(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

esther,

welcome! my bb was born in late jan - 25 jan. I think one of the youngest here. If I remember correctly, cookie's even younger, hers' in feb.

thanks valerie and sl for making me feel at home.. i wish i could join u guys ... here no friends with babies
so fun all babies same age gather together..i hope there'll be some gathering on when i go back visitin

Esther
welcome welcome.. yes yes SL is correct Kaelyn is the youngest here!! she was overdue 3 days kekek so born on 2nd Feb

baby food I cannot give advice.. keke cos I equally blur and probably more sotong than you.
Demny is expert in this..good choice to ask her

Demny *wink**wink*

the thread is really rocking today!

Valerie and Sl,
yessss... super sian when I saw RED yesterday while bathing.... and it's surprising heavy... bleedng and bleeding and bleeding... sigh...

Rena,
poor Sumo, banged his head, now fever... hope he is better.... Shannon just got her jab today.... now into wartime! Waiting for the fever to come...

Welcome Esther!

sunny,
PMed u the PD's contact already

rena,
close shave for sumo! Hope his fever goes off soon.

esther,
welcome! how long hv u been in vietnam?

yuki,
Megan has so much hair! Envious!
Yup at first 6 months was the targetted time to BF. Now reaching 6 months i intend to BF till 1 year coz my gal got high chance of getting asthma (daddy has asthma + she recently had early bronchilitis n some wheezing) so PD encouraged me to bf as long as possible to reduce risk of allergy.

Re: crying when sleepy
Anyone's baby tries to fight off sleep and ends up crying and crying? Janelle can cry the whole house down. Just now she cried for like 45 mins even though the whole time she was being carried! Could tell she was tired but just couldn't get to sleep. Eyes will close, then she'll try to keep them open, then wail and wail. Oh my.

Re:crying when sleep
Durainlover
sometimes when kaelyn is over tired, she will be cranky before sleep like trying to sleep but cannot.
I notice these few times.. I will make sound like oh oh oh or or or... and pat her.. she will calm down faster...it's not singing.. just some monotonous sound and she will calm.

Cindy,
Yes.. Jamie is using NUK Premium Anti-Colic.. She is adapting it very well. She drink as per normal but nowadays keep playing with the teats. Chew it but dun want to drink.

God's child,
Same here.. dunno why this time the injection site had a hard skin protruding out. Finally it is the last time she jab.. the next one will be 15mths!

thank you cookie and sleepingdeer!

hi durianlover,

i have been in vietnam since april last yr then got pregnant and came back end nov.. then when baby was 4 mths old, we came back here to join hb

so envious..u guys get to see all the other babies ... i will post my darling's photo for you guys ok..hope she can meet all her friends soon

esther,
Keenan's EDD is 11 Jan 2006 but came early on 30 Dec 2005. He will be exactly 6mths old tmr.

re: vegetable stock

u'll basically need
onion
celery
carrot
turnip (any root vegetables)
potato

optional:
butter
fresh parsley
bay leaf
peppercorn

esther,
u can actually cook in a big batch and freeze into small portions/ ice cube block and use it whenever u need it.

slepingdeer,
re: menses
mine came last Sat. wa the 1st 2 days i had bad cramps...

Rena,
hope little sumo will be better. I'm bringing Keenan for his 3rd 6-in-1 tmr evening, hope he doesn't get a fever... will check his nappy rash too.

sl,
yes, you'll pass by singapore swimming club. Waterplace is further in.

denmy,

so good to have you the expert here

u realise time flies when we have a baby ya??

so i just throw in all the ingredients into the water, right?

how long can i store the stock?

and its small onion right? aiyo i make myself sound so stupid!!!!

Esther,

Hw's Vietnam? How long hve u been there? My mum visited the place last yr & she loved it. She actually prefers ang moh countries but she was talking abt the place when she came back. Bought lots of stuff back too

re: pumping at night.. har har.. i'm still pumping at night cos i need that extra feed for my gal... so sian but yet dunno how to stop BF, so used to it liao...

durian lover, cookie
re: crying to sleep
My girl is addicted to comfort sucking.. so even when she over tired, she will stick to my breast like glue until knocked out. i have been trying to wean off my breast but when she scream and scream, even if i'm at the other end of the house I cannot stand it.. dunno why, since delivery get emotional when hearing babies cry... i cannot even last 10 min of her screaming...

Yest. had a bad day at work and had to be recalled to work through the night so daddy put girl girl to sleep, but today, my girl is super sticky to me just before sleep. sigh.. i really haven't gotten used to putting her to bed without comfort sucking.

6-in-1

my girl just went for her jabs, prevenar and 6-in-1 on wed.. so far no problem with fever. She just cried abit and then was smiling again. She was a bit drowsy but was happily playing after 2-3 hours...

She is prob. the smallest baby here on the thread... only 6.5kg at 6 months! But my PD says she's put on 700gm per month already so growing well. So when i told her i'm worried abt her being so small cos i get quite affected by comments from others esp since she's on BF, she reassured me that its fine and I can cont. bf.. YAY!! so i'm quite happy with my PD who's at KKH.

Re:semi solid feed

I just got the go ahead to start semi solid feeds from PD, but when i asked her if need to start with green vege/ fruits/ root veges first, she said it doesn't matter. So i'm a bit confused now.. i think i'm just kan cheong..

shall we start a list of our baby's favourite food and see what is the baby's top fav. food?

Anyone with good recipes, maybe we can compile and share in an excel file or something.. like dec. mommies' bb cookbook since I see some mommies are v. experienced liao.. will sure help blur mommies like me

durianlover,
sometime ago edgar was oso crying himself to sleep. nothing seems to calm him, not even latching or carrying and rocking. dat's when i tot it's becos of "dirty things" in my room. but i soon realise that it's becos he's hungry. he'd rather bottle feed than breast feed. so after i "resolve" this mystery, everything went back to normal... maybe ur bb is going thru a growth spurt?

re blender:
can any mummy advise which can of blender is good for making bb semi solid food? i'm at a loss as to wat's the diff between food processor, blender, moulinex etc...

Re: puree bb food
may I know.. do we blend the bb food after cook or before cook?
e.g. carrot and pumkin etc.. do we steam then blend or the other way round?
Should be steam then blend hor?
I know pototes cannot blend but must use fork mash.
same for fruits?.. must steam first then blend?

anyone know what in chinese/contonese for Turnip and Buttersquash? paisey.. cos go market usually say in mandarin...

Cookie - the puree cooking for me is - boil the potaotes/carrot/pumpkin then blend. afterwhich i add into her cereal which she will wallop in joy! she loves flavoured cereal, and hates the plain one now...

Denmy - i am not sure which kinda peas to give bb.. can u advise? those green flat ones with protruding peas? do we blend the whole thing or only take the 'dou dou'?
kao_confused.gif

sysac,

i've been in hanoi for bout more than 1 yr but prior to these i also stayed in ho chi minh for 1 yr..i dun really like the place coz its not too clean and also its pretty boring. also many things not available for baby also also also...many many complains .. i guess as a visitor , its different..coz its really an eye opener... visit me one day and you'll know

oh ya anyone can give me some advice, my gal was vomitting non stop last night. had to rush her to the SOS here and they said it was some sort of throat infection. this morning, she developed a fever .. i want to bring her to see the pd but the pd here only works once a week!!!! i'm so worried.. anyone has similar experience?

Denmy,
same here, cramps and heavy bleeding... I hope it will lessen soon...! What's the veg stock for har?

Tabbiesus,
me still pumping at night also... 11pm pump, 3am feed... I'm gonna wean her off the night feed very soon, and see whether my breast can tahan for 7hours without pumping or not.... anyway, since my menses came, it must mean that Shannon is drinking lesser milk then before, so I guess I can afford my MS to dip?

Re: semi solids
I must be the laziest mummy around... Shannon is still on plain rice cereal... she is enjoying it now... so I will probably give it to her for a few more weeks before introducing other foods.

Esther,
oh dear, your bb gal sounds serious... can you bring her to another PD? Perhaps in a private hospital? Mian thing is vomitting is to ensure that she doesn't dehydrate... so give plenty of fluids if she can keep it down in her little tummy.

Wow! Like long time never come into the forum. Thread is moving so fast.

Esther
Welcome to the thread! My boy is born on 11th Jan and his name is Daren.

Semi-solids
My MIL just taught me how to cook porridge for Daren 2 days ago. He didn't take to it quite well coz I think it was already like 7pm and he was tired and cranky after a long day at infant care. He doesn't nap very long each time in infant care, the most 1/2 per nap and he took 3 short naps there. My MIL very sad, coz she used alot of effort to try to churn out the porridge for him within 1 1/2 hours. Theorectically, supposed to use the crock-pot to cook for him. She was so nice, helped me to grind the small ikan bilis and dried scallop into powder form, so all I have to do is to add a heaped teaspoon to the cooked porridge and then serve to Daren. Will try cooking this weekend, see how he takes it. The crock-pot my MIL bought for me to use for Daren's food is super small and cute! Like playing masak masak!

SAHM to FTWM
Wah...am looking forward to go back to work. can't wait, got new projects to take on =). I told my co-boss that I intend to stop BF as I have to be out on field trips so often, the expressing of milk might really be inconvenient, she told me not to worry so much and not rush into the decision of stopping BF! Haha! She doesn't want me to deprive Daren of mummy's milk! The funny thing is, she's not even married (and she's really like a tom-boy in appearance and she thinks like a man too!). So I'm really very blessed lor. She even told me that I won;t be activated for the 26-hours field trips which I'm concerned with regards of having to express milk.

Sleepingdeer,

There's no other private ones that has a PD !!! scary right?? there used to be one more but she's on maternity so she's back in her own country
SOS is already private..NO WAY i will bring her to the local clinics/hospitals here...u cant imagine how it is like

MamaChan,

Thanks for the welcome
so Renee is just one day older than Daren. Where did u deliver? Your MIL is so sweet.. well if i were her, i will also be a little sad.. but i'm sure he'll learn to like it very soon.

Hi Esther,

My bb just get Influenza A virus last week. He got the same symptom as your bbfever, throat infection and as well as vomited. At first we sent him to the normal GP and was told it was throat infection and causes fever and realized that he eventually got viral infection.

sleepingdeer,
i can join u for the lazy mums club...i still sticking to plain rice cereal. will leave it to MIL to do the porridge stuff...

re:pD Visit
juz came bk from PD..super empty so doc very free, can even come out of room to look for cereal samples to give me

megan cried when she saw him..haha..so she took her final jab today. she's 7.27kg and 69cm. didnt grow much cos was sick for 2wks. but PD said ok. told him bringing her to HKG, he advised us wat to do.

i told him i'm keen on the pneumococcal vaccination, he said no need, can wait till she turns 1yr since she's not in regular contact with other kids. i told him abt my 2 nephews. he said ask THEM to take the vaccine then, then megan is safe! haha. idea...

re:intro stage 2 milk
cos my stage 1 milk finishing soon n she's only turning 6mths exactly on 11jul, i ask PD if i can intro stage 2 milk slightly earlier. he said no problems, no need to wait till exactly 6mths, otherwise i need to buy another tin of stage 1 milk.

esther,
welcome! oh dear, i hope ur gal is feeling beta now..

re: 1mth goodies
mummies, anyone can advise where to get nice, affordable 1-mth celebration cakes/goodies to giveaway? helping my fren to ask. thanks ya!

Esther - hope your gal is better now... its always so heart pain to see/hear babies sick... My gal is only 1 day younger than yours, shes born on 11Jan.

Mamachan - u lucky gal! stil ready made scallop and iakn bilis powder..WOW... any mummy know where to get those dried scallop to blend into powder? do we blend or pound? me very very 'mountain tortoise'

Tracy - sorri cant help cos i used Bengawan Solo myself cos its the most convenient... lazy me rite..

god's child
Yah, am very blessed to have a good MIL, though at times our ideals in child raising are different. I try to see things from her point of view too so I won't get uptight over the littlest things she does for Daren. My hb thinks I'm biased at times. You can get dried scallops from those chinese medical hall. What my MIL did (well she described to me) was to wash and rinse the ikan bilis and dried scallops, dry them by sunning and then using a heated wok and fry them till they smell nice (no need to use oil just keep stirring to prevent them from sticking) and then proceeded to pound them. Alot of work initially but can last quite long, must keep in the fridge

mamachan - wow... i must go and get some dried scallop liao... wana start making yummy porridge for celeste... shes stil on cereal now...

sunny,
My water bag broke in morning, but contractions only came in noon. My gynae said since did't have contractions, can still stay home to wait cos go to the hospital also lie on the bed to wait. But he said up to me, if I feel more at ease, can go hospital early. But I chose to go home loh. Contractions started only at noon. By 4pm, contractions became less than 10 mins apart. Rushed to my gynae's office (which was 5 mins away from my home), he checked and I think I was already 5 or 6 cm dilated. Told me to admit, so by the time I reached TMC, contractions already 5 mins apart and wheeled into labour ward immediately. Midwife checked, already 8-9cm dilated. By 6+pm, BB popped.

Florence,
I used to go Califonia Orchard gym. Yah, very crowded...

Esther,
Welcome!
My Isaac was born on 19 Dec (EDD was suppsoed to 6 Jan), one of the oldest babies here...

Re. blender
bought one from Braun, I think one of the mums posted the picture here some time ago (was ti Cookie)? So far so good lah. Have used it to blend carrot only...

Re. semi solids
How do your babies take to carrots & potatos?
I made carrots & potatoes (with milk) puree and try to feed Issac. BUt he doesn't like them at all! Wonder whether I should keep tryign or add the puree into his cereals?
I also gave him some of the diluted Gerber Pear Juice, he's seems ok but not eactly lapping it up.

Tabbiesus,
RE. pumping at night
Same for me. Recently, Isaac has increased milk intake per feed to 180ml and I find that if I pump only during at work (total about 600ml), not enough to provide for the next day's feed (he needs about 720ml). Isaac still wake up for 3am feed and for the first 4 months or so, I only latch him on. But since 5th months onwards, for the 3am feed, I'll latch and pump at the same time. Latch him on the right breast and pump the left breast. Can pump out ~220ml from left breast alone! Could be because my last feed before the 3 am feed is 8pm to 9pm, about 6 hours before.

Re. sleep through the night
I don't want Isaac to wake up for middle of the night anymore. Now he'll sleep at 8-9pm and wake up at about 3am. The thing is, now I'm not sure whether he wakes up because he is genuinely hungry or out of habit to feed. Cos there was 1 night when my HB was up the whole night watching soccer, he told me that Isaac stirred during his usual timing and he just stuffed the pacifier into his mouth and he went back to sleep till 7am. Other nights when he wakes up, I'll carry him and he'll immediately root for my breast. So I'll latch him on and he'll drink. Then go back to sleep immediately. So how ah? Like that how to break this routine? My HB says don't feed him, just give him pacifier. But to me, that's still assisted sleeping what. Like what the SleepSense book say. Ok, then my HB says feed him cereal before his bedtime so that he'll be full. My MIL says once he starts on porridge, he'll stop waking up at night. But I don't think it has anything to do with how fullness of his stomach leh... does it?
Can BB sleep through 10 hours without milk?

sleepingdeer,
Your menses came back already? You still on TBF right? Is Shannon on more semi-solids feed now?
Mine still no sign, except that discharge seems to be thicker and yellowish now.

I am usually a silent reader of all these post. Actually my EDD was 28 Dec 2005 but BB only came on 4 Jan 2006. So I toggle between 2 forums. My boi, Ryan is 8.56 kg at 5 mth....yup, seems to be a heavy weight when compared to all your kids. He is on TBF.

I am a FTWM and now express 2 times a day in office, at 1 p.m. and 530 p.m. Last time more on, and express 4 times a day and then reduce to 3 and now 2. So MS also reduce drastically but still enough to TBF bb.

I started Ryan on solids last sunday but on tuesday, he develop a lot of phelgm and yesterday when i saw his PD, PD say he has bronchitis (second time already).

Any mummies bot the nubiliser? Cos i know one machine cost $200 plus and rental is $10 a day. So thot mite be worth it to buy

cookie, celine,
i think it's possible that my gal going thru growth spurt. She seems to be drinking 6-7 times a day, instead of her usual 5 times per day. But with regards to her crying when she's tired, she always does it! Can really cry till very jialat. Also dunno how to help her soothe her own self.

esther,
do u have any doctor frenz? perhaps u can check with them about the vomitting. I too would be so worried if i were you! In foreign land and no regular doc to go to...hope she gets better soon!

Re: semi-solids
i'm also another lazy mum here. Only let my gal try rice solids and teething biscuit so far. In fact, i stopped giving her rice cereal when she fell sick coz i wasn't sure if the semi-solids was interfering with her recovery. Anyway now it's about time to start giving her again! She's still 5.5months. I actually intended to start her on solids when she turned 6mths, so am in no real hurry to let her try out new stuff!

durianlover,
re crying:
does she calm down if u latch her on? if can try. for edgar, it doesn't work. or sometimes i will give him gripe water. sometimes could be wind in the stomach. even if it's not, the sweet taste of the gripe water may help calm bbies. no harm trying loh.

can invite me if chatting on msn. I'm not sure what times u gals are on msn. I'm usually online every night ard 10pm.

re gathering,
so super sad, hb is working, so I cant go. ..sob sob... was so excited abt it. I also took myself out of the list.

Re: Swimming gathering (PLEASE CONFIRM AS WE WILL BE ORDERING THE CATERING NEXT WEEK) as the group is rather big.. please confim by friday..30 june 2006.
Please put (CONFIRM) next to your names. Thanks!

Where: Waterplace Condo
177 Tanjong Rhu Road
Tower D
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son (CONFIRM)
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
3. -
4. tracy + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
5. REna + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
6. rachel + BB + HB (CONFIRM)
7. Cookie + BB+ HB (CONFIRM)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (CONFIRM)
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (CONFRIM)
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. Mongs + HB +BB (CONFIRM)
13. sept03bride + BB (CONFIRM)
14. valerie + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
15. sl+ HB +BB (CONFIRM)
16. Cindy + HB + BB (CONFIRM)
17. -
18. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
19. Tabby + Hb+ bb (CONFIRMED)
20. Sandra (sunraye)

Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) + God's child + Valerie
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena + Wenyl
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +
4) Cookie (Tub & changing mat) +

Hi Florence,

Thanks. There are still some people who mistaken Megan for a boy.

Hi Valerie,

Megan's hair is also dropping behind.... But her hair has definitely grown longer, behind one touching collar, in front one covering her eyes. My mum nipped some hair off in front to 'clear her view'

Time really flies. My elder girl is coming to three already and sometimes i look at her and think back the times where she's a baby.... like not so long ago. Tell myself i must cherished her growing up years else there's no return back....

Hi Durian lover,

Oh no. Asthma? Any food to avoid on your part? For me, i have enzema so i avoid peanuts since preggy till now. Suppose not to take too much seafood too but i am trying hard to obey. In some cases, enzema may lead to asthma or somehow they are linked so i am a little worried as well.

As for crying to sleep - is it constantly every day at the same time? Colic? Or maybe separation anxiety. My elder gal used to cried at night 9 pm when she was 4-5 months old, looking only for me. Hubby carry also cannot pacified unless he brings her down for a walk downstairs.......

Who take cares of Janelle in the afternoon?

hi babylon,

Did the doctor gave any medication? is your child better now?

hi god's child,

it seems like few babies were born on the 11th, right?

hi Tracy and Queen and durianlover

thanks for the welcome
renee is a little better now..no more vomitting..i just came back from SOS again . wanted to see a foreign PD as i could only see a GP late last night. and the GP was a viet..dun even know wat he was really saying!

and the pd here does not work everyday!! thank god she was able to see her at 4 just now. she says its the viral infection ..her nose is blocked and her tonsils are enlarged and red
and her voice has also become coarse...heart so pain...

she says it will recover by itself..just more fluids..but it may evolve to lung infection or bronchitis.. so i'm keepin my fingers crossed.

tabbie,

I gave my gal carrots to suck using the munchkin fresh food thingie that denmy pasted before. She likes it! But quickly threw it away after there's no more juice for her to suck.

denmy,

I was wondering if can put other more juicy fruits inside. Any recommendations?

sleepingdeer,

you have cramps too? I was told that menstrual cramps will stop after you have given birth leh. Hiaz. Now that i know that it's not true, i am so not looking forward to getting my menses back.