(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: Calendula Cream
MIL used it on grandma for her operation wound and she's now all praises for this cream. requested that i get one tub for her. Just called Creme at Scotts Shpg Ctr, they carry Cali Bb, but not this cream. They were nice to tell my Kids21 at Paragon (under Club21) has it.

So FYI those who ever need to get it urgently like me. but hope its not toooo ex.

Denmy/tabbiesus/Esther,

I think I'm joining your club... but with a very heavy heart and not sure if I should see it through.

First, it was unplanned and my mom is actually the one who is very against me having a 2nd child with my husband. They could not get along but she actually hates him so much that she screamed I had betrayed her by having another baby with him. When I mentioned that I might keep the baby she went berserk and said I'm such a disappointment and wants to severe ties with me.

I really din expect her hysteria. I can only blame myself for the situation. Hubby "played me out" the last time we BD and I din insist on condom.

Also, I know this would most prob affect my career with 2 babies in 2 years

How how how???? I've made appt with gynae for tomorrow. I'm now just "walking one step and seeing one step".

Re: Star Cruise

Who was it who went on Star Cruise? What room did you book? I'm planning to go. But not sure where my bb can sleep. The beds are so tiny. Can I bring along a portable cot?

mashy
me went star cruise 3 weeks ago. we took the baloncy room. no worries on where baby should sleep, you can require for baby cot and they will get ready for you. they even provide bath tub! me and hb tried our luck and call the room service to check whether they have bath tub. within 5 mins they came knocking on our door and brought over a nice and clean bath tub for us ! thumb up for their service. =)

Cindy,
Oh no, it's like good news that seems marred by sadness! Take time to let urself come to terms with it. Don't let ur mum's comments affect you. It's really strange that your mum thinks u betrayed her by having a 2nd child!? I mean, isn't it most natural for you to have a child with your hubby? Hmm... Ultimately you have already started a new family with your hubby. Try not to let your mum's comments affect you too much if not it'll hinder you in establishing your own family. How does your hubby feel about this pregnancy?

rachel

wah, so good, they prepared a baby's cot? So nice of them. Ok, if they can get me a cot, i don't mind going.

Cindy

How's your relationship with your hb may i ask? Don't bother about your mom. It's odd of her to behave this way. Having a bb is a happy thing.

Cindy,
are u planning to stop at only one?? but whether that or not, my opinion is keep the baby.

i dunno wat happened between your mum n hb, but its seems they ve really bad blood between them for ur mum to be against u having a 2nd child. give your mum time to calm down n absorb the news.

my view is that the baby is yours n your hb's so its your decision whether to keep it, not your mum's. if she wanna severe ties with you (which i hope was said only in moment of anger), jus let it go her way. we do not know wat the future holds, but the baby is innocent in this squabble between the adults.

Your company should be quite pro-baby right being THAT company. I view it as its good that the employee starts a family quickly and close shop. then can concentrate on work without disruptions in between again.

on a lighter note...heehee how come hubby play you out? i'm v alert on 'such' things. last time when we jus got married, my hb also played me out but i knew and immediately, i made him go with me to 24hr clinic to get morning after pill. hahaha.

Cindy
Sorry for being kaypo but I think to have another baby or not should be your hb and your decision and not your mom rite? Unless you are saying you and hb are currently separated or divocing, which is clearly not the case. Babies are such wonderful gift, many ppl tried very hard to conceive but failed to. I hope you'll think about it seriously and perhaps have a good talk with your mom and don't act rashly. I ever read about mommies who had gone for abortion and got haunted by the incident for the rest of their lives. As for career, to me a job is just to make a living. In today's world, you can ask to go anytime when there's is an economic downturn/company restructuring esp when you hit your 40s. I've seen it in many cases. So is not worth making all these scarifies for family. At the end of the day, is worth trading in your career for the little milestone and time you have with your little one I believe.

mashy
oh yah, they oso provide plain porridge from one of their restaurant. on the spot they will prepare for you and of coz you got to bring along a food jar. i brought my tiger food jar and let the porridge be kept in there for about 1 hr plus before serving to dylan, so it will be more nua. yes yes, they give out baby jar food too.

RE: Photoshoot at Botanic Gdns
Hi mummies, i enjoyed myself though weather was really hot and babies got cranky! It's my FIRST time joining such a gathering and it was kind of overwhelming! i was really blur...couldn't get to say hi to all the mummies and can't remember all your names either! Anyone can post a pic with the mummies inside and identify yourselves?? Hee :p

Flo,
Now that i look at the pictures then i realise you are Flo!! Oh my. Blur me. I was thinking that your baby looked familiar but it didn't strike me that she was Mel! And Mel does look different from the last time you posted pics of her

sysac,
Yes please send me the pics of Cephas & Janelle to my email account [email protected]
I also hv quite a few pics of Cephas. Will email you after you've emailed me yeah?

Will post up some pics soon!

Rachel

With the amt paid for a balcony room, I can go Japan DisneySea with 2Nts stay (same as star cruise). So my hb said, if pay same amt, might as well go Japan.

CIndy,
Children are God sent. Treasure what u are given! Please don't do anything silly, ok? Your mum is an adult. She should learn how to give and take. Time will tame your mum. Don't worry too much about her.

mashy
we went during promotion and it cost us close to $500 per adult. since its our first trip with dylan, we make it a short one and hazzle free. anythime we wan to go back to room, its just 5 mins walk away. you mean with that amoutn of money can go Japan??

Chillies
Mel is looking more like me as she grows older and I'm glad

Durianlover
I recongise you and hb cos you posted the 'free' family studio shot you took in town on Janelle's blog! Dun worry, I think all mommies and daddies are too busy with their little angel to chat around.

592953.jpg

grumpy babies

592954.jpg

592955.jpg

Haha i realised that Janelle & Cephas make a good pair in terms of their hair! Cephas has got lots of hair on the top of his head to complement Janelle's bald patch. Heehee.

Cindy
was aware that your mum and hb's relationship is not going well but never thought it will be to this extend...

like what other mummies said, its you and your hb's baby and its innocent. pls keep this joy and not let it be swallow by hatred... this is your family and do cherish the gift you are given with.

regarding your mum and hb, think you are simply sandwiched between they. if they do put you into their consideration, they should sort out their relationship for everyone's good.

career is no longer one of the top pirority, to me, its the family that keep me going. do take well care of yourself and keep us in the loop. do pour out your feelings here and we will be all ready to listen.

Rachel
Thanks for helping to get the BS tools. My memory is really failing me. I totally forgot about it until I was packing my stuff just now. To think that I used to have such good memory. Btw, who was suppose to show us the BS material yesterday? Guess we were all just to busy handling our little angels or monsters..haha

Flo
Ytd before the shoot, I already took 4 pcs from Denmy. So no need for now.
I think Denmy has opened up the pack. She has pass to me and wendyl before the shoot.

Chillies
I'm so sorry!!!... I din forget my stuff with you !!.. I will really pick up this coming weekend.
very sorry keep you waiting for me to pick up.

Flo
No problem on the tools. my memory oso not any better. if not for hb's reminder about that bag of tools, i could have bring the whole bag home untouched =p

oh, its Clare and her friend who want to show us the materials, but she parked her car at another carpark and most of the mummies are rushing off... so got to arrange again for another meet up...

yes yes, we all were busy attending to our little angels, me busy attending to my little master, im the maid! hahaha

Cindy,

are things really that bad between your hb and your mom?

are your relationship with you hb ok? remember you and your hb still have a long way to go. if your mom could not help you look after then another alternative is to either sent bb to infant care, baby sitter or i can look after for you if you have a maid lor.. but i the minus point is that i am staying at bishan.. if you really need help come to us .. we will help if we can.

Rachel,
Sorry didn't meet u yday as I was having headache.

RE: Scrapbooking Album
I am very anxious to get it. Think only with it, I will "force" myself to start filling it up. When will Clare be back??

RE: Hubby and Mum Relationship
Cindy.. yap.. maybe can consider getting a maid as two kids can be difficult to handle as well.

My mum also dun want me to have no.2 so fast. She say she cannot cope. My hubby want to get a maid to help out with housework and taking care of Jamie. But both side parents disapprove. My hubby only think my parents is the BIG obstacles. As my mum once said.. Get a maid lor..if maid doesn't suit u.. dun ever come back to me and ask me look after Jamie.

Hubby say my parents spoilt Jamie and feed her with outside food. My mum dun cook. So he say in order to be healthy, Jamie need to eat. But my mum DON'T want to cook. She say no time. I was thinking of quiting and look after Jamie but cannot. Always stuck between. Cried alot to hubby and ask him dun force me.. I am stuck between.
Get maid..harm my parents relationship.
Dun get maid.. harm my hubby and mine.
Also dunno how. Really hope that Aug 2007 faster come. We will try for no. 2 then if really kena, I will have excuse to get a maid. But nowadays, Hubby keep giving excuses to eat dinner with my parents or he will talk back to my parents when he is unhappy of anything. Already told him that even if I am unhappy with PIL, I did not even did that to them.

Sorry mummies.. I have so much to pour out. Dunno can tell who..

With regards to M-sized Pigeon Diapers, Denmy and I thought you all who initially wanted the M-sized diapers didn't want them anymore as you all didn't collect. So I offered to buy the opened pack from Denmy as she lugged 2 packs of diapers to the photoshoot. She still has the L-sized ones.

May

Wow. Seems like you're in quite a dilemma. I think you have to really decide based on what's best for Jaime now, her overall well-being. If home cooked food is best, then should really give her home cooked food. IF not her tastebuds will be spoilt by outside food and the oil and salt used are quite unhealthy for a baby. Even if they are 3 years of age, best is still home cooked food, but by then occasional outside food makes it easier for everyone to feed.
If getting a maid, at least can ask your mom to supervise her, make sure she does not get into any mischief, and the rest is making sure that the maid do what you tell her.

May,
quite problematic eh..
Suggestion: u have a slow cooker? If not, can invest in 1. Then the night before, throw the porridge ingredients into the slow cooker and by next day, can feed to Jamie already. In this way, no need to feed outside food. But the next challenge will be for Jaime to adapt to the porridge cos she has already tasted the outside yummy food.

May
Perhaps you want to prepare her lunch and dinner yourself in the mornings before you go to work? I know it seems like I'm promoting the electronic Zisa or double boiler pot, but it works wonders for working moms like us who still wants to feed home cooked meals for our bbs. That's what I do when Daren was in IFC. I'll just throw all the ingredients into the zisa pot, set the timer to cook, after it's done cooking, it'll automatically keep it warm till you get home. So Daren only eats healthy home cooked food while hb and I eat junk (outside food) for dinner.

Cindy

I think the question you need to ask yourself is how do you yourself feel about having another baby. Altho it is not easy for a working mom... all the MS and tiredness the initial 9 months, and the subsequent sleepless nights... but I'm sure when you see your son now, you feel its all worth it...

Relationships between your husb and mom... this is hard. My Hb is not a big fan of my mom... and my mom likewise with my hb... sometimes, my mom will come and gossip abt my hb.. so its quite hard to be caught in between. For me... i just stay out of it as much as possible by not taking sides... altho i can understand that its quite hard for you to hear your mom make such comments about someone so close to you as your husband. I'm sure your mom says these things out of spite and anger on the spur of the moment, she prob doesn't really mean for you her daughter to suffer by severing ties with you right? After all she doesn't hate your son now right? If she was really that angry about your husb, she would take it out on her grandson too.

Having a child with your husb, is a wonderful thing. It means that your relationship is strong that you can bond and share intimate moments. How does he feel about it? Maybe its something you need to discuss with him for support.

I think it will be hard to expect your mom to change her ways, you know how older people feel that they demand more respect and all... also it will be hard to expect her to look after another kid so soon... as it is my mom is also quite worried as tabby is starting to be a handful. You may have to think of an alternate care giver. Be it a nanny, infant care or even yourself by doing part time work.

There are pros and cons about having a child so soon... no one can decide for you how you should feel. Just be true to yourself and God will guide you through.

Wait til your gynae scan is over, you don't have to decide on the first visit... maybe once you see the little angel and the heart beat, you will know in your heart that creating a little life like that is one of the most special thing that you could probably do and you will change your mind.

Also, you may feel a bit sensitive and emotional to all these comments now cos of your pregnancy hormones...

May
no worries, you just let me know when you want to come from me. Clare is back, think we now got to arrange for a meet up to view all the stuff and hopefully can get really good lobands. meanwhile let Clare settle down after her long trip and she will update us.

think can understand why your hb is so unhappy on the issue of unable to give good food to jamie. its important to let our baby eat home cook home and it not difficult to prepare their meals, actually its the taking care part that is tiring. do take time to think and sort out the situation and having jamie's welfare on the top of the list.

we are here to listen and share =)

cindy
u must be feeling really vexed now. try not to think too much abt your mum's comments. remember u said your mum initially din wan to help u with lucas but in the end she gave in cos she dotes on her own grandson.

take things one step at a time lor. anything u can do to help moderate the r/s btwn your mum and hb?

may
think having a slow cooker will help. then maybe u can help your mum to prepare the stuff the day before and she just needs to throw the things into the slow cooker to cook....

Any good part-time cleaning auntie to recommend? Helping my friend to ask. Stays at Redhill and they hope the cleaning auntie can come in on Sat mornings.

Cindy, it must be terrible to be caught between 2 of the closest people you have in the world! Well, like what the mummies have advised, still the decision to keep baby is between you and hubby. Keep your spirits up for the good of baby and yourself!

MamaChan,
Re: Zisha cooker
How come even at low heat, my slow cooker will continue to dry up the porridge...so don't dare to keep it on while I go to work. Is it coz i didn't get a good one?

Cindy,
hmm... that's really a tough situation to be in... you must have feeling terrible right now. Maybe your mum said it out of anger? Let her cool down first then take one step at a time?

may,
agreed with what the mummies have said. The slow cooker is really a great help. For my mum, it's real tiring looking after my little monster so she really makes use of the slow cooker to cook for her.

re: gymboree
Remembered that a few mummies were interested in it. I called them yesterday. Seems like they have a level 3 slot (for 10 mths up) babies on sun 3pm. The fee for trial is $34. If there are more mummies, who are keen, I can try to negotiate for a lower fee?

SH,
my slow cooker can leave for the whole day but I put lots of water and turn it to slow instead of automatic if I need the porridge later.

mashy
Wow tats vy vy ex! we went for the 60 days advance booking, plus its promotional period so the price of $500 is reasonable. we got to spent sometime at the balcony and nuai there while dylan busy looking at the waves.

SH
the Slow cooker and Zisa cooker are 2 different things. I stopped using the slow cooker for many months coz my porridge always sticks to the sides. The Zisa Cooker is a double boiler, and will not dry up porridge.

SH,

If you have slowcooker , you can use those steamer rack, then get a mini tanyu pot to put on it. It will have the same double effect as the Zisa Cooker. If you dun have slowcooker, Zisa is a good invt.

May,

Does your mummy cook meals for the family ? If yes, get the pigeon porridge maker to be put in the rice cooker. So she can cook rice and porridge for Jamie at the same time. Have a good talk to your mummy. I have the same problem, my mum is lousy cook leh, I prepared everything in boxes. And bring for her everyday. She only need to dump into slowcooker or she steam the stuff.

Cindy,
Having a new baby is a very wonderful thing. This is such an exclusive experience only you can feel how baby grow, move in you. Have a good talk to mummy , ask if she is too overwhelm looking after baby no. 2 as well. Ask if she needs help. Maybe this consult, bring mummy along lah. Then ask her how " You think I should not have this baby but ... .. a bit cruel hor ... ..." Baby is innocent. find out more from mummy to see if you can help improve. My hb oso feels my parents giving a lot of problem, my mum keep asking me to go try for 2 and 3, in the end she even walk out of taking care of my no. 1. So now mum see less of hb, they both feel better. Occasionally hb will buy stuff or ask to bring them out for makan.

sh,
when i was in sydney, i leave the slow cooker on from morn until 4+pm in afternoon adnd the porridge doesn't dry up. it will just stick to the sides but not burnt or dry.

mamachan,
i also took 2 M-sized diapers from Denmy already but to pay. So do i pay you now? or denmy? she told me its S$0.477 per piece. Lets make it S$0.50 per piece.

Denmy

SO sorry I had to rush off from the botanics... i forgot all about the pigeon diapers!! Somemore I ordered M size... how? has mamachan or someone else bought over from you? How do you want me to pay you..pai seh leh...

RE: photoshoot
Thanks Flo for organising .... it was fun to see all the mommies again... and the babies.. some have grown so fast!!!

Sorry mommies I ran off earlier... my girl was getting fussy and i was starting to get all sick and nauseous... didn't have a chance to say hi to all the mommies...

RE: Relationship
Sigh.. my mum dun cook.. we all eat outside.
Now very bad..

Mum
- Dun cook
- Say will but only last a few days (want to buy Food jar and slow cooker but she say dun waste money)
- Threaten if we get maid, dun ask her go over spot check, dun bring maid to her place, dun push Jamie to her again if maid is unsuitable

Hubby
- Go on strike for not helping out housework
- Work OT so that he no need to face my parents

MIL
- If we want to get maid.. she suggest, she quit her job and stay with us (which I dun want!!)

ME
- Rush back everyday after work
- Eat dinner with parents and fetch Jamie home
- Do all the housework

I am very tired already.. work,housework and Jamie. can't imagine if there is no.2 then more heart-attack problem coming up.

<font color="0000ff">Baby Angel</font>

I went down to BG last evening (ard 5pm), trying my luck to see if I can make it to witness the Angel In action..

A veri unique scene out of the greens, as it a mixture of crying angels and crawling angel. While some little angels are sucking pacifiers.
Din go up to say hello as I can see all mummies bzy calming and entertaining your baobei. Onli managed to identify chicken Little.. only one i know here.

One particular angel that caught my attention is the one bzy "brushing his/her gums" with a bunch of keys.. Whose darling arh?

May,
u poor thing. U must be exhausted mentally and physically. i think to let ur MIL care for Jaime is confirmed out of the picture right. So now only need to tackle your mum and hb's issue.

For your mum, i duno man. I would have tink that the best solution will be for u to cook and bring over to her so that she can feed Jaime. Adults no problem, can eat outside food, but BBs, how can compromise wor.

For ur HB, he gota be more understanding as well. Its really not easy to take care of our BBs considering that they are really very active now. He would have to help you out for the house work portion. Maybe u can considering hiring a part-timer cleaner?

Thx <font color="aa00aa">Esh_Mummy</font> for your tips on how to bathe baby after swim.

Thx <font color="aa00aa">Durian_Lover</font>, too!! for the assurance on the fake measles tiggy.

<font color="0000ff">Bumper Mat</font>
Anyone bought this Bumper Mat? Will it be too warm to rest baby on the Mat in an NON-AIRCON enviornment? Afterall its PVC.

Tracy,
Hmmm, think you pass the money to Denmy. Coz I think got some mummies paid her on the spot.

tabbs
no worries bout the diapers, I bought it off from Denmy so that she doesn't have to lug it back home again. Hey, it's ok that you left early, can understand that 1st trimester feeling. Must take good care of yourself.
Also, can't tell that your hb and your mom can't get along leh, from when we were at your place for the gathering. Think your hb is quite accomodating too.

wow wow wow..the thread is moving soooo fast today. btw, i just returned from my interview...looks positive but still have second interview if I am shortlisted. so see how it goes.

Cindy - congratulations! pls be positive and look forward to your newborn baby. I believe everything will work out soon. Don;t be too stressful and any disputes bet ur mum and hb, i believe it can be clarify with the right communication. you will always have us as a listening ear. so anythg dun brood over it, share with us ok?

I am copying this so that it will not get lost.

Caterer
-------
SSF - Neo Garden
SY - Seyu
sleepingdeer - inhouse since we doing at HB's company clubhouse
Tracy - CJS Catering

Cake
----
SSF - Cake Ave
SY - make try room for dessert
sleepingdeer - Cake Ave, Choc sensation, yummy!
Tracy - Mum's fren is making

May
sigh... talk to your hb and let him know your feeling, dont bottom up. he should share your bundle rather than walk away leaving you in this state.

actually things might not be hopeless, do talk to your mum more and let her slowly accept the idea that outside food is doing damage to jamie's health. articles or books on infant diet. like what some mummies said, a slow cooker will do a great job.

precious moment
bumper mat is hot to sleep on, so far i only let dylan play on it and it actually cushioned him from quite a few fall and bumps.