(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena
congrats on your new job.. yup, if you're getting a maid, then can help you to do all the housework. keke...

Re Scrapbooking
1. Clare
2. MamaChan (ok with class, ok with weekday)
3. Rena (Ok with any arrangement , is bb allowed?)
4. wenyl (Ok with the class, Prefer weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (ok with the class, perfer weekday)
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel (ok with the class, perfer weekday)
10. Flo (ok with the class, prefer weekday)
11. SH
12. Chicken Little
13. Tabby's mom (prefer weekday)
14. sunny (prefer weekend)
15. ky
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (prefer weekday)

Mama panda,

why dun you try cali bb bath.. ? mild and good...

RE: job

Thanks all, i plan to employ a maid but not letting my mil know. is it possible? haha i really do not know.. anyway i did not tell my mil yet..yestday my boss came to my place for a product knowledge and also on what to read up and errands to run for her.. so next week no need to go office as she will divert all the calls to my mobile..

This job is mainly admin and a little sales/ account servicing... if i got appointment then that week no need to go office also can .. bascially my own time.. but if there are any urgent matters then i will need to go...

Although my hb do give me allowance and buying things is easy but i still like to earn my own keep plus i want to engage a maid .

At least with a maid i can rest and spend more time with my little boy ..

My sil knows of my plan to engage a maid..oh boy she is so happy .. but i put it across to her that i will be bring the maid to my mom's place coz to many kids.. haha only excues..

Re Scrapbooking
1. Clare
3. Rena
4. wenyl (Ok with the class, Prefer weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (ok with the class, perfer weekday)
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel (ok with the class, perfer weekday)
10. Flo (ok with the class, prefer weekday)
11. SH
12. Chicken Little
15. ky (prefer weekday morning, afternoon have to bring older son along, can?)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May

sunny, I'm still TBF. No intention stop anytime, just let it happen naturally. It was a pain for me to wean my older son ... a bigger pain than starting bf, and I missed the bonding, so don't look forward to it.

.ky.

Mamapanda,
I think you can try GV or Cetaphil Body Cleanser. It's probably less pricey.

Re. squinty / lazy eyes
My youngest sis was diagnosed with slight lazy eyes during those yearly eye examination conducted in Primary schools. Her right eye was slightly short sighted but her left eye was long-sighted (not sure if this condition was since birth or not). Subconciously, she had been using only long-sighted eye most of the time, causing the eye muscles of the other eye to degenerate due to 'disuse'. Lucky for my sis that this condition was detected early before it became full-blown lazy eyes. She didn't have to wear eye patches, but had to wear special prescription glasses and go to hospital for weekly checks. THough my sis had lazy eyes, her eyes were not squinty lah.

kao_welcome.gif
back, Sleepingdeer & Queen! It must have been fun with Baby!

Rachel - no need say sorry.. its stil cheaper than NTUC, so its stil savings... thanks for co-ordinating!

Re : Scrapbook
too bad cant join cos exams coming close... wait HB whack me for going out to play than hitting the books :p

Tab,
Thanks for the offer. Can really help to save.

Sanraye,
Please keep me posted regarding the similac. Wld like to share with any other mummies. I guess 7 tins wld be last me till 1yr old. Thanks.

queen
I have used cetaphil body cleanser before but I still find Balneum better as her skin feels softer and more moisturised after cleansing. Balneum Wash was prescribed by PD but I have to go back to the PD to buy cuz outside pharmacies only sell the Balneum shower and it costs $18.90 per bottle. Cetaphil is $15 and Dermaveen is $16 for a bigger bottle. Currently, I'm using Cetaphil to wash her bottom during diaper change. How much is Cali BB for how many ml?

sunny,
I'm still on TBF. Thinking of weaning from the breasts when Isaac turns 1 cos I'm worried that he will learn how to demand for the breasts. May continue BF for a while via EBM but see how lah. May just stop altogether. Menses have returned, but dunno whether I'm ovulating. Thinking of going for 2nd one by Next June, so I guess may have to stop BF to increase chances of getting pregnant. Yah... will sure miss the bonding very much. But eventually will have to stop.

RE : Crying Baby
My turn to hv baby crying in the middle of the night. 3 nights in a row. Totally worn out. Had a bad day at work yesterday and went home to see a black faced mother. Mom was supposed to help me look after last night, but got so pissed wif her no reason tantrum that I decided to bring my boy home. (I was scolded for using the wrong flask of water, threw things on table for dunno wat reason) Haiz, as if my day was not bad enough.

queen
How much are u expressing at how many hoursly? How often do u latch on? I was wondering what is the threshold to break before menses will return while still breastfeeding. I've no sign whatsoever of menses coming back yet. Cuurently, if I express 4hrly, I can only express 150-180ml. If I express 5-6hrly, I can express 180-240ml, sometimes up to 280ml, depending on how many letdowns I have during expression.

MamaPanda,
Er.. I have not used Cali BB before. But whenever I have a bout of breakouts on my face and body, I use Cetaphil, works very well. Recently, I have used J&J's Soft Wash on Isaac a couple of times and find that it is really make the skin really soft. How about letting Ariene try the commercial brands like Lactacyd, Sebamed or J&J again? Perhaps start slow, like may use 2 or 3 times a week to let her get used to the body wash. If no adverse reaction, can gradually replace the Balinuem.

Krissie,
Baby Jar foods in BKK are really really limited. I went to one of their high class supermarket at Siam Paragon Shopping Mall, can only find like 2 shelves of Heinz and Gerber jar foods. Only abour 5 or 6 flavours. But since stayign ther only for 3 days, so not so picky lah. Maybe it's better if you bring your own jar foods.

mamapanda - Caleb has eczema and dry skin too at his ankles area. for bath, i am using lactacyd & sebamed baby liquid cleanser. Lactacyd costs abt $7 plus over at my mum's house. quite cheap. i know in watson it is selling like 10 plus. I check with my PD and he is against J&J products lor for my boy's skin. so he said the above 2 is OK. as for cream, i am using california calendula cream. not bad...very moisturising and i like the lavender smell. i even use it for my own face too. hahaha...

MamaPanda,
Since Isaac started on solids, I have stretched my pumps to 5-6 hourly in office, but still latch & pump at 5am when Isaac wakes up for feed. So it's 3 pump in 24 hours.
Weekdays,
5am - latch & pump (~120-200ml depending on how much Isaac drinks)
11am - 200 - 250ml
4pm - 180ml - 200ml
8.30pm - latch
Do you intend to try for 2nd kid? If not, no hurry for menses to return right? If you want, can stretch your pump interval to 5 or 6 hours.

I suspect it because of my night feeds that my menses are delayed. I just want to know roughly how much lesser I pump/latch will my menses come back. I'm not in a hurry for #2 so I don't want to drop below the threshold and start having menses again. I think I'd rather forgo the nice clothes and sleep than to have menses again. So far, my schedule is as such :

5am : latch and pump (150-200ml, depending on how much Ariene drinks)
1030am : pump 120ml-180ml
2pm : pump 180ml - 240ml (or latch and pump 150-200ml if I'm at home by then)
5pm : latch
8pm : latch
1030pm : pump 150-200ml depending on how much Ariene drank earlier
1-2am : latch

Yes.. my girl is still having her night feeds.. tried weaning her off it but she's quite a persistant crier.. can just lie on bed and cry for 1 hour until I give up.. Then again, maybe it because of my night feed that my menses is held back. I'll probably get my menses if I cut down on the night feed since my supply is nolonger fantastic.

queen, mamapanda,
wah..peifu you gals still bfing. esp having to wake up at night to latch. i really dread bfing my next kid.

Re: Scrapbooking
1. Clare
3. Rena
4. wenyl (Ok with class, Prefer weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (ok with class, perfer weekday)
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel (ok with class, prefer weekday)
10. Flo (ok with class, prefer weekday)
11. SH
12. Chicken Little
16. sleepingdeer
17. May

here's some info for the scrapbooking workshop:
All workshops are individually priced and include products, scrapbook supplies, yools for your use and scrapping fun.

please however remember to bring along your own adhesive for the work shop unless otherwise informed.

mamapanda ... each woman is different (like babies). have heard of some who tbf but got their menses quite early back. and some though cut back still have not. for me, I had mine when I stopped pumping in office which was quite a drastic drop, and I was still bfg at night. this time round, my menses not back yet though this felow is not as 'greedy' as his brother. but my schedule roughly same as yours.

consider yourself lucky if your menses are not back and just enjoy the bfg experience. :>

.ky.

Rena,
The thing is, my boy is being looked after by my auntie not her. Usually boy will be home before me and mom has to "tong". I will rush thru dinner and look after myself. Even on nights where i leave my boy (once a week) under her care, I'll settle him and will leave only when he sleeps. If my boy fuss during dnr, I'll stop to settle him. I din even ask for her help. My mom somehow believe that only fathers are stress not working mothers.

Hey gals, my galfriend say that class can accomodate up to 22 people. Please arrange the dates that u gals want in November and let me know BEFORE the 17th of October. I'll let her know then. Thanks.

Tabby, thanks. Will wait for your reply on the support group. Btw, are you a doctor?

rachel,
u mean bring our own glue? eh..wat type of glue? uhu, white glue or normal liquid glue? how about double side tape, scotch tape etc.? scissors leh?

sori, me totally clueless abt scrapbooking.

Re: Scrapbooking workshop

Think we should be going to the Basic class: JUST GETTIN' STARTED

In this hands-on class, learn how to plan and design scrapbook pages from scratch. Be introduced to basic design guidelines, different types of colour schemes, tips on photo selection and equip yourself with essential basic scrapbook skills which you simply can't live without! All you have to do is to bring at least 7 photographs pertaining to one theme and we'll provide the rest to get you started!
S$35, Duration 3 hours

Hi Chillies
Just called the personnel. i am able to fetch the same discount as wat tabby can get. Will be getting them. So we 50-50? its $29.15 excl. 5% GST. So ea tin abt $26.23. onz???

Re: Scrapbooking
1. Clare
3. Rena (Ok with any arrangement , is bb allowed?)
4. wenyl (Ok with class, Prefer weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (ok with class, perfer weekday)
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel (ok with class, prefer weekday)
10. Flo (ok with class, prefer weekday)
11. SH
12. Chicken Little
16. sleepingdeer
17. May

here's some info for the scrapbooking workshop:
All workshops are individually priced and include products, scrapbook supplies, yools for your use and scrapping fun.

please however remember to bring along your own adhesive for the work shop unless otherwise informed.

rena/ky
its advisable not to bring baby/children along. for the 3 hours you will need to get hands on with all the materials and tools. another thing is i saw they workshop room, not a big one, jusu a decent room with a large table in the centre and chair around it. having some space for moving around only. anyway, i can check with them on this =)

tracy
the adhesive have to be acid free. the shop itself sell lots of type of adhesive (mostly on adhesive tape)see till i blur =p

Tracy
the qns u asked also what I wanna asked.. heehee

Rachel..
Okok.. think I will go to the shop to see and have the "mood" to start the scrap book.

Sandra Chu
is it possible for me to have your gf's contact so that i can arrange with her directly? can PM me? let me know yah. thanks!

btw, here's the website of Made With Love
www.madewithlove.com.sg

Address: Plaza Singapura Unit 03-21

tabbie
when will you be away? so can arrange for the workshop.

Sunny
Ya lor... really se bu de to let bb cry so hard, esp I always feel guilty abt not able to spend time with her. SO naturally I wanna let her be happy..
I also scare I will spoilt her hahaha.. I think my HB also xin ruan.

Oh Oh.. talkign abt training her.. last nite she SLEEP THRU!!.. Yippie..
I feel so refresh this morning.. really hope she will be that way. Anyway I dun speak too early.. will monitor and see.

Rena:
Congrats on your new job.. the hours sound pretty flexible! Good for you

cookie
heehee maybe Kaelyn knows you gonna train her and so she automatic sleep through =p yes, it sure feel so good to be able to sleep through the sleep and feel fresh in the morning hor!

hoho you sure will have the mood when you step into the shop, well decor shop and the workshop at the back really temp you even further! hahaha

Rachel
Good work for all the info! Haha, maybe you and Clare help to arrange the class via sandra??? Take turns to organize something. You and Clare discuss the dates and let us know? since most of us going for weekdays.

Sandra
Thanks for being such a dear to help us get in touch with your friends.

Scrapbooking
I'm getting really excited. Think I better start saving up for more materials. Maybe if too much, we can share among ourselves??

Maid
I'll be going down this afternoon to my mum's friend's maid agency. Heard that her friend had chosen some maids for us to interview. If we're happy with the maid (and after letting Daren "interview"), we'll be withdrawing Daren from IFC. My mum very funny, asked us to bring Daren along to "choose" *pengz*

sandra1330
can I have the contact for Similac provider?
Cos my friend and I might share.
u can PM me or email [email protected]

Chillies
Looks like u are sharing with Sandra already.. never mind abt my PM. it's ok.

Long time never log in and lots of posts to read! Can't catch up!

Janelle was down with viral fever for the past 4 days and it was a really xiong time for us as parents. Fever went up to 39.7 degrees and we panicked! Almost sent her to A&E. Thru this episode, i am really more thankful to my mum coz i realise how difficult it is to bring up a baby/child, esp when they fall sick!

Re: TBF
I'm also still doing TBF and in a way, i'm glad i'm still BFing esp when Janelle had fever..she hates drinking water or juice and the only fluid that she was willing to drink was BM. So it was convenient for me to latch her on to make sure she gets hydrated. Now that she's recovered, i'm on a "mission" to get her to drink more water!

cookie,
i guess u shd really go according to how you feel with rgds to whether or not to sleep train. For me, i started out wanting to really "train" baby, etc, but realised she was not responding well to my hard-hearted tactics. So i had to be flexible. And i feel better about it too

rena,
Good that u can work part-time...and it sounds flexi too. Hmm possible to hide from MIL that u're getting a maid? Challenging leh!

Scanning through the posts only cos leaving the office soon for off site work again...

Sleepingdeer,
Welcome back!! Wah me so envious of your trip and Happy Family photo... u can start developing photos of your trip for the scrapbooking class too!! = )

Re Scrapbooking Class
YIPPEEEE... FINALLY its happening... can't wait!!!

What: SCRAPBOOKING -- Getting Started with our BABIES!!
Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura Level 3
Dates: Weekday / Weekend --- Sandra Chu pls help get the available dates from your friend. Thks!!
Cost: $35 (inclusive of all materials except adhesive tape)

1. Clare (Weekday)
2. MamaChan (Weekday)
3. Rena (Weekday / Weekend)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday)
7. Mongs
8. Sy
9. Rachel (Weekday)
10. Flo (Weekday)
11. SH
12. Chicken Little
13. Tabby's mom (Weekday)
14. sunny (Weekend)
15. ky (Weekday morning, afternoon have to bring older son along, can?)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday)

** WE LOVE BABIES!! But Sorry, no Babies allowed for the class **

Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura Level 3
Dates: Weekday / Weekend --- Sandra Chu pls help get the available dates from your friend. Thks!!

1. Clare (Weekday)
2. MamaChan (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday)
7. Mongs
8. Sy (Fine with weekdays but away from 3rd - 9th Nov)
9. Rachel (Weekday)
10. Flo (Weekday)
11. SH
12. Chicken Little
14. sunny (Weekend)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday)

sleepingdeer,
welcome back! looks like u had a good trip. must give me tips on what to bring, what i can buy there etc...

how did u cook for shannon over there?

rena
congrats on your PT job!

re sleeping
think JH must be the worst sleeper here and i really give up on training him. i read this article on high need babies and i think he is one. my hb tried to put him to bed but he will cry very hard and loud. in the end, we took a longer time to put him to bed.

i m just waiting for him to grow out of this phase. he is waking like almost every hour nowadays.

the only comfort i have is that he seems to know i wasn't feeling well on one night and he only woke up 3 times. each time when he woke up, i latch him and he went back to sleep very fast.

queen
u trying for number 2 so soon??

i m still bf and menses not back as well. in fact, my interval is abt 8 hours. hee, i m getting very lazy...

re: scarpbook
oh.. just notice that no bb is allowed.

re: TBF
my menses also hasn't come back. i have cut down the expressing session from 3 to 2 times in daytime. so, the gap btw each session is about 5 - 6 hrs. hopefully i can BF for 1 year.
but hor, when bb grows older, it's harder to wean right? i am worried about that...

sleepingdeer,
Shannon looks very cute in that grumpy pic u posted! Haha. It's like so ironical..the background is so beautiful with flowers and all, but she has that grumpy look that doesn't quite seem to match the background! haha

Re: BF & menses
i think it really depends on individual's body. Even when my feeding interval stretched to more than 9hrs at night, my menses still didn't come back.

SY,
Yeah i guess u can hang on to the hope that it's just a phase that JH is going thru! Hopefully he'll sleep better at nite soon! U must be tired since he wakes up every hr? Or u getting used to it? :p

Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura, Unit03-21
Time : TBC (3hrs)

1. Clare (Weekday)
2. MamaChan (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday)
7. Mongs
9. Rachel (Weekday)
10. Flo (Weekday)
11. SH
12. Chicken Little
14. sunny (Weekend)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday)

wenyl/sunny
possible to go for weekday instead? since most of us currently go for weekday. do let us know. thanks.

Sandra chu
hopefully can get your gf's contact and we arrange with her instead. faster in this way. thanks alot!

is Firday good for you ladies? TGIF! hmm... if im not wrong Tabbie should be back by the 3rd week of Nov. so should we go for 17 Nov? 10:30am to 1:30pm? after that we can go for lunch togteher! pls advise

Durainlover
I know what you mean...
sometimes I'm really tired to be disturbed in my sleep and feel really tired in the morning.
But looking at bb so happy and smiley, really difficult to be heng xin.
The thing I always tell myself is... how long will she be in this stage, she is growing so fast, when she is bigger perhaps she din even wanna sleep with me or having me in her room when she sleeps

Anyway I'm seeking God every nite praying for His guidance whenever I'm unsure of what to do...no matter how trivial the matter may seems

Chillies
I'm going ahead with the orders. Have PM you. The lady did not pick up my call, but i definitely will be ordering. Keep you updated. Thanks.

Venue: Made With Love, Plaza Singapura, Unit03-21
Time : TBC (3hrs)

1. Clare (Weekday)
2. MamaChan (Weekday)
4. wenyl (Weekend)
5. Denmy
6. Cookie (Weekday)
7. Mongs
9. Rachel (Weekday)
10. Flo (Weekday)
11. SH (weekday)
12. Chicken Little
14. sunny (Weekend)
16. sleepingdeer
17. May
18. Tracy (Weekday)

Re: Similac
Tabbie,
It seems like it's ok to just order more. How come my bro seems to find it so hard to order more? Hmm...he told me like the Similac lady ask him a lot of question such that he has difficulty ordering more.

SH
I will still share the order with you

I will get contact from Sandra also so that my friend can order. Cos I think she need to stock cos she not in spore from time to time.

When you bro order already... pls let me know. else I will just buy 1 more tin from NTUC.
Or if it's easier to order from Sandra contact.. perhaps we just from her.

CANCER CAUSING CREAMS

hi mummies..i just received an email on cancer causing creams...i dunno if its true..but some of the items are wat we use for our babies too!! its so scary!!

i cant download it here..whoever is keen can let me know then i forward the mail ok.i hope its not true though

RE: TBF
I got my menses back after 5mth even I was on TBF until Mel was 6mth old (i.e. no solid food, only milk). Have started introducing one FM feed a day since 2 weeks back (altho Mel's back to total BM for the past few days cos she is down with flu). I don't latch her on anymore - suddenly about 3 weeks ago, she just refused to latch on, also dun know why. But is quite fun to tease her, cos each time I try to latch her on, she'll give me this cheeky smile and push my breast away. So am pumping 3 times a day now (6.45am, 2.30pm and 11.30pm). I can get about 180-240ml per session. Supply dropped initially to around 150ml when Mel refuesed to latch on plus I drop to 1 pump during office hour. But the supply came back up subsequently. I suspect it could be due to me having menses around that time. So I don't think pumping/feeding less will result in menses coming back.

Queen
Actually if you intend to have #2 next June, you should then plan when to stop BF. Cos apparently you'll be very fertile the period you are weaning off/just stop BF.

rachel,
oh u mean weekday as in during office hours? geez me tot was after work. then we beta cfm the date early so all can take leave.

17Nov is ok for me. hm...10.30am-1pm. Can even catch a movie after that. harhar.

Rachel,

Thanks for all the arrangement. I can see you are all charged up for the Scrapbooking Class. Am equally excited too...now got to go back and see what pic to print...they are mostly still sitting on my computer hard disk...keekee