(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Morning Mummies!
So busy yesterday didn't have time to update my haircut cum shopping trip on Wedesday. In fact i printed out yesterday's postings from 1 - 5pm to read on my way home and guess what even when i shrunk to font size 8 n widen the page margins, it still spilled to 11 pages!!! haha...

Re Haricut @ Mikasa
Finally decided to walk all the way to Orchard Towers, wasn't as far as i imagined actually. It was my first time stepping into Orchard Towers. I followed the shop's instructions n went up by the side lift next to 7/11 and straightaway it was the saloon when the door opened. H/w, lift was closed by 7pm when i left so i had to take the escalator and it was only then i realised there are really quite a no. of sleazy pubs n novelty shops. So definitly not a good place to bring children. I think it was Alfred who cut ny hair. Friendly n quiet guy. I just told him i wanted shoulder length or even shorter n wanted more volume on top. He told me not too short n then started to cut my hair. He seemed confident n relax so I just left it to him. The head n shoulder massage after the haircut was the longest I have ever come across in all the saloons i've been to in Spore (disclaimer: I only cut my hair like twice a year?) n though its not fantastic but considering it is a hair saloon n not a spa/massage palour i think its good enough. Overall, though I would actually prefer the length to be even slightly shorter, I would rate the haircut as a very "safe" n yes, somehow japanese looking (which i like cos when u see the japanese magazines all the models hair look soo nice..) SO, I think my $35 is well spent n value for money and i wouldn't mind going back again (without Ashley of coz). Thanks Mashy for the recommendation!! =)

Zhimin,
Clarisse is soo pretty especially in the last photo, can modelling like that... she looks like she is striking a pose...

Re: Sling
I bought the MIM one and later the Ergo...

MIM sling: have to say the the sling allows me to carry shannon for short distances or if I know I'm gonna be out for just a while. Though it's very convenient and lightweight, have to agree that the weight distribution is not there, so shoulder starts to ache after awhile.

Ergo: It's bulky compared to the sling, but the weight distribution is good thus far... i bought it in mind that Shannon will be too heavy for me to manage her in the sling in a few months time... also, my hubby can carry her in the ergo, I think the sling is too small to wrap around him and Shannon... hee hee!

Tracy,
yes, if I let Shannon hold the magmag by herself, she will play around with it and throw it around too... I had to persist her to drink water, so in the end, though she will wail, she got no choice but to drink.

Queen,
actually, if issac can manage to drink from cup, that's even better than using magmag! Coz later we still need to train bb to switch from magmag to cup, so dun bother to get the magmag if he is doing so well with the cup already... the good thing about magmag is no spills lah, whereas when I tried using cup, it's all over her front except in her mouth!

found a web. got cute design. they only have white colour romper and print the design that we want. selling $12 per piece with design. me interested to get. i check with the person-in-charge, no discount for BP but can give free delivery to one place if hit $100. anyone interest can pm me 'cos sometimes no time to come here lah.
http://www.absolutfaith.com/afdesigns.htm

Morning mummies!!!

god's child - have u ordered the birkies?

god's child/queen/rena -- just to let u know... i be away on next Tues and back on Fri for my bangkok trip. so on the BP collection, you can pass to anyone collecting from you in the east. as for the amt, i will transfer to you when i am back. Pls PM me your acct no

Continue... My "Shopping" @ Tangs

I checked out a few items... multi-tiered steamer, slow cooker, Zisha pot, & a pressure cooker kind of slow cooker.

<u>Multi-tiered steamer</u>
Not as expensive as i thought. A small size one (which is still quite big actually) cost ard $69-$79 only... then u have other much bigger sizes ard $89-$100+. I saw 2 brands Kenwood n Tefel. Not much difference right?? I was tempted to just buy a small one back n hack care HB but in the end did not cos I'm still not sure which one to buy.

<u>Zisha Pot</u>
Cost ard $149-$199. Looks very "chim" to me leh... i think I recalled my MIL every saying wanting to buy one. Maybe i'll ask her...

<u>Slow cooker</u>
I remember some of you were recommending to buy a slow cooker which can out over the stove?? The conventional slow cookers which i saw all go by electricity n I dun think can be put over the stove leh. But I saw one that looks like a rice cooker with a metal container inside. It says to put the food in the metal container n put over the stove to let it boil. Once water is boiling, transfer it back into the "rice cooker" n the food will continue to be pressure cooked slowly n kept warm until serving. Is this the one that some of you were referring to?? Correct me if I'm wrong but I dun really see the benefit of it leh... if still have to boil on the stove means we still have to watch fire right? Then isn't it better to just throw everything into the conventional slow cooker, on the electricity dun have to worry??

SSF
I dun think our stuff will come so soon..
You will be in time for collection.
If u tong pang me to collect ON.. I'm ok
cos it's on the way for me.

Hi Cookie,

No need to sterilise the brush. Just brush it clean.

When baby is slightly older, can try the baby first tooth toothpaste. Apple and banana flavour.

My elder gal ashley is still using it. She simply loves the taste.....Tried switching for her cos it cost $12 for a small tube but she doesn't want....

Hi Zhimin,

Nice pictures!!! Was lamenting to my friend that i regret not bringing my gal to take some studio pics. And i can't do it now for megan cos i didn't do it for ashley!

Sunny,
The rompers are SOOO CUTE!! I thought of getting a few already!! Actually eversince we said we wanted to do a group photoshoot I have been thinking how nice if we can all custom make a romper for all our babies with their names on it... wouldn't that be nice??

clare
i will be getting that also!!! haha.. 'cos ppl always thought my gal is a boy! if they still say she's a boy after i let her wear that romper, i am really speechless. :p

not sure if the vendor can customise it or not leh... let me check.

Celine
baby still wakes up at 1.30 a.m. and 5 a.m. to feed. I outsource the feeding to my mum and wakes up to make the milk only but still very tired. Lucky Mum staying with me, otherwise I faint. But weekend, my mum off day so I am alone with two kids, quite busy.

His last feed is 9.00 p.m., we tried to give more, his refused and come 1.30 a.m. very hungry, we tried giving water but can hear that his stomach making noise and he can sleep, we feed and he sleep immediately after that. Must be the genes as my older girl wakes up for night feed till 4 years old.

I always complain to hb that I have not sleep through for 8 years in total if boy boy take after my girl.

The two tablespoon cereal and 120ml are separate meal la. Two tablespoon of brown rice cereal just add water and follow with 120ml milk.

Hi Mummies...

am back in the office from my 2 days leave!!! its so nice to b able to stay home and ZzzZZzz... but i think i slept too much,end up having headache!

Re : Birkies
Queen - the collection place will wither be raffles place or clementi MRT. any station along the train line from raffles place to clementi is also fine wf me... i will be ordering the shoes in the afternoon aldy. have got 10pairs so far...

mamachan - can u call ur HB to ask him via phone? actuali u can always buy first rite, tell him to pay as sort of compensation for 'abandoning' u alone here.. hee

Mummies, please add in ur orders latest latest by 3pm. Thanks!!!

re:kindermusik this sunday
Rena, i can't go liao, my gal down with fever, flu n cough so PD said stay home for 5days. i'll be giving up my place to mamachan...sorry leh

Celine, rena, mamachan

Aiyor.. i have to give up my place this weekend for the kindermusik also... last minute tabby's godma is throwing a bday party and wants her to attend so gotta give face and go..

So sad.. i was looking forward to going...

re:kindermusik
where is it? what's the timing for the trial har? still got place for me?

queen/celine
ya loh. my hb is willing to use the sling. so surprise. the colour is red wine somemore!!!
i asked him if he felt ok to use that, he said, 'y not? it's better than using hand!' haha...

celine, rena, mamachan

oops.. made a mistake.. the party is on sat not sunday.. so i can bring tabby to meet the boys heheh...

Tracy

So sad... hope your baby gets better soon... is it teething?

thanks rena/tabbi.
i check with my hb 1st... most likely cannot 'cos gotto go his grandma house at 11am. it's at bt batok, too far to rush there

i want to organise BP for Healthy times product cos having a sale that ends this month.. 31 July

Here are the Prices (copied from CCK BP)

=================================================
Barley Cereal - $6.50 (10% disc - $5.85) (6 mths &amp; up)
Brown Rice Cereal - $6.80 (10% disc - $6.12) (4 mths &amp; up) --- might be out of stock
Oatmeal Cereal - $6.50 (10% disc - $5.85) (4 mths &amp; up)
Mixed Grain Cereal - $6.50 (10% disc - $5.85) --- might be out of stock

Arrowroot Cookies - $5.50 (10% disc - $4.95)
(comes in 2 different flavours - Vanilla / Maple)

Teddy Puffs - $7 (10% disc - $6.30)
(Original flavour)

Hugga Bear Cookies - $6.50 (10% disc - $5.85)
(comes in 4 different flavours - Chocolate / Vanilla / Honey Graham / Cinnamon)

Teething Biscuits - $5.50 (10% disc - $4.95)
(comes in 2 different flavours - Vanilla / Maple)

Baby Jar Food - $2.30 (21 varieties) (10% disc - $2.07)

Flavors for jar food:
Baby food stage 1 (Country apples, Juicy golden pears, Cabana Banana, Garden fresh carrots, Baby sweet peas, Butternut squash, sweet potatoes)

Baby food Stage 2 (Island Fruit Jumble, Tropical fruit Medley, Peach Banana Muesli, Sweet POtato w/Apple, Orchard fruit Peekaboo, Sun-sweet strawberry kiwi, little veggie stew, Pumpkin Pie, Harvest time vegetable dinner, farmhouse country vegetables, aloha mango chicken, little bear's chicken stew, Raspberry glazed turkey, Jasmine Chicken Luau)
=================================================

Can let me know if you are interested? There is free delivery to one place... so I will get it delivered to my home at holland.. if that's ok with you mommies... but i need the orders early to meet the deadline.. pm me your orders if you are interested...

The expiry date for most of the products are 2007.. can see the BP thread ongoing for this in CCK... i got the same supplier..

mamachan,
i called babiesncream n told them u r taking my place this sunday! enjoy!

tabbie,
not teething, some flu virus again...this time worse. the last few rounds was runny nose first, followed by cough. this time's virus was suddenly fever, cough, flu all in one day.

unfortunately my MIL didnt know she was having fever last evening n went ahead to bathe her. so i guess it got worse..(altho i could feel her having fever when i reached home n carried her immediately)...

but i guess my MIL is just blur...

this time round nephews are ok. so PD said most likely megan will pass it to them this time.haha

Re: romper
the romper design is all very cute.. but can it be T-shirt?
SOmehow I find my bb now abit long for romper ley...always very tight when clip up

RE : Romper
I've ordered. Wld say they look alot nicer on web and magazine. Its actually "ironed" on. When wash, the picture gets slightly crumbled. Wonder how long they will last. Romper material quite ok though.

Tracy
Ok noted! Thanks so much! will be there with Daren. How's Megan doing now? Hope she's feeling much better now

MIM Sling
I'm still using it and lovin it =) Nowadays, I let Daren sit side of my hips to lessen the weight in the hip carry position. Still can get things done, nowadays using the sling to carry him is when he gets cranky. I normally take out the stroller, he likes to sit in it and be wheeled around unless the stoller doesn't move! I had to persuade hb at one time to use the sling as it helps bond father and son better when he complained that Daren can't be pacified by him, makes him feel as though he ain't his dad.

yuenyuen,
wow ur baby seems to be drinking very often! My gal drinks only 5 times a day now.

zhimin,
i love Clariss' studio photos! She looks so pretty

clare,
u are really funnY!! So faithful to read all the postings that u even printed them out! Impressed!

Re: slow cooker
Clare, the slow cooker i have allows me to take the pot out of the slow cooker to cook over fire. This is helpful because the slowcooker is VERY SLOW in cooking raw stuff like meat. Can take hours! So what i usually do is to first cook the stuff till it's more or less cooked and hot, then only put it into the slow cooker and switch on the electricity to let it slow-cook. Then don't need to watch over the fire. But if u've got lots of time then no need to cook over fire first. Know what i mean?

tabbiesus,
i already joined the CCK BP for HT cereals. Excited about the stuff!!

sunny,
i only use water and soft towel. he likes it very much...

flo,
can we mix the mooncakes? the prices are before discount right?

re aquaducks
the person is ok for 7 babies in the class. she is suggesting 13th August at 3.30pm. Let me know whether you are ok.

re pacifier
i m like cindy, i change according to the age and i use 2 a day. easier to find one when u really need it!

re carrots
i gave my boy carrots almost everyday and he din turn orange..so no worries..

today feeling a bit pissed over my maid. she can be really petty. i only asked her whether she turn on aircon for my boy in the afternoon and she was not happy this morning. gave me black face. arrggh...

mamachan,
thanks, megan was still having slight fever this morning but was her usual cheerful self. cough quite bad this time, lots of phlegm. but runny nose better already. plenty of med to take but thankfully she likes them..heehee

durianlover
Ya loi, drink so many times, very tiring. How you cut down on the numbers of feed ? I thought after giving solid, he will be more full and can drop a few feed, guess he loves his milk like my girl girl.

Two times a night very tiring lei now that I am working full time for the pass two months. Always looking forward to Saturday afternoon to catchup on my sleep.

Today super tired as he woke up 3 times instead of 2 at 12.00 a.m., 3.00 a.m. and 6 a.m. Aiyo someone give me advise.

tracy,
my gal also loves to take medicine! think coz it's sweet that's why.

SY,
haha maid also so petty one ah? quite funny! i thought it's usually employer who gives black face and not the employee!

yuen yuen,
i'm also no expert at baby's sleep, so can't give much advice! Or perhaps try feeding more at each feed? i give my gal 220mls and she finishes it all.

Brought my gal for jab yesterday and she's 7.35kg and 65cm. Put on 0.35kg in just 2 weeks! i think the semi-solids is making her fatter...haha

tracy
what med did your PD give that she likes them? my boy always reject his med. he will give this super disgusted look...

yuenyuen, durianlover,
my boy is only on abt 4 milk feeds plus one solid. his feeding is like

9am - 6 and half oz of milk
12pm - 6 and half oz of milk
3pm - 6 and half oz of milk
evening - 2 scoops of cereal + either veg or fruit
10pm - 4 oz of milk

sometimes at night he will wake up to drink and i let him nurse and he will sleep.

yuenyuen,
i had this problem the past few weeks. same as u, my boy will wake up at 12+, 2+ and 5+. without doing anything, he suddenly change pattern and only woke up once the past 3 nights. it was a very tiring time for me as no matter how i feed him before he sleeps, he will still do this.

i try to take note of what i have done differently. one thing we do is to play with him more when we come back. and we play with him till abt 10. i know old folks say cannot play when very late as they will have nightmares etc but it's not true in my case. we play with him to tire him out. so far it has shown quite good results as he only woke up once.

does he take a lot of naps in the day? mine doesn't sleep much in the day though.

also, i noticed he doesn't really need to drink milk when he wakes up. he needs to more to get back to sleep. so if possible, i totally don't feed him unless he cries too hard and i can only use milk to make him go back to sleep.

durianlover
i think everyone has their bad days but i think i have been a good employer so no reason for her to black face me right....my maid has a good life leh. i bring her out with me every weekend, she eats what we eat and sometimes when we go to nice restaurants for dinner, she comes along too. weekends, she gets to take naps etc and she sleeps earlier than me and wake up only like half an hour earlier than me everyday except for weekends. i let her watch tv as long as she ask and baby is not at home etc ...so i feel a bit pissed that she black face me over something so small.

think my boy reaching 9kg soon....just weighed him this morning...

mummies using nepia
nepia size only stop at L so after that what do u use? i just read from another thread that price is increasing next month so for those who want to order more, must do it soon.

do u let your babies use diaper pants?

Yuen Yuen

Dunno if it helps but my baby meal schedule :-

6.30 a.m. Latch ?100-120ml
9.00 a.m. 120-150ml
11.30 a.m. 5 tablespoon of cereal with 90ml milk or 1 baby bowl puree (vege)~120ml in volume of puree mixed with 40ml EBM
3.00 p.m. 100-120ml
5.00 pm 40-60ml juice/ barley water/ fruit puree snack(1-2slice of apple/ pear puree)
7.30 p.m. Fruit puree mixed with cereal 4 tablespoons. or just pure fruit puree or plain cereal 5tablespoon with 90ml milk
8.30 p.m. Latch

My girl sleeps from 10pm onwards... usually will wake up every hour from 10pm til 12am but after 12am usu will sleep to morning 630 without waking up to feed

Maybe u can try feeding more cereal... increase slowly 1 table spoon at a time?

SY,
my PD gave her antibiotics, cough med, runny nose med, usual paracetamol and a tablet for phlegm to be smashed n added into milk. she likes all...

SY

don't let your maid near my maid leh.. my maid dun have your maids' privileges but never give me black face leh.. or issit i so blur dunno when she give me black face....har har.. maybe u just ignore her lor... since u know that u have been treating her well your conscience is clear..what to do, if she know u get affected will use it as weapon!

RE: order for california cream

1) SSF
- 1 California Baby Calendula Cream
2) Mashybrainz
- 1 California Baby Calendula Cream
3) Rachel
-1 California Baby Calendula Cream
4) SL
-Item #1
Aloe Vera Cream 2oz.
-Item #2
Diaper Wash
5)cookie
-Item #1
California Baby Detangler Spray, 8.5 oz.
-Item #2
Aloe Vera Cream 2oz.
-Item #3
Baby Shampoo-Body Wash, 17.5 oz.
-Item #4
California Baby Calming Spritz, 6 oz.
6) sleeping deer
Item #1
California Baby Calendula Cream
7) Y
Item #1
California Baby diaper wash

please check your order as i am going to order in the evening

tabby
your baby's feeding schedule so varied....mine like so boring..

can we give barley water?

think i will add more variety soon. who feeds your gal when u r at work? your maid? do u buy those off the shelf fruit juice?

of cos i just ignore...but sometimes maybe i m too nice already. so she climb over me lor. i m quite relaxed abt a lot of things with her so maybe she can sense that. if she wants to be like that, then i will consider taking away some privileges.

tracy
your gal good gal to take all the medication....did she get the cough from your SIL's boys? (if i dun remember wrongly, your gal is the one taken care of by MIL with two other boys ard)

SY
Since the aquaducks session will fall on 13th August, I'll set the date for Tupperware Party on 20th instead.

Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill (Limited to 10 families as house not big enough)
When and time: 20th August (Sun) 3pm.
1)MamaChan + hb + bb
2)Rachel + hb + bb + mum (bringing bumper playmat)
3)Denmy + hb + bb
4)Tracy + hb + bb
5)Cookie + hb + bb
6)Sychua + hb +bb

You mummies ok with the date set on 20th August?

sy

i lucky my mom feeding my baby and she don't mind having the variety..my maid just does the steaming and washing up. ..har har..

I started on barley water (w/o sugar just plain barley boiled) after I started her on barley cereal to make sure no allergy.. should be ok once baby is 6months.. good for constipation and also less heaty than brown rice so i alternate between the two..

Menu keeps on changing cos i start something new every 3 days.. so far my girl hates brocoli and grean beans.. so sad.. she seems to love pear and sweet potato and squash..

I give her earth best's fruit juice or sometimes fresh fruit juice (mainly apples/ pears), i haven't started so many fruits yet.. trying to get her to accept all the veges first...

SY,
Yes i think u treat ur maid very well already! So as long as conscience clear, ignore her black face lah

i just made apricot puree for my gal. It tastes delicious! i love it! i hope my gal will love it too. Haha as i was making i was tempted to eat some of the apricot puree myself

Rena
My order is correct. Thanks

Tracy
It's good that Megan like all medication...
Kaelyn cry until very chi cham.. the last time I feed her medication...
Hope megen get well soon.

Sy
Re:aquaduck
13th Aug is one of the date for Tupperware party...

Think your maid is very very petty ley.. how can get angry over a normal qns you ask?? too much lor. perhaps you have to talk to her what she is soooo unhappy abt?
hmm.. I dun have maid.. I dunno if ti si wise to talk to them or try to understand them..

Re: sweet potato
i must be very suaku but i can't seem to find sweet potato in supermarkets at all!!
Went to 3 or 4 supermarkets already but couldn't find. Am i blind or something?! The only sweet potatoes they sell are those Japanese type which is purplish-red in skin colour. Is that the correct one? i thought we shd be giving those brown potato-like skin type that is orange inside.

tabbiesus,
same, my gal loves apple, pear and squash
Sweet mah

like to ask... how you feed your bb on cereal? i mean in the past will feed dyaln 210ml of FM + 2 teaspoon of cereal. will prepare the 210ml of FM first, pour out some FM to mix with the 2 teaspoon of cereal, then will let dylan finish up the remaining milk.

yesterday my mum told me she increased the cereal to 3 teaspoon but reduce the FM to 180ml...
i ask her why dont try giving bb 210ml + 3 teaspoon cereal and she keep saying bb will be too full.... but never try how we know he cannot down the 210ml leh? if he dont want any more he die die will keep shaking his head one mah...

so is this alright? me worry under feed bb leh. im one blur mummy... heres dylan feeding schedule:

730am 210ml FM
1230pm 240ml EBM
430pm 180ml FM + 3 teaspoon cereal
830pm 210ml FM
1230am 30ml FM (dream feed)

after intro the dream feed he sleep better without fuss at 4am plus

am i over or under feed?

so many posts in one morning!

rena,

can add in one California Baby Calendula Cream for me pls?
thks!

queen,

thks for the update! so excited that i can get to see hte ON stuff before going to Oz.

SY,

I can't make it for the 13 Aug trial cos still in Oz. Can change to 19 Aug which is a sat? if it's inconvenient, can ask other mummy to take my place. think there are other mummies who are interested as well. thks for organising!

WOw.. 9kg? My gril 6months 1 week still 7kg, 65cm only! Is she too light? Maybe I feed her too little ya?

My girl 6 days never pooed but she's not showing signs of constipation.. never fed her anything other than rice cereal and carrot puree on saturday. maybe that's what's causing the constipation. This morning i asked my maid feed her some papayas and see how it goes.