'll get a sarong kebaya too...hehe...
The food's really yummy too!

SL...ya...I dun mind going on a organised drive-in...hehe...but becos of the nature of my work...I will probably hold you guys back with the dates....hehe unless we can find a long weekend date...

Wenyl...So sorry to hear about your loss...do take good care of yourself...do rest more often and do a mini-confinement like what a mummy here had mentioned. Will pray for your speedy recovery...

Please sign up here:

Crawling Contest
1) krissie - Gerald
2) SSF - Caleb
5)

Diaper Contest
5)

3) SY - HB n JH
4) SSF - Hubby and Caleb

6)tabbiesus - hb and tabby
7)Linda_tjhin - Hb and Gracie

..cont.

5)
6)

..cont.

Prince/Princess
1) Maywong - Jamie
2) Chicken Little - Aden
3) rena076 - Elijah
5) Sy - JH
6) SSF - Caleb
7) Linda_tjhin - Gracie

..cont.

tabby and linda
Think you all posted at the same time. Just updated.