(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena
re: horse oil
The original horse oil is $30, and baby bath is $15 (buy 5 and get 1 free). The Hokkaido Fair last til this Sunday only.

Mashy,
Congrats on your new job!! Me having thoughts of quitting every day (esp Monday) when i'm on my way to work... got to console myself Ashley is in very good hands with my mum and I need to work so that got money to buy things for Ashley... sigh...

Sandra Chu,
Wah u sound REALLy tired... maybe u should try applying the Dentinox Teething gel... i bought 1 to standby coz heard from few mummies here quite good.

hi Sandra,
I dun think it's coz of any sleep in the day... is she on semis already? Shannon used to wake up every night 2am and 5am... after I introduced the 2nd semi solids at 7pm... she now sleeps till 5am... so maybe hungry? Else, then maybe she is teething.. but if she is teething, she would also be manjia in the day as well?

Sandra,
poor thing! Sounds tiring man! Heh yeh all of us attribute babies' crying / lack of sleep to teething! Haha. Hang on in there - it's probably just a phase

tracy,
haha cute pic of megan drooling! When u say double-eyelid appeared "again" - meaning it was there previously??

mashy,
congrats on ur job! Who's gonna take care of ur baby when u start work?

clare,
i was smiling when i read ur post abt the fart in taxi..hehe..

i ve pics from the swim gathering taken of dylan n megan, n celeste n caleb.

eh..how to post on yahoo group?

hahahaha... Clare, u sure it wasn't you?

Tracy,
NOW, this picture of Megan looks like you!!

er: poo
Keenan is on Enfalac and 2 meals a day. He poos 1-3 times everyday. B4 intro of semi-solids, he pooed once every 2-3 days. Must be the fibre from his veg and fruits doing him good...

Mashy
COngrats for your finding a job! Nope, so far Daren has been quite alright in infant care, no flu nor cough. I think they will try to keep the sick bbs away from the healthy ones and also they install this air filter thing in the rooms.

Clare
You so funny about the making it known that it's baby's fart and not yours. Can understand coz it happened to me too! And I had to like talk to Daren and exclaim," Wah! Ni Fang Pi so many times!"

re: poo,
clariss poo 4 times yesterday. she is ok, not fussing or anything, so think should be alright. she poo almost 2-3 times daily. her poo is getting smelly and darker in colour. but the poo colour will go to yellow if she poo after drinking breast milk.

re: 2 meals
this week, my MIL gave her brown rice cereal mid morning and 1 cube of potato mix with 1 cube of other veg in the evening around 5pm. so I guess that is 2 meals. this is her 4th week into solids. time really files. made sweet potato puree yesterday. think she will like it just like the rest of the babies.

hi sleepingdeer,

Enjoy your cruise! Probably too late by the time you read the post as you are most prob onboard already...

my! that's a long list of stuff to bring! I don't intend to bring cereal or bottles or feeding stuff. Most likely will only bring her bottle and feeding net to entertain her on the way to malacca

mongs,

Me too! I find it very amusing when Charmaine searches for my breast frantically when she's hungry. She can even help me to pull down the flap. : )

tracy,

I think sterilising tablets are more convenient for travelling. I am bringing sterilising tablets along instead.

your baby photo looks cute!

tracy,
megan looks cute in the drool pic hahahaa

sandra,
maybe u should try the teething gels or teethers?
think u can only try and see what works best for u

sl,
u mean when i was a baby? aiyo, i looked really like a boy..

re: air purifier
have an idea, will propose to hb to buy an air purifier to put at MIL's place. this shld help 'clean' the dirty air there.

anyone uses this at home n has a brand to recommend? me thinking of Daikin.

wenyl,

I think someone mentioned that can get the etthing gel from pharmacy. I didn't use the gel at all. Just hang on Ethan will get pastt he crankiness.

re : air purifier
I have a Daikin one. I also dunno good anot. But wait till u see the filter paper inside after use....is the air dat dirty???

sandra,

You can wash your hands clean clean and try to feel bb's bottom gums. If the teeth are coming out can feel it. I felt Charmain's teeth before they become visible. Now can see her two bugs bunny very clearly already.

Mashy - actuali infant care very super expensive...y dun u try to find a nanny? for my HB, he die die also dun want nannies cos ours is bb girl *he worry too much, mabbie read too many newspapers bout bb/children being violated bu outsider* since urs is bb boi, i think its a perfect n cheaper solution!

Re : sweet potato
eh..can i chk which kinda sweet potato? those small small one? yellow or purple?

god's child,
I use yellow one. got more betacarotene. carrots also choose darker ones to get more betacarotene.

re: air purifier,
actually we were contemplating to buy as well but later we decided that there is pros and cons. we are worried that clariss may get too used to very clean air and have prob when she starts going school or other places. in the end, we didn't buy.

sl,
actually the book is a earlier version. 1999, but I think didn't change a lot in terms of the recipes.

Sandra,
It could just be a passing phase. U can try tanking her up before her bedtime, say BF her every 2hrly like 7pm, 9pm, 11pm. If she still wakes up, then maybe she is teething. U wun see any tooth appear till a few weeks later. U can standby teething gel, teethers, chilled wet hanky. Tats what I m doing now. Haahaa!

Tracy,
Tatz a lot of saliva! So cute! Ethan's double eye lid also appears on & off. Sometimes they get puffy eyes after long hrs of sleep.
U got to login first b4 u can post the pics in yahoo group.

sl, tracy,
my PD said to bring steam sterilizer, and I told him too big. So he suggested sterilising tablets instead but remember NOT to rinse the bottles again with hot water as that will defeat the purpose of sterilising in the 1st place. Also, he suggested that I try sterilising with tablet at home 1st to see if bb is ok with the smell/taste of the milk.

god's child

Yah, infant care very expensive. But no choice lah. Nanny, like your hb said also not reliable. Somemore u dun know what happens there, maybe whole day watch TV. Unless of course u know any very good ones lor. So far, my past experience with nannies were horrid.

Hi sleeping deer/ Wenyl, I actually started her on semi solids since she was 4 n a half mths. She eat solids 3 times a day plus milk feeds before n after her meals. She's quite a hearty eater.

The problem with her is that when she wakes up in the middle of the nite, she starts to really make alot of noise and then she will wake herself up with the ruckus and stay awake after that. The first problem is of course her waking up to start with, the second problem is her noise-making... Maybe it's really teething. M hoping that it will really be over soon. I miss my guai1 baby.

In the day, she doesnt really sleep also. Maybe half n hour naps twice a day. She has become super manja also. I'll never know where she learnt how to whine like nobody's business. She really got siao2 jie2 pi2 qi4. I don't really find her cute anymore. =(

Denmy,

did you buy the bb bath? if yes then we can share..

RE: poo

seems like after introducing semi solid bb poos 2 to 3 times but mine 2 days 1 time and bullets type..

RE: gathering photo

Cindy,

do you think we can organise another massage session?
461706.jpg

tracy,
haiz, my nephew (5yr old) also often down wif flu. constantly has to remind him not to go near "didi" but afterall, he's a kid, diff to make him understand. my nephew also likes to play wif my boy's stuff. I'm fine wif it but he wld misplc them which i din like. couple of days back, my son was resting his legs on nep's bolster while drinking milk but when nep saw it, he went in and snatched the bolster saying he wanted it. However, I later saw it lying on the sofa after he took it out from the room. Nep was away playing wif dad. He simply din want to share. Irks me!!! Yet my sis thinks that his son is such a darling!!!

Hi Denmy
I was at the swim gathering... i'm tat mum that forgot to bring my son's usual milk bot and has to borrow a scissor to cut his water bot, but in d end uses d plastic fork to pierce it. Can recall? ;o)

I need help... do not know wat's wrong wiz my son...lately, he has been drinking about 650-700ml per day... i'm very worried... every drinking session need to be force... n mian qiang he will drink about 110ml...he is 5n1/2 mth old and he is not manjian at all n sleep well... can advise wat's wrong wiz him?

Tracy,
U intro Friso 2 to Megan at one shot? Or slowly intro? Jamie didn't poo today again..sigh.

Sandra,
My gal is drinking 110-120ml also. Need to divide into 2 time to feed. Too cold she dun want. Volume is abt ur son's too. So dun worry, u are not alone. =)

RE: Double eyelid
Megan looks so nice with double eyelid. It has always been my dream to have it too. Hubby and me dun have, so dun think Jamie will have it too. She has got my eyes..so poor thing. Next time she sure envy other pple one.

a few days din log in... so much to catch up.
kaelyn is ok already.. very happy
but mummy not ok.. very stress and depress and demoralise at work..
really very sian...feel like quitting.. boohoo.

peipei...
dun worry abt the black magic thingy...
just have patient when handle cranky bb.. and make sure u are not stress cos bb will feel it and more cranky.

Sandra
Sarah is very cute.. maybe cos of your deprive sleep thats why more "mang zhang"... dunno what to say but keep cool keep cool.

SY
I just bought GAIA from BP.. will try out if good dun mind join the BP.

Re: Start semi solid
I'm very tempted to start semi solid...
read that many mummies do the batch cooking and freezing method. I haven't bring it up to my MIL.. dunno if she will use the puree I made.
I better get agreement from hb first.

Just to check.. how do you all heat up the puree cube from freezer? over fire? when heated just add to cereal?

Rena,
I still got 4 unopened bottles. I can offer you 1 bottle. Pai seh, kiasu here la... cos dunno when they coming back next. If you want more, can get from Tampines Mall... too bad I away this weekend, if not, can help you get....

re: BB gathering
soooooo cute.... looks like BBs for sale... the way they are lined side by side outside a shop...

Sandra,
That's not bad already. I used to think it was low when my boy was drinking that amt last mth but ever since he started on solids, daily milk intake slowly decreased. Just 2 days ago it was only 470ml!! and was hovering just about 500ml for the next few days. I got worried and called TMC Mrs Wong and she said 'got wind' and told me to massage bb tummy before milk. Uhh... din seem to help for milk, but massage tummy thing we've been doing to 'stimulate poo poo'. So, he'll be farting away (loud + silent smelly kind) after we rub the tummy, and usually can poo within the next few hours.

Re: red patch on bb neck
My boy has this red slightly scaly patch on his neck, I think it could be fungal infection (gish). Have brought forward the PD appt for his last 6in1 by 2 weeks to ask about his condition before it worsens. Do you think it's ok if one jab from the next is less than 2 mths apart?

Rena,
Alison left our company recently and they are in the midst of finding a replacement...

Tracy
Infant Care is Ok for me, guess it works out best for me and hb. don't fret too much bout Megan being exposed to all those germs by your nephews. I can empathize that it's not easy when bb falls sick coz we mummies suffer. The good thing that will come out of it is she will develop a very strong immunity against future sickness. In fact, might be strong enough when go to child care next time.

cookie
For the frozen semi solids, don't heat up over fire as it'll further destroy whatever nutrients is in the bottle. Rather, maybe bring it down from freezer form the day before for it to thaw then place in a small jar and place the jar in hot water for the puree to warm up. If you have a bottle warmer even better still, can use that to warm up food. I use my Avent warmer to warm up the purees as well.

SH
re latching
I've the same problem. I think it's coz my flow from the breast is too slow. He's using no. 3 avent now.

May,
ya, i juz intro Friso2 to her at one go without gradual change. was trying my luck and thankfully no problems. this girl drinks jus abt anything, including medicine, but not water...

aiya, her double eyelid disappeared again. realised that it comes out only when she's ill. so when its out we get nervous...

Rena,
can also send me gathering pics? either via msn or email. thanks! very cute ah...

Y,
at least its your own sister's son. easier to tell her. SIL abit difficult to say...haiz.. I bought Sharp air purifier. not sure if its effective, but at least i feel better. juz to console myself. haha.

Mamachan,
yes, i'm hoping she'll "benefit" from the constant attack of viruses

Cindy,
do u still ve Alison's contact? maybe we can ask if she can freelance? we can all chip in to pay her a token sum for the massage session.

cindy,

i think tracy is right.. she is good.. maybe can try for us?

Y,

my niece also like that lor .. somemore she is a real terror.. 1 min is nice next min wants her things back and every thing belongs to her.. at times she will try to hide my son's toys coz she feels that it is hers.. the worst is that evrything that is purple belongs to her and she like to squeeze my bb's head which i really hate.. even my mil cannot do anything .. but her parents thinks that she is cute and a darling..

denmy,

does the bath has smell? the last time i only buy the cream..

Re: need advice
Mil called to say Kaelyn has bit bit of runny nose.
Can Feed for runny medication or not? or wait and see if her body can fight off the runny herself?
PD has gave some runny nose and cough medincine the last time we see him for fever.