(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

clare,

can pm me the contact for the hair saloon? me also thinking of cutting hair.... or rather your description of the message is very tempting. thks!

Just came back from the PD. Charmaine got her last 6-in-1 jab and hte second prevenar jab. she's now 7.55kg and 65cm. i think the wt gain is very little. However the PD assured me that her wt is actually gd cos her wt is the 75% while her ht only 60% so technically speaking, she's overweight.

steamer
Why not use rice cooker to steam ur baby foods? Since only need to steam small amounts, u can always stack your foods up inside the rice cooker and steam together. That's what I do now.

sl

heres the salon detail:

Mikasa Hair Salon
400 Orchard Road #03-44
Orchard Towers
6887 5525
shirley/alfred

heehee, had noted down the info when mashy recommended. now even more tempting to go after saw clare's posting =p

Rachel
My MIL also the same la.. I only feeding kaelyn 180ml now... when she start kaelyn on 1 teaspoon ceral only.. she wan to reduce to 160ml!??
I insist she shouldn't if kaelyn dun wan she wun eat anyway

SY,
ya my gal is taken care of by MIL with the 2 nephews. but this time round they are not sick. so she probably got it when i brot her out over the wknd...haiz.

sl,
yes
same name as Yuki's and same birthday too!

SY - Maids are always one kind... can never b too nice to them, well i learnt my lesson the hard way..if u think urs is bad, let me tell u mine is worse!!! just last sunday, she asked for 2hrs off to pass some donations to church and i was at my dad's place.obviously i need her to help me prepare dinner and look aft celeste. but she had it all planned, she showed us the rupiahs and she was wearing a short T-shirt and 3inch platforms tat day...i was pissed and i dun even know why i cried!!! mabbie cos i was reali too stressed over her and aft giving her so many chances,she stil doing tis to me...

and tis not the worst - my inlaws think im petty
and tat the maid does her chores well except tat she dun respect me. i admit tat she takes care of b well abd the hsework..but i dun see why i shld swallow all these and bring depression upon myself.. i was telling my MIL tat had she not done these wll, wf her attitude i wld hav sent her off long ago...

MIL thinks she dun respect me cos she is older than me and tat the maid is jealous of wat we have..as if asking me to try to understand her thoughts..how bout mine? having a maid who always give me black face, uses earpiece all the while, holding her own concert in the kitchen,trying to outshine me in terms of clothing.. ( there was once when she saw tat i was wearing a tube dress to church, she complimented tat its a cute dress. immed, she went back to her own and changed out from her T-shirt into a pink fitting off shoulder top,matched wf white fitting pants-even though she was having menses and kept having to chk tat there was no leakage.i had never stopeed her fr wearing wat she wants, but this incident reali make me think tat she is trying to b funni... am i sensitive?

i thot it was end of the story when i called up the agent tat sunday and arranged for replacement. how wrong i was! MIL said i was impulsive and had not asked her beforehand,HB said main concern shld b celeste and other than tat, try to close both eyes... i was pressured by both of them to again give her one last chance... how many chances do i have to give? Will i end up wf depression???
kao_sad2.gif

i have place order for the californa bb .. so the spreee is close.. those who ordered i will sent the confirmation as for price, the shipping is 19.95 USD but will still have to wait for the Vpost invoice.. i will split according to the number of items which is farier ok..

Rachel
Maybe u can start to increase the amount of cereal to 2-3 teaspoons already? then when start to proceed to tablespoon amounts then slowly decrease the milk. Or as my PD suggested, after my 5 tablespoon serving or cereal, I can wait 1 hour later and give 3/4 the ususal amt of milk feed.

Tupperware Party cum baby food making demo
Mummies who are keen, let me know which dates are best for you? 13th Aug or 20th Aug?

Denmy
Any suggestions what food to best demo and make?? Hmmm, maybe after making the food can let our little precious try it out. haha.

oh ya, forgot to update my visit to cheong choon. the boss very nice ah...anyway, i bot playpen, rocker (next time can turn into feeding chair..not badz), bathtub n exersaucer(!!) for my fren. shared by colleagues.

the safety 1st exersaucer only $120 now. but winnie (the boss) only orders one pc at a time. so now no stock, wait for next week another will come in.

hb saw and very keen to buy one for megan too! yeah!!

re:preferred date

Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill (Limited to 10 families as house not big enough)
When and time: 20th August (Sun) 3pm.
1)MamaChan + hb + bb
2)Rachel + hb + bb + mum (bringing bumper playmat)
3)Denmy + hb + bb
4)Tracy + hb + bb (anyday)
5)Cookie + hb + bb
6)Sychua + hb +bb

Hi SY,

Is your maid alone with your baby?

I find most maid cannot give them too much face/freedom......

MIL used to have an Indo maid, very young, 20 only (before the law kicks in). She was ashley's fav person and thou the maid was not employed to look after chidren, she gets along well with ashley. Very good with her housework too. She went back to continue her study after her contract expire.

MIL then engaged a Filipino maid thinking that they can do housework and help to take care of children (I stayed with ILs during weekdays)... That one month was the worse time of our lives!!!!!! I don't even want to go back to the house knowing the maid was at home. It was that bad.

Got her transfer out and engage a new Filipino maid. Also claim that her family very poor, her brother was not enrolled in school cos they have no money to do so. MIL pitied her and gave her $100 to send back home so that her brother can study.. She kept the money and the next moment asked us bring her to buy HP....

Hi SL,

Yes! same name and same birthday. Tracy's Megan is older by a few hours i think.

cookie.

dun have juices, I checked only the cereal and the biscuits and the jars of food... let me know if u want to order?

Anyone else want to order?

god's child

yah all maid the same kind. take for my aunty case, my aunty kena cancer and so is her husband. really feel so sad for them. their children oso one of a kind, throw the grandchildren to her to take care!! hello she is sick now and really need plenty of rest! sigh... somemore her hb oso sick and she had to take care of him too...

so she got a maid to help her out on housework and some cooking... but guess what, this maid always give my aunty black face leh! i can say my aunty is of good nature and she is a spoken person. now she listen to her son and DIL but not her.......

these once my aunty ask her to cook brown rice for dinner, but she go and cook white rice. when my aunty asked her why not brown rice and she replied "I LIKE" !!!! woh i super piss when my mum told me that! @#%

so really at the mercy of the maid.... sigh... my poor aunt...

Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill (Limited to 10 families as house not big enough)
1)MamaChan + hb + bb
2)Rachel + hb + bb + mum (bringing bumper playmat) (13th Aug)
3)Denmy + hb + bb
5)Cookie + hb + bb
6)Sychua + hb +bb

1)MamaChan + hb + bb
2)Rachel + hb + bb + mum (bringing bumper playmat) (13th Aug)
3)Denmy + hb + bb
5)Cookie + hb + bb
6)Sychua + hb +bb
7) REna + hb + bb

rachel - maids nowadays reali know hw to talk back hor... if only i can find a good nanny to take care of celeste... din know having a bb will bring forth so many many probs...

mamachan - u wana order the birks? closing spree in 15min!

Sorry to crash in (err i always read this thread cuz so informative!)

sleeping deer i saw the icetray with lid in Daiso and Giant in IMM. But not individual lids hor.

re maid
i admit i was quite lax and she knows that my main concern is abt my boy. she does do a good job of taking care of my boy...

sl,
i will ask whether can change date. see what are teh alternatives

god's child
your maid is terrible! my maid doesn't like to go out, which is a good thing. she is not the vain kind also. just maybe a bit more sensitive....my parents are lke your in laws. very on the maid's side one esp my father...

re solids
thanks to all the mummies for sharing ideas...

yuki
my maid is alone with my boy. sometimes my mum will go up to my place. she likes my parents to go cos they are even more relax than me.

Hi SY,

If only maid alone with baby, of course my attitude to her will be different. But then also not everything at their mercy.

Hi SY and God's child,

MIL's maid from hell story:-

Agent advised us that her husband has recently divorced her so don't ask her about family. But she cried and cried the first few days she was tehre. The next day, before she start work, tell us she has headache due to all the crying. We asked her to sleep longer. The next day, come tell us that she ironed her hand when doing the ironing. The next day, came to show us the cut on her finger caused by can opener when she tried to open the can. The next day, again show us the burn on her hand when she was frying fish in the wok.... Everyday, she like to 'surprise' us with her injury and expect us to 'sayang' her......

Asked her to wash car - cried and said we treat her like animals, we don't respect her. Said her previous employer wash their own car.....

Asked her to cook, she said she don't know. We told her it's ok, we are willing to teach. Cook two dishes to show her, asked her to make notes and asked her to recook the same dishes taught yesterday. It was those simple dishes (Tofu soup, fried egg). She replied she forgot......When we complained to the agent, she replied to the agent that we cook different dishes everyday. The agent was also angry upon ghearing it and asked her who wants to eat the same dish everyday??? She replied she don't mind.... But then when we cook, she helps herself to the biggest portion. We also realise she cook herslef tiger prawns , fried a whole fish for her own lunch when we are not around.

Once MIL chided her, she show black face. When MIL choose to ignore her, she suddenly hugged MIL from behind and ask for forgiveness.... Once she even 'pinched' MIL's face and said she's only "joking"....

My overall conclusion : She's not in her right mind.

During this period, she's more of a hindrance than help. I don't even dare to let ashley near her, make milk myself etc.... I was expecting megan then and i told hubby i will get depression if i am to face the maid during my confinement.....

See, she 'xiao' or not?

tabbiesus, durianlover

My gal is opp she likes peas, green beans and spinach but not apple, pear is just so so...funny rite

Re : Birkies

mime_msexcel.gif

Birkies.xls (16.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>can those who have ordered please check to see if your name is in the list,in case i left someone out. and also, there are a few who did not indicate the model number. if you cld, i think it will make things easier..thanks! if no changes by tmr morning 10am, i will go ahead and order aldy...

Sandra
Hee, to be fair, pple only complained abt the bad...
my maid is overall quite good. actually she started getting more sensitive during a period of time when my MIL kept coming over. my MIL will call my hb to complain abt her in front of her and make accusations like pple call to look for her etc when it's wrong number. to be fair to her, i did check with her each time my MIL pass comment so that we don't wrong her. after that period she become more sensitive to our comments.

Hi SY,

Anotehr problem is the maid agency. Insisted that we have to employ one month before we can change another one. Said to be fair to the maid, she need time to adjust too blah blah blah...... The maid apologise and MIL pitied her cos she has three kids to support. So we endure and endure... till cannot tahan....

The last straw was she told MIL that her menses was late and she suspect she is pregnant. We asked her how come since she's divorced. She replied that she still love the husband and was itimate with him before she come...... Then when cousin came visit with her maid, cousin's maid later warn us about the maid cos she mentioned about running away cos work was too boring....

That's about all that we can take, we called the agency to pick up the maid that day and if they don't, we are bring her to the police station.....

Ha sandra,

Maid can be a helper or a hindrance.... All of us work including MIL so need a maid to tidy the house.

Actually since most of us are not at home all day - the maid has alot of freedom. They probably can sleep in the afternoon and catch up with work before we come back..... Still they are not satisfied.

Hi SY,

True. Most people complain only the bad...

Like i said earlier on, we used to have a young Indo maid who is very good with housework. To the extend of picking up stray hair using masking tape. She always leave her things behind to play with ashley so that we can eat together in peace. Current maid don;t care. She wash her dishes first. The good maid always asked us if we wanted fruit immediately after dinner, she knows what's in the fridge and list the options.

She will take care of us till we sleep, then she do the cleaning etc...

We dote on her alot. She loves chocolate so the fridge is never empty of chocolate. We brought her to shopping, zoo etc, celebrate her birthday for her.

yuki,
your MIL's ex-maid sounds like a bad case! But like what u said, it's true that only the bad maids are in the spotlight. My mum's previous helper was very good. We were even thinking of asking her back to help us with baby when i was expecting! But then decided that we can do without a maid

Wendy,
i also use the rice-cooker to steam food. Much easier

Ariene's same height as Janelle but lighter! Janelle's 7.35kg! She put on some weight after taking solids
And Janelle's weight is on 50% percentile..i think Ariene's one is 25th?
Btw regarding the collection of ovulation kits, i'm not sure how or when i'm going to collect from Denmy coz she stays far far away! I'm also in no real hurry to get it yet. Shall keep u posted if i happen to get it from her

rachel,
Think u can give Dylan more cereal? But his milk intake is quite okay lah, at least 600mls per day.

Re: barley
What kind of barley should we buy for babies? Also, do we need to grind the barley to give to baby, or just give barley water will do? My mum said can grind the cooked barley for baby...true?

yuki, durianlover,
yah some helpers are really good. my mum use to have one who was really good but we lost her contact. my mum even said she doesn't mind paying her higher rate if she can find her.

tracy
so nice that your hb can pop back to see see and look look..

re aquaducks
they can arrange the session either on the 13th, 20th or 27th. mummies can choose?

God's Child,
Sorry for being late... hopefully an still make it for your Birkies spree!
If not in time to include my order, it's ok.
I have updated the Excel file with my order below:
mime_msexcel.gif

Birkies - latest.xls (17.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Tracy,
I'm ordering Ramses Stone for my HB as well, again!
Actually got one pair for him already, but it's size 40, one size too small. End up have to ship back to footshopping...

Wendy,
Your girl better than my boy liao.
When Isaac was 6 months 1 week old, he weighs only 6.8kg and 66cm long! Dunno got hit the 25th percentile for baby boys or not... sigh. I'm hoping with 2 feeds of solids, his weight gain will be slightly better.

Re. Steamer,
Like Wendy, I also use the rice cooker. I just put everything together and steam.

tabbiesus,
I want to participate in the Healthy Times BP...
PM you later.

Hi SY and Durain lover,

Yes good help are hard to find. We also offer to pay the good maid higher but her heart is into study.... She was always full of envy whenever she sees all the books that ashley have and always clarify with us on those meanings that she don't understand.

She loves massages and always give my leg a massage when i was expecting megan. Said she wanted to learn professional massage. Actually we offer to let her go for English class since we don;t really need her to be around in the afternoon as long as work is done. But she misses her parents too. We think she ran away from home to come to singapore to work
So the aprents wanted her back badly.

rena
thanks for organising..
Wow eventhough got good discount but seems like shipping is very expensive hor...

God's child
my orders are correct.

Rena
went to cali bb website.. tho shipping cheaper but no discount.. so abt the same or still more expensive I guess..
Looks fwd to rec the items

hopefully they pack into small boxes.. so shipping by Vpost will be cheaper too.

god's child
Thanks for the tempting offer, but I was bz in the pm so didn't really have time to come into the forum and reply. Heh heh.

durianlover
Where are you staying again? West area? Denmy is coming to my place for the tupperware party and cooking demo, can ask her to bring to my place then I pass them to you, that is if you don't mind waiting and staying in the west.

Tupperware Ice Tray
Yay! My Tupperware ice tray came in already. So happy! Haha, can start to freeze the apple and pear puree already instead of the baby food jars.

Barley Water
This past week I've been giving Daren barley water as my mum suspects his cough also due to hot weather and making him "heaty". She bought the Ayam Brand Pearl Barley and Daren likes it alot, better than the china barley. I even use it to make up the formula milk for Daren! Think it'll help relieve him of constipation.

TRacy
Your hb so nice and sweet to capture the moment of Megan and send it to you. I'm sure it must have been a Kodak moment

Maids
Sounds scary. I'm still thinking if I should get a maid at the back of my mind, my house is really in need to have some domestic help. But my hb keep telling me that to pay money for an adult to be under adult supervision... moreover he's a law enforcer and seen lots of bad cases on maids... but my mom offered to help train the maid.

Queen

Were you asking about Carrefour's selection of organic food? The selection was quite limited when I went there last week, only have baby spinach, carrot, potatoe, onion (big) and tomatos I think.