(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sleepingdeer
RE: Menses

Do you mean our menses will come only when MS dip??? Cos my menses came about 4m+ after I delivered but I am still on total BF. My third menses came this month but I am still pumping about the same amount (4x a day)
kao_confused.gif

i bought the munchkin hand grinder.. not good leh the carrots and brocoli put inside also cannot grind even apple .. not good..waste of money..

SL,
what does the munchkin fresh food thingie do? how does it help the bb?

RE: screaming

duno what happen today sumo super happer keep talking and screaming just at 9 plus till 10 plus.. and now he starts to grap the muscial mobile..

RE: jab

sumo's thigh has a lump that cause by jab.. is it normal?

Rena,
I have been using the hand grinder for the last 1 week to grind the carrots. Ok leh. There may be a few bigger bits of carrot but I will normally use the pigeon spoon & bowl to mix finely b4 feeding bb. Oh yes.....I steam the carrots 1st b4 grinding them in the hand grinder.

I m going to try steam apple tomorrow. Will let u know if it works.

RE: Jab
Ethan also has a hard lump at the area where the jab was adminstered. It will slowly disppear in a couple of weeks. U can use a warm towel to placed it on the wound.

Wow so many postings.

Hi Esther, welcome to the thread. Hope ur bb gal is feeling better now.

Florence, I used to cycle from east coast road to raffles place gym and then gym there. =)*mad*
Anyways, now membership already expired and have no intention to renew cos california fitness is over crowded and has lost exclusivity.

Rena, Sumo is so cute. Sarah also lately act very hyper whenever it's around 8 o clock at night. So funny. Like kena charged by battery or sumthing... =)

Any mummies noe how much a civil engineer can earn (annual or monthly estimate)? My friend is thinking of relocating to Singapore from america but husband need to find out whether he can maintain his income over here first.

Rena,
I use the munchkin hand grinder also. It's not too bad for a manual gadget like this. Good enough to grind steamed apple, pear, banana, papaya, avodado, rock melon. Basically the very soft food. For harder/tougher food, u'll have to use an electric food processor.

sl,
re: munchkin fresh food feeder
You can try banana, steamed rock melon, steamed apple/pear, even avocado. Keenan's favourite is rock melon, banana, followed by apple and pear. But be warned that they can get very addicted to the rock melon cos it's very very sweet. I had to fight with him to take his feeder away. You might want to try steamed apple/ pear and banana 1st.

Queen,
re: sleeping thru the night
BBs can sleep through the night at this age liao. Infact from 2 mths, if they are able to sleep thru, we should let them. Their stomachs can go without milk for as long as they sleep. Keenan sleeps from 8-9pm to next morning 8+am. It's best to break their night feeding habit while still young, otherwise us parents will suffer in the next few years waking up every night to feed them milk...

tabbs,
re: compilation of recipes from Jan06MTB in excel file
it's a good idea! Who wants to start the ball rolling?

cookie,
turnip= mang kuang (like the ingredient we use in rojak)
butternut squash = kam3 gua1 (as in golden squash in cantonese)

puree: yes, we steam then puree the veg/fruit.

Queen & Sarah

Re: California

Yes the gym is unbeliveabe crowded esp in the evening. But cheapo me still go cos now I only pay $59+GST per annum. Anyway, it's juz opp my office, so is convenient for a quick lunch workout.

brought Keenan to the PD today but didn't get his 6-in-1 cos PD found out that he's having a slight fever...slight viral infection...haizz...told us to come back in 2 weeks.

anyway, he is 6mths today and his weight is 9.7kg, length 71cm, head circumference 44.3cm. He is in the 97th percentile.

453116.jpg

Queen
Maybe you can try giving your bb the puree again. Usually 1st time taste of new food bbs will give monkey face or even show refusal. But after 1-2 days you try again, they would be more receptive. I personally find that when giving semi-solids, must be really patient.

Rena
If you don;t want your munchkin hand grinder, you wanna sell to me? Am thinking of getting one but unsure whether to buy or not. You PM me or discuss when you're online MSN?

Queen,
Ya, MamaChan is right. The 1st time I gave Keenan potato and carrot, he didn't like it. We tried again the next day, he managed to finish it with a little complain. By the 3rd day, he was gobbling it down...

Denmy,

I don't mind compiling if anyone has good receipes, we can divide into porridge recipes, and puree recipes...

RE: timing of startin second semi solid feed
Anyone have any timing when they consider starting second semi solid..eg. 1 month after 1st semi solid feed

Sick babies:
there's a bad flu bug going around.. even for babies...take care mummies, hope all the sick babies get well soon!

RE: menses..
I was told that if u have frequent feedings/ pump more at night, less likely to get your period back when TBF

I haven't got it yet, but did have 1-2 days of brownish staining... dunno if that was my period?

tracy,
Checked with hb re: hotels in HK, he doesn't know which is better, he thinks they are about the same. Sorry, couldn't help there...

Tracy,
Megan and Shannon can be sisters liao, her weight is also 7.25kg... and her length is 69cm...

Queen,
I'm planning to wean Shannon off her 3am feed probably in 1 weeks time... coz same here, i dun want her to keep having this habit if waking up in the middle of the night for night feed... her last feed is at 8pm, so I'm gonna try dreamfeed at 11pm and see whether she can last till 6-7am... I thinks bbs can last thru the night now, just that ours are used to the routine, that's why they keep waking up. Shannon can wake up at 3am and talk to herself whilel waiting patiently for me to appear at her bedside... She will whoop for joy (serious!) when she sees me, and drink her milk... the moment she finishes, I put her back to play on her own... normally she is wide awake at that time... but after her milk, she will fall asleep in 5min time... funny gal...

Queen, Florence,
Yes, I read that MS fall, menses will come back... coz your body gets the signal that your bb doesn't need much milk now... the strange thing is that I was latching Shannon fully from the time I stopped work in End May, so very surprised to see my period cam back. Everything remained constant, so I can only deduct that she was not drinking much during latch on coz her weight did not increase, and my MS dipped... Shannon only has one semi solids feed at noon, about 2 teaspoons of cereal...

Rena,
Sumo's girlfriend also has a lump on her thigh where the jab was...

cookie, babylon, queen, god's child,
thx! choz is e most popular..i tot so too.

queen,
they shld be able to sleep thru oredi, like wat denmy said. i tink ur boy is waking up out of habit.

sleepingdeer,
ya! exactly same size! haha, muz take pic next gathering..

tabbiesus,
thx so much for ur hkg shpg tips...they v helpful oredi..hotels rather full in july. i've taken harbour plaza metropolis. lkg fwd to e trip!! took me awhile to coordinate it!

<font color="ff0000">sl,sandra,florence
she's better but still not drinking much milk coz i think her throat is hurting her..other than that, she's still pretty active

rena,
i agree with you that the muchkin hand grinder is a waste of $...so difficult to use..

denmy,
i hope keenan is feeling better already. wow 9 over kg..that is considered pretty strong huh.. renee is 7.1kg was of yesterday

oh ya renee also has a lump on her thigh after her pneumococcal vaccination...is tat the same thing you guys are talkin about..i went away after about 1 week or so.</font>

Rena,

My pd says can rou rou the jab area to make the lump go away faster, still took a few days..

My hb will only be back frm bangkok on Sat evening. Have taken him out, so i'll be going alone. Pls remove him for the catering.

Sept03_bride,
U going alone too right? Cos wondering if i shld still go if i m the only one not swimming n alone.
Re: Swimming gathering (PLEASE CONFIRM AS WE WILL BE ORDERING THE CATERING NEXT WEEK) as the group is rather big.. please confim by friday..30 june 2006.
Please put (CONFIRM) next to your names. Thanks!

Where: Waterplace Condo
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son (CONFIRM)
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
3. -
4. tracy + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
5. REna + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
6. rachel + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
7. Cookie + BB+ HB (CONFIRM)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (CONFIRM)
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM)
13. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
14. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
15. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
16. Cindy + BB (CONFIRM)
17. -
18. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
19. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
20. Sandra (sunraye)

Sharing of Bath tubs &amp; bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub &amp; changing mat) + God's child + Valerie
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena + Wenyl
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +
4) Cookie (Tub &amp; changing mat) +

Lucas and his new car.
453405.jpg

rena,

I steamed the carrots, cut into small, small pcs then put into the fresh food feeder and let Charmaine suck. I got the feeder from the cheong soon shop when I bought the high chair for Charmaine. Not bad, really good for her to bite.

tabbiesus
you can actually introduce a second meal after 2 weeks from introducing the 1st meal to your gal... of course at each meal you still give her milk to drink after she finishes her semi-solids. Your gal is already 6 months?? Think BBs when hit 6 months mark, they tend to breeze through the eating semi-solids, if not too much delay, they'll become fussy eaters

krissie..
what is your email for MSN? so can add u in future..ya think it's abt 10pm++ when most mummies logon.

Demny
Hi.. thanks thanks.. now I know.
But muang Kuang dun taste sweet to me...heehee but read books say it's sweet hor..
Gum Kua... hmm ok ok.. will check out supermarket, wow I never taste Gum Kua before also. I really sua ku.

Wow.. bf keenan is taller than kaelyn by 2 cm

he look so cute in the pic.. fortunately Dr sim noted his fever.
Did he say viral infection where?

Sleepingdeer
Shannon is so cute.. so sweet of her whoop of joy when see you

Sl
hmm. I have been searching the fresh food feeder high and low.. cannot find.

Cindy
I think not everyone will be inside the pool at the same time. so dun think u will be alone.. cos all of us will be taking turn to get into the pool so I suppose at any 1 point of time, there will be mum and bb around. SO u wun be alone la.
hee.. so can come join us

Re: swim suit..
I let Kaelyn try on her swim suit this afternoon, prepare for next week swimming.. heehee she look so cute!! I can imagine seeing all babies in their swim suit next week.. will be super cute!

hi cindy,
erm.. i think my mum has expressed interest to come along with me. But anyway come lar...it will be fun,i think with so many babies around.

Denmy,
Caleb is about the same wt as keenan. But he is shorter @ 67cm. His weight is 9.65kg. Did ur PD say must watch out for his weight gain? My PD was saying that BB has put on too much wt liao

Cereals
planning to start Caleb on cereals tomorrow. Bought the nestle brand instead of Heinz.

Sept03_Bride,
Caleb is of good weight! Is he born on 17 Jan? I vaguely remembered SY and yourself with bbies same bday as mine. My boy is about 8.7kg. Wow, can't imagine when you start him on semi-solids!

Re: gathering
K, am looking forward to meeting all the babies again too

I am having beehives allergy on my skins. Don't know wat caused it....Does anyone knows if i can still breastfeed my boy?

RE: Standing

Hi mummies, is it ok for babies to stand up on their own at this stage? Read somewhere that is not good for them to stand up when they are too young (even if they are able to) cos their bones and muscles are not fully developed yet? Is it true?

denmy
wah.. keenan is sp big. Gerald is 7.15kg and 68.5cm yest at 6mths. A bit thin.
but am so happy that he put on 400gm in 1mth.

cindy
wah, lucas looks so happy in his car.. was he happily beating the toys away? Gerald was v excited when he was in the car.

ccokie
I PM'ed you.. not safe to put my email address here. a lot of spam.. heehee.. thanks can invite me for the chat next time lah.

SH,
ve u seen a doc for ur allergy?

Cindy,
no worries, some of us are not swimming so definitely got mummies around.

krissie,
no lah, gerald's not thing. ok weigth. megan n shannon also abt same size, 7.2kg, 69cm.

Tabbiesus

Re: Mensus

Oh no wonder, I think my mensus is back cos Mel has not been drinking as much...her wt gain has stalled

HI Mummies
Can I ask a very silly question, is pearl barley the same as those normal barley we use to boil barley water?
kao_confused.gif
Denmy any idea since you are the food expert here?

tracy
when is shannon and megan born? Gerald will be 6mths this coming Thurs. So happy to hear that his weight is normal. Based on the health booklet, his wt is only at 25 percentile leh.

cookie
thanks for adding me.

re apple juice
how do we make our own apple juice? is it by steaming the apple and squeezing the water out?

Flo,
Beehive allergy is a type of skin allergy that spreads. It gets red &amp; itchy. It's like a mosquito bite...just that it's not round...it's patchy. Looks like beehives.

Tracy,
saw a doc already. got medicine for it...just don't know if with allergy, it's ok to breastfeed

one more question. it's nearly 6 mths...&amp; i am thinking of switching my baby to FM. how to do it ah? should i stop feeding direct to slowly wean him off?

Denmy,
wow Keenan is really a big boy! Must be a load to carry around

Yuki,
i don't have any allergy but my hubby has asthma. PD gave me a brochure saying to start Janelle slow on semi-solids to avoid possible allergies. So i'm still TBFing her...until now hardly started her on any semi-solids (except for rice cereal &amp; teething biscuit) as she's still 5.5months. From the list of foods that is considered safe to start from 6 months onwards, very limited! - Only rice, carrot, apple, pear and prune!

i take care of Janelle most of the time, even in the afternoons. During her crying fit at night, even i also cannot calm her down. No one can calm her down..she'll just cry and cry. But on hindsight, i think perhaps she is going thru growth spurt so she could have been hungry that's why cry so much! Me blur mummy!

Re: Munchin fresh food + carrot
If wanna use the Munchkin netted fresh food thingy, do we have to steam the carrot before putting in, or can put raw carrot? Sorry if this sounds like ignorant question but i really don't know!

Re: baby's schedule haywire after falling sick
Anyone experiences this? After Janelle has been sick for 2 weeks plus, she now wakes up at night when she used to sleep thru. Think i'm gonna have a hard time getting her to sleep thru the nite again

hello mummies!

i thot most of you will be at the outing today..

RE: SLEEPING BAGS

any babies using sleeping bags instead of blankets? cos i wanted to let renee use it but was worried bout her turning etc..anyone to share their experience with me?

durianlover,

hope janelle is better now...i have no such experience but now that renee is still sick, she's sleeping even better than before..she now sleeps thru the night.

i dun think it will be difficult to get her to sleep thru the night again..looks like its only temporary. dun worry about it too much

denmy,

just to check with you..avocado is ok for bb now , right?

cookie,

re: fresh food feeder

Ya - it's a bit hard to find. I tried looking for it in kiddy palace but failed. Saw it by chance at Cheong Soon.I think Denmy mentioned that it's available at the NTUC Marine Parade.

SH
Has your bb been introduced to the bottle yet? If yes, how does bb takes to it? when switching to fm, I was advised to introduce slowly like mixing the milk feed (half volume is BM, the other half volume fm)in one bottle and give to baby. Start by replacing one feed a day with fm then subsequently after 3-4 days, increase the number of replacement feeds.

Personally for me, the process not easy to get Daren to take to the bottle with BM. But after awhile, he starts to accept it. So from there, I slowly tried to introduce the feeds that I won't be around to feed him with BM...then slowly intro FM mixed with BM.

durianlover
yes, Gerald starting waking up when he was sick at 4mth plus.. took us abt 1mth+ to help him to slp thru again. No choice loh, maybe their schedule got upset?

sl
do u hold the food feeder for bb to suck on the carrot? also is it messy? I was wondering if he'll suck and then throw it away?

esther,
Yeah hope she'll sleep thru the nite again soon. Nowadays she wakes up crying in the middle of the nite and demands to be carried back to sleep.

sl,
Thanks. Steaming better than boiling is it? i've never steamed carrots before. gotta try out!

Re: fresh food feeder &amp; United Square
i got it from a shop at United Square. Oh btw, let me highly recommend you all to go United Square. It's 1 of the most baby friendly places i've ever been to! And not crowded. Plus full of baby-related shops
And there's Globetrotters - a restaurant which is really baby &amp; kids-friendly. We went there for makan to celebrate our wedding anniversary with baby. Haha such a strange place to go celebrate wedding anniversary huh!

durianlover,

steamin is definetely better than boiling. I only steam. steaming preserves maximum nutrients so better to steam.

sl,

ya is it easy to use the food feeder? coz i never know of it till i read wat u wrote..very sua ku hor