(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Yuki, yes time really flies... On hindsight, I think I would have enjoyed the precious moments better if I wasn't uptight about things... But very hard to let go of my "principles" leh...

re: tricking baby
Y, yah, babies very smart! Once, I pretended to give Kirsten's cracker to her cousin and she screamed and cried and refused to eat anymore... Wah, like flaring up like that... so fierce.

Re: fruit juice
Can I know do mummies here feed juice using spoon or thru bottles like drink water?

Re: banana and carrot and orange
These item.. my MIL like reluntant to feed ley
She say Banana and Orange will cause plemgh and Carrot will make bb turn yellow.

U know what.. I secretly hope kaelyn will hate MIL for doing all those things to her...haizzz...
Most of the time my HB will think what his mum does are ok and no big deal

Hi Sandra,

I ahve the same problem as you. My gal Megan doesn;t like pacifier. Sometimes i just want to chucked to her so that it can keep her quiet/entertained for a while.

Hi Celine,

I become the opposite with my second gal. When megan can;t really sleep, i am the one who suggest to my mum on pacifier and sarong! Ha Ha

Cos aftering how my elder gal turn out, i thot all these with no bad effect but can make the current moment easier - just do it! Ha Ha

RE: Teething

Just remember to remind all the mommies here. Do clean the teeth once they are out. Can buy those soft brush or just clean with cloth once a day, especially at night.

I neglected this area and my elder gal's top four front teeth has cavaties and need to be filled up and even extract one of the teeth. A very expensive procedure cos need to put the child under GA to carry out the dental procedure.

Actually most babies grew up like that - don't really brush teeth until much older like two or three years old but don't know why my gals' teeth so weak. We notice brown stains since she was 18 months old but 2 different PD said it's not too much of a concern. Some kids teeth are just like that. Till we found out that some parts of my gal's teeth start falling out bits by bits that we decided to consult a dentist, thus the discovery.

Anyway, the whole procedure cost us $700 with gov subsideries. if without - $1200. Private clinic quoted me $2500. I waited for three months to get an appointment at NDC.........

So lesson learnt - brush their teeth early.

RE: Feeding Semi Solid
Feeding has become complicate when mom or MIL are involved. Both sides have different ideas and I have my own. Mom refused to let me feed bananas and carrots too. Carrot the same reason as Cookie's, turning orange.

Mom also against me trying to get xavier off night feeding. She insists that I MUST feed him when he fusses at night. Told her countless time that PD said no need when babies sleep. Told her so many mummies here dun feed liao. She juz refused to listen.

RE : Stress
Mom kept saying that why I always complain tired when kena torture by xav at night. When she looked after no problem. Com'on she literally stay awake and pat him at the slightest stir. Of cos he'll sleep well. On top of that, I gotta work. Immediately upon reaching home, have a hurried dinner, shower and gotta look after baby. No break, its really no joke. I was so tired, snapped back "I gotta work, ma!" Urgh!!!!!!

Hi Valerie,

It's ok. I guess utimately it's personal choice. If it's something you believe firmly in - hang on to it so that you will not regret in future.

I agree. Babies very smart nowadays. I sat Megan infront of me, her back facing me. I distract her with a soft toy left and right and place it further upfront for her to crawl to reach. Finally i hide behind her so that she cannot find it. Guess what she did? She purposely fall backwards and flip over on the tummy so that she can see and touch the toy.....

Hi Valerie,
yup, pear is good... I steam it first, but I think you can just give it to her raw...

Y, Celine,
Re: Pacificers
I'm using Nuk ones and the difference is the sucker size... the 0 - 6 mths one is consderiably smaller than the 6+mths one... in fact, Shannon started fussing and spitting out her pacificer when she was 6months plus, and only when we changed it to the bigger one, did she settle down with it... so perhaps good way to wean off pacificer is NOT to change? Hee hee... I was thinking of doing that, but just couldn't bear to see my daughter toss and turn and have difficulty getting to sleep... think I will wait for the next change at 18mths and just let her get frustrated with it and spit it out eventually...

Re: Sucking fingers/sticking tongue out
Similarly, I believe it's a developmental stage of bbs growing up, so I dun bother with her sucking her fingers and toes now! As long as they are clean and not dirty.... unlike a ex-colleague of mine who has a bb about 1 month younger than mine, she laughingly chided my gal and pulled her hand away from her mouth when she caught her sucking her fingers... I just didn't bother about it.

Hello Mummies

RE: Mooncake from Singapore Marriott Hotel

Anyone interest? My company can get 30% corporate discount (if we hit 100 boxes). I am opening the offer to mummies from this thread only. PM me if you are interested, can send u the price list. I'll close the order by Sunday nite 2200

sleepingdeer/Y/Celine

my boy is still using NUK newborn pacifier. when it got worn out..i bought back the newborn one as i realise its not so thick as compared to the 6 mths and above. he is still on pacifier and we give it only when he wants to sleep. Once he is asleep, we will take it away. i really hope he gets off the hook soon.

wow so many post

sleepingdeer
my gal also finally poo after 3 days... gave her lots of water and diluted prune juice. but the poo is soft, not hard.

re: pacifier
i m also opposed to use it. during the 1st mth, my mil kept asking me to give. but i refused loh. so far only gave her less than 5 times 'cos that time really tired to listen to her yelling... and it's middle of the night.

re: magmag
i also gave my gal mag mag. so far she could handle it quite well. but need to supervise.

re: banana
ya, i read from books that it can cause constipation leh... how strange...

re: MIM sling demo
thought someone organise this? any updates?
i am thinking if i should still buy a bb carrier instead of using the sling leh 'cos bb now 6 mth liao, kind of waste if can't use for long..... anyone using bb carrier e.g. infantino, bb bjorn?

sunny - i have one infantino but seldom use. i normally use pram. i find it more appropriate when he is much younger, now he is a bit heavy...quite siong to carry it. hehe..

flo,
thanks for offering. i check with my hb and let u know. we planing to get for parents and in laws.

cookie
i give carrot almost everyday! so far my boy din turn yellow. in fact he's very fair now...

i m planing to give banana too! your MIL will scream if i m her DIL..haha...

sleepingdeer
is it better to steam the fruit before giving? easier to digest right?

what do u usually give as snacks? i m thinking of giving my boy one snack in teh afternoon so he won't need to drink milk in the evening so i can feed him cereal.

yuki,
i m starting the practice of cleaning his mouth even at night (no teeth yet) so hopefully he will know that he has to brush teeth at night. but sometimes my maid will forget.

celine,
my gal is using NUK pacifier for 6mths n above, the silicon type. she doesnt like Avent type.

re: magmag
when i saw shannon using magmag, i bot one for my gal hoping she'll drink. she can hold it herself, but using it like a toy
swinging around...

re: fireworks
i was quite worried abt the fireworks at disney hkg, but surprisingly my gal wasnt shocked, afraid or anything. in fact she enjoyed watching the lights n listening to the music. so much so, she fell asleep amidst the noise

val,
thanks for the tip. i'll go cheong choon today.

denmy,
jus sharing the happy news, Constance gave birth today via scheduled c-section! baby breeched.

re aqua ducks
each class is max of 6 babies. currently on the list we have 7. i m asking whether they can accommodate all 7 of us then we can all go together.

sunny,
i got the baby bjorn. it has served me well so far. i use it when i bring him to the supermarket or out for a walk. places which i know i will only be hanging around for a short while. so don't need to bring pram. but i must say with bb getting heavier each day, it can be tiring after a while. good thing is hb can use it. men are suppose to be stronger ya. furthermore, i find sling abit too "ku niang" for men to use. IMO.

btw, i tot bb sling can use longer. whereas bb carrier can use only up till 11 or 13kg. i oso got a MIM sling but i'm totally hopeless at it. edgar has not been in it, not even once!!! will greatly appreciate if someone can show me how to use it!!!

SY
what did you use to 'brush' your boy's gum?

celine
ya, i think sling can be used longer. who was organising the demo liao har? me poor memory... can't remember leh.
i am not really good at using it, but so far my gal didn't scream when i put her in for shopping.
hehe... agree that it's a bit ku niang lah. but my hb is willing to use.
just that carrier can balance up the weight loh...

sunny,
hehe i oso can't remember who :p
wow not bad ar, ur hb oso know how to use!! *impressed*!
ya carrier is much easier to use. well, at least for me lah! :p

Re: cleaning teeth
Errr.. what kind of cloth should we use to clean bb teeth? now only 2 teeth... can use damp cotton wool?

sunny,celine,
was me lah, trying to organize the demo cos i also hopeless at it. but poor response leh...never mind, here's what i'll do. i'll email MIM to check with them how to go about organizing then let u all know again. i tink got at least 4-5 of us.

wow so many postings!

Re: constipation
Carrots cause constipation??
Janelle was constipated for 3 days and today she finally poo-ed! i know she's constipated coz she really strains hard n the poo comes out in lumps like stone and is dark brown colour. Totally different from her usual poo. It's really strange and i can't figure out what food caused her to be constipated. The 'prime suspect' is butternut squash coz that was the new food i introduced to her and then she started to hv constipation! But does butternut squash cause constipation? Never heard of it leh.
And today she poo-ed back her usual poo after i stopped giving her squash. Think pear helps too

celine,
i use the sling most of the time, find it helpful, but can get tired after some time. i also have baby bjorn but hardly used it! Think only used it once! What a waste. Perhaps i shd sell it off.

RE: pacifier
My gal also very dependent on pacifier to fall asleep. Hope to wean off when she's 1 year old!

Hi Cookie,

You can buy a very soft brush from places like kiddy palace. It is rubberished and you can slip it onto your finger to brush baby's teeth. Alternatively you can use face towel....

yuki,

thks for the info on the soft brush! Must get it already. charmaine got 2 teeth liao.

valerie,

your post is so funny! Ya, sometimes I can see charmaine straining as well when she's trying to poo.

re: aquaducks

wow! such good response. SY, can check with aquaduck, if we conduct the class at suntec, how about bathing the babies?

thks!

tracy,

I also find cheong choon's pricing better. Regretted buying the major items from baby kingdom - shd have bought from cheong choon. If you are going, can check the pigeon sterilising tablets price for me pls? Thks!

Here's the price list for the mooncake

Traditional Baked Mooncake (per box)
White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk $45.00 (4pcs)
White Lotus Seed Paste with Single Yolk $41.00 (4pcs)
White Lotus Seed Paste with Olive Seed $38.00 (4pcs)
Lotus Seed Paste with Assorted Nuts $39.00 (4pcs)
Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk $42.00 (4pcs)
Jasmine Tea with Pine Nuts (NEW!) $40.00 (4pcs)

Snow Skin Mooncake (per box)
Durian $42.00 (8pcs)
Green Tea $39.00 (8pcs)
Wild Strawberry Yoghurt (NEW!) $40.00 (8pcs)
Crunchy Muesli (NEW!) $40.00 (8pcs)
Ebony & Ivory Whisky Chocolate Praline $40.00 (8pcs)
White Lotus Seed Paste with Egg Yolk $39.00 (8pcs)

just intro damien into porridge..

1am - 125ml of milk
8am - 125ml of mil
11 am - porridge
3pm - 125ml of milk
6pm - porridge
9pm - 125ml of milk

Not sure whether he get enuf of milk or not 500ml of milk per day..abit worry

He jsut recover from his flu..not drinking that well

Valerie, yup she still wants my boobs. =) It's like the only thing that can pacify her. She's my 5th limb-can't go anywhere for long without her.

Flo, am interested. Will let u know by Sunday which type I want k? How do we collect? At raffles?

Re : Pacifier
Don't be too uptight about the pacifier lai. I gave my girl the pacifier since birth. She throw the pacifier away herself when she was 1 year old.

Hey Babylon

Your Damien's meal schedule is similar to mine except that I give my Lisa half a slice of bread at 8am followed by milk at 9+am. I will tear the bread to 5-cent size and let her munch. But need to let her drink lots of water as sometimes the bread got stuck on top of her mouth.

casey
ya, careful about the bread getting stuck as bread don't dissolve by itself.

my baby meal schedule :-
1.30 a.m. 140ml
5.00 a.m. 140ml
9.00 a.m. 140ml
11.30 a.m. 2 tablespoon of cereal and 120ml milk
4.30 p.m. 2 tablespoon of cereal and 120 milk
7.30 p.m. 140ml
10.30 p.m. 140ml

am I feeding Bryant too much ? he is nearly 9kg now.

Yuenyuen

Yeap, water is not to dissolve the bread but to help her dislodge it from the top of the mouth. My lisa is also almost 9kg now. Tomorrow is her 6M jabs and I will the exact weight and lenght.

Re: Pacifier
I use Pigeon. Tried Avent and Tommy Tippee and finally settled on Pigeon which he took to it best. Introduced it to him when going back to work so that mom can have an easier time looking after him.

I change the pacifier every 3 mths. He is using the 5-8mths now - pigeon classifies them into different stages. 5-8mths one is to help weaning. 9mth+ help teething. I use 2 pacifiers each day so that they can get the proper sterilization etc.

Yuen yuen/casey,
wow, your babies drink well. Lucas was 8.8kg 2 weeks back but last week fell to 8.6kg. I was kan cheong but PD says nevermind. Now gaining 100g also like so difficult hiaz...

Re: food and constipation
Yes, bananas cause constipation. Actually I have tried quite a variety of veg and fruit purees from Gerber/Heinz/HT. I find the Gerber Brocholi & Cauliflower mixed puree best in helping poo poo. Try feeding a little warm water when bb wakes up in the morning too, can help. As for carrots, must eat a lot then will turn orange lah. I ever gave Lucas about 50g of it for 4 days continuously, he's ok.

SO many posts!

Re. Pacifier
Actually, I'm ok with using it. Gave it to Isaac when he was just 2 weeks old cos he was driving me crazy crying non-stop at night. But since then, I was able to limit the usage to sleeping times only. He needs to pacifier to fall asleep. It's just that I don't want him to use it while he is awake. And definitely not as a method to keep him quiet just because he gets a little mang zhang in the day. Don't understand why my MIL gave it to him when he doesn't need it. Funny thing is, she was the one who disapproved at first when I started giving Isaac the pacifier. Now it seems like she is the one who's giving it to Isaac freely!

Cookie,
Wah... I have to say your MIL sounds a bit siao leh. Flick Kaelyn's tongue? How can do that! You mean she refused to feed all those puree that you have made? My MIL is irritating at times and have funny idiosyncracies, but I have to say that she takes care of Isaac quite well. She will give him everything that I have prepared... sometimes I worry that she'll spoil him.

SY,
My MIL gives him fruit juice or let him suck on grapes and also 1 cube of puree for snacks in between milk/cereal feeds.

Sunny,
Wah, your HB willing to use the sling? That's good man! I tried to get my HB to use it but he says that he feels sissy using it. Sigh... HE rather hand carry.

Re. drinking from cup
My MIL told me that she tried getting Isaac to drink direct from cup a bit at a time and she says he can do it without anything spilling out from the sides of his mouth! He didn't struggle as well. Looks like maybe I should get the Mag Mag...

Casey
your girl is heavy, my boy 7 months already and same weight as your girl.

Solid food
Wow, mummies here very giving a vareity of different food and puree. I very lazy, only give him rice cereal. Fruits only give apple.

Cindy
I don't weight him that often, so if there is any drop in weight in between, I don't know. Don't want to stress myself out.

Wenyl??
Are you looking for the membrane to the pump? I think I have 1 extra, I can give it to you. Let me go and look for it for (kept the pump already as stop bf sometime back). When do you need it. PM me.

Yuenyuen,
Ya, can get stressed. But went to the PD for his 6in1 jab and subsequently cos he had bad rash had to go again, that's why weighing back to back.

Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill
13th August (Sun) or 20th August (Sun) 3pm tentatively.
1)MamaChan + hb + bb
2)Rachel + hb + bb + mum (bringing bumper playmat)
3)Denmy + hb + bb
4)Tracy + hb + bb
5)Cookie (are we suppose to com alone? or can bring bb and hb?)
6)Sychua + hb +bb

Oops! Update on cookie's
Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill
13th August (Sun) or 20th August (Sun) 3pm tentatively.
1)MamaChan + hb + bb
2)Rachel + hb + bb + mum (bringing bumper playmat)
3)Denmy + hb + bb
4)Tracy + hb + bb
5)Cookie + hb + bb
6)Sychua + hb +bb

queen
haizzz.. ya lor.. sometimes I dunno what my MIL thinking.. but I'm sure she did it lightly but still..haizzz
my MIL dun wan me to batch puree.. she wanna cook fresh. So I never do any batch cooking.
SO I will buy variety of food/fruit to let her cook fresh.
SOmetimes I really cannot agree with MIL that why that make me very buay tahan her and yet I cannot say much, as long as she and FIL dun do silly things.. I just got to close 1 eye

yuenyuen,
i was juz looking at ur feeding schedule. regarding the 1.30am and 5am feed, u mean u set ur alarm clock and wake up to feed ar?
also 2 tablespoon of cereal + 120ml of milk, isn't too watery? i use only about 30-40ml of milk for 2 tablespoon of cereal, so the texture is pasty.

Hello mummies.

Updates on Old Navy Sprees:

Spree 1
Have reached VPostUSA and I have made payment to VPost. Should get it delivered to my home in about 5-7 days' time.

Spree 2 & 3
ON has just shipped out our items.