(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tabbie,
EBM can steam? Does it smell? LAst time I overheated my EBM, the milk seperated out the oil and had a stinky fishy smell. Although LC say its ok, but Ariene don't like the smell and taste of it and refused to drink the EBM.

Teething,
Seems like my guess is quite right. Most of the breastfeed babies are still toothless and most of the formula fed babies have had their teeth already. Maybe its gotta do with the constitution and nutrients of the milk. Whatever it is, I'm on one hand eager to see my darling with her first tooth, yet, on the other hand, wish her teeth don't cut too early so she cant bite me when I latch her. How ironic.

Demny,
do you think Keenan is teething, that's why he is so cranky? Shannon has been cranky at nights only, we initailly thot cannot be teething, coz teeth dun only grow at night right? But strangely enough, I tried Dentinox teething gel as a last resort on 3 occasions when she was inconsolable, and all 3 times, she fell asleep after that? So i really can't tell, are you trying any teething gel?

Survey on BF/FM/Partial Fed bbs with or w/out teeth
Adding on to the list:

Breastmilk (Total)
1. Wendy, Ariene (Toothless)
2. Durianlover, Janelle (toothless)
3. Florence, Melody (toothless)
4. Valerie, Kirsten (5 teeth, since 4mth plus)
5. Queen, Isaac (Toothless)
6. Celine,Edgar (Toothless)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
8. Chicken Little, Aden (Toothless, but 1 bottom incisors popping a tiny weeny bit at 7 months now)
8. xjysg, Keith (2 bottom incisors, since 6 months)
9. Tabbiesus, tabby (toothless)
10. Mel, Gabriel (2 bottom incisors, since 6.5 months)
11. Sleepingdeer, Shannon (toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)
1. Rachel, Dylan (2 bottom incisors, since 6mths)
2. Tracy, Megan (toothless. total FM since 7M)
3. SSF, Caleb (2 bottom incisors since 5Mths(breastfeed till 4 mths)
4. YuenYuen, Bryant (Toothless. Breastfeed till 6 mths)
5. MamaChan, Daren (toothless, TBF till 6.5 months, now on total FM)

Formula Milk
1. Babylon, Damien (2 bottom incisors)
2. Cookie, kaelyn (2 bottom teeth, looks like almost full grown. Since 5mths)
3. SH, JW (2 bottom teeth. Just came out)
4. Sept03bride, Caleb (1 bottom incisor, 6mth)
5. Sysac,Cephas (Toothless)
6. Esther, Renee ( 2 bottom incisors..since early August )
7. Mashybrainz, Caeden (2 bottom teeth)

Hee, initially I had thought my girl is one of the last few who are still toothless cuz everyone is so crazily talking about their baby's tooth cutting. Glad to know we got so many companions out there :p

BTW, Rena, I sent u a PM asking how I can pay u for the kit this morning.

Chicken Little,
Yes my gal is also very inquisitive...getting more difficult to carry or to change her nowadays. Almost like a battle with her!

Mel,
Welcome!
i have yet to replace a milk feed yet, though wondering whether i should because my gal seems to be eating a huge quantity of semi-solids each time. Wonder if i'm over-feeding her coz she seems to be getting chubbier cheeks and bigger tummy!

Re: car seat
I remember some of you mummies buying baby-carseats at the Taka fair. Any recommendations? I intend to go down tomorrow to buy one as Janelle is outgrowing her current one. Thanks!

Sleepingdeer,
Haha i like the way you say it about teeth dun only grow at night! Haha
Yeah true i suppose. But perhaps they're tired at night + teething so extra cranky??

Hi Wendy,

Aden is on Total EBM, he is ok with the heated milk leh, dun think got fishy smell.

Sleepingdeer, when my son gets cranky, i oso applied a little Dentinox, and he just goes back to sleep. I only have this problem with him in the night so maybe teeth grow over nite.

DUrianlover,
re: picky eater
Yday my hubby told me that Ariene drank 250ml of EBM after eating 3 tablespoons of oatmeal cereal mixed with 120ml EBM and 1 banana! WOW! I never knew my girl can eat that much.. Anyway, tried feeding her the apricot u recommended today mixed with 2 tbsp of oatmeal cereal and 90ml EBM. She don't seem to like the taste of apricots and took damn long to finish the cereal. After that, can tell that she's still peckish so I latched her on after that. Also, she don't seem to like pumpkin alot cuz she also takes very long to finish even a small portion of pumpkin. Give her pear, she finish it very fast and will open her mouth before the spoon reaches her.

Wendy, Ariene is also 7 - 8 months now ? Aden only drinks 200 ml milk and take 4-5 teaspoons of oatmeal with 60 ml milk as supplements. How heavy is Ariene ?

He does not like the pear, pumpkin, carrot and sweet potato puree i made for him. Simply wants plain rice cereal or oatmeal cereal. Today gave him banana cereal he is ok.

would like to add on:
Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
8. Chicken Little, Aden (Toothless, but 1 bottom incisors popping a tiny weeny bit at 7 months now)
12. Lingbel, Christabel (toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)

Formula Milk

Warm welcome to the mummies who are new to this thread
Yeah...

Wendy Ng
wow Ariene sure can eat alot!... I remember you mention Arien is pretty small in size rite?
Good Gal

I wish Kaelyn can eat better.. think she can eat only abt half the amt of food you mentioned or less.

would like to add on:
Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)

Formula Milk
8. God's child,Celeste (2 bottom teeth..only 9days old! )

Interesting survey! Here's mine to add on:

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
13. Wenyl, Ethan (2 bottom incisors, since 7mths)

Breastmilk (Partial)

Formula Milk
7. Mashybrainz, Caeden (2 bottom teeth

wendy,
Haha Ariene must have really surprised u with her appetite that day! She sure can eat alot! i think beat Janelle flat! Though Janelle also eats a lot...but i just continue feeding her as long as she can eat..not sure whether she knows her limits though! She seldom rejects food, in fact most of the time she's demanding for more!
i tried avocado and she loves it plain! Loves banana and papaya too. Or rather, i think she loves everything

Welcome to all the new mummies... our family getting bigger!

Added my name to the survey:

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)
6. Zhimin, Clarisse (2 bottom incisors, since 6-month. Partial breastfeed until 7-month, now only latch on at night for fun)

Formula Milk

Mel
Like MamaChan, we've replaced 2 milk feeds with semi-solids already. My gal (she's 8 mths old) has 5 scoops of cereal with 2oz of BM + puree (veg/fruit) for lunch and brown rice porridge about with fish, meat & veg in the evening. Although my gal does crave for milk usu 1-2 hrs after her solids.

Wendy,
oh wow, Ariene really has a big appetite. My gal doesn't like apricot too. Dun know why she didn't like it, thot it is sweet. She's ok with pumpkin tho.

Hi Florence,

How much is your gal's milk in take now ? When you says 5 scoops means 5 teaspoons ?

How do you cook the brown rice porridge with fish, meat and what vege you use ? I brought some brown rice but dunno how to start.

Mel
Actually I can't really tell cos her intake is very inconsistent. I latch her on in the morning and sometimes at night. She dun usu drink alot in the day (sometimes can be as little as 4-7 oz) but come nite time from 8pm onwards, she can drink like 7-9 oz.

RE: brown rice porridge
my mom uses slow cooker to cook. She'll add the brown rice with either add pre-cooked pork rib broth or water with a piece of pork block. When the porridge is soft enuff, she'll add in fish, mince meat and veg and cook it over the stove. She'll blend it just before feeding. Hope this helps.

I'll normally latch her on in the morning and sometimes at night. During the day, she normally drinks about

Wa... the list getting very big...

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)
6. Zhimin, Clarisse (2 bottom incisors, since 6-month. Partial breastfeed until 7-month, now only latch on at night for fun)
7. Denmy, Keenan (2 bottom incisors since 6 mths, bf until 6 mths)

Formula Milk

re: difficult bb
Keenan is slightly better now. It seems that his fussing comes and go... perhaps its really teething. I have Dentinox on standby, so will use that when the situation gets out of hand.

Wendy,
ok, i will reserve the Nepia diapers for you.

re: Taka bb fair
I was there this evening and I bought the Tomy Pooh Baby Activity Walker/ride-on trike. A very good buy: I paid $79.95 (usual price $139.95).

I also bought a few nice 'I'm Toy' wooden musical toys for $4.90 each. This brand also carries very very lovely wooden rocking horse and wagon w/ wooden blocks at $39.90 each. $59.00 for a bedsheet set (nappy stacker, cot bumper, 2 wooden toys for attaching to the bumper, fitted sheet, quilt cover, dustliner etc.) very good bargain leh!!!!!

Denmy,

Keenan and sumo may have the same toy coz i also bought the wooden musical toys..

Seems like sumo's two buddy already have more teeth than him.. as eh still bo chay..

RE: hb

at 1 am this morning hb came back.. but he was making a lot of noise that sumo woke up and he wanted sumo to play with him but i was very angry and snap at him.. i stop him form playing as it was time to sleep..man are just stupid

I have one tin of Similac follow-on formula expiry 10 Feb 2008 to let go at $23 as I switch from Similac to Enfalac. Anyone interested ? I stay at bedok reservoir, would prefer self-collect. If not can meet at Tanjong Pagar, Bedok MRT, Tampines MRT.

Hi Rena

Dun be angry with hb. I guess he missed Elijah that's why got carried away and forgot was 1am in the morning. Just enjoy your weekend

RE: Food Jar

Mummies who have bot food jar, which brand and model would you recommend? Am thinking of getting one but not sure which type is better, those with many compartments of just one container?

Rena, you were telling me the one you have is good but bulky which brand and model is it? Can't remember

Chicken Lil & Mel,

Zhimin,
haha, i can't wait to have dylan as my son-in-law mah...

Mel,
I've replaced my bb's milk-feeds with semi-solids since she turned 7mths. here's her feeding:

wake-up: 180ml FM
lunch: 3tbsp cereal + 90ml FM
tea (4hrs later): 180ml FM
dinner: porridge (about 6-8 chinese soup spooons. thick thick)
supper (4hrs later): 180ml FM (recently she's starting to skip this feed so may drop it soon?)

Flo,
i've got the Tiger 0.9l jar (U.P.S$65) but no chance to use yet. it comes with a carrier bag. if u got shell card, can redeem with 1200pts at the dealer at liang seah st.

they ve a smaller one, 0.7l. (U.P S$55) shell card 1200pts can get $40 off but u still ve to pay $15. that's why i changed for the bigger one.

Xray for renee,

i'm so worried for renee.. for the past 3 mths or so , she has been making this weird sound as if she has difficulty breathing. i was worried it's asthma so i brought her to see her pd 2 days ago.

her pd says to monitor her and hee how..unless we wanted to do and xray or scope down her throat! she says if not too serious, maybe we can monitor 1st...

then today, she called me before flying back to bangkok..she says after thinking bout it for these 2 says..and she also discussed with ENT, she tot maybe, afterall..its better to get an Xray done to be on the safe side.

she says there's few possibilties...windpipe blocked or maybe even growth...

i hope there's nothing but then if the xray turns out nothing and her condition is still the same then maybe we really have to consider a scope ... !!!!!

so sad

esther
that kind of sound you talking abt?
Kaelyn also make sound during her sleep.
But her sleep so far ok dun seems bothered by it..
sometime she make those "oink oink" sound dunno from nose or windpipe..
she has these funny sound quite young. I told my PD before.. he told me as bb grow bigger they do make other sound other than cry.. so I shouldn't worry too much.
I'm not too sure.. but now I dun bother by the little sound she make.

Brought Daren for his Prenavar jab for pneumococcal today. At 7.5 months, he now weighs 8.3kg and is 71cm tall. He's now in deep sleep, hope he won't have any fever nor rashes. The jab costs me $170! Sigh...but I guess prevention is better than cure.

Rena
I agree with cookie and Flo, think your hb misses sumo and got carried away. DOn't be angry lah... enjoy the weekend k?

esther
Oh dear me...let's hope that there's really nothing wrong with Renee k?

Esther,

Dun worry too much, maybe after the x-ray , it will prove Renee is fine. Aden also makes some noise like hard to breathe but pd says it is ok.

Sophia Mamachan,

I also feel prevention is better than cure. Imagine there are no such vaccines last time and many pple have to suffer the consequences. I paid 400 last month to give my baby 1 jab, 4 year old 1 jab plus his hep b booster.

Florence,

I have got the jar from isetan private sale. Have not used it yet. Bought it though i already have a tiger thermal jar. Find it very convenient if you are on a trip.

Any mummies give birth to a gal in GHL during the period 8 - 11 Jan 06 ? Actually Aden has got an extra finger on his right hand. Nurse told me there is another gal born with one on her left hand. If this mummy is in this forum, wants to check what she doing with it? Aden will be going through a surgery in Oct

Chicken Little

Sorry got the name mixed up, I replied to Mel instead of you. Prob too late in the nite..keke.

Further to your qn on scoop for the cereal, is those milk powder scoop and when I use the std measuring spoon, 1 scoop = 1 tablespoon.

Esther
Maybe you want to bring Renee back to seek second opinion before putting her through all the tests? Cos doc there may not be as experience and is causing you unnecessary worries?

Chicken Little
With such advance medical care these days, I'm sure Aden will be good hands.

Thank flo,

Last time I used to think aden drinks a lot. Now I feel he is average after seeing the amount of milk and food some babies here take.

Esther,

I very motivated to make puree again. Aden finished 8 oz of milk , and ate up 1 cube apple puree plus 4 tsp of banana cereal.

like to ask hor...if the kindermusik class starting at Babies N Cream for tomorrow still on or not huh....I a bit blur blur, can update me?

Hi Wendy

If the EBM has been in freezer for too long, there'd be a fishy smell. For those who are relatively newer, say a few days old, the smell is not so bad. It also depends on what you eat. One reason for your baby not liking it could be it's too hot ... my older boy actually stopped taking EBM when he was 8 months. I think if given fresh vs frozen food, one whould go for tha latter, so I thot that's why he choose to go direct.

Hi Esther, I'd suggest go for a PD who's expert in Asthma or respiratory system. Babies have very small windpipe and that's why a lot of them tend to have phlegm and cough etc. My younger son also had an issue on his kidney (diagnosed before birth) and after consulting my PD who wanted to do an invasive procedure on him when he was 3 months old. We went for a second opinion with another expert. My PD is not an expert in that area. We felt better with the 2nd PD though asked to do the same procedure. Everything showed to be normal. Now just monitoring the situation; issue is still there but as the baby grows, it got better ...

.ky.

cookie, sophia, angie, flo

hi hi, renee jus came back from her xray. the xrays didnt show anything but my pd got to hear her weird sound again. and she too, agrees with me that the sound is rather unusual in babies.

she feels its more from the throat ( btw..she's an american attached with SOS Bangkok, and rather experienced ) so now the next step is to check on her windpipe..

it has to be done by ENT specialist and got to use sedatives on Renee
and she says not to do it in hanoi as they are not very experienced for doing it with babies.

She says to play safe as if it's really a growth and we ignore it..if it gets bigger than it'll be dangerous..

Ky,

Thanks for your suggestion. I will have renee checked with my sin pd as well and then decide from there. the thing is renee makes the sound all the time..not once in awhile .. everyday it happens..sometimes very loudly..and there's no phelgm/coughing..( which my pd also checked with me )

and she was a little concern as this only started bout 2 mths ago and not at birth..so i think i'll just double check with my pd again when i'm back!

thanks to all mummies for your concern!

RE : Meals

My boy now is simply not keen in milk. Gotta feed with spoob. I wonder is it because he's going through teething. PD said gums are hard and going to but not yet. In another month or so. Sian...I'm so afraid he's not eating enough. This is wat I give.

10am. : Cereal (mix with 100ml FM)
2pm milk : 120ml-150ml
6pm : Cereal (mix with 100ml FM)
10-11pm : (120ml-150ml)
1 night feed :150ml-180ml

In between I am trying to give fruit. Maybe abt 50ml of pureed apple.

If i serve those baby jar veg, can mix in wif cereal or i feed a few mouths of cereal n then veg???

hello all mummies,

sorry for nt contributing for so long. hope you all have not forgotten me. i was really busy the last few mths, going US for 2 weeks for work and then back to clear all the mess and then have to train many new pple as alot of experienced ones (which mostly are my good coll for years) left the company. anyway i still try to catch up with the thread here and am glad that it is still very active

just read that some babies here have teeth. well, Javier is still toothless.. but i have a relative's son, who is born abt 2 weeks later already have 4 teeths and one coming out soon. she is on partial i think.

May

were u looking for the Pooh bouncer, rocker and push toy? I saw it at Tangs for 129 supposed to be on offer.. is it that considered a good buy? I'm so tempted to get one.. cos it looks so fun...

Breastmilk (Total)
7. sunny, YX (Toothless)
14. Mongs, Clariss (toothless, but think her bottom incisors cutting cut, can see a bit whitish)

Breastmilk (Partial)
7. Denmy, Keenan (2 bottom incisors since 6 mths, bf until 6 mths)

Formula Milk

A warm welcome to Mel and Chicken little!

chillies - yes u can add those jar food into cereal or porridge. i did that and Caleb loves them. i just found out that his fav is organic apples and sweet potato from gerber. i tried different brands...heinz and gerber and i try to buy organic as much as i can although its ex lor. i have yet to just those from HT. but i think have to order as I don;t see them ard in NTUC at all.

edd2jan - no you are not forgotten
you sure are busy and sounds like a nu qiang ren. hee.. yeah this thread is pretty active and organising many outings and oh bulk purchase too! haha.

Tupperware's SHape-O-Toy Ball aka Retro Toy Ball
Any other mummies interested? I'm in the midst of consolidating orders and submitting to my friend by SUnday night as she needs to put in orders by Monday so that some of the mummies can get their stuff soon. The toy is $31.40.

Kindly PM me is keen.

welcome, all the new mummies to this thread...!

RE: HT
To those mummies who have ordered from me, the goods are gonna come Tuesday, and the lady has replied me that all is in stock...! I will pay first and then email you individually on how to collect and the amount to transfer to my bank account, thanks!

Hi Esther,
hope Renee is okay!

tabbs and May,
my neighbour has the blouncy pooh bear, and her daughter really loves it... she can bounce so hard, with her looking up, that it looks like she is aiming for the ceiling! Shannon has tried it, but so far, think she doesn't have the strength (or weight!) to bounce the thingy hard...