(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

still zonked out by the trip and didn't log on yesterday...

SH,
the weather in Perth now is about 27 average, but sun is quite glaring... gets chilly when the wind blows though. I think the temperature will go up by the time Oct/ Nov comes, so will be very hot. Bring sunblock for bb if you going...

SY,
Yup, I cooked porridge when I was there for Shannon, but for convenience sake, also gave her lots of baby jar food. I bought vanilla custard powder there, quite good, so didn't get cereal for her. The varities of Heinz baby food there are staggering, tried pumpkin, beef, and sweet potato, fruit salad yougurt dessert, chicken and sweetcorn... too many types.

Malls are also very baby friendly, I think every mall I went to had parents room, with breastfeeding facilites, I even found a BFing room in a quiet street park, can you imagine that?

Prams wise, I took quantas, but i think service is the same. You can bring it into the departure hall, but have to leave it with the service crew once you board the plane. When we landed in Perth, the service crew there arranged for a stroller from the plane to immigration, so that was nice... the air steward on board the plane said that he will try his best to arrange, but the strollers kept getting stolen coz they are so handy... and it was so true! I was so tempted to take one with me, haha! Super lightweight, if I didn't bring my pram along, I sure steal one!

Our prams will appear on the carousal together with the lugguage. I think they dun throw it like the rest of the baggage, so should be okie... my pram was handcarried to the carousal when we came back to Changi..

Durianlover,
yup Shannon the Grouch was back in full force!

sleepingdeer,
reading your account of the Perth trip makes me wanna go sooooo much! did u stay only in Perth or u moved around to Fremantle, Albany etc?

SH,
my mgr who is a regular to Perth says that December got lots of sand flies. Quite unpleasant especially for farmstays.

Val,
congrats! You must feeling sso relieved! Really glad that Kirsten's hole is smaller...

Chillies,
your mum sound like she super moody, hope things are better now? Hang in there....

Tracy,
yippee! Megan finally using the Magmag you bought! Haha, Shannon is just opposite now, she used to love her Magmag and water... could drink about 300ml of water and juice each day, but ever since she went to Perth, she start boycotting water! So now, she hates her Magmag to a vengenance! Kicks it away! I am trying all ways to make her drink, now, last resort, water her cereal and porridge down, and spoon her soups!

Valerie,

So happy for you about your gal's condition. Last time my older gal, Charmaine has heart problem too but it got closed up within 6 months. Bought her ins at normal premium too.

Tracy
I will just take the weight from the same clinic because diff clinic the weight always differ. Otherwise using your own weighing machine at home, weight of u and baby minus your weight

My menses was ok after 1st pregnancy but this time I oso gets migraine before it starts and super duber bad mood

Sleepingdeer,

Care to share what are the nice baby food available in perth. Will ask my sis to buy for me and send over. Ha ha Aden loves the Heinz Organic Vanilla Pudding , never been so easy feeding him before

SY,
Heehee, my Isaac also bit and pinched my nipple. I'll pull him out and say 'No-No' sternly. Initially, he thinks I'm playing with him, but now I think he kind of gets it... He'll cry when I raised my voice.

Re. co-sleeping
Isaac has been able to sleep in his playpen in his own room since 2nd month. And from 6th month onwards, he's able to sleep through in his own room from 8.30pm to about 4am or 5am. But for the past 2 weeks or so, he will wake up after 3 hours or so and pull himself up to stand in his playpen and cry. I'll try patting him back to sleep, and he'll pretend to be asleep. Once he sees me leave the room, he'll start crying again. My HB will then bring him to our bed and immediately, he'll fall back to sleep. Jialat... I think it's because in August/Sep period, the weather was hot and me and HB have been sleeping with air-con on. We'll bring Isaac to sleep with us cos don't want to turn on air-con in his room. Isaac has probably gotten used to co-sleeping already... Last night I used Valerie's method, tried to brainwash him, but didn't work leh. He woke up at 12+ am, I stuffed his chut chut into his mouth and pat him for a while and left the room. 5 mins later, he started bawling, I refused to return to his room, but my Hb went to pick him up and bring him to our bed. Sigh, he slept immediately. How???

Sep03 bride,
oh dear, is Caleb okies now? But Cookie is right, babies this age heal very fast, Shannon had a nasty bloody scratch on her nose on Sunday, and by tuesday it was gone.

Tracy,
yup, I miss it already, haha... keep asking my hubby to migrate! We went down south for 4 days to busselton and Bunbury.... stayed at a 4 bedroom beachside house with wood stove heater... so charming!

Scrapbooking Class
Yes, 17th Novemebr would be good for me too.

Chicken_Little
I know what you mean bout baby self-help for the breast. That's also part of the reasons why I thought to stop BF until 6 months, though there are times when I regretted whenever Daren falls sick. I've seen how my 2nd Auntie's kids, especially the older one, demanded and screamed the house down when they decided to stop giving in to her at 3 years of age. When the 2nd one was born and my aunt BF, the older one would get jealous and demand to feed on the other side. It's really the comfort thing. For me, I don't think I would be able to handle a demanding toddler, so just had to cut away after 6 months.

Sept03Bride
Oh dear, Caleb cut his lips? *sayang sayang also* I'm pretty sure he will learn how to cushion his fall too. I know when Daren falls down unexpectedly when he loses balance while standing, the knock wouldn't be too hard as he learnt a way to roll unto the floor, thus breaking his fall. But of course he would cry to be comforted...I always like to think that he's crying coz his "ego" got bruised. haha

god's child
Could celeste be teething thus the lost of appetite??

Hi Queen,
Yup, Shannon has been waking up nights like 2am or 3am since coming back. When we were in Perth, we had no choice but to let her sleep with us (first time somemore!) coz really too shacked... now that we are back, I just put her in her cot, and sit by the side, so that she can see me, sometimes, takes up to 1 hour just for her to really fall asleep, so I just sit there and doze loh... give her pacificer, and her smelly teddy bear, and just wait and wait...

queen
Seems like Isaac could be having sleep seperation anxiety. I was just reading through this child care book on the chapter 6 - 12 months. It talks about seperation anxiety including at bed time. At this age now, if really want our bbs to sleep thru, the author suggested that have to be really heng-xin, that is if you and your hb can take it, and just leave bb in his room through the night. Coz if after 1 hour of crying and mummy or daddy appears in the room, bb would know that his endurance pays off... sounds quite extreme, but i guess have to use the controlled crying method.

valerie
Thank God for the good news! I'm sure Kirsten's hold in the heart would totally be gone and she'll indeed have a normal heart.

Tracy/sleepingdeer
I'm planning to go to Perth next year during April/May period. Cooling and nice. Though it might be cold, I already have some thick wooly rompers for Daren which krissie helped me get the last time round at the carter's office sale. heh heh. Albany is a lovely place, but can get quite boring after awhile. I enjoy the drive down South though.

Oh, just to share good news about Daren. He's now cutting 3 teeth at one time! His 2 upper central incisors and bottom left central incisor! I was quite surprised coz his appetite is still the same except that he got more whiny and more mang zhang, but other than that, he still loves his milk and porridge.

sleepingdeer, perth sounds like a nice family vacation place. maybe can suggest to hb. how much approximately did you spend in total har? We used to go for backpacking so everything is budget but now with baby, cannot do that, so wondering how much should we expect to spend...

Thanks, mummies! It's really a huge relief. Like I told sleepingdeer and rena, hb and I have been praying for this everyday. Thank God!

Queen, the method won't work immediately. Have to repeat it everyday for ~2 weeks. Maybe keep trying to see if Issac gets better?

Valerie,
That's fantastic news! My Isaac is due to a checkup for the hole in his heart next month. His hole is bigger, about 6mm. Hopefully, his hole will close as well. Yah, no insurance company wants to cover for Isaac as well, unless I want to buy one that has an exclusion clause for his heart condition.

sleepingdeer,
busselton is cold..brrr. Loved Bunbury too. quiet town.

mamachan,
hahahahaha. i'm jus looking at the flight prices for April 5th-9th (good friday hol)! But the airport tax can kill man! I checked 2adults + 1child for Qantas is S$1982. SQ is S$1987 or S$2125 depending on the SIN-PER flight timing you choose. air ticket can be $400 and aalmot S$300 for airport tax! ridiculous!

I selected child instead of infant price cos by that time, meg can't fit into the bassinet liao. she prob needs a seat on her own tho child price starts from 2YO lah.

i tot for first-timers like my hb, good to bring to Albany for one night to see The Gap, Natural Bridge etc. good view. March is whale season so April may still catch a whale passing by. We spotted a whale when my company was there in May.

sleepingdeer,
I tried patting him to sleep, sit beside his cot, pat and pat for 20 mins, he looks like he's sleeping but once I get up to leave the room, he'll wake and cry. Cannot pat so long cos need my sleep too, if not sure zombie at work. So HB say just bring him to our bed.

MamaChan,
My Isaac only just starting to have his 2nd lower incisor cutting through. I wonder whether he's he waking at night and refusal to sleep on his own is due to teething... but doesn't seem like it.

Re. Travel insurance
I think it's good to buy travel insurance when travel with baby. At least cover for yourself and baby. Cos when I was in Bangkok, Isaac fell from the bed (quite high, I think more than 0.5 metres) and landed on the left side of his face on the carpet. He was crying and crying and the left side of the face appeared very red and bruised. HB called up the hotel duty manager and he told us that he could get a doctor in at about USD 40! And asked whether we have travel insurance to cover the bills... As asked whether there are nearby clinics, but the manager said not likely to be opened and he wouldn't recommend the public hospitals there. So in the end, we decided to wait and see. Thank goodness the next morning, the redness have susided and there was no bruising, only some bad skin abrasions resulted from rubbing his face onto the rough carpet where he landed.

chicken_little and mamachan,
talk about comfort suck. my colleague's 4 year old son is still comfort sucking at some nights. but I think it's because the mother can't let go. I know my girl is also comfort sucking to go to sleep but when I talk to lactation consultant and read books on weaning, they will recommend to cont latching on till the kid is ready to drop by herself or himself. I guess a lot has to do with parents teaching the kids. my colleague's son knows that he can't have the breast when he is outside and they have a special term for the breast. it's kind of heart warming to share a secret with your kid. I am also at a loss at when to stop.

queen,
I was thinking that it's maybe due to teething. some babies maybe cranky and non secure during teething. they may want to be carried all the time. clariss was like that when she was cutting her incisors. now she is still like that because she is cutting her upper centre incisors.

valerie,
that's good news. my younger sister has problem with her valve which is a more tricky prob. eventually they have to change it when she was around 19 but she is fine now.

queen,
ya, insurance is like that. my sister insurance is so much more expensive because of her prob but somehow it's better to get cover so my parents still buy a little for her and she bought some herself.

Tracy, Mamachan, Val,
yup, the flight prices can kill.... we paid about $1700++ for all 3 of us, and it was promotion somemore, $398 for Perth, and that was w/o taxes... though now that we've done it, I would say try SQ, I found Qantas service so-so only, and though timing were better, it didn't seems to make much of difference coz Shannon just WAILED like crazy when we were taking off... my face was super hot and red! Thanks goodness she fell asleep immediately after takeoff... the elderly Australians on board rthe flight were very nice though, they were playing peekaboo with her, and commented that she was a good baby overall. I think you may get more nasty Singaporeans on SQ flights, so it is a trade off!

Val,
I think we spent about 4K for 11 days? Airfare, shopping (bought clothes for all 3 of us, coz Aussies's the only place we can buy our sizes easily, haha!), Accomodation, car rental, food. If you get a service apartment, and they are quite reasonable, you can cook, and so not much on food expenses.

Mamachan,
many thanks to Esther, we had a lot of clothing for Shannon, and we were glad we bought them, though the weather says 27, it's nothing like the 27 we know in SG! It was cold! Brrrr! So if you going in April, better stock up on warm clothing... Shannon got a bad cold on the 2nd day even though she was warmly covered up.

Queen,
I agree with the travel insurance. My hubby bought it for us, so when I got food posioning upon returning to Perth, it was no worry for us to just make a appt to see a doc.

What: SCRAPBOOKING -- Getting Started with our BABIES!!
Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura, Unit03-21
Dates: TBC--- Sandra Chu pls help get the available dates from your friend. Thks!!
Time : TBC (3hrs)
Cost: $35 (inclusive of all materials except adhesive tape)

1. Clare (Weekday)
2. MamaChan (Weekday) 17Nov
3. Rena (Weekday / Weekend)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday, 15-17Nov & 21-22Nov unable)
7. Mongs (weekday/weekend, away from 19-26 Nov) 17Nov
8. Sy (weekday, away from 3rd - 9th Nov) 17Nov
9. Rachel (Weekday) 17Nov
10. Flo (Weekday) 17Nov
11. SH (weekday)
12. Chicken Little (Weekday, need a date in advance to arrange both kids with nanny)
13. Tabby's mom (Weekday)
14. sunny (Weekend)
15. ky (Weekday morning, afternoon have to bring older son along, can?)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday) 17 Nov

Pls advise on the dates you are avaible. Sandra Chu needs us to give her dates by 17oct. hopefully we could settle for a few possible dates that could accomdates everyone in very soon.

from the schedule some mummies had highlighted, think we left with the dates from 13 -17Nov? 10:30am to 1:30pm? pls advise soon. thanks.

RE: crab feast

Time : 7pm
Place: toh tuck ( celine77 house)

Date : 4th nov 2006

1) rena + hb + bb

Each couple will buy differed types of crab from differnt places that we like best

Sept03Bride,
Oh no bleeding at the lips? Must be painful! Poor Caleb.

Valerie,
Glad to hear Kirsten's hole is closing! Great! U must be sooo happy

Usually when i bring baby to different PD, her weight measurement varies by about 0.2kg, but not so much as 0.6kg! Hmm i also dunno.

sleepingdeer,
Sigh, i really feel like going Perth now!! Am on tight budget but would love to go Aussie for holiday in Dec. But ex.
So gotta look for alternative places!

Queen,
Actually there was a period of time we would bring Janelle to co-sleep with us when she wakes up crying in the middle of the nite, and she definitely sleeps much better with us. But it's just a phase. Now she's ok on her own through the nite. So perhaps just hope it's a phase that Isaac's going thru?

RE: weaning off pacifier
Hmm putting bitter/sour stuff on pacifier is a bit tough for me to do leh...i can't bring myself to do that!

Tracy,
My mum is also not as good as my MIL in handling babies! In fact, i think i kind of trust my MIL better to take care of Janelle.

Re: Appetite
My gal's appetite is also decreasing. She used to chomp up her food and demand for us to feed her faster if we're too slow! Now it's the opposite - she will take her own sweet time to eat, look ard, get distracted, etc, and she hardly finishes her food nowadays. Sigh.

Dates & names indicated below shows those who are NOT available. I suggest its either we do it on 13 Nov(MON) or we split into 2 groups on 10 & 17 Nov. Suggestions??

Scrapbooking Calendar

<table border=1><tr><td>November </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Mon</TD><TD>Tues</TD><TD>Wed</TD><TD>Thur</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>Sat </TD></TR><TR><TD>29-Oct</TD><TD>30-Oct</TD><TD>31-Oct</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>3 - SY</TD><TD>4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5 - SY</TD><TD>6 - SY</TD><TD>7 - SY</TD><TD>8 - SY</TD><TD>9 - SY</TD><TD>10 - Clare</TD><TD>11 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>15 - Cookie</TD><TD>16 - Cookie</TD><TD>17 - Cookie</TD><TD>18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19 - Mongs</TD><TD>20 - Mongs</TD><TD>21 - Cookie / Mongs</TD><TD>22 - Cookie / Mongs</TD><TD>23 - Mongs</TD><TD>24 - Mongs / Clare</TD><TD>25 - Mongs </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>30</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Dates: TBC--- Sandra Chu pls help get the available dates from your friend. Thks!!

1. Clare (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday, 15-17Nov &amp; 21-22Nov unable)
10. Flo (Weekday) 17Nov
11. SH (weekday)
12. Chicken Little (Weekday, need a date in advance to arrange both kids with nanny)
14. sunny (Weekend)
15. ky (Weekday morning, afternoon have to bring older son along, can?)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday) 17 Nov

I'm withdrawing from this. Timing doesn't suit me at all as I need to fetch my kid at noon time. Also, I must bring him on weekdays ... no choice being the main caregiver. I'm actually motivated by a friend who's recently started but have done some very very nice works, just that the effort she put in is a lot ...

.ky.

--------------------

1. Clare (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
10. Flo (Weekday) 17Nov
11. SH (weekday)
14. sunny (Weekend)
15. sleepingdeer
16. May
17. Tracy (Weekday) 17 Nov

Pls advise on the dates you are avaible. Sandra Chu needs us to give her dates by 17oct. hopefully we could settle for a few possible dates that could accomdates everyone in very soon.

from the schedule some mummies had highlighted, think we left with the dates from 13 -17Nov? 10:30am to 1:30pm? pls advise soon. thanks.

Wow so many posting this morning, was in and out of meetings this whole morning and rushing off for my dept offsite in Chiangmai after lunch and back on Sat nite. So if you need to collect money for HT BP, Scrapbooking, aquaduck or tumbletots (or anything else) will pay you after I'm back.

Clara
thanks for the table! i have the contact of sandra's gf. so will arrange with her once our side is more or less confirm.

do update us soon on your status! thanks!

1. Clare (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
10. Flo (Weekday) 17Nov
11. SH (weekday)
14. sunny (Weekend)
15. sleepingdeer (weekday - anyday so far)
16. May

tracy
during good friday and easter break, lots of the shops and shopping centres in perth won't be opened. when i was there last time, it's really quiet and not a good time for shopping.

sleepingdeer
how much do you pay for the air fare for bb?

mamachan
april in perth can still be quite hot, about s'pore weather.
may will be more cooling.

HI SSF and Mamachan
So sorry abt not replying on MSN...
I was busy just now.. very pasiey..

I'm sooooo fed up with my Japan HQ... I feel so fed up working for them..aaaggrrrhhhh....

Flo
thanks for the fast respond! thats what we need now =) ok, will keep your date noted.

Clare
can you help keep track of the table while i track the list? oh yes, i will be away on 8th to 10th Nov.

ky
can bring your boy. wanna join?

re: Scrapbooking
rena/mummies
info from Made With Love, you could bring along your baby. provided can keep your little one under control and the rest dont mind.

very sorry i cant join in the group chat, my msn keeps hanging. especially when i open the chat window when invited.... *sob sob*

Dates: TBC

1. Clare (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
9. Rachel (Weekday, away from 8th - 10th Nov) 17Nov
10. Flo (Weekday) 17Nov
11. SH (weekday)
14. sunny (Weekend)
15. sleepingdeer (weekday - anyday so far)
16. May

Pls advise on the dates you are avaible. Need to reply to Made With Love by 17Oct. hopefully we could settle for a few possible dates that could accomdates everyone in very soon.

like what clare suggested, we could split into 2 groups instead if really cant have everyone availble on one date.

rachel,

i am ok with anydates.. just let me know.. i will arrange my timing

RE: job,

as you all know i have decided to work but now i may want to reconsider to engage a maid.. therefore i am asking mil to look after elijah for few hours.. once a week.. try out first lor..

i finally told her about my job.. she did not ask me anything but ask my sil instead.. funny person..

Update on Scrapbooking Calender (Dates/Names NOT available)

<table border=1><tr><td>November </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Mon</TD><TD>Tues</TD><TD>Wed</TD><TD>Thur</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>Sat </TD></TR><TR><TD>29-Oct</TD><TD>30-Oct</TD><TD>31-Oct</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>3 - SY</TD><TD>4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5 - SY</TD><TD>6 - SY</TD><TD>7 - SY</TD><TD>8 - SY / Rachel</TD><TD>9 - SY / Rachel / Flo</TD><TD>10 - Clare / Rachel</TD><TD>11 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>15 - Cookie</TD><TD>16 - Cookie</TD><TD>17 - Cookie</TD><TD>18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19 - Mongs</TD><TD>20 - Mongs</TD><TD>21 - Cookie / Mongs</TD><TD>22 - Cookie / Mongs</TD><TD>23 - Mongs</TD><TD>24 - Mongs / Clare</TD><TD>25 - Mongs </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>30</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Clare
Tabbie will be away from 1st to 19th Nov..... she said she dont think can make it....

re: Scrapbooking workshop
is 13 Nov, 10:30am to 1:30pm fine with you all?
checked with Made With Love, there is slot and they have lock in for us first, in order to prevent disappointment.

could you PM me your name and contact number? require to send in the list to them.

rena
able to contact Denmy and check with her whether she can make it? thanks!!

anybody able to contact May?

Re: scrapping
aiyor..
looking at the list.. i think i still can't make it... but nevermind... u guys go ahead with ur planned dates! Have fun!!

so many postings to catch up!

val
i started the method yesterday. will let u know whether get results. I realise JH is very fussy before 4am. he was waking up like 5-6 times before 4am. after that he slept till abt 6+.

sleepingdeer
did u bring diapers or u buy there?