(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Flo,

Me too, da yi ma arrived at 5th month. First time with Charmaine, only return at 12th month when I stop bf at 6th month. Yes, during menses the supply will drop.

What: SCRAPBOOKING -- Getting Started with our BABIES!!
Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura, Unit03-21
Dates: Weekday / Weekend --- Sandra Chu pls help get the available dates from your friend. Thks!!
Time : TBC (3hrs)
Cost: $35 (inclusive of all materials except adhesive tape)

1. Clare (Weekday)
2. MamaChan (Weekday)
3. Rena (Weekday / Weekend)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday)
7. Mongs
8. Sy (Fine with weekdays but away from 3rd - 9th Nov)
9. Rachel (Weekday)
10. Flo (Weekday)
11. SH (weekday)
12. Chicken Little (Weekday, need a date in advance to arrange both kids with nanny)
13. Tabby's mom (Weekday)
14. sunny (Weekend)
15. ky (Weekday morning, afternoon have to bring older son along, can?)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday)

17 nov ok for me so far...

so sad. think i told some of u my co starting a telecommuting trial. my boss just told me i m not eligible for it.. sob sob

flo,
JH keeps biting me nowadays. for a while, he stopped then he started again and it got worse. somehow i think my tolerance level increased liao... and when i scold him he will laugh...

durianlover,
u r right lor. i got used to waking up liao...terrble hor. i think i can't even sleep properly anymore. even when JH sleeps for 3 hours i will keep waking up...

SY,
Haha..dunno to laugh or cry hor. Scold and he laugh. He must be think "Is mummy playing" with me?

My boy when scolded will act blur. Just like the father!

tracy
yah, i find during office hour will be good. then in the evening can be with our babies and show them our hard work! =) movie! heehee not bad idea!

Flo
yah im charged up =p got it, if not will never get started.

talking about latching on, dylan oso dont know for what reason reject my breast when he was 5 months old. haha yes it sure is fun to tease them by offering our breast and see their reaction. dylan gave me a funny look and think im playing with him.

Just skimmed thru the posts! So much to catch up on!

Anyway, I came back from Bintan on Sunday. Must say that Cephas was a good traveller. He was alright with the ferry rides, food, sleeping arrangements & swimming activites.

Welcome back Sleepingdeer & Queen.

BKK brings back sweet memories. I conceived aft my BKK trip last yr. Told HB the shark's fin soup I had there help! Haha...

Perth will be my next destination! Likely to be next yr. Must wait till Cephas starts walking.

rachel
if weekdays, then let me know when it is. i try to take leave. if not, you gals just go ahead.

Dates: Weekday / Weekend --- Sandra Chu pls help get the available dates from your friend. Thks!!

1. Clare (Weekday)
2. MamaChan (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday)
7. Mongs
8. Sy (weekday, away from 3rd - 9th Nov) 17Nov
9. Rachel (Weekday) 17Nov
10. Flo (Weekday) 17Nov
11. SH (weekday)
12. Chicken Little (Weekday, need a date in advance to arrange both kids with nanny)
14. sunny (Weekend)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday) 17 Nov

** WE LOVE BABIES!! But Sorry, no Babies allowed for the class **

is Firday good for you ladies? TGIF!
17 Nov? 10:30am to 1:30pm? after that we can go for lunch togteher! pls advise

SY, chillies,
WHen i scold my gal sometimes she'll give me that innocent teasing look, as though telling me "don't be so serious lah!". The look is so funny that most of the time i end up laughing and can't bring myself to continue scolding her. Quite bad.

SY,
But how come JH will laugh when u scold him??

Oh no, sounds like u get really disrupted sleep...i'll be zombified if i were you!

durianlover,
i will beat him lightly on the cheek and he will keep laughing. worse still he will purposely bite my nipple and hold in his mouth and then pull very hard...it's really painful. dunno how to describe. he is a very cheeky boy lor so i guess he thinks it's fun to do this...

SY
Mel started biting my nipple about 3 weeks back again (she stopped doing that for a while). I scolded her and was quite stern. She cried until very ke lian. Since that day onwards she refused to latch on. I can imagine how painful it is when JH bite you

sunny
ok, noted. think if we manage to have the workshop on 17 Nov, we will need to pay up full upon confirmation. will keep you update.

re: Made With Love
if anyone of you planning to purchase any thing from them, there's a promotion going on from 9 Oct - 31 Oct.

"Our 3rd year running, expect to recieve even better treats this month. As always, it's a sure-win lucky dip! So for those of you with a passion for scrapbooking and a sweet tooth, you'll be glad to know that every $50 purchase entitles you to a lollipop lucky dip. Attached to each lollipop is a discount voucher. Perks range from 15% discount to a whopping 40% discount off the next item you purchase!"

There are discounts on 28 brands of material too.

grrr.. i went on 7 Oct...

SY, poor thing to wake up every hour. JH's not waking up for milk right? I learnt a affirmation method that my friend taught me. Dunno whether will work for you but it may help you by changing baby's "bad habits". It works on the fact that the subconscious mind is still awake for a while after baby falls asleep and you talk to the subconscious mind.

She personally tried it twice herself and both times succeeded. Another friend tried it and also succeeded. I tried once to help Kirsten enjoy brushing teeth and tongue but baby woke up instead. A few days later, she started to like brushing teeth although I didn't dare try the method after the first time. But I thought I'll share with you and see if you're willing to try.

This is the method:
1. After baby has fallen asleep, test to see if he's really asleep by calling his name softly or pat him lightly. If he stirs but eyes are closed and doesn't wake up, that's the best time to do it.

2. Start by saying positive things like: "JH, you're a good boy, Daddy and Mummy love you, you're a smart boy and can understand what Mummy is saying." Then say what you want him to change and the important thing is you must be specific. So in your case, for eg. say "Sleep from 9pm and only wake up at 7am."

3. Keep repeating the same statements for 5min.

4. Do this only once everyday and you should see results in 2 weeks. This can be done either during naptimes or night.

I call it brainwashing but personally haven't really done it and really amazed by it. Let me know if you do succeed!

Valerie,

I believe this method because when Charmaine was younger, everytimes before she sleeps , I will play this particular phonic songs and not any other time. She is able to recognise it and sing it when she grows older. So I believe she is listening though asleep.

flo,
yah JH very funny one. he will just bite my nipple and grin at me. then sometimes he will pinch my nipple too!

valerie,
i actually got try something like that but i din say for so long like 5 min. i think it will work cos a few times when i told him to be a good boy he will sleep better. i will be specific and tell him he must sleep until what time.

i dun think he is really waking up for milk cos he usually drinks really little and then go back to zzz. but sometimes when i dun feed him before he sleeps i think he will wake up for milk.

i will start tonight and let u know whether i see results...

Rachel
17th Nov... Friday means got to take leave??
17th Nov I cannot take leave or half day..
Stupid internal auditor is coming again.. think my boss wun allow

15-17Nov & 21-22Nov... I cannot take leave

val
I will try your method too..

Come to think of it.. my friend did told me before.. I have to "talk" to bb and tell her to sleep until wat time.
She din tell me in detail... perhaps this is what she meant.

valerie,
that's an interesting technique! haha maybe i shd try it out to change whatever bad habits my gal has!

SY, flo,
Oh no, biting nipple sure sounds painful! My gal hasn't bitten me yet (though i certainly hope she never does!) when i bf her, though she's got 2 teeth already. My frenz said when they bite your nipple, use ur hand to "click" their cheek - it hurts and they get the idea that they shouldn't bite. Erm, dunno whether u know what i mean by "clicking" their cheek - use ur 3rd finger to click against ur thumb while on their cheek.

cookie, chicken lil, SY, oh you have heard of it before lah... My friend told me in detail and the most important thing is must be specific. won't work if you say vague things like: "Sleep through" or "Drink more milk", as an example. Must say sleep what time to what time, drink how much more ml of milk... etc... Best of luck!

durianlover
must really be thankful that janelle doesn't bite. babies have no idea how much pain they cause. he use all his strength to bite me...arrgghh

valerie
i will try it out tonight and hopefully can see some results. i m quite specific in what i tell JH just that i dun repeat it much. i will usualyl tell him to sleep until what time and only wake up at what time...hee, maybe from a young age he already dun listen to me...

Re: Weather in Australia
Can anyone advise on the weather in australia in Oct & Nov? Thinking of bring bb there but someone told me it's summer, will be very hot. Got sand flies...blah blah blah....

Any other cooler countries to suggest?

Wah, so envy you gals can take the trouble to do the scrapbooking. No arty farty cells in me at all but I'll probably try and pick up digital scrapbooking instead... Can do from home too.

Durianlover
I guess my "scolding" did get thru Mel, so she rather choose not to latch on than not to bite but latch on
She keeps biting her milk bottle teat now.

SH
Korea will be very cold if u going in end Nov. The wind chill can kill
You can check this website for more weather info. Looks like Melbourne weather is still ok in Oct/Nov

http://uk.weather.com/weather/climatology/ASXX0075

Re: Drugstore Spree
Mummies, you all interested?
I'm thinking of organizing one, but only for Desiitin Cream and 1st Teeth toothpaste.

Was reading up on my work on the floor HB using the PC. HB left so i shifted up easier to read... but the min I sit infront of the PC automatically I log in to read the posts... haha... like my HB always complain... addicted to the forum liao... =P

Re Menses
SIGHHHH.... It finally came back today. Flow still managable, no cramps but I was having very bad migraine for the past 2 days dunno if there's any linkage to the menses?? On 1 hand I am glad the guessing game (of when it will be coming back cos a few times i thot its coming back but it didn't) is over and I can start planning for no. 2, but on the other hand... so mah fan... sigh, but i did enjoyed the past 18mths (9mths preggy + Ashley 9mths now) w/o it hee hee... Just for info, I stopped dream feeding Ashley 1month ago and dropped my office pump session shortly after also. Nowadays I only latch her on/pump in the morning n latch her on at night, so nothing much left to pump/store. I still have around 10+ pkts of EBM in the freezer which my mum will feed once a day in the afternoon during weekday. Once supply uses up mum will replace with FM. I do hope to still be able to BF till she's 1 just to enjoy the bonding but that being said, I will not be increasing my pumping/feeding session on purpose... sad to let go but I tell myself I have to stop sooner or later so now that she's already approaching 1 + she's taking 3 solid meals a day, I should slowly let go... =)

sunny,
I am still breastfeeding totally except feeding clariss 2 solid meals per day. I express 2-3 times per day in the office about 3-4 hrly. I am still latching her at night hence my menses is still not back. I am at a dilemma as well as to when to stop. I want to regulate my menses so that I can plan for my second one but on the other hand I don't really want to stop so soon. was thinking of doing it at least until 1 yr old.

re:biting nipple
Clariss started biting me since a few weeks back. I think she is cutting her upper teeth and it's itchy. very painful and sometimes I will tap her arm hard to teach her a lesson. she will cry from the pain. not that I really want to hurt her but I think it's impt to instil the right habits.

1. Clare (Weekday)
2. MamaChan (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday)
7. Mongs (weekday-17 Nov/weekend) away from 19-26 Nov
8. Sy (weekday, away from 3rd - 9th Nov) 17Nov
9. Rachel (Weekday) 17Nov
10. Flo (Weekday) 17Nov
11. SH (weekday)
14. sunny (Weekend)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday) 17 Nov

Val, clariss is still waking up, sometime fussing, sometimes to latch on for comfort. think I will try your method to see if it's works.

Anyone can share experience on how to wean baby off pacifier??

My gal sometimes wakes up in the middle of the nite crying for pacifier, and i hv to get up to pop it back into her mouth. Very troublesome!

Durianlover,

Last time when Charmaine around 11th month, I just kept the pacifier and she looking for it but cannot express so she just sleeps. after 2 nights she sees it and when i want to pop it in her mouth she refused. For my nephew, he got ulcer and need to apply cream but difficult to do it for him so his grandma apply on the pacifier and from then he dun want the pacifier liao

Mummies who latch on direct, must remember to cultivate the right habit dun let babies "self service" on the breast. I saw my neighbour's son who is being bf for 2 years, now he is 3 years old still latch on during the night for comfort , at my place, he will also go to his mum and pull up and ask for the breast. This is why i am very determine to start EBM for aden from young

Durianlover,
my FIL wean my younger nephew off the pacifier by applying some bitter tasting stuff on it too. i'm not sure wat it is tho..

Re:Reduced Milk Intake
yesterday Meg's milk intake was a record low of 240ml. this morning at least she drank 120ml at 6.30am. Hope she drinks more later. Wonder if its my mum who doesnt know how to time her feeding. Normally she drinks a total of 4x a day. Now at my mum's she oni drinks 3x cos sometimes my mum drops her mid-morning feed saying she wanna sleep.

My mum has problems bathing her to the extent she brought the whole bath tub into the room with another empty pail to bathe her yesterday.

My MIL definitely looks after babies beta than my mum *roll eyes*. Once i reach home at 6pm, my mum will 'dump' my gal to me n leave me alone with her. she'll go downstairs to my dad's shop. For my MIL, she will quickly cook while I look after my gal. then when its din time, MIL will takeover her while i eat. so I really appreciate my MIL for being able to take care of my gal.

hey cookie,
actually Caleb sometimes do not sleep through the night too. SOmetimes he will wake up and just wanna play. Then we gota spend some time to make him go back to sleep.
Sometime, he will just wake up and make some funny funny noise.. then we have to attend to him too.
Yah it's really tiring but hey its part of parenthood.. heehee

Falling down:
yesterday Caleb fell flat on his face when he was crawling around the house. My sis and me felt bad cos we pratically watched the fall. Too fast liao and we couldnt react in time.
His mouth bleed abit, he cried terribly. It must have been real painful.

Sept03,
my mum says meg will cry and struggle once she brings her into the bathroom and refuse to stand or sit in the bathtub. my mum thinks she's afraid of the toilet bowl which has a cover like a dustbin. even when she closes the cover, meg is still uncomfortable. maybe she's not familiar with the place. she's ok with bathing in the bedroom. so strange..i'll try this saturday myself see how.

Sept03,
that must ve been a pretty hard fall to be bleeding at the mouth. But its normal. Many times i've been unable to cushion Meg's falls even when i'm just beside her. It always happens so fast. But rest assured, they learn after that, how to break their fall. Meg has mastered the 'cling onto anything in your path in the process of falling' technique.

Clare,
Before giving birth, i dun get headaches prior to menses but now i do and it can get quite bad. Hopefully after the birth of the next kid it will reverse back...

Tracy - Celeste has also been taking very little milk for the past 3 days already! it was only 310 the day before and yesterday was better at 390 cos i resorted to hiding the milk in the cereal...gosh! she is not keen on porridge too...bascially, she doesnt want to EAT! argh... wat shall we do???

Sept03 - Ooops! Caleb fell... *sayang sayang* must have been painful but think it this way-babies are smart..after this,he will be very cautious in crawling... tats wat happened to my niece,she is so good at crawlin safely now!

Durianlover - celeste also stirs in the middle of the nite for her chut chut..HB and i take turns to get up and stuff it back.

Rena - For the second time in a row,celeste fell asleep by herself by playing on her own in the cot. we switched off the lights and went to bed ourselves wf her cot beside us...it reali worked!!! thanks for the teaching... the only ting is,she likes to play wf the curtain's tail before ZzzZzzz..haha

sadnra1330
I have replied your mail. Thanks a million!

Sept03bride
Kaelyn dun wake only sometimes.. she wake every nite. hmm... although when she wake everynite can be tiring but seeing her in the dark stll make me very happy (silly mummy).
I'm more worry what if she wants to sleep with us as a habit.

Mummies, share with you a piece of good news. Brought kirsten for a follow-up check at SBCC on her heart defect and her hole is smaller now, from 4.5mm to 2.6mm, and her heart has also grown bigger so relatively her hole is much smaller compared to 6 months ago. the cardiologist says she has a very good chance of having a normal heart soon. Yayy...
It has been impossible to get her an insurance plan cos all the insurance companies are so kiasi.

By the way, check with you gals, what kind of weighing machine does your PD use? Mine uses a digital weighing machine and kirsten weighed 7.9kg last week, but on Tue, she weighed 8.2kg at SBCC. Her height also different: 70cm at PD and 73cm at SBCC. Don't think she has grown 3cm and put on 300g in 1 week leh... which one should I trust?

god's child,
i'm thinking could be due to teething cos megan's upper front cutting through. I've always included milk in her cereal. at least she's still finishing her cereal and porridge. its oni milk she is rejecting. i'll try to 'dong' this week then see if she's still rejecting milk if back at my MIL's. Is celeste teething?

Since last week, I had been complaining that Damien refused to drink milk and he also stops his night feeding. But what I realized was that Damien was very selective with the ppl to feed him milk. Coz whenever I called home in the morning and checked with my mum whether did he take milk.mum told me that ya..gave 125ml but seem to be not enufhe drank greedily
Normally it will still be my mum to give him the last feed (milk) around 8pm but last nite, my mum went out so I feed himso sad..he totally rejected me.
I got no problem feeding him solid.

val,
glad to hear the good news!! yes, the insurance companies are super KS. everything also link back to that one problem.

i also got different weight readings from different PDs. One used the scale which read 8.65kg. Another used digital and read 8.065kg. Oh, the height is always wrong cos i notice different nurses take differently. So usually i use measuring tape to do it myself. its more the weight i'm concerned about.

babylon,
hmm...so Damien knows who to bully huh. for my case, its oni now at my mum's place that she has reduced her milk intake. maybe the venue also makes a difference.

Sept03, Caleb will learn from the falls, don't worry... Very funny, this morning, my cautious kirsten fell 4 times, all not very serious and all in front of daddy and she cried pitifully. Think she's trying to make daddy carry her but he didn't fall for her tricks. so funny... she normally quite careful one so i think she's getting more scheming.

Sept03bride
poor caleb... but I can assured you, the hurt mouth will recover very very fast.
Kaelyn hurt her upper lips pretty badly last week and in a few days heal completely

Ya agree with god child.. with every fall.. kaelyn learn to be more caution with her move

God's child
Wow good gal Celest.. falling asleep on her own

Hmm.. I suppose it could be a phase abt the food intake. Celest should be back to normal pretty soon.