(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wow wow! I was out at sea the whole day under the heavy rain for my field trip. Now really zonk in front of the computer. Did I read the word SALE? hahaha. I think I'm not getting anything liaoz. Heh heh maybe I should consider getting a booster seat. Must first get the go-ahead from hb. If can get, I'm gonna cheong!!! heh heh , but am not Isetan member leh.

yuenyuen
i usually go to the isetan scotts. more stuff there i feel.

wendy
thanks a lot!

wow i realise a lot of pple give their babies soup. how do u feed ariene soup? using spoon? my JH is a realy messy eater

re meals
my JH meals very boring one

9am - milk 180ml
12pm - milk 180ml
3pm - milk 180ml
6pm - 90ml
8pm - cereal + vege/fruit
10pm - latch/milk

mine wakes up 3 times a night still. nightmare and recently he likes to scream before sleeping. but scream in a fun way..quite funny

SY,

JH seems like he's eating very little? When Ariene fails to poop for 2 days, I'll put her on 1 fruit puree for breakfast and all milk for rest of the day to help her clear system cuz I'm scared that she'll get serious constipation again. During those days, she'll want to drink milk like crazy. Suck me dry on both sides until breasts feel empty all day long.

soup drinking
I feed soup using a spoon. Alittle messy cuz she likes to shake legs, shake body, suck fingers, stick fingers into bowl, look everywhere and clap hands while eating so I normally will bathe her after a meal to clean her up. For her, meal times are quite short unless she don't like the food. If I don't feed her fast enough, she'll start hurrying me by trying to grab the spoon herself.

screaming at bedtime
Ariene also has this habit nowadays. Sometimes, esp when she didn't drink enough milk and don't feel sleepy enough, she don't want to sleep and will keep screaming in excitment on the cot. She laugh and kick and flails her arms and legs so hard that the cot rocks!

baby dancing?
Recently, Ariene has a new habit.. she likes to stand up and dance around while holding on to the rail of the cot. She'll cruise left and right, hold on the the cot and shake backside VIGOROUSLY or worse, today she tried to climb over the play yard by tip toeing and jumping.. fell down a few times on her bum and head already still don't learn lesson.. *faint*

RE: Walker
Didn't know it will caused a problem in walking next time. Jamie is in walker since she is 4mth old. Now she is able to run around in the walker in my mum's place. She is able to go to u when u call her. But come to think of that.. could it be the reason why till now she still dun crawl? hmm...

Re: Walker and Activity stations
Till date I have yet to have a walker in my home and activity station other than the jumperoo. As it is, Daren doesn't like to stay in the jumperoo for too long, that's why I loan the toy to Wenyl and then Rena. He rather crawl and explore the entire house by himself. I guess that's probably why he's now considered quite proficient in crawling, he'll crawl to our room from the living area to see us get changed for work in the mornings, or to the kitchen in the evenings when I'm dishing out his porridge. He'll also like to crawl to the chairs and pull himself up to stand or crawl to my bookshelf and attempt to pull out the magazines and then proceed to tear out the pages. Of course we keep an eye out for him when he crawls to out of bounds places.

Being in infant care also helped his motor skills I find, as they give him alot of tummy time when he was 6 months.

tabbs
Oh, so sorry, all the toys have been reserved, in fact paid for by the mummies who wanted them already. Next time round got any good deals I'll keep you in mind yah?

RE : Pea, Spinach and Broccoli

Interested to try cooking the above veg. Can anyone help me on the ways to prepare and cook those veg? I only gave him veg from Healthy Times.

Re: Isetan Sale
I update the list :

** Bouncing Baby Play Place S$89.95
1. Cookie-KIV, show HB and he not so keen...got to do more convincing
2. Tabbie
3. Rachel
4. SY
5. Lingbel

** Easy Care Swing Tray Biaster S$32.95
1. Rachel
2. Lingbel

Durianlover

After much procrastination, finally decided to sign up for the standchart run (cos was not sure if I can find time to train). But guess what, have been trying to register online since 8+ and the website is still jam!!! Luckily the extended the early bird registration to 11.59 tomorrow morning

The reason why walker is banned in US is because kids in walker when not under supervision will hit the wall, the danger is when they hit against something and the consequences of hitting themselves. If you put them in walker at the age when they are able to sit up without supported, then it is fine sitting in the walker as they are able to support themselves. But when they still cannot, you put them inside it will strain their back. This is what my office pd a german dr told me. So I did not let aden use walker until he is able to push himself up. I feel he is ready so now in nanny place he is in walker , roaming freely, at home he will be in exersaucer.

RE: Booster Seat

For those mommies who are looking for booster seat that can be folded, have taken some pic of the fisher price one I bot @ Taka bb fair. It can take up to 20.5kg (so can last until 2-3 years old). Tho the safety first one looks more compact when fold up.

When strap on to chair
503325.jpg

When folded can sling on as a "bag"
503326.jpg

Side view
503327.jpg

Chillies

RE : Pea, Spinach and Broccoli

On weekday, I normally just steam the veg and make it into puree using a sieve. Will then mix the puree into cereal. Have not tried broccoli only pea and spinach so far. My gal doesn't like plain spinach + cereal. She loves peas puree + cereal. My mom will add spinach /broccoli into porridge in the evening. My gal is ok with spinach mix inside porridge (cos my mom also add mince meat and fish). On weekend, I'll try the more fanciful recipe. Make Sweet Potato with Spinach and Peas last weekend (recipe from Annabel Karmel) and my gal loves it cos peas and sweet potato are her fav

Here's the recipe

1 1/4 tablespoon butter (unsalted)
3/4 cup leek, finely sliced (I didn't have leek so use celery instead)
1 sweet potato (about 13oz), peeled and chopped
7/8 cup water
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup fresh baby spinach, washed and any tough stalks removed

Melt the butter in a saucepan and saute the leek for 2-3 min or until softened. Add the sweet potato. Pour over the water, bring to a boil, then cover and simmer for 7-8min. Add the peas and spinach and cook for 3 min. Puree the veg in a blender to make a smooth consistency.

I find the puree is a bit thick, so I diluted with breastmilk before feeding.

Wendy

RE: baby dancing
My gal too. I place her cot next to my bed, these days she dun want to cruise inside her cot anymore, will scream when I try to put her inside. Want to hold on to the bed rail when standing on my bed. She tries to tip toe on the sofa as well ***arghhhh***

Sick baby

Really duno what happened to Damien. Having fever now.
Realized that he fall sick almost once a month. Either having running nose or fever.
What should I do to build up his immunity system.So stress..

Re: Bouncing Baby Play Place S$89.95
Anyone know.. where can I try this our?
I wanna convince my HB
so must bring bb along.

Cindy
did I reply you.. yes yes.. thanks for the picture of the pampers.
I'm still finding time to meet up with you. But this and next week end very busy.
Are u gng to the tumble tots class??

cookie,
can try it out at kiddy palace, i saw one at toa payoh hdb. think someone mentioned firstfewyears also, but different brand?

otherwise can come my house to try

babylon,
is your older boy sick as well? dun worry, i think your bb is falling sick often cos he has an older bro at home who goes to school where there are other kids. but this cannot be prevented. my meg also falls sick whenever any of my nephews get ill from school too.

wendy,
Ariene sounds so cute dancing in the cot! haha

Flo,
i'm also not sure whether i'll hv time to train for the run, but just sign up first then bo bian gotta train. Anyway i signed up for the 10km one so dun train also can run! hahaha

Cheona,
i also got a similar booster seat but it's Safety 1st brand.

babylon,
oh no poor damien's sick? It's ok, they say that when babies fall sick they will build up on their immunity in future! Just tahan thru this period

Durianlover

I'm more ambitious signed up for the full marathon, hopefully won't chicken out last min...heehee

Re: Exersaucer
I got the leapfrog learn and groove for Gabriel and he loves it. Bought it during the National Day sale at Robinsons - 20% off! Can keep him entertained for 30 mins or more. He loves jumping in it too. But mummies, you must watch your babies when you put your babies in the exersaucer. Gabriel fell from it once when he stuck his leg in the seat and
pushed himself up.

The one on sale at Isetan looks like its from safety 1st . You can try it out at Robinson's. We tried the exersaucers and the jumperoo and decided to get the exersaucer instead. Go to the Centrepoint outlet if you want to try. Raffles City doesn't have any set on display.

Re: Avent steriliser
Last nite when i sterilized the bottles using my old hand-me-down sterilizer, there was a burnt chao-tar smell that came from the sterilizer. My hb was so amazed he even came out of the room asking what on earth that smell was! Shows how strong the burnt smell was....i think it came from the sterilizer. Anyone of u experienced that before? I think it means that my sterilizer gone-case already??

cookie.
punggol
not too far from you right? lemme know if you wanna come over. i'll be at home this sat morning till 2pm (going tumble tots) and this sunday whole day.

morning mummies

re: leapfrog
I forgot who asked regarding the leapfrog activity station. I have got that one and Charmaine loves it. She will play the music and "dance" and jump with the music. If you notice the pic posted, there's a mic and when you pull the mic it makes a sound, so she loves pull the mic. Also, all the toys can be easily cleaned with a cloth. No worries about her biting the toys as my maid will clean the toys quite a few times a day. All in all, I think it's quite a good investment, though it costs me 199, as it can keep her entertained up to 1 hr so it frees my mum up.

Another toy that she likes a lot of the tricycle pusher thing that my aunt bought her. When we push her to the garden to look at the trees/birds, she can stay there for quite some time as well.

re: isetan sale
I think it's just a baby fair. Not the isetan pte fair so no need for cardholders to be there. Just that if you are a cardholder, you can get 5% more discount.

re: bouncing baby play place
I saw this at kiddy palace (marina sq) before. I put charmaine in it to try out. She doesn't really like it cos it doesn't make sounds. Unlike the leapfrog one. Not sure if it's spoilt.

re: feeding
wendy, same here! if i feed too slowly, charmaine will grab my spoon and put it into her mouth. Then she realise that it's just an empty spoon then she will look astonished. Ha ha.

Florence,
WOW WOW WOW... full marathorn? You used to be a runner? I'm still contemplating 10km run.

Re. exersaucer
seems the one at the Isetan sale is a very good deal. Tempted to buy, but not sure if Isaac will lose interest very fast. He's a restless baby...

SAHMs,
How much monthly household income is sufficient if want to be SAHM? I know even $2k can survive, but how much is enough if the HB goes work and wife stays home, and still able to enjoy small luxuries like supporting a car? Just want to have a feel...

Cookie

Just to make sure you don't make a wasted trip - the last time I went, Centrepoint didn't carry Leapfrog. Only Raffles City had it - had to go there to buy it. So if you are going for the leapfrog, you may want to call and check if Centreopoint has it.

The Robinson's saleslady was quite nice. Told me that if i'm not in a hurry, to wait till the National Day sale.

Queen

Not really a runner, but used to run quite often b4 I was preggy. But haven't been running that often now so not sure can complete. Also with bb now, quite difficult to fit in the training schedule. Being kiasu, just sign up first before the early bird discount for Std Chartered Card holder is over. Will dec later if I am fit enuff to run...keke. In case u want to, the offer is valid until 11.59 this morning.

queen,

Me also feel like to become SAHM but if i become one, I got to watch out on spending....I calculted, can't survive on just 2K..we are heavily commited on insurances and other thing.

queen,
IN order to live comfiortably with a slightly lower lifestyle, your husband should have a take home of at least 3k, AFTER deducting all your commitments (instalments, insurance, etc). For example, if your monthly instalment for car is $700 and housing loan is $1000 and insurance is $300, your husbands need to bring home $5000 alone in order to live comfortably.

Right now, I still have to work part-time cuz all my part-time take home of $1.4k will go to paying for the car's instalments. Sigh.. without the car, I can be a SAHM already. Too bad..

Then again, comes the issue of job security. While I'm working part-time, I still can convert to full time anytime my husband loses his job. He's not in for the idea of SAHM because he says there's no security. What to do? No choice lor..

flo,
I remembered reading a warning on the booster seat before that you are not supposed to tie the booster seat on a cushioned dining chair because the surface is not even and can pose a danger to the baby. That's y we didn't buy it and ended up buying the cheap booster seat from IKEA instead. If you're using the booster seat on the dining chair shown in the picture, be careful, especially if mel shakes and "jumps" on the seat cuz the strap will loosen and mel can fall off the chair.

crawling
I feel Ariene is getting confused with crawling nowadays. She used to be quite a good crawler on her tummy before she started standing and sitting on her own from a crawling position. Nowadays, she'll just crawl a few steps with her hands and feet (not knee?) with bum up (like walking with hands down), then she'll just straighten herself and sit down. Either she's confused or she got lazy to crawl cuz its more difficult to crawl on hands and feet?

Any of u have this problem also?

Queen

Not really a runner, but used to run quite often b4 I was preggy. But haven't been running that often now so not sure can complete. Also with bb now, quite difficult to fit in the training schedule. Being kiasu, just sign up first before the early bird discount for Std Chartered Card holder is over. Will dec later if I am fit enuff to run...keke. In case u want to, the offer is valid until 11.59 this morning.

Wendy
I think JH eats quite little but it depends on what he eats.

he eats more if it is porridge. and usually when i am at home.

when i m at home, i will give him cereal for breakfast, cereal for lunch and porridge for dinner.

mamachan,
u let him crawl all over the place? so far my boy only crawls on the mat or bed. i never let him crawl on the floor. but your boy sounds very good at crawling!

Flo
so power! marathon...i never exercise much one so i very impressed with pple who are very fit.

queen,
thinking of being SAHM?

Wendy / Queen

For my case, beside the commitments (insurances, installments, kids education, etc), I want to make sure that I have saved enuf cash, in case of any emergency. I want to give the best to my kids. So no choice got to work.

Just called home, glad to hear that Damiens fever subsided.

My boy was finally well enough to take his pneumococcal jab yest, so we told the PD, just jab.
He cried briefly. Think it was painful. Last night, fed him 210ml milk, then he woke up again from 4am for milk (lately got growth spurt i think, usually only take 150ml and can last thru' the night) After that, he just kept crying and crying. Dunno what to do. Today, my hb and I got panda eyes liao.

babylon
glad to know damien's better already.

mashy,
Look on the bright side. At least ur hb still wakes up to help u. Mine just continue sleeping unless i kbkp then he wake up. His excuse is he needs to work next day. When I'm on confinement, that's valid. Now that I'm also working, its nolonger an excuse isn't it? Then again, even if he wakes up, he also cant do much cuz Ariene wants to latch on. She only wants mummy, not daddy, so, I just let my hb sleep now. I'll be the one doing all the waking and changing nappy and feeding. If I'm too tired the next day, I'll just take MC.

running
I used to work out 1,3,5,7 at amore in the past. Mon = step aerobics, Wed = low impact aerobics, fri = kick boxing, 7 = threadmill jogging + swimming, sometimes, sat = tennis, before I got to know my hb. After that, exercise never seems to be in my dictionary anymore. Now, if u ask me run marathon, I think I'll die of cardiac arrest.

durianlover
U can bring Janelle to work with u, so u're already almost a SAHM. Is it necessary to be a full-time SAHM? It'll be very siong on Roy right? IS he agreeeable to it?

Wendy

Yah, my hb does help out. When my boy wants milk, I'll make milk and my hb will feed.

In fact, he will also do the night routine, ie change my boy, give him last feed etc, so that I can sleep earlier for my night duty.

Agree with u, since you are also working now, it shouldn't be on u solely. For me, i will kick my hb awake sometimes when I'm too tired from the night duty. Haha. He's quite dead to the world when he's sleeping, so unless my boy screams, i will need to kick him awake. haha.

I was thinking, maybe some of us here were ex classmates or schoolmates. Anyone interested in filling up my poll?

1. Wendy (Slinky), Marymount, NJC, NUS

SY,

u asking me bout the cost of preg kit, right??

its $1 for 1 ... i will see how many needed then check if the staff here can help me bargain again.

I was thinking, maybe some of us here were ex classmates or schoolmates. Anyone interested in filling up my poll?

1. Wendy (Slinky), Marymount, NJC, NUS
2. Rena, Marymount, KCPSS, outram sec , SP and UOM.