(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Chicken Little
Do you know the difference between the carryon back and backpack, apart from the handle? Which is better?

hey mamapanda,
caleb is the same as ariene, he can be happily talking away, then if got somemore else come in rite.. he will keep quiet and just look at the person. Heehee.. not sociable.

tracy
JH is exactly the same. he loves the mediacorp logo portion. he will always turn to watch that part and he will keep smiling at it...so funny to see him like that...

rachel,
JH also not talking yet. today's Mind your body got an article on speech development. got some guidelines to take note.

i m interested to get some books from www.pelangibooks.com. think there was some BP some time ago. anyone interested? i like the my frist touch and learn books and the bumblebee series is quite highly recommended also.

Re: allenhand
Aiya I got mine sometime ago...
To see the real thing.. can go to Mothercare.
Centrepoint outlet has quite a few model... but the last time I was there din see backpack model tho.

Re: Laughing cow cheese...
wow so a few mummies is using this brand.
Ok perhaps on friday will go source for it.

Re:speech and action
Seems like lotsa babies is very good and fast with speech and action.
Nothing much for kaelyn except she is really excited to see herself in the mirror and will raise hand and say Hi to herself.
When I say hi and bye to her in person.. no respond tho just look me very seriously.

I'm waiting for her to surprise me!

Re: Poor eyesight and watching TV
Hmmm... does anyone has any clue if watching TV will really cause poor eyesight? Wonder if Tabbie can give more info.

While Watching TV - like education program like baby signing times and baby einstein may improve
logical thinking etc etc...
But I'm also concern if it will cause baby to have poor eye sight in future...
Lotsa little children are wearing glasses these days...
I'm kinda worry becos I know the inconvenience on wearing glasses.

My HB used to watch TV the whole time and also play PC gaming for many years... but he still perfect eyesight ley.

For me... not a TV lover nor PC gaming but still short sighted lor...

Should I be worry?

cookie
shortsightedness can also be inherited. my bro lies down reading and he is fine! whereas i m shortsighted from a young age.

i guess the thing is not to let them watch tv too long, must watch in well lighted areas and eat more carrots etc which is good for eyes.

Cookie,
i think most singaporeans are short-sighted!! It's a bit hereditary too.

RE: TV
i don't really watch TV so Janelle also doesn't get to watch TV, though she LOVES watching TV! Ha. Too bad for her!

RE: speech
I agree, don't worry too much about baby's speech. Different babies develop differently. My bro was totally quiet till he was 2+yrs...my mum was so worried thought he was a mute. Good thing he started talking! And when he first spoke, he spoke in a Filipino accent! (Coz we had a Filipino maid who looked after us).
For myself, my mum says i was super talkative when i was a baby. And when i was a toddler, i kept asking "why" questions that nearly drove her nuts! Hee.

Mamapanda,
Yeah i know what u mean when u say Ariene talks as though she's conversing with u! Same for Janelle. It's as though i'm conversing with her. SOmetimes she says stuff that sounds as though she's asking a question, and i'll answer her according to what i think she's asking. And she'll continue to respond. Hahaha...quite funny

cheese
I was comparing nutritinal value of cheeses and I found that parmesan actually is more nutritious than cheddar. It has less sodium, less fat and more protein. Why aren't people using parmesan instead of cheddar?

I am organising a trial lession with Baby Jumper Gym at Bukit Batok which involves flashcards. Max 6 in a class. Details of the little crawlers class , please refer to this link
http://www.bjg.com.sg/programs_crawlers.htm

Currently I have gathered 2 mummies plus me, I have another 3 slots. The centre is offering a discounted fees of $15 each for the trial lesson instead of the usual $20. If at least 4 sign up together, they'll waive off the trial fees & give the group 10% discount on the term fees.

Date: 28 Oct 06 (Sat)
Time : 1 - 2 pm

5)
6)

Please pm me your full name, contact no., baby's name & DOB.

mamachan - oh i am mistaken? i thot i remember reading tat Daren is 8.1cm at ard 6 mths?hahaa..i keep stressing to my hb abt Caleb being short which is not true after all. hehee..

today is my first day in Tokyo. flight wise, Caleb is consider very guai already. he slept most of the time and throughout hotel transfer which makes my life easier. today we just went to some city shopping. so expensive everythg...and guess what...no dept stores in Shinjyuku is selling diapers. we went to takashimaya times sq and some other nearby malls...all no diaper. finally managed to find one at a dept store near Shinjyuku station. Not cheap somemore...a brand by unicharm. maybe need to go somewhere outside city to have more variety and at a cheaper price.

ok...gg to bed soon. not sure if caleb can sleep so early. its an hr ahead of Sgp..but he is fussing already. catch up with you guys again.

SY/mongs,

My mom's taiwanese so we went back for 1 week to visit relatives and show baby his extended family. I think after this trip, I really believe we need to bring baby out and expose him to different environment/stimulations - his learning curve seemed to accelerate, dunno if it is just coincidental, but within these 2 weeks, he starts to know who is who, and recognise a lot more words eg. when we says lights in chinese, he will look up to the ceiling

We did however have a stressful time on the plane. Lucas is super active and cannot sit still for long. To make matters worse, the seats with bassinet on China Airlines have armrests that cannot be 'pushed up'. In the end we decided to change to seats at the tail to have a 'full row' where we can push up the arm rest and give more space for baby to move around.

Which part of Taiwan would you be going? It is baby friendly enough to me cos every restaurant we went had baby seats and utensils etc.

If you have time to go night market, can find cheap baby clothes too! I managed to buy authentic levis t-shirts for S$4. Grabbed a few pieces even though they are for 2 year olds.

SSF,

So fortunate that Caleb can sleep though most of the flight! Lucas very light sleeper and stirred when announcements were made over the system.

Enjoy yourself in Tokyo! I love the place!

Btw, think I still owe you $... haven;t got time to go atm and transfer. So pai seh.

Chicken Little,
I like backpack too. My diaper bag is a back pack too. Purposely buy black so that my hubby won't feel awkward using it.

Queen,
I transfer the money for the ON jeans to u already. Transaction Ref: 882107449. Let me know once u receive the money okie?

sl / Florence / May / Krissie,
Just to let you all know that I have received all your transfer. Thanks.

Denmy,
I have placed orders for the A+D cream in my spree. Seeing how you love the cream, I also ordered 1 for myself to try...

Queen,
Thanks!!! U want me to transfer $$ to you soon or when goods arrive?

Mamapanda
re: Parmesan vs cheddar
Parmesan is very very yummy and expensive, nearly 2-3 times the price of cheddar. I am talking about the ones in blocks (usually called Parmigiano Reggiano), not the processed type which Pizza Hut offers us to sprinkle over our pizzas. We normally use parmesan shavings as toppings on Caesar Salads and pastas and pizzas. It is drier and more crumbly and can taste quite strong eaten on its own, which we dont normally do like the Cheddar. As for Cheddar, it's a very good first cheese to start bb on. Can start with mild cheddar so taste wont be too strong. Buy those in blocks also. Can cut a piece out for bb to hold and self-feed. Can also grate it and stir into milk, butter and flour to make a cheesy white sauce. Or can simply stir in grated cheddar into any cooked veg or pasta dish to make it tastier.

Cindy,
Taiwan is baby-friendlY? How about for strollers? Coz my hubby's colleague who's from Taiwan said there it's not exactly baby-friendly. But then again, she doesn't have a kid so perhaps she doesn't really take note. But in Dec the weather in Taiwan's cold right? i may consider Taiwan if weather is ok + it's baby-friendly.

SSF,
SO fun! Enjoy your trip! Caleb's so guai! Slept thru it all

Chicken Little,
I'm interested in the class, but need to cfm with hb first. Btw hbs allowed to go?
Also, if i eventually don't sign up for the whole course, will there be any 'penalty'? Sorry if it sounds like a silly qns but just want to be sure of what i'm getting myself into! Thanks

Durianlover,

I was in Taiwan (Taipei) in mid Septemberwent with my gf for shopping triprealized that the place was not so bb friendly
I can said that we hardly see the taiwaness bring their kids out..unlike in Singapore.
(Shilin) Night market is so crowded over the weekendit was like CNY in Singapore Chinatown.

So happywe getting our new car in end Oct or early Nov..Got our COE bid

Durianlover,

I feel Japan more bb friendly. In Taiwan only those very Japanese like restaurant are bb friendly. If you are visiting the night markets, too crowded to bring bb.

As for the class, I will check with them if HB allow. They giving me special for $15 instead of $20 because I organise the group myself. The perks is if 4 sign up, will get $15 waived and 10% off term fee. No penalty lah. Let me know lah

Babylon, Clare

What car did you buy? How is the price like? My colt is coming 2 years liao, itchy itchy want to change liao

I'm a walking zombie today...
Last night reached home at 10.40 pm from my MIL's place cos HB had a late project discussion in school. By the time I bathe, wash my pumps, go online to settle some spree stuff, already past 12 midnight. Just when I'm goign to bed, Isaac woke up in his playpen. I sat beside playpen and pat him for like 10 mins. But that naughty boy keep moving about... I got fed up and left the room. The moment I leave, he started to wail. I ignored him and lie on my bed, but my HB cannot taha, went to his room to bring him over. Ok, Isaac proceeded to roll around the bed, and keep crawling to me and put his head on my chest, my tummy, on my face. Whenever I move him away from my body, he cries. Wah... think I struggled to get him to sleep on the bed and not on me for, I dunno at least 30 mins? By the time he fell asleep, I think it's probably close to 2am already. HOW???
My HB is no use cos you know what he did? After a few futile attempts to try to pat Isaac to sleep, he got went to the living room and turend on the TV to watch Champions League soccer!

Re. travelling without Baby
My HB is thinking of taking a shorrt trip to Genting without baby... How to do so if Isaac is so sticky?

Re. Cheese
I bought Mild Cheddar Cheese in block from Cold Storage. It's from Australia, those that is simply packed in a clear plastic casing... No fancy label. Not sure about the salt content though... Think I'll go back and check tonight.

Angie,

We are getting Toyota Viso.most of the time when HB and myself go out together, we ride bike..
No point of getting a bigger car since we already have a family car Toyota wish

I actually like Coltfind it cute but HB dun like it.

Wonder any mummies encounter this.

Damien is getting more and more greedy nowadays..
Whenever or whatever we are eating, he also wants and will join n.

Feel so happy that he starts drinking more milk now.
730am 150 ml of milk mixed with brown rice cereal
830am Mum will share part of her breakfast with him eg mee soup (Damien will take 1/3 of Chinese bowl)
10am 1 Chinese bowl of porridge
2pm 150 ml of milk mixed with brown rice cereal
5pm 1 Chinese bowl of porridge
830pm 150ml of milk mixed with brown rice cereal

In between, we will also gave him bread, biscuit, fruit, etc of whatever we are eating if it is not salty.

Mum was sayingin the past when we eat, the dog will be the first one coming over..but now was Damien.

Babylon,

Your house got so many cars ah. I took colt because of my lousy parking so better take hunchpack. I love my colt though very versatile, imagine we have transport a 29" TV in box and 2 long CD racks before by folding down the back seats.

Aden not very cooperative like yours when it comes to eating. He still prefers milk. When I gave him cereal, he prefers porridge at nanny. These 2 days he does not want porridge and start taking the puree and cereal i prepare. Alamak, I end up eating what i prepare for him

Demny
Thanks For the infor on Cheese!
Never occur to me to buy the cheese in block.
Can we grate the block cheedar cheese and like keep it in tupper ware then serve when needed? or we must grate fresh. cos not sure if the cheese will stick together if we grate in advance
Sorry.. ask silly qns.

so most of the babies like the same commercials. :p

Re:Stomach virus
looks like i kenah the virus again!!! Within a month. same symptoms but slightly milder. argh!

Queen
Could it be that the playpen is too small for Isaac for to toss and turn around. Mel has the habit of tossing and turning in her sleep - can be at one end of the cot this moment and the other corner next. She stayed with my mom when I was away for my company retreat last week, my mom said she woke up in the night cos the playpen was too small for her to flip. My mom put her on the mattress the next day instead and she managed to sleep thru. So maybe u may want to try changing Isaac's bed? Aiay hb are all the same. When Mel didn't want to sleep previously hb got impatient after pat pat her for a while and left her in the playyard. Told me let me play until she's tired she'll sleep....can faintz

babylon
wah, Damien taking in alot of carbo hor? Milk mixed with brown rice cereal? Alot of cereal added to the milk? Good to know that his appetite is back.

Denmy
Thanks for the info on the cheese. I was also thinking like cookie, can we grate the block of cheese then store in the tupperware containers. Think the portion that we not using so soon can freeze 1st right?

queen
I think generally BF bbs are quite sticky. Can empathize with you coz when I was still BFing, Daren was also very sticky, but of course back then he's yet to be so proficient in crawling and also his crying is not so loud. I think Issac just wants you and the smell form you that he's so accustomed to for comfort bah. Hopefully this phase will pass soon for you.

Chicken Little
My Allenhand diaperbag is the bagpack version. I find it very useful and loved it. Got it as a gift from friends. Have been using since Daren's one month old celebration. But mine is the bright orange/red combination.

durianlover
looking for a holiday destination? I think Australia is quite a baby friendly place. Can try to visit Perth =)

Queen
RE: ON Spree
Can I pick up the stuff from you tomorrow evening? I'll collect for Rena as well.

May,
Do you want me to collect the stuff and pass to you @ the scrapbooking class?

Anyone else want me to collect for them?

babylon
I also find Kaelyn more "greedy" these days.
Not that I'm complaining.. she was not keen with food previously.
But last ntie my mil eat Ang Ku Kway.. she crawl all the way and reach out wan to eat.
When I carry her and eat, she will stare at what I'm eating if I offer her she will open her mouth.

But I'm happy she is keen with food now
happy happy.

Babylon,
glad to hear Damien's appetite has increased!

Flo,
Thx, jus went to the doc's. advised to eat only plain porridge and 100plus for next few days. so i'll be sharing porridge with Megan but hers will ve pumpkin, pork, i get PLAIN. sian...

Queen,
Think this is very common. Bb come to mummy for comfort, while daddy to play with.

Manachan,
I am so happy that damiens appetite is back. I think he enjoyed food.

Tracy
Hope you recover soon! Stomach Virus really no joke! As I was reading that you'll be sharing in Megan's porridge, I can't help but giggle a little. Cannot have abit of pumpkin and pork for yourself??

Cookie
That's good news that Kaelyn shows interest in food! Hopefully she'll eat more this time round.

cookie,
did I mention that I will collect the HT items during the scrapbooking session? can't remember if I told you.

##UPDATES## - mummies, I'll be cooking Daren's porridge. Any of you want me to cook your bb's share as well? Please indicate yes or no beside your name.
Tupperware Party 2 @ MamaChan's place @ Redhill, 29th Oct, Sunday. (Limited to 10 families due to space constraint)

Features:
Cooking Demo of simple steam sponge cake or peanut cake.

LIST FULL
1) Rachel + hb + bb -No
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb
3) Chicken Little + hb + bb
4) Rena + hb + bb
5) Tracy + hb + bb -No
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7) God's child + hb + bb
8) Wenyl + bb
9) SH + bb+ HB

Bumper playmats:
1) MamaChan - 1 piece

Refreshments:
1) Polar Puffs - Chicken and Curry Puffs
2) Tiong Bahru Char Siew Pao

Mummies in the list, kindly confirm your attendance and if you would want me to cook your bb's share of porridge for dinner.

I'll provide some light refreshments for you all as well.

##UPDATES## - mummies, I'll be cooking Daren's porridge. Any of you want me to cook your bb's share as well? Please indicate yes or no beside your name.
Tupperware Party 2 @ MamaChan's place @ Redhill, 29th Oct, Sunday. (Limited to 10 families due to space constraint)

Features:

LIST FULL
1) Rachel + hb + bb -No
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb -No
4) Rena + hb + bb
5) Tracy + hb + bb -No
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7) God's child + hb + bb
8) Wenyl + bb
9) SH + bb+ HB

Bumper playmats:
1) MamaChan - 1 piece

Refreshments:

Mummies in the list, kindly confirm your attendance and if you would want me to cook your bb's share of porridge for dinner.

Features:

LIST FULL
1) Rachel + hb + bb -No
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb -No
4) Rena + hb + bb
5) Tracy + hb + bb -No
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7) God's child + hb + bb
8) Wenyl + bb
9) SH + bb+ HB

Bumper playmats:
1) MamaChan - 1 piece

Refreshments:

Features:

LIST FULL
1) Rachel + hb + bb *Coming!, preparing cereal for Dyaln*
2) Sept03Bride + hb + bb
4) Rena + hb + bb
5) Tracy + hb + bb -No
6) celine77 + HB + bb
7) God's child + hb + bb
8) Wenyl + bb
9) SH + bb+ HB

Bumper playmats:
1) MamaChan - 1 piece
2) Rachel - 1 piece

Refreshments:

durianlover,

Me may not be a good gauge as I didn't go as a tourist, went to places that were not crowded and stayed with my relatives too, so no problem with daily amenities. Besides, it was Kaoshiung, not Taipei. I brought my stroller and sling along. Even strapped him on sling and took him on a scooter ride keke...
O, now I remember, we did have a hard time with his bath. He got scared of the inflatable bath tub we brought along and cried each time we try to put him in it to bathe...

re: 1st Birthday Party
Yipee, booked the pool terrace at Aloha Loyang! although could not get my ideal unit but lucky enough to get the second best! =D really went in to book when the clock struck 12am! wow 1 guy even faster than me and grab my ideal unit! *grrr* their chalets are really hot cakes!

Mong
U did inform me here..heehee
I think I also wrote.. I'm tentative on 13 Nov.
In case I cannot make it on 13 Nov.. then got to see how to pass you.
BTW where do you stay?

Queen
Hmm.. I know how tired it is..
Just be careful not to let this become a habit.
I dunno if it's a phase or what.. but since Kaelyn started waking up 2mths ago.. on and off she will wake up in the nite and wanna coem to our bed.

However noticed... when I put her to bed 8plus 9pm.. she tend to wake up in the nite..when I put her to bed 9plus 10 can sleep thru better.

Hope it's just a 1 off thing for issac...

Florence,
Actually, I have brought your items as well as Rena's to my MIL's place already. Can pick up this evening if you like. Let me know?
I think the Isaac has more space in the paypen than when he sleeps between us... sigh.

MamaChan/babylon,
Yah.. maybe BF babies are sticky. But there was a period during 7 or 8 months where he can sleep through in his own playpen. Sigh...
I really think it's because we turned on the air-con too often and rather than using the baby monitor, HB and I brought him to our bed. Maybe he's smarter now, want to sleep with us instead of by himself.

cookie,
Isaac sleeps at 8pm to 9pm and yah, he'll wake up at least once. Sleep later can help? THe thing is Isaac will doze off to dreamland after th 8plus feed. He looks so sleepy... how to drag his bedtime?

cookie,
I stay in admiralty.
ok, we see how if you can't make it on 13 Nov.

cindy,
we are following a tour but the 25 of us are all relatives (extended). we are touring the whole of taiwan from taipei, down to hualian, then back up again. I believe with all the help we have, should be fine. I don't know how to bathe clariss. was hoping that maybe the hotels that we are staying will have bathtubs. if not, then maybe one person will hold and another will bathe her. so you gave jar food? I don't know if I should bring my slow cooker. I think she will end up having the most stuff.

Hi Queen,

I was reading from Babycenter. Babies are sticky now becos they recognise familiar & unfamiliar faces. Maybe, Isaac's going thru a phase. Cephas started on this stickiness abt a month back.

I was the one who brought him back Mon-Fri cos HB had classes. When I reach home & put him down in order to start his bath or do anything, he wld crawl aft me & cry. Put him in the cot for for a while, he wld cry & perspire. By the time I 'rescue' him form his crying bout, he wld look like he just went for a run! Now, I will sit with him to distract him then get up & go do my things. He improved by not crying but will crawl aft me & cling on.

As for sleeping, he used to be able to fall asleep on his own in the cot. Now, we have to let him roll on our bed & then transfer him to his cot when he falls asleep. He wld also get up sometimes in the middle of the nite. I will have to either carry him or put him back down in the cot b4 he falls asleep again.

Can be tiring but I believe it's a phase the babies are going thru

Queen
i find that by dragging the bedtime later might not help in the end. basically, it still goes to the baby bah. it dont works for Dylan, he will still woke up at 7am sharp no matter what time he went to bed. if he sleep later and woke up at 7am, his mood wont be that pretty and do fuss to take his morning nap earlier.

yes, our babies are older now and they are smart to know and demand for it. of coz, the feeling of waking up and can see daddy and mummy is so good and they just want more of it =)

tracy
take care and get well soon!

Queen,

Actually I am putting Damien into very bad habit.
Normally I will rocked in the sarong first..once he fall asleep, I put him back in the cot.
Damien will sleep till 4am..started to make noise..eg pacifier dropped out, too cold
I will try to put pacifier and cover him with blanketpat pat.
if he still fused, I will carried him and sleep with me.

mamachan, rachel,
thanks gals. mamachan, doc reminded me not to play cheat. plain means plain. i jus cooked myself some porridge. was sooo tempted to add salted veg.