(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbiesus,
Jamie likes it but think she has too much toy already. Thanks for helping me to look out.

RE: Organic Cereal
THink one of the mummies was posting abt this new cereal. I saw it that day too and bought it for Jamie. She can finish half ikea bowl full of oat cereal. You might want to take a look of the box...

498965.jpg

Mummies..Finally I have taken Jamie to swim..
This suit is passed down by my cousin, wanted to test out on Jamie first. Since she like it so much, I am going to get her a bikini !!

498973.jpg

Re: Replacing milk feeds with solids
I can't seems to replace milk feed with solids. My bb has one rice bowl worth of porridge...then he didn't want already. But barely less than 1 hr half he will be screaming for his milk feed already. Is this normal? Coz even with the solids, he is taking the same number of milk feed as before...

Hi Sunny,

I think the cereal just need to mix with milk or cooled boiled water. I have been using hipp organic rice cereal, oatmeal cereal and banana cereal for Aden. BTW, are you the same sunny in CCK ?

Esther,

Remember to get a medical report and the xray from Dr melissa in Hanoi so your pd in sin dun have to repeat the certain things which are done. The noise Aden made, I recorded on my phone and let my pd listen. Should the sin pd refer to specialist, let me know I will double check if this specialist is good.

Thanks Flo,

I am sure Aden will be fine. Just a bit skeptical about having him going through GA at such young age

denmy
re difficult baby
Gerald also has been v diff lately. We suspect that either he's teething or sick coz he has runny nose and cough, so cant slp well and v irritable. He has same pattern as Keenan, cannot fall asleep on his own at night. afternoon will slp a while then wake up crying, or cry before slping. Rem I told you that his record is waking 8 times a night. We're v shag lately.

Yuki/ queen
I'm in the club. Ger also has runny nose, cough and phelgm.
me also wake up MANY times a night to try to pacify him.

Breastmilk (Total)
1. Wendy, Ariene (Toothless)
2. Durianlover, Janelle (toothless)
3. Florence, Melody (toothless)
4. Valerie, Kirsten (5 teeth, since 4mth plus)
5. Queen, Isaac (Toothless)
6. Celine,Edgar (Toothless)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
8. Chicken Little, Aden (Toothless, but 1 bottom incisors popping a tiny weeny bit at 7 months now)
8. xjysg, Keith (2 bottom incisors, since 6 months)
9. Tabbiesus, tabby (toothless)
10. Mel, Gabriel (2 bottom incisors, since 6.5 months)
11. Sleepingdeer, Shannon (toothless)
12. Lingbel, Christabel (toothless)
13. Wenyl, Ethan (2 bottom incisors, since 7mths)
14. Mongs, Clariss (toothless, but think her bottom incisors cutting cut, can see a bit whitish)

Breastmilk (Partial)
1. Rachel, Dylan (2 bottom incisors, since 6mths)
2. Tracy, Megan (toothless. total FM since 7M)
3. SSF, Caleb (2 bottom incisors since 5Mths(breastfeed till 4 mths)
4. YuenYuen, Bryant (Toothless. Breastfeed till 6 mths)
5. MamaChan, Daren (toothless, TBF till 6.5 months, now on total FM)
6. Zhimin, Clarisse (2 bottom incisors, since 6-month. Partial breastfeed until 7-month, now only latch on at night for fun)
7. Denmy, Keenan (2 bottom incisors since 6 mths, bf until 6 mths)

Formula Milk
1. Babylon, Damien (2 bottom incisors)
2. Cookie, kaelyn (2 bottom teeth, looks like almost full grown. Since 5mths)
3. SH, JW (2 bottom teeth. Just came out)
4. Sept03bride, Caleb (1 bottom incisor, 6mth)
5. Sysac,Cephas (Toothless)
6. Esther, Renee ( 2 bottom incisors..since early August )
7. Mashybrainz, Caeden (2 bottom teeth)
8. rena076, elijah (toothless)

May,

denmy help me to buy this but sumo doesn't like to eat leh.. he still prefer to take the HT cereal.. i find that this is to take as it sucks up the water too fast.

Esther,

sumo also has this sound when he is sleeping.. but PD say lungs are clear.. i am still worried

Krissie,

sumo was just like keenan and Ger.. but now i am trying to train it back

Welcome all new mummies to the thread!
Our club has really grown!

Heehee, feeling a bit nostalgic and I went all the way back to the very 1st beginning of our thread... the mummy who started this thread is Mei2, wonder how she is now? Celine77, me , krissie, cookie, edd2jan... we are one of the first few to post! quite fun to read through some of the past threads again...

tabbiesus,
Thanks for your steam egg recipe!
I tried today, first time feeding edd yolk to Isaac. He took only a few spoonsful... but I finished the rest! Yum Yum...

sunny /sl,
Your ON items are still with me...

Sophia,
You've got mail from regarding the retro ball.

Sunny,
Just got to mix with boiled water and if u want, can mix in FM.

Rena,
U just mix with water? I use 2 tablespoons of cereal with 3scoops of Friso. Add quite alot of water to get the consistency I want.

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
8. Chicken Little, Aden (Toothless, but 1 bottom incisors popping a tiny weeny bit at 7 months now)
14. Mongs, Clariss (toothless, but think her bottom incisors cutting cut, can see a bit whitish)

Breastmilk (Partial)
6. Zhimin, Clarisse (2 bottom incisors, since 6-month. Partial breastfeed until 7-month, now only latch on at night for fun)

Formula Milk
9. Maywong, Jamie (2 bottom incisors,since 25Jul)

RE: Toys
Mummies, my SIL have bought one interesting toy for Jamie. Managed to take a pic of it. U might be interested. Bought at Taka fair for $49.90 I think.
It can be transform into 3 stage.
1) Gym (For baby to lie down to play)
2) Sit down Piano (Lower the height to transform)
3) Stand up Piano (Raise height when baby is able to stand)

499050.jpg
499051.jpg

Future Pianist performing....... Opps.....Mummy......I pulled this out (Future DESTROYER!!)

Aiyo May wong,

U tempted me to buy leh. I went to taka fair during lunch on thur, quickly grab the bibs and some stuff I want then rush off.

Dare not go too near or stay too long, really cannot control myself. Lucky over weekend, I wont have a chance to go since hubby will definitely pull a long face if I shop for toys

By the way, which day is little Jamie born ? Is there a latest list of mummies and date of birth of baby to share with me ? Any baby born same day as Aden on 9 Jan 06?

Sick Mummy and Baby

These few days hav been totali stressfull for me... first, Celeste was sick and today its the 3rd day running fever...thought she was ok yest since the temp was norm from noon til midnite,but it came back again this morning *devastated* then i got sick myself yest wf the same symptons as Celeste - fever,cough/phelgm... having a big test on Mon and i have totali no heart to study...i feel like im gona stop breathing soon...

god's child,
oh no. don't stress urself out. think u'r totally burnt out. do take care of urself ya. juz try ur best on mon, if u pass, good for u. if not, don't brood over it. ur health and celeste's health is more important. mayb u want to go out and get some fresh air for a couple of hours to relax urself.

God's Child,
Take care.. Try to nap when celeste is sleeping lor.

Chicken little,
I also very tempted to get her toys when I am out. Jamie is born on 15 Jan.

I can rem so far 11 Jan is the most popular date as they are a few babies that are born on that day.

RE: Bangkok Holiday
Mummies, Hubby and I are planning for a holiday to Bangkok. Should we go with tour group or free & easy?

Any other places to go esp for massage and beach? Want to relax..

hi SSF,
Thanks for not forgetting me.
when i read ur sentence describing me as nu qiang ren, i wanna laugh.. i m NOT LOR.. i prefer to be a tai tai man.. keke.. and i think i m more like a bao ga liao employee in the company than nu qiang ren.. keke.. anyway thanks..

hi queen,
yup we are among the few to start but when i look at the teeth survey, cephas and issac are still toothless like my javier..

hi May,
hehe Javier also has the same toy as Jamie! he was playing it since 3 mths old and its really nice when u see the way they explore. from can't reach the toy to now pulling all down.. keke..

Hi May

Mel has the same "piano" toy as Jamie. Her gu gu bot it for her and has been playing since one month old. She'll stand and press the button as tho she's a pianist every morning....keke

499214.jpg

Appetite,
Yeah, I was surprised too cuz I never thought she could eat that much. Usually my maid feeds her about 150ml to 180ml EBM when I'm working. When I'm at home, I'll latch her on after feeding her 2.5tbsp cereal mixed with 100ml milk. However, I don't know how much milk she drank cuz I cant tell latched on. I didn't think it was much cuz she's latched on for only about 10min.

Recipe to share: Beef and Baby Spinach Puree
I've tried this a few times and I think this is the best results I got. Ariene likes this dish so those of u who want to let ur babies try out beef can try this out too.

Ingredients :
1 piece (5-10g) beef
1 Handful baby spinach leaves
1/2 baby bowl water

Method:
1. Cook beef with 1/2 bowl water over low heat (I used a mini claypot to cook it) for 15min or until only 1/2 the water is left, ie, 1/4 bowl of beef broth.

2. Meanwhile, boil a small pot of water and blanch spinach leaves in the water until spinach is just cooked. Remove spinach from water and transfer to blender.

3. Blend the cooked spinach with the beef and beef broth until a smooth consistency is obtained.

You can also use the beef broth method above with more water to cook beef congee. Here's how I do it :

Claypot Beef Congee
1. Wash and soak 2tsp rice in water for at least 30min. Pound and break soaked rice into smaller bits using a pestle or chinese soup spoon.

2. Make 3/4 bowl of beef broth with 1 piece of beef. Reserve 2-3tbsp of broth (for blending beef later) and keep aside.

3. Pour the pounded rice with the rice water into the beef broth (with the beef inside) and bring to boil under high heat.

4. When boiling, reduce to low heat and simmer, stirring occassionally with a fork or small whisk to prevent congee from burning. Continue to simmer congee until congee is smooth (at least 30min to 1 hour, depending on how long the rice is soaked and how fine it was pounded).

5. Remove beef from congee and transfer to blender. Blend beef with the reserved beef broth until smooth.

6. Transfer beef puree into baby bowl and mix congee into the bowl. Allow to cool to appropriate temperature before serving.

May
I was showing my HB ytd...this toy and ask if wanna buy fro kaelyn... my HB give a straight NO..argh... fedup. Am going to show HB how happy Jamie enjoy the new toy

Chicken little
The list you wan.. it's probably somewhere. I t was updated by Ivory I think..
If you are patient enough, you can probably look into the archive around end Jan and Feb.. there should be a listing there as those were the times all of us delivered.

Anyway my baby is youngest here
she was born on 2Feb.

Re: SIL and MIL
Haizz... last nite SIL send me an SMS saying she is going to put her 2 kidz, age 9 and 7 at my MIL place for the whole week of school holidays. She is letting them stay overnite there...

So dropping an obvious hint that since MIL has to go back to her place to take care of her kidz, we will have to also move some of Kaelyn's things to MIL palce for that week and everynite and morning send and fetch Kaelyn to and from from MIL place.

The distance are not near, Pasir Ris to Potong Pasir and not only add stress to parents and also Kaelyn.
SO after discuss to hb... we propose how abt let the kids come stay over at our palce instead.
But SIL came back ill discuss with MIL again..
her main concern is her son ahs Broco Asthma ( anyone know what kind of asthma is this) I have dogs at home and her daugther has friends near MIL place.

Still dunno the outcome yet... but if really need to go to and from every day and nite to send and fetch Kaelyn from MIL.. think it's going to be a big headache.
Actually I feed upset with the news... and unexpected arrangement or perhaps I'm just upset that the routine that we have settled in have to be changed to accomodate 2 kidz who happen to be on School holiday.
Call me selfish.. but my priority is to take good care of my baby. Just becos 2 kidz wanna stay over at grandma. 2 adults and 1 baby have to accomodate them and shift lotsa things from Pasir ris to Potong Pasir and wake up early and rush back early to send and fetch baby.
Seriously I din think SIL has consider our difficulty before she made such a decision.
She merely sms me to "INFORM" me of her decision and said already discussed with my MIL.

But who are the ones ultimately be troubled and inconvenienced? it the 3 of here...
For MIL no difference, just whether stay at her place or mine.
For SIL... better still she has 1 weeks of peace without the kidz around.
Us??....

Sorry for the complaint.
P/S: letting kaelyn staying at MIL's is not an option definitely. I wan to see baby every nite and morning. That abt all the quality time I have with her on weekdays.

Cookie

Maybe u should ask your hb to talk to his sister to leave the arrangement as status quo. Also u have to take into consideration that Kaelyn may not be used to the new environment. Actually if I were you I'll not even suggest letting the 2 kids to stay at your pl. U know how handful they can be. I think your SIL is just too selfish.

cookie

u mean bronchial asthma? Its just a fancy way of calling plain old asthma... cos airway are called bronchi.. that's all...

Ur SIL sounds so unreasonable.. and ur hubby cannot do anything? Maybe he should let his mom know that it will inconvenience him.. affect his work or some excuse like that... sounds better than if u complain..

God's Child,
oh dear, I hope you try to rest as much as possible... is your hubby helping with Celeste since you are ill?

Wendy Ng,
your recipe sound yummy... will try it when I start Shannon on beef.

Cookie,
can your mum help out during this period of time? I think it's very tough if your MIL already agreed to your SIL letting their kids stay at her place. Maybe your MIL should have discussed this with you and hubby b4 agreeing... how about you and hubby taking turns to take leave to care for Kaelyn during that one week?

Thanks Flo, Tabbie and Sleepingdeer
so I'm not unreasonable or petty to feel upset rite?
Flo.. I cannot turn my SIL down abt her kidz. The best I can think of is what I have proposed.
I do get worry abt the 2 kidz. in fact that day MIL still mentioned the older gal has flea on her head... MIL dun dare to visit SIL when she heard the older has flea.
I mean.. my dogs dun have have flea or ticks ok

What u highlighted can be true... I have not thought that Kaelyn might be stress out with the new enviornment plus.. beside handful for my MIL, I'm a little worry abt my nephew - the younger boy, everytime I see him he is super active and hyper.. what if he ride his motor cycle ( he has 1 at my MIL place) and roll over my baby..- maybe I think too much... :p

Tabbie
oh ok.. thanks.
I have told me hb abt her sister sms... my HB feel it's really troublesome for us and baby. I'm glad he felt that way really...
I was sooooo scare he will be like "OK"...
Ya I will ask HB to do the talking, I have already told him I'm not coming in on this. He has to settle with his mum, but looks like I have to physcho him more before he speak to MIL.

Sleeping deer
I think MIL wants to be a "Good" person, you know what I mean.. she doesn't want to offend her daughter nor her son. I think thats why she agree with her daughter. But I'm also upset with my SIL, make decission without thinking of the consequence or others.
I think what you have mentioned might be good.
In fact my HB told me.. how abt he take leave to take care of Kaelyn.
Perhaps we will take turn to take leave after all.

cookie,
that sounds terrible. can your mum help during this period. It's indeed a big hassle to travel to & fro with bb. I had to bring my bb from pasir ris to balestier (my MIL place) every day too & it's very tiring. But no choice, like you i wanna see my bb everyday. Though everyone ask me to leave him at my MIL place, i have been stubborn & refusing.

SH
if my MIL wan us to travel to her place every day... i wun have look for a nanny near by instead.

jus check my schedule...the holiday week is also my mth end closing week... got to work ot n cannot take leave...oh dear.. how how ..*cry*

Hi cookie,

I understand how u would want to see baby but sometimes also very disruptive for baby.They have to pick up when sleeping, then sleep in car then have to be disturb again when reach home or vice versa. It is only a week or 5 days, then drop by to see baby , play and stay till the latest you can or when baby sleeps.

I used to send my gal to n fetch her from mum place everyday. Feel very bad to make her wake up early with us. Think positively, that this week you can have some private time with hubby which is very impt.

Hi sleeping dear
U can park at Comtech, the building it self, charges is $1:00 per hr (I think, ard $1.00 - $1.20). After 5pm its per entry ($2.00)

Thanks all for your advice

have duscuss with HB we will take turn to take leave, will discuss with SIL if she can send her kidz for 3 days instead of 5.. so we dun need to take so many days.

Hi Cookie
I bring my gal to my mum place every morning and bring her back everyday..in the beg. I feel so bad to distrub her sleep, but later this becomes a routine tht she wakes up auto the same time including weekend....

esther
hope that all is well with renee. yup, agree that you shld get a 2nd opinion from an expert in ENT. Also, think it's better to do it in Sg?

chillies
yup, I'll mix the cereal with puree (either bottled or home made).

SSF
Ger also loves Gerber's organic apples and sweet potatoes.

Rena
Maybe sumo's teething? actually, sometimes can tell that he is feeling uncomfortable and is unhappy. so poor thing.

hi mummies..
I'm so sad now..
Just now I sms my SIL to tell her can it be 3 days instead of 5 days..
She sms back... saying since it's so inconvenience she will cancel.. and say it's my PIL want the kidz over...
saying we take them for granted, say MIL no life, say dun push our luck too far...say I have to let MIL get out of our house. Say we cannot forever depend on MIL, she must have a life.

I dunno whats the problem. All I ask her for is shorten from 5 days to 3 days and me and HB is taking leave so MIL can go home take care of the kidz.
Am I wrong? to ask for 5--> 3 days?
I feel so hurt for been accursed of things I feel I tried my best to let my MIL not over work.
I ting kat dinner so she dun have to cook, I get part time maid so she dun have to do too much house work.
She "take leave" whenever she tell us, we will take leave. She going for china trip for 2 weeks in Dec.. we straight give her green light to go saying we can work a way out.
Although our method of bringing up baby may differ along the way, we argue, I may tell her off but this has got nothing abt not giving her life or pushing our luck too far or depend on MIL forever.

BTW my SIL is my HB youner sister.. and she refuse to talk to me when I call to ask her why make such accusation?... when she has problem to solve she come thru me to talk to hb.. now she kick a big fuss and I confronted her.. she request to talk to my HB only.
and my HB??... sound like a timid mouse when talking to her sis and now as though I'm the one kicking a fuss.
I'm really disappointed by the way my HB handle the situation.

here I am still difficult to swallow the lecture and accusation made someone who has never step foot into my house since my baby is born, who has never come in person to see my baby, who has no idea what is going on.

may
with Jamie now, I feel it's best to go for a F&E tour. Based on our short trip to KL, we spend much time feeding Ger and putting him to slp. don't think package tours are suitable.

cookie
hmm.. the situtation sounds tricky. I can understand roughly how you feel coz that time my nanny is not free and my mum has to look after my dad in hosp, I also took leave. Who has been looking after SIL's bb when they were young. Bringing kaelyn over for only 1 week, might be too disruptive for her. If I'm you, I'll also take turns with hb to take leave. Better let it seems like they (SIL and MIL) owe you rather than you owe them. I can see where your SIL's coming from. As parents we want the best for our children and not everyone can agree with our approach. Hang in there.
We're here to listen to you.

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)
8. krissie, gerald (toothless, can't see teeth but can feel it).

Formula Milk
9. Maywong, Jamie (2 bottom incisors,since 25Jul)

Re: Dream Feed
I have a question mummies regarding dream feed. Now that JW is older, he gets distracted easily & it's difficult to feed him during the day. However, when he is half asleep, he tends to finish whatever amount I gave him so far. Should i increase the dream feed amount?

Worried if it is not good to feed him too much during dream feed....like not good for adults to eat supper like dat...

Hi Mommies

Another pic of Mel to share. She managed to stand briefly without suppport yesterday morning

499721.jpg

Look Mommy, no hand!

Cookie

Humm, the situation indeed is quite tricky. If your work allow, maybe u should take leave and enjoy being a SHAM for one week and try out different recipe for Kaelyn

But be prepared that even if you take leave, your MIL and SIL may still be "unhappy". Anyway at the end of the day, if your conscious is clear u dun have to get upset over what they say. Is always not easy to handle relationship with ILs, cos I find that they always feel that they have lost a son rather than gaining a DIL the moment their son is married.

Flo,

now mel is so cool can stand on her own... i duno much wait how long then elijah can do that.. coz he can't even crawl..

Cookie,

Maybe your sil is just too sore that your mil looks after kaelyn rather than hers.. or that your mil may have told are somethings that make your sil upset so she take it out on you..

well if i were you i will tell her off... and then just take leave look after on my own.. plus i will give sil a piece of my mind...

Well,

my SIL is going to give birth any time and last friday thinking that she is going to give birth my mil preapre so many things but end up false alarm..

yesterday i saw that my mil pack the tonics for my sil and i was very sore about it.. not that i was jealous but the tonics was given to me by my mil relative but she only give me partial and kept the rest..

i was angry coz during my confinment .. the relative call my confinement lady asking what is needed as they know her well..so my cf told the relative what to buy then when the items came from malaysia to sin it seems that it is only 1/3 of her request.. and we were so puzzle and ask mil . she mention that too much i can't finish.. but the actual fact is that it was not enough and i paiseh to ask mil to return me the rest so i got my parents to get...

wow Flo, your mel very good leh. I just celebrated my Aden sitting unsupported for a few mintues and yours is standing oredi. Which day is she born ?

Rena,
wat is the weight of Elijah? My Aden can only crawl backwards.

Aiyo, dun let mil make you ladies angry la. Juz look at baby and everything will be just fine

chicken little,

Elijah is 10kg now.. but i think heavy bb just too heavy to crawl..

Cookie,

if i were you i will just tell mil that since so mah fan i have ask my friend mil to look after .. coz all mil want face... then you can tell her that your friends mil very good at kids lor.. make her feel as if others are better..

OH yesterday i did a very bad thing .. one of our church mate has just given birth and mil also know her and she was tell mil that now she is looking after on her own .. but we realise that she never help her bb put on botties , and let bb wear singlet to church.. well what will a mother of a one month bb know..

back home mil was say that the girl very capable can look after bb on her own.. so i snap at her saying tat i also look after sumo on my own dispite that i am a koo niang .. i told her it is mother instinct what..

me like very xiao qi hor.. maybe just upset lor..

coz my sil's birth make me and hb so busy..

rena,
yah quite true that heavy bb cannot really crawl. Caleb is crawling the commando style, but not a fast crawler.
But now when i put him in a sitting position and hold his hands, he is able to stand up. Very cute when i see him do that .. heehee

I am so angry with my BILso inconsiderate

Saturday
Supposed to bring my 2 boys to the zoo but we changed our mind that afraid that Damien might fuss for his afternoon nap. So instead of going to the zoo, we decided to go for a swim at my own brothers condo. (Walking distance from my house, so that we can come back in the noon for Damiens afternoon nap).

After the swim, on our way back home, saw my BIL and his son were waiting for us in the playground near my house. Think my hubby was not aware that he is coming coz I am the one who insist to go home coz Damien is getting cranky.

So the whole afternoon, my elder boy, Duncan was playing with his cousin.

Sunday
The whole morning, my elder boy was complaining itchy eye and keep rubbing on it. I tot was something got into his eye, keep washing his eye hope that he feel better.

Hb come back in the afternoon, saw Duncans eye was sore and told me that Duncan kana sore eye from his Brother and son (BIL got sore eye and his son was in recovering stage).

Simply dun understand, sore eye, why dun stay at home as most ppl know that sore eye can be spread.

I was not aware that both of them got sore eye coz I brought Damien to my room for afternoon. Lucky, I keep Damien away from his son.

Lucky, manage to bring Duncan to the doc yesterday night coz most of the clinics are closed on Sunday.

Worst of all, HB is taking care of the 2 boys alone at home today coz my mum will be back only tonite (KL).