(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

yuki,

ya, i agree with you. have not even eat normal meal and she's eating junk...not too good for them..later will be so difficult to get them to eat food like veg..

aiyo, yr mil very funny .. let her eat for fun..sometimes i really wonder how we or our husbands grew up.

Hi Yuki,
I agree good manners must be cultivated since young. Altho personality does play a part, I think upbringing is even more impt. My nephew used to be a terror when he was younger - everytime must win and unwilling to share his things. As he grew older and after much disciplining, I would say he's quite a good boy now (tho being a kid and a boy, he does have his naughty moments). But am glad he really dot on Mel and will often bring his toys and bb VCD to let her play and watch.

I recalled the tsunami incident; hb and me were also disscussing at that time who should we save. Is a tough call, as the chinese saying goes 'sho bei shi rou sho xin ye shi rou'. Likewise, I also wonder if I would resend the mom if I am the elder boy.

Denmy
yes i saw your elder son crying very badly. so thats the reason he cried, he must be so scare. hopefully can recover fast and learn from this incident. dont be guilty, we mummies really cant watch over our kids all the time, especially when they gets older......

Y
so we are in the same boat, but you must be more stressful than me *pat pat*

have you ever talk to your mum about how you feel? whats the reason she keep giving you black face... maybe to her you are more independent so she has no worries to let you handle things by yourself... i know how you feel, helpless yet have to push on... if theres anything i could help, do voice out. dont bottom up your feeling, chat with us here la. or maybe msn?

Flo / esther / mamachan / durian / sept03 / queen
thanks for the encouragement.

last night went home with dylan and wait for hb to return from his business trip. stupid shanghai airport delay his flight for 6 hours! will only touch down by noon today... bo pian have to sling dylan and take cab, lucky its a safe trip to my mum's place.

btw, when i phone my mum to ask her help me put the ice pack in the freezer, she again warn me not to "ill treat" dyaln... saying now then she know im so ceng ren! really dont feel good after hearing this especially from my own mother. if its my IL i sure dont take it to heart.

think we will never come to term of the method of up bringing dylan. can forsee there will be even more to come... sian. but anyway feel better after posting here and the encouragement i got =)

mashy
congrates on finding a job! well, beside your pump and milk bottle, you could prepare a cooler bag and ice pack for transporting your milk back.

thanks for your encouragement =)

Yuki/Esther

RE: Feeding Ice-cream and bird nest
Is not only about spoiling their taste bud, is also more an issue of allergies. Cos bb are still very young, system not fully developed yet. Is recommended not to give bb cow milk b4 age of one and bird nest b4 8 mths (if I recall correctly, must go back and check my notes).

Hi Sandra

You so steady hah, bring Sarah to watch movie. She's such a good gal, can sit thru the show. Can't imagine bringing Mel to watch movie, she prob make a lot of noise inside. In fact I have not watch a single movie since she's born

RE : ILs and Relatives feeding babies
I'm also very strict about wat goes into him. Especially eggs. I mean a little is fine just for taste. Rub on lips is fine but not a spoonful. What if who ever is sick with who ever know wat and the virus was passed to my boy? My sis commented I'm too particular and somehow with my IL side I'm a "bitch". They find me very diff from before. So particular and always disagreeing. But like most mommies mentioned, our kids are involved, and we need to have a firm stand. I'm so afraid my MIL will feed my boy wif who knows wat behind my back.

Re : Commercial cereal
Huh...was reading the nutritional label of nestle rice, and checked out other brands. Most hv sodium. Babies' food shldnt hv sodium isnt it??

Rachel,
Thanks. Indeed very stress. So stress that I've become so absent minded. Poor sense of concentration. I cant even remember wat i did last week. Seriously need rest

dear all mummies with baby gals,

bb girl's clothings

just wondering if anyone keen to see what i've made for renee. coz in hanoi too bored, so made some dresses for her..of coz..with help of the seamstress as well.

i intend to put up for sales as well since nothing much for me to do. however, as the cloth is rather limited here, the most i can do is like maybe 3-4 pieces for each design.

just wondering if anyone is interested to see what i have so far.

dunno if this considered advertising

if yes, plsss ignore then ok

Hi mummies;

Re: Rift with Parents

Sometimes i think it's inevitable
I had a fight with my dad the week before over my boy's bath water - i told him its too cold, he insisted its ok cos weather so hot better for bb to bathe cool water. But bb is still so small, water must at least be tepid right?? The whole thing just escalated to the extend that the conversation (or should i say quarrel) became all personal attacks. I sobbed myself to sleep that night and can't bear to talk to him for awhile.

I think as much as they are happy to be grandparents, it is also hard when parents have their kids become parents because it is difficult for them to let go of that 'we know best' attitude.

sigh...also very hard for us to put ourselves in their shoes since bb is on the top of our priority list.

Y

I think a little sodium is required lah. Coz our sweat also contains that mah. That's why if we sweat a lot, we take 100plus coz it contains salt to replenish.

CassCL

Haha, I also bathe my boy is slightly cooler water during hot days. Coz so hot leh and my boy got heat rash sometimes. So cool water ok i think. Already went swimming in the cold chlorine water, also no prob. Think at home better bah.

esther lee
I remember you now... u posted in a thread abt Strawberry dress which is very cute!
U can send my what you have... I look see look see

Y
Sodium is naturally occuring in foods, that's why for babies' food we don't need to add anymore salt or sugar for taste. The sodium that you should be concern is sodium chloride which is our table salt added into our norm cooking for adult's food. Hope this helps =)

yuki
ya loh... sure got msg one leh... so mad at him that time. i told my hb that i don't care how they brought up their kids, but following my way shouldn't be difficult right? hmphhh.....

mashy
cannot boycott whole family lah.. still need mil to take care leh. hehe...
congrats on getting new job!
like what rachel said, need to bring pump, milk bottle, cooler bag, ice pack. and, zip lock bag to put the equipment.

Haha Yuki, my hb also another duh duh. He also fed Sarah ice cream when she was 6 weeks old (or less)! I screamed at him and he said taste only never mind. So u see, how to get him to tell his parents off for me whenever they feed her junk (jam, cranberry sauce, honey)? Everytime I tell them not to do it, they just keep brushing me aside as if I dont know any better. I even show my MIL articles on the internet on the cons of certain foods. NO EFFECT. *hiaz* Now, I just keep telling myself that as long as they dont give her anything in large quantities (more than 1 teaspoon), I can bear with that. Otherwise, there's no way I live under the same roof lor. Have to close one eye lah. Sumtimes, I comfort myself with the thought that at least my husband and his brother turn out pretty alright - so whatever their parents fed them last time shouldnt be so bad no?=P

queen,

I am interested in the old navy spree. Can I look at the website now and let you know by tonight the items I want? Thks!

denmy,

Oh dear! I hope that Ethan has recovered from his fright. I think if it's me, I would have been frightened as well.

sandra,

wa..your husband is damn solid ah!! wat was he thinking at that time?? to give yr bb ice cream? i think i will freak out big time man.

flo,

sent to you already..hope u like it

sl,

pmed you already too!

Re: hb feeding bb

Funny, my hb is just opposite.. dun let me anyhow feed baby. I have to check with him what food to start... otherwise will get dirty look from him. I can only start a new food every 3 days if no allergic reaction and have to let him know what i'm starting...

Re. Old Navy spree
No problem. Just email me ASAP when you can cos ON items OOS very fast!

Re. differences in opinion with parents/ILs
I think we have to understand that they are of different generation and their methods of raising children are probably passed down from our grandparents or through their own experiences. Sometimes, it does not mean that they are wrong. It just means that they are more ignorant to the pros of modern methods and cons of some of their method. And we can't always blame them cos they may not be as knowledgeable in the modern methods. It'll be unfair of us to presume that they know everything that we know or do everything as we expect. What's important is that we spell out our expectations to them and tell them what we don't want them to do. The first time they do anything wrong, be quick to correct them gently and remind them not to do it again. What I'm trying to say is, let's not be judgemental and fly into a rage if our parents/ILs do something with our BBs that we don't like, especially if it's the first time they are doing it. Of course, if they persists, then the story is entirely different and we have every right to be angry loh.

Queen,

I just pm-ed you my ON requests - so happy I can get all ON stuff liao! BUT the dress that I was eyeing on don't have already. : (

re: ILs

I just close 1 eye lor. Cos my gal's not easy so I would rather leave her with my mil or my mum rather than other caregiver. I am also considering sending her to toddlercare later, not now.

Sandra
I read from book that.. HOney is a big NO NO for babies under 1yr I think...can have serious consequence so be careful dun let your bb try honey first ok.
I think becus Honey is raw so it could contain batieria that could cause really serious harm to babies.
Let be safe...

Hi Queen,

PM you my orders too already.

Can you teach me how to calculate the approx costs in SGD (including all those postage etc)?

Hope this one goes thru cos if you remembered, I joined you for previous sprees but cannot go thru...so sad

can i check with you guys regarding hot water dispenser..those hot water flask where you can boil/reboil and keep warm types? i jus bought one and was wondering if i should be cleaning it everyday??

anyone??

Hi Cookie and Florence, yeah I know about honey. Already told my MIL a gazillion times already. Even told her it may lead to fatality in extreme cases (just to make it seem really serious to her). But no difference to her leh. She still like that. *hiaz*

Sandra

Your MIL too much. She wants your kid to die ah? I think she doesn't value your bb's life. U better be more careful when you have your bb ard her. I think there's a diff between ignorance and stubborness. She refuses to accept her ignorance and would rather risk your bb's life than swallow her pride. I will never trust my bb with a MIL like this. Ever. Coz she might get my bb killed to prove her point. But when that happens, what can she do, say sorry, then shake hands and all things are ok?

Tracy/Rena,

I'll ask Alison about doing it for us again. She really cool lor, she left J&J to open a pub along East Coast Rd. Maybe we could do at one of our houses this time.

SH,
You are right, it was not really fungal but mild eczema! But PD did say fungal manifestation is pretty common on bbies.

We could take the 6in1 today. Lucas grew 800g since his last jab 2 mths ago. He is now 8.8kg, 68cm. Think introduction of solids help... considering his low milk intake.

Mashy,
We massage his tummy clockwise and make the poo poo sound. To help digestion, always massage downwards to the left of bb tummy. My mom is very persistent, can hold his legs up for 15 mins and uhhhh away.

Re: Fluids per day
I asked PD how much milk bb should be drinking. She says milk is good but if really no choice, feeding solids can also give proper nutrition. At this age, bb should be drinking 600-700ml of fluids per day (min. milk/water/juice in total) to prevent dehydration.

Y,

coz i am in vietnam..no citric acid..so wondering if can use the sterilising tablet.. but the chlorine smell is so strong..is it still safe?

Mashy, it's not that she wants bb to die or anything. I guess to her - she's been doing it when husband n brother was little, and also her grandson as well, and nothing happened, so she thinks it's us that are kia see or sumthing. U know old folks, they somehow don't believe in the west that much especially when they've been practising things previously with no dire outcomes. =P

Cindy
re: Alison
hahaha... Alison looks like the pub-opening type of person anyway... which pub is it? Maybe i can go with hb to give support a bit...

Rena,
re: horse oil bb bath
U still want? It's Lavender BB Bath... apart from the light Lavender fragrance, I can smell this musty, coconuty smell... is that the horse oil i'm smelling?

Re. ON spree
Confirmed buyers so far -
1. queen
2. cookie
3. ak
4. sl
5. Cindy

Still have about US$60 worth of slot left...

mashy
re pumping at work, have to bring pump, milk bottle (extra to contain milk if you're pumping more than once), cooler bag, ice pack, a container to keep the pump parts sterile (i use a box). if you're pumping more than once, then hv to bring steralising tablets if your office doesnt hv steraliser (plus a big box to soak the parts in the solution), and brush & detergent if you're intending to wash the pump.

denmy,

i think its ok i only wnat to try.. by the way has ethan got over the swimming incident.. poor boy..i tot his cousin hit him..

i was so angry yesterday.. my niece is terrible.. yesterday my niece climb to the dining table and my FIL askher to get down but she refuse so my MIL carry her down .. then she cried very loud and took her plastic chair and throw it on the floor afew times.. i couldn't take it anymore so i took her hand and slap it real hard then my PIL told her parents about what she has done but they just laugh it off and my SIL says children is like that on lah.. then my another SIL complain that the niece like to play with socket and my SIL just say which child never play with plug and sockets!! my god!!! i think before you can teach the child please teach the parents

rena,

you are right, kids are not at fault. they do not know what is right and wrong.if the parents do not teach them, then they will always be doing the wrong things.

some parents are so funny... its so dangerous and they can still laugh at it. of coz all children want to touch everything at home .. but its their responsibility to tell them those are not for play!