(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

chickenlittle
re: food, oil, sugar, salt, butter
not advisable to give rice until about 2 yrs cuz rice is harder to digest than porridge and their digestive system is not very well developed yet. For the same reason, its not advisable to give them foods containing sugar or salt because it adds extra load to their kidneys and liver. They'll have suffucient suagr n salt from the foods they eat without the need for extra salt or sugar. As for butter, its ok for them to eat unsalted butter as it's naturally obtained from milk. BAbies do require more fat in their diet compared to adults because they require fat for protein synthesis and brain development.

mamapanda

U noe alot ah. hehe. Thanks for advice. But bb body will have sugar and salt even we didnt give him any food contain sugar? actually bread also got starch so which mean they will get some sugar right? hehe. how about salt le? sorry asking so much.

Re: MWL Power of 3
purchase any 3 items of the same brand and shall entitle to 25% discount. promotion till end of Nov.

** EK Cutterpede - ~$44.15 after discount, originally $58.90
1) Denmy
2) May
3) Cheng

** MM Deluxe Tool kit - $67.46 after discount, originally $89.95
1) Rena
2) Denmy (confirm)
3) Flo (confirm)
4) May (confirm)
5) Rachel (confirm)

chickenlittle
*muack* thank you for updating on the price! you must be scrapping happily last night! =D
if i find nothing to buy, will help you get the brabs =)

since now we are confirm with the price, can you transfer the amount of workshop fee plus the tools amount to me. Thanks!

Denmy - $146.61 (workshop+cutter+tool kit)
May - $111.61 (cutter+tool kit)
Cheng - $79.15 (workshop+cutter)
Rena - $67.46 (tool kit)
Flo - $67.46 (tool kit)

Flo
thanks for transfering the workshop fee. got to trouble you again on transfering the fund for your tool kit .

Denmy
not sure how much to hit in order to get their member card. the last time i spent $90+ and they gave me. their card is for collecting stamps on every purchase and once hit certain amount will recieve 10% discount on next purchase OR a free $35 workshop.

Precious moment:
i actually brought one more small pail along to the swimming pool. so i can mix the hot water with some cool water and then sponge wipe her...

Spinach BP:
M so sorry, not in the ofice today as baby's not well since last week....
Hence, m not able to collect it.
Thanks a lot.

sleepingdeer,
i remember my dad used to work at pulau brani where there were 2 dogs-Blackie & Brownie who were really good frens. one day, Brownie died from old age and from that day onwards, Blackie keeps hanging around the beach from dawn till dusk, waiting for Brownie to come back...very heartbreaking...then my dad dun work thr anymore but i'm sure Blackie is now reunited with Brownie in doggy land.

yes yes, we will get 10% discount if we sign up before year-end.

wendy
Yes, when u eat carbohydrates (starch), the carbo is converted into sugar already so, excess sugar is not required. The normal foods u eat already contain salt even without adding extra salt. Addition of extra salt is purely for taste only. Unless u sweat and exercise alot, ur body needs only a small amount of salt in your body to maintain a healthy pressure. On the other hand, if u take in too little salt, u'll have water retention problems but this is a rare in our modern society since most of the foods we eat already contain salt in the form of Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) or sodium chloride. These can also be found in the sauces we eat.

Hi Wenny,

Ya man... real fast until not able to read all the post.

Hi SSF,
I too buy muscle meat for my son. I use that for tast in the porridge only. Then I'll add it either potato or other veggie. Do not want to let him eat only fish afraid he'll be choosy on food in future.

wendy,
I tried feeding corn to my girl but it was too troublesome cuz have to remove the corn "skin". The skin is too difficult to digest for them and may cause constipation. U can try giving her frozen sweetcorn but I suggest u de-skin the corn kernels first before feeding to your son. Anyway, my girl is slightly allergic to corn n brocolli. She gets diahrrea after eating them. So, when she's older then I try again.

All mummies

For those jar (heinz) foods all need to cook with water then give to our bb? As i realise that not all instruction said need to cook le. hehe. The banana porridge didn indicated so i feed him straight from the jar le. but he didnt get diahrrea le.

re: Dylan teething again!
his 7th and 8th teeth are going out, can see the whitish appearing on his lower gum.

re: rashes
rena, dylan oso been having rashes on and off since 2 weeks ago. its around his nose bridge, under his eye and cheek area. not sure why but whenever he keeps rubbing his face i know the rashes come back again. been applying baby califonia cream.

re: SB embellishments & others
for mummies interested in getting some additional embellishments and papers to doll up your layout. i had contacted Clare's friend. arranged with her to come down and meet us this sunday. she will be bringing her stuff to show us.

May
Have emailed you the mattress contact.

Rachel
Have transfered the money for the tool set to you. Transaction Reference: 100000577069947. Am interested to get the mat if there are 2 other pple getting.

ChickenLittle
So paisei, I short change you $0.15 for the cutter.

Tracy,
So happy to hear that your fren has found her dogs...they are so lovely!

I can't seem to keep up with this superfast thread
! Matthew doesn't like to eat food that are too mashed up like cereal or porraige anymore. He wants texture so I introduced rice, mee sua and bread but I cut them up into finer pieces and he eats. I also make french toast (with yolk) and in the yolk, I add meat (salmon, minced meat, etc) and chopped up veg so he gets to eat mini sandwiches and he loves them.

Need more advice on the weaning off suck-to-sleep method.... So do I still let him suck for his bedtime feed and then let other pple put him to bed before he konks off? Then after that just let him cry and don't carry him? Should go in to check periodically or completely cold-turkey? He still wakes up a few times at nite. So when he does, also leave him alone or should get my hubby to carry him?

OMG so much to catch up.. read until eyes cross.

Re: Sunday gathering
I told my colleague these sun we will be there taking photos... they were pretty surprise I have such lobang...
Whenever I told them some lobang ... they will say wow you very clever alwyas can find special lobang...
hehehhee.. I always tell them, it's my friend who pass me the lobang. and of course all my lobang come from you mummies!

wendyheng
I think Jar food dun need to be cook again... you may wan to warm up the Jar in a bowl of hot water.

Flo
thanks, which mat you want to get? is it the same brand? Making Memories?

Ivane
Wow, you mean Matthew knows how to chew oready? how many teeth he has now?

on the weaning suck to sleep, its good to get someone else to put Matthew to bed while he is still awake. actually the bottom line of this cry to sleep method is whether you and your hb are comfortable with which method. for my case, i started training Dylan when he was coming to 4 mths. used the cold-turkey method, bcoz we found out that he cried even worse when we went in to check on him. the most we do is went into his room periodically without letting him see us. after 30mins he just got tired and fall asleep on his own.

if he woke up during the night, im the one attending to him (bocz hb has to get his beauty sleep)i will not carry him but to pat him and let him cry. *cruel mummy here*

hi rachel
I have transferred the $$ to you and PM my reference. Sorry, short of $0.15 in my 1st transfer as I did it yesterday morning. Will pass the change to u on Sunday.

Hi Wenyl
For the romper, I am flexible as I already have one for the photoshoot. So just count me in if u end up buying. If cancelled, it's fine as well.

Sleepingdeer
Thanks for the offer - I have one for the photo shoot already, maybe see if any other mummy is urgently in need of one for the photo shoot.

Sorry! Got to cancel this cos not enuf pple to share the rompers.

Sleepingdeer,
I will get 1 pc from u on sun. Thanks! Muak!

RE: Mothercare rompers for size 12-18mths (CANCELLED)

Anyone wants to share the 7pack rompers with sleeves for the photoshoot? I will buy it today & get it washed and bring to u all on sun.

(1) babylon
(2) cheng
(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
(7)

wendy
I do teach in the lab, but computer lab. I teach computing. Most of the things I know are obtained from books, magazines and websites I've read before. Some of the knowledge is from my chemistry and bio lessons in school last time. I'm sure many of u also know what I know just maybe never consciously recall it until I mention it, right?

busy bee
My litle Ariene recently has a fetish for climbing things. She'll climb anything she can put her little feet on. Busy busy bee.. problem is.. she only know how to climb up, but dunno how to climb down.. sigh..

Flo
chickenlittle mentioned the deluxe tool kit comes with a small mat. unless you are looking at a bigger size.

cheng
okie, noted. thanks =)

Esh_mummy,
re: Spinach
Its ok, the spinach is at the shop. You can collect it on Mon. Dun leave it too late though, otherwise not fresh.

Mamapanda,
LOL... the sentence 'She looked really scary like an alien.' made me laugh cos I remembered Ethan had his ears stung many times by mozzies in Bali and had massive giant ears too. So I can picture how your fren's ears look.

Rachel,
I'll give you cash on Sunday, k?

thanks all for your best wishes. shall update all again on the outcome of my interview

tracy - so the dogs are found! tats good to hear.

wendyheng - normally those jar food, i will immerse in hot water and make it warm before serving to Caleb.

re: Enfapro A+
Ren Tai Tang having a buy 3 tins and get $1.50 off promo. Their selling price is $27.60 per tin which is already much cheaper than NTUC. After lessing $1.50, it works out to be $3.80 cheaper than supermarkets. I got mine today from the one at Pasir Ris. Not sure if the other ones have the same promo or not.

babylon

So in the past which field u from? Jurong Island very far le. hehe. btw in future if we wan to organise bp we have to pay right?

re: Technical question on wireless router
I have a very silly Q: If i have a wireless notebook. How do i connect to the internet? Do I still need the router plugged into a desktop as a main connection? TIA!!

ChickenLittle/Sunny
RE: Giving rice
Yes I think as mamapanda says is better not to give rice until they are about 2+ (just to be on the safe side). According to the doc whom operate on my fren's niece, her intestine was overworked and stressed so I think is better to be kiasu lor. Anyway, they have the whole lifetime to eat rice...haha

Sunny,
Agree lor, the only worry is that bb may get accustom to tasty food by all this supposedly little "tasting". This is esp so for bb that are super fussy with food (just like my gal!!!). Then mommies may have headache getting them to eat bland food. How old is your fren's bb, she give her chia siew pau at such young age?

Rachel
Re: Mat
Oh thanks, didn't realised there is a small mat inside the deluxe pack. In that case, I don't have to get the mat.

RE: rashes
Did I remember correctly that you mentioned Dylan has insect bite that was like bee-hive previously? Was chatting with my PD yesterday and she said even a small insect bite could trigger allergic reaction, spreading to a whole patch that looks like bee-hive. She highly recommend to stand by some medication at home to counter allergic reaction (can be used to treat food reaction as well). Can't remember the name off hand (I think my memory is getting worst after giving birth!!!). Will go back and check tonite and let you know.

Meat for babies/eating out
We give "mei rou" which is the leanest part of pork and mince ourselves. We are quite strict on outside food as there are unknown components - oil, salt, MSG, etc. Will pack porridge off for Keith if he has to lunch out. Babies have better taste buds than adults and I really don't wish to have a tough time feeding home-cooked food once he has tasted some different and new stuff. My 3-yr has not has never taken cold drinks ... he knows when we take but we give him the impression that cold is horrible *hahaha*. Even when we order buger for him, it's just plain fish fillet without the sauce and fries without the salt.

Denmy, on Panadol, yes, just the normal ones (not extra) and limit to 4 per day.

I have a wireless router... and yes, it's plugged into the desktop, but that's for the desktop I thought. With the wireless notebook, you just have to configure it to your network connections, ie. I only got an idea coz hubby's the one who did the work.

SB stuff
Rachel, I'm not going to be there on Sunday, so how I see the goodies???
Anyone organizing any sprees? It's thanksgiving and sales are on!

.ky.

ChickenLittle
No is a syrup type, used for treating cold as well I think. And there a cream that she recommends for insect bite too. She was saying sometimes these reaction can be very potent so might be too late too rush to the hospital....sound scary rite. She was showing me pic of this boy. His parents brought him to swensens for 1st bday lunch and apparently there is egg white in the food which he's allergic to. The poor boy eyes was so swollen and was vomiting badly. Luckily, they managed to rush him to her clinic which was just across the street.

Chicken Little,
My gal also loves to eat rice! We give her rice to her to taste for fun, not as main meal.

Precious Moments,
The "fake measles" thingy is normal after babies have viral fever. Janelle also had that 2 months back. The fake measles should disappear within 2 or 3 days, no worries!

Mamapanda,
Noted! I'll pay first, no problem.

Re: adult food
Have let Janelle try the following adult foods for taste - durian, rice, bread, barley water, soyabean milk, steamed fish (minus the sauce).
FYI, we ever let her try soya-sauce-steamed-fish and she didn't like it!! I think too salty. Haha.

Re: meat for baby
My MIL will buy the back part of the pig (not sure what's the name) and ask them to mince it up for her. So she says that the minced meat for baby is using the "good" part of the pig, not the unwanted portions that adults normally eat in minced meat.

Denmy
If your notebook has an in-build wireless chip, it should be able to auto detect the signal unless u restrict the access so that your neigbhour can't be a free loader. In that case then you'll need to set the key code.

RE : FOOD
I give my boy bread mainly. Soy Bean cake from a breadshop, pretty tasteless and he like it. I also give the steam cheese cake from Four Leaves. Melts in the mouth. He loves that. Anyone else tries? Not the other. I'm pretty particular too. Not too salty or sweet.

RE : Baby Jar Food
Silly qn, bought jar food, aloha mango chicken. How do i serve? On its own? Wif porridge? Wif cereal? or replace the afternoon snack???

RE : Crawling
My boy can crawl very fast too. Damn scared to leave alone. The moment u put him down, he's off!!!

RE : Little Accident
Haiz, my boy needs to be given "toys" to occupy him when feeding. Gave him a watch that he used to play (the strap is made of small hoops) and who knows, his index finger ot stuck. Hard time to remove it. Swollen and got scared. He din cry and able to move the finger. To play safe, brought to PD. Luckily no injuries. Phew!

Hi Mummies, haven't logged in for a few days and there are SO MANY postings. Hard to catch up.

Chicken Little, I think you have bought the wings for me no? Lemme know how to collect from you. Where do you work? I'll probably not go for the photo shoot becos we're trying to avoid crowded areas for now just in case Sarah falls ill. We have to leave on the 3rd for Japan hence cannot afford to take the risk.

Mummies, I've been feeling really down for the last few weeks after the incident. The worse part is having the pregnancy symptoms and knowing that I won't have a baby at the end of it all. I have been bursting into tears even though logically I know I should be glad that things happen this way and I am still alive. BUT it still hurts. My period has finally returned this week since that incident. And I am passing out alot of clots. Is this normal? I think I am slowly finding my feet again- I will try for another baby again probably in Japan. That's something i really look forward to.

Congratulations to both Tabby and Esther. I can't help but wish that I could have been one of you MTB gals and that our second kid would probably be due around the same time and I'm sad that I couldn't be. However I am really really glad for the 3 of you. Take care alright?

Sandra,
glad to hear from you again. I'll be flying to Japan on 3rd dec as well, via SQ morning flight. Maybe we're on same flight

sandra_chu - it's great to hear from you again. didnt hear from you for so long and i understand you shld be resting. don;t think so much...be positive and look forward. you will always have us if you need someone to talk to. so u are gg to Japan with sarah as well? which part of japan ya gg? it's good to take a breather and just enjoy your time with sarah and hb. remember sarah need your attention at this time and give her your best that you can. japan is a nice place and u will enjoy it. take care and update us again upon yoru return. GOD bless.

Sandra,

Yup got the wings for you. I work twice a week near cityhall. You can pm me to arrange. where do you stay ? Me in CCK. Since you not going to the photoshoot, i am ok to hold on to it till you free to pick up.

Have a good trip in Japan. nice weather now, good food too. Relax and dun brood over things in the past. Just look forward.

Thanks gals, I'm lucky that I have Sarah to distract me. She's a real handful now, Super hyper active. We call her our little energizer bunny only that she doesn't need batteries. =)

I'm thinking of weaning her off but not sure where to start. I think my MS has dropped ALOT after I got hospitalised. And she tend to get frustrated because my let down is so much slower. Think it will be better for both her and me to wean her off. Any advise?

Hey Tracy, we won't be on the same flight cause my hubby's cheapo na na company is sponsoring us on JAL. =) Sarah's coming along too. We also brought along my PILs so that they can care for sarah when we have to attend the gala dinners and all. Hoping that I will like Tokyo better this time. Really hated it last year but probably because of my morning sickness. Have been enjoying these past 2 weeks packing sarah's luggage. Got so many cute winter outfits for her. Hee Hee...

Chicken Little, I stay at upper east coast road so that is the other side of the island for you. =) I'll probably try to pop by ur office area to get the wings. How much is it btw?

ya shiok lei Japan. i just returned and still miss the good food and weather. sigh! i told hb we will definitely go back when Caleb is older and this time we will bring him to Disneyland and venture out to Yokohama and Osaka. if you are into Shisheido or Shu Uemura...the stuffs are cheap! I bought the eyelash curler from Shu Uemura for $13 bucks! I know over in Sg, it costs almost twice the price. Also if you leaving the airport, u can buy stuffs from outside the airport which is cheaper than inside the duty free area. And do buy their grapes which are seedless, sweet and huge! have fun!

Chicken Little,
dun envy me la. not much fun for me this trip cos:
Sunday-whole day flying there, 1N in Tokyo
Mon-Wed afternoon-in ulu mountains mtg
Wed evening - 1N Tokyo
Thurs - morning flight back to SIN.

I'm on the same flight with big boss on Sunday, but of cos i am at the tail, he near cockpit.....

Sandra,
Sarah is one lucky gal to wear cute winter clothings at young age. Disney is fun now with disney parade, must bring along pram because cool weather they tend to sleep a lot. Ok, will pm me my contact, we can arrange when you are back. It is $14. Have a good trip

Sandra,
oh, JAL's not too bad too. I heard better than ANA. Sounds like u will be having a fun trip. yes yes, bring Sarah to Disney, she will luv it and it will be wonderful memories for u. Enjoy!