(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Actually the bungalows are also a good to hold BIG Birthday bash due to its spacious environment.
Those seaview and garden are single storey with 4 bedrms. Ideal if you have elderly with you.

I also booked for seaview bungalow thru a civil servant friend's help.

Hi mommoies,

Was so busy last week! Megan was down with Broncholitis again on Tuesday evening and was admitted to KK..... The doctor says she was 'borderline' case so it is better to admit in case it got worse at night. we thot it's going to be only for one day but end up staying three days..........

The good thing that came out of it is that hubby and i get to spend a good three days with megan alone.... all the while we have to share the attention and balance it with ashley........ So far ashely has more attention and time with us because we do bring her out alone at times with megan in my mum's care.........

There was this patient beside us........ she was born spastic (or something)... 6.5 years old, unable to walk, talk etc......... So poor thing. The mum has to feed her milk thru tube every two hours (even at night as she gets hungry)as she doesn;t know how to swallow. And the gal fuss about to when feels uncomfortable yet unable to express her own feeling. It must be very tiring and frustrating for the parents.........Seeing these, I really thank God that we have healthy children. And i truly admire the parents cos despite of their gal's condition, they are very loving towards her and thru the three days, i never see the mum in frustration. Patiently feed her milk, bring her out for walk to calm her down, wipe her when she sweat.... change her diapers etc..........

Bewteen, hubby played a game with her in the hospital. Hubby had a rubber band on his hand and then clutch and turn it around to hide it. Megan can always pick the right hand where the rubber band is. so funny.

Yuki,
I feel so sad when I read about the poor child next to Megan... Indeed mummy's love is always so great and unconditional... we are so blessed with healthy children, must always give thanks.

Re 1st Birthday
Wow planning for 1st Bday already? I'm torn whether to celebrate big time or not... esp since Ashley's birthday is on Christmas Eve so somehow there's even more reason to throw a party... but think of the venue, people, cost, logistics, aiyoooo....

Cookie,
All materials used MUST be Acid Free so as to protect the pictures from turning yellow n fading over the years.

Flo / Rachel,
If Sandra Chu can arrange a class for us at Made With Love it would be great cos Plaza Sing is so convenient n we have professional coaching to start off with!! Otherwise the initial plan is to gather at someone's house and either we buy a scrapbooking kit each (i can help source) or I can provide the materials and the only risk is we all end up with not so nicely done up works cos me also first project hee hee... Oh Rachel, yes hold on to the album first. Maybe we can get more disc at MWL later?

Sandra Chu,
Maybe u can ask your friend for a few slots in Nov and we can then place our names on the preferred class? Thanks alot!!! =)

Clare
thanks... ok I learn sometime new..
heehee no wonder our old old photos always turn yellow and fade out... so the album my mum bought were not acid free!

Yuki
Yes must give Thanks every day, we are so blessed!

god's child,
trying my best with the chalet!! enlisting mamachan's hb's help. thanks a million mamachan!!

Yuki,
hope your Megan gets well soon!

Re:play yard again?
heehee, the playyard is still in the back of my mind. last 2 nights at my mum's place, realised that i can simply leave Megan on the mattress to roll herself silly then she will fall asleep on her own. i don't need to carry and rock her! soooo, when hb returns, shall propose the playyard to him again.

was actually thinking maybe she tire herself out during the day crawling about, but then again, can't be cos ystrdy she napped from 9am-11am, 2pm-2.30pm and 4.30pm-6pm.

last night she was too tired for her milk at 10pm. then she woke up at 2.30am for milk. surprisingly she didnt cry. jus sat up n looked at me. so cute...

sick over the weekend and got 2 days MC. so many posts to catch up!!

JH was a good boy when i was sick. only woke up 3 times at night and din fuss much...

seems like most mummies thinking abt the one year bash liao... hmm, must start thinking abt it

tabbiesus
For the mee sua, can buy the ones in the cardboard box packing. That's what I use.

Scrapbooking at Made With Love, Plaza Singapura
Sandra, could you help to arrange with your friend? I think November is a good time as suggested by Clare.
Mummies interested in the scrapbooking, I think it's time to start printing out our darlings' pictures since Day 1. Mine all saved in portable harddisk.

Tracy
I asked my hb to email you with what's available. Do check your email hor... I heard left Garden Terrace only...still keen?

Yuki
Hope Megan has a speedy recovery. You take care too! Indeed, children in themselves are a blessing, how much more when they are healthy and well. When I read about the patient in the next bed, it really makes me think back on how unconditionally loving our Heavenly Father is, despite our idiosyncracies.

Shower Gel:
1) clariss-lactacyd & sebamed baby liquid cleanser
2)Caleb - lactacyd & sebamed baby liquid cleanser
3)Celeste - J&J peach body wash & J&J bb shampoo ( no more tears!)
4)Aden - Mustela - Shower and Shampoo separate
5)Clarisse - lactacyd (still thinking whether to change brand... going to finish soon)
6)Daren - J&J Top to Toe Body Wash (No More Tears)
7) Megan - J&J Blue bottle for wkdays & Avent for wknds
8) Melody - Kodomo purple bottle & GIA Shampoo
9) Ethan - Sebamed but finished using last week & no time to buy so started using J&J Body Wash (found a bottle in my cupboard)
10)Renee - Cali Baby Calming
11) Rayeden - Playtex Baby Magic Botanicals Hair and Body wash (with natural botanicals) tears-free (its has a very sweet and nice smell, moisturise too)
12)Kaelyn - lactacyd, Mothercare, GAIA, sebamed baby liquid cleanser. Current : Cali bb
13) Tabby - sebamed bubble bath... she likes the bubbles! previously was lactacyd
14) Rena - J& J top to toe, Gerber aloe vera shampoo
15) Ariene - Balneum Bath Wash (contains urea, used as shampoo n body cleanser, prescribed by PD cuz skin too dry), Cetaphil, Dermaveen bath lotion and JJ extra moisturising bath lotion for washing her bum during diaper change
15) Charmaine - Kiehl's Moisturing Bath and Gaia Shampoo.
16) Jing Heng - Gaia Shampoo and Shower Gel

mummies & babies
have a speedy recovery and get well soon!

god's child
yah yah me aiming at my brother's colics, heehee. crossing my finger can get my ideal terrace!

re: scrapbooking
i dont mind to have the scrapbooking class on weekdays. from what im aware of the classes they conducted, its a duration of 3hrs. so it will be good to be on weekday and after class maybe can have a little shopping before its time to pick up our babies =) what you all think mummies?

hi mummies...my boy recently can start waving goodbye already..haha..so cute. but still cannot clap his hands.

re - HT BP
we will be getting this week. The contact person will get in touch with me again. Shall keep all posted again and wenyl, i will take note of your additional 3 barley. i will check with him again.

re - survey
I think many of you called for the medela pump survey and haiz..didnt know you must be currently breastfeeding still. sorry for those who called up. but i think Anita got through the survey as she is still breastfeeding.

ok there is 2 more surveys for those interested -

1)skII anti ageing or whitening products users
group survey $80

2)Brands or new moon essence chicken drinkers
group survey $120 (must go down twice and do some homework)

interested, call Irene at 68964180
so far, i have been to 1 group survey and i got $100. hee..easy money.

re: sick babies..
Hope everyone gets well soon!!!

When I work in KK and see so many sick babies.. i wonder how it is possible to give birth to a normal child... sometimes as a mother, it really breaks my heart to see a really premature baby that's only 700grams or a baby born with some syndrome and needs major surgery like heart surgery at only a few months age... sometimes.. i dunno if the parents know that doctors are humans and parents too, when they are not happy with medical care..cos sometimes, there's only so much we can do..., I always try to squeeze in some words of encouragement. Of course then again there are some doctors/ nurses who don't seem to care at all lah.. which makes me angry too...

SL,
I'm going to US in second week of november.. I'll remind all mommies who might want to get some stuff from US when I go.. then can help buy diaper cream/ cali bb products (that is if i can find in the US cos going to las vegas.. dunno if got cheap toy stores there)

Going without baby... dunno if I'm going to be the one with separation anxiety...

chillies
thanks for reminding me to check dylan's gum. YES! he is teething again. last night when i put him to his cot, he was howling mad. carried him up and tried putting him down again, before his butt touched the mattress he started to howl again. felt his upper gum, oh my, could felt sharp edges cutting through... applied a small amount of teething gel and thankfully he fall asleep shortly.

clariss is still not feeling well. brought her to see PD yesterday night. she was given 4 types of medicine and a small bottle of nose drop. she slept from 10pm to 4am this morning, first time she slept for 6 hrs straight. I think it's due to the medication. we should have brought her to see the PD earlier. she suffered for 5 days for nothing. I am on leave the whole of this week coz my PIL went china for a tour. today is the 2nd day as a SAHM, I would say that it's really not easy being SAHM. esp if your kid is sick.

re:birthday bash.
clariss birthday is on christmas day. want to plan something big for her but I am worried that people may not turn up because they maybe visiting or celebrating christmas in their own way. maybe I should do a poll with my friends and colleagues. hee!

re: scrapbook lesson
that's a great idea, to have lessons in town and maybe we can buy the materials from the shop before or after the lesson.

mamachan,
thanks! I've replied ur hb's email. decided to book other chalets since oni garden terraces avail then that's pretty small..thanks again!

tabby
how long will u be going to US?

SSF
i will give her a call. need to spend long time doing survey or not?

rachel
i think JH teething again. he keeps biting me very hard...

i have problems logging onto MSN...

Mongs
Mel was sick too. Her runny nose and fever got worst yesterday so brought her to PD. Gave her 4 types of medicine and a small bottle of nose drop also. Me and Hb fight like mad with her when trying to feed medicine. She was able to sleep thru the night but was turning and tossing cos the fever went up to a high of 38.8. Her appetite seems to be much better tho, able to drink more milk and faster.

Sy and chillies - the group survey if you are selected will take about 2 hrs. you need to go down to a venue for the survey. for the survey, noramlly they will ask u opinions of the product, your feedback, competitors product, how to make it better? its very fun and just give your most honest opinions. i last went for the credit card one. so fun..just talk and talk and talk..complaint also. haha.. oh btw, one criteria is that you must be the outspoken type coz that wat they are looking for. someone who will yak and yak and not those quiet one. hee.. have fun! you will still have to go thru a screening test so may or may not get it. just remember to be outspoken and not fear of crowds or strangers. i think we are all not lor..coz we all met up as stranger in the first place. hee..

Clare, SY & Mongs
Re:birthday bash
Hb and me also can't dec if want to have a party cos Mel is prob too young to appreciate. My nephew had a bday party @ Loyang when he was one. I think he was overwhelmed by the no of ppl and cried when it was time to cut the bday cake. Since then he had phobia of cutting bday cake until he was 5 years old. Afraid the same time will happen to Mel too.

Rachel
Re: scrapbooking
i don't mind doing it on a weekday too cos I still have a lot of leave to clear. Just let me know when.

Tabby,
oh you going Vegas for hol? I thot u going US to do some thesis. Oh definitely must go to the factory outlet, you'll go gaga over it. Regretted that I didn't spent enuff time in LV last time, my hb's fren only interested in the casino and kept telling me all hotel same same one, didn't even get to ride any of the roller coaster, so fed up....till date I still complain about it whenever I see him....keke

You can check out the factory outlet. Can't remember which one I went the previous time, I think I went to Las Vegas Premium Outlets. Oh yes, remember to go to the recept to ask for discount coupon when you get there.

http://www.outletsonline.com/southwest.html

imagine I spent 2 hours reading through all the posts..! Yup, we're back from Perth..... super exhuasting trip.... we went to Aussie with a Baby and came back with a Baby monster... Shannon was sticky and whiney... weather was cold and windy... but that said, now that I'm back in SG, I wish I was still there!

Read that alot of babies are ill, both all of them get well fast...!

Seems like that big news is Demny... COngrats!

Some photos.... I will update her blog once all of us settle down...

Re: Kindermusik class
I'll be paying on friday as they require payment upfront at least 2 weeks b4 class start, how silly is that right? ANyway, mommies, can take your time to pay me back... I will email you the details later on.

540059.jpg

Happy family in the sun

540060.jpg

Grumpy gal with flowers

SSF
thanks and noted on the HT prod.

I just called Irene on the SKII survey...
hope for good news and earn some extra $$.. thanks for the lobang.

BTW to ALL mummies....
If interested in the survey... Irene suggest call her mobile : 91835006
Pls dun call that land line.. cos her line get jam up

Re: Crying baby in the nite
Oh dear oh dear, I dunno what to do...I know I should be Heng Xin..but...

Kaelyn has been and still waking up in the middle of the nite to roll about for a while before she sleep back since abt 1 1/2 mths ago.

At least once a nite she will cry with her eyes close and cry until very ke lian. when we pick her up and put her down again.. she will continue to sleep again.

it's not like she is seeking attention.. u know what I mean. I'm not sure if I should "train" and let her cry.

I mean if I know she is just seeking attention.. I can "train" her and ignore her but she was crying in her sleep. SO my HB say...maybe she is really scared? hmmm.. think my HB is soft hearted to let kaelyn cry.

Last ntie she wake up around 430am fuss and yell in her cot so we brough her to our bed.. she roll around a while and calm down so we send her back to her cot where she roll and roll around the cot till 5am plus..
She almost fall asleep on her own on 2 occassion but she jerk up suddenly and continue rolling and finally think she was really tired.. she stand and cry to sleep with us

Well I tried to ignore her for a while but her cry got louder and louder, was afraid my MIL will come knocking at my door so we let her sleep with us.

I dunno what to do now...
Should I "train" her?? How?

I was very blessed.. kaelyn was able to sleep thru since she was very young, now then she keep waking from her sleep.
I'm at a lost how to "train" her, cos she was good gal all along...haizzz

Flo

Me going to vegas for conference... so can't bring girl girl lor otherwise sure will drag her along..Thanks for the tips on shopping...

SY
I'm going for about 10 days..

SSF,

I have called irene.. i realise that you need to be working full time and has been using the product at least 1 year plus.. and then stop for at least 6 - 12 mths..

Sleeping deer,
welcome back..

RE: working PT

Dear all ,

I have decided to start working part time. to the lord's grace i am able to have this job. i only need to work 3 days and out of the 3 days i may need to go to office only 1 or 2 times.. pay is very little but at least can earn some keep..

RE: mood

These days i am not feeling so great recently.. i really do not know why..

cookie
hmm... you sure will not be heng xin to Kaelyn, if not you would have train her long time ago. somemore you are living with your mil during the weekdays so it makes it tougher even.

for my case Dylan had been crying in the night and kept waking up a few times since birth. thats why i decided to train him when he was 3 months old. could not afford to be seriously lack of sleep when im back at work.

you ever thought of letting Kaelyn sleep in her own room? do you have a spare room for her? Dylan sleep in his own room, now when he woke up in the morning he will play around in his cot till he saw us greeting him "Good Morning" then he will fuss for us to carry him. you might want to train Kaelyn so she will not cry for you and your hb once she saw you guys. you might even dont carry her out when she cry in her sleep but pat pat her or even turn her to her side which she might fell more secure and went back to sleep again.

Asked PD about few issues that have been bugging me and would like to share info with u :

1. Sugar + salt
Try to withhold foods containing them/adding them to baby foods for as long as possible. If they've never tasted them before, they are unlikely to want it. As for scallops, they contain a high amount of salt and is not recommended. Plain porridge is best. However, if really need to put in the porridge, cook scallops in another pot of water to soften it and remove some of the salt first before adding into the porridge.

2. Method of cooking
Steaming plain foods is best for baby as it retains the most nutrients. Boiling is also ok if the food is served together with the water the food is boiled in. Avoid frying or cooking with oil/butter until at least 1 year old.

3. Seafoods
Avoid all seafoods until at least 1 year old

4. Durian
Alittle durian is ok but not now because of the haze and most babies are down with mild sore throats.

any of you feeding baby with smilac follow-on? formula price has gone up... any mummies planning for bp? i'm interested. Pls let mi koe.

Rena,

Where will u be working ? Me at cityhall, 2 days that I work will always run errand during lunch time. Look forward, it is a decision which you have made. Be Positive.

Cookie,

I started this week to let Aden sleeps with Charmaine in same room. He also not used to it, will wake up once at 1.30 am then continue to sleep till 6 am for milk. I just talk to him when he cries but never pick up.

SSF,

You have all the survey lobang leh.

Sleepingdeer,

Welcome back to Singapore. Looks like you having fun in Perth. Will like to see Shannon and many other babies on the trial lesson at Kindermusik. BTW, forgot what date liao ?

chillies,
fish is alright. asian eat a lot of fish so not allergic. not a problem.

have any of you tried giving "wu gu mi" to your babies? direct translation is 5 grains rice. it contains pearl barley, unpolished rice, sorghum, barley, buckwheat, pearl rice, gordon euryale, millet, wheat, oat and black rice.
I cook 1 and half chinese tablespoon for clariss as lunch today. added ikan bills powder and vegetables puree and then blend the whole thing to feed her. she don't like it initally but she finish the whole bowl. I am not sure if it's too heaty. anyway only want to feed her once this week.

florence,
clariss is quite happy today after her one dose of medicine last night and 2nd dose in the morning. later at 3.30pm, I will give her another dose. Ya, I understand what you mean by struggle. clariss also struggle very hard. esp when I try to clean her nose and put the nose drop. she slept for 2 hrs in the morning. now very active, crawling around. haha. so happy to see her and active.

sandra,
serious? How much is the price increase? Damn sian. Shld hv bought some to keep. My boy somemore has the bad habit of wasting milk. My friend will be giving me a contact for similac (her sis works in hospital) Will call up and check when i get the number. Keep u posted. Remind me if i forget. Paiseh. Very forgetful now.

mamapanda
thanks for sharing!

rena
stay positive. btw, on the days you are working, where will Elijah be at?

mongs
i have not even intro brown rice to Dylan, not to mention the 5 grains rice. of coz, 5 grains rice is full of nutrients and minerals. but i find that these grains might be too tough for our babies to digest well. think will only start to intro when he turns 1 YO.

re: similac follow up
yah price went up. *sigh*
lucky with tabbie's help, manage to save some $ on the 12 tins give 2 tins free benefit for medicial staff. =) thanks tabbie!

Rena
RE: working PT
Glad to hear that you have gotten a job. I guess you are feeling down lately cos Sumo was sick for a while and you have cooped up too long at home. I think working PT is good cos it give you sometime off and get reconnected back with the society.