(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

yuki
I think for the cord blood case, though studies have shown the pros and cons of clamping the cord blood almost immediately, what the effects are, I think ultimately, really have to trust the Lord for his proctection over our little ones. I too have donated Daren's cord blood and looking at hime now, he's so active and healthy.

Childbirth educators have their own views on such things and their advice could be one-sided. Different doctors will definitely have differing opinions, so don't worry too much. Am sure there is still alot of discussion going on over this.

Hi Cookie and MamaChan,

Thanks! Indeed God has been watching over our little ones. Thanks for the reminders.

MEgan is also so active and healthy... So sctive that she can actually climb out of the walker!!!! And when she's out, she attempted to climb in.... she succeeded once - climb in but sitted wrongly...faced the back ratehr then front.... Headache...... when she's in the kitchen, she also learn to open the cabinets........ i don;t have these problems with my elder gal who is quite well behave. Ha Ha

Last nite, HB opened letterbox & was looking thru the mail when he exclaimed "Wow, Cephas has mail!" He was puzzled because the envelope was addressed to Cephas alone.

So I teased "Wow, so young got pen-pal already." When we opened it, it was an invitation to Cephas for the 1st yr party for babies under the milk program he was on. The party was titled "Super Heroes"!

What a milestone! One year!

cookie
they are ok so far. for the haze situation, they understand. so no issue.

re car
i also got the colt. i have driven quite a few different cars before and so far i feel colt is really easy to drive.

sysac
so funny...the first time i got a letter addressed to JH i also found it so funny. it was a bank statement to him...

Mamachan

RE: Stream egg recipe

Can I ask u a silly qn. The recipe you posted is for portion of 5. So what do you do with the rest of the 4? steam at the same time then keep in the fridge? can freeze? if cannot freeze can keep for how many days? or do you store the rest in "raw" form in the fridge and steam only when want to feed? Raw form can freeze?

Valerie,
Just viewed Kirsten's blog. The recording of the sounds she make while waiting for milk was so funny! 'stein stein stein'...hahahaha.

Flo,

Steam egg cannot keep lah. Must eat fresh right ?

Other 4 portion for daddy, mummy, ah gong and ah mah

Colt,

Ya i love my colt. But too bad the boot space really small.

mamapanda
does ariene look more like u or hubby?

my hb so funny. he sent me flowers while he was still in korea on behalf of JH. the message says JH is sorry for being naughty when daddy is away...

Yuki

Do you think that might the reason why they don't accept twins' cord blood? Coz it's riskier to the babies since it's multiple births and their birth weight is likely to be lower than singleton babies.

Flo
Haha. I really not sure leh. I have yet to try but found the egg chawanmushi recipe off the youngnutrition.net website. Best to serve fresh to bb if possible. Maybe can keep in fridge one day max, not more than 48 hours, have to seal it with those cling wrap, keep in chiller compartment if it's too much to finish. Keep too long, scared the edd thing might spoil coz got milk powder added to it.

I'm planning to try it out this long weekend, see if daren likes it. =)

chickenlittle/cookie/mashybrianz
hee, yah lor. yesterday i complained that he away for so many days and JH so naughty and i so stressed at work etc etc....he already tot of giving flowers before that also. last time when still courting, he always send flowers to my office also (even though we work in the same office).

of cos happy lah, long time never so sweet already...

SY,
Wow so sweet of your hb!! Haha and the msg is so funny!

Mamapanda,
Ariene looks all pretty and grown-up esp in the red cheongsam outfit

May,
Jamie really looks so pretty now with hair! And she looks so happy too. Janelle is still botak!

Chicken Little,
i don't mind joining in the class. Really hope can get other mummies so that can get free trial! Anyone else interested??

I am organising a trial lession with Baby Jumper Gym at Bukit Batok which involves flashcards. Max 6 in a class. Details of the little crawlers class , please refer to this link
http://www.bjg.com.sg/programs_crawlers.htm

Currently I have gathered 2 mummies plus me, I have another 3 slots. The centre is offering a discounted fees of $15 each for the trial lesson instead of the usual $20. If at least 4 sign up together, they'll waive off the trial fees & give the group 10% discount on the term fees.

Date: 28 Oct 06 (Sat)
Time : 1 - 2 pm

4) Durianlover + hb + bb
5)
6)

Please pm me your full name, contact no., baby's name & DOB.

SY
So envious **drool drool**

Mamachan, ChickenLittle
I think prob can't also, but wonder why the receipe is for portion of 5? cos we prob won't want to eat chawanmushi with each formula in it rite? so wonder if you gals know.

SY
No am not a twin, altho my hb was hoping that I conceive twins when I was pregnant...haha. Just that I was not aware twins can't store their cord blood.

Sorry long time didn't get to login in. Mamachan updated liao. Will be there. Thanks a lot for porridge offer.

##UPDATES## - mummies, I'll be cooking Daren's porridge. Any of you want me to cook your bb's share as well? Please indicate yes or no beside your name.

Mummies coming, you want to make this session a crab feast session as well? That means got to ask the daddies to go out and buy crabs for dinner liaoz. Who is for the idea? Indicate 'OK for crab' if you don't mind or 'Another Time' If you can't stay behind.

Tupperware Party 2 @ MamaChan's place @ Redhill, 29th Oct, Sunday. (Limited to 10 families due to space constraint)
Time:

Features:
Cooking Demo of simple steam sponge cake or peanut cake.

LIST FULL
1) Rachel + hb + bb *Coming!, preparing cereal for Dylan*
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb~Coming!, no need porridge
3) Chicken Little + hb + bb + my 4 y.o Gal Coming!Yes to porridge but dun need a lot because Aden very unpredictable
4) Rena + hb + bb -coming! yes to porridge
5) Tracy + hb + bb - coming! no need porridge. **Crabs - another time**
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7) God's child + hb + bb -Attendance guaranteed!dun need porrige ( thks for the offer!)
8) Wenyl + bb only. No need dinner. Tks!
9) SH + bb+ HB (coming. yes to porridge. Tks!)
10)

Bumper playmats:
1) MamaChan - 1 piece
2) Rachel - 1 piece
3) Angie - 1 piece

Refreshments:
1) Polar Puffs - Chicken and Curry Puffs
2) Tiong Bahru Char Siew Pao
3) Drinks - Tracy

Tracy,
The Tiger Jar really can cook porridge just like dat? Thinking of getting one coz if go trip easier. When I went to Seiyu, the sales person say cannot. Only special model can. Ask her which model, she says don't know.

Any idea which are the models that can? Thermos can? Istetan having some sale on Thermos...don't know can or not.

SH,
no no, the jar cannot cook porridge. i cooked the porridge overnight in slow cooker first then trsf to the Tiger Jar. Inside the jar, the porridge will soften even further and become more gooey. :p

SH,

Can. I bought it but have not tried yet. Maybe I bring along then we try at mamachan place. I emailed and confirmed with Tiger USA says can. Model is MCW P090. Quoted the reply as follows :
=============================
Dear Angie,

Good morning!!

Take a hand full of raw rice and fill it with boiling hot water, close it and.in 30 minutes the rice should be done! Depending on the beans, it might take a little longer maybe 15minutes more.

Note: I actually left for 45 minutes; the rice was too mushy for my porridge taste. And if you leave it too long without opening the rice might turn gooey.

Try not to add no more than half of rice cup on the MCW as it might expand.

The key thing is that this product can keep hot for at least 6 hours and after that the temperature will slowly gradually goes down. By the heat retention of this product Id say basically you can cook anything that involves hot soup or water. Caution: when using any hot boiling water even after 1 hour it should be still like boiling hot. So be careful as it might scald/ burn.

Should you have any questions, please e-mail us back!

Miti Takano
For Japan Tiger Corp. of U.S.A.
2730 Monterey Street
Suite 105
Torrance, CA 90503
Tel: (310) 787-1985
Fax: (310) 787-1986

Any more mummies interested in BJG ?

I am organising a trial lession with Baby Jumper Gym at Bukit Batok which involves flashcards. Max 6 in a class. Details of the little crawlers class , please refer to this link
http://www.bjg.com.sg/programs_crawlers.htm

Currently I have gathered 2 mummies plus me, I have another 3 slots. The centre is offering a discounted fees of $15 each for the trial lesson instead of the usual $20. If at least 4 sign up together, they'll waive off the trial fees & give the group 10% discount on the term fees.

4) Durianlover + hb + bb
5)
6)

SH
the one you wanna look for should be thermal pot, not food jar. i bought thermos brand. haven't tried it out...

SY,
Envy u.. my hubby give me roses on the wedding day ONLY !!

Mamapanda,
Ariene is so cute. She got very big round eyes! So pretty!

RE: Food Jar
I want to get one for Jamie's porridge too. Saw there is a BP some time ago.

RE: Fall

Today after the gathering with sleepingdeer, wenyl and val, me and hb went for dinner.. at the dinner table elijah became cranky so after his porridge i brought him out to change diaper so that daddy can have a good meal.. after changing him , i carried him back so that i can have my dinner.. i tried to put elijah on the high chair but he became cranky so i carried him out.. as i step back while carrying him , i slip and fell flat on my back.. luckly elijah was not hurt as i quickly move him infront of me and he fell on me so he is safe..

HB was so angry with me coz i slip on the porridge that i drop.. wow i tell you all .. it is really pai seh..

Long time never log in, coz i've been busy at work in the day. plus no more pumping, so seldom surf the internet. So many posts to catch up.

Re Tiger food jar
Confirmed can cook porr. I've tried it many times. Just put boiling water to the uncooked rice and can get soft porr. To make it even softer, I'll soak the porr overnite, plus use the special rice for congee (my mum says it's called sin mi).

Re organic bb yogurt
Think a few of u are into organic food for bb. I recently bought this brand of organic bb yougurt for Ger to try. Have not let him tried it yet. So exp, 4 tubs for $14+. Can get from Cold Storage from GWC.

Rena,
Opps.. I hope u are fine. Accident do happen and we won't know when it will. U mentioned at dinner table? At home or outside? If it is outside, I will also hope I can find a hole to hide myself.

Rena,
I think if I were one of the customers near you my first reaction would be more of to try to catch u WITH the baby rather than laughing... so I dun think you need to be too pai seh about it cos people are generally sympathetic when it comes to babies... hope your back is alright. =)

Rena,
It's ok. Like what Clare said, when you have a baby people are generally more understanding..don't think they would laugh at you or what...they're prob more concerned that u & baby are fine! U didn't hurt yourself right?

Krissie / chicken little,
Wow i must really try out cooking porridge in that Tiger FOod Jar coz i have that similar model, just that it's P070 (smaller one). Hope it works just the same!

Re: Organic baby yoghurt
krissie, yes i saw that organic baby yoghurt at Cold Storage GWC but too ex so i didn't buy. In fact, you can also get organic baby yoghurt at the new organic "market" shop at B1 of GWC! It costs only $4.20 for a tub that's quite a good size...not like those huge yoghurt tubs but not exactly small either. Can serve at least 3-4 servings. It's plain & unflavoured/unsweetened. Can add in ur own fruit purees for baby to eat

Rena
Ya agree with Clare, pple will be sympathetic rather than laughing at you even without bb. Hope you didn't injured your back. If it hurts better see a doc.

SH,
RE: Tiger Food Jar model MCW P090
Taka having a sale on the food jar now. Saw it in today's Straits Times, selling @ $59

Rena,
Oh no...hope u are ok from the fall. Thank goodness Elijah is ok.

Re: Tiger Jar
Thanks for all the information and model number. That really helped. Realised that i did see that model at Seiyu....but that blur salesgirl tell me cannot cook porridge ;p

Flo,
Thanks a lot for that information. Will go dig newspaper to see. :)

Rena,

Are you ok after the fall ? Glad Elijah is fine.

Deadline to sign up for BJG is 23 Oct. Otherwise they will give up the slot to someone else. Anyone else interested ? 2 more to go.

4) Durianlover + hb + bb
5)
6)

Thanks for the concern..This morning i woke up with my lungs and ribcage feeling pain.. i told hb but he just ask if i need a doc then went back to sleep.. i think as i was trying to protect elijah from the fall i actually push him closer to my chest which has more cushion as a result his full weight fell on my chest.. that is why i am experience the pain now.. can you imagine 11kg of weight came crashing on your chest..

Frankly i did not dare to look at the faces of the customers .. but after the fall many did turn over to look.. maybe trying to see my face and get authograph bah..When i fell the customers beside me did not even give a lending hand.. it was the staff and hb that quickly help me up...ah... give me a hole to hide..

Rena,
Oh dear... if the pain gets worse by tonight or tomorrow, think you better go see a doctor. Any bruises? Yah, I can imagine how embarassing it must be for you, but take it as a lesson learnt and be more careful next time! Not something you did on purpose.

Tracy, haha... the sound is really funny. I still get a good laugh whenever Kirsten does that. Nowadays, if she's sucking her thumb and not making noise, I'll go close to her and imitate her sounds, then she will smile and start 'stein stein', as though she knows she's being teased. And it's louder this time.

SY, wow, envious leh!

Rena, oh no! Hope you are ok! Must be careful of your back. I can understand, when carrying baby, you won't be able to see the floor and won't know there is porridge there. Don't take the stares of customers to heart, they won't remember the incident.

SY
Ariene looks more like my hubby. Only her "figure" eyes and nose is like me although my hubby has nicer double eyelid eyes and "sharper" nose

Cheongsum
I got the cheongsum top from my hubby's cousin 2nd hand and was just letting her try it out. Was thinkin of buying a new one for her for chinese new year.

Rena
If it really hurts, better go see a doc to make sure u've not cracked a rib.

Tiger food jar
Do they have smaller sized ones for keeping baby food? My dad has the standard size one but its so big and my girl eats only 1 bowl and takes up so little space in the jar

Rena,
Better have a check to be safe.
Rem I fell down with Jamie that time? My elbow still hurt till now. At least I know my elbow is alright now. See a doc first bah.

Rena
Get well soon... lucky Elijah is okie.. hope he's a good boy this weekend so u can get more rest.

RE: cars
So many colt owners! I have a colt plus, just got it this year... did u see the new convertible colt?

May
Wow, Jaime is so big now! Looks like she still enjoys the pooh toy

WendyNg
Hey... Ariene looks so sweet in her cheong sam... my MIL got her one too from China.. maybe i gotta go dig it out

Btw for all star wars fans...
Meet princess Leia

550685.jpg

Rena
Hmmm, better see a doctor to get you checked. Hope you'll recover soon.

Tabbiesus
Haha! Your gal is really cute! She looks happy being princess Leia. Is this for Halloween? heh heh

SY
Your hb is really sweet to send you flowers! Haha, encourgae him to keep up the good work and more flowers to come!

May
Jamie looks so girlish in the 2nd picture. Really a big gal now!

WendyNg
Ariene looks soooo pretty!! Especially the pictue of her in the cheongsum. Reminds me of a china doll in those collectors' doll shops.

SH
Maybe the sales girl was thinking of more a complex cooking pot for porridge and didn't realize that the retention of heat in the food jar is able to cook the raw rice into porridge.