(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbiesus

RE: Flu vaccine

If you look at the MOH website link that I've pasted, bb above 6 months can take flu vaccine. But just not sure if the cost outweigh the benefits cos influenza viruses change, so need to take every year so that the most current strains of virus is included.

Cookie,
good to hear Kaelyn's fever gone down. You can use Karvol or Olbas for K's blocked nose. Just add a few drops on tissue and place tissue near her cot or put tissue in her pillow case. Can get from Gaurdian.

Mashy,
I looked at my box of Heinz baby Rice, it's made in Australia... so it's safe right?

Sandra Chu,
O dear.... it's very sad to hear the news...
the parents must be so devastated!

sl,
what a coincidence! I'm also going Malacca on Sat with my friend Merilyn and her family. We will be driving up there... but we plan not to take Keenan as it's only a 2 day thing, only bringing the big one. What's your preparation like for Charmaine? We are planning to take Keenan to Bali in August though... which part of Malacca r u going to?

Gods Child,
Think you are too nice to your maid liao. I hear many stories from my frens who have maids and many of their feedback is that you have to be firm with them right from the start so they won't climb over your head. Hope you'll get a replacement soon...

esther,
re: ovu kit
can revise my order to 6? thanks in advance!

re: swim gathering
glad that you've enjoyed yourselves with your bbs. Too bad we didn't really have enough time to really talk to one another more...

Sandra,
were you there? How come i didn't see you?

Cindy,
U came with your mum har? I said hello to you right? and I called you "Valerie" too right??? pai seh... cos I recognise the face...but i think you cut your hair right? Actually realised I called the wrong person Valerie when the real Valerie came only much later...

some bb girl lost her socks?
460283.jpg

cookie
hv to use the nosedrop for block nose. We will let Ger sleep on a pillow when he's having blocked nose.

Mashy
Re recall of heinz cereal
thanks for the info.. oh no, if the cereal is recalled, I hv to find other brands of rice cereal. He cant take brown rice as well as he has constipation.
And the gerber one cant add oats. the good thing is that the Heinz cereal sold in Sing is made in Australia. but, I wld still wanna change his cereal brand.
mummies help.. what other brands has rice cereal w/o sugar?

sandra
the bb is so poor thing. my heart goes out to the parents.
btw, any idea if the mum bf the bb?

denmy
thanks for the reminder.. I just rem that I bot Karvol too.. It's sitting in my drawer. Shall let Ger try tonite. He's also hving block nose these days.

God's Child

It's never easy to handle maids cos if you treat them too well, they tend to go overboard. Does she know that you are going to terminate her service? My suggestion is not to let her know first if she's unaware. Who knows she may just want to "threathen" you without any real intention of leaving. You are prob a rare empolyer to grant her extra sunday off. Anyway when you get your new maid in, you need to set all the rules and make sure she follows them strictly initially cos my fren was telling me if you don't do that, you may have trouble trying to enforce the rules later.

sandra..
My heart weep when I read abt the sad accident...
How could it happen...

I know there are relevant articles posted.. really must find time to read...

Re : Stupid maid
actuali i admit tat i truly am a very very stupid employer! i know its best to stand firm but somehow, i cant.. cos i jus wanted to make sure she sill take gd gd care of Celeste... and on the other hand, ur know who she has got as her 'mountain'? my MIL!!!
my inlaws pamper her alot.. and MIL always let her be, in the end, kana climbed over as well.. ask her y never clean the ledge, she just reply MIL : ya, i never clean.. tat got MIL mad but stil she forgave the maid aft tat...and now, inlaws under maid's ctrl..MIL gota do the hsework ( partly) herself and scrub the toilet when we bring the maid home during weekends... so u see...im so sandwiched.. ok, enuf of tis stupid maid...if not the list goes on and on...

Denmy - tats a nice pair of socks at your LOST & FOUND corner... haha

Demny
we din get to take pciture of kaelyn... thanks for this picture..
haizzz 1st experience.. and kaelyn dun seems to enjoy it alot...
hope second time will be better.

Re: weaning
When should we intro semi-solids 2 times a day? Anyone knows? And when should we target to give semi-solids up to 3 times a day during mealtime (coupled with milk)?

Anyone of you watched the World Cup finals?
I watched the whole match... but luckily took leave on Monday. But with Isaac around, can hardly nap in the day. End up going shopping with HB and BB yesterday. And dunno why Isaac woke up 3 times last night... trying not to pacify him to sleep without latching him, but gave up. He'll not sleep unless I latch him on.
Super tired now... I hope Isaac falls back to normal sleeping pattern today.

Esther,
Have PMed you... like to order the Ovu kits as well. Thanks!

Re. swim gathering
Looks like you all had loads of fun! Too bad Isaac missed out. Anymore gathering? Hopefully can join next time.

krissie,
I think since Singapore authorities did not take any action on Heinz cereals, I supposed it is safe? Just started a new pack of Heinz rice cereal, will still continue to finish it. This weekend will start Isaac on 2 cereal feeds. Trying to get oatmeal cereals for him as breakfast and then brown rice cereals as dinner.

Re. TTC but TBF
ak, durianlover, god's child,
I think if you want to conceive soon and sure that you are not ovulating, then, probably best to cut down on BF to hasten ovulation. Not totally. If latching, perhaps, replace 1 latch session with FM or frozen EBM. If pumping 100% then, just lengthen time between pumps or cut down on qty pumped. I'm also on TBF, intend to TBF till 1 year old if possible and TTC early next year. But I dunno...
Now that Isaac has started on 1 feed of cereals and purees, already cut down on 1 bottle when I'm at work. haven't cut down on pumping at work. Frozen EBM stock increasing... Next week onwards will be 2 feeds of cereals. Probably will increase milk feed by 20ml per bottle and cut down another bottle. Will probably have to latch and pump less liao.

Sandra,
oh dear...i muz go home n tell my SIL cos she said no need to vaccinate her 2 boys cos they are not weak..(erm...falling ill once a mth not weak??)

Wanna check if any of you have encounter this problem. Most of the bb i heard prefer to latch on direct instead of the bottle. However, my boy always struggles when i latches him on. The only time he drinks properly is when he is either half asleep or during his dream feed. He will keep pulling away & even tries to bite me with his gums. Usually i have to give up within a few minutes of struggles as he simply refuses to drink. So it seems like he is hardly drinking much....urine also very little. During the weekdays when he drinks from the bottle, my MIL says his urine a lot leh....

Sigh...wonder what's wrong....Anyone has any advice?

for those who want to TTC but TBF,

u may want to try to increase the time gap during the early morning feed...for me, I hope it won't come so soon..:p

Sandra,
it is really sad to hear that, my heart aches for the parents, it must be so heart wrenching, I cannot imagine.. his obituary was in today's newspapers right? Looked so adorable... sometimes, we really question why?

After hearing the news, my hubby decided there and then to go for the prenavar jab, but it's not related right? Coz Prenavar doesn't prevent the Flu virus.... I so hope Shannon is protected by the flu vaccine I took in Oct last year... coupled with Bfing... somemore we are going on curise tomorrow... tons of people on board...

Tracy,
yeah, keep hearing you mention that your two nephews keep falling ill? They definitely should do something about it...

SH,
i oso encounters the same thing as u. i exclusivly bottle feed edgar for almost a month when he was 1 mth old coz i needed to let my nipple heal from cracks. i pumped out and bottle feed him instead. thereafter edgar rejected my breasts. he will push me away very hard when i latch him. he wants to drink but after suckling for a few moments he will push away. and this can carry on for about 5mins. he will also make frustrating noises. so i gave up and continue to bottle feed him instead. like u, i was only successful latching him on during the nite. but surprisingly,recently, he began to take to my breasts again. maybe becos i have been direct latchin him when we are outside. and these few weekends we have been bringing him out. so now he's better. how does ur bb take to ur breasts when u are out?

queen - yes I watched the WC final..and yesterday i actually left my boy at my in law hse. so me and hb were able to have a good night rest
in fact we always leave our boy at my in law hse once a week so that we can catch up with some movies, good dinner and spent some quality time as a couple..yeah for that short while only.

Hi Queen,durian lover,
Yah, I hear if you stretch pumping interval past 6 hours, likely you can ovulate...but still no success for me.

Queen, you started replacing milk feeds with solids already? When can we do that? Now my boi is milk plus some tasting solids and he can finish everything!

denmy,

what a coincidence! Let's hope that we can bump into each other in Malacca. We are driving up as well. No idea where in Malacca we are going yet cos we are travelling with the rest of my family - big group. My parents, my brother, my sister and hubby, my aunt all going. : )

I am wondering if I should start packing for Charmaine now even though it's a only one night stay. : ) Am thinking of bringing the bathtub along as well. : P Anyone has any advice on what to bring?

hmm... With all the flu viruses going ard, I am thinking if I shd bring Charmaine for the flu vaccine before going to Malacca and Aus....

ak,
the 6 hours thing doesn't work for me too. Not menstruating yet (dunno whether ovulating or not though).
My boy drinks at 8pm and sleeps till 4am for me to latch on every night. That's already more than 6 hours.
Isaac is coming 7 months on the 19th.
For the last 2 weeks, my MIL says 2 big tablespoon of brown rice cereals can last Isaac for about 2 hours, sometimes almost 3 hours. That's like replacing a milk feed liao. But funny thing is when I feed him cereal during weekends, it can last only at most 2 hours.
I'm thinking of starting 2 cereal feed a day for him since he's going 7th month soon and has been on 1 feed of cereals for a month already.

Sandra,
sorry to hear about your young nephew-in-law. My gosh... makes me worried about all the flu bugs flying around. What are the flu vaccines available?

sleepingdeer,
i bot the magmag training cup. asked my MIl to try giving her water via that today. hope it works
thx for the tip.

hi mothers,

will your babies cry non-stop for 1/2 hr without any reason?

He refused to take milk -> not hungry
We changed his pamper liao -> not wet
We carried his walk around, cheered him and use ding dong toys to attach him -> no use. continue to cry

My mum was so worried that she think is black magic.

Celine,
My boy is worse when we are out. He will get very curious...want to play/look around instead of eat. He doesn't struggle from the feeding as much as at home, but he doesn't last long either coz he wants to pull away & look around

Hi Queen,

Yah, the 6 hours thing also dun really wk for me....anyway, have you heard something abt TBF will contract your uterus until very small?

Feeding cereal
Unfortunately, my boi seems to be the greedy type. Cereal plus milk doesnt replace any feeds! And doesnt even help in stretching his feeds!

Any mummies experience bb getting constipated after solids? My boi never poo for 4 days after abt a week of starting solids. I gave him gripe water and that day poo one big one, and now again 2 days never poo...i never thot i wud be so happy seeing all that shit!

Sleepingdeer, yup - that's him. So sad no? I didn't go for the wake cos i think i wont b able to take it especially with sarah around now... I'll become paranoid,,, My mil went n she came back looking so teary. In fact, she was still sniffling in the kitchen when she came back. I cry much more easily than her, so...

Pei Pei,

My boy does it some time. Don't know why either. He will cry/scream so hard that I thought maybe he is sick or even worse that I accidentally twisted his hand or something like dat! For my case, it's usually at night (although it did occur once in the day). We do everything but nothing seems to make him stop. Some time he even cry until whole face red but no sound come out from his throat. The good thing is, he is usually ok by the time day comes....or else i may have brought him to the PD to find out what's wrong.

Recently, i realised that it may be becoz he's too tired. Wants to sleep but can't sleep so gets cranky & man zhang. He ends up crying himself into a frenzy. So nowadays I try not to let him continue playing (even though he looks like he wants to continue playing). But forcing him to go to sleep, the crying lasts shorter & he wakes up a happier baby. Though i have not been able to stop the crying completely yet....

Sandra,

Oh my...he looks so cute some more. I think it must be hard for the people around him to bear the sudden loss. Hope all our babies stay healthy & happy....

Sandra,
dun say you'll become paranoid, even me hearing about the sad news, I also started thinking about it..! It's so sad.... I hope they will have the strength to recover... it is the worst to lose a loved one, nothing matters more than the people you love.

SL,
well, with us going on cruise tomorrow, I have a super long list of things to bring, and it's all Shannon's... you know, her stuff can easily fill our 21inch luggage bag? I kid you not! Her pillows and sleeping stuff, coz it is a unfamiliar place, so she need her smelly blosters and teddy, her bottles, bowls, and spoons, her cereal, her diapers, pyjamas, socks, rompers, cardi, hat, creams, body wash, hankichiefs, toys, themos flask for hot water... the list just goes on and on! I'm still trying to figure out how to bathe her without her bathtub!

pei pei,
my girl used to be like that. like SH's boy, it's actually because she was too tired and can't fall asleep by herself. there was once when she did that and was screaming her lungs out this moment and the next moment, she put her cheeks on my shoulder and fell into deep sleep, she was so tired from the screaming.

re: swimming,
was so busy recently. nice meeting all the mummies who went there. we went to east coast after the gathering and wanted to jog but it started drizzle a little and we ended up eating the famous satay bee hoon. so guilty.

esther,
I have pm you my orders. change from 5 ovulation to 6 ovulation (2 packs of 3).

re: solids,
I went to sembawang shopping centre on sunday for breakfast and there was a used books sale going on. bought the annabel karmels- feeding your baby & toddler, the complete cookbook for 9.90 only. the book is in quite good condition. so happy. but don't think got second copy. if any mummies stay nearby can go down and take a look.

freeze some puree for my MIL to feed clariss and surprisingly, my MIL didn't object to my gesture. I think she knows that she will be too busy to do all the work to puree the food since she is looking after my nephew as well. now I can come up with more fanciful purees. heehee!

think someone asked this before but can someone please enlighten me again.
1) what is parsnips? is it "bang kuang",
2) what is swede?
3) is young courgettes cucumber?
4) what is butternut squash?

Topic on maids:
Cannot trust maids one. I recently also replaced mine. We treated her veri good for the past 8mths. Imagine when we went out to dine, she also ate the same kind of food as us. For eg, at kenny rogers, we also ordered a set for her. Even for buffet and families outing we will defintely include her share. And most of the times, she get to eat first while I stuggled with the 2 kids (20mths gal and 5mths boi). Sat and Sun were basically her off days as usually we will go out or visit my MIL house. Yet she will on and off gave me black face. She also gave the same reason loh... miss her family or got family problem. She actually spent close to $70 bucks on phone cards. Those were $ that she gotton during CNY, my brother wedding and hari raya. She havent even spent a single cent on her own salary. My mum also bought clothes and shoes for her.

*sign* we are providing her everything yet when i returned home after a hard day of work, still have to see their 'face colour'. I mean we at work will not gave our boss black face right? dun know how these maids think one...

be guai guai and work for the employer, save for 2 yrs then can go back wif a lump sum and settle down mah...

yet look at all the maids issues in s'pore....

I think i got a bit carried away...

anyway, last week we cannot stand her anymore (caught her stealing), asked her to pack and go. We sent her back to agencry.

We no choice selected a transfer maid (faster). We told her at one shot what is expected of her from us. Be the bad guy for once and set the rules correct from the start.

Hopefully this new maid will be more ok.

peipei - oh man! there is actuali another sufferer like me!i was thinking : damn it! at work i have to respect my boss, when i come home i stil gota respect my maid?!?!? wat nonsense is this? even when our boss asks us to do things, they address us by name, but the maid treats us like thin air... i also buy clothes for her and let her eat wat she wants ( mind you, when she tabao food for me, hers is always more exp than mine!).. they dun know wat they are asking for...

when i told her to clean the window grilles ( only this once in 4mths ) she turned black face and threw the cloth on the flr. Wah..u cant imagine my blood boiling to its max... she stil dare to play family politics by telling MIL tat i ask her to wash the cot sheets and pillow cases for bb when they have just been washed 2 days ago! and in actual fact, i told her to sun them only, not wash. she cldn't have heard wrongly cos i specifically asked her if there is sun and she said no. so i told her to sun them if there happens to be... had i not told MIL, MIL wld have continued thinking tat this DIL so petty... maids use their words to turn family around n around...

i've officially stopped BF today and today is exactly megan's 6-mth...so i've sterilized my pump and kept them back into the box...haiz..will miss it.

Re:MIL
argued with stubborn MIL about bottles. :p

when i wanted to feed megan milk ystrdy afternn, i asked for a bottle, she gave me one and said this was used this morning. i was like eh...havent sterilize? she said ya, so juz use hot water to rinse can liao. thk god i brot 2 bottles out for the SAHM gathering so i had spare.

told her i remember giving her 2 bottles for megan's use. she said no, only one. (horror of horrors...how to survive on only one bottle)

this morning i buay kum wan, ask her again. she still insist no. so i open the kitchen cabinet and search. voila! it was up there all along..

sleepingdeer,
megan's luggage is also the huge type and completely full! how u gonna sterilize her bottles?

when my SIL heard i bring travel sterilizer, she said no need. juz boil water, pour into toilet sink and soak bottles inside!!! i cringe when i heard dat...god knows who did what inside the sink!

tracy,
wow, so official. on her 6 mth b-dae some more. you stop latching her on since she was quite young?

I kind of enjoy looking at her sucking greedily at my breast. heehee! I also enjoy seeing at her frantic look when I remove her mouth from my breast to switch side. so funny.
I derive my happiness from her misery but they are really cute when they looked frantic.

mongs,
hehe, didnt expect so accurate to stop exactly at 6mths too.

esther,
i dun quite like the chlorine smell so i only used tablets for sterilising my pump, which i rinse with hot water b4 using too.

SH,
maybe it's juz a passing phase and he will get used to latching after a while.

peipei,
my boy was oso like dat for about 2 weeks. cry for no reason. we gave him gripe water and seems like it does help alittle coz of the sweetness now he's ok liao.

Hi Tracy,
gonna use sterilizing tablets and bringing my lock-it tubberware to contain the bottles.... talk about lugging luggage just for her! Shannon must be so enjoying life.... bringing all her luxuries, and yet she doesn't have to pack or pull the huge luggage behind her! The sink... oh boy... now we know why the boys fall sick so easily! So terrible, how can she even think about that! At least bring along a container for the boiling water lah!

That pic of Meagan looks really like your hubby!

Haha mongs,
you are so right, me too, love seeing her eyes so intently focusing on my breasts, as if it will disappear if she blinks... hee hee...

Denmy, hahaa... no wonder you look a bit shocked to see me when I just arrived at the gathering. So Cindy and I look alike?

I must have missed quite a few of you since I arrived so late. Nowadays, never can make it to any place on time. Timing is all controlled by baby...

Sandra Chu, I pray that the boy's family stays strong. They must be devastated!

Tracy, Megan looks like a photocopy of your HB in the photo! Your SIL is so disgusting! Yah, no surprise why her 2 boys are so weak.

God's child, you are so kind-hearted to your maid, yet she's still so unappreciative. Wait till she get the bad employers then she will regret!

mongs,
1) what is parsnips? is it "bang kuang",
ans: parsnip is like a carrot. except fatter and white in colour. Bang Kuang is turnip. If you are using it for soup stock, can use turnip also, as parsnip is very rare here and is very expensive.
460733.jpg

2) what is swede?
ans: a swede looks like a turnip except that it's skin is a little rougher and its brown/purple colour. Don't think we can find swede in S'pore also....
460734.jpg

3) is young courgettes cucumber?
ans: courgette or zucchini is not cucumber, though they look very similar. Courgette is dark green and sometimes speckled with small light green patches.
460735.jpg

4) what is butternut squash?
ans: butternut squash is like a pumpkin, except its hard skin is smoother and orange in colour and it's shaped like a fat bottle. I've seen them in NTUC, and they sell them already cut up into 1/2s or 1/4s.
460736.jpg