(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Cookie/Ling Ling/Yuen Yuen

Oh wow, are of us are with our spouses for so long. I guess when u are together for too long, sometime u just dun bother to plan anything for special occasions (which is bad, cos we then tend to take things for granted). Me and hb have dated for 7 years and married for 7 years - translating to spending 14 bday, anniversary, valentine's day and christmas together by end of this year. After the initial few years of "surprises", we then progress to set a budget and you choose your own present. Now we dun even bother to buy present, when I feel like having something, then just tell him I want that...haha bad rite but I must admit I a guilty party of doing the same thing. But we do still go out for dinner on special occasions just that no more present. I am not sure it will get worse now with bb coming into the pic, just simply got no time and energy to do such things...haiz. But I guess what is more impt is that the marriage is blissful and happy I guess

Hi Tracy, yeah, Sarah Mae's going too. Hb thinking of belanja-ing his parents to go too (so that they can care for Mae when we are doing our own stuff). But dunno how feasible it is.

Sysac, yah - the two really have quite a bit in common. Actually have tried putting her in it several months ago. She looked really uncomfortable in it. Think maybe she's still quite small for it. The Zapp actually look as if it is meant for a 1 or 2 year old. Well we're too lazy to uninstall the canvas so that we can use the maxi cosi travel system, so guess she'll have to bear with the discomfort. =)

SophiaMamaChan - Wow, talk about life time guarantee! Then, we can keep for our grandkids too! Haha...

Sandrachu - Tks for sharing the info. He was fretting in it when we first put him in. He was alright after he settled in. I wanted to change back to the Maxi-Cosi but HB said he has to get used to it. So, we'll continue to use it.

Sleepingdeer/Wenyl - Added your blogs into Cephas' too!

Help, my boy has been sick with fever, flu, cough for the past 3 days... today finally better but he still continue to refuse milk... everyday only takes 1 bottles = 180ml or lesser... no other food intake... how????

Help mummies!

For the 1st time ever, I noticed my boy's groin area quite red, especially in between the thigh and groin where it's red where also the diaper's part at the inner thigh is. I see already heart very pain...wondering any cream that you mummies can recommend that I can apply for daren?

Pochacco
Do give your boy plenty of fluids if possible like water. I remember when Daren was sick, he didn't want to drink milk but prefers water instead! If your boy doesn't like drinking water from bottle, can try spoon feeding.

Don't worry too much, his appetite will come back with a vengeance when he recovers =) Like my aunt always advised me, give lots of tender loving care and cuddles. My mum will always say," Drink water, drink water!"

RE: Teething
Mummies..Jamie only have two teeth and stopped growing. How many teeth does ur baby have now?

RE: PIL
Me here to complain abt my two crazy in-laws again. MIL called me today. Tell me that my FIL had decided to buy 2 tortoise for Jamie to play! Urgh!! I was very pissed and tell her off.. Jamie is too young to play with tortoise. Furthermore, no one at home, we close windows..by the time we come home, the whole house will stink! Then MIL tell me that my BIL used to play with tortoise when young. I kept quiet and I think she know I am not happy. Then she say she told FIL not to buy liao as we won't want to keep and instead, she tell FIL to buy and put in HER HOUSE INSTEAD!! Urgh.. I have nothing to say..since it is not me that clean up. Only that I have to keep Jamie away from the tortoise when we are that next time. Can't imagine what stupid ideas they will come up with next time.

RE: Diaper from Japan

Can't remember who was asking me about diaper in Japan, SSF itz u? Anyway, my SIL say u can get it from supermarket or discount store. She dun usu buy from the same place, she'll check out the price first. She has bot merries and unicharm (similar to Mommy Poko) for me before. Unicharm baby wipes is cheap oso I. It comes in a bag of 10 packs x 80 sheets. Think I paid slightly less than $1.40 per pack. If you are those that like street stall, u should check out Ameyoko Street at Ueno. Also should check out the sushi @ the fish market - cheap and good by Japan standard. I think my Jap colleagues previously brought me to this restaurant called Sushizanmai.

MamaChan

Re: Rashes
Does the diaper rash cream you are currently using help? I use A+D cream and so far so good. Mel got very bad diaper rash last week when she had diarrhoea but managed to clear up within a few days after I apply the cream. Denmy using it for Keenan as well, Denmy is it effective for Keenan ?

May

My gal still haven't grown any teeth yet and she's 8mth plus oredi.

Your in-laws quite siao har. Ya I would keep Jamie away from the tortoise too, what if she put it inside her mouth???

sleepingdeer, added your blog already! good idea to go for the mattel sale, maybe wait for SSF/ling ling to feedback first? i don't have any available sitter leh, so have to bring bb along. but if it's so crowded, i will likely have to give a miss...

gals, how was the trip to forum?

May, kirsten has 5 teeth already. her first 4 popped out very fast but her 5th one is like stuck after the gum has opened up.
Wah, your in-laws really siao. Their house is quite dirty already right? Still want to dirty it some more with tortoise.

flo! yeah it's me who ask u abt the diapers and wipes in Japan. oh so wipes are cheap la..ok then i dun bring too many over. diapers how much har? is it very cheap or abt the same price? thks for the info and sorry for asking so much. haha..

re: makeup disc
hi mummies...thot i share with you that i just got my i nouvi member card. it's not ransferable but i got 10% discount if anyone want to buy any product. if anyone got other discount for other makeup ..please share. hee..

SSF

I can't remember exactly I think I paid about 23 cents per piece (for small size) for both Merries and unicharm (exactly like Mammy Poko - same co). Ever bot 19 cents per piece b4 cos there's sale.

Flo, Mamachan,

re: rashes
The A+D is good. But I realise it's not the nappy cream but the nappy that Keenan is using thats causing him the rash. It seems like Nepia is not so suitable for him, whereas when I use pampers premium or even cloth diapers, the rash doesn't appear....

Mamachan, if you like, I can pass you one tube of the A+D cream to try. I kiasu, ordered 3 big tubs and 3 tubes in a BP...so got extra to spare.

re: Nepia
I still have 2 packs of Nepia L size and 4 packs of XL. I got them at $14 each just b4 Nepia increased their price to $15. Anyone interested? I want to let go....

re: teeth
Keenan only has 2 bottom incisors.

re: difficult baby
very stressful... Keenan has been really difficult these few days. Cannot fall asleep on his own at night. Afternoon worse, will wake up howling after every 15mins. Can only carry him upright and pat his back will he then fall asleep. Tried putting him back into his cot just b4 he dozes off but he will start howling again.

Then he started rejecting his milk. Refuse to take his last feed at night. In the morning, will have to coax him by singing and rocking him at the same time. In the afternoon, if lucky, he will only take 1 feed....

Also, he doesn't shake his head from side to side anymore, he will nod his head repeatedly when he fusses. Is this normal?

And he has very bad breath. I mean smelly or what!?!? Is it the food he is taking? My mum and I suspect that it could be the ikan billis powder that we add into his porridge. Any advise, mummies? I am already at my wits end....

re: difficult baby
could it be teething again? I really hope it's only teething and nothing else... at least i will know for sure that it's only a phase he is going through... will try to "dong" for this period...

Denmy

My gal was totally uninterested in drinking milk at one stage too. Does Keenan fuss alot when he drink or just distracted? For Mel, she was just distracted and can take hours to finish her milk. The only time that she drinks fast and alot is during dream feed, have u tried dream feeding Keenan? I think is probably a passing phase, did he behave in a similar manner previously when he's teething? Not so sure about the bad breath, have not experienced it before. Could it also be becos he hasn't slept well?

SSF

Forgot to add, do remember to check out the latest collection of burberry bluelabel. My SIL was telling me is quite nice

denmy

My girl is the same age as Keenan... she is behaving exactly the same way.. fussy, not wanting to sleep.. super manja... sigh... but no teeth leh... can it still be teething?

May
My girl still bo geh.. haha.. but she likes to bite with her gums...

Haven't been posting for the past few days.
My Isaac has runny and blocked nose for the past 3 days already and poor baby woke up a few times a night. And poor me cos I have to pacify and latch him on a few times a night too! Was a walking zombie at work. He still hasn't recovered... Visited the GP, she gave a phyto-mucolytic syrup and nose drops.
Any other way of clearing the blocked nose? Think it's making Isaac uncomfortable at night...

Hi Queen,

Megan is also having running nose, cough and phlegm these ferw days. She has been waking almost every hour the night before and woke up at 1am this morning and cried very loudly. Had to pacified her till almost 2am......... I am also like a zombie...

DO you have this sucking aparatus to suck out the mucus? The doc suggest we do that and then drip the nose drop before she sleeps.

Don't blow the fan directly at Issac. Aircon is ok but not too cold as suggested by the doctor.

Re :HB Handling baby alone at home
My mum will be going to KL over this weekend and can only come back on Monday nite.
I cant take leave due to important meeting on Monday. No choice to get my HB to take leave.
A bit worry, not sure whether he can handle the baby as Damien is a fussy eater and drinker.

Re: teething
Damien also has 2 bottom incisors.

Hi denmy,
we also give Caleb the ikan billis powder, the breath still ok. Does he have mucus or phlegm? Cos i tink sometimes the phlegm or mucus is the cause of stench.
REjecting milk, issit because he is too full that's why he's rejecting his milk? Sometimes when BB are not feeling well, their appetite will be affected. Maybe u wanna cut down 1 solid meal and feed milk instead? See if it works?

re: runny nose
Kaelyn also has runny last week for abt 4-5 days... Thankfully she is well now..
After reading mashy use the following
http://www.sterimar.com/

I saw at PD clinic so I bought 1 too...
call me KS... we also bouhgt a nose drop from pahrmacy which my PD say it's ok to use.
So PD recommend if mucus is thick, spray this Sterimar first let mucus flow down then drip nose drop to dry up the mucsus inside..
During her peak runny nose days. I feed her runny nose medication at nite.
She totally refuse to take the medication so I add it into her milk. She couldnt finish her milk either.. so the real dose she took is lesser then 1.5ml most of the time.
After abt 2 days.. she is fine.
Hope the above helps.
what I do is..

Oh oh.. at nite.. I also drop a few drop of cali bb cold and flu essentiel oil on her beddings so the breathing will be smoother.
When she has her block nose and can't sleep.. special offer to her :p I let her sleep in between us with a safety pillow to pop her head up. She actually can sleep much much better thru.

mamachan,
oh dear, have you tried putting diaper rash cream on the affected area?

May,
re: teeth
mine still bo gay...and no signs of it coming out too..haiz..

haiz your in-laws so cartoon. most older gen try to separate babies from pets but they other way round..so strange..

Re:trimming nails
i only reach my ILs place after work abt 6pm and each time i try to trim my baby's nails cos too long, ILs will say cannot. cos its at night already, cannot cut nails! i duuno wats the silly logic lah but i cut my own nails at night cos no time wat.. then ystrday i tried again to cut her nails. besides it being night, they say cos its the first day of lunar calendar "chu yi", can't cut nails...faintz...

demny,
my fren's baby had bad breath too. i'm asking her for advice, will post when i get her reply later. guess she's busy with kids now...

denmy,
here's wat my fren says. she consulted 2-3 docs and all say bad oral hygiene but my fren cleans her gal's gums n tongue during every bathtime. so she believes its due to heatiness. now her gal using mouth wash prescribed by doctor. her gal is now 1.5yrs old.

she also ask whether keenan uses pacificer? if so, she advise to change brand try try.

hope this helps :p

Hi Denmy,

I don't mind taking over the Nepias.

Teeth,
My Ariene is still giving toothless grins. Last week, I saw Janelle, she too, is also toothless. Anyone else out there still bor gay?

Tracy
my MIL also say dun trim bb nails at nite.. but mainly I think she scare dark dark I will cut her fingers. But i have no choice.. I'm the only person who trim her nails and I come home only at hnite mah..
so I dun care still trim in the room with bright light lor.

Demny
since u use Pampers premium I last heard GIANT having promo on PP. 3 Pack for $53+.
But dunno if offer still valid.

Tracy

I think is a old maid's belief (my grandma used to stop us from cutting nails at night) cos she said if it bleed will not stop...no logic right.

SophiaMamaChan - I use Vaseline for Cephas' bottom. If red, put more. Works all the time.

All - Cephas is still bo gay. However, I think he's teething soon. He bites and rubs his gums against anything hard.
I line his gums with Detinox in the evenings to ease the discomfort.

Hi May
I think your in-laws xiao, tortorise so dirty and what happen if they bite Jamie?

Teething
My boy have been teething for ages but till now still no teeth. My hb getting a bit worry. Not sure normal or not as my elder girl started to have teeth when she was 4 months and by 8 months she have 6 already. Asked PD and she said for boys it is normally slower but it is so slow??? Some friends mentioned that their kids only started having teeth at 1 year old. Wow so late??

flo - thks for the pricing!
what abt the burberry blue label. a colleague of mine may be planning to buy a tote bag for 300 plus. is it really cheap? u mean singapore dun have?

mamachan - u try wiping that area with warm water frequently. check on the diaper u are using as well and wear the diaper loosely. lastly do apply some cream. best is get some cream from PD or try some barrier cream for a start. my son show allergy to pet pet diaper esp that plastic tape.

re: baby sick
seems like lots of bb is down with flu and cough. my boy is still recovering and i can understand how some mummies are getting on with sick baby. so terrible..they cannot sleep, eat and cranky..we also have a hard time.

Queen,
U can try Karvol from pharmacies. Its for blocked nose & chest congestion. Works well for Ethan. Can sleep thru the nite when we apply tat on his pillow.

May
tortorise! yucks, what if jamie chew on it??!! anyway jamie too young to really "play" with tortorise. your in law nothing better to do...

i always do it in the night when feeding him his last milk before his bedtime. tats the only time we could trim his nails bcoz he will be busy drinking and wont move around. my hb will feed him and i will be the maid trimming little master's nails =p

re: Teething
Dylan's 2 bottom incisors are out. very cute.
think its very individual for each baby to teeth at what stage. eventually their little milk teeth will greet you =)

re: nose block

when renee was going to fly to viet for the 1st time, i was worried bout nose blocks and asked my pd for drops, she gave me Otrivin...

later, my 8 yr old bil came over and he had nose block so i used it on him...

so eventually when renee had it, i had to go to the PD here in viet to get it and they gave nose spray, Sterimar..

i personally find that nose drops are better coz nose sprays are like a sudden gush of water into the nose.. renee was crying like mad when we sprayed it in!!

Wendy,
My Isaac also boh gey.

Which I don't mind actually, wonder what's it's liek to latch him on when he has teeth! Myabe by then have to bottle feed liao.

Re. nose block
Thanks for the suggstions... the nose drop that my GP gave, she said can only use 5 consecutive days. After which have to stop for 1 week. Then resume.

Re. trimming nails
I do it when Isaac is sound asleep.

Re. baby sick
yah, seems like the flu bug is flying around. 1st time Isaac got sick since he's born. He's really mang zhang at night, hope can go back to his normal sleep routine when he recovers! Really don't want him to start waking up a few times a night like when he's in his first few months!

Wenyl,
Karvol not used directly on BB? Why apply to pillow?

dear mummies,

i would like to share this article my sis gave me with all of you.

she recently went on a trip to india to do perform some volunteering work and there's a very interesting topic about toys we get for our children...my sis specialises in kid's education..etc..

so she feels strongly about this issue..so i tot i'll just share with all of u here..

i tried downloadin it but couldnt..anyone who's interested in reading article, let me know, ok? i'll email to u!

Queen
Karvol CANNOT use direct on bb!.
I think the label say so
what my firend teach is drop onto the should area on the PJ so bb can smell and yet dun uaully touch that area

Esther
for past few times.. my HB administer the spray while I put bb on my lap, suprisingly when my HB do it or when bb see HB face she is ok and wun cry.
One nite HB not around, MIL wanna to do it but bb cry badly, I try she also dun allow.
next morning HB do it.. bb ok.. strange.
kaelyn seems acceptable to the spray so far, she will hold and let us spray as it she know it will make her feel better

SSF
Burberry blue label was created for the Jap mkt. I think is available in HK as well. They are generally cheaper than Burberry cos most of the bag are made of canvas and not leather. They are also much more colourful and trendy.

RE: Teething
oh so Mel is not the only bb that is bo gay...keke. Was telling my hb a few days ago seems like most bb here also got quite a number of teeth, so she still have companion
Anyway, my girlfren told me that if bb grow teeth quite late is likely to come out all in a short span of time. Hopefully that's the case.

Sysac,
My gal has been biting on hard objects for months and have used up more than half of the detinox but still no sign of coming out leh.

Esther
Am interest in the article can u email me. Thx

hi queen ... karvol cannot be taken so don't put it too near the baby; I put on hanky and tie near him. it doesnt cure, just east the breathing. for small babies, be careful what kind of medication and freq to give. 1 PD gave me a medication which I realize is not suitable for under 2 years old. Dunt worry when the gey comes, just have to teach the baby not to bite ... mine has 2 and he knows ... it gets worse when more teeth comes along but they learn not to bite

.ky.

Teeth and breastfeeding,
Queen, Issac on TBM also? HMm.. sounds like the babies who are breastfed or on TBM are still toothless? Lets do a poll and see if my guess is right. Mummies whose babies already have teeth, you can also help by typing down when the first tooth cutie, eg, how many months old.

Breastmilk (Total)
1. Wendy, Ariene (Toothless)
2. Durianlover, Janelle (toothless)

Breastmilk (Partial)

Formula Milk