(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sandra,

sorry forgot to answer you... its in a small ziplag bag with the strip and a cup. a very basic packaging..tats why so cheap..

Rena,
You were from MArymount tooo? I was there Pri 1 to Sec 4! Which classes u from? Since we were born same yr, we might have been classmates! I was from 1C, 2C, 3A, 4C, 5C, 6A

SAHM,

Frankly anyone can be a sahm but you really have to spend wisely plus live simple lor.. it was very tough for me to accomdate as my spending is very jia liat but i learn along the way.. but make sure that you plan out you expenses and how much the bb going to spend and also a little allowance for yourself

Who'd confirm going to Istan Baby Fair?
need help to get the Bouncing baby thingy...

** Bouncing Baby Play Place S$89.95
1. Cookie
2. Tabbie
3. Rachel
4. SY
5. Lingbel
6. Queen

** Easy Care Swing Tray Biaster S$32.95
1. Rachel
2. Cookie
3. Lingbel

Queen

Try working out your expenditure on paper, like your hse/car/insurance commitments, food, bills etc. It'll be an estimate of what you need a month.

I've quit being a SAHM. Haha. It was good while it lasted. But, somehow, as my boy grows, I find myself inadequate in teaching him. I don't know what to do with him. You might want to see what you want to do with your boy. Coz to be honest, SAHM is the hardest working and lowest paid job on earth. You won't get to eat out much, cannot shop as you like, no MCs (means sick also must work), and worst of all, your hb must be supportive. Coz some hb might think that they bring back the bacon, so you have to be the slave.

It's really not easy lor. Sometimes the stress of not having enough money can really get to me coz I can't buy what I want.

I met an old friend of my hb's. According to him, she was a 'xiao hua' in school. Very pretty. Can tell that she was very pretty. HOwever, now as a SAHM, when I saw her, I can only say she looked very 'qiao cui'. 'Jaundiced' in my hb's words. It made me realised how bad I looked when I was SAHM too.

So hor, SAHMs, pls don't become lazy and ignore your looks just becoz you're at home.

1. Wendy (Slinky), Marymount, NJC, NUS
2. Rena, Marymount, KCPSS, outram sec , SP and UOM.
3. MamaChan, Fairfield Methodist Pri and Sec, NP
4. Queen, River Valley High, NJC, NUS

4. Tracy, CHIJ Ponggol, CHIJ SJC, SP

5. Tracy, CHIJ Ponggol, CHIJ SJC, SP

keke...more sale info for those who didnt read the papers today:

OG SALE
1) Toddler swing @ $38 (UP$39.90)
2) Maclaren Techno XT @ $299 (UP$429)
3) Fisher Price Bouncer @ $48.90 (UP$99)
4) Lucky Baby Door Gate @ $59 (UP$99)
5) Combi stroller with reversible handle for 0-2yrs @ $248
6) Combi Car Seat @ $99 (UP$269)
7) Baby Max Playpen with Bassinet @ $69.90 (UP$129.90)

Queen,

Would you be at home tomorrow/Sunday? Can I collect my ON items from you? Or maybe you wanna meet me at isetan on Sun? I can help you to buy the bouncing baby play place with my card - additional 5% discount. Thks!

My inputs to Wendy's polls.
4. sl, pei chun, nygh, hcjc, nus

Opps.. missed our tracy and queen's...
6. sl, peichun, nygh, hcjc, nus

Hey tracy,

I'm an IJ girl too!

6. Tabbiesus, CHIJ kellock,CHIJ Sec TP,RJC, NUS

oops.. posted the same time as SL

7.Tabbiesus, CHIJ kellock,CHIJ Sec TP,RJC, NUS

Tracy,

is the Maclaren Techno XT @ $299 cheap? Am thinking of getting another stroller cos the combi one that I m using like not very stable already.

tabbie,
there are more IJ girls around in this forum.

sl,
carol uses maclaren n thinks this price is cheap. sophia thinks so too. haha, thanks gals.

personally, i think its cheap. but bear in mind its much heavier than combi. so must consider your priorities when buying stroller. weight? convenience? etc...

tabby,

Is it cooling? I think it's definitely heavier than combi but more stable and can last till bb's 3-4yrs old right?

sl,
some mummies say this one on sale may be an old model. its not stated in the papers, think gotta go see in the store.

Re. SAHM
It's something that I have thought about for a while... This morning I had a mini argument with my HB cos last night my super sensitive MIL was giving us a bit of grief for not really supportive of Isaac using the walker (my HB mentioned to her to minimise usage of it, and I think my MIL felt that we, but I know she's referring to me, are criticizing her for it). So my HB said to me spitefully "why don't you quit your job then"? But I said "That's easy. Just need to type out resignation letter, but the pressure will be on your to bring back the dough." He shot back. Both my HB and I are both engineers, and if I quit, our total income is easily slashed by at least 40%. I have to say now, with our combined income, we can live a comfortable lifestyle. We can put aside money for Isaac, buy my own things, and even have a bit left to invest for my own retirement. But I would like Isaac to be raised the way I want him to be, and who best to do it but myself?

SL

my girl dun stay in it for long cos i find it too big and bulky to lug around.. and my girl is really small so she seems lost inside it.. so i hardly use it...end up slinging her when i go out

there is an extra padding that can be removed so that it is more cooling

sl,
The Bouncing Baby is on special sale only from 11 Sep onwards right?
heehee.. we are both from chee-na sec school.
Did you take Chinese Lit? I did, and hated it! Got a C5 in my 'O'-levels.

queen,

I can understand your feelings. initially when my daughter's really difficult to look after and my mum's really so tired looking after her, I really wanted to quit and be a SAHM. With both incomes, we live a very comfortable lifestyle. I don't really have to think a lot when buying stuff for bb. Can eat wherever we want, buy whatever we want (within certain limits), go travelling and yet have enough to save for a rainy day. So my hubby asked if we are willing to give up our lifestyle. Also, need to consider abt security. My job is a very specialised one, so in terms of job security, I have no worries abt retrenchment at all. But my hubby's in the IT so in terms of security, it's not the same as mine. Therefore, after much thought, I am still working.

I can share your concerns. Now the issue is regarding bb's safety and development. When bb's older, discipline issues will come in place. That's where my worries really lay.

Queen

Do u think it's more of a MIL issue or to raise your child as you want? Coz, if it's a MIL issue, can get a nanny or send to infant care. But to raise your child as you want, then you are of course the best choice. Frankly, I feel that there is only to a certain extent that we can raise a child as we wish. But if you want to exercise some control without having to feel so difficult in proaching the subj, maybe u should get a nanny/maid/infant care. U don't want walker, can just tell them straight in the face. It's unlike with MIL. Maybe that's why I prefer to let an infant care look after my boy. And, MILs spoil their grandchildren. So I felt that they're not ideal caretakers.

Have you explored getting other pp to take care of Issac instead of your MIL?

Tabby,

really heavy huh? but it can fold into umbrella-like shape right? I can't sling my gal when we go out for long, she's 8kg. very tiring. I bring the stroller let her sit for a while, carry for a while, then sit for a while again. Is it a worthwhile investment? I saw another maclaren stroller but got only 1 position. But it's light though.

queen,

Is it? I didn't notice the date. You want? I can get for you. I am an isetan cardholder. Any other mummies want? I can help to get as well. But I can only go on weekends cos my colleague who's covering me took 2 wks leave so I can't take leave till 18/9 wk.

queen,

yup - cheena sch. Though I enjoyed my schdays. Your jc isn't so right? Mine's really chinese schs all the way.

I took c lit as well. Think got A1 for it some more despite not memorising all the 6 books like some of my classmates. Some of my classmates can memorise all the 6 books word for word! gosh!

Wah wah wah....didn't login for a day only i think & the posts are really flying :)
Can I check wat is a exersaucer? Is it the same as the Bouncing Baby Place from the Isetan sale?

So tempted to buy but hb complaining house too small. With the playpen & playmat, the house hardly have any space for move around. So wanna check what are these stuffs so that can convince hubby to buy.

SY,
Take leave on monday huh? I would love to but will have to see if approve. But wat time are you guys going down? I will need to drop JW at my MIL place first before I can go "cheong" ;p

sl

I have the mclaren techno xt. although it is sturdy, it's not as easy to open as the other brands like combi when you're alone. I only use it when i'm with my mum or my hubby. one person hold baby, the other open the stroller.

Re: Being a SAHM
My friend,who used to be social worker, shared with my that she will definitely be a SAHM when her children go to primary school. That's when their character is formed and they start having real friendship. When they are in pre-school/play school, they are still close to their parents. But once they hit 6-8 years old, that's when they start developing their own identity. I shared this with my hubby and he agrees. so we are working towards that goal.

Tracy,
I'm also an IJ Ponggol girl!

To add on to the list:
7. Mel, CHIJ Ponggol, CHIJ St. Nicholas, HCJC, NUS

rena
I did a transfer to your account. reference no. 6671.
pls check, thanks! think i can collect from you during the coming gathering at tabb's place =)

Sl

it folds up but troublesome, cos must kick here and there to fold up and it is still very heavy compared to combi...

My friend recommended the volo which is really light and airy.. the seat is like a mesh.. but i think its meant for older kids..

the XT is nice but my girl is too kay poh to sit in it for long.. she always looks so grumpy when we strap her down in it

sl,
I think some of the mummies here plan to take leave on 11 Sep (Mon) and chiong ther early in the mornign to grab the goodies. So need them to tong pang... you also goign on 11 Sep?
I could never memorise those stupid books... and my chinese not that powerful, dunno why I took C lit in the first place. Some of my JC friends were impressed that I can spout out a few chim sounding chinese poems cos they all thought i was from some ang moh convent girls school at first!
Yah... I also have to ask myself whether I'm willing to give up my current lifestyle.

Mashy,
it's both the MIL problem and also my own problem. I'm sure if I let my mom take care, for example, I'll also have differing opinions. Sometimes, I wish I can be there to read a book to Isaac everyday, to play toys with him, to sing him a song whenever he sleeps. My HB is not for the idea of sending BB to infant care or hiring a maid, he prefers family to be the caregiver.

To add on to the list:
8. Sysac, CHIJ CLGC, CHIJ SJC, NP, UK

re isetan sale
so who can make it so far? my leave is already approved

sl,
i m also from hcjc! which year are u from? i m in 96/97.

7.Tabbiesus, CHIJ kellock,CHIJ Sec TP,RJC, NUS
8. Sy, Nanyang pri, RGS, HCJC, NUS

queen,

To add on to the list:
8. Sysac, CHIJ CLGC, CHIJ SJC, NP, UK
9. Sy, Nanyang, RGS, HCJC, NUS

Queen,
i think it is nice to be SAHM but sometimes i really wonder wheter i can stay home ALL the time to take care of my boy. why dun consider doing part time for a start?

Sl,
u want to add your name to the list? i m confirm going down on 11th.

who else can make it on the 11th? we must go early early ok?

SH,
i haven decide whether to bring my boy or not....if u can take leave, we can go toge and i can drive

** Bouncing Baby Play Place S$89.95
1. Cookie
2. Tabbie
3. Rachel
4. SY
5. Lingbel
6. Queen

** Easy Care Swing Tray Biaster S$32.95
1. Rachel
2. Cookie
3. Lingbel

For the items, can only get on first come first serve okie? if really can get so many i may choose to deliver ot my place can?

Hi Queen,

I have the same feelings as you all the time. Though I have my mum & MIL to take care of Cephas, I wld love to spend more time with him. It's easy to let my mum take care. Different story where MIL is concerned. I do not have complaints abt her but just that her methods differs from Mum & I. We have more or less a schedule & disciplined way of doing things. Cephas has a F&E method over there.

If you can afford it & do not mind cutting down, then you shd do it (with HB's support & blessings). There was an article in Her World 2 mths ago abt a lady who gave up to look after her baby. She lost her HB's repect & etc etc etc. That's an isolated case. Do discuss it with yr HB if u feel strongly becoming a SAHM.

SY
now i cant comfirm whether can take leave on 11th or not. if i cant make it, can you help me to get the Bouncing Baby Play Place?

heehee think you can go striaght to the sale girl and tell her how many Bouncing Baby Play Place you want to purchase. think her eye will pop out! =p yah where you live?

Tracy - Great! The school has moved to Sengkang or Punggol rite? So what's yr sis name? Can pm me if u dun mind. I shd know her

sysac,
u dun accept PM..heehee, its okie, i can reveal my sis's name here. She's Samantha, erm...pretty notorious when she reached sec4. ya the school moved to Sengkang, beside St. Anne's church.

mel,

thks! Thought that the maclaren should be easy to open. Any other recommendations for strollers?

Hey!

we are from the same jc!