(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cindy
oh..sad to hear that you mum hasnt got over her divorce. Hmm.. maybe you wanna consider bringing her to see a doctor / counsellor. Sometimes, depression is more serious than we think. But, you take care ya, think happy thots.

May,
Thanks. Any idea how does the 3 monkey restaurant look like? I'm planning to hv his party at Globetrotters when Ger's maybe 2 or 3, then he and the other children can play in the playroom. He's too young to appreciate it now. Actually, I like the idea of a function room. But, I'm now sourcing for a backup plan incase my cousin cant get the function room at her condo.

tracy
I find the fruits puffs a bit sweet leh, definitely not tasteless.

hi cindy,
its really sad to hear such unhappy issues when actually u should be rejoicing over a new life..
But i'm sure things can be resolved over time. Dun get too stressed out yah.

Cindy,
Congrats for creating a 2nd miracle! I agree with what the mummies have said, you should decide what's best for yourself and your HB. It's not that your mom is not important, but your priority should now be about yourself, your HB and your son & your unborn child. I'm sure she does not truly mean what she said... just give her some time to digest all that has happened. I hope things work out for you and your mom!

May,
Do try batch cooking and freezing of purees. Requires some effort every weekend, but an hour or 2's effort can prepare enough to last Jaime for 1 week! If your mom is really lazy to cook, I think no choice, like what the other mummies suggest, just wake up 20 mins earlier every morning and cut up veges and meat and bring over to your mom to throw into the slow cooker for her lunch. Morning just give cereal. Else frozen purees is the next best alternative! Put into microwave to warm up can liao.

SOOO much to catch up but i simply got no time coz got loads of work to be done before I am on leave again next week cos mum going Taiwan so i got to be SAHM again.

Congrats to Tabbie/Esther/Cindy on joining Denmy to be a 2nd Time mum!!!

Cindy,
Hang on... like what the other mummies has said, eventhough you love your mum alot but her reaction to you having a 2nd child is really uncalled for... what does she mean by you betrayed her by having a 2nd child with your husband whom you are gonna share the rest of your life with? It seems like she hates your HB so much that she was hoping you 2 might get a divorced or something... so sorry i dun mean to be rude but this is a new life we are talking about. How immpossible it may seem now but the relationship between your HB & mum could be salvage in future but a new life, if lost, can never be replaced... I am sure your mum will grow to love your 2nd child as much as she loves Lucus.

Opps... correction... Denmy is 3RD TIME Mummy... hee hee...

Re Scrapbooking
I won't be able to join you all for the advance class this time round... is the Basics class still on? MaybeI can join the Basic class mummies when they move on to advance. =)

Sorry again for not being able to show some mummies the cardstocks and embellishments which i brought to Botanic Gardens on Sunday. Am opening up my place again this Sat, say, between 1-3pm (??) for mummies to come view the stocks. Or Sophia I think your house might be bigger and more spacious can u open house?? Rachel asked for pictures last night but I didn't get a chance to post the pictures on the web... will try again ok.

Re Teething
Ashley is FINALLY teething, 4 at the same time... so she was very cranky these few nights... and guess what?? Last night I grabed the cream on the table in the dark, thinking it was dentinox gel, and applied some onto her gums. Was wondering why she was still crying but since she stopped after i put her pacifier and pat pat her.. I left her and went out. She started crying again soon after and i was about to apply the cream again when it suddenly dawned on me to check if that was Dentinox.. to my HORROR, it was ELOMET cream, a very strong cream given by the PD to be applied for her external rashes!! I was so so scared I carried her out and told HB, who quickly brushed her gums twice with her toothpaste and gave her lots of gripe water to drink. I was so guilty I cried... but thank goodness she was still smiley to me and HB said its ok and even asked Ashley to pat pat mummy. We let her sleep in between us last night so to see if there was any reaction. Middle of the night she was feeling abit hot but I thot she was just weather-hot but this morning i realised she was warm and having slight fever... besides being abit sian sian looking she was still smiley and happy when she saw my mum when I brought her there. Mum will be taking her to the doc so we shall see how it goes... I really hope it was not due to the cream which I put in her mouth... imagine... I FED POISON TO MY BABY... if anything happens to her I will never forgive myself... =(

Durianlover,
Cake Ave moved liao, to Lorong Kilat, yup, Sysac is right, it's opposite Bukit Timah CC. You can't see it from the main road, it's the building either behind or diagionally behind the one which has a Tumbletots? My HB asked the lady why they moved to such a ulu location without frontage, she says rental was too high at Railmall....

Cindy,
Really sad to hear about your situation, it is so tough to be sandwiched between two people you love, somemore now, you need to think about the new baby. Take care, and don't stress yourself. We are all here for you.

Mongs,
welcome back! Sound like you had a good trip! Can't wait to see the photos!

Krissie,
I also faced this problem! With the holiday season coming, very tough to find chalets. I did think about globetrotters as well, but coz we have maybe only about 10 kids all tiogether, and Shannon being so small that she can't really enjoy herself, decided to leave that until she is older. How about looking at your guest list and seeing whether there are enough kids to make it a baby and kids event? Or will there be more adults? Kindermusik, Gymboree etc does birthday parties too, but more for babies and kids to enjoy... if there are more adults, you could actually just select a fave restuarant for hi tea or lunch and reserve a private space for your guests? I was toying with Altivo at Mt Faber since I had mainly adults, and kids rather than babies, they do private functions. In fact, most restaurants and cafes do hold private functions...

I have been to globetrotters. It's really very baby-frenly but the food is really nothing to shout abt. Err... actually I won't go back again for lunch but maybe for drinks and finger food should be fine.

Hi Clare,
oh dear.... dun blame yourself, accidents happen. I also put all her creams together on her changing table, the Zalicort, the dentinox, the Desitin.... so in the dark, I sometimes take the other tubes by mistake too.. was it alot? I think a little bit should ok bah...

mongs - welcome home! wow...u mean ur bb went for the hot spring? pls share with us more abt taiwan and if its bb friendly?

cindy - sorry to hear abt your mum and dad. it's really tough being sandwich in between and trying to make her happy and be the best daughter you can. you may want to recommend a counsellor for your mum as it really helps. my frd's mum also undergo depression when she found out her hb is cheating behind her back. she even engaged PI etc...and she will always cry and go into depression mode. and after months of counselling (its FOC..there is a hotline to call), she is now happier even though her hb is still busy gg out early and coming back at night. she still has my friend and her daughters to fall back for support. so do not "abandon" your mum, instead try to make her feel wanted and important. and if possible, have her to attend to counselling which really will help her open her mind and move on. slowly she will soon learnt to accept your hb and second bb.

may - good to hear that you have sorted things out with ur hb. yes a part time cleaner helps alot. my hb and me use to argue over the household chores. his responsibility is only to clean the toilets but he can take like 3 mths and not clean it. and sometimes, it puts me off knowing that the entire hse is clean except the toilets. so now with the part time cleaner, it helps sort things out.

cindy
good to hear that you have a supportive dad! like waht the mummies say, focus on yourself and your bb. i agree with mashy that sometimes we can't accomodate everyone.

isn't it too tiring for u to be driving so far everyday? u will need the rest as well.

re cake ave,
is it really that nice? which building is it? i go back there every weekend. must go and check it out.

clare
dun worry too much. update us on how ashley is after seeing doc.

mongs
is taiwan good? i m thinking of going to taiwan next year. where did u bring clariss to?

sleepingdeer
altivo is ex! i wanted to do my ROM there but after all the calculations, we figured it's not worth it...

mongs
our "Beyond Basic" workshop is on the 11th Dec (monday), 1pm. emailed you a week ago on the details and payment mode. do check your inbox when you are free =)

Clare
got to give this sat a miss, got to visit my PIL this wkend in malaysia...
take your time to post the pictures of the products, know its time consuming. you might want to highlight to your friend that she should do up a web so we all can go in and order whatever products we want, something like on-line shopping. think in this way it will be easier for everyone in the long run =) thanks!

May
good to hear you have made a decision, take things at a time and eventually all will work out just fine!

Cindy
from what you said, your mum simply hates men in general and that why she reject your hb totally. even consider bringing her to have consulation?
meanwhile you take good care of yourself.

SY/mashy
i like taiwan, nice place, nice food and nice ppl! the people there is really warm and friendly (unlike here =p) went back packing, took their bus and train. all the way from Gao Shong to Taipei. went to the Alisan and Ri Yue Tan, love it! think dylan was made there, hahaha

will like to go there again =)

Cindy
I agree with the rest of suggesting counselling for your mom, and also with mashy that you can't please everyone. do celebrate the little bundle of joy that's forming in you.

Clare
Oh dear. You must have felt really bad. I think such accidents do happen, but by the grace of God, He will preserve your family and love ones despite the little mistakes we make. But Ashley is so sweet and ever ready to give her smiles to anyone and everyone. I always place the teething gel in the fridge though.

I don't mind coming by your place to view the SB materials. It'll be easier for you right? Then you dun need to lug everything down to my place. But if you prefer to use my place to display your goods, I'm ok with it. Maybe we do a poll?

Viewing of Scrapbooking Materials at:

MamaChan's Place @ Redhill
1)

Clare's place @ Serangoon (I think, Clare pls correct me if I'm wrong)
1)

Babylon
I'm using the Maclaren Techni XT currently. It's my only stroller so far. Very Sturdy and hardy but the weight is about 7.5kg.

hi Clare

Don't take it too hard on yourself ... accidents do happen. I've fed medicine in the wrong amt before too. Just monitor your gal. Have you called the doc to get advice?

Viewing of Scrapbooking Materials at:
I don't mind either place (but preferred redhill coz nearer to my place). I can also book my function room if need but that means Clare has to bring her stuff here ... but perhaps I can help take the photos and post if she's too busy to do after that. my place is a 5-10 mins from Yew Tee MRT. Let me know, I've yet to book it but it's available.

1) xjysg (preferred)

Clare's place @ Serangoon (I think, Clare pls correct me if I'm wrong)
1) xjysg

Clare
wow, close shave, luckily, Ashley is ok.

Tracy,
I cant rem what flavour I bought. Will check if i can rem, then tell you.

sleepingdeer
we have more adults. how much is Altivo? I like that place qt a lot, though just hv to make sure all the relatives hv transport there. Else, will be Secret Garden? Coz I've a budget. Looking at <$20 per pax?

Thanks for your concern. Yes I thank God that Ashley is a smiley baby... at least I know she's still alright. Just called mum Ashley dun seem to be having any more fever but still has made apt to see doc at 2.30pm just to make sure.

Re Viewing of Scrapbooking Materials
I dun mind lugging the stuff around as HB can help and drive me there. So MamaChan's place is fine too. Maybe we can take some pictures on the spot to show Rachel too...

1) xjysg (preferred)

Clare's place @ Farrer Park (Opp Little India's Muthu Curry)
1) xjysg

Rachel,
Yes the online shop is in the making since last Dec... haha almost 1 year already and still not up... so meanwhile my friend has been sellin off-line to her ex-colleagues and friends who happen to know. Targeting to get the on-line shop up and running soon... its been dragging tooo long.. sigh...

Hi durianlover,

Thanks for the website.

Can any mummies pls recommend some gd caterer. Having headaches as to which one to choose.
1) Neo Gdn
2) Mum's Kitchen
3) KCK catering
Which will u all opt for? Or any other better caterer.
Another headaches is celebrating on 1st Jan so most of the caterer will have special menu. Some caterer have not even draft out their festive menu. Sigh!!

SL,
Can PM me the contacts for part time cleaner? Any agent fees required?

RE: Part Time Cleaner
Do you all have a schedule for her? What is it like? Can share?

1) xjysg (preferred)
2) Maywong (if not, can email me the photos like Rachel?)

Clare's place @ Farrer Park (Opp Little India's Muthu Curry)
1) xjysg

chicken little,
u sama sama with me, i always used Neo Gardens too. Used them for my wedding and Caleb's 1st mth old party.. Will use them again for 1st YO party

Cindy,
First, the child is innocent.
2nd, bring only the positive of ur extended families into your family and do not let their negativity affect your family.
3rd, speak to your hb hw he feels abt the whole issue and also hw 're u both going to make this a better experience rather than calling it quits.
4th, everything deserves a 2nd chance and God has helped making everything better and making us a better person by teaching us to show TLC to our child/ children....

My 2cents worth....

Sep03Bride,

Ha ha I used them since my gal's time in 2002, long time fan. Even my relatives will ask me to help them cater. Sil oso use the same place so we always eat the same food.

Aiyo,

Today is a mad house for me just finish feeding 2 monkeys lunch.

Clare,
Am glad Ashley is fine. Try to put medication external and internal on 2 separate box, then you will not repeat the next time. Ashley is a strong gal and just luv to look at this smiley baby.

Can't make it this weekend. Please email me at [email protected] for the photos.

May,
Glad you sort out liao. It is quite tiring. I have slogged from 2002 till now. Worst now with Aden. My hb very used to mil doing everything so in the middle of the night I will mop floor and iron clothes. Vaccumm or use magic clean on the floor before the kids sleep everyday. All chores done then I can do my hobby. My hb still ask me y I dun want to sleep early. Sigh.

I share with you another option for cooking for baby. I just tried because I stuck with 2 kids today. You can cook soup which is suitable to use as stock for the porridge. Get the pigeon porridge maker, which you can cook porridge in the rice cooker when you are cooking rice. Just replace water with the stock from the soup, Jamie will have nice porridge liao. Save my time juz now. Then you can cook up another dish for hb and yourself. That will make your hb happy too

SH,
Tanyu is those black black claypot which is sold at robinsons, Tangs, some dept store.

SY,
Ha ha I not good cook. Remember I can only cook Japanese. Those which you cook in slowcooker should be able to cook in there. Winter melon soup, bah ku teh etc

Cindy,
Enjoy your pregnancy. Things will work out fine. Now just have to stay happy to have a cheerful baby. I am sure mummy will accept this little grandchild soon. By the way, your wings are still with me not with Denmy. Where you working ?

Sandra,
I am working near cityhall at Odeon Towers beside bras basah complex. During lunch I will be going to supernature to buy my baby's organic vege to do batch cooking. So lunch time I wont be near office. You can give me a buzz before coming. Will pm you my contact no.

Do I owe anyone any reply ?

seeing that so many of you have started on your 2nd or 3rd child makes me want to do so.
However, my menses is not even here yet. I think I need to stop breastfeeding totally. anyone of you also like that? maybe I should pay my gynae a visit.

Re: Taiwan,
The trip was a bit tiring because we visited the whole of taiwan from Taipei to Hualien to Tai Dong, Kaoshiong, Tai Chong, then back to Taipei. On some days, we can spend up to 7 hrs on the bus. but I guess what makes this trip good is the company. we went to a Taiwan tour agent straight coz my sis-in-law's boss visited taiwan a lot of times before. The agent planned the itinerary for us. There was quite a bit of rubber time and the schedule wasn't very tight. There were 25 of us and the youngest is clariss and the oldest is clariss great grandmum who is 70+. All of us know each other so it's very easy to look after clariss coz everyone will help out so it's much better for me and my hubby. The weather is cooling and clariss like the weather alot. We went to 2 hot springs places but clariss only went for 1 dip at the 2nd hot spring coz there is a lukewarm pool. she was a bit scared at first but after a while she quite enjoyed it. The only complain that I have is that there is so little time for everything. there are some places that we will like spend more time but we can't but I guess the trip is like a introductory to taiwan and the next time I go there, I will know where to go and how to plan.

In terms of child friendly, I think Taipei big shopping complex like sogo is, at least I saw a diaper changing station but the rest of taiwan, I don't think so, no changing station in the toilets and no nursing rooms. I saw a lot of parents pushing prams so the pavement in the city and tourist places are still relatively easy to push but note that they don't have ramps most of the places so have the carry the prams down the stairs.

Hi Annie,.

Heard from my fren Mum kitchen also not bad,...
Are you going to celebrate bb birthday on 1 Jan 2007? Is your bb birth in 1 Jan 2006?

I also plan for a small birthday party for my bb on 1 Jan 2007. As she was born in 1 Jan 2006.

Hi Sy
Yeah, you are right ,...right now in my mind as long as hb is understanding and support me...than is fine.
But when I looked back MIL also really good,...so far she did not stingy on spending for my bb,..she likes to doll up my bb and buy cod fish for almost 1 kg etc. She also cooked a lot birdnest for me during pregnancy and confinment.
The problem is She like to do what ever she want,..and blame people when she never realise on her mistake. What ever she said is right and what ever we want to do ,..she will change and like to decide for us. luckyly my hb and SIL said NO.
For Example like recently we went for dinner at Tung lok restaurant with SIL family and MIL + FIL.
She order beef and brought 1 pcs in front of my mouth and ask me to eat and she said " Mummy said is ok to eat this and nobody will blame you " As I;m budhist and believe in KUANG YIN and all of the family know I and Hb not take beef. Luckyly SIL saw that and said "Pls dont force her like that OK,.... Later KO KO dont kiss her anymore, you will be one that responsible for this "
My SIL really good and HB asked me what was happened,...I explained to him and he end up Angry and smile cos SIL really joker and stop her from her attitude.

I know I have my bad point and sometimes I can not just point her bad point but I myself also has bad point too. As right now I have become mother and she also not really want to hurt my feeling. It just that is her character..and it always difficult to change people character.
After all she also my hb mother, as my hb is only son,...I need to accept this and respect her too.
As my mum always advise me " Dont always see her bad point but when you see her good point,..than you wont angry with her anymore "

Chicken little,
I work at Juring East. I can collect the wings from you then. CCK? Would you be home this Fri around noon?

Re: counselling
I already suggested to her before. Even saying I will go with her ie. we attend sessions together and try to make things work. She simply refuse saying saying she cannot bear her soul to an outsider.

Clare,
OMG! So glad ashley is fine. Come to think of it, I also put my tubes of cream/teething gel together... better separate them.

Hi Chicken little, Sept03 Bride &amp; Linda,
Thanks for all your help. Seem like Neo gdn is more popular.

Hi Linda,
My son Jaden is born on 3rd Jan 06. 2 day diff. R u looking around for caterer too? Any choice in mind?

Clare
think the fever is a way Ashely's body reacting to the cream.since now the fever is gone, its mean Ashley is prefectly fine =) of cos a visit to PD is the best. Ashely is a strong girl! still remember her waving good bye to us when we parted at the botanic garden, heehee so sweet and clever. instead dylan will stare blankly *faint* but one thing, dylan smile at Ashley when she wave good bye! first time smiling at a girl =p oopss

wow its really long for your friend to put up the web. coming to one year liao. thanks Clare, but please dont stress yourself onthe pics. when ready then let me know la. any help needed do contact me =)

Hi Annie,.

I might look for Neo garden or Mum kitchen....
but have to discuss with hb first.
As my wedding annivesarry and FIL birthday is on 3rd Jan. So will be celebrate together on 1 Jan.

Have you got any good bakery shop for the birthday cake,..I read a lot of choices in forum.
At my mind thinking of Angie the Choice.
Their cakes really taste good....

Cindy
yes, the most difficult part for your mum is to take the first step to go for the counselling. do try talking to her again, highlighted that for her own good as well as to the rest of the family member. do give it a try. surely she dont wish to live in pain for the rest of her life. treat it like a chatting session and leave the rest to the professional.

Cindy,
Currently dun want to waste money on Full Time maid yet. When I got the POSITIVE sign for no.2 then I get.. at least got some time to train.

Clare,
Hope Ashley is ok. Teething is like that.. somemore need to coax her one. hehe

Chicken Little,
I dun cook leh.. by the time I reach home is already 7pm and hubby dun come back on time everyday. So I will see what I can do for Jamie's meal lor.

RE: Jamie
Mummies that went to the scrapbooking class.. do u find jamie too skinny? Cos my MIL always comments that when I go back during wkend. Which makes my hubby think my mum is at fault for her weight loss.

May
I think Jaime looks alright. Must bear in mind that bbs do not stay chubby forever. They are at the stage where they are much more active, i.e. crawling, attempting to stand and doing lots of squats, walking. They cannot sit still, so naturally they will become leaner, and sometimes meaner. heh heh. If u scared her carbs intake not enough for her to burn, as I suggested to a few mummies, can add one tablespoon of cereal to their milk lor.

Chicken Little:
"Anyone who wants to order birthday direct, Leng Leng starting another round again "

What shld i do to order? thks.

May,

I oso Jamie is ok. Dun compare to Aden he is born big n drinks more milk than solid. I am sure you will do well in preparing her food.

My gal oso small last time. fil oso say every weekend but i dun care. as long she is being fed and grow well according to the chart, she is fine.

Esh_mummy,
Click on the link to bring you to her spree.

hi Linda,
I am celebrting Ryan's bday on 1 Jan 2007 too...altho he is born on 4 Jan but its a thur and since i am inviting ppl for lunch, quite inconvenient for me...

Anyone has any suggestions of places I can hold a luncheon for approx 150 pax? am scouting around

Maclaren Techno XT
I use it...its quite good and my only complaint is that it is heavy...aprox 9 kg...

Re. Birthday Direct
Oh gosh, Leng Leng organising?
She's charging a fixed exchange rate of US$1 = S$1.65 not inclusive of shipping and postage. Now the exchange rate is only 1 = 1.56 ... Seems like she's indirectly charging a service fee, though not sure whether she has ever admitted it before.
I'm torn... I want to get the items, but don't wish to order through her. Damn, I wish I didn't have problems with my credit card! Now even if I place orders, dunno can get the items in time or not.

Maclaren Techno XT:-

Two of my close friends using, not bad is their opinion...
For myself, i'm using PLIKO P3 COMPLETO, sturdy but on the heavy side....