(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,
Wat is aquaducks?
Wah...a lot of mummies sending bb to all kind of classes? Wat are all these...so lost hearing abt them
Sianz....hb going indonesia for 1 week. Now don't know if i should still bring bb home. Want to but i think i will meet with resistance from MIL & my mum...

RE: sleeping

sumo is so cute after waking up at 11 plus i give him his milk at 12 then put him in his play yard again.. he played then get upset suddenly so i put him on his rocker and on his favorite tv show then i went to msn and reading the forum.. just now i went out and saw that he is fast a sleep.. hahah so funny at one stage he refuse to sleep on his rocker but now seems to change again

rena,celine,tabbie,
rena tempted me so i also booked myself for the trial class this sunday, 12.45pm..hehe. see u all there!

rena,
i'm so envious!!! if only edgar can sleep half as easily as sumo, i won't be so zombified!

wowowowowo!!! more and more mummies joining... seems like the class is turning into a jan06mtb class!! way to go!! =D

SY,
re: aquaducks
I don't mind going for the trial class. I prefer weekends.

Tracy,
re: show size
I also size 7 leh... big feet hor? or your hb got small feet...kekee... i am sometimes 6.5 for some brands. What brand is his size 7? UK or American 7? anyway, i wear 39 for birkies. Maybe he is a 40. But better if he goes to their outlet to try out 1st.

May,
re: teeth
Keenan has his bottom right 1st. Now with the 2nd on cutiing thru, very cute: one tall, one short.

Denmy
re:birkins size
thanks for the advice..its my hb who has small feet! i'll try to drop by the raffles city outlet to try the sizes cos i heard only that outlet has the birkis thong alpro-cell range.

playgroup
I thought most playgroups accept only babies from 18 months? I thought its abit risky for a 6 month infant to start climbing everywhere. Ariene has only just learnt to crawl and sit steadily. Her legs are not strong enough to start cruising yet.

Birkins
What is this Birkins? At first I thought it was baby shoes, then I read again, sounds more like adult shoes?

Teeth
My girl still giving toothless grins :D She's getting very irritted with me pulling her llower down every day to check her teeth.

Chatter
Are your babies chattering away? Recently, Ariene's been into saying Mir.. Mir.. Ma.. Ma.. Da.. Da.. Gu.. Boo.. Ah.. She's also into different tones of casual screaming and sighing alot lately. I swear I can hear her try to say MILK when she's hungry and Ma-ma-ma when she wants me. Haha!

tracy,

Hahaha.. I just realised that. Thanks for confirming. I was wondering why are u all letting babies wear shoes when they cant walk yet. Hahah.. so silly of me

Denmy,
Dun worry abt size 7 feet. If u think size 7 is big.. then I got gigantic feet la. I'm a size 8 and some brands, 8.5 or 9. :p

Skin rash and bacterial infection
Ariene keeps getting skin rashes around her chin, neck, back, elbows and shoulders. If I don't apply steriod cream (hydrocortisone) to stop the rash (cuz my hb insist its bad for baby and keep trying to stop me from applying), the rashes get infected by bacteria (characterised by the pimplish white bumps on top of the red rashes). Thought I had gotten rid of this problem when it finally cleared 2 weeks back when I applied bactroben cream and topped it up with urea cream (for eczema) there everyday. However, lately, I see the disgusting red rashes again and my hb insisted its heat rash and don't allow me to apply fungicort (hydrocortisone cream). Now, its got infected again. Arghh..

Some of u are also facing the same problems right? What did your doctors prescribe?

celine,

Here you go:

Positive Babies (for 7 to 15mths with a parent/ caregiver)

Friday: 11-11.45am (New Term Start Date: 4th August 2006)

Sunday: 3.15 4pm (On-going class)

A fun-filled hour with laughter combining yoga, singing, music, drama, dances, toy play & positive affirmations for you and baby.Concentrates on empowering mums/ dads / caregivers with choices and tools on how to relax, connect, enhancing communication with yourself and babies.

Cost: Trial session @ $26.25 / 8 sessions @ $210

Kindermusik Village (0 18mths)

New Series: Do-Si-Do

Saturday: 3 3.45pm (New Term Start Date: 5th August 2006)

Welcome to Do-Si-Do, a rich community experience of sharing and learning for
babies and adults, with extra emphasis placed on rhythm and movement.
Central to this unit is the use every week of Baby's Book, entitled THIS IS
MY DANCE, the creation of which turned out to be one of the most fun and
funniest parts of this project. The result is a 'move-to-it' book featuring
cumulative, colorful and rhythmically driven bears who serve as playful
models for us adults as we explore movement with Baby.

Do-Si-Do, stimulates a wonderfully unique experience of rhythm and movement.
Movement highlights includes a Virginia Reel, a combination Tango, Cha-Cha!
and a 'move-to-it' poem.

Fee: 8 sessions + Home Materials @ $260.82 after GST. Trial session @ $25.00 after GST

hi wendy,

my boy has eczema too on his ankles ard the folds area. they are red and raw. my PD gave me fungichort to apply on the affected areas. its must better but does come back when we stop medication. that why i am buying the california cream taht Rena is organsing and see if it helps.

SSF,

My PD also prescribed my fungicort and I'm almost finishing the whole tube! Just like u, it goes away after applying. When I stop applying it, I get good smooth skin for about 2 weeks then the rashes come back to haunt you.

Lessons
I cant wait to start on my part time working scheme so I can have more time to dedicate to my darling and bring her to all these wonderful courses. Sometimes, I really don't see the point in me dedicating my time to a bunch of kids who don't appreciate it and parents who expect miracles out of you when they themselves are not doing anything about their own children. I rather be spending my time with my own kid at home.

wendy - do u want to try california cream? read that its good for ezcema. if not i will try and let u know if it works for my boy.

SSF
The shoes are very expensive! I'm going on Part time soon, so cannot afford to splurge like this anymore. Shouldn't have spent so much on the car. Every month, our commitment to the car loan is 1.4k and reno loan another 500+ then got other instalments to pay for also, so really quite tight already. Think I'll give it a miss.

wendy - what car did u buy? u paid for 7 yrs one is it? i bought a nissan saloon..pay abt 500 plus per mth but drag till 10 yrs la. interest high like siao..

Celine/Tabbiesus/Rena/Tracy
I just called up Babies n Cream to book a place for trial class this sunday too. But the lady told me that she'll call me Friday/Saturday to confirm again. Seems like the class is full. Haha, maybe can have another small mini gathering after class?

Tupperware Party
Rachel, eh, the last time I asked if any mummies here interested in getting some Tupperwares since we're all starting to give babies semi-solids and I myself is interested in getting some for myself to organize my food stuff as well as to store batch-cooked food. I can organize one at my place if a few mummies here are interested and then get my friend to bring the necessary wares, then perhaps you and your mum can come by?

Teething
I don't think Daren is teething yet, showed no signs of teething. My mum assured me that teething later is better, as they get older in months, less painful or something.

Mashy
When my boy gets cough and have lots of phelgm, I would lay him across my lap, facing down, and pat him on his back(with my hand cupped slightly), my mum advised me to do that so as to "loosen" the phlegm. Do it twice a day if possible, before feeding in the morning and before sleeping (if caeden feeds then sleep, might wanna let him settle down the milk in his tummy before doing that)

durianlover
With regards to big onion in soup stock for porridge (think it's abit too late for this answer), yes you can add it in. Just remember to strain the soup so all you have is the soup base used for porridge, hope this helps for the next time round of cooking

celine,

I signed up for the positive babies class. I was thinking of letting Charmaine try and see which component of the class suits her better. If she likes the music one, then I can sign up for the kindermusik class and if she likes the yoga part then can sign up for the baby yoga class. Hee Hee me kiasu lah.

wendy
my boy has the rashes too and i apply the same cream. it healed very fast. think no choice but to apply cos it keeps coming back cos of the heat and the saliva...

sl,
thanks for the info on the classes. where is this positive babies class held?

re aquaducks
it is a swimming school. they have different locations and they offer a complimentary trial. if mummies interested, maybe we can find one day and we all go together?

i have pasted the email from them. I am checking how big is one class.

so far mummies who have expressed interest:

1. Celine
2. Cookie
3. Denmy - weekends
4. SL
5. SY - weekends (Suntec)

Thank you for your keen interest in aquaDucks swimming programme. Please
find attached some information of our Parent & Child programme for your kind
reference.

Our programme is available at the Suntec City (weekdays/weekends) and Buona
Vista Swimming Complex from Mondays to Fridays. The on-going programme fee
for the programme is $90 per month + $15 One-time Registration Fee. Each
session is 30 minutes, 1x/week. (Admission fee applies at Buona Vista -
$1.00 per adult /$0.50 per child).

We do offer a complimentary trial session so do email us your child's name,
date of birth, contact details and preferred venue for an arrangement. We
will require a parent to accompany your child in the pool during the
session.

wendy,

it's good that you can work part-time to spend more time with your kid. My fren opted for this part-time scheme after she had her kid and it's really good. unfortunately, this option is not open to me.

hi SY!

i went to suntec city pool last weekend (sat) and saw someone organising baby swimming classes. oh so tats from aquaDuck. i saw a female trainer and she is very animated and fun. the babies are mainly ang mo ..only 1 asian. but seems fun!

i was there as my hb works in suntec so got access to the pool. but do note the pool is quite small and pathetic.

mamachan,
wow great! seems like alot of mummies interested. we shld ask them to conduct a trial class juz for the mummies in our forum!!! wahahaha!

sl,
do let us know how the class at positive baby turns out ya! btw u thinking of signing up charmaine for so many classes ar?? keke...

SY,

the positive babies class is also at babies n cream. Apparently this class combines a little of everything - baby yoga, music and dancing.

let's compile a list for the aquaduck class:
1. Celine
2. Cookie
3. Denmy - weekends
4. SL - weekends (Suntec)

Rena, Celine, Tabbie, Tracy

Very tempted with the class but the timing is no good for me

SY, Denmy
Was contemplating whether to sign up for Aquaducks but got no go from PD until bb is older. One of her bb patients drank in water during swimming lesson and so happened another bb poo poo in the pool. End up I think faeces got into bb lungs and the case became quite complicated...sigh but guess just to play safe cos I am a KS mommy.

celine,

Just the aquaduck and the positive babies. : ) Will let you know abt the positive babies class - my trial is on 20 Aug after we come back from Oz.

mamachan

i had actually bought some tupperware from my hb coli. but her tupperware party is in the north east side so kind of far for us. will be good if can have it at your place! its my mum who want to see and touch those products, i normally order by looking at brochure only. but my mum cant lo, aiyah you know old folks la.

Hi SL,
count me in for the aquaducks trail session...

1. Celine
2. Cookie
3. Denmy - weekends
6. sleepingdeer (no perference)

flo,
wow didn't know eating poopoo has such drastic consequences!!!

i juz updated my preferred location and day.
1. Celine -weekends (Suntec)
2. Cookie
3. Denmy - weekends
6. sleepingdeer (no perference)

SSF,

When we bought our RX8 2 yrs back, we were not thinking of having kids then. Its a 10 year loan @ 1.4+ per month. Well, since darling Ariene is here now, we have to think other ways to save money.

sl,

I'll be starting on my part time 1/8. Cant wait to start. However it is applied on a per semester basis and my pay and benefits will be cut half. Come Nov, i'll have to apply again, subject to approval by P. U're also in teaching?

SSF
i think the class is popular with ang mohs. i saw it on tv once and so many ang moh babies...

florence,
that's so scary...hmmm, how to stop baby from drinking the pool water?? i thought they suppose to wear diapers into the pool so that they dun dirty the pool?

sl,
hmm, maybe i will sign up for that class also. what time is your trial class? good to have company.

ssf,
is the pool at suntec indoor? if yes, is it stuffy? coz i went to one indoor pool before. the ceiling is so long and the place is so dark and stuffy. i nearly fainted!

For those babies with rashes or eczema and if you are BF, please take note of your diet. Cut down on seafood, peanuts.

Try to apply moisturiser on your baby frequently, cut down hot water, aircon.....

I heard from a few people that Goatmilk is good for skin, be it oral or application. You may want to consider.

Hi Clare,

Ha Ha. I didn't buy oven too. Hubby knows me so he said it will be a 'white elephant' in the kitchen.....

Flo,
Eeks...In the most recent session....My boy dip his mouth into the pools to drink the water (did it twice so more). I had to pull him upright to stop him from drinking. After that he was happily smacking his lips & licking the remains some more. Faintz! Hope no baby poo in the pool!!!