(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Clare,

RE: Slow-cooker or Multi-Layer Steamer

If you intend to buy both maybe u can consider getting a zisa pot - can steam, stew, cook porridge, double boil soup and even making your own chicken essence

Yippeee!!! I'm on leave so I can go!!!

SAHM / PTHM GATHERING

<font color="ff0000">PLS NOTE CHANGE OF DATE</font>

Place: Rena's house (BISHAN)
Date: 2 AUG 2006 Wednesday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb
3) Denmy + bb (TBC)
4) wenyl + bb
5) valerie + bb
6) Clare + bb

2 plus onwards

Cookie - was just telling u Celeste not puking much now and she just did it again yesterday evening... somehow when i was having classes yest, i suddenly had instinct tat Celeste will puke her porridge.true enuf,the moment i step hme, maid told me she threw up the porridge ( cos she was fussing and crying alittle during feeding. wonder y MIL din stop the feeding since it will cause so much wind! ) anyway, she took the whole of 150ml milk after tat, so i think she shld be ok... haiz... wat the puke...

QUeen- thanks! i got my orders in! YEAH!!! let me know the amount to tsf to u...

Re. Old Navy Sprees
FOr you all, no hurry on the payment lah... Any way, I have no idea what is the Vpost charges like yet. So easier to collect payment at one go only when the goods are here.

Denmy,
THe Karmel book that I borrowed from the library is the "THE NEW COMPLETE BABY AND TODDLER MEAL PLANNER". Think it is one of the older editions. Is that the same book as what you have? Anyway, I have only scanned the recipes from 4-9 months and 9-12 months selectively. Would you still want the soft copy?

Re. Spinach
Do we get the chinese kind or ang mo kind? Cos I see those chinses spinach like not very nice leh... When I was in Paris earlier this year, the spinach there is so nice, different from our chinese spinach. We end up cooking &amp; eating the spinach every night over there!

Re. red lentils, courgette, spinach
Where to find in Singapore?

God's child
Oh dear.. sory to hear that. ya with our little fussy princess.. feeding time must be really careful. haizzz

Flo
wats is zisa pot?? is it like a pressure cooker? can cook porridge very fast?
sorry ask so many qns.. I also plan to invest in a slow cooker.

Re:SHAM gathering..
har cooking class??? I wanna join but cannot take leave ley.. mthend closing.
Oh but if there is another one between 9-11thAug.. let me know hor. My Company closed for 3 days for national day..

Demny
last ntie I really earn my blender by washing dishes..
If I ask hubby to buy the multi tier steamer also.. think I got to do 1 week of dishes..hahahaa
But I'm tempted to buy a multi tier steamer too!

RE: gathering
Denmy, i dun mind the cooking session but how should we proceed please let me know so i can organise..

RE: birthday

i am so excited next friday is my first birthday with elijah... duno what my hb will prepare for me..

RE: carrots

Flo , i usually give bb carrot and pumkin only 1 time a week..

RE: sleep thru

oh finally bb as been trying to sleep thru last night.. he did wake up to cry a little but we ignore him so he sleplt back after two mins

hopefully will will not wake up and cry anymore

Flo,
Just started this weekend. So he tried carrots 2 days in a row over weekend. Now back to plain cereals when he is at my MIL place.

He is starting to show preference to FM. Don't want BM. :-(

Don't know if any of you already know this. But i heard a fair bit of people asking abt the Annabel Karmel book. Queen thanks for the soft copy. I found this website with receipes from Annabel Karmel too. Don't know if it's the same....but just to share with you all.
http://www.annabelkarmel.com/

Re: pamper premium
I know a few mummy here using PP??...
I may have lobang on PP purchase..
now checking with the supplier.. will update later. She was telling $26/pack.. now check how many pc.. I dunno is it much cheaper ley...

Re: Pamper premium
Any size $26/pack.
For M size is 68 pc... so per pc is $0.38235
Is this cheap?
ANyone wanna this supplier contact pls let me know.

RE : Waking up at night
Tempted to try the cry it out but in the middle of the night....urgh....my boy can really cry if he wants to and I'm staying at moms, she HATES it. I seriously think its juz a habit. Drink shiok shiok only. Mum so worried he'll be hungry. Told her PD said when sleeping no need. told parents that I'll juz lock the door with baby wif me and let him cry. No one can "save" him. :p

I guess will also evening cereal too. Hopefully mine will sleep through like Queen's.

RE : Carrots
Haha...din know baby will turn orange due to too much of it..

hi Y..i just bought the mamil gold night. its good for the last feed...as it consists of rice cereal to make baby sleep better and longer. i tried yesterday and i found my boy don;t fidget too much. he was so soundly asleep and this morning when i tried feeding him, he wasn';t that hungry and was able to wait till he reach his ah ma hse which is at the west for the first feed. so mummies who has babies waking up in the night..may want to give mamil night a try. i know dumex is having a promo. buy 1 get 1 free. but i wasn't sure if he likes it. so i just buy from supermarket to try out. if you guys want, can combine and share the cost. the no is 6446 2224

Queen
thank you very much for including me in your spree! my order is correct =) pls advise on payment and collection when the stuff reach you yah. xiexie!

Cindy
thanks for the info, will check out the link =)

re: gathering
sob sob... sound so fun on the coimng SAHM gathering..
will it be possible to have a cooking session too for our next coming gathering?? so blur mummy like me can learn more??

SSF,
My boy takes Similac. I can mix? I mean day I give Similac and last night feed, Dumex? I thot of juz mixing the NEstle cereal into the milk

RE : Shaking Head
My boy loves it too. He can shake really vigourously...

Clare,

Slow-cooker (Recommended brand)
1. Cookie - dunno what brand by MIL say must buy those that allow heat over stove one, the pot should be clay type or else wait for slow cooker to boil take very long.
2. Florence
3. Denmy (not just good for bb; u can cook bird nest for yourself also; this should be under one of the essential item in everyones kitchen)
4. Tracy - good to cook soup. can leave on slow overnight, no worries.
5.estherlee-good for porridge also..can leave it and not worry

Multi-Layer Steamer (Recommended brand)
1. Cookie -This steamer can be used to steam not only for bb food but also for family meals. But I think my MIL will tell me no need to buy just use wok and water to steam can liao.
2. Denmy (reason same as cookie. Also with multi-layer steamer, u can steam a few veg at the same time.... no need to "take queue no.")
3. Tracy -easy to steam veggie, egg, fish etc.
later clean up also easier.
4. Estherlee - multi-layered ones so convenient..especially when u have to steam more stuff ..saves time!

So tired out. Think my boy's other tooth is coming out. Screamed and screamed for 1hr last night. Nothing could soothe him. Felt so helpless.

Re: Gathering
Can't go liao. Starting work that day. U gals enjoy! And maybe can post some photos of the vege and recipes. Thanks!

Re: Shake Head
My boy used to do that b4 he sleeps, but he stopped doing it lor.

Re: Multi-layer steamer
I use Tefal. But haha, used to steam vege, now it's my steriliser. It was very good, can steam a lot of food at 1 go and minimal washing. Now that it's my steriliser, can't use to steam food anymore.
But it has served us well.

For all mummies using Pampers Premium

The following supplier selling PP at $26/pack with free delivery when order 4 pack.
If u are interested, can call or sms her.

Anita : 96224761

I got her contact for her lobang selling cheap FM, then she no more stock and suddenly she sms me if I use PP... so I just share this lobang lor.

Re: multi tier steamer
wanna ask soemthing silly...
when we place food item in the steamer, need to place on a dish 1st or directly into the steamer?
very curious.

Errr.. I asked her for similac infant.. that time she no stock. I'm not sure if she carry other FM or does she STILL carry FM.
Let me sms her now to check if she still sell cheap FM.
pending her reply now.

those who order nepia from the distributor, just heard that they r going to increase price to $15 per pack fr aug onwards. i ordered 8 packs at one shot.

This Anita say.. she has no stock for ALL Abbott product.
She carries Nan, Friso, Wyeth and mamil

Interested pls call her to check pricing hor..

re: nepia diaper

ohoh... then need to stock up liao lo
but like what cookie said, worried later bb out grow the size then jia luck leh =p

Cookie
Zisa pot is mainly use for double boiling soup (such as birdnest, tonic and chinese medicine) but can double up as a steamer too. You can also cook porridage (using stew function), takes about 2-3 hr. I got mine from Tangs. I think Robinson sell also.

SSF,
I called them up. Was told okay to mix. Buy one get one is really cheap. Wanted sample but dun have. Haiz...sending me the $3 voucher though. Maybe go buy one tin to try.

RE : Nepia
Wah...better quickly go buy. My stock finishing.

tabbie..
I think abbott is join as member and we collect our receipt as purchase from NTUC (29.5) or cold storage (30.50)... we also can send in our receipt and they send us a free tin.

Am really "zombiefied" at work. Eyes keep closing in front of the computer to get some sleep. Daren woke up about 3 times last night due to block nose and also maybe want to drink milk for comfort. His appetite also went down, from the normal 180ml of milk, he now only drinks 120-150ml.

cookie
I have both the mini slow cooker and multi-tier steamer. I find the steamer useful for steaming the food to be pureed and cook alot of food at one go. The mini slow cooker is used to cook porridge for Daren, good thing about it is that it doesn't dry out. Maybe can consider having both.

Re Slowcooker vs Multi-layered steamer
Aiyo u all so terrible ask me to buy both... haha... I only hint hint abit to HB wan to buy the steamer he straightaway say dun waste money... Urghhh...

Re Cooking
So upset with my HB last night... I was telling HB lets go marketing (supermkt of coz) on Sat to buy food for the coming week as I'm so excited abt cooking for Ashley... he's reply was "Aiya just get mother (MIL) to buy watever u need from the wet mkt can liao...u know how to cook one anot??...u know wash rice wash 1 time can liao dun need to wash until water turn clear one..."
I just replied "Now i start to learn can anot?!" Yes I admit I dunno how to cook a proper meal but now I wan to start learning to cook for my BB and I would like to do everything myself from buying and preparing of ingredients to actual cooking. Have not start already genna criticise so discouraging... For the record I KNOW how to wash rice n fried egg Ok!!(hahaha)And I got A2 for Food &amp; Nutrition during 'O' Levels dun siao siao leh... but not my fault that the syllabus only teach mainly how to Bake right? But HB apologised to me when he sensed that I turned the other way n refused to talk to him so at least me not so hot after that or else can't sleep...

Damien is sick again and have not been recover since last friday...having running nose and fever. He also has not been sleeping well since ...worst...he even reject milk. Nite is really nitemare to my and my hubby.
We knwe that he is hungry and he still refuse bottles..end up struggling using spoon to feed him. Really a big mess.

RE: California Baby Calendula Cream

I am stocking up on the cream so if anyone wants to buy please add on.. please note that it is for mums on this thread only.. as for price i am not sure may be around 15 -18 dollars depends on the shipping..
No. Name Qty
1)

mamachan
thanks.. I also thiink having both is good.. but I'm also worry cos I dun batch cook now.. at least not now cos my MIL dun agree.
So everytime will little by little for bb each meal.. I wonder if will still be worth while to buy steamer after all.
Definitely I will buy slow cooker... but steamer still need to convince hb..

Rena
I calculate already.. Nepia if increas price to 15/pack. M size is 0.3125 and L size is 0.35714
indeed no cheap.. but nepia is pretty good..
as compared to PP(lobang price), PP still more exp than nepia.

Re: nepia
Just called Nepia.. They said as long as package is not open, can change in case bb outgrown.
So i also one shot order 8 pack.
Yes in Aug will increase price to $15.00

Cookie,

Thks for the calculation! How abt Huggies? Is it okay as well? price-wise cheaper than Nepia if nepia increases price?

Re: Nepia Diapers
Is Nepia really that good? Have not seen the actual diaper in person, can't really gauge if it's good. What's the usual price like for a pack of M-size and how many pcs per M-size pack? Am currently using Pet Pet for Daren's day-use and so far am happy with it. Seems like alot of mummies here uses nepia

clare,

hb all like that one. When we first got married, I was dreaming of going to marketing with him on sat morn then eat breakfast together.... but he doesn't want. : ( Now I want to cook for bb, he said eat cereal can already lah, so troublesome. hiaz.