(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mamachan

Was it you who went to the Chinese Sin Seh? Where? Coz i think i wanna bring my boy to see chinese sin seh. His cough isn't getting better. Still a lot of phelgm.

mashy,
it was me who went to chinese sin seh (Yu Guo) at Changi Road East. Actually to be honest i don't find that the sin seh really helped my gal's phlegm get better, but i hv other frenz who go there who swear by the effectiveness of their tui na massage!

Tel: 64474761

Cannot book appt one...but just call to find out wat time to go. Think lunch hour is 12:30pm-2pm, or something like that. Wednesdays i think they are closed.

Demny
I have been the one who "prepare" for celebration most of these years.. and somehow I grew soo tired abt it.
Think I'm going to let it be this year, if nothing happen I will probably be very sad.
and seriously.. knowing my hb.. I dun think anything suprise celebration will suprise him!..
perhaps if I sign him up for a professional golf course with some professional he will really be surprise, surely I'm not going to spend money and torture myself :p
Hope something good come out of it...

Sept bride
Really har.. cook so little?..
what method u using? cos my MIL not using the double boiling cup method.. just use pot and it's hard to imagine using pot to cook so little.. wouldnt it end up all sticking to the base...
Perhaps I will try one to see if it's possible

Sorry ah...i still very lost. how to do the double boil method?

Wanna tell my MIL...she kept insisting cannot cook until nuan enough for bb...then say bb don't want to eat...so tot of telling her this method of cooking...or else maybe i will have to go buy her a slow cooker....

hb flying off today.... :-(

SH - i have added JW's blog to mine

Ivory - since krissie does not want the HT cereals, I will take it and collect from CCK. Please contact me for collection.

Wenyl -i heard that the leapfrog fridge magnet is ready for collection? please email me the details for payment and collection. Thanks ya!

mashy
Yes I brought my boy to Eu Yan Seng clinic for TCM and consulted a chinese doctor. The branch I went to was at Tiong Bahru Plaza, 5th floor. Think they have another branch in CHinatown. They are really good. My boy's phelgm is all better already. No more coughing to get rid of the phelgm.

SAHM gathering at Botanic Garden
Sleepingdeer, aiyah, cannot eat snake lah...me trying for 'Best Employee Award' here lah...hahaha, like real. Just kidding, no such award, but my research assistant who I sort of report to has been on a warpath recently. So better play safe.

MSN
My MSN in office acting weird and hanging on me. So mummies, u won't be seeing much of me online today. So sad. ANything PM me hor.

SH
I took some pics at home and showed to SSF on the eletronic double-boiler that I use to cook porridge as well as a pic of the cup n lid up close that Rena uses. I email you tonight when I get home?

Denmy,
Same here. Ethan is more yang or ever since he recovered from roseola. He is a cry baby nowadays.

SSF,
Yes! The magnets are here. $28. I will pm u my bank acct. I will pass urs to Amy.

wenyl -thanks thanks..i will credit u once i got ur email. pls pass my magnet together with cookie and thanks to whoever helping us to collect. cheers!

cookie, i used the double boil method. if ur mil is cooking in a pot, i tink will stick leh.. then cannot be cooking so little lor.

demny/wendyl..
heehee.. now all our bb become cry baby..

but hor.. I still find her sooo cute la :p
and i feel guilty I cant be there always to sayang her..

sorry, but cannot recall the double boil method, can I use any platic cup to boil? Sophia, tupperware any cup is suitable?

my gal also now very cry baby...always wants to be carry, when put her back to her playpen or baby cot, B4 I even put her down, she start to struggle and cry liao...and its really very very loud cry..

Hi Rachel,
got it... will update you and Tracy...

FYI, I just signed up for the First Aid Class at Mother and Child with my hubby... they only allow 4 couples per class so we'll slotted way back in Sep! Seems like very popular...

Ling Ling
Plastic cup can't withstand double boiling. I feel it's not safe as you may never know if the consistent heat will cause the plastic to "leech" into the food for baby. safest for double boil is those clay pots of porcelein clay type. The tupperware ones, some are microwaveable...but not ideal for doing double-boil method.

Rena
saw your msg on sumo being bo gei...don't worry, Daren also in the same club, no teeth yet.

i'm using the clay type for double boiling. I then use my AMC wok and start cooking the porridge.
I tink it should be safe rather than plastic like what Mamachan said

sleepingdeer
thanks thanks! =)

lingling
its a no no to boil plastic under constant high heat. porcelein / clay pot or cup is safe.

I stream the porridge lei, take me only 30 mins. Did that for my elder girl previously too. Use those porcelein clay type of bowl. Stream all kind of food like meat, fish etc in separate bowl, then mix them together when feeding.

Yesterday very funny. My hb put my boy to sit at the edge of his cot, holding onto the railing. He was trying to stand by pulling on the railing for support. Then I asked him, 'Come, show mummy what you can do.' And guess what, he opened his mouth and munch the top of the railing. So funny! Hahaha! Yah, that's what he can do.

Below is the confirmation email I recieved from Veron, the lady at Tumble Tots, Specialist Centre, 5th floor

Hi Sophia,

Thanks you for your E-mail.
Yes, we are very excited to meet the mummies & babies on 2 & 9 September at 3.45pm.

Each session is 45 min.
-introduction and warm up(5min)
-dev. exercises & songs (10min)
-play-time (25min)
-closing song & stickers (5min)

In Tumble Tots we inculate in children the values of life in the way they understand best. Through purposeful play, their Self-Confidence and Self-Worth are instilled at an early age. They develop a Sense of Achievement, Independence, Self-Discipline and Respect through this progressive programme.

Here's the Gymbabes programme aims & objectives

* help your baby progress at his own pace.

* help your baby make sense of the world around them by encouraging their exploratory play.

* learn new skills safely through the use of our specially designed equipment.

* help your baby to overcome his fear of darkness, enclosed space and stranger anxiety through socialising with other children and parents.

At Tumble Tots, we aim to Nurture Learning through Enriching Play.

Best Regards
Veron
Tumble Tots

cookie,
Ya, since nobody remembered the price, am ok to let go for $17.50. It's 48pc pack. Quite cheap when work out per piece that's why I overstocked them!
I have 2 packs, how many do you want?

I stay at Buangkok (cross junction between Hougang, AMK Ave 5 and Yio Chu Kang Rd)

not sure what happen to my msn, hang on me again... haizzz

re: oat cereal
wow, really good comments on this oat cereal. gonna try on my dylan soon =) hahaha

re: cooking porridge

I use the slow cooker. I put lots of boiling water into the slow cooker - till half full. Then only a handful of rice grains. When the porridge is cooked soft enough, I will scoop out the excess water, put a small pc of fish and spinach puree. Then after fish is cooked, i will dig the fish out of the porridge, mash the fish, then mix iwth the porridge.

celine77
Hi Hi! Tis SC
I never receive your pm msg leh.
Our parents know each other meh? HOw? They are old friends, schoolmates or neighbours??

Some of you mummies were wondering what this retro toy ball that I was raving about? I had it when I was a little girl and seeing it, I just had to get one for my boy. Let me know if you're keen.

495375.jpg

Costs $31.40 =) Oh, must make clear that I don't earn anything from promoting this toy. Just a fanatic coz it brought back some childhood memories for me.

SH
I realized I don't know how to attach pics to PM. I post up here k?

495397.jpg

This is what I use normally at home. Pretty good. Don't have to worry the porridge drying up and I can set the timer to cook for how long before I leave for work. Just need to top up a little more water externally before I go out.

495398.jpg

I believe Rena uses something similar.

495399.jpg

This is the inside, if you notice has got one more lid.

Mummies who want to use cup with lid method and hope to cook porridge within 1.5 to 2 hours, do grind the rice 1st.

As I use the Zisa Electronic Double Boiler, I don't need to grind my rice, the grains will be very nua.

RE: Cereal

My gal also like Earth Best oatmeal and multigrain cereal much better than Heinz Plain rice and HT brown rice cereal. She doesn't have constipation problem (in fact she still poo poo at least twice a day) so maybe the cereal helps.

Re: Porridge

Cookie, my mom also cook only 2-3 tablespoon with slower cooker leh, but she'll add slightly more water. When the porridge is quite soft oredi, she'll take out some water add in the fish/meat and put it on the stove. Wow ten anniversay, that's a long way. Me got married in Sep too but only 7 years...heehee

LingLing
Apart from using cup with lid, my fren teaches me to use steel pot (those that Indian use for their cooking and come in different size). She gets one small one and one sightly bigger one. She'll put a stand in the bigger and and put the small one on top. I've not tried it personally but she said is very fast.

Hi Flo,
got your email, okies....

RE: HT
any mummy still wanna order for colection at West? I'm gonna order today, so please PM me your orders if you want..

Sophia,
Thanks for the tumble-tots update. am excited about it! hopefully my gal will be interested then we can sign up for regular classes n there's something to look fwd to for her wknds. otherwise nothing much for her to do at home. furthermore it's beta if the numbers are good n we can form a class,cos our babies of the same age.

re:retro ball
keke, yes yes mummies, that's the ball. i'm getting one too

Re:porridge in slow-cooker
i use slow-cooker too n find that its too watery. my MIL uses double boil with slow cooker n its very thick, which meg likes. but my slow cooker too small to double boil. maybe i'll try the 'remove excess water' method then..

last evening i managed to feed meg all her porridge myself without her fussing!! I think its due to:
1) porridge is very thick so easier to feed
2) fed her at 6.30pm instead of 7pm so she wasn't sleepy and cranky

yeah!!

re:Earth's best cereal
i jus finished one box of this cereal. she has been pooing everyday. now change to heinz multi-grain, will see if it affects her poo.

cookie,
is kaelyn eating EB cereal? maybe can try that to help improve her poo schedule.

but EB cereal must go town to buy, abit inconvenient.

wow, the shape sorter cost $31? I thought they are quite cheap 1?

Congrats Tracy, finally able to feed Meg porridge. I din use slow cooker for double-boiling. I use my normal AMC wok. My Mum double up the rice cooker to double boil the porridge as well.

Sept03,
thanks! maybe i'll ve to take the bigger slow-cooker from my mum to double boil the porridge. i also ve AMC wok n pots but clueless abt how to use it. my hb is expert with it. can use the timer thing some more.

haha Tracy
the timer thing very complicated to use.
Usually i guage myself. My HB is also better is using that time than me. Heehee

re: HT
I will not be buying any as I am buying from Ivory the 2 packs of HT cereals. So I will pass on this.

wenyl - i have credited the $28 to your acct. I have also sent you an email. Please check and thanks sooo much for getting me the leapfrog magnets!

Sophia,
Thanks for posting the picture. Was the thing in the picture the Zisa Electronic Double Boiler you all were talking about. Is it something like a slow cooker?

I was telling my MIL abt the method. She asks me one question that I dunno how to answer. So check it out here...she ask can use metal tin to double boil or not?

She is thinking of putting the porridge in a tin container...then put the tin in the pot with water & cook? So like dat can or not?

Re:Japan in November
mummies, i know dat some of you are regular travellers to Japan. need your valuable advice here. I'm going on biz trip 19-24November. is it very cold then?? checked the web is like 9-15deg. u think wear long sleeve then biz jkt enuf? think beta wear pants hor?

i've only been thr in July which was super hot..