(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY

its really been hard on you wor. you must do something to break your boy boy's sleeping pattern. if not you will suffer for as long as your boy grows older. and the older bb is, the harder it will be to break the habit... ...

im a bad mummy who let my boy cry, but now me and hb see the result and can enjoy a good night sleep.

queen,
my updated order was not in god's child latest file, so i've updated it.

mime_msexcel.gif

Old_Navy_Jan06_III_-470314-470757.xls (23.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

god's child,
so you confirm only 3 items?
I need to know the colour of the bodysui that you want... pls let me know soon!

queen, eh.. i did reply you tat i wanted pink wor...hmm..or did my email not get thru..sometin wrong wf my email today.. thanks and so sorry for the trouble!!!

sunny,
my gal also have a lot of prob with her poo recently ever since she started on solids. think the brown rice cereal is making her heaty. plus she don't like water. we have to use the syringe for the medicine to feed her water. even then, she will collect the water in her mouth and spurt out when she has the chance or play with the water in her mouth. recently, when she poo, she will cry, her poo is more pasty, not hard but very dry. her anus is also kind of red. I introduce spinach puree to her yesterday and also stop feeding her the brown rice cereal so hopefully her poo prob will reduce.

durianlover, I am also like that. nurse her so that she will keep quiet. getting more and more tired of doing that but my hubby is definitely not agreeable to crying out method. the other day we have agrument on her solids. my gal dun want her solids and after a few spoonful, he just want to give up. I am so upset. how can we give up just like that, gave him a pc of my mind because I put in so much effort in the preparation and the most impt thing is that we have to let her learn to take solids, she can't depend on milk all the time. a doc friend of mine said that she has seen so many malnutrition kids in KKH just because their parents dun reinforce their kids to take solids. kids will definitely be difficult to a certain extend but it's the parents who must persevere and be patient.

durianlover
ya, told you about the stinky poo on saturday. haha... she didn't poo yesterday again. if today she poos, then she's back to her normal style: once every alternate day.

mongs
my gal poo once alternate day since 4 mth leh... but her poo is not dry/hard one, still soft and watery.
after i introduce her solid, i try to feed her more water. and i am glad that she wanna drink more water now after we change the avent teat to size 3.... most of the time, she can drink 200ml plain water per day.

how abt giving fruit puree? i try to give her apply puree sometimes.
don't give spinach from china. heard that it's a lot of insecticide recently.

when we could give 2 solid meals for bb?

queen - did u receive mine? did not hear u mention my buys and i didnt receive an email from you
just to confirm. thks ya

SY, durian, mongs,
i oso nurse my boy back to sleep. dat's y i'm zombified. he is on pacifier, so sometimes when he wakes up and he realise his pacifier is not in his mouth, he will whine. sometimes after popping it back for him he will sleep but sometimes no. then i will nurse him to sleep. i know dat's a bad habit but i can't stand him whining. fastest n most effective way is to nurse. i tried to let him cry it out but it takes like forever and he will end up crying until his hands and feet is cold. so i gave up the cold turkey treatment. i think it's too cruel. in fact some books disapprove of letting bb crying it out coz it's not too psychologically. anyways, different pple, different views...

mongs,
yah it's tough when hb doesn't agree to letting baby cry-it-out. My hb also very soft-hearted. If he sees me letting baby cry-it-out he'll ask "what kind of mummy are you??!!" that type of questions leh! Makes me feel so guilty. So i can only do this method when he's not around.

As for feeding solids, do persevere on! Even if baby don't like must train her to take it. Perhaps can try other types of cereal? Heinz rice cereal?

sunny,
after about 2 weeks of giving baby 1 meal of rice cereal per day, i started to give her 2 meals per day. Think u can just try lor, no harm! My gal loves her food....even after giving her a lot of rice cereal she'll still want to drink milk! No wonder everyone who sees her lately says she's grown chubbier!

durianlover
thanks! i will try and error and see how loh. keke....
i give her about 1.5 tablespoon rice cereal and she can drink about 150ml milk. but, didn't see her grow chubbier leh. :p anyway, as long as she's healthy and cheerful, i am contented.

sunny, mongs,
brown rice altho is good for health, can be very heaty. esp if ur baby's body is heaty type. i avoid giving her brown rice. she hates taking water too, must feed with syringe.

why dun u try feeding brown rice only once a week and the other days juz normal rice cereal?

Re:poo
now my gal poos every morning at 7am plus eversince i started her on FM fully. too bad that time is when we're in the car on the way to MIL, otherwise can train her on potty.

when can we feed 1 full meal semi-solid substitute of milk? ie. drop 1 milk feed and replace by semi-solid?

cookie - personally i think the solids is good for baby who have tendency to vomit. for celeste,she started on 2 cereal feeds since 4.5-5mths, she been taking it well and *cross finger* her puking incidents reduced significantly..i attribute it to the solids being kept down better in their stomachs.. cos for milk, she tends to regurgitate easily esp when moved previously...

been having fun making porridge for her and she loves the spinach. i cook the rice wf 4 sticks of celery(for taste),carrot, alittle potato and lotsa spinach... very yummy and good to look at too! anyone know if can use tofu?

god child
do you substitute 1 feed of your milk to semi-solid food?
yes you are right.. Kaelyn also tend to regurgitate with movement.
Oh do you blend the spinach before putting into porridge?
Which kind of spinach u use? the heng chye or Bo chye...dunno if u know what veggie I refer to.
Cos in NTUC.. both item are spinach.
Oh btw.. did u read?? DO NOT buy spinach from China right now cos of high content of pesticide..

cookie
i ask PD and he say the solids should replace a milk feed. as they are older, they are like adults, take 3 solid meals.

durainlover
i dunno whether i can do the cry it out method. but i really shd try soething different or he will never learn

rachel,
i dun think u r a bad mummy. it is for everyone's good. i wish i can do it but i always so scard my hb wil scold my boy.

SY
I wonder when then can substitute the whole meal with just semi-solid...
errr.. but our babies still infant rite... so must feed regularly.
later when they are older then feed 3 meals only ah.

hmm.. I think you should talk to your hb on the issue.. JH is still so young, cannot expect him to be very tong shi, not to cry and disturb daddy rite. I'm sure Jh also dun wish to.
So for now.. bb dun understand and then parent got to be understanding lor bo very tough on u as mummy hor.

SY
its always difficult to take the first step. me no different, but it should will help if you can have your hb's support.

my mum scolded me for being so cruel and a bad mother. but i stood my ground still... i understand its hard.

hb and i do quarrel for a few times over this cry to sleep method. hb even throw temper and slam door when dylan kept crying and crying and distrube his sleep. but over time, we see result and dylan finally can sleep on his own =) so all those quarrel and earth quakes are worth it! must be firm and constant, if not all ur hardwork will go to waste and bb will be confuse too...

jia you ah! u have my support =D

I'll be on leave whole of next week so am really trying to gather as much info as I can on cooking as I would like to cook a proper meal for Ashley. Thanks so much on all the receipes shared so far. Keep them coming okie??

I am contemplating between buying a slow cooker or a multi-layered steamer to cook BB's meals. Slow-cooker is ideal in the sense that u throw everything in early in the morning and just scope n mash before feeding time and can still keep warm till evening feed. But I have also heard so much good feedback about the multi layered steamer leh... how huh?? I am really a dummy when it comes to cooking leh. Why one should I buy?? Can I do a vote like Denmy??

Slow-cooker (Recommended brand)

Multi-Layer Steamer (Recommended brand)

Phew!
Have finally sorted out everything and placed orders with Old navy.
Pardon if if I cannot include some of your items which have OOS. Rather than risk having more items OOS, decided to place orders instead of waiting for stocks to be replenished. I think I have managed to order most of what you all wanted.
please see below attach for your orders placed.
Will send you all the order confirmation email from ON later. Don't worry, did not leave anyone out from this spree 3!

mime_msexcel.gif

Old Navy Jan06(III).xls (26.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Re Nursing Baby to Sleep
I think I am also guilty of this.... Ashley was able to sleep on her own since several months back and we could just put her down, kiss her night night, off the lights n leave her to sleep on her own. But recently dun know since when (i suspect due to teething) I realised she has been cranky at bed time and I have been ended up nursing her to sleep many times... very bad... I think I better stop being lazy n try to get her back on track sleeping on her own otherwise I'd have to pay for my own wrongdoings very soon...

Queen
thanks thanks.. looks like my white capri OOS liao.. haizzz ok save $$$ aiyo but very cheap for jeans lor..

clare..
if I add up all my items from separate spree think also same same.. very guilty abt buying too much :p

My Vote :... BUY BOTH.. hahahahha...
1. Cookie - dunno what brand by MIL say must buy those that allow heat over stove one, the pot should be clay type or else wait for slow cooker to boil take very long.

1. Cookie -This steamer can be used to steam not only for bb food but also for family meals. But I think my MIL will tell me no need to buy just use wok and water to steam can liao.

Mongs

Re: Introducing Solid
If your gal is not receptive to solid, do not force feed her cos that's what happen to my gal. At one stage, she would turn her head away or spit out the food as a sign of protest. So end up PD asked me to totally stop her cereal/porridge for a few weeks before re-introducing again. She's much more receptive now. On days that she fuss, mummy will have to act like a clown pretending to be cookie monster snatching her food, she finds it funny and will open her mouth and I'll quickly push in the spoon.

Clare,

RE: ON Spree
You are not alone. I'm on Queen's 1st and 2nd spree, plus I also bot quite a bit of bb clothes previously when I got my maternity clothes from ON...heehee

My Vote
1. Cookie - dunno what brand by MIL say must buy those that allow heat over stove one, the pot should be clay type or else wait for slow cooker to boil take very long.
2. Florence

1. Cookie -This steamer can be used to steam not only for bb food but also for family meals. But I think my MIL will tell me no need to buy just use wok and water to steam can liao.

For slow cooker must buy those that the pot can be put on stove. As bb gets older easier to cook porridge using the slow cooker, just leave in on at nite before u sleep and will be ready by the next morning. I find steamer is only good for cooking small amount of porridge or steam veg for puree and bb will outgrow soon.

Mongs
don't get too stress on feeding solid. My girl only started on solid when she was 9 months old. She was not underweight due to taking only milk but she drink alot. My boy start on solid about 3 weeks ago and is on two solid meals aday. so different baby different reception to solid.

Re: feeding 2 feed
today I gone home.. MIL told me kaelyn like cereal a lot.. and she fed her 2 feed!!!
Today is only her 4th day starting solid, I wonder if it going too soon!!!
SHould I be worry ?? for MIL feeding her so soon 2 feed of solid already?

mongs,

I think you might want to just keep offering clarisse solids but don't force her till she has a fear of solids. I guess I am lucky in that Charmaine is very adventurous in terms of solids. She eats almost everything I offer.

Btw, just for info. I checked with the LC. She confirmed that for babies on tbm must supplement iron with solids such as spinach in porridge. Any idea what other food got a lot of iron?

rachel,
RE: rashes
I think you better bring him to the doctor's if it is spreading and don't try any other creams. Initially I thought my boy's was just ild eczema and hear so many wonderful stories on the Gaia Skin Soothing Lotion and applied it on him. Made it worse, immediately the next day his testicles were red and crinkled. A small patch on his neck area too. Turns out that his dermatitis condition has some fungal manifestation too, so got to use anti-fungal cream. After a few applications, all cleared. He is ok now. I stopped other creams and potions and using Desitin now. Remember, nappy rash cream must also put on the pee pee area too. I only put on butt and crevice, so kena.

I have been surfing the net to read up on rashes. You can go to this link to read up more.

http://www.nsc.gov.sg/cgi-bin/WB_ContentGen.pl?id=155&amp;gid=33

Mamachan,
I think Lucas is also having blocked nose after the 6in1 jab... initial I thought it was the aircon until you mentioned. I gave him a few doses of runny nose medicine but no effect... I feel his night feed is now very little because of it.

RE: TCM, any recommendations?
Any of you have brought bb to see chinese physician? Think Lucas has sinus... maybe TCM can help better?

NOTICE change of date

SAHM / PTHM
At Rena's house (BISHAN)

3 AUgust 2006 Thursday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb
3) Denmy + bb (TBC)
4) wenyl + bb
5) valerie + bb

2 plus onwards

please note that i have change the gathering date .

NOTICE change of date

SAHM / PTHM
At Rena's house (BISHAN)

2 AUgust 2006 wednesday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb
3) Denmy + bb (TBC)
4) wenyl + bb
5) valerie + bb

2 plus onwards

please note that i have change the gathering date .

god's child,
my bb must have started doing that around 4.5 to 5mths plus coz my MIL said that to me quite early. Though it's only recently that i notice him doing it. It's like a twitch of his head. Yah..was worried abt nerves too...

Does any other bb does that? If there's more...then it may be a baby thing....

Tracy,
Ha ha...my boy shakes his head violently too. But i think he enjoys it. There was once i jokingly commented that he looks like he's on ecstasy pills. My MIL was quite mirth by that comment.

It took us a long time to figured out why he kept shaking his head. We realised that he's probably imitating me &amp; HB coz we always shake head at him when we tell him "no, he can't do this". One of the most often thing we do is that we will shake our head &amp; pull his shirt back down from his mouth since he always like to pull it up to his mouth to bite. After a while, he thinks we are playing with him.

Found out by accident that he's imitating coz once while changing his diaper I shake my head at him sternly to stop him from turning over. He went still &amp; looked seriously at me for a second or two, then started to shake his head from side to side non stop while giggling away ;p

ke ke...so maybe if you can think back or ask around, you can find out`who your gal picks up that from :0

SY,
Can you pick him up but try not to feed him? I don't feed JW unless he won't stop fussing (ie usually when he's really hungry) &amp; after a while, he just gets used to the "no food at nite" policy. ke ke....

Mongs,
My boy doesn't seems to like cereal either. So last weekend, i try to con him to eat by putting carrot puree in another bowl. a little bit of carrot...then one mouthful of cereals. Ke ke...still hard work but he did eat.

Btw, mummies...would i end up overfeeding him with carrots like dat? How much can he take per meal. My HB said i gave too much carrot liao...

Re: shake head
No leh, my gal doesn't shake head. She only does that when she's very sleepy trying to get to sleep!

Re: shiver
My gal also doesn't shiver. But heard that it's normal for males (especially) to shiver when they pee. Go ask ur hbs! haha.

cindy,
i brought my gal to TCM when she had bad cough. Not too sure whether it really helped but the place is really popular and my colleague highly recommended it. Think it did help a bit lah. It's Yu Guo at changi area. Super far away from where i stay! They use some sort of massage technique to improve blood circulation or something like that.

SH,
Honestly i also dunno how to tell whether how much is too much! i give up to 1 cube of carrot per feed. Think should be alright lah

Or perhaps u can try steamed apple or pear with cereal? Tastes good too!

Just realised all my posts. Sorry reply as i read coz thread too fast moving...will lose track of wat i read. I must be the only siao mummy still awake at this time. Sigh. HB &amp; bb in slumberland liao. Only poor mummy awake. I did the bottles, waiting for it to cool to assemble...then can feed bb his dream feed before zzz....

One question. My boy has a lot of pimples on the top of his head recently. How ah? anything that can make it go away?

Durianlover,
ha! found another mummy who is awake at this time! Thanks for the suggestion. Do i mix the apple in the cereal or put separate?

sorry...just remembered one more question. Suaku me very interested in the spinach too. If no blender can still prepare the spinach or not? Is it done using steaming too?

durianlover, SH,
I also another nightbird.. heehee

Too many postings liao... and i haven't logged in for 4 days. nearly 300 posts to finish... siao liao!

re: shaking head
think they term this head-banging. happens when bb is tired. They try to 'rock' themselves to sleep this way. sometimes head-banging can be dangerous cos bb might rock so hard they bang their heads against the cot.

Keenan rocks his head too when he is tired, coupled with rubbing of ears.

Flo,
re: wheatbix
got raw sugar and salt har? didn't know, thought its exactly the same as Witabix. A. Karmel say can feed Witabix liao... anyway i have stopped Wheatbix for now, processed sugar adn salt is no good for bb...

re: courgette and pea souper
i made that today for Keenan. He didn't quite enjoy it... he not in an eating mood todday cos he didn't finish his kiwi and banana in the morning too...hmmm... but in the evening, my mum steamed a whole Zhen1 Zhu1 Li2 (pear) and we scraped the juice out to feed him, he super loved that, can kick and squeal with excitement somemore...

tabbs,
re: recipes
ok... i will find some time this weekend to compile some recipes for your list!

Queen,
re: puree substituting cereal
Yes, you can. Don't have to feed cereal with every meal. If you are giving potato for example, can omit the cereal, cos both are also carbo.... ie potato and spinach

Can i have the soft copy of Annabel Karmel too? Thanks!!!

Rena, Clare
re: SAHM gathering and bb food

Like someone suggested here: maybe we can have a cooking session at your place? what say you? Maybe we can cook 1 or 2 dishes and everyone chips in, so we can bring home some in tupperwares? Then i can bring some red lentils and courgette to show you also...

Yuki, Durianlover
re: 2 kids
yeah, me too. Also felt very guilty towards my elder son when bb arrived initially... was so kan cheong over Keenan that whenever Ethan walks over, I would say 'be careful! don't come near!' or 'keep quite!'... he felt very jealous at first but luckily he is old enough to take it and now i try to give them both equal attention. They get along quite well with each other.

Flo,
re: munchkin food feeder
I would put the freshly steamed pear/apple into the feeder and hang it from the handle of the saucepan with a kitchen paper towel underneath to catch the drips. Once the fruit is cooled down, the excess juice will be drained too. A little mess will still be expected still la....

Mamachan,
re: bb Barnabas
I clicked on the link, saw the 1st page and didn't dare to look somemore.... the last time i saw BB Even's website, I was so affected i couldn't sleep that night. Somemore Ethan fell ill with high fever and I stayed in his room with him sponging him down the whole night and at 4am, I heard this woman crying very loudly for her mummy for 10 mins.... think her mum just passed away or something... it was such a bad, bad, bad night for me....

Tracy,
re: constance
Is her BB here yet?!??!??! So excited for her too!!!! Send her my regards, k?

Clare,

I say buy both also! Both have their own function.

2. Florence
3. Denmy (not just good for bb; u can cook bird nest for yourself also; this should be under one of the essential item in everyones kitchen)

2. Denmy (reason same as cookie. Also with multi-layer steamer, u can steam a few veg at the same time.... no need to "take queue no.")

Denmy

re: weetbix
Is weetbix = witabix? anyway the weetbix u referring to is the one in blue &amp; red box rite; what aussie n kiwi eat for breakfast? if yes, then there is raw sugar and salt.

Thanks for the info on the feeder.

SH
Re: carrot

Do u give carrot everyday? I don't normally cos my cousin used to give her grandson carrot everyday until he turned orange. So I only give Mel carrot at most 2-3 times a week just in case.

Rena, Clare, Denmy
Re: SAHM gathering and bb food

Are you mummies planning to do the cooking session this coming gathering i.e 2 Aug? Am keen to join, will see if I can take leave.

Clare,
I have both as well, way b4 we have baby. so i would say both are useful

2. Florence
3. Denmy (not just good for bb; u can cook bird nest for yourself also; this should be under one of the essential item in everyones kitchen)
4. Tracy - good to cook soup. can leave on slow overnight, no worries.

2. Denmy (reason same as cookie. Also with multi-layer steamer, u can steam a few veg at the same time.... no need to "take queue no.")
3. Tracy -easy to steam veggie, egg, fish etc. later clean up also easier.

SH,
ohh...i gotta go back n take note who shakes their heads at my bb n if she imitates them. not me tho, cos i jus give a stern 'no' most of the time..this is interesting.

Denmy,
haha, as of now, Constance hasnt given birth yet. her contractions went off ystrdy afternoon..but i guess shld be anytime this week. all the signs are coming in. diarrhea, more discharge..she reads our forum regularly too cos its the most interesting one (yeah!!) so i'm sure she'll see your post, but i'll send her ur regards! thanks!