(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Sandra
Good to hear from you. Don't brood over the past (altho I understand it's easier for us to say and tough for you to do). Have a great time in Japan and enjoy the good company of your hb and Sarah. Who knows you may be in for some surprise when you are back
Take care!!

wireless router
Denmy.. its not that simple.. but I'll try and see if I can help u. First, a few questions :

1. Do u have a router at home? If yes, is it a wireless router?

2. Is your wireless router broadcasting itself? Is it visible? Did u set your router to be detectable by wireless devices? Is it on allocating IP addresses dynamically (DHCP)?

3. Is it a secured network or an unsecured network? If its a secured network, you'll need to have the WEP key and pass phrase in order for ur wireless notebook to connect to.

If ur router is visible and running DHCP, your notebook should detect the wireless notebook when u enable the wireless LAN point. Then, all u need to do is to setup the connection to your own wireless network and the WEP key and pass phrase. You'll need to know the name of your own network of course.

If its not visible, you'll need to manually configure ur notebook. Things you'll need to have on hand are : a)the network name; b)an IP address within your network's subnet (IP address range); c)your WEP pass phrase(encrypted key passphrase). I would suggest that if your network is secured and not visible, ask someone who knows how to setup to do it for u. Too many steps for me to post here for u. Alternatively, u can have the above info ready on hand then bring your notebook and router to me and I set it up for u.

The problem with wireless is many people do not know how to secure it and use default names which was set by the manufacturer. Worse still if they leave it as an unsecured network. This leaves your network viable for attacks. I have tested out accessing my neighbour's unsecured network. I assure u it was a piece of cake.

On the contrary, my home wireless network setup by my husband is so secured its difficult to setup the connection everytime I bring a new PC/notebook home to use. No choice la.. he takes IT security very seriously.. occupational hazard!

Tracy/Chicken Little/ SSF,

Hb's company has organised go karting sessions, disneyland outing, sightseeing, hot springs etc for us. We'll be there from the 3rd till the 8th and will be staying at Conrad. So really hoping that things will be fun this time. =)

Thanks Flo.=)

Sandra
Njoy yourself to the full!!! do share with us some photos too! take care.

Tracy
at least you got the chance to fly Japan. me dont know when then have the chance leh *sob*
have a safe trip!!

Flo
yes yes, kena once and it really scare the hell out of me. you mean insect bite will oso cause allergic... you let me know the name of the med ok? thanks!

Hi Sandra

Thanks for the well wishes...

Nice to hear from you.. have been wondering how you were doing... do take care.. what you went through was tough. Don't be afraid to grieve a little.. it is a natural response... however, don't get too bogged down by it at the same time... i think a nice trip to Japan will help take your mind off things... I'm sure, you'll have good news when the time is right. But do take care.. BTW, if you are planning on trying again.. can prep your body by taking some folate and vitamins/ iron cos your body has been through a lot physically with the blood loss and surgery, need to "bu" a bit.

FLo

the med you are talking about for allergy is it an antihistamine? If can be bought over the counter at pharmacy, is it some thing like syrup Clarityne, Zatiden? Usually the stronger types need doc prescription like syr. chlorampheneramine (syrup piriton)...

Tracy/Sandra,
I am flying on the 3rd too...but to Australia. :)

So worried now coz i coming down sick. Worried that suay suay JW catch from me...only 1 week left. Hope he doesn't catch my flu. Won't be fun to have a sick bb on a trip.

Btw, can i check if i can bring bb medication into Australia? Someone told me cannot...even if it's sealed

Ky, Flo, Mamapanda,
re: Technical question on wireless router
Think I didn't put my Q right. How does one connect a brand new wireless notebook to a new router without going through/ having to establish the internet connection with a desktop 1st? In short, can we connect without a desktop?
Mamapanda, my answers to all your 3 Q's are 'Yes'.

sandra,

cheer up ... put all the past behind you.. look forward,life will be better. I have been thru these twice so i know how you feel.. Well , happy baby making in Japan...

Rachel,
'
I am staying with my mom these days until hb is back so i will transfer the money to you when i am home..

Rachel,

Thanks for the advice. Matthew has got 7 teeth liao. He loves to chew things esp me when he nurses....ouch! And soooo much drool all the time. We've got quite a lot of activities going on the next 2-3 weeks so prob wait till we have some free time before we embark on the weaning process. I heard that it's best to minimise all activities and going-outs for Matthew during that period.... true?

Gone away for a day out at sea and so many postings to catch up!!!

Denmy
The answer to your question is YES. You can still connect without a desktop.

Sandra_Chu
It's so good to hear from you on this thread. Like what Tabbiesus mentioned, it's good and ok to grieve over what had happened but yet don't brood over it for too long. Hope the Japan trip will be enjoyable for you. If really plan to try for 2nd on in Japan, best if you and hb avoid hot springs! haha. Can't wait to see you post pictures of Sarah Mae in the cute winter clothings you mentioned.

SH
Do take care of yourself!! If need be, wear a mask over your nose and mouth when handling JW.

Adult/Outside Food for BB
I myself have not given any adult food to Daren, I'm still quite KS over it. Except one time I gave him some beef stew (mainly the broth and softened potatoes and carrots) before I added any salt, he loved it. But in the mean time, I'll prepare his porridge in advance to bring out with us should we know that we're heading out the whole day. I've tried giving him bread on some occasions but he doesn't seem to take to it well. The only finger food he likes are the Gerber Stars.
As for Barley, I do make barley water for him but it's without rock sugar. Mummies do take note that sugar in itself can cause phelgm in bbs.

Wendyheng
Food in it's natural form do contain "salt" or rather in the form of sodium. So no need to add salt for babies. Spinach for example makes the porridge quite tasty so reallyt no need for salt.

Tracy
Wah! Really busy busy hor you? After Stock take and then flying off to Japan! Do try to make the best of it and enjoy yourself =)

Chicken Little
Any news from this Karen who organized the Bobux shoes BP? Heard that the shipment went out last week?

RE: Teething
Having nightmare again.. Jamie is growing 3 teeth together. These few nights she cannot sleep well. It makes up 7 teeth for her now.

SSF, good luck for your interview on Mon!

Sandra, I agree with tabbs. Maybe it's better to prep yourself up first since it has been traumatic to your body too. Have a very fun trip! Hope it will help you to feel better and relax!

mamapanda
so peiseh to overwrite your post.

tracy
so glad to hear your friend found the 2 dogs already and they are ok.

tracy & sandra
so envy can fly to japan...me can only dream...
have a fun and safe trip.

babylon
All the best for your new job.

Today, my 1st day on a new job, felt so tired due to not use to waking up so early after being a SAHM for 10 months and maybe the distance travelled from Simei to NTU. Too tired that I don't have the energy and mood to play with my girl after work. Feel so sad and guilty that I'm unable to spend more time with her.

Rachel,
I have transfer the money to u already.
Transaction Ref: 932886189
Think u will only receive 2 working days later leh. Cos it is from DBS. Sorry for the delay.

sandra,
Enjoy your Japan trip!!

wenny,
wow Simei to NTU is really FAR!! No wonder u feel tired! Hopefully after some time u'll get used to it
How come u decided to go back to work after being SAHM for 10 months?

Re: teeth
Janelle has got 4 teeth. The upper 2 teeth have a HUGE gap in between!! Wonder if the gap will be narrowed when the rest of the teeth pop out?? Like the other teeth will push the two front teeth closer together? I hope so!

Re: weaning
How do we wean from breastfeeding if u're doing direct latch?? i have no idea how to wean. I mean, i'm only feeding 3 times a day. Means cut down on 1 feed? Like a bit sudden right..then sure will hv engorgement. Any advice?

The postings are moving so fast!

Just to confirm the things I would need to pass to some of you at the photoshoot:

1st Teeth Toothpaste
1. MamaChan - 1 set - blue
2. Tracy - 1 set - pink
3. Denmy - 1 set - blue
4. Chicken Little - 2 sets - blue
5. valerie - 2 sets - blue
6. cheng - 1 set - blue
7. god's child - 1 set- pink
8. sleepingdeer - 1 set - pink
9. rena076 - 5 sets - any colors
10. wenyl - 1 set - blue - photoshoot
11. mamapanda - 2 sets - pink pass to Durianlover

Old Navy items
1. sl
2. tabbiesus

I am new in this thread! Just to be sure.... this is a thread for mummies with babies born in Jan 2006 right? My boy is born on 25th Jan 2006.

Hi May,
Regarding teething, my baby is about 10 mths but still no sign of any tooth emerging at all! PD says that maybe his teeth will come later..... but sometimes still a little worried, any mums have babies without teeth yet at 10 mths? Thks!

Welcome Sharon!! Yes this thread is for mummies with babies born in Jan 06, but abt half of the babies here are actually born in Dec 05.
Not to worry abt teeth - my fren's daughter only started to grow teeth when she was 15 months old!! It'll grow eventually. So no worries

Denmy,
I have just transfered $8.93 to you for the spinach. Pls check. THanks.

RE. rice
Actually last weekend I made butternut squash risotto (which is actually basmati rice) which was one of Annabel Karmel's recipe for 9-12 months old babies. Cooked the rice till quite soft and then blend it. Does it still consider as hard food? Isaac loves it leh! I thought it tasted pretty good too.

Sandra,
Long time never hear from you already... glad to hear that you are tryign your best to cope well.

Welcome Sharon,
Think no need to worry lar. Think there are some babies here also without teeth. My cousin has her teeth in 13mths.

RE: Teeth

Elijah's upper teeth seems to be very big but i can only see them when he is crying but when i open his lips can't see ,,

Sharon,
Welcome to our club...dun worry about the teeth.. different bb different timing

RE: diapers

Durian lover and Wenyl

I will pass the diapers to the both of you.

Do i still owe anyone anything.?

Flo,
do you want the swim diapers?

sandra_chu - if i remembered correctly, conrad is at Odaiba that area. Over there you can see the famous fiji TV co (a ball in the ctr), science centre(called Mirakan), malls as well with Toy R Us. nice place to hang out. I stayed in Shinjuku area and took 2 trains about 45 mins to reach that area. we went on our last day and never regret...as its so beautiful and the sun was out during that time. dun worry, u will definitely has a nice time. the hotel is facing the wharf i believe.

sharon - welcome! so excited to see so many mummies.

SH - enjoy urself in Aussie and post some pics for us to admire ya

Re: Teeth
Aden oso has a big gap between the 2 front teeth. My gal when young too but once the other teeth starts to grow it will push them nearer but may not be 100% closed up.

Sophia,
No news for the bobux shoes yet.

Queen,
Can pm me your account number? Want to transfer money for the first teeth to you scare later sunday too overwhelmed with the photoshoot.

Welcome Sharon,
What is your little boy's name ?

Holidays/ Overseas
Envy Envy so many mummies going for holidays. Me only have to go Batam 2-3 Dec with fil. Sianz

CHicken Little ,
Yah... good idea to transfer to me now.

Photoshoot - 1st teeth toothpaste
Mummies collectiong toothpaste from me on Sunday, pls TT the money to my POSB savings account 039-47513-8. It's $8.12 per set (tube + brush).

Sharon, Ivane,
WELCOME!!!

Re. Birthday Direct Sprees
Have mentioned the problems I have encountered with them for our orders. IN a nutshell, basically, their automated Address Verification System cannot verify the VPOSTUSA's address on my cards cos my cards are non-US issued cards. And they wouldn't want to make international calls to Singapore to check. After calling them and all that, they said there is extra charges incurred when they approved transactions with international cards so even if the address can be verified, they will not accept orders with international cards. Quite a load of BS loh, cos my first conversation with them says that as long as the address can be verified through their AVS the order will be processed and shipped. SO in the end, I called AMEX SG to add the VPOSTUSA's address into the AMEX US system and re-order. Hopefully, Birthday Direct's AVS can verify the address on my AMEX card. No news from them at all whether there is any problem with my order. I think it's Thanksgiving holiays in US now so they may not be processing any orders the past few days.
Now I'm just concerned that even if our orders go through, the items may not reach SG in time for Mel & Isaac's birthday.

Hi Queen,

You are up early too. I have pm you my transfer details.

What items did you order ? In case it does not reach on time, can sell it off to us lor. But of course we hope it will arrive on time for you

Birthday Cakes
Mummies, where are you all ordering the cake from ? Maybe we can get group discount ha ha

Will not be attending the photoshoot...
Celeste was having high grade fever out of the sudden yesterday just when she was recovering well fr her phlegm and runny nose... temp shot to 39.1 and we rushed her to KKH. The PD chk and realised it was tonsilitis which is most prob causing the delay in her recovery tis round and for the sudden fever. Antibiotics was prescribed much to Mummie's dislike but no choice... sob...

she also went thru sponging there where she wailed her lungs out..i had thot it will be cold water but the nurse say NEVER to use cold water,will only give rise to the fever... just use lukewarm water...

Have been monitoring her thru the nite,temp has gone down but a real wrestle when it comes to medicine feeding... hope tat this course of antibiotics will get her well very soon. AND,i will never bring celeste to GP again!!!
KKH's PD said the throat inflammation must have been there a few days til it got tis bad to tonsilitis and the 2 GPs i went to on Sun and Tues nite did not even notice it!!! ( cos PD clinic was closed ) sigh,had i brot her to PD earlier, she wld not have suffered til now.. my so energetic bb was actuali SICK and kept resting on my shoulders yesterday...

and at my inlaws' where celeste was cared for while i work,almost everyone is down wf stomach virus.. had brot Celeste home on tat very nite on Wed when my niece was diagnosed wf the new virus.. thank god tat she managed to escape a NEW virus... meanwhile, gota make arrangments to see who can help me watch her while we work... cos maid is stil new and cant handle her as yet... sigh...
kao_sad2.gif

**welcome all new mummies!!**

God's Child,
oh dear...send my love to Celeste..do rest well yourself too.

Queen,
transferred $$ to u for 1st teeth n PM u already. thanks!

All the new mummies, WELCOME!!

Queen, just transferred $16.24 for the toothpaste to your account, under valerie. My fingers move faster than my brain in the morning so I forgot to note the transaction reference no. Hope it's ok!

As for the birthday direct orders, sorry to hear about the trouble you have gone through. Really hope it will come in time for Mel's and Isaac's parties.

God's child, oh dear, poor celeste! Hope she gets back to her active friendly self very soon! We'll miss her tomorrow...

Hi Sandra,
glad to hear from you again.... take all the time you need to grieve and I think Japan's just the thing to lift your spirits up! Dun forget your darling Sarah Mae and HB...
Go have a blast and when you come back, things will be much better...

God's Child,
oh dear, poor Celeste, take care! Dun stress yourself out, am sure she will bounce back very fast!

Chicken little,
RE: BIRTHDAY CAKES
oh, my favourite topic, birthday cakes! haha, I'm been scouting around for Shannon's birthday cake since we settled the Bday venue last week... am looking for a 3D cake. I shortlisted a few liao...

Smiling Orchid
Does very nice butterfly design cakes..... great for baby girls. Also does Sesame Street... Not much for 3D though...

Angie the Choice
Saw a nice 3D teddy bear cake, cake is okie too...

Cake Ave
does great 3D cakes, not sure about taste though.. I saw a adorable 3D little girl cake, but I dun think I can bear to CHOP her up!

Pine Garden
Heard very good comments about the taste of the cake, but I dun really like the designs there.

Bengawan Solo
Saw that they do a lovely pink teddy bear 3D cake, and it's very reasonable, $38 per kg only! Probably go for that, find their cakes ok lah...

Strawberry Shortcake
Heard that taste is good. Saw a 3D Winnie the Pooh cake that is lovely, may consider too.

I'm not going for E-Creative coz though they have lovely 3D design cakes, I heard the cake doesn't taste good.... also looking for one that is cream finishing rather than fondant, coz I think my relatives won't like fondant..

Oh, coffee bean and tea Leaf does a nice 3D train cake and is very reasonable in price too.... maybe for baby boys...

God's Child
Oh dear me. Must be really uncomfortable for Celeste. Daren has recovered from sore throat, maybe also tonsilitis, and the PD prescribed antibiotics for him as well. Will Pray that Celeste has a speedy recovery.

Hi Sharon!
Welcome onboard this thread! There's quite a few activities going on and the one coming up is the combined Jan bb birthday bash next year, do let us know if you're keen to join in =) With regards to teething, I heard from my PD once that some late teethers can start at 14 months. SO like what rena said, diff bb, diff timing.

Rena
I think it's normal for the upper teth to be big? Daren's 2 upper teeth is bigger than the lower ones.

Sleepingdeer

Can i babies eat cake at one? Just one note... i heard the coffee bean and tea leaf cakes are not very yummy altho they look good...

I was thinking of going for an eggless carrot cake... from room for dessert.... www.roomfordessert.com.sg then i can give some to tabby after digging out the walnets and raisins... kekek... heard their cakes are quite yummy...

Sleepingdeer , u really have done research. Will add in my comment in blue for those I have tried since I have got a 4 year old gal

RE: BIRTHDAY CAKES
oh, my favourite topic, birthday cakes! haha, I'm been scouting around for Shannon's birthday cake since we settled the Bday venue last week... am looking for a 3D cake. I shortlisted a few liao...

Smiling Orchid
Does very nice butterfly design cakes..... great for baby girls. Also does Sesame Street... Not much for 3D though...

Angie the Choice
Saw a nice 3D teddy bear cake, cake is okie too...

Cake Ave
does great 3D cakes, not sure about taste though.. I saw a adorable 3D little girl cake, but I dun think I can bear to CHOP her up!
<font color="0000ff">Cake is nice. I did a 2 tier wedding cake for my fren's wedding as surprise, good, can go to their place for more design, think they can customise for you too</font>

Pine Garden
Heard very good comments about the taste of the cake, but I dun really like the designs there.

Bengawan Solo
Saw that they do a lovely pink teddy bear 3D cake, and it's very reasonable, $38 per kg only! Probably go for that, find their cakes ok lah...
<font color="0000ff">Charmaine's first birthday cake minnie mouse with butterfly, price reasonable, cake oso fine, normal lor, ha ha actually with all the full month vouchers i have can use to offset the cake cost</font>

Strawberry Shortcake
Heard that taste is good. Saw a 3D Winnie the Pooh cake that is lovely, may consider too.

I'm not going for E-Creative coz though they have lovely 3D design cakes, I heard the cake doesn't taste good.... also looking for one that is cream finishing rather than fondant, coz I think my relatives won't like fondant..
<font color="0000ff">The cake is not bad, it is cream finishing and does not taste creamy, but when you order you must be firm, tell them dun write incorrect age, name and delay in time, my fren ordered her cake from there every year, I ordered a princess cake 2 kg at $70 for Charmaine's bday in school this year</font>

Oh, coffee bean and tea Leaf does a nice 3D train cake and is very reasonable in price too.... maybe for baby boys...
<font color="0000ff">hee hee, I bought the train cake for Charmaine's second bday, the kids at school was delighted, was lucky I din cut the cake because very difficult to cut because of the icing, the teacher did it</font>

<font color="0000ff">If the bday direct items arrived on time, I will be going for a Winnie Pooh Theme. Will pack goodie bags in Pooh, Cake is pooh, the candle will be Pooh. I want to try this
http://www.thepatissier.com/webtop/Browse/birthday_kids.phtml

The design is so nice but price is so steep. Cake taste fantastic</font>

God's child,

Hope celeste will recover soon. Maybe during this period she may not drink or eat as much because quite uncomfortable. At least half of her normal intake should be fine.

When she sleeps, you must rest too , have to keep yourself healthy to take good care of baby.

Wings I will pass to Sleepingdeer, think her place is nearer to you.

Sandra,

Do u want me to pass your wings to any mummy staying near east coast?

RE: Birthday cakes
I just called up Strawberry Shortcake. The lady not taking orders for Dec cos she is due next month.

Anyone tried Pine Gardens? They do customise for 3D designs. I m keen but hv not tried their cakes.

Sandra,
Glad to hear from u. Rest well &amp; enjoy ur holiday in Japan. Happy baby making!

Queen,
I have transfered to u for 1 tube of toothpaste. Pls kindly check. No worries abt my bday direct orders. I have already bought some decors. Will keep it simple.

God's child,
Take care! We all can understand the stress u are going thru esp when bb kanna high fever. Yes....never use cold icy water to sponge bb. it will trigger the poor body to produce more heat. Just normal tap water is ideal. Hope Celeste recovers soon!

Tabby,
CONGRATULATIONS! So happy to hear that Tabitha is gonna have a playmate soon to share all her toys with.
Thanks for taking the trouble to scout ard for the CB pdts in Las Vegas. Paiseh to make u run ard when u werent feeling well.

RE: Rashes
Ethan rashes has improved tremendously after we went back to see his old PD on thurs. PD says it is just a case of bad heat rash. He says if not treated properly, it may lead to eczema. So got to keep him real cool these days. Hope tomorrow's weather will be nice &amp; cooling. No hot sun &amp; most importantly.....rain rain stay away please!!

Re: Pigeon diapers for photoshoot
Urgent! Can someone help me dig out the Pigeon diaper list? I can't seem to find it in the previous posts. Need to pass the list to Denmy cos her pc monitor is down. Thanks!

Anybody knows of cakeshop that doesn't use cow's milk/butter &amp; eggs in making the cake?

My boy allergic to these stuff. Sian. probably he had to go without a birthday cake to eat. Maybe for him to see only...

Re: Cake Ave
Went down today and tred the choc sensation... not bad! They have the design which I want, so maybe will go with that...

Gonna try smiling orchid later... heehee

Chicken Little,
Yah, I nearly got my wedding cake from Cake Ave, coz it is near my place, so we went in to take a look... their designs are very nice...

Denmy,
My reply to ur qns is Yes, you can connect directly to your router only if you have a ethernet modem connected to your router or your router has an internal modem. The same applies whether you're using starhub or singnet broadband.

RE: Cakes
Actually I browse around.. was thinking of something like this.. but of cos only one and get them to do a bigger size.. at the side maybe get them to do some cute icing. Might change the colour as well as I ordered a candle from Birthday Direct. Wanted the theme to be Winnie the Pooh as Jamie loves it.

Not sure if they can copy the Birthday Direct Design..
591191.jpg

Here's the cake..(pple use it in wedding)
Will get the staff do something more for birthday. I find this is very sweet..
591192.jpg

Candle
591193.jpg

Here's the link to the website.. but they do wedding cakes which is very cute.
http://www.cherylshuen.com/cakes/index.html

hi lisa/chickenlittle
Thanks for the detail listing of cake shop!

I'm also considering Patessier.. their price really expensive. I check the Pooh tree house design... minimum is 1.5kg cos abt $160-delivery inclusive

Thanks for the strawberry shortcake bakery link..their cakes look nice too..

I saw them also has the same design offered in Birthday Direct.. the Pooh and friend design.
I thinking of pooh theme too for Kaelyn perhaps I will ask Strawberry if they can do the other design I have in mind.

Re:strawberry bakery
Saw that they have Pooh and Friend theme birthday cake... so lovely!

Anyone has tasted their cake before?
Chickenlittle... u tried them before?? was it nice? U mean they will make mistake in the details one??
DO they have outlet... can I go and try their cakes?
As compared to patissier, their price is much more reasonable though I heard Patissier cake really taste good according to my colleague and friends