(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mamachan
ok noted..
Just wanna check around also...
(1)do you mummies sterlise the ice cube tray before placing the puree in?

(2) We should steam the veggie before we blend into puree right?
(3) if (2) is yes.. then the blender need to sterlise or not?

Cos last nite I discuss with hb the method I'm gng to use.. he asked if we steam already then blend, then blender to sterilise? cos there will be germ and such mah..
I also dunno hwo to answer...

Good Morning Mummies

RE: Sweet Potatoe and Potatoe
Do you just add milk and cereal or just milk will do? Cos when I add in cereal it seems too thick.

Cookie & MamaChan
RE: Frozen Puree,
My PD actually advises me to reheat steam 100 degrees C before serving it warm.

Cindy,
You should ask the PD if it's ok to have the jab earlier. Coz the last time i tried to bring forward appointment, the clinic just said ok. Only when I follow up and ask if it's too early for his jab...then they check & tell me cannot.

Re: Red patch on bb neck
My boy used to have that too. When see PD, he said not fungal. Just sensitive skin. Have to keep skin dry & wip off sweat often.

Cookie;
I think I'll give kaelyn a day or 2 and see if she can fight it off herself. I use those chest rubs for nasal congestion to help my boy breathe better if he has stuffy nose as well as running nose.

But if condition worsens, should go see PD..

Flo;
Adding cereal will 'bulk up' the puree - good if you have a hungry bb.

I have two gals now and frankly speaking it's hard to stop the elder one from i.e snatching toys or not sharing her toys etc

PArents tend to be overly protective of our own kids. Please be more understanding towards your nieces/nephew parents. Your own child is always cute in your eyes.

Hi Y,

My elder gal is like that. SHe always take what's hers but the good thing is she doesn't take what's not hers. Her cousin, who is two month younger, always snatch toys from my gal thou we always buy two sets. My gal can recognise what's hers (different colour) so she claim her own toy thou she may not what to play with it at the moment. She just don't want to share with my niece. Some people may say she is selfish but from another point of view, she is not wrong. She only claim what's hers, my niece has her own same set of toys. Basically cHildren are selfish and do not know the concept of sharing yet.

My gal is very mild. When she try to take back her toys - my niece will fight back by slapping my gal etc and my gal just cry. As parents, i get worried too when they are so mild in character... afraid that they will get bullied by others. Sometimes i rather she fight back etc.

I sometimes let my elder gal keep her own toys if she's not willing to share with mei mei. But i make clear to her too that she cannot take mei mei toys too. That make her share.

Read in another book that can let your kid choose a few special toy to keep if she don;t feel like sharing. But the rest of the item - have to share.

Flo
if as per your PD suggestion.. then if never sterlise ice cube tray and blender also not too worry.

I told Hb maybe we can pour hot hot water onto the ice cube tray and blender parts to kill germs before blend but hb say the blender may not be made to with stand hot water boiling.

cookie ,

what i do is that i will blend them first before cooking...

hee hee to kill germs.. at the same time my frozen prureen are also un cook so that when i cook them the nutrients will still be lock in

CassCL

Thanks for the info on potatoe and sweet potatoe. My gal is not a big eater, so maybe that's why she didn't like it when I mixed with cereal.

Cookie
I think so too lor, cos I dun noe how to sterilise ice cube tray also, cos not sure if the plastic can withstand such high heat.

thanks cass!
I will monitor tonight..

re: MIL like medicine!?
Some how I wonder why but my MIL seems to like to feed kaelyn with medication.
When Kaelyn has no more fever she still ask.. lets feed her 1 or 2 more dose..!?
When she call me just now saying kaelyn has runny nose.. wanna check if PD gave runny nose medicine. I told her I cannot remember which is which must go back and check so dun feed now. But I told her 1 for cough and 1 for runny nose.
She told me since dunno.. let feed both bottles!!? then add since kaelyn cough 1 or 2 sound. Then I told her... that are not real cough!
When she feel I'm cannot agree her feeding at this point of time and Kaelyn was sneezing 2 times, she quickly point out... See See.. she sneeze!
But the thing is.. Kaelyn has been sneezing a few times every day since the 1st day she is born.

cookie,
i normally let my gal try to fight the virus for 2 days. if still continue, then i start medicine. if after 1wk medicine no work, see PD.

cindy,
yes, some jabs must have one mth period lapse. when i wanted to bring fwd my gal's 4th mth jab, the clinic say cannot. so better check.

RE: Air Purifier

I've a honeywell at home, bot it previously when the haze was very bad. This brand is supposed to be good (use in hospitals and offices) and it uses medical-grade True HEPA filtration. But didn't use it for Mel cos also afraid she might get used to "clean air" and fall sick easily if go out.

May and sandra
kaelyn also drink between 600-800ml. Per feed now is 160ml. sometimes can finish sometimes cannot. last nite she just reject her dream feed so only feed abt 640 for ytd.
MIL say kaelyn dun feed well in the day.. but stangely when I feed her she can finish usually.

I also wanna check with mummy here... how much are u feeding your bb now ? the milk vol.. just wanna know if kaelyn is drinking too little.

rena
But usually when fruit and veggie is cut.. some vitamin and mineral will be lost. I'm thinking if we blend it before steam will most vit and mineral be lost too...
usually bb food book.. they recommend steam than blend lor..
I'm so confuse

Re: bb photos.
Hey the SAHM photos so cute.. which I can join.
My colleague always ask me take leave and bring kaelyn to office to show them.
maybe next time I can conincide with the SAHM meet up too!

Hi Sandra Chu
RE: Staying awake at nite
I think this is just a passing phase. Mel had the same problem previously when she was 5mth+ started to wake up at abt 12+ every nite and refused to sleep until 3-4am (and somedays even 5am). I think it could be due to both teething and growth spurt. Do you cluster feed Sarah at nite? As what Wenyl said, I will feed Mel every 2 hours from about 7 plus onwards and give her a final dream feed around 11+. Also, you can try teether, teething rusk and dentinox gel. I'm using all these even tho Mel's tooth doesn't seems to be coming out. But I think is very uncomfortable cos she'll bite anything she can get hold of.

RE : Nephew
Yup. I agree that children wldnt understand sharing but parents have to teach. And at 5. They ought to learn. Nep was the 1st grandchild in my family. We all adore him. Even till now, my hub will play wif him instead of his own son! But i find him too spoilt! I told him before that its okay he plays wif "didi's" toy but must rem to put back. When I found the toy lying ard and questioned him, he took a "gun" and shoot me and gave me that look! Told sis and she ignored. Another time i scolded him for misbehaving and he came out later and told me he found a "solution". He's gonna get grandma to scold me! When my boy cried when he was younger, he wld comment "cao si ren"!!! There's alot of signs that he's getting out of control. My sis works and hardly spends time wif him. Told her she has to start teaching him but nothing done.

Cookie, May & Sanraye
I think is a passing phase too (hee hee cos I think Mel is one of the oldest bb here). At one stage, Mel can survive with only 4oz of milk for 4-5 hrs and her feed can take almost an hour to finish *faintz*. Until to the point that she didnt put on any wt over an entire month which makes me panic. But lately she's taking her solid and drinking her milk again. I guess they are currently at the stage whereby they are very distracted by their surroundings and are more in the mood to explore and play than to eat. Anyway I guess if they are hungry they will cry and scream for milk.

Rena : collection of preg test kits
I'll pay you the $20 cash when I collect it from u. Pls help me pay first as I don't have a UOB account , cannot transfer money to esther.

cookie,
I'm still on TBM and Ariene's drinking abt 120ml of EBM when I'm not around. When I latch on, should be more and I'm giving about 6-8 feeds a day with rice cereal lunch and a fruit puree teabreak.

Tracy,
Megan looks so pretty with her double eyelid

Dun worry it will appear again. My niece's double eyelid first appeared on her right eye when she's abt 10 mths. Will still appear and disappear now and then (she's 14 mths old now).

Celine
Me too, patiently wating for Mel's double eyelid to appear cos hb and me also got double eyelid...heehee

Flo,
thanks for the compliment

cookie,
megan's drinking 180ml 5 times a day. ysterday my MIL also said she didnt finish her milk but left very little only. i was surprised cos everytime i feed her she finishes.

Y,
your situation exactly same as mine!!! my nephew also like dat, out of control. both parents work work work no time for kids.. no one to teach them. sometimes even for his homework, i'm the one teaching him. can u imagine the younger nephew can eat rice and spit it all around the house and no one but me scolds him?? haiz...

Hi Y,

Ha Ha. I understand. Has to teach him to show respect to elders.

During my gal's first day in school, a boy snatch a toy from my gal. My gal held on to the toy and the boy wanted to slap my gal infront of me! I stopped him and told him not to do that. He uses his hand as gun and wanted to shoot me. The maid came and apologised. I was boiling and i was thinking no wonder the boy is so ill-mannered - the parents can't even bother to accompany the boy on his first day to school! But somehow i felt bad about having that thot, so judgemental.

Anyway the mum came on the second day to apologise..... My heart was not in peace for almost a month knowing that there is such a terror in my gal's class and it doesn't help that my gal don;t know how to defend herself!

Hi Tracy,

Wow, your young nephew really terrible. If it's my son, i probably slap him. One thing about children is that have to teach them young. and preferably the parents is the one who teaches them. I rather i scold my own kids than to have others scolding my children and even blame me for not discipling them.

Wah, u gals so on, already buying preg test kits! Dun think i'm going to have another kid for a long while!

Re: Gripe Water
How do u feed gripe water? Direct or mix with water?

RE: Spoilt kids

Yah, parents have to teach their kids to behave. Selfishness is inborn. Sins of men. sigh!

That time we went to Underwater World, got 1 indian kid ran towards my son while we were feeding him and scratched his face! I was so angry! Then his mom came and apologise. But I was still fuming. C'mon, like that apologise also no use right? Should have held on to him then let him run around. My hb said next time got such a bully, slap him. Haha, if your kid is the one who's the bully, will you allow other parents to slap your child?

Re: spoilt kids
Totally agree with you all, that we as parents should be the one to discipline our kids! It's indeed sinfulness of man that's why we're innately selfish, even from young. Oh well. Can only bring them up with the right values hoping that they'll grow up to be good kids!

Re: disciplining baby
Anyone knows at what age can we start disciplining / scolding babies? My gal doesn't seem to understand when i scold her for blowing saliva...

cookie,
Not too sure how much my gal is drinking as i latch on most of the time. But when i bottle-feed she drinks at least 180-200mls. She's a big drinker. Started on 200mls since she was 4+ months!

cookie

ACtually hor, so long your blender is washed clean can aleady. Must remember that now our bb 6 months and over have started having their own immunity. My mum would tell me, cannot everything sterilise, too clean can also cause bb to fall sick easily. In fact, I'm sure Kaelyn has been putting all sorts of things into her mouth if she has the opportunity?

Basically when you freeze food, bacterial cannot grow. When u heat up, serve the food warm to bb, dun leave it sitting for too long.

Milk bottles however still need to sterilize if possible, if not use hot boiling water to pour over. Milk is a good breeding ground for bacterial as it contains alot of nutrients

Hi Mashy Brainz,

To others, if you slap the boy, you become the bully but sometimes it's the child who deserve discipling but maybe not from others but the parents?

I recall telling my friends about my gal's incident and one friend told me not to judge too quickly.

Once this parent send both boys to childcare and it was the younger boy's first day there. End of the day the mother was shocked and angry to see her younger boy with one black eye. She demanded to see the bully and was shocked one more time when she saw the 'bully' with TWO black eyes. The two brothers gang up to beat him... Ha Ha.

Was at funland with my gal playing inside those colourful balls. Two 5 year old kids behind me keep throwing the ball at me. I 'ren' for the first two times. The third time, i turn over and stare them real hard and told them sternly "Don't do it!". They giggled and ran off....

Hi Durianlover,

According to books, we can start discipling from 18 months onwards.

Now still too young but my younger gal can understand, From the tone of voice i guess. Once she is tired but keep fussing about. I scolded her and she 'kwai kwai' sleep.... Likewise for my mum who scold her, she pout her lips and cry....

Yuki

Hhaha, so funny the black eyes. The mother should punish her boys for bullying the other kid.

But sometimes I find that some parents are too lenient to their kids. I think perhaps it's to compensate for not spending time with them? They let their kids do whatever they want. I've seen kids bullying their maids and making their maid push them around in the shopping carts! Then they order her to turn left, turn right. Brats!

But hor, I think if a kid comes and box my baby, I might just slap him. C'mon, he's a baby only and what kind of mother am I if I can't even protect him. If not what, let the kid box the other eye? I don't think it's bullying the kid. It's disciplining the kid what his parents have failed to do. I think it'll be the parents' fault if they can't discipline their kid.

Are you all interested in ON spree?
Thinking of buying stuff again...
but for myself!
Sigh...
I can organise one just for us here.

Yuki

I think can start disciplining now. 18mths is too late. The bb may not understand fully, but u know like a conditioned mouse, he will learn that there are consequences.

Yuki,
Haha your experience about the 2 boys at childcare is quite funny! Haha

Oh only can discipline from 18months? That's pretty late. Good that ur gal can understand...my gal about same age leh, dunno how come she doesn't seem to understand. As in, when i look sternly at her and scold her, she'll stop blowing saliva for a while and look really serious. But then she'll continue blowing again. Oh well!

cookie,
Actually i agree with mamachan...i don't sterilize the ice-cube tray nor the blender. TO me, it doesn't make much difference since my gal puts all sorts of things into her mouth - even those that have fallen to the ground! I'm quite 'bo chap' about this sorta thing...sometimes pacifier fall to the floor i'll just blow blow wipe wipe a bit then stuff back to her mouth. Haha

Re. sterilising feeding equipment & blender
Agree with Mamachan. How to steriliase absolutely everything that can come into contact with BB's mouth? The only thing I sterilise are milk bottles and teats & pacifier. Spoon, bowl, blender and ice cube trays, I don't bother lah. BB puts all sorts of dirty thing into their mouths now. How to stop them all the time? The blender is probably 10 times cleaner than their hands or the toys that they put into their mouths!

RE. spoilt kids
I have a phobia that my ILs will spoil Isaac rotten. Damn contradicting one leh...My MIL can complain and complain that Isaac is very naughty and wants to be carried all the time. But I think it's they who are encouraging this. If left alone for some time in his Bumbo or the bouncer, Isaac will start to make noise. Me and HB will usually ignore and refuse to pick him up unless he starts wailing the house down. But my ILs will quickly pick him up, carry and walk him around at the slightest mang zhangness. So I think they are the ones perpetuating this. Last evening, I placed Isaac in the bouncer so that we could have dinner. And true enough, soon he started making noise cos he wants to be carried. I told my FIL to ignore him, it's ok to let him make noise for a while. But immediately he pick him up and said never mind, he's free to entertain him. Wah... I really think they will spoil him. There was once Isaac was crying and my MIL commented that I can really stand to hear him cry. She says she bu she de to let BB cry too long. Aiyo... what's that supposed to mean man!

durianlover,
I also leh... sometimes the teething biscuit drop onto the floor, I also just use tissue wipe wipe and give it back to to Isaac. Hahah...
if not 1 box of biscuit can finish in 3 days man!

Re : Playful kids

so funni reading up on all the 'bully' posts...
it makes me think of one farni incident tat happened to Celeste last weekend morning at the wet market while HB and i were taking breakfast... Except tat she was MOLESTED!!!
kao_scared.gif

Celeste was sitting happily in the pram when a malay boy of 4yo came up to Celeste and started touching her hand... i was skeptical but HB said its alrite.. it soon proceeded to touching her hair ( not tat she had alot, but his hand was going all over her botak head ) so i jus told him b careful har, baby stil small... but he next proceeded to sntach Celeste's first KISS!!!
he started kissing her bout 4-5 times in all... i quickly stood up and say its time to go... Poor Celeste, go home immed use wipes to clean her hands and face... and a thorough bath after tat!!!

Cookie

I think you better stop your MIL from feeding Kaelyn medicine if unnecessary cos if not the medcine will not work on her next time if she's really sick. BB will cough/sneeze once in a while unless there are more serious signs like fever and teary eyes.

RE: Disciplining kids

Actually there's not right way to discipline kids because it really depend on the kid's character.

My elder gal don't need much discipline - one stern warning we are able to deter her from doing wrong things. So far i have not use cane on her.

My younger gal, now 6 months - can see she needs more discipline. SHe's more determined and insisted on getting the things she wants. If she set her eyes on the watch, she will twist and turn 360 degrees just to get it. She cen even crawl at least half a meter now just to get the item. Can already imagine her wailing at shopping malls if she don't get what she wants. Hubby and i already talking about how to handle such situation...

Hi God's child,

I will act like you too. I will stop my children from kissing strangers cos we don't know if the other party is well or not... germs.... and the other party parents may also wonder if my child got germs.......

RE : Discipline
I read that from 4 months,babies can understand "NO". So when I'm angry I'll tell my boy sternly NO with the angry look. I think he understands. He will try to smile at me and see that he doesnt get the respond and see my frown. His smile faded and give me the guai guai look. But of cos, most of the times, he's still the boss!!! :p

Children shld be taught manners from young. It actually reflects more on the parents. When my nephew wans a toy now, he wants it NOW!!! When I'm ard, i'll told him no. No new toys everyday but my parents will buy to pacify him. Haiz, I'm trying to be fair and not let the little things he does to my son to affect my judgement. Afterall, he's a kid. But then, afterall, I'm a human!!!

god's child,
hahaha! Oh no poor Celeste kena kissed by boy already ah!

queen,
My PILs are the same as yours!! A slight whimper from my gal will send them running to her. Sigh sigh.

RE: Physical Contact
Its hard to stop people to try kissing your kid. How to stop? I dont like people to pinch his cheeks. I was pinched alot when young and i HATED it. My FIL smokes and frankly, din like when he kissed bb. The stale cigarette smell. But cant stop him, i juz closed my eyes, one week once only.

RE : Grandparents spoiling kids
All grandparents spoil grandchildren. My MIL also contradicts herself. She likes to full blast the fan at my boy and when he sneezes, she will say "aiyo, who blast the fan directly at him???" urgh!!!!

God's child
The incident is really hilarious.

Queen
RE: Grandparents
Aiya all grandparents are like tat lor, my ILs and mom also always carry and walk Mel whole day.

RE: Spoilt Kids
My nephew's kindergarden class used to have this boy who is very naughty. I think his parents are very busy at work and have no time to spend with him so up end will buy anything he wants and let him get his ways. Imagine a 5 year old kid bringing gameboy to sch everyday and even "teach" the other boys in the class to bully the girls. He once led a few boys (including my nephew) in the bus to spit at a girl (which happened to be my SIL's fren's daughter). Little did my nephew expect my SIL to know his mischievous act in the sch bus (go back kena wack by my SIL lor). In the end, all the mothers threathend to force the boy change sch/session if not they will all pull their kids out from the sch. So luckily my nephew managed to 'turn back to the rite path' after that. So maybe the ppl they mixed with is quite impt oso.

RE: Discipline
I think bb oredi can tell now cos when Mel is naughty I'll raised my voice at her, then she'll cry. In fact, they can tell at a very young age who they can bully. When she was younger, grandma and daddy would carry her walk walk all day. So whenever they carry her, the moment they sit down she will neh neh, but when mommy can carry her and sit down for 1 hr she also never complain. Have bought the book "New Dare To Discipline" by Dr James Dobson (highly recommended by my fren) but haven't got time to read. Shall read it and let u mummies know.

God's child

Wah, u actually let that boy touch Celeste! I won't let any kid touch my boy. Esp now got HFMD. Gotta be careful. Don't ever let other kids touch your bb, esp near the head. And what if that kid got some contagious disease that can be spread by saliva? Can never be too careful. There are some disease such as hep that can spread by saliva leh.

Thanks all for your input.
Yup I think so too, no need to sterilising other than milk bottles and teats etc..
Got to let hb know...