(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

god's child,
re:de-scale avent sterilizer
critic acid comes with the avent sterilizer. got instructions on the pack that goes like this:

1. Mix one of the enclosed sachets of citric acid (10gms) with 200ml of water.
2. Pour into the empty steriliser. Do not put lid on. Switch on for 1-2 minutes.
3. Switch off at mains and leave to stand for 30 minutes.
4. Drain and rinse out the steriliser.
5. Run a full cycle empty with the lid on, using exactly 90ml of water. Wipe out the steriliser.

god's child,
or if no critic acid, can do this:

Pour 100ml vinegar mixed with 200ml cold water into steriliser. Allow to stand in the unit until any lime scale has dissolved. Empty the unit and rinse thoroughly.

rachel,
tupperware with lid ah...aiya, then i gotta wait for the tupperware party or dig my mum's cupboards.

hehe, tabbiesus said no need to warm up jar food..so lazy mummy here may try that. :p

Having a bad time since Thu. Been feeling down. The only one to cheer me up really is Cephas

So who wants to cheer me up with something funny? A story or a joke pse...anyone...

Looks like Cephas is still a big eater.

7am - 210ml FM
10.30am - Porridge
11.30pm - 150ml FM
2.30pm - 210ml FM
6pm - Porridge
7pm - 150ml FM
10pm - 210ml FM

re: Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill (Limited to 10 families as house not big enough)
When and time: 20th August (Sun) 3pm.

1)MamaChan + hb + bb
2)Rachel + hb + bb + mum (bringing bumper playmat) (13th Aug)
3)Denmy + hb + bb
4)Tracy + hb + bb (anyday)
5)Cookie + hb + bb
6)Sychua + hb +bb
7) REna + hb + bb

mamachan, me mentioned last week can only make it on the 13th. see how the rest of the mummies perfer which date la.

rachel/Sept03bride,

my MIL takes care of him when i work. But MIL house very crowded. So I don't really want to spend the nite there...& yet i want to see my bb. So next alternative is bring bb to my mum's place.

Tracy / rachel - when i say tiger food jar, i actuali mean the thermo food jar to hold porridge... hehe.. easy leh, cos the porridge is warm and no need to mix here and there, unlike cereal...

tracy - vinegar? any kinda vinegar?the transparent kind? btw, ur betula anti-cellutis veryexp hor? i cant believe it when i was clicking on it. had to double check!

Tabbiesus - no hurry... i will let ur know when the amount gets deducted form my credit card cos it will be charged to my card in euro... lets all pray for a good rate! haha

sysac,
take your pick

story:
something to cheer you up hopefully..this morning i heard my gal waking up at 5.30am. i decided to ignore her n she continued playing with her toys.. then about 15mins later, the rattling sounds stopped and i heard her going 'eh..eh..' then my dog whining.

decided better check on her..our dear friend crawled to the end of the cot, hold the cot bumper down with one hand and peering down and calling out for my dog. *roll eyes*

bo liao joke:
okie, in case that doesnt cheer u up, here's something bo liao i do to my friends. i call them and chat then after some time, say, "oh ya, tell u something..." then i cut the phone off and refuse to answer their calls later cos they'll be cursing n swearing at me...they'll start doing that to other of their friends too.

funny incident:
my blur manager can sometimes use the office phone keypad mistakenly for his calculator...or
when his hp beep indicating got msg, he'll pick up his office phone n go 'hello'...

Wenyl,
the Angmo Baby Spinach looks like a leaf. Chinese/asian ones are much bigger with longer stems.

re: Spinach
Mummies who are interested in sharing can add your names here. I'm thinking of 500g per person. What do you think?
Collection either from my shop or Pasir Ris. Also, as it's perishable, i would suggest that once the delivery date is set, must collect same/next day.
1. Denmy
2. cookie
3. sl
4. Flo
5. Rena

===============================================

Rena,
Re: SAHM Gathering
U decide on what you want to cook la...maybe just more portions for those mummies who want to try out on their bbs? Then we just split the cost between us? I also want to learn how you prepare with a cup and lid. Let me know if you want me to help get some ingredients. SMS me k? I will try to get tmr afternoon.

shall I start putting my name down for sharing the porridge with Sumo?
1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan

MamaChan,
Oh no...how you cope? 19 days? if move back home, i have to travel from town to Pasir Ris every day :-(
Plus how to bathe...ke ke....hard to do it in case bb wails in the middle of my shower. Even with hb around difficult, coz the moment bb cries, he doesn't want daddy to carry. Will keep screaming till i come out

god's child,
really huh...actually ordered those birkies for my friend, not me so i didnt see the price..v ex huh...

Tracy - Tks! I am entertained! Yr dau is quite funny.

Cephas will "eh eh" me in the mornings. I do not have a dog so he does that to me as his cot is rite next to me. He is also trying to get on his knees nowadays. So he'll rock to and fro and then fall flat on his face. He will laff when that happens. Can u imagine the entire cot is moving at nite b4 he sleeps and in the mornings when he awakes?!

Hi Tracy,
The vinegar is the normal kind of colourless vinegar is it?

keke...this lazy mummy didn't descale the steriliser since we used up the 2 packs of citric acids....

Sigh...i so stoned today that i scalded myself with hot water in the office (heng it's just hot water from from the cooler...so not so bad). And just now got meeting with a US partner. I think i more stoned than the jet lag visitor. My boss told me to leave the meeting halfway. Bad hor....

Tracy,
I like your stories :)

RE: Mooncake from Marriott

Bad news, we couldn't hit the min 100 box order (have only 60+ currently) so the lady is offering me only 25% discount instead of 30%. If it's 25%, do you still want it?

Recap, the pricelist is as follows:

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>List Price</TD><TD>30% Disc</TD><TD>25% Disc</TD><TD>Additional </TD></TR><TR><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk</TD><TD>$45.00 </TD><TD>$31.50 </TD><TD>$33.75 </TD><TD>$2.25 </TD></TR><TR><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Single Yolk</TD><TD>$41.00 </TD><TD>$28.70 </TD><TD>$30.75 </TD><TD>$2.05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Olive Seed</TD><TD>$38.00 </TD><TD>$26.60 </TD><TD>$28.50 </TD><TD>$1.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lotus Seed Paste with Assorted Nuts</TD><TD>$39.00 </TD><TD>$27.30 </TD><TD>$29.25 </TD><TD>$1.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk</TD><TD>$42.00 </TD><TD>$29.40 </TD><TD>$31.50 </TD><TD>$2.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Tea with Pine Nuts</TD><TD>$40.00 </TD><TD>$28.00 </TD><TD>$30.00 </TD><TD>$2.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow Skin Durian</TD><TD>$42.00 </TD><TD>$29.40 </TD><TD>$31.50 </TD><TD>$2.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow Skin Green Tea</TD><TD>$39.00 </TD><TD>$27.30 </TD><TD>$29.25 </TD><TD>$1.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow Skin Wild Strawberry Yoghurt</TD><TD>$40.00 </TD><TD>$28.00 </TD><TD>$30.00 </TD><TD>$2.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow Skin Crunchy Muesli</TD><TD>$40.00 </TD><TD>$28.00 </TD><TD>$30.00 </TD><TD>$2.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow Skin Ebony &amp; Ivory Whisky Chocolate Praline</TD><TD>$40.00 </TD><TD>$28.00 </TD><TD>$30.00 </TD><TD>$2.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow Skin White Lotus Seed Paste with Egg Yolk</TD><TD>$39.00 </TD><TD>$27.30 </TD><TD>$29.25 </TD><TD>$1.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Here are the orders Ive to date
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Name</TD><TD>Orders</TD><TD>Quantity (box) </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD>Snow Skin Durian</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD>Snow Skin Green Tea</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD>Jasmine Tea with Pine Nuts</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Olive Seed</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>Snow Skin Durian</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>White Lotus Seed Paste with Single Yolk</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

For this deal, you can go down directly to Marriott to collect the mooncake (anytime between 1 Sep to 6 Oct 2006) and payment will be directly from your credit card. Let me know if you are still keen, cos will need you to fill up the form.

SH
then you got to bear with it till your boy got used to it liao. restless it will be, but hopefully tonight will be better =)

tracy
megan so cute! and your bo liao joke make me laugh too =p

sysac,
entire cot moves?? wah...quite violent..keke

SH, God's child,
erm...dunno wat type of vinegar leh. so far only used citric acid. shld be the clear type? can't imagine the brown shark's fin type..

Durianlover
Wow Janelle has put on alot weight ya? Ariene's weight fluctuating between 6.9kg to 7.1kg leh. Sometimes I weight her, she's 6.9kg, sometimes, she's 7.1kg. Once, she even hit 7.5kg before (Maybe tummy full of sh*t hahaha).

Milk intake
Seems like Ariene is drinking/eating too little? She used to have no problems sleeping from 7pm to 6am but nowadays, she sleeps at 7pm, wakes up at 11pm for milk (or she'll want to play and refuse to sleep), then cry for milk again at 3am (sometimes) and I'll latch her again at 6am before I go to work and she'll sleep again until 9+, sometimes, 10+ . Anyway, here's the schedule :

10-11pm : Latch on
3-4am (sometimes) : latch on
6-6.30am : latch on
9-10am : 130ml EBM
12-1pm : 4 teaspoons cereal mixed with 40ml EBM + latch on after cereal
3pm : 130ml EBM
5pm : Fruit/Vege puree + latch on
7pm : latch on

Is she eating too little? She doesn't seem to be gaining weight at all.

Vinegar
Use artificial white vinegar (Acetic acid aka ethanoic acid)

Flo
I'm ok with the 25% discount.

Can I add 1 more box as follow :
Snow Skin White Lotus Seed Paste with Egg Yolk
After discount $29.25

Flo,

i stil want to order.. thanks

Denmy,

if that is the case lets try different recipe lor.. i will provide the heng cai, pumkin and brocoli but how about every one bring some items then we can cook them .

Celine,

could you help me to book ? i also want to let elijah try various classes

Rena
I know that you make yin yu (silver fish) powder...
May I know U using the wet yin yu or the dried yin yu? u dry fried the yin yu in the wok to make it dry before blend into powder?

My mum say the wet one very difficult to make it totally dry... got to buy the dry ones.. but I find the dry ones should be more saltish ley
Can advice?

Celine/Tracy

Like Rachel's bb, my gal also totally reject solid and drank very little milk at one stage. Now her appetite is back to normal and takes 2 solid meals a day - cereal + puree around noon and porridge in the evening. Just monitor their wt, if not gaining/losing wt then maybe u may want to see a PD.

Florence,
Thanks for the mooncake order. I'm ok with 25% discount too!

god's child,
Did you manage to take my orders for the Birkies?

just to share a wensite on nutritional data of various food www.nutritiondata.com
For eg.
Butternut Squash -
This food is very low in Saturated Fat, Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a good source of Vitamin E, Thiamin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Calcium and Magnesium, and a very good source of Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Potassium and
Manganese.

Dried Apricot -
This food is very low in Saturated Fat, Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a good source of Dietary Fiber and Potassium, and a very good source of Vitamin A.

Sweet Potato -
This food is low in Sodium, and very low in Saturated Fat and Cholesterol. It is also a good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin B6 and Potassium, and a very good source of Vitamin A, Vitamin C and Manganese.

Broccoli -
This food is low in Saturated Fat, and very low in Cholesterol. It is also a good source of Protein, Thiamin, Pantothenic Acid, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium and Phosphorus, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, Riboflavin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Potassium and Manganese.

Spinach -
This food is low in Saturated Fat, and very low in Cholesterol. It is also a good source of Niacin, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Protein, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc, Copper and Manganese.

Hi Rena
Thanks got your PM.

I am ok with spilting the cost. If we bring ingredient, what should we bring?

1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan
3. Florence's Melody

So we just feed there? or do we need to bring container?

Flo,
Can still add in my orders?
White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk x 1 box
White Lotus Seed Paste with Single Yolk x 2 boxes
Snow Skin Durian x 1 box

Wenyl

RE: Chinese and Angmo Spinach

Found this on the web, hope it helps. Didn't manage to find the chinese spinach that Denmy described.

Baby Spinach
476679.jpg

Yin Choy
476680.jpg

Tracy
Hahahaha! Megan is so cute! Your boss really blur and your joke so funny! And your descaling methos for the avent sterilizer is so detailed! Do you know and can you believe that I never know that the sterilizer must be de-scaled? Coz my Avent Sterilizer is a hand-me down...really old model.

Tabbiesus
Hehehe! You can also go out alone with Tabby on your own. I guess my practice came from when I was SAHM and whenever I'm bored at home, would bring Daren out to Tiong Bahru Plaza to take a walk. As I got more confident, I just ventured to taking MRT, Bus to town and to the most baby friendly shopping centres.

Kindermusik Class
I had fun with Daren, except he was quiet for awhile and observing and wondering what are we doing. Haha, it's a good excuse for us mums to sign up as it's like a mini workout too!

Feeding SOlids outside
Normally I would dispense the amount of cereal to feed Daren in the milk dispenser container and then mix with either water or milk in a small plastic Ikea's children's bowl. Or, I would go to the supermarket and buy a jar of baby food and then ask for hot water and let the jar stand in it for a while. I'll always stand up plastic spoon in my diaper bag for Daren.

Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill (Limited to 10 families as house not big enough)
NOTE CHANGE IN DATE
When and time: 13th August (Sun) 3pm.

1)MamaChan + hb + bb
3)Denmy + hb + bb
4)Tracy + hb + bb (anyday)
5)Cookie + hb + bb
6)Sychua + hb +bb
7) REna + hb + bb

Mummies you ok with the 13th August, Sunday? Coz my friend who's the dealer has something on the 20th August.

Florence
I would like to order some mooncakes too. Here's my list:
1) White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk x 1 $33.75(after 25% discount)
2) White Lotus Seed Paste with Olive Seed x 1 $28.50
3) Jasmine Tea with Pine Nuts x 1 $30
4) Snow Skin Green Tea x 1 $29.25

The prices I listed down are after the 25%.

SH
Oh dear, I hope when your boss asked you to leave the meeting halfway was coz he/she was understanding about your situation. I'm coping alright now as Daren sleeps through the night and wakes up in the early morning of about 6 plus am for his feed. My mum was nice enough to come up to my place instead and stay for the weekday nights. Daren has come to a place where he is easy to take care as i've set a routine for him that if something is amiss, it's easy to tell if it's time for bedtime or feeding time.

Denmy
I don't mind sharing the baby spinach from australia. Guess I'll have to quickly cook it and then blend them freeze them in batches.

cookie
my MIL bough the dried yin yu and washed them 1st, pat dry with paper towels and dry fry them then blend. the washing is to get rid of the saltishness

Cookie,
My ahma prepared the yin yu powder for bb. She used the fresh yin yu. She bot from Elias mall market. U can ask ur MIL to get from there. Wat she did was to wash thoroughly &amp; sun dry 1st. Then use oven to dry totally before blending into powder. Yes, the dried ones are slightly salty.

Sharing the porridge with Sumo?
1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan
3. Florence's Melody
4. Wenyl's Ethan

I m ok to share the cost of ingredients. Let me know what else to bring. Can anyone demo cook porridge with meat? I hvnt start my boy on pork &amp; chicken. Is it necessary to use stock? Or can throw everything into the slow cooker??

Denmy/Flo,
Thanks for the spinach descriptions! I tink the one I bot from the organic shop is yin choy then.

Mamachan,

I cannot make it on the 13th.... still in Bali...

Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill (Limited to 10 families as house not big enough)
NOTE CHANGE IN DATE
When and time: 13th August (Sun) 3pm.

1)MamaChan + hb + bb
3)Tracy + hb + bb (anyday)
4)Cookie + hb + bb
5)Sychua + hb +bb
6) REna + hb + bb

=====================================

re: BP for Spinach
500g ($9.25) per person.
Collection either from my shop or Pasir Ris. Also, as it's perishable, i would suggest that once the delivery date is set, must collect same/next day.
Please add your collection method also. THanks!
1. Denmy (The Sandwich Shop @Robinson Road)
2. cookie
3. sl
4. Flo
5. Rena
6. Mamachan

Anymore mummies interested? I will close this BP at the end of this week, Sun 6 Aug. Will order the following Mon. Should be able to deliver the following Mon 14 Aug.

=============================================

I am bringing potatoes and runner beans. But not sure how we can combine the ingredients leh...

I will also bring a bowl and spoon for feeding at Rena's and a container to tapau if we are cooking something else. heehee

1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan
3. Florence's Melody

Flo,
I will pass you the mooncakes form on Wed. Thanks!

==========================================

sorry, left Wenyl out....

I am bringing potatoes and runner beans. But not sure how we can combine the ingredients leh...

I will also bring a bowl and spoon for feeding at Rena's and a container to tapau if we are cooking something else. heehee

1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan
3. Florence's Melody
4. Wenyl's Ethan

Denmy

Have updated my collection point

500g ($9.25) per person.
2. cookie
3. sl
4. Flo (The Sandwich Shop @ Robinson Road)
5. Rena
6. Mamachan

Anymore mummies interested? I will close this BP at the end of this week, Sun 6 Aug. Will order the following Mon. Should be able to deliver the following Mon 14 Aug.

Good Morning Mummies

Need advice from Mummies who have travelled overseas without bb and still breastfeeding. What do you do with the milk? Store or throw away? I'll be travelling to HK &amp; Taipei for 4 days for work
so I guess is not advisable to freeze cos not possible to bring back? Also if throw away I guess dun need to sterilise pump? If I use the sterilising tablets, I can juz use the water straight from the tap or I must use boiled water? Looks like a lot of qn hor, I'm very lost...heehee. Anything else I need to note? Thanks in advance for your advice

Florence,
Thanks for pics of the spinach! Very helpfuL

Re: de-scale Avent steriliser
Tracy, Mamachan,
My Avent steriliser is also the old type (hand-me-down), model is no longer available. If we use vinegar, do we hv to switch on the sterilizer to descale it? So sorry for a suaku question but the description not too clear...no mention of switching on sterilizer leh, so thought i'd better clarify!

tracy,
ur funny stories really funny lah! Haha

clare,
u are really funny too! The way you describe and plan ur day since u were a temp SAHM! Hope it all went well

cookie,
On the contrary, i think butternut squash tastes delicious! Haha, maybe cook for ur MIL to let her try it out!

Re: barley &amp; sweet potato
Can someone enlighten me on what type of barley n sweet potato shd we buy for baby?
Barley - buy the pearl type, NOT the chinese type? Is it?
Sweet potato - the purplish-red skinned one is correct? Only see that selling in supermarkets.

wendy,
Maybe Ariene going thru growth spurt? Tough to tell whether she's taking enough since u latch on, but when express out she drinks 130mls seems quite little. Perhaps u can try giving more EBM (like 150mls) see if she can take it?

rena,
How much shd i pay you for the pregnancy &amp; ovu kits? Do let me know ur bank acct no. yah!

Ethan is down with fever early this morning. Dunno wat is the cause? Sigh.

I tink we can't attend the SAHM gathering tomorrow liao. I have removed my name below.

Sharing the porridge with Sumo?
1. Rena's Sumo
2. Denmy's Keenan
3. Florence's Melody

Queen - so sorie, forgot to update you on the birkies.. YES!!! your order is in, the shoes shld arrive in 14-20 days

Durianlover - the sweet potatoes i got are those purple skin one, japanese type..very sweet n nice.. then for barley, i norm will ask the medical hall people, they will tell me which kind cos i cant differentiate!!! hee...

Tracy - yes yes..the jokes are so farni... u also very farni leh, hang up on ur frens like tat.. haha... mabbie i shld do tat to HB one day! :p

rena,
the timing which i booked for the trial lesson at tumbletots is this sat 9.15am - 10am. The one I'm going to is at Jalan Jurong Kechil. Are you ok with the timing and location? If yes, then I'll try to book for u, hopefully they are not full.

re:descale steriliser
sori ah, so far i only used citric acid to descale so dunno how to do it with vinegar. info was downloaded from avent's website. can someone enlighten how to descale with vinegar..

eh, must descale every mth leh..cos quite dirty.

mamachan,
i'm okie with 13th Aug tupperware party!! told my hb abt the party, he say we so 'ah soh' now. haha

Florence,
How many boxes are we short to make 100 for 30% discount for the mooncake? Maybe I'll get my HB to ask his colleagues a well.

Denmy,
500g ($9.25) per person.
2. cookie
3. sl
4. Flo (The Sandwich Shop @ Robinson Road)
5. Rena
6. Mamachan
7. queen (The Sandwich Shop @ Robinson Road)

celine - this tumbletots class, wat does it offer? any webbie i can refer to? also interested to get Celeste more interactive wf other babies leh..hee...

celine,

wah too far for me if it is jurong.. then it is ok.. maybe next time.. thanks

RE: SAHM gthering

i think no need to share the cost of food lah .. just bring some items that you have tried then we can disscuss and try lor .. as my rice are all blended ones so no need to double boil so long may be around 1 to 1.5 hrs can..

re tumbletots,
this is the website http://tumbletots.com.sg/
the class that is suitable for our bb's age group is gymbabes. u can read up more about it on the web.i'm oso not very sure wat's the activities. to me i think attending all these classes is more for bonding and interaction w other bb. i'm trying around coz i want to find out which place offers good teacher, activities, environment, suitable timing/location. another one which i tot is quite nice is http://www.rhythminme.com. however it's only conducted on weekdays, so it's a NO GO for FTWM like myself.

Queen

I am still short of about 27 boxes, but the 30% bulk discount is valid until yesterday. If your hb can collate the order by today, maybe I can negotiate with them again. But they dun advise delivery for the snow skin ones cos they need to be frozen (they will pack it with dry ice which can last only 1 hr). I need to check if we can pick up indivdually from the hotel if we order via corporate bulk purchase. Let me know lah.