(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Valerie,
no, both of you dun look alike but equally pretty la... just that i recognise her face but cannot recall in which gathering I saw her. :p

Last night was the first time that my boiboi behaved like that.

we tried to gave him sleep, usually we will put him into the salong and rock until he fall asleep. but last night he refused. stuggled and stuggled...

We also tried to pat on his back to burp him, no use...

that's y my mom said could be black magic...maybe our previous maid is doing it...
makes me so scare...

anyone hear of using photos can perform black magic? Cos i gave my maid our photos. really regeted now.

Tracy,
Eh...u want to stop BF then stop one ah? I tot need to do it gradually? Junwei turn 6mths old today too! I am dropping my pumping & letting him deplete the freezer stock. Yup...like you say...sure gonna miss it!

finally got time to log on...

SH,
so fast your bb 6 months liao. mine coming to 6 months next week too!!

seems like most of you stop BF after 6 months? I feel a bit reluctant to give up but also feel quite happy that can finally stop.

re stage 2 FM
anyone has this problem? my boy doesn't like similac stage 2. thought supposed to taste the same?

re swimming gathering
how was it? shall we do another gathering on national day? i can organise at my place if interested

re gaia products
anyone interested? thinking of doing a bulk purchase. my bro's fren sis is the distributor. will apph her for the prices. if anyone interested, let me know.

denmy,
thanks for the detail explanation, with pic some more. in short, all those are "ang mo" root vege.
I think I stick to my carrot, sweet potato, potato and yam. heehee!

Pei Pei,

i heard that some maids in Indonesia does that with photos of the family they work with. They mail it back home with their full name. Not sure what they do with it though. My colleague caught her maid doing it with a letter asking bombah (don't know rite spelling or not...sounds like dat) to put a spell on it. Thank goodness, colleague intercepted the mail & sent the maid packing.

However, if it's the first time your boy is like dat then dun worry too much for the moment. Monitor him for a few more days. I think bb goes thru phases & some time they may be just fussy....

SY,

I know what you mean. I feel reluctant and glad at the same time to give up BF too ;p

If you organise the next outing at your place...I can just walk in...keke...or the mummies can have 2 houses to go in since we are next door neighbours!

my gal turns 6 mth today! so happy for her and proud of myself. haha...
today fed her brown rice cereal, she spitted out some, but still managed to take it well.

anyone know when we should give 2 times a day?

Tracy
Oh...you taking any medications to stop BF? I kinda wean Daren off my breasts...so much so that he doesn't crave for it... in fact he likes the bottle. Reaction to feeding time when the bottle appears is same as when I breastfeed him 3 months ago.

sunny,

since bb is only just starting to take solid.. start at a slow pace.. try once for 2 weeks if she is taking it well and her poo is ok .. then can try twice

Tracy..

your SIL really lazy no wonder her sons always sick...

God's child,

the usual thing i will say, if you need help just let me know lor .. but i stay in bishan.. if you dun mind..

Been busy and sick. Sian...passed the flu bug to my boy and he has running nose now.

PeiPei,
Dont worry too much lar. My mum any problem also attribute to "ban tang". Made me so paranoid over wat i do, wat i say...u monitor him and see how. Is he over stimulated? What was he doing before the outburst?What managed to calm him finally?

SY,
I think my boy also doesnt quite like the taste. I started to mix 2old 1 new...and till now 1 old 2 new. Dont want to buy the stage 1. I check the composition, not much diff between the two stages. But I find the smell very "neh neh". The color of the milk also much lighter. I thought if he still doesnt like it, I'll switch to Friso and see how. Waiting for the sample to come.

RE : Semi Solid
My boy seems to like it after I thicken it. Err...wat's the amount a baby at 6 months can consume? How much can your baby eat? Currently, I mix wif 30ml of formula.

RE: Stage 2 formula
I have tried stage 2 on Jamie already.
First three days - 3 scoop of stage 1, 1 scoop of stage 2
Then slowly decrease stage 1 and increase stage 2.
Noticed that Jamie's poo becomes once every 2days after changing formula. Anyone has this problem as well?

This thread is certainly getting colorful with pics of veggies and all haha...

god's_child,
If you need help for a few days, give us a shout. I have my mom and maid to help me on weekdays at my place. So far, maid is ok with bb but mom is the main caregiver. My bb is also high on the fuss index and maid is used to it so quite patient. I can understand how you feel, we working moms will always be 'under the mercy' of the caregivers be it maid, moms or mils..

tabbiesus,
You are totally right.
Prevenar (trade name) for vaccination against pneumoccocal DOES NOT DO anything for Influenza strain.
This vaccination is expensive and actually more compulsory for people living in the temperate countries. It is also a rather painful injection (so my PD says).
Sometimes, PR agencies are engaged to launch drugs and vaccinations via 'education' so I really wonder what's a real need vs one that is marketed by manufacturers... but at least we have the option now compared to the past. I think I may just let my bb go for it after his MMR, around 18 mths old as prevention before going childcare. Now, I'll let his butt rest (been injecting the 6in1s every 2 mths)!!

Denmy,
Yup, that was me. My mom said she wanted to come when she knew there was a bb gathering again
Both you and your hb are really tall, no wonder Keenan is so tall too!

SY,

i using Gaia Baby Massage oil. I love it and i think Keenan loves it too...heehee... i don't mind getting the rest of their products as I'm also using California Baby and Rainbow Botanicals from littledreamers.

re: 2nd swimming gathering
I going to Bali on National Day leh... can we have it another day instead?

I brought Keenan for his last 6-in-1 today finally. He will have his last Prevenar in 1 months time and that's it. Will not have anymore jabs until he is 15mths old.

Sandra,
I went to buy today's newspaper to read the obituary & felt very down after seeing it. My eyes were teary every time I tink abt Jun Jie. His family must be devastated! Pray that God will heal his family of the sorrow quickly!
Wonder if taking prevenar could have prevented this?? My hb now wants me to make appt to bring bb to take the jab when he reaches 7mths next week.

Valerie,
Thanks very much for the ride home yesterday! Really appreciate it! Kirsten is really guai in her carseat. Sorry for the trouble & paiseh Ethan farted so loudly in ur car!

TEETHING GEL
HELP! Does anyone have good recommendation for teething gel?
Ethan's lower left incisor is cutting thru his gums. He is ok in the day, just a little clingy but these 2 nites is jialat! Keep wanting to latch on every 2-3 hourly last nite. Just now, he even refuse my nipples, just cry & cry. I used a cold hanky to rub his gums (advised by PD), only then he stopped crying. Now fast asleep...hopefully he will sleep thru the nite w/out much discomfort. I really want to get a teething gel to standby for tomorrow nite.

SY,
I bought Gaia 2 bath gels at the Motherhood exhibition. How much is the discount if we BP? They have a nice aromatheraphy fragrance but I stopped using it recently as my bb now likes to suck his wet fingers and also rub his eyes while bathing. I tested (and tasted) the bath water, got the gel taste so I stopped using for now. Actually, I am thinking of getting for my own use hehee..

May,
I think I would not subject bb to allergy test this young. Really got to kena prick and there's a thousand and one things to test against lor. From what you describe, it could well be paracetamol...

Wenyl,
I asked PD about preventive jabs for influenza and he said Prevenar cannot do the job. Only Flu Jabs can. Since BB is over 6mths liao, he can take Flu jabs. However it will only protect him for a year. Thereafter, if you still want, must jab again.

He also highly recommends that we continue sterilising bb's bottles, feeding bowls, spoons etc. into bb's 1st year. Different school of thought from Wendy(slinky)'s PD.

OOops. I posted my question rgd prevenar b4 reading the earlier threads posted by the mummies. So it seems that taking Prevenar would not have prevented the death of that infant. So, is there anything tat could hv done to prevent such tragic?

re: Hokkaido "Horse Oil" bb Lavender Bath
Anyone heard of this brand b4? I bought these to try at the Hokkaido Fair in Tampines Mall last weekend. All natural, no chemicals, key ingredient is horse oil... sounds yucky but apparently, their original horse oil cream is very famous. Can be used on face as moisturiser, on cuts and scratches, and even on aching muscles. My mum swears by it. She claims that she used to use it when she was living in Japan. So got me to buy her some as it cannot be bought in singapore generally.

Denmy,
I was told no need to sterilise feeding bowls & spoons too. Just sterilise milk bottles & pumps for the 1st yr. But I guess we can do it to play safe lor.

I remember when we were babies, we dun need to take so many jabs. Nowadays, our kiddos so poor thing....got to kanna jab in the butt so many times in just 1 yr.

Wenyl,
I apply Dentinox teething gel on Isaac cos he wants to bite on everything that he can gets his hands on. Even though still cannot see any teeth popping out yet... Can get a tube from Guardians.

RE. Sterilising bowls & spoon
I don't bother actually cos it really doesn't make any sense when now Isaac is putting all sorts of dirty things into his mouth anyway. He'll touch the floor or the table one second and then put his fingers into his mouth the next. Or he'll grab toys and put them into his mouth. Have given up trying to prevent him from doing this all the time. I figure with all the germs he's putting into his mouth himself, why bother with sterilising the bowls and spoons. But what I'll do minimally is to rinse the bowl/spoon and put really hot water from the vacuum flask into the bowl for a few minutes before feed. That's all.

peipei,
I think for now don't worry too much about black magic lah... already so many things to worry about BB, still want to pantang about black magic? Probably your BB is teething or cranky from too much stimulation. Observe for a while... Bring to a doctor if necessary to ease any concerns for health. Could be just a passing phase.

Tracy,
Aiyo, can't believe your SIL actually sterilise the bottles in the sink!!! Those hotel sink can be very dirty. Bring a tupperware to put int water and sterilising tablets. As for bathing, when I went to Europe with Isaac, I brought a clean plastic 'basin', add hot water with a small drop of baby bath. I don't actually bathe Isaac during the 2 weeks in Europe. I'll wash his hair and a thourough wipe every morning and evening.

Re. stopping BF
I'm continuing to 1 year old. Heard that take pilsl to dry up the milk has certain risk of breast cancer? True?

re. purees
Yah loh, how to find those angmoh veges?
So far I have made sweet potato puree (Isaac's favourite), potato puree, carrot puree, Potato + broccoli + sweet peas puree & Pear + apricot puree (he quite like it too). Sometimes I'll mix the carrot into his Heinz rice cereals.

Thanks ladies! I will go Unity to get Dentinox today. Last nite was not too bad. Thank God! We let him sleep on our bed in case I need to latch him on frequently but he only woke up once at 4am. After tat feed, I xsfered him back to his cot.

Queen,
Sweet potato is also Ethan's fav. I gave him those small Japanese types. He will automatically open his mouth wide wide for it. But heard tat we hv to give while its warm cos if its cold, it may cause wind in the tummy.

sleepingdeer, val, demny,
all my close friends also say she look like a photocopy of my hb.

SH, Mamachan
2weeks ago I started reducing the amt i express out each session. then slowly i dropped the morning pump. then the night one. but i still feel the breasts abit full occasionally so i juz hand express a little out when bathing.

Wenyl,
Yah i think my PD also gave Detinox teething gel but my gal not yet teething so i'm not sure whether the gel is good or not!

peipei,
Don't think too much about this black magic thingy. I don't think that's the case! Babies can be quite unpredictable...one moment ok, next day cranky and crying. My gal also like that. Sometimes she can cry the whole house down and i dunno what's wrong. I've attributed it to the fact that she may be overtired and yet cannot get to sleep, so her only way to vent it off is to cry and scream. Oh well.

Re: BF & ovulation
The 6 hour thing doesn't work for me either. My baby can sleep thru 10 hours without milk but my menses still not back yet. Hmmm...
i also intend to BF till 1 year old. Hope to prevent allergies in baby since my hubby has asthma & i've family history of eczema & other allergies.

re:flu again
i'm very angry!! megan is having running nose n slight cough. she was ok over the wknd on monday when i brought her to SAHM gathering.

when i went back to pick her last night n ve din there, nephew keeps going near her n i keep asking him to go away. my hb told my MIL to keep him away during the day, she said cannot be helped since he wanna go near..!!!!!!! then i lost my temper when the younger nephew literally picked up his bowl of rice and purposely overturn it! my MIL blame the maid! she said maid never look after. maid was closing the bedroom door which my MIL asked her to do! my hb n i then scolded the young nephew.

this morning megan was coughing when i brot her over. my MIL still say aiyo got cough. i jus said angrily if still cough i'm not going HKG!!

my hb ask if nephew went to see doc since its been a week. MIL said no, juz take his previous medicine can already..its been a week!! shouldnt he c doc for antibiotics??

i'm really angry lor....

tracy

ohmigod... sterilize in hotel toilet sink? Do u know how dirty it is in the sink.. might as well sterilize in the toilet bowl.. yucks!! btw... your SIL's children are always sick right...hmmm? hope megan can get well soon to go to HK! So sad for her to miss the trip! Maybe should bring her to see PD so that can get standby med for when u go HK..

RE: prevenar
Its good to give cos pneumoccal infection can cause death.. anyways, i gave right from birth cos i work in the hosp. and always see a lot of this bug around so afraid i might carry some home... so just to be safe la..

Re: bowls
I don't sterilize the bowl per se but i do soak in hot boiling water for a short while prior feeding.

re: weaning baby off breast/ BF..

\ feel like weaning cos hard to cope but dunno how to stop.. want to continue as long as possible yet struggling with work/ family life... so confused... i get scolded from hb everyday when he sees me so tired.. keep asking me when I'm going to stop now that its 6 months. How? Just bu se de...

RE: similac
i talked to the distributor/ suppier and similac smells/ taste fishy cos of the DHA fish oil thingy... i thought it was the milk gone bad... but just confirmed with them its like that!! So strange... cos i tasted the follow on the other day and thought the oil in the milk powder had spoilt cos it was so fishy..

Re: Weaning

Gals, how u stop bf? Since going to start work soon. Thinking maybe it's time to stop liao.

Mamachan
Ask u hor, does your bb get sick often after going infantcare?

Rena / Cindy - thanks for offering help...its reali heart warming to know that mummies here are so ready to lend helping hand... *touched*
i should do fine for the moment, have got a fren's mum on standby in case the maid give nonsense again...

Tracy - your MIl and SIL so sickening... dun they want the nephew to recover soon too rather than to see him sick all the time? poor megan...

Mashy - Congrats on gettin a job!! no need to see hb's face in getting allowance lia...heehee...

Hullo mummies - hv been so tired. Ask u gals, are any of ur babies waking up like mad in the middle of the nite recently? I hv no more reserve left already. Sarah had been sleeping thru since she was 1 n a half mth or so until 2 weeks ago. I dont know wat's wrong with her. Sumtimes, she'll even stay awake for 2 hours or fuss for 2 to 3 hours from 3 to 6ish or 2 to 3ish n then 5 to 7ish. Im really dying from lack of sleep. To make matters worse, the more I worry about her waking up at nite, the more I cant get to sleep. So technically, I dont sleep a wink at all - and I hv to look after her still in the day. AAAArrrrrrrgggghhhhhh..... Wat's wrong with my baby?

Sept03 Bride, nope. She doesn't sleep. She DOESNT SLEEP at all...

I've also been telling myself that she could be teething. But no sign of teeth leh... and how long more will it last? I'm really close to quitting being her mummy. *simmer*

May,
i juz started megan on stage2 friso yesterday. she normally poos alternate days but she poo yesterday n today. i'll monitor n let u know if her poo schedule changes.

Sandra

It's becoz u can't see the teeth yet, that's why so painful. It's the teeth going thru the gums that's the most painful stage. Have u tried chilled teethers? Or teething gel? It's been more than a week, my boy's bottom right incisor is just beginning to show a bit. So I think it's a long process.

mashy brainz,
congrats on getting a new job! but hopefully u don't get seperation anxiety! :p

sandra,
is sarah sleeping too much in the day dat's y can't sleep in the nite. or probably she's teething? if so, can try to apply teething gel.

tracy,
congrats on the appearance of meagan's double eyelids! i'm still waiting patiently for edgar's to appear. coz both my hb and i hv double eyelids, it can't be that he doesn't!! :p

Hi mummies - Swim gathering sounded fun
Looks like Cephas poos the most here. He started on porridge since last Mon. He still poos twice a day.

Re Swimming Gathering
So sad i missed it.. I was at Sentosa n brought Ashley swimming on Fri & Sat too.... funny thing is she didn't have ANY reaction, not smiley, not scared, not grouchy... just NO reaction. I guess no reaction better than crying loh.. Any more photos to share?? Maybe can post at our yahoo group??

Wenyl,
haha so funny when u apologised for Ethan's fart. Sometimes in the morning when I bring Ashley to mum place in the taxi she will fart really loud too and I will make sure i say "OOh you fang pi ah" loud enough for the Taxi uncle to hear just in case he thought it was me... heehee