(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wow wow...so many interested in the positive babies trial. Hope you all like the class so we can start one. Has someone booked a class for this group trial?

SY, which period are u away? I can call babiesncream and chk with them on the dates for you gals.

Re: Positive Babies Trial

Cost: Trial session @ $26.25 / 8 sessions @ $210

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Clare
6. Queen (how much & when?)
7. Flo
8. Cindy
9. Denmy
10. Sunny

Babylon,
I intend to try for 2nd one next June. Be it a girl or boy (of cos I hope is a boy this time)... I want to put IUD too. Care to share the cost of it if u happen to know and the side effects if any? Cos I have c-sect before, 2nd time will go thru c-sect as well and may as well do it at once.

Mamachan,
clap clap!! Clever boy, daren! Just in time to demo to our babies in the next tupperware party too.

Babylon,
Noticed that our babies are starting to imitate us. I got smacked by her a few times too. Laste night she pulled my specs and i pretended to cry and point to my nose that its pain. she looked concerned...and then she use her finger to press hard on my nose. Lagi pain!

Anyway, she has decided to imitate several actions....all except bye bye.

may,

you not trying for natural birth for your 2nd bb..coz some of my friend actually went thr natural even the first one was c-sect.

May,

Ya my sil also go through natural delivery after the first c-section. Another sil did the IUD at the same time for c-section for her delivery.

Once you put IUD, you have to be kuai kuai to go on yearly check because one of my colleague got pregnant 3rd time because it came loose woh.

Babylon, Cookie,

Baby is following what you do to them. So be careful of your actions . My elder gal Charmaine talking just like us. So I am very careful on what I do, how I talk.

Poll on lunch/dinner: May I know if you give the same porridge for lunch and dinner.

1) Ryan : same for lunch and dinner
2) Elijah : Different type of porridge for both meals..
3) Ariene : Different type of porridge
4) Keenan : Cereal + fruit for brunch; porridge/ A. Karmel's recipe for dinner (I only giving him 2 meals a day)
5) Daren: Nestle or HT Cereal for breakfast, Porridge/Mee Sua/Marcoroni for Lunch, Different type of porridge for dinner
6) Kaelyn : Porridge for lunch, cereal + fruit or Yu Ren Shen Chorbi for dinner
7) YX: porridge for lunch, cereal for dinner
8) Damien : same for lunch and dinner
9) Megan : same for lunch and dinner
10) Aden : Weekday (Nanny place different type of porridge each meal) Weekend ( cereal + puree for lunch, porridge for dinner)

Mamachan,

Envy envy. Aden most probably will be the last one. He still on reverse gear for leopard crawl and could not even pull himself up to sitting or standing position. Aiyo too fat and heavy lah.

Wings:
Are we finalizing on which wings ?

Babylon,
i also c-sect and planning for next one c-sect as well. Maybe even GA c-sect instead of epi c-sect. Cos i cannot imagine having to take epi when i'm not in pain and wide awake! My fren did that and she scream in pain when the epi was done...scary...

I've decided on c-sect for 2nd one as well, cos i've heard incidences where the c-sect wound burst and baby will be in danger.

Told my hb abt GA c-sect and he was quite disappointed cos he wanna take photos of the baby as soon as he/she is out. I was like...hello! i'm the one in pain leh!

mamachan
wow... clever boy you have!
my gal still dare not use the push walker 'cos she scare the push walker moves too fast. she only dare to push the chair and walk. :p

CL
agree with you that we have to be careful about what we say and do 'cos bb can learn really fast. i hope she won't learn my bad habit.
i told my mil to take extra care when talk and do things, she doesn't believe bb can pick up so fast.

RE: Next baby
I had GA c-sect for 1st one. Wanted to do epi c-sect for 2nd but not sure if I want to do IUD, can go thru epi c-sect or not. Was thinking since got one scar there already may as well do it on the same and all at once.

Tracy,
How is it like for epi c-sect? Mine is emergency for the 1st so dunno.

chicken little:
what is aden's wt now?

Poll on lunch/dinner: May I know if you give the same porridge for lunch and dinner.

4) Keenan : Cereal + fruit for brunch; porridge/ A. Karmel's recipe for dinner (I only giving him 2 meals a day)
5) Daren: Nestle or HT Cereal for breakfast, Porridge/Mee Sua/Marcoroni for Lunch, Different type of porridge for dinner
10) Aden : Weekday (Nanny place different type of porridge each meal) Weekend ( cereal + puree for lunch, porridge for dinner)
11) Caleb: only 1 porridge meal per day

May,

My sil 's first one is GA C section because emergency , second one is Epi C section and she did IUD at the same time. But she feel that she recovered better on the second one.

Sept 03 Bride,

I dunno what is his weight now. Should be over 11 kg Have not gone to take the weight. Maybe tonight I drop by my family GP to check it out.

Just a little update..

3) Ariene : Different type of porridge for lunch & dinner or meaty porridge for lunch + meat/vege in cheesy sauce for dinner

IUD : copied this from another forum discussion that the secondary mechanism IUC (whether IUS or IUD)inhibit the implantation of the embryo, ie disallowing a little life that is formed (should the primary mechanism of IUC fail) a 'room' to grow. The child is flushed out and aborted...

c-sect after natural : this is usually what's termed as VBAC (vaginal birth after c-sect). Increasing number of ladies have opted for that. A good gynae who is very pro-natural brith is Paul Tseung at TMC

Tracy, natural birth is not as scary as sounded. I had no epi for #1 (pain was actually good) but for #2, I opted for epi bcos I wanted to relax and open quickly (coz #1 coming back from childcare and daddy needed to be home), so opted that for relaxation & it worked for me. It was a good and bad feeling for me. Good as in I could see all the actions during delivery (how everyone worked to get the baby out); bad as in I missed the process of a painful delivery. Not sure if anyone here understands what I'm saying ....

.ky.

3) Ariene : Different type of porridge for lunch & dinner or meaty porridge for lunch + meat/vege in cheesy sauce for dinner
12) Keith : Porridge + fish + veg for lunch, alternating Porridge + veg (1x) or Cereal + veg (2x) for dinner

Re: Positive Babies Trial

Cost: Trial session @ $26.25 / 8 sessions @ $210

1. Chicken Little
2. SY
3. Cookie
4. SH
5. Clare
6. Queen (how much & when?)
7. Flo
8. Cindy
9. Denmy
10. Sunny
11. ky

May,
Mine was emergency C-section too, but the epi was administered when i was in labour pain, so i didnt feel any pain when it was injected. Actually, if i'm brave enough again, i would prefer epi c-section. Personally, i'm not too afraid of surgeries, only needles. Half the body was so numb, i only felt them tugging, pressing my body. You don't feel anything else lah. And of cos you get to see your bb immed.

BUT i ve heard of some ppl who can feel the pain during epi c-section. Not sure if their level of threshold for pain is lower, so tugging and pressing to them is already considered pain and scary? Some claim the epi didn't work for them, which i'm surprised cos the anaestheist will poke u etc to check if u ve feeling before they proceed w the surgery. Then again, some ppl seem to be immune to epi...

My gynae did tell me can opt for spinal instead of epi. She said spinal is shorter numbness. To me, the same cos still poke my spine. eeekss...

Chicken Little,
Phew.. glad to hear that. I really hope to see the baby come out and hope my hubby see it too then he know how painful it is. U think I will do the same.. Epi C-sect with IUD.

CassCL,
the same thing happens to me too. JH keeps kicking off the covers and each time i try to cover him he wakes up.

maybe i shd get the Grobag to try but if it doesn't work i have one more white elephant...

mamachan
must be so excited to see Daren walk but it also means more work to catch him! with his crawling prowess i m sure Daren can walk very fast too!

SL,
thanks for making the effort to pass me the baby food jar. hopefully he will like it cos i dunno whether i will be able to get the food stuff on the first day!

Did you bring your own detergent for Charmaine's laundry?

Denmy
keep us posted! hopefully u have a gal this time!

Tracy
i m away from 3-9th Nov. Thanks for checking!

yeah JH also imitate us. that's why i told hb cannot smack him cos he will smack us.

babylon
JH does the same thing! we noticed he likes to fake cough and realise he does that cos i was coughing for some time already. at first i din believe it when hb told me but this morning, he did 2 coughs for no reason...

12) JH: Lunch is cereal/Dinner is porridge

initially i cook the same for both lunch and dinner but my mum told me to cook separate. nicer to eat

JH refuse to go on his potty now. how? and he seems to forget how to use the potty already...

he's really naughty now. yesterday night when i refuse to let him touch the fan, he screamed the house down. refused to stop. so hb chased me out of the room to discipline him. it din work and finally i went in and he stopped screaming. really almost went deaf..

12) Keith : Porridge + fish + veg for lunch, alternating Porridge + veg (1x) or Cereal + veg (2x) for dinner
13) JH: Lunch is cereal/Dinner is porridge

Tracy, KY,

Both my delivery is induced epi natural delivery. I enjoy like checking in hotel, being prepared for everything, no pain, watching TV, reading magazine, chit chat with nurse, sms. Hubby watching DVD on his player, went to borders , relax on osim massage chair. So to me so far delivery is painless and enjoyable leh

Some pple feel itchy after epi.

ky,
i experienced the natural labour pain n i wouldn't mind going thru natural birth, but its the safety of the baby that's my concern as VBAC has its risks. As my 1st baby did not go thru the birth canal, so my hips are not conditioned for childbirth yet. So a 2nd baby will actually be like the 1st baby and the labour process might take very long and the pressure may burst the old c-sect wound. When that happens, baby will not ve oxygen and that's where it becomes really dangerous.

So decided to go for 2nd c-sect to play safe. its ok lah, mummy suffer only beta than putting both at risk.

Chicken Little,
So the epi was administered when u were without any labour pain? Was the epi painful? Cos my fren's experience was really scary. She had this shooting pain from her spine to right pelvic when they injected her. She was told to sit on edge of bed and hunch. Two huge men held both her arms to prevent her from moving. And the epi was injected this way. Thank god for the two men, otherwise she will be jumping away liao..

Re:positive Babies Trial
Jus called the girl. She will check with instructor and let me know the dates avail for the trial sessions. Update you all later!

Tracy
i think it's easier to administered the epi before the labor pain. for me i only ask for it hwen i couldn't bear the contractions and it was so difficult to stop me from moving as they administer it. suppose to keep really still but how to keep still when the contraction so painful....

tracy
I had epidural administered when the labour pain was still like 2/10 scale. Poking into the spine was alright but i did feel some pain at the pelvic region when he was inserting the catheter. However, the pain was bearable and I did not move at all. Just held on tight to the bed, hunched cuz I don't want to have spinal complications. Heard that if u move around too much, the epidural catheter cannot be inserted properly and may cause backache in future. So far, I have no problem. No pain, no itch. Mine was a helf-epidural, ie, I can feel my contractions, I can move my lower body and legs but I don't feel much pain. I adjusted the epidural such that I can feel my contractions coming yet, not pain enough to cause any distress so I had a very fast and smooth delivery - pushed for 20min only.

14) Janelle: Most of the time different porridge/pasta/cereal for lunch & dinner. But if no time then i cook both lunch & dinner tog.

SY, Mamapanda,
i also had my epi administered after bearing with the labour pain for 2hrs. I only felt a cold rush when it was done. Curled into a cooked prawn style and nurse held me. So i tot epi not too bad ah...until i heard my fren's experience. So i guess it depends on the doc administering the epi for you.

May, Tracy,
Mine was emergency C-sect too. But i do hope to try for natural delivery the next time round!

Mamachan,
Wow Daren's so clever can walk already! My gal still prefers to crawl around.

Re: smacking baby
i remember reading on Babycentre that to discipline our baby, shouldn't smack. Or rather, that's what they believe in. Coz they say the baby won't really understand your smacking anyway. And if you wanna discpline, it's better to just give a firm "no" and distract them from doing what is wrong by giving another toy or moving them to another place.

Re: labour pains
Actually i wonder how many of you mummies feel the same as me? I felt that the most awful part of my whole delivery process was when they inserted the urine catheter just before i was sent to the operating ward for my C-sect. It was painful!! Oh, and of course, the cervical examination was the worst! I think it was worse than labour pains for me.

Chicken little,

Did you give birth in Glen? I got a very fast labor, only hour in the labor ward. HB complained that he dun have the chance to enjoy the osim chair and on the TV..
Worst thing is Duncan was waiting outside the labor room for his bb brother..
I did not use any epi this time round coz the labor is too fast. No chance for itonly use the laughing gaseventually I had already start to see Stars due to the pain and the gasso scared that I was unable to make it.but lucky was an easy one..just 3 pushesheng.

Tracy

which hospital is this? ya, sounds very scary. With VBAC, yes, there's certain risk. It's the same with c-sect birth too. Pro-natural birth ladies would opt for natural citing ease of recovery and breastfeeding as some of the good reasons to do so ... why did u have an emergency C-section? ya, if I had gone thru' natural and didn't work out, I'd prob choose c-sect the next time too...

#2 was induced. Went in for induction and after an hr, only 0.5cm more. So I thot abt it and didn't want to go thru' a long prolonged labour process. My gynae was telling me that I had high pain threshold and I should do without and I tell her I needed to experience it for myself. And #2 was out after apprx 45 min; epi effect was immediate, I could literally feel the fluid going thru' my body and numbing my body and the only negative thing was that I was shivering quite a bit thru-out. But pro for me is that I could walk ard 6 hrs later and I could sit up. The only part which is unfulfilling is like I said, no pain during the birthing process which takes away that "oomph" feeling

.ky.

Tracy,
I have the same prob with u. Gone thru labour pain but mine is 24hrs. So doc say since it is 24hrs already and it open only 8cm. Jamie might not squeeze out in time. I had epi when I am in 12hrs pain..really cannot tahan already.

babylon,
U gave birth at gleneagles? Which day did u give birth on? Cuz I remembered got 1 lady who was pushed into the delivery room and gave birth within minutes. Her husband and elder was waiting outside.

Durian lover,
ii felt pain during contractions as well as when my gynae broke my water bag. Duno why, i gave a loud scream when my gynae tried to break my water bag. it was extremely painful.

What: SCRAPBOOKING -- Getting Started with our BABIES!!
Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura, Unit03-21

Dates: 13 Nov 2006
Time : 10:30am - 1:30pm (3hrs)
Cost: $35 (inclusive of ALL materials)

1. Clare -Paid
2. Mamachan -Paid
3. Rena -Paid
4. Denmy -Paid
5. Cookie-Paid
6. Mongs -Paid
7. Rachel -Paid
8. Flo -Paid
9. Sleepingdeer -Paid
10. May - Paid
11. Tracy -Paid
12. chickenlittle -Paid
13. Wenyl -Paid

Clare
your fund reached me. thanks.

so mummies, we shall meet at the shop at 1030am. do be on time and see you all!! lunch together?

Sept03Bride/Denmy,
have you managed to collect your California baby BP with eggie yet?
I am so fed-up, she does not respond at all! I paid $146 to her and really regreted.

14) Janelle: Most of the time different porridge/pasta/cereal for lunch & dinner. But if no time then i cook both lunch & dinner tog
15) Lucas: different porridge for lunch and dinner, either fish or beef... everyday the same though.

Durianlover,
Mine was also emergency c-sect. Hope to try for natural for #2. I still can remember the painful moment when my gynae burst my water bag & the cervical examinations tat i went thru. Freaked me out!

re: Healthy Times BP
had faxed in the list last evening, waiting for them to get back to me on the stock. meanwhile, can indicate your perfered collection method? thanks

1) Bukit panjang, Senja rd (night time & weekends)
2) CCK, ave 3 (weekday)
3) IMM (working hour)
4) tupperware party 12Nov
5) Scrapbooking workshop 13Nov

1. Rena
2. Denmy
3. Sleepingdeer
4. God's child
5. Wenyl
6. Sysac
7. Mamachan
8. Durianlover
9. Mamapanda

cindy,
karen has received my items but some of the items are incorrect. I'm still waiting for her to confirm what are the items exactly for me.

KY,
my fren gave birth i NUH. i was induced too, and after 10hrs, with baby's heartbeat dropping and me having high fever, only 8cm dilated, gynae proposed c-section cos my bb's head seem stucked. I took that option cos i was like semi-unconcious liao. watever the nurse ask me, i was jus going answered last night already. :p

Well, true enuf my bb's head was stuck in my mid-pelvic bone. Few wks b4 birth, we already did a pelvic x-ray n found that my mid-bone is much smaller than her head circumference. So will be rather difficult n long.

May,
brave girl, 12hrs. I 2hrs surrender liao.

Durianlover,
The VE check by gynaeu was fine. the nurse did a terrible job! esp when inserting the tablet into me to induce. i was telling the nurses, next time can use rubber gloves? those plastic ones are very bad.

Sept03,
When dr. Soong broke my waterbag was ok leh. In fact, she didn't tell me wat she was doing. I tot jus VE check n wondering who come she taking so long. Then suddenly pop and water came out then i said,'oh, u broke my waterbag?' which she answered,'my dear, wat did u think i was doing??' hehe.

Rachel,
Lunch + Shopping!

MamaChan,
Wah so good that you managed to catch Daren's first steps!

Can I ask did you let Daren use the push walker or anything like dat? My MIL has been pressurising me to bring her the walker so that she can let JW roam around it in. While it's easier for them to take care now (coz JW keeps wanting to walk but we have to bend and hold him by his hands). I understand that it's very tiring for my MIL to bend like dat (coz even I feel the strain on my back), but I am reluctant to give him to walker now coz I think it will only delay him walking since he is quite steady now if he sets his mind to balancing properly (with our help). With the walker, he will have the tendency to think no need to balance oso can walk around...

So was wondering if I should get a push walker instead but again feel really dumb coz I think he may be walking on his own soon...so quite a waste to buy one at this stage.

Any advice anyone?

durianlover,
i agree with u, i hate having the urine catheter. i couldn't urine after that and they had to insert it. the thought of it sends shivers down my spine!!

tracy
i was also induced cos i already went to hospital when i had slight bleeding. but bb not ready to come out yet and me and hb find it too troblesome to go all the way home and need to come down again the next day. so we just decide to induce.

initially i thought water bag breaking is painful but not too bad.

may
u tahan 12 hours?? wow....i couldn't bear it when i was abt 4 cm dilated...

SH
u can buy those push walker that can convert into a seat like those FP one. when they are older, thye can sit on it to push themselves ard. u can come and see mine.

Queen,

Err no lah, i'm not so good...my maid is the one that cooks the porridge early in the morning. Thing is that my boy goes to mum's pl or MIL's place everyday and I dun really trust the cooking facilities at my MIL's pl...so maid will cook for Ryan in the morning and put into flask and feed him same porridge for lunch and dinner.

Epidural
I had epidural natural delivery too and ky, I know exactly what you mean by missing a painful delivery. A bit of regret that i had epi as :
1) I had no sensation of pushing
2) I had a bad reaction to epi....blood pressure dropped rapidly abnd shivering badly and whole room seem to be in an emergency and i thot i was gonna die....so it made me feel worse rather than better!

re: smacking baby
sometime i really cant help it but to smack dylan when he really dont cooperate when feeding him. sometime its really a tiring battle. he will cry for a while and back to his own self again. he really is testing my limit and ever though i gave a firm "No" he will still carry on his notti act.

how to put the message across? i am aware he sometime can understand but sometime he just dont bother to notice my words... *haiz*

re: Giving birth
had a 8 hours labour, die die dont want to opt for epi but in the end threw in the white towel at the last 3 hrs. cannot take it anymore. when the epi was administered, a wave of contraction hit me, so didnt feel anything on my back except for the cold flow. shivered for a short while and numbness at both my legs. hopefully my second birth can go without the epi.

SH,
i've got a push walker for megan which she hardly use. But it can be converted into a rider later so i feel not so wasted. She's now playing with the activity panel on the walker.

re:smacking baby
i hardly smack her now, cos i realise she dun understand. When she is naughty, i give her my fierce stare and a firm 'no!'. i only smack her playfully on her thighs for fun. really luvvvvv to squeeze her thighs.