(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Tracy - Surname pls. I am looking at the yr book. Which class was she in Sec 1?

SL - Quinny is easy to open & close. 3 Steps only.

Queen and sl,
hehehe...me too took C_lit. Like Queen, so paiseh..also got C5. I actually enjoy the subject but dun like the memorising. My brain got no RAM, then come to exam, cannot perform liao. Somemore, I bu zhi hao dai, took Higher Chinese (which is somewhat an extension of the C_lit) at A levels and got a D.

RE: Leapfrog System for >4yr old
Can this be useed with the 6-36months books?

rachel,
yah, if i can get so many bouncing baby chair, i dun mind! hee, the salesgirl's eyes will pop out i think

i leave in pasir ris.

sl, mel,
we are from the same JC. which year are you? i m 96/97

SY,
you going to Isetan Tampines or Scotts?
Still contemplating the Bouncing Baby. HUbby not keen leh. sure got additional 5% for card holder?

Hi Tracy,

In 88, it was Golden Jubilee. We all had a book to commemorate the event. We took class photos in 87 though. That's y I know she shd be in Sec 1! Haha.

Okie Samantha Chee. Xu in Hanyu Pin Yin right. Spotted her liao. So how is she? What's she doing now? Send my regards. Haha as if she wld know who I am.

chenoa
i planning to go to the scotts one. find that there's more stuff there. tampines one is quite small section for bb stuff

i dunno whetehr hb keen or not..hee, but i think it is useful for bb

that day i ask mamachan to help me buy toys and i told my hb it is only 50 bucks when i spend more than 100...haha

rachel,
which part of west u stay?

Tracy - The good thing abt CLGC or SJC in my time was most of all my classmates studied from Pr 1-Sec 4. Then some of us meet in Chuch on Sundays. C the teachers in school & Church also! So cannot misbehave. If not, sure kenna complained!

My mum was from SJC too. My aunts were from SJC & friends' mums were from SJC too. That's y I still see them & keep in touch occasionally. Bump into each other in Church or Serangoon/Punggol area. Most of us lived there and some still do!

I've moved to CCK & I do meet some ex-classmates ard here too.

sysac,
oh yes, the golden jubilee book! my sis had that one too. yes, that's her...oh her sec one pic ah hahaha.

*roll eyes* ya, i'll send her your regards under 'sysac' ..she'll be blur for sure!

sy,

we definitely didn't meet in jc. mine's 94/95. Think mel's younger as well.

SY/queen,

I can't go on the 11th. colleague on leave. i have to stay in off. : ( Otherwise I would love to join the jan mummies. Can meet up again.

To add on to the list:
1. Wendy (Slinky), Marymount, NJC, NUS
2. Rena, Marymount, KCPSS, outram sec , SP and UOM.
3. MamaChan, Fairfield Methodist Pri and Sec, NP
4. Queen, River Valley High, NJC, NUS
5. Tracy, CHIJ Ponggol, CHIJ SJC, SP
6. Tabbiesus, CHIJ kellock,CHIJ Sec TP,RJC, NUS
7. Mel, CHIJ Ponggol, CHIJ St. Nicholas, HCJC, NUS
8. Sysac, CHIJ CLGC, CHIJ SJC, NP, UK
9. Sy, Nanyang, RGS, HCJC, NUS
10. Flo, Westlake Pri Sch (Pr 1), Mayflower Pri/Sec, AJC, NTU

Oh wow, looking at all your postings really make me feel old. When some of you went to JC in 96/97 (such as SY), I've already entered the workforce for 3-4 years...haha

To add on to the list:
11. SSF, Ping Yi Pri/Sec, TP, Curtin Uni

To add on to the list:
12. celine77, Jurong Pri/Sec, Monash Uni

Queen,
U also from NJC? Which year? I was there 93/94.

Mashy,
re: In-laws spoiling grandchildren
I cant agree with u more. In-laws spoil the baby too much and they're not very good with taking care of babies. Sometimes, I really wonder if they had really taken care of my hb when he was small cuz some of the things they do really make my jaw drop. Like few days back, my maid told me my FIL tried to feed Ariene COLD fruit juice straight from the fridge UNDILUTED. My maid told him cannot, he still dare to ask my maid say he want it that way. Luckily my maid say Ariene didn't like it (cuz its too cold and too sweet?) so he drank it all by himself. I really don't know what to say abt my FIL. He's so "ba dao", always doing just what he want without any regards to other people and not respecting other people's wishes.

Just 2 weeks ago, I was very, very angry with my FIL. I was expressing milk HALF-NAKED in the room and Ariene was playing on my bed with me when my FIL just BARGED into my room without asking or knocking. At first I thought my hb came back early so I turn around to see and to my shock, I saw my FIL and I'm was still half naked! He opened the door so hard even my toilet door was forced open from the sudden pressure. I was so shocked and angry I just screamed and shouted at my FIL to get out. He didn't even apologise and insisted that he thought I'm not at home because he didn't see me downstairs. Isn't that ridiculous? Just because he didn't see me downstairs doesn't mean I'm not in right? ARGHhh.. Anyway, I complained to my hb and MIL about it and I think my hb had an argument with him cuz aFter that, my FIL never come here for dinners anymore. My MIL would tapao dinner home from here for him.

What would u do if it happened to u?

To add on to the list:
13. Yuenyuen, CHIJ Katong, Ping Yi Sec, NP

Hi SSF
Same secondary school? which year are you in?

anyone going to Isetan this weekend can help me see got Combi carrier on discount? I'm interested in this one, model no. T95. Heard usual retail price $118.
503983.jpg

Wendy,
I'm 96/97. One of the 'xiao mei' in this group...

Wah, your FIL really a bit too much!
I think any of us in your position would have been shocked and react the same way. I mean you were half-naked!

Wendy

Ai yoh! Such a terrible FIL! My FIL dashed into my room once when I was breastfeeding my baby. I was already furious with him earlier for screaming at me and I told my hb not to let him up the house coz I didn't want to see him. But my weakling hb couldn't stop my 'ba dao' FIL. I refused to even look at him. And i think he more pai seh than me.

Why don't you lock your room door? That's what I will do. Even when I sleep at night, I'll lock the room door. Maybe I'm paranoid, I've a habit of locking my door whenever I'm sleeping, changing or sometimes just hanging out in the room.

Wendy
some people can be inconsiderated. I remembered when my girl was 10 months old, we went visiting for CNY and guess what, some of my hb aunts tried to feed her potate chips, those very salty kind. I was very upset and commented loudly that bb kidney can not take such food and I snatch her away, the next day that same thing happened again and the following year I refuse to go house visiting.

Cold fruit juice definitely no no, sometimes I wonder how they brought hb up previously.

wendy,
WOWOWOW!!! Your fil is too much, he got no basic manners meh??? even my own father would knock before he comes into my room! the least your fil could do was apologise!!!*faint*!

mashy brainz,
ur fil oso sama sama ya! ur fil and wendy's fil from the same school ar??!! :p

To add on to the list:
14. SH, Zhangde Pri, Crescent, HCJC, NTU

To be or not to be a SAHM

This is never an easy decision. And is likely to be more a family rather than personal decision. Both spouses must be agreeable to the "downgrade" in lifestyle and hb must be ready for the pressure of being the sole breadwinner. There are also issues of whether you need to provide for your parents and if so is hb willing or able to bear the responsibilities? Will all these finacial issues result in family squabbles from time to time? Resulting in more unhappiness? Apart from the endless financial issues, you also need to be in touch with the "world" so that you are still able to "communicate" with your hb and not literally become a huang lian po. Personally I don't think all kids whom moms are FTWM will turn out to be baddy and vice versa. There are instances whereby SAHMs have totally no clue what their kids do in sch/outside home. I think the more important factor is being able to commnicate and be involved with your kid's "life" and I guess this kind of bonding has to be developed since young and will not happen just over night. We will have to keep reminding ourselves to find time for the kids, little things such as lending our attentive ears when an enthusiastic kid come back home, relating to you what happen in school today etc might seems minor but are important. Only when the kids trust their parents as a friend then will they be willing to share their problems/thoughts with their parents as they get older. Oh well, I guess at the end of the day, is never easy being a parent.

wendy

wah pang! your FIL really horrible! how can he dont know you are in there? you are pumping right? so confirm there will be this pump noise ( i use the word noise because the sound is quite loud to me, so even behind close door it still could be heard). what stupid excuse he gave. grrrr

lock your door in the future just in case he decided to forget about the whole thing and "rush" into your room again >=/

sl
I hear aprica is lightweight and easy to open. My cousin bought combi and swears by it. Saw in the ad that combi has a new eggshell model that is compact and light and closed. You can check that out.

SH, sl
I overlap one year in JC with you guys. I was from the S2 combi. You guys?

Wendy

Thanks for the info on the booster seat. Will take note. So far we only put her in the seat when she's watching us having dinner.

RE: Crawling
I think Ariene is just trying to explore her hands and legs movements. So dun worry

FIL,
Ya.. till now, I'm still fuming mad and refuse to talk to my FIL. I didn't expect someone else to barge into my room in my own house.. What's the world becoming..

Stroller
I bought the techno XT 2005 model. Its really very hardy and sturdy but heavy (7kg). Its not difficult to open but if u're carrying baby in your arms, it'll be quite difficult. Aprica and combi on the other hand weighs only 4kg and its easy to open with 1 hand but I've not tried opening it while carrying Ariene yet. Tried it out when I was in my 3rd trimester while shopping for strollers last yr.

To add on to the list:
15. Maywong, Nan Hua Pri, Fairfield Meth Sec Sch, NP

To add on to the list:
15. Cindy, Dunman High, TJC, NUS

Re: SAHM
queen,
I can totally understand. That was why I did the caregiver poll... My work is super stressful not to mention pretty long hours. But I've decided that financial security is more impt at this point. However, I did consider if there is any work-from-home business that I can do should I have a second baby.

wendy,
Ur FIL really too much!! I mean, it's ur master bedroom leh...he should at least have the courtesy to knock first and not barge in.

Queen,
U from RV too? Are you born in 1979? Hee.

To add on to the list:
16. Durianlover, River Valley High, HCJC, NUS

Flo,
Thanks for the advise. I'm lost abt the pea. Wat exactly is this pea? paiseh...so mountain tortoise.

SSF, Yuen Yuen,
Hey...me oso from Ping Yi!!!

To add on to the list:
15. chillies, Eunos Pri. Ping Yi Sec, TP

Repost with May's info

16. Cindy, Dunman High, TJC, NUS

aiyo. Repost with chillies's info

17. chillies, Eunos Pri, Ping Yi Sec, TP

Hi, my updates.

18. celwong, Bedok Sth Pri/Sec, SP, NTU

SL,

the techno xt is really good. you know how heavy is my boy .. that is why we decided to by xt coz it is more steady.. i think that it is easy to open and close with one hand coz me , wendy and val has master the art..

RE: SAHM

Well queen, look at things this way .. for me i have no choice coz no one can look after my kid for me .. plus i think no one can take care of him the way i want him to be.. For me is very simple .. i rather suffer now than suffer later when my son grow up the way i dun want him to be then i have to scream and have heartache..

Hehe Sysac, Guess what? We have some more in common. I was from CLGC as well as SJC too. =) Just different years.

Hi, my updates.

18. celwong, Bedok Sth Pri/Sec, SP, NTU
19. sandra chu, CHIJ-CLGC, CHIJ-SJC, NYP

Stroller
I have the Maclaren Tencho XT, think it's the 2004/2005 model which my mum's friends pooled together for Daren's one month present. Think they got it at $399 after 20% at Mothercare. So I think $299 is quite a steal if you're not particular about the model. In fact, my friend could remove the "umbrella" part of the stroller and it becomes similar to the single position with mesh seat Maclaren that one of the mummies saw. I've not tried it yet but will attempt one of these days. It's steady due to it's weight, a good 7.5kg, I would normally bring my sling out for the just-in case. I would usually strap daren on the stroller and slowly wheel him down the stairs step by step.

SAHM
Queen
For me, I thought it would be most ideal that I'll be the primary caregiver for Daren and that it might be possible to survive on a single income, but that was shortlived as we realize that it's really difficult and my r/s suffered abit due to the stress of the finances as we still have the reno loan to finance. So going back to work was good for me, it's a good thing I took no-pay leave and my position with NUS is retained. However, if we do not have the additional bills to pay, I think it might still be possible. Just got to give up the comfort zones in our lives. Are you ready for that and is your hb ready for that?

Re SAHM:
Gee, I guess I'm really lucky then. My hubby is really supportive of me staying at home and doing my own thing. In fact, before I had Sarah and before I married him, he already supported me in all my interests and ideals. I quit my job back in 2002 to pursue my own stuff in jewellery design and writing. Not exactly careers that will bring in loads of money. =/ I still get to shop whenever I want to and basically lead the life that I was used to when I was working. In fact better - cos he takes care of all my financial needs ie insurance, taxes (if any). Now and then I still get the urge to go out and work - but it's more for the socialising aspect. Hee... Dunno lah. Maybe now that I made more SAHM friends, I wont keep missing my job. =)

Hi, update mine