(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

queen/durianlover/Flo
my gal also blow saliva nd stick her tongue out..
she even stickout during my MIL feed her cereal..
guess what.. my MIL use her finger to "flick" her tongue.. and according to MIL kaelyn finish her cereal without stick out again...
Hmmm... I dunno what to say abt my MIL doings..
but I wun do the same to my bb lor.., but I can't stop MIL from doing everything.. I suppose just her be..

SY
Tupperware Party I guess means whereby a dealer will bring most of the Tupperwares to a host's home and then from there if you see anything you like, can place orders with the ladies. SOmetimes at these parties, dependent on the dealer, would do some demo cooking.

I personally find tupperwares are good investments, got lifetime warranty wor... i.e. the lids become loose or after a long while and usage the tupperware becomes warped, they'll do a one for one value exchange. My mom recently got new lids for her retro tupperwares.

Tupperware Party @ MamaChan's place in Redhill
12th August or 19th August, 2pm tentatively.
1)MamaChan
2)Rachel + mum
3)Denmy
4)Tracy

13th August (Sun) or 20th August (Sun) 3pm tentatively.
1)MamaChan
2)Rachel + mum
3)Denmy
4)Tracy

Are any of these 2 sundays ok with you all? I'll be in church in the mornings, can buy some ingredients for making baby food before the "party".

Valerie
Kaelyn also has her bottom 2 teeth out when she is 4mth plus.. Thank God the tooth fairy din discomfort her much.
In fact we din know until she bite my finger.
Now we are looking out for the top teeth.

1)MamaChan
2)Rachel + mum
3)Denmy
4)Tracy
5)Cookie (are we suppose to com alone? or can bring bb and hb?)

Posted on Thursday, July 27, 2006 - 11:38 am:

1)MamaChan
2)Rachel + mum
3)Denmy
4)Tracy
6)Sychua

will try to come

mamachan,

anyday for me is fine. thx!

1)MamaChan
2)Rachel + mum
3)Denmy
4)Tracy
6)Sychua

cookie,
eh...i tink can bring bb & hb. i assume can..hehe

demny
2 Aug.. I cannot take leave ley
so cannot join.*sad*

Re: cry in her sleep...
Kaelyn also cry in her sleep.. but mainly becos she flip herself and she get stuck in the corner thenshe will cry for help.
Usually flip over she will sleep but if my hb reach her first.. he will carry her up and pat pat.. aiyo so darling one.
Kaelyn cry in her sleep soooo gentle one.. and so nice to hear her.. hahah.. sadist mum.. cos really so gentle and so cute... :p

Thanks Tabbie on the receipe!!

BTW mummy.. is courgette = japanese cumcuber.. the zichii (sorry dunno spelling)

I also saw, swede, parnip, butternut in Market place at raffles city.

ANyone has any idea what kind of Organic veggie Carrefour carry??

RE: Brikies
Help.... I cannot decide between the Papilio - Thongs or Florida....

Can anyone give me suggestion pls....
oh I can only buy 1 pair la... tho very tempted to by 2.. but I spend too much lately

Cookie,
I have a pair of Garden White Papilio Thong.
Think it's a very common model...

Re. MIL
My MIL took out the bathtub and let Isaac sit in it to play with his toys! Said like that no need to hold him all the time and don't have to worry about him wriggling out of the Bumbo. Some more sound so proud that she thought of that idea! I'm ok that she used the tub for a while if she needs to free up her hands to do something. But dunno whether she'll put him in whenever he's awake. Worried that it will limit his motor development. Another thing is, while we were having dinner last night, MIL was taking care of him while me and HB eat, Isaac started being a little bit mang zhang. My MIL dunno what he wants and gave him the pacifier. Makes me wonder whether that is how she keeps him quiet. So when I took over after finishing my dinner, I immediately took out the pacifier. Sigh...So far, I haven't said anything to my HB or MIL, all these seems like small things to fuss about, especially when I should appreciate the fact that my in-laws are caring for him. But still...

Denmy/Tracy/Rachel/SY/cookie
Sure! Can bring bb and hb along if you all want. haha, think my hb might interest your hbs to play X-box? It'll be really funny. My living room is big and long coz the previous owner knocked down one of the bedrooms to join the living room. But my house furniture quite bare minimum wor! Can't expect much. kekeke still looks like a newlywed couple place except that lots of bb stuff lying around! kekeke, oh I think I better start cleaning up and packing my house to be neater.

I have a bumper playmat so can lay on the floor for the babies, but might not be big enough, any of you bought a bumper playmat? can bring up to my place if you want.

Cookie
Re: Birkies
It's a good investment, heh heh! And it should last u for very long, somemore if the bottom soles of the birkies are worn out, can replace with new soles you know? And it'll be really good in time to come for #2 heh heh. SO terrible me, give you selling points

Queen
I kind of understand how you feel about the pacifier, especially when during my confinment month, both my MIL and MOM both wanted to give Daren the pacifier! I was hoping mad and told them he doesn't want it (coz he also rejects it mah) but now, since in infant care, I gave the caregivers there a pacifier for them to use as standby, if Daren doesn't want it can always spit out, now he uses it lor. But rule of the thumb is this, give pacifier only when they fuss or going to sleep, but if bb happy and not fussing, then don't give pacifier. That's my mom's stand and shared with me la. So I kinda "ren ming" to it lor. But I aim to after 1 years old try to wean him off the pacifier which I think it's possible. Not sure what's your take on this.

Thanks Queen and mamachan...on the brikies..

Queen
Same as you... I also worry MIL put kaelyn all the itme in her highchari.. becos she say " Oh she like to sit so much these days dun like to lie down.
Then she also use her finger to Flick Kaelyn toungue...which I wun do it myself or approve her doing..
if I talk my HB he will think I'm too particula...hmmm

I'm a big fan of firework..

here's schedule for this year NDP celebration.
My HB say firework is too loud for bb and dun wanna watch this year... so sad ley.
DO u think it's true?.. too loud?

Singapore Fireworks Festival 2006 Press Release

The Singapore Fireworks Festival 2006, in conjunction with Singapore's
41st National Day celebration, will be held at Marina Bay over a
four-day period at 2100 hours each night.
Singapore Fireworks Festival 2006 at Marina Bay

Date/Day Time (9pm) Team
5 August 2006, Saturday 2100 hours Team Italy

8 August 2006, Tuesday 2100 hours Team Singapore

11 August 2006, Friday 2100 hours Team New Caledonia

12 August 2006, Saturday 2100 hours Team France

*Popular viewing areas include the Padang, Esplanade Park, Marina
Promenade, Marina Centre,
Marina South and Kallang

i got the contact for healthy times supplier.. got free delivery if u order more than 80dollars. no BP tho. .. if not can pick up from selected NTUC can get almost full range of heatlhy times including jars of cereal.. i got the catalogue n name of the person... pm me if u interested.. if not we can share and deliver to one place and pick up from each other...

Re:Water
Everytime we give Shannon water, she will turn her head away and scream like nobody's business, as if we'll gonna drown her like that... now she hates the sight of her Magmag coz I force her to drink... but after about 1 week of forcing, she will still drink after screaming bloody murder....think she knows that bo bian, have to drink means have to drink... haha, I'm a mean mummy!

Medela Breastpump
I am looking for the valve membrane (white rubber piece). I need 2 pieces only. Anyone got extras to sell me? Pls kindly PM me. Thank you!

cookie,
I am also a fan of fireworks. I remember last yr I was at Tampines open field to watch the mini fireworks & there was a family who shared my beachmats. The little girl (probably ard 2-3 yrs old) got so terrified by the sudden explosions that she cried non stop. I tink it will be better to watch from afar. Tatz my thots. At least the noise not so loud & thunderous.

Mamachan, Queen,
Re: pacificer
I felt the same way regarding pacificers too, but my mum kept insisting on giving Shannon pacificer, so now she needs it to sleep... but what I do to minimise usage is to use it only when she is going to sleep, the other times are a no-no..

BTW, really happy, after 5 days of constipation, Shannon finally pooed after giving her apple and prune juice from Heinz.... I read off the internet that banana, rice, and carrots are constipating foods! Strange huh? Anyway, on the other hand, pear helps in roughage...

re pacifier
i used to dislike the idea of pacifier but i gave in after some time cos there's really nothing to shut my boy when he's screaming like mad. somehow, after i complained abt him being reliant, he suddenly disliked it and won't take it. at that time i was really quite frustrated cos each time he cries, there's nothing to pacify him.

he doesn't want it all the time. only when he sleeps so i just let him be. i rather have something that i can use to keep him quiet than have nothing..

just my experience..

sleepingdeer
does shannon knows how to hold the magmag?
I also bought this drinking bottle but haven't start it yet... still using bottles to feed kaelyn water..
I wanna to let her learn how to hold her own bottle.

Hi Cookie,
she is still learning to hold on to the mag mag, coz she doesn't know how to angle the spout correctly... so now, I hold one to the magmag, and she holds on to the sides... haha

queen
I've no problems fitting the maxi cosi baby seat in my back seat. Can also sit 2 normal sized adults the the back seat. FOr big sized adults with long legs (like my bro who is 1.8m and BIG size), alittle cramp but still can sit without problems.

durianlover/queen/valerie/florence
My girl also likes to stick out her tongue. SHe also like to blow saliva until neck and front wet wet.

Mamachan, i think action songs really help to develop fine motor skills. can try on daren.

I think Kirsten has the most teeth so far? Not a good thing lor cos cause her so much angst...

cookie, I also give magmag to kirsten and she can hold it in her mouth, take out and put back... It's a useful skill for her cos can help her tahan her hunger when she's waiting for mummy to prepare her food/milk.

Pacifier:

I gave Sarah the pacifier recently cos I thot it would occupy her for a while when she cried. Guess what, it kept her quiet for a short while cos she's curious about it but she don't know how to suck on it. *pengz* She just roll it around in her mouth and then spit it out - most of the time, she play with it with her hands. Sometimes I wish I had given to her when she was really little so that she'll know how to use it now. =( Same story with the milk bottle. *BIG SIGH* Second time round, I'll start #2 on milk bottle and pacifier when he/she is around 2 mths.

Wendy, RX8 whoa! That's my dream car. I really, really like it alot. Last time I used to drive Miata,also quite stylo. But I like RX8 better cos got 2 more seats behind. Not so selfish. =)Unfortunately Hubby no longer into Japanese cars... Keeping fingers cross that it's just a passing phase. Just hinted to him recently about getting me the RX8 if he ever strike lottery. Second-hand also good. =)

cookie
Oh my god! Use finger "flick" the tongue? Isnt it painful for poor kaelyn? Its a developmental stage, dun restrict the baby from doing what they're supposed to be doing. Let them develop their senses ma. They'll outgrow it.

Tracy, I think Cheong Choon is better than Baby Hyperstore/Kingdom. The price the latter 2 offers is about the same as dept stores.

sleepingdeer, yah, I'm surprised that bananas will cause constipation. I think it's the small type that's the problem. Kirsten also having constipation today. I was encouraging her to poo this morning by doing the "mmm... mmmm..." and I keep seeing her strain until her whole face turn so red and the poo just keep coming out, then going back in. So I helped by pulling the poo out whenever she pushed. She pushed, I pulled. Sounds gross hor? Like giving birth like that... hahaa....

re pacifier,
what brand do u mummies use? i'm using the avent one.i tot of getting a bigger one coz edgar has started to push the whole thing into his mouth and chew!

Mummies, Kirsten today is like suddenly trying to grow up. This morning, after downing half the first bottle, she doesn't want to drink from bottle. No matter how I try, she refuses to drink. Then, I pour out and spoon feed her, and she drank! After a while, she doesn't want anymore, then I cup feed her, and she drank again! Don't tell me she doesn't want to drink from bottle anymore, how to go out like this?

RE : Mug
Is MagMag good? The Avent I have is so diff to suck. I tried myself...oh my god...really gotta suck hard. No wonder my boy rejected it.

RE : "Flick" Tongue
OUCH!!!! Ask her to try on herself. Its really painful. Somehow the older generation very against baby sucking on fingers, play wif tongues...as long as its clean, i dont see any problem. They are entertaining themselves. Juz let them be. I wldnt stop my boy unless he juz drank milk cos he'll dig till regurgitate.

RE : Pacifier
I only give when sleeping. Now he knows how to remove himself. Will take it out and play. Like sleepingdeer, i also only restrict to use during sleep. No usage any other time.

Hi Valerie,
haha... your description is funny, I know what you mean, I was quite xin tong when I saw Shannon kept straining and straining since yesterday morning, and her case was quite bad, coz nothing came out at all... when she poos, I let her lie on my tummy, and she is totally limp from the exhuastion, so really glad that's over! Today feeding her pear and fresh prunes for tea, so hope there won't be a repeat again!

pacifier:
i'm still using the newborn one. but i think avent's pacifiers are all the same size regardless of age? no? i want to get something big, so that he cannot fit the whole thing in his mouth.

Re Pacifier

I was very concerned too when my mum introduced it to my elder gal. Violent objection for a few weeks! But give in later cos it really smoothen her to sleep. However I always watch very careful and will try to remove it at every opportunity i can get. To the extend that i will purposely keep myself awake and wait till my gal fall into deep sleep and pull it out immediately. Ha Ha

I manageed to wean my gal off when she's about 18 months old.

Things are like that. When i look back i realised i need not be so fussy about so many things. Cried when my mum introduced formula milk, frustrated when mum introduced pacifier, sarong etc Ha Ha

Sorry - i don't meant to say those who are very concerned are fussy. I can understand cos being first time mothers. Even i myself second time mother also fuss about things. I am just sharing my feelings that all these things doesn't matter two three years down the road when we see our child growing up healthy day by day.

So don't worry too much and just enjoy every moment.

Come to think of it, time flies. Our babies are already six months old, eating solids, some teething, some crawling.... So much things happen within these short six months!
What a fulfiling year!

celine,
I'm also using the newborn. Tried the 3m+ too big.He doesnt like it. Kept hitting his nose when sucked. I also wondering shld I buy new one, Being using for 5+ months.

sleepingdeer, pears will help? Ok, I've plenty in the fridge, will give to her. Can just scrape and give directly right? I heard papaya also helps, so asked hubby to buy one during lunchtime too.

SY, Wenyl, yah, sounds very gross, but really pek chek to keep seeing the poo goes back in after so much effort, so I helped her a bit. Of course, I used the wet tissue lah... Hehee...

Y,
my IL the exact opp. they like my boy to eat his fingers esp my FIL. he had a diarrhea episode once and after that we din want him to suck fingers, my FIL keep letting him do it.

my boy also keeps playing with his pacifier. sometimes he wants to sleep and keep taking it out and in the end , will be crying...

celine,
avent pacifiers are divided by age. i changed when he was 3 months.

yuki,
totally agree to what you say. i've also learn to let go and juz be greatful that i have a healthy, happy baby! =D

Y,
ic... so the length is a consideration. i juz read on avent's website that the pacifier is to be changed every month!! who's to follow dat?! quite ridiculous! avent's juz hoping to sell more pacifier by saying dat!! keke...

SY,
yah...the same. The older they get, the naughtier they become.

RE : Tricking Baby
My boy was eyeing my crackers while I'm eating.He "yelled" for me to feed him. I pretend to feed and only dabbed his lip with finger. He started licking and yelled again. I repeated and he then realised that there's nothing....kena tricked by me. He cried!!!!! Hahaha...so amusing...babies are so smart!!!

Valerie,
Ethan is also like dat. After I fed him his cereals at dinner time, I will let him drink the remaining FM from the cup. He doesnt want to drink with the teats. Keeps turning away. When I use the bottle cap as a cup & pour into his mouth bit by bit, he will open & let me pour in. Even my mum was amused. I tink he finds it fun lor.