(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CassCL
Singapore Shooting CLub deals with shot-gun (with clay pigeon targets) and air-rifle. My hb is into the skeet shooting using the shot-gun.

CassCl/tabbiesus/SSF
Thanks for your encouragements =)Am grateful to know that you mummies went through it before. Now I'm just concerned how I'll cope with Daren as I'm working and recently am not feeling very well and also in the process of letting my boobs dry up of the milk. Not easy process. The GP at my mum's place didn't want to give me any prescription to stop lactation when I asked! He advised me to let nature takes it's course by drying up naturally, and I shouldn't express too much and to avoid eating fish. So different from the GP that I see at Tiong Bahru Plaza who told me that if I wanna stop bf, let him know and he'll prescribe medication. But of course he said that as I've seen him twice for mastitis and high fever.

Think I read previously that your bbs from sleeping thru the night suddenly been waking up more frequently at night crying right? Daren is doing just that to me the past 3 nights. Have not been sleeping well, not sure if it's due to a not too familiar environment as I'm staying at my mum's or he's just plain cranky. His nose is running again (sianz) and I'm like ," NOt again!!!!" and this time it's not like i'm a SAHM anymore, I've got to go to work and I'm afraid I'll be like a zombie at work. Last night was the worst, woke up like 2-3 times. Funny thing is that my mum keeps thinking he is hungry... I'm like,"No! We gave him a feed earlier on before he slept" BUt fed him anyways at 4am, only that he barely finished 1/2 the normal amount. I'm at a lost

Hi Krissie

RE: Hairstylist

If u like Jap style, maybe u can check out Kida Collage located at #21-01 Liat Towers. You have to make appointment first (Tel: 6836 3391). The whole pls is all Jap hairstylist (I think they have about 3-4 stylists and is frequent by Jap expatriates). I normally get Ejima-san to cut my hair. For ladies cut is $65. Heard from my fren they have increased prices to $85, but he still charged me the same price when I went a few weeks back. Maybe u can confirm with the recept if you are interested. Ejima-san can't speak very good english so if u looking for someone to chit-chat then maybe u have to try his colleagues. I normally leave the style to the stylist and am quite happy with him so far.

queen - i just send u an email on my ON buys. not sure if its in time. else you can ignore mine

mamachan - my boy was the same too. when he sleeps at home. he wakes up at ard 7 plus for morning feed. but when i was staying at my mum place last time round...he wakes up at ard 5plus. and i was so dead tired..as after i fed him..i will be like heading for milk pumping session then to work. superb duper tired. but then when he is back to his home again..he does not wake up so early. so i think sleeping environment plays a part too. is ur mum hse near the road? is it more noisy? for my case, my mum hse face the main road..so very noisy. my home on the flip side is very quiet.

MamaChan

19 days is not short but it'll pass by before you realised it. So hang in there
Who knows, absence make the heart fonder, so maybe u'll have the urge to BD with him again when's he's back

RE: Sleep
I think prob Daren is not used to the environment and will take a few days for him to get used to it.

mamachan

my girl was waking up and being very sticky about 2 weeks ago.. initially i thot it was wind from eating sweet potato/ change in diet and then thot if was teething but now seems to have settled down without me changing anything.. maybe cos she knows mommy is alone and daddy's not around... har har... but i hear from a lot of parents that infants often change their sleeping habits round about 6 months.. so tahan.. maybe teething or just not used to new environment.. u staying at mom's place right?

SY/SSF,
The similac person told me that BM is sweeter than similac step 2.

The mamil person told me that dumex mamil gold step 2 has no sugar added so both they say both the FM may taste yucky to the baby.

What both suggested is mixing the BM with FM in different proportion until the baby gets used to the taste. Then slowly increase the FM proportion. :)

Maybe you can try that. I start my boy on similac 2. So far he seems like a hungry baby. No problem gulping it down. ;p

But he really don't like solids. I think my cereals must be boring.

SH -i c..thanks..will try my boy on step 2 soon. as for semi-solid food..i read that bb from 6 mths onwards..need more than just FM. they need iron too. so u may need to introduce ur boy on semi solid food more.i started him from 5 mths onwards and he takes heinz cereal twice daily on top of the other added ingredient like cod fish, potato, carrot, fruit juice. so far he tried the plain cereal(green box), high protein(blue box) and banana cereal(red box). he does not seem to like the banana one that much though.. so i think i will fall back to the blue one. still hunting for Healthy times..but cannot find mann!
i also read that heinz going to come out with organic range soon. just cannot wait for it it be on the shelf!

SSF

You can get Healthy Times at NTUC (but not all branches tho). Most organic shop will have, u can try Earth Best too, they have rice and oatmeal cereal.

I'm feeling moody and frustrated lately. Not sure if it's just hb gone for 19 days, or that this whole week has been a crazy mad rush for me and also bb and myself are not feeling well. I have just moved back to my place, whatever I have moved up to my mother's place. Coz decided maybe it's best for bb to sleep back in his own original environment as he's not feeling too good. And I did everything all by myself. Not only that, see the dirty and pathetic state of my house is in and quickly do some basic cleaning and packing. In my heart, I keep scolding my hb for not being initiative enough to help keep the house clean. If things lying around the house and not in anyone's way, can be left there up to a few months or even a year! I'm serious, no joke! I'm not an entirely meticulous person, but I like to have a reasonably neat space and reasonably clean floor which I try to keep. ALl I see are hb's things lying all over the place! I feel really pek chek. To the point I'm more mad at him than miss him.

Just this week alone, I had to pack Daren's stuff to bring over to my mum's and the night before and on the day itself before my hb flew off, I had to rush to help him pack his luggage! To think I claim time off on the day he is flying, thinking can spend some time with him, but no, end up is running his errands. And I haven't even pack my own stuff to bring over to my mum's! I had to in the late of the night, once settled Daren to sleep at my mum's on the 1st night, go back home and start to pack my belongings. Really damn sian!

Just started work this month and have so many things to have to think about and to handle myself. Maybe I'm "bui zhai", not steady in hokkien.

Sigh...so sorry for letting off steam here... if not, I also dunno how else to talk about it. Have got a blog, but also dunno what to say. If I were to tell all these to my hb, it'll make him feel bad and may not concentrate on what he's supposed to be doing in Croatia. Really feel like running from all this madness!

Hi Queen,

Hav PM u my ON order if there's available slot for me... let me know k..

mamachan - its always tough withuot HB around..even at nights when my HB is working shift, i also cant help but feel helpless.. though his presence reali doesnt help alot(since bb will be ZzzZZz...)but at the end of a tiring day, at least his presence helps make me feel better.. afterall, we also need the "man behind our back"!

Mashy - Did u trim Caeden's hair? he sure looks cool wf tat shades!

Sysa- IMPRESSED!!! u truly are a shopping fanatic! Lucky lucky Cephas...

Rena - Sumo is one happy baby!

durianlover
ya, will start giving my gal fruit puree... thanks!

mamachan
cool down. my hb is going for 3 wk reservist in nov this year.... i already start getting moody whenever i think about this.
'cos got to handle my gal alone i.e. wake up morning, pack things, bring her to my mil place, at night bring her back, do some cleaning etc etc... i hope i can handle it well.
but just kept telling myself not to worry, do one thing at one time and set the priority...
cheer up! let off your steam here...

hi all mummies...

Today I feel pretty upset and frustrated too.
Kaelyn is regurgitating her milk this morning AGAIN. I really dunno whats wrong???... she regurgitate 3 times after the 1st feed I think Most of her mornign milk has been vomitted out.

I dunno when she will "out grown" this phase really. When I mentioned to my PD he always sound as though I exagarate (wrong spelling...) it. He alwysa told me parents told him kid vomit but actually is just spitting.. but Kaelyn really vomit and projectile her milk massive.

Then MIL also experience kaelyn vomitting.. and that day told me no need to buy so many Step2 ??? citing exmaple her neighbour grandchild also vomit milk and dun drink finally they only feed porridge??? But isn't MILK the important part of bab life at least for the 1st yr...

I very sian.... some hoe depress.. why by bb keep vomit her milk??? and with the remark from MIL I feel more frustrated

Sorry.. abt my complaint too.

cookie,
babies need min 500-600ml of milk intake from 6-12M besides solids. They get most of their calories from milk for growth and development.

That's why I get worried when my boy is drinking so little... suspect his weight drop could be the increase in solids intake and about 100ml reduction in milk. Hiaz.. dunno how to balance.

mamachan
I couldn't read further... just have a glimps at the site and my nose turn "sour" by just looking at the baby with tube attached to him...

I Thank God again for Kaelyn and for all the joy and wonders.

Re: amt of milk to feed after start semi-solid
Just wanna check, do we need to reduce the amount of milk we feed to baby when we start semi solid?

What I did was( also learning from here)... now I feed Kaelyn 180ml.. so I will pour abt 30ml and mix with cereal to feed her.. after that will let her finish the balance 150ml.
Is it ok like this?
So as and when she get better.. we can increase a bit more of the cereal to a thicker consistency? etc?
Pls advice is this way correct?

I tried feeding kaelyn over fri-sun.. just now I told MIL she can feed Kaelyn during weekdays too..
She said should reduce milk to 160ml.. or else bb will be too full!

But I'm thinking.. as baby grow they will need more food intake.. while we maintain our Milk level later on we will increase the Cereal so bb will be more full.
If we reduce milk per feed... are we depriving bb nutirtion?

In the end.. I insist MIL not to reduce MILK feeding...if bb is full, I'm sure she will not drink anymore.

CIndy..
I also worry ley...
SOmetimes kaelyn ok drinking.. sometimes she projectile big time.. I also dunno what to do..haizzz....

cookie,
babies need min 500-600ml of milk intake from 6-12M besides solids. They get most of their calories from milk for growth and development.

That's why I get worried when my boy is drinking so little... suspect his weight drop could be the increase in solids intake and about 100ml reduction in milk. Hiaz.. dunno how to balance.

cookie,
yes like what cindy said, babies still need about 600mls of milk at this stage. You can slowly increase the cereal to a thicker consistency. For me, i feed as much as Janelle can eat, which i'm not sure is it too much coz she seems like she can eat a lot!

Florence,
Yes i know not good to nurse baby to sleep. Last nite she woke up at 1am crying and i refused to nurse her. Decided to let her cry it out. She cried for one whole hour! As in, really crying her lungs out! That one hour seemed like eternity! Finally at 2am she tried to soothe herself to sleep, and i was so proud of her, thinking that the 1 hour was all worth it after seeing her managing to soothe her own self back to sleep. Hopefully the crying period will shorten as time goes by!

mamachan,
Haha well i guess men are like that...always leaving their stuff around! Can understand how much it frustrates u, esp since u've to clear up after him plus take care of baby plus do housework!
Don't worry, am sure u can manage with work and baby. If u find it tough can always go back to ur mum's place yah? Though going there may also be troublesome having to pack and to get baby adjusted to new environment!

Btw, didn't dare to click on that link...always very depressing to read abt sad baby stories so i'd rather not know.

Cookie,
I don't think the bb can be too full. They will decide when they have enough. For my boy, if he is full already. No matter how u "force" the bottle into his mouth, he just won't drink. He will end up playing with the teats. Since Kaelyn can finish the balance 150ml, i don't think he's too full ;p

Re: Baby sleeping on their own.
Gee...really admire those mummies who managed to train bb to zzz on their own. For me, my boy will scream the place down. Then though i tell myself & my hb not to carry him, my hb will always come in and pick him up in less than 5 min anyway. :-(

The worst part is that after that bb will fall asleep being carried. Made me feel like such bad mummy coz he cried until so pitiful yet i ignore him. Then daddy hv to come in to soothe him.

The first nite, i tried real hard to do it was just b4 i read the link abt Even baby. Gosh...i felt doubly bad then. Then i told myself that i should be glad that he still wants me to carry...no doubt difficult. But at least he is still healthy and with me...Guess i won't have the heart to do it for a while.

Sorry if this contravenes with wat some of the mummies are trying to do. No offence. I myself really wanted to try to sleepsense thingy too...but really hard when hb not co-operative & now doubly hard coz i really can't bring myself to "heng xin" to do it.

Queen
Just checked my email. Thanks a lot!

Dear mummies
I really appreciate all the mummies who give precious advises to me regarding the HK trip with baby.

But I have decided not to bring Clarisse because it will be lunar 7th month. Both MIL and my mum strongly object that we bring bb. So treat this trip as a 2nd honeymoon for hb and me BUT i feel so disappointed that I can't bring bb and I am sure will miss her like mad!

Don't know why after confirmed the trip I don't feel as excited as before.

Now I really need speed reading course to read the thread... the thread is fast moving and I have only limited time to log in. So if I missed out anything or never answer any question or call the wrong name, do forgive me ok?

SH,
Actually i'm not like 100% persevering in the crying-it-out method. Coz like u, my hb doesn't agree! He'll come in and want to carry baby, etc etc. So i can only do it when he's fast asleep or when he's not at home. Haha.

Re: holiday
i think Australia's a nice place to bring baby for holiday!
Beautiful place and baby-friendly

cookie/durianlover
Yah, can understand how daunting such cases can be with regards to like bb Even and this bb Barnabas, for bb Barnabas, I know their parents now have a beautiful bouncing and chubby baby who was also born in Jan this year! 25th Jan is I'm not wrong =)

HI mummies, so many postings...

Mamachan, don't stress. Men are always a little boorish. Take my hat off to u anyway - u are able to cope with Daren and housework and office work all by urself. Amazing woman. Ur husband is a lucky man. =)

Cookie, dont worry about kaelyn's vomitting. Sarah Mae is also a projectile vomitter. She always vomits like mad when she was younger and the doctor always say it's nothing to be worried about unless she's losing weight. It's better now, but there are times when she still vomits (projectile). I get worried too - but whenever I see her behaving normally after vomitting session ie playing etc, I know she's fine. So don't stress k?

Durianlover, I'ld like to go Australia with bb too. But hb say now very cold so probably wont go anytime soon. Dunno year end possible or not - we might be moving house then... *sigh*

Hi MamaChan

Hope you feel better now after letting out all the 'steam'. I guess most men are like that lor. I always tell my hb I have a small n big bb to take care @ home. I think you are doing a great job, dun give yourself too much pressure.

P.S. Decided not to click the link you posted cos it's really depressing after reading abt bb Even the other day.

Durianlover,
Can understand the one hour seems so long and you feel like giving in when u see bb crying until so poor thing. Am glad that you persisted last nite. I believe it will get easier. Mel managed to fuss a while and fell asleep within 10 min today.

SH
My hb is like yours too. When I first started trying to train Mel to sleep he'll come in to 'rescue' her. But later it got really out of hand and she began to sleep later and later (until 5am at times), to the extend that she end up waking up past noon the next day and her appetite was affected. Subsequently, I asked him to stay in the living room and watch TV and I'll put bb to sleep. He's now glad that I've insisted my way

Mamachan

Do take care and not get overworked! Its not easy to juggle working with baby... esp. when baby is fussing away... hope Daren settles down better at home so that u can get a break.. u are probably feeling the stress more cos u are tired...remember to take some time off for yourself... maybe ask mom to come over and stay for a night if u are feeling too tired to manage alone?

cookie,
I was just talking to my friend whose kid used to have regurgitating problem to... her kid is lactose intolerant, she has to switch to soy based formula for while, then slowly introduce lactose based formula back into the diet. YOu want to tal kto the PD about it?

Re. Old Navy Spree 3

Tracy, SSF, Clare, god's child,
Very difficult...
Most of the bargain items have OOS for 6-12M, 12-18M sizes. May not be able to complete the spree with your orders. Unless you all don't mind not waiting till US$200, and share the spree amongst 5 of us (that means US$5 and VPOSt base charge of S$9.99 to be shared equally amongst 5 of us only), then I'll place orders immediately once I can add as many orders as possible.
Please check the availability of your items again, if OOS, see you can find another itme to replace. Or if you just want to puul out. Let me know.

Tabbie - Think Cephas & I can have a competition on no. of shoes.

Mamachan - Socks are good enough. Guess u really miss HB huh. Okie, we'll count down together until he returns! This shd lessen the heartache a bit

Flo - Oh dear! If I have a gal next. Got to erect another shoe racks for them! For now, he has a little space for the shoes. My SIL is having a gal and so can't pass on most of the shoes. Yes, Cephas has big & expressive eyes. HB says that his eyes are the ones that captures pple's attention to want to talk or play with him.

God's_child - I have stopped buying shoes for Cephas already
Reformed shoppaholic mummy
Will just look and then the photo will come into my mind. Then, I will just not buy

flo,
i tink kindermusik is with a parent/caregiver. I've not tried any of their such classes, only did pre-natal yoga there. tot of trying the 'positive babies' classes..

mamachan,
hang in there! its indeed v difficult to handle everything on your own. listen to some soothing music, calm yourself down. try to close one eye to the housework. that's wat i do, otherwise we will juz go mad!

i let my milk dry up naturally. i shorten each pump session n lessen the amt expressed till it reached about 20-30ml. then i completely stopped pumping. breasts will still have letdown at abt same time each day n leak abit. gradually it stopped. it took me 2wks for the breasts to completely stop leaking n i need not wear breast pads. best to let it dry naturally than take med.

take care and feel free to air your grouses here or on msn with us!

queen,
oh so we need to hit US$200? can know how much are we short? so we can all work together to meet the target.

cookie,
oh dear...hope kaelyn is better today..

megan dropped one milk feed since taking cereal. now her feeding schedule is like this:

7am-180ml FM
11am-cereal
12nn- 180ml FM
5pm-180ml FM
9.30pm/10pm-180ml FM

so excited!! my fren is having irregular contractions now. EDD-28jul. hopefully today is THE day! so Con, if you are reading this...jiayou!!

Tracy,
just checked.
We only have about US$70 to share amongst 5 of us.
Actually, not necessary to hit US$200. But more people buy, more to share the fixed US$5 and Vpost Base charge. Vpost shipping charge goes by volumetric / actual weight, so not very important. I can place orders before hitting US$200.

Hi Mashy - Cool Caeden. Want to ask u. Does the sunglasses have band where we can place around the baby's head? Been looking out for one for Cephas. If this one has, then I will prob get it for him
For his Bintan trip!

Cephas Feeding Schedule:

7am - 210ml FM
10.30am - Porridge + 150 ml FM
2pm - 210 FM
5.30pm - Porridge + 150 FM
9 pm - 210 FM

His porridge is 3 scoops using the soup scoop we use for steamboat.

Hi MamaChan,

Most likly you are tired from coping with baby alone. When you are tired, you feel frustrated easily. I can understand cos my hubby is a army regular - he always have overnight training, always away ranging from one week to four weeks for overseas training.............

Do let your mum look after Daren once in while so that you can take a breather.
Soon, your hubby will be back in no time!

As for medicine to stop breast milk, i heard from somewhere(don't know true or not) that you will have trouble with producing breast milk next time. So i would advise to let it dry naturally. Like What Tracy says, pump to relieve engorgement but not to empty. Gradually milk will decrease.

HAve you place your baby on car seat? I introduce car seat ever since Megan is 4 months old but she still wail like mad..... I know i have to presevere cos it's for her safety. Tried distracting her with toys etc but to no avail. Any other suggestion? It got me worried cos sometimes she cried till she almost vomit....

SH
i trained my gal to sleep by her own since day 1. got to be 'cruel' loh... during her 1st mth, it's easy 'cos she ate, sleep, ate, sleep only... but after that, whenever she cried, i would let her cry for abotu 15 min. no one was allowed to go to the room to pick her up unless with my 'permission'. so, if you wanna train in this way, everyone got to follow and do it consistently.

durianlover
doc liew's clinic called and follow up my gal's contipation case. so nice of them.... thanks for the recommendation.

QUeen..

wah, so fast OOS..now i only left one item... let me go in and c wat else i can buy then... will email u again.thanks!

hi all mummies,

does ur babies still wake up at night for milk?
My boi last feed for the night is usually ard 8-9pm, then he will sleep till 2am and cry for milk and if lucky the next morning ard 7am. On those where he is hungry he will cry for milk at 5am again... once a while in betw each night feed, he will make some noise for attention... thus every night is not euff sleep for me...

He is 9kg now...

pei pei
wah!!! 9kg!!! another sumo bb.

my gal zzz at around 9+ or 10pm after the last feed. will zzz thru and i will wake her up at 6am for feeding before i prepare stuff to go work.

hi pei pei,

my son has started the night wake rotuine since 5 months .. at first it is for milk then i realist that he just want to be comfort.. now a day we ignore him so yesterday he slept thru..
we just let him cry ..

Queen,

can i add my orders or it is too late?

SAHM / PTHM
At Rena's house (BISHAN)

25th July 2005 Tuesday

1) Rena + bb
2) sleepingdeer + bb
3) Denmy + bb (TBC)
4) wenyl + bb
5) valerie + bb

2 plus onwards

Cookie,

sumo pictures was taken at united square ..

Cookie - if Kaelyn is fine wf the rest of the feeds,and stil active after tat,she shld be fine... when celeste used to puke often, i worry like MAD! but then each time she returns to her chirpy self and i am at least abit more assured.. the PD did say unless its consecutive feeds in a day,otherwise it shld not be of concern.. just keep them upright for at least 20-30min aft every feed...it did help for celeste...

Re : Night pee
any baby here doesnt pee thru the nite? i last changed celeste's diaper at 10.30pm and til tis morn at 7am, her diaper is stil DRY!.is it ok?