(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sy

i tried the method yest. too.. didn't work... haha will try again too..

re: bf

My girl is so cute.. i showed her my breast that day and asked her if she want milk milk.. she just pointed to my nipple and giggled.... she only seeks it out during 8-9pm just before she sleeps.. then she's very sticky.. otherwise.. she just looks at it and laughs... so funny...

Val
Good news for you!

Queen
Hope isaac's hole gets smaller too!

RE: baby insurance..
Next baby.. should plan to buy insurance early straight after baby turns 1 month before PD check. Dun let anyone eg nurses anyhow write on the Baby booklet also. This was the advice from my insurance friends. That way, all the problems that can only be picked up later can be covered.

Re:Sewing Machine
mum told me meg kept laughing when my mum used the sewing machine.
oh, and my mum switched on some christmas songs n megan started clapping and bobbing up and down, 'singing' loudly.

Tabbiesus,
So cute...wats so funny about breasts. hahaha

thanks mums for your concern. Yah i think Caleb will have to learn how to fall down in the 'right way' to cushion his fall.

wow wow wow.. Rachel.. u mus be having a hard co-ordinating the scrapbooking workshop..
I see liao also gong-gong ar heehee

Baby insurance:
i bought the insurance for Caleb when he was about 3 mths. So the booklet was still quite clean, not much trouble.

*sigh* mummies, try to let baby stay indoors more often and to avoid crowded areas ie. shopping centres, clubs etc. Sarah suddenly kena high fever this afternoon - rushed to see GP just now. Turned out to be viral fever whatever that is. Doctor says that there has been and outbreak recently and we should be doubly careful as to where we bring baby. Really sian.... was just telling Rachel how busy looking after Sarah had been lately and now this - really jia lak.... =( I'm super certain that she caught it from the swimming club yesterday. And Im kinda pissed off with my MIL cos I really didnt wanna go with them yesterday but they insisted. Now they say she probably caught it from last saturday's dinner when I brought baby to celebrate my dad's birthday. Super pissed off....

re: Scrapbooking workshop
i really hope everyone can make it for the workshop, so we could get ourselve started on doing up the ablum for our little darlings...

since some mummies could not make it on the 13Nov (monday), will try to arrange for one on 25Nov (saturday). will check with MLW on the slot when im confirm of the number of mummies attending...

What: SCRAPBOOKING -- Getting Started with our BABIES!!
Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura, Unit03-21

**Workshop #1**
Dates: 13 Nov 2006
Time : 10:30am - 1:30pm (3hrs)
Cost: $35 (inclusive of all materials except adhesive tape)

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena
4. Denmy
5. Cookie
6. Mongs
7. Sy
8. Rachel
9. Flo
10. SH ?
11. sleepingdeer
12. May ?
13. Tracy

**Workshop #2** (under pending)
Dates: 25 Nov 2006
Time : 2:30pm - 5:30pm (3hrs)

1. wenyl ?
2. Tabby's mom
3. sunny ?
4. Chicken Little ?

Do advise me on your attendance. not to forget, mummies, PM me your name and contact number! meanwhile, we need to make payment before 22 Oct, will indicate my bank account no. via email once i recieve your PM. thanks!

Tabbie
your girl's reaction really makes me laugh. yah, whats so funny about breasts. =p

rachel
thanks for trying so hard to organise.
25 nov sounds good to me.... but i need to check with hb when he's coming back from reservist so that he can stay at home to take care of my gal. he's going australia for 3 wk reservist!

if it's confirmed a weekday, you gals go ahead without me, (i think i better give you reply now lah to minimise your planning hassle.)

tabbi
your gal so cute! haha....
for my gal, when i show her my breast, she will crawl towards and start suckling, if it's time for feeding.... if not, she just ignores.

queen
hope isaac's hold closed up.

rachel
13th nov wd be better for me.

sandra
hope sarah is feeling better...it is always quite irritating to hear comments that dun help....

tabby
JH also like that. he will look at my nipple and pick it up and play with it. always have a funny look when he does that...

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena
4. Denmy
5. Cookie
6. Mongs
7. Sy
8. Rachel
9. Flo
10. SH (13th Nov ok)
11. sleepingdeer
12. May ?
13. Tracy

1. wenyl ?
2. Tabby's mom
3. sunny ?
4. Chicken Little ?

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena
4. Denmy
5. Cookie
6. Mongs
7. Sy
8. Rachel
9. Flo
10. SH (13th Nov ok)
11. sleepingdeer
12. May ?
13. Tracy-OK

1. wenyl ?
2. Tabby's mom
3. sunny ?
4. Chicken Little ?

queen, I believe Issac's hole will reduce over time. Got so many mummies here to pray for him! All the insurance companies don't even want our business, keep saying delay it till the next checkup, which was Tue. Haha, then we got the Ideal Plan from NTUC income, not getting anymore life insurance plan liao. See lah, they don't want our business, now we also don't want theirs too.

Sandra Chu
oh dear.. hope Sarah will be clear from fever real soon. you take care too. understand you are worn out while taking care of little Sarah.

Val/Queen
Yes, over time their holes will be gone. Great job done mummies, for taking such good care of them =)

sunny
dont mention it, it what i can do to help.

i really hope everyone can make it for the workshop, so we could get ourselve started on doing up the ablum for our little darlings...

since some mummies could not make it on the 13Nov (monday), will try to arrange for one on 25Nov (saturday). will check with MLW on the slot when im confirm of the number of mummies attending...

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie
6. Mongs
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer
12. May ?
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little

1. wenyl ?
2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

Do advise me on your attendance. not to forget, mummies, PM me your name and contact number! meanwhile, we need to make payment before 22 Oct, will indicate my bank account no. via email once i recieve your PM. thanks!

Here's the latest info i got from MWL:

- many thanks to Sandra Chu, they gonna throw in a little extra for us on the day of the workshop.
- will provide a very strong loyalthy program, so we will definitely enjoy future discounts.
- need to submit a list of mummies attending, so can prepare the number of lesson packs for us.

RE - HT BP

Ok, mummies...sorry for the delay. I just called Nature Glory and their goods just arrived! they will be sending to me on saturday morning and i will sort it out and maybe pass to one of the mummies staying in the east? Cookie can I pass to you and let the mummies collect from you? Or any other mummies? If not I am afraid u will have to wait till i returned from Japan on 27th Oct. I am fine to pass you thereafter at CCK. let me know.

wenyl- i have ask them to add 3 barley but he said its a very very hot products...many ppl are waiting for that. so he will try his best to squeeze in 3 barley. but no guarantee.

phew! have been so busy lately with my backing up of data at office..clearing here and there. be doing my exit interview next monday and also been involve in surveys and this HT BP is alos giving me headache. so very very busy..haha sounds irony..kena retrench and still very busy. haha..

Need your advice. I got my giant Aden at 11 kg, was thinking of getting him a more comfy stroller apart from the current combi and aprica which we own.

To buy peg perego lite at 345 or go for JL sale tomorrow for Maclaren Techno classic 2005 model at $149. Once I get your advise, gather my thots , if going for maclaren i have to chiong in the morning tomorrow

chicken_little - i think both of them are equally heavy duty. haha. i have a peg pegro..i bought at $450 from hypermart. my feedback for peg pegro is that it is very stable and comfy for baby but heavy. mine weighs like 7kg. not sure abt mac claren...but i know many mummies are using mac claren like mamachan and tabby. you can check with them. but having looking at both, i think mac claren will not lose out too much in terms of stability..so for me, i will get the cheaper one. hee..

valerie- Praise GOD!!! Your prayers have been answered. I am soo happy for you. As a parent, we will always wish the best for our precious ones

sleepingdeer-oh so shannon actually wailed during take off. mine will come next tues and i will know if mine does the same too. hee...ya Australians are normally more friendly and understanding. i will take SQ and will know..those mummies who are still undecided to take SQ or Qantas..wait for my feedback ya when i return. hehee.

and abt insurance, i bought for Caleb and myself (my hb already covered by his co) from ntuc and paid $35 for the classic plan for 9 days. there is about 15% discount so very reasonable.

Re: Perth
Sunny, I was there in April last year, was quite cooling to me as it is coming end Autumn. Night time can get really cold. Afternoons can feel the warm sun on our shoulders but not hot enough to sweat buckets like in Singapore. =) So I thought it would be a nice time to bring Daren there.

Tracy,
I've been down to Albany, really lovely town. We stayed there for 2 nights in a rented home, the enitre house setting is as if we're staying in Ikea showroom! heh heh. For me, if I go to Perth, I save on accomodations and some meals coz my favourite uncle and family are staying there!

Durianlover
Embarrassingly to say, when I was younger, I had the pacifier till I was 4 years old! My mom's method of weaning me off the pacifier was to burn the rubber teat. And when I asked for it, she'll give me that and I would reject coz of the smell and look of the pacifier. After 2 days, I stopped wanting the pacifier liaoz. So You might considering trying that method. heee hee

Chicken Little
My stroller is a Maclaren, quite stable and not too bad. Down side is that it is quite heavy, about 7.5kg but really stable lor. Think can last Daren till when he turns 2 or maybe even 3 years old. Think you should chiong for the Maclaren Sale. $149 is a good price.

Rachel
I need to check in office tomorrow if I have any field trip on 13th Nov. Will update you via sms? I'll be out for field trip again tomorrow during office hours.

tabbiesus
Your gal is so funny. Haha, I really wonder what's so funny about breasts? I showed Daren mine the other day while changing, he looked fascinated with them but didn't attempt to suckle or anything. Am wondering if he had forgotten that he once nursed from them. But it's funny how he raised his hand to try to touch them. heh heh

Hi Rachel,
you have my number liao? Anyway, I Pm you again....

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie
6. Mongs
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May ?
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little

1. wenyl ?
2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

Re: teething
finally, after waiting for Shannon's teeth to come, today I spotted two little grayish white spots on her lower gums, she's no longer bogay! Haha.. probably that's why she was so whiney and sticky during the trip, and her silly parents neve noticed until now..

so busy lately that I rarely had time to read. So many postings! I only scan through.

re: tbf
I am still tbfing. My initial target is 6 mths. Now, not sure when to stop. But now I only pump twice a day at work. Can get about 400 - 600ml in total. More than enough for what she needs.

tracy,
read the good news. Will pray for you that Megan's hole is closed totally. And queen for Issac's too.

re: scrapbooking.
For mummies interested in scrapbooking. If you intend to preserve the book/photos for long, long time to come, the materials must be pH-neutral, not only acid-free. Also, if you intend to use glue, tapes, must make sure that it's water-soluable. Must never, never use scrotch taep cos it will impose unnnecessary pressure on the photos. I think to stick the photos now, the best is to use homemade glue cos it's water soluable, anytime you want to remove the photo, you can just dissolve it. I guess, the general guideline for longtime preservation is that everything that you do must be reversible.

Hi chicken little,
yup, Shannon loves the vanilla custard pudding too, so I bought a box back for her. Fruit Salad yogurt is one of her favourite, as is beef, sweet potato, and pumpkin. Oh, I tried so many varities that I can't remember what I bought..

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May ?
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little

1. wenyl ?
2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

sl, it's not Tracy's Megan that has a hole in her heart *touchwood*. It's my Kirsten lah... hoho... But thanks, all mummies again! So glad to share good news with you all. Hope Queen will have good news soon too!

sleepingdeer, tracy, wah, the tax so ex ah? But a $4k trip for 2.5 persons for 11 days sounds quite alright. can propose to hb, but prob have to wait till bonus.

Sandra Chu,
My gal just recovered from a bout of viral fever, now her whole body n face is covered with rash that marks the end of the fever period. Looks really gross! All the best taking care of ur baby...it's really xiong esp when they get high fever! Hv to monitor and sponge them constantly to make sure fever doesn't go too high.
Actually i hv no idea how she caught the viral fever, honestly. It just happened very suddenly.

Queen,
Haha burning the tip of pacifier? Hmm ok maybe i shall do that when Janelle turns one. Now she's v dependent on pacifier to go to sleep...and honestly it makes my job so much easier. Just hv to give her pacifier n she'll sleep on her own. So i'll "enjoy" this period first before weaning her off!

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare - Ok
2. MamaChan
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May ?
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little

1. wenyl ?
2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

From Rachel :

Just to share our excitment, HB & I just collected our car this evening! By the time we finished with the paperwork n "orientation" and ready to go off, it was dark (7pm+) and pouring!! Imagine both me & HB blind bats + first time car owners so was abit stressed... HB drove while I be his "checker"... checking left/right/front/back; giving instructions to turn left/right and reminding him to keep left/right, signal, red light in front, etc etc... hahaha.... We made it safely from Bukit Timah back to Toa Payoh my mum place where we are placing Ashley overnight. Most importantly we wanted Ashley to be the FIRST to sit in our new car... =) But parking was the main problem... To avoid embarrasment, we decided to skip the ground floor and went up the multistory car park level 2. Was about to park when a lorry came behind us and we immediately gave up n went up to level 3 instead... Lots of empty slot but not to waste time, didn't really atttempt to reverse park n park head first instead (ours was the only car park that way) haha... Brought Ashley n my mum down and took picture of Ashley with the car (for my scrapbooking of course!! The car was meant for her right in the first place) I did not try driving yet cos wanted HB to be more familiar with the car first (also i prefer to relax lah hee hee) but I did try parking when we're back home. Am very proud to say that I managed to reverse park in 1 ATTEMPT!! HAHAHA.... (HB next to me now say i Ya Ya Papaya.. who cares??!) =P Anyway tomorrow night am putting Ashley with Mum again so we can go practice (esp parking) so Sat can bring her to friend's wedding in the afternoon. Oh we are going Robinsons to buy the car seat after work tomorrow n we're still contemplating whether I should go straight buy n take a cab home or we should drive down to Orchard Road cos Fri night we can imagine the traffic would be BAD n we might freak out...hahaha

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May ?
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little

1. wenyl - ok (If sat class cancel, will go for 13 nov)
2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

Opps.. just realised I so cheong hei... anyway just to share something re carpark coupons:

HB & I went to NTUC to buy our first car park coupons... being our FIRST TIME, we didn't even know what is the denomination that the coupons come in! Sales girl told us got $0.50, $1 & $2. So i asked her innocently "so do u sell per sheet or per booklet?" HB later laughed at me saying I so silly where got people sell 1 sheet $0.50 coupon one... But i insisted why not?? Cos sometime people may forget to bring out n just need 1 leh???? Am i right?? or is that a really Silly question to ask??
kao_confused.gif

Sandra,
High chance Sarah got it at the swimming club cos u mentioned she kanna fever on the very next day right? Ur inlaws are probably trying to push away the blame. Dun tink the virus will hide in the body & surface after 5 days. Ethan just recovered from viral fever on mon. He got it on fri after I brought him down to the playground the day before.

Clare,
The parking coupons are sold in booklets. Normally, we will buy in $0.50 denominations.
Did u manage to get the carseat for Ashley?

Ashley's First Fall
Sigh... after reading so much about babies falling from bed, Mum told me today Ashley also fell. Ashley was sleeping on mum's bed ard 4pm+ when mum went to cook porriage and suddenly she heard AShley crying. Mum said the cry didn't sound particularly loud but when she went to take a look she found AShley lying on the floor facing up. Mum said Ashley cried for a short while only and was back to normal. I'm thankful my mum told me and that I know mum prayed for Ashley immediately but I still can't help feeling sad when hearing about it. When we went to see her just now she looked absolutelly fine and happy as usual so I thank God for his healing and protection.

Wenyl,
I called Aprisin and indeed the lady quoted me a much better price than Robinson's sale. But sadly after a check she told me got no more stock until end of the month. But we want Ashley to learn to sit in the car seat from day one so no choice we will be buying from Robinson's instead. Thanks for the no.

Btw anyone knows if Robinson's having 20% sale soon?? Cos somehow I got the feeling I buy tomorrow at Amex promo 15% off then next day Robinson start own sale at 20%... that would be so bang... hahaa

Clare,
Hahaha your account of driving the new car and buying coupons is really funny! Congrats on ur new car! Well, carparking coupons come in booklets and they don't come in singles.
The driving in Orchard Rd is pretty bad and can be quite stressful for new drivers...unless u all go early in the morning to avoid the crowds! Also, sometimes they do free delivery for purchase of baby carseat so u dun need to worry abt transporting it back home. But then, it wld mean a delay in getting ur carseat.

Clare

Jiao you for ur driving... i have been driving for so long liao that i take it for granted sometimes...

I think first time driving in Orchard on friday nite esp around robinson/ centerpoint area can be quite stressful! not a good idea!

i think there was a private sale a few weeks back for robinson.. dunno if they are having another one soon...

Rachel
Thanks for arranging the scrapbooking!

oppps.... sorry, tracy, I read too fast... touch wood. valerie, am indeed very happy for you.

clare,
your account is very funny. congrats on the new car! wrt car seats, the last time I asked robinson, they don't do installation for you. You need to install yourself. Me and hubby being lazy pple, bought our car seat at baby hypermart where they do installation for us.

queen,

need some advice from you. I tried to buy some stuff from a US website. I have already alerted my credit card bank to add in my vpost usa addy but still my card is delected as a non-us issued credit card. Can advise on how to get round this problem? thks!

wendy,

Just sent you the recipes. Pls check your mail. Any other mummies want the Annabel Karmel's Top 100 Baby Purees recipes?

Sorry for the late reply.. very busy lately.

**Workshop #1**

1. Clare
2. MamaChan
3. Rena -Ok
4. Denmy -Ok
5. Cookie
6. Mongs -Ok
7. Sy -Ok
8. Rachel -Ok
9. Flo -Ok
10. SH -Ok
11. sleepingdeer - OK
12. May - Ok
13. Tracy -Ok
14. Chicken Little

1. wenyl - ok (If sat class cancel, will go for 13 nov)
2. Tabby's mom -Ok
3. sunny -Ok

Rachel,
PM u my contact already.

Rena,
Thanks for reminding me last night. I fell asleep with laptop on my lap. Very tired.

RE: Work
I have resigned from my work. Very tired working in a logistics company. Thought of finding something less stressful so that I can have more time with Jamie. I am looking forward for the class and probably looking for job in dec or jan.

RE: BKK Holiday
My hubby intend to go BKK with me this coming long weekend..not yet book hopefully not too late. But he say dun bring Jamie along. But I will surely miss her. Will 3D2N be enough? Or we have to go 4D3N? Actually I am also going there to source for clothing..tot of starting an online baby clothing business with a friend. Then I can look for a lower pay less stressful job for the day.

Now in dilemma:
1) Go BKK to source and holiday
or
2) Stay here with Jamie

Mummies, can help?

May,
Great to hear that you have plans in the pipeline even though you have resigned! Online baby clothing business sounds great!

Re. BKK
I just returned from BKK with HB & Isaac. We stayed there 3N3D, Friday evening flight and returned on Monday evening flight. 3D2N a bit rushed lah...
I have no regrets bringing Isaac, though it was tiring having to sling him and shop most of the time. Maybe cos he's sticky to me and I to him. I still cannot bear to leave him behind...
But if you decide to bring Jamie, do not save on hotel, find a good service apartment if posible so that you can make use of the kitchenette facilities to cook for her if you want. Good service apartments are places like Somerset & Ascott.

Clarye,
your account of driving is so funny, but can understand your excitement...
I remember that I avoided Orchard Road totally when I first got my car and started driving after a 5 year break... it is very nervewrecking where taxis stop and jam up half the roads, and buses and people crossing, so unless you intend to stay in the centre lane ALLLLL the way and dun turn left or right (which is impossible if you wanna shop at the shops there...haha..), maybe take a cab better...

May,
Is your hubby very handy with Jamie? As in he takes over from you and take cares of her often or he blur blur? If he is very handy with Jamie, then would be ok if you bring her along... cos you probably need alot of time to shop and source for clothing, so probably your hubby will have to become the pt-time maid to take care of jamie and carry while you are there... if he is not the kind, then maybe best to leave Jamie in SG... I think if you wanna source for cheap clothing, you would probably go to those wholesale markets right? Not a ideal place to bring stroller and it can get very crowded and hot too, so I wouldn't bring if my aim is to source for clothing...

Clare,
Congrats on getting your car! Can really feel your excitemnt.
Yah lah... a bit funny that you asked whether parking coupon can buy in per sheet basis. Only when you are run out of coupons but need to put one, you can buy 1 sheet from any other friendly drivers who are in the carpark at the same time. Else anywhere else, it's sold in booklets. I find buying the 50 cents one more practical lah. Driving in Orchard Road during peak hours is a nightmare to inexperienced drivers... I even have had the good fortune of my car breaking down at the traffic light in front Meridien Hotel before. STRESSED!!! But then again, eventually no venture no gain lah, if don't try, will never get over the phobia right? So I think as long as you are careful, should be no problem driving through Orchard Road, peak hour or not...

Clare,
congrats on your new car! Practice makes perfect. But i'll avoid Orchard Rd for now. Even for experienced drivers like my hb, Orchard Rd can be a frustrating drive. Now that my hb is away, i've been driving to n from my mum's place to office. Twice, I need help from my male colleagues to park my car in the office cos of the many cars and tiny space. quite like parallel parking :p So practice, practice, practice.

May,
hmm...if u r doing serious shopping for business, best to leave baby back in S'pore cos the wholesale mkts in BKK can be pretty crowded. Unless ur hb is willing to be alone with Jamie in the hotel or other shopping ctrs while u go mkt. Personally, 3Days is never enuf for me in BKK!

Hi Rachel/ Sandrachu

Is it ok if one of my friends wants to join the scrapbooking class on 25November? Can we get to join the loyalty programme also? Will the class carry on if there's so few of us?

Hi Sl,

Can email the recipes to me at [email protected]? Thanks!

Hi mommies of baby girls,

I can;t help but notice megan's nipples is inverted..... wonder if there's a need of concern at this stage.....???