(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

443124.jpg

damien..lastest photo..

Hi Tracy

Ya, that's what the doc recommended when I was down with flu previously. Just wear a mask when breastfeeding cos the virus is passed thru nose and not thru the milk and as mamachan said the milk contains antibodies. In fact my gal didn't catch the flu from me eventho I breastfeed her, must be the antibodies I've developed at work

SL,

So you mean she's not hungry but wanna be comforted cos she waking up too frequent? But if I don't feed her and let her cry, she'll then be fully awake after crying sometime and wanna play after that

Ling Ling
Basically, the book recommended to put bb in the cot like when you mentioned, is in a zombie state, like anytime can sleep but still awake. Then tell baby is night-night time and then leave the room. BB might fuss for awhile and even start to cry, wait for about 5 min or 10 min (your prefernce) before going in to pat bb to reassure baby but avoid patting bb to sleep and also avoid picking up baby, and then repeat the words say it's night-night time and then leave the room.

Re:teething...
this morning kaelyn happen to bite my finger and I can feel something hard...
Check on the gum and saw 2 white white teeth coming out of her gum... No wonder she drool sooooo much these days!

I went to retrieve my HT teething biscuit. adn tried to place into her mouth, she get angry and booo with a frown but when I give her a teether ring she willingly bite on it.. what strange bb..kekeke

sleepingdeer
Re: HT Teething Biscuits
I gave Daren one to try on Monday but he doesn't seem to like it. Gave me that monkey face. I place it in his hands hoping that he'll bring it to his mouth, he tasted, didn't like it, start waving his arm up and down and threw away the biscuit on the floor! *pengz* Would you like the remaining HT teething biscuits? I'll give it to you, dun wish for it to go to waste if Daren not ready for teething biscuits, if you don't mind.

Or any mummies want their bb to start on teething biscuits? I have one box of HT Teething biscuits which is opened just on MOnday and only 1 out of 12 is used. Let me know and I'll pass the biscuits to you.

sl
my baby also had diarrhea cos everything put into his mouth. so now we just keep wiping his hands every now and then

cookie
your gal teething so fast!!

my boy having qutie a bit of rashes. how? need to see PD or not? it's all ard the neck. think partly heat rash and partly milk rash.

rena
dun be angry. can totally empathise with u. men are really like that. just ignore them. sometimes when my hb nag me saying i din do things, i will just ignore. where got time when i have to take care of baby after work??

tracy
yah, a lot of pple always ask whether we can still bf when sick but i keep saying got antibodies. your SIL shd know what...she din bf her kids is it?

mamachan,flo,
thanks for the reassurance on the BF during flu thingy. guess many people still not fully educated about BF..so sad.

SY,
how bad the rashes? my gal has the occasional rash on her neck but it goes off by itself.

and YES, my SIL BF her kids so when she was ill, she threw away those milk!

Tracy, ur SIL really very ill-informed. Feel sorry for her kids - the wonder ur nephews keep falling sick now. Bet Megan will be tougher than they r when she's their age. =)

Thanks florence and tracy for the compliments (on behalf of sarah). Anyone wants a future DIL can check her out lah. =)

Sarah's 5 months old today! Feel so happy that she's 5 months already. Time really flies by us so fast. Amazing.

Florence,

huh? I thought you asked me how to tell if the baby has diarrhea? What's your question again?

tracy,

your sil is really ill-informed! I bfed my bb when I had flu, fever, cough and sore throat. My bb was totally healthy.

SY,

Ya - the PD also said can't be helped. I cleaned her hand more frequently now lor. Charmaine's really a dirty baby. She puts the safety harness of the car seat into her mouth, puts her shirt into her mouth, puts my blouse into her mouth. hiaz. How to avoid diarrhea like that?

Hi Mamachan,
thanks for the offer...! I'll take it if no one else wants it... my gal seems to like it alot... she cried and threw her temper when I took it away from her... hee hee. Have to agree it's quite a waste to coz it's quite big... and she can't finish the whole thing, probably like 1/3 of it each time...

Today, also tried rice cereal for her, she also gave us funny looks and started screaming away, probably coz she was super hungry and the spoon was super slow!

Sandra,
Sarah's sooo cute, especially in her sexy bikini! That's a very unique outfit... and woh.... all her love handles coming out...

Rena,
MEN are just thick blocks of wood sometimes, that you just want to hit them on their heads in anger... stay cool, not worth your anger...

Tracy,
I know exacyly what you mean about being ill-informed! My pet peeve is when people keep insisting that they are right when they are ill informed about something... guaranteed to make me blow up...!

Sandra,
My boy same birthday as Sarah. He also gained only 300g since a mth ago. Think it went more to his length than width.

Lucas @ 5 mths licking bau
443469.jpg

SL,
Shannon stuffs ANYTHING into her mouth also.... her dress, her rattle, her bathing ducky, remote control! faint!

Cookie,
Kaelyn's so fast, teeth came out already!

Recently my gal has started biting her lower lip... any bb doing that as well? I think maybe it's coz it is itchy?

Sy
ya lor.. I'm a bit surprise too. She is only 4.5 mths.
My colleague was telling the other day.. the earlier teeth growth the earlier they drop next time!!>???? I wonder if it just old wives tales.

Re: crying in car seat
Past 2 times... seems like my bb will cry when nite fall and we are on the way home. She will cry and wan us to bao bao... the 1st 2 times we gave in and carry her.
Today we are on our way back 7plus and she started crying... so I ask my hb shall we be heng xin and not carry so she knows no matter what she will still need to be seated in the car seat.
Finally we heng xia xin... I was in the back seat reassuring her it's ok and it's a must to be in the car seat else very dangerous (tho she dun understand I guess)...
She cry until sooooooo poor thing both hb and I keep very quiet aiyo pain in the heart.. finally she fall a sleep. As I was in the back seat she look at me.. with her soulful eyes for help...I feel so guilty..but no choice for her own good.

sleeping deer
ya lor.. I'm very suprise too.. qucikly as my hb who was still in deep sleep and see it.
somemore can see 2 popping up.
Thank God.. she is alright so far.
I was telling her.. her tooth fairy is here to visit :p

hi mamachan
thanks for the tips, I will start on Christabel. BTW, how about during the day..I dun really have much problem making her sleep nite time, but during the day when nap, she will kick and cry a lot and cry to nap......any tips how to make her nap in the day?

Hi mummies - thought to share this info with you all
RE: Window period for BB to learn to fall asleep on their own
I was re-reading the book on "Baby and Child Care" on the section 3-6 months and came across the sleep section of the chapter. Read that if baby don't learn to fall asleep on their own during this window period till about 6 months, once past 6 months, might be difficult to teach bb how to fall asleep on their own. The next opportunity might take several months to open again.

cookie
your gal is so pretty! Looking more and more like you yah?

cookie - same here...i also found that my boy has a tooth growing at his lower gum. so cute and fast lor... he just passed 5 mths
i think he is so ready to eat cereal. i will go and checkout heinz cereal soon. anyone bot heinz already? any comments?

Ling Ling
Haha. I initially have been using the sarong to rock Daren to sleep for nap-times. Coz soon, come July, I'll be placing him in infant care and they have no sarong there for him and he'll have to go through sleeping in the cot and not sure how they'll do it, I thought I might as well break his habit for sleeping in the sarong in the day. So come day time, it's time to nap, I'll lay him in his cot and tell him to "orh-orh" (sleep in Hokkien), he'll fight and cry and cry, so I use the same method as I did for night time...except that during the day, he takes longer than usual to sleep with the crying. But if you don't intend to place Christabel in infant care then I guess sarong should be alright.

Cookie, ur kaelyn is so sweet looking! Ai yo - my heart melted by her smile already... =)

SSF, Heinz cereal is pretty good (very bland - but baby likes). I find it good cos can adjust cereal consistency (thickness) according to ur baby's ability to swallow.

mamachan
during her first few months, I use the baby rocker to rock her to zzz.....which is perfect and really easy for me, I can watch TV and rock her...but after 3 months rocker can no longer do the trick cause she also manage to squeeze...herself out..ai yo this gal
...I dun really want to use sarong cause i scare she next time cannot sleep w/o sarong. I see many mummies let their bb sleep sarong during the day and cot during the nite, perhaps I can let my mum to decide if she wants to use sarong since she take care of her during the day.

Thanks mummies...
my gal recently a bit more cranky during sleeping time. dunno was it due to teething.

SSF
ya keke cute cute..I also haven;t start her semi solid yet ley.. thought wanna start 5.5 mths, thats another 1 more month.
As it is now she already not interested in milk ley.. give her teething biscuit she booo...
although she look at us eating but she dun drool or swallow saliva.. so I reckon she is not so ready.
But I very KS mum... I have bought HT, EB and heinz rice cereal standby so far...hahaha just waiting for the time to come

kaelyn has been chop by sumo's buddy keenan...ho ho..

RE: water proof diapers

today I went to buy the waterproof diapers for the next outing.. wah very expenisve 11pcs for 15.65.. wah can buy 1 pack of nepia's diaper..

RE: bb weight

today brought sumo to see pD coz still not recover from cough yet.. guess his weight..my god he is 9.3kg now..oh...

Denmy
Clarisse is 5 months 1 week and 4 days old.

Thanks for the info on munchkin grinder...

The long john u mentioned I bought in Chinatown CK store... very cheap only... I think 5 for $10 if I din remember wrongly... the material quite comfy too...

Today bring Clarisse go see pd for jab... she weighs about 6.9kg, normal?

Where can I get HT products? Must be NTUC? cos seems like other places like cold storage and carrefour dun have.

Rena,
U so funny...

Here's a pic of Sumo's buddy and Kaelyn's boyfren...hahaaa
443632.jpg

and here's one of him with his "fren"
443633.jpg

cookie - yeah so cute. i haven;t standby yet but am quite anxious to start feeding him soon.

rena - just a suggestion. since you all are gg for the swim gathering. why don;t you all share one pack of diapers? hee...anyway., baby size do change..so 15 pcs may be too many to last before he move up one size. for me, i bot pack too..yeah agree its ex and i havent open yet. haven't had his virgin swim yet...hehe..

Zhimin,
It has to be a bigger NTUC if you looking for the brown rice cereal. Otherwise can only find HT biscuits only.

RE: Swimming
We have a choice of 2 places for our catering.
1 being the clubhouse room, air-conditioned, small-ish, cost $40 to book;
the other 1 is the outdoor bbq pit area with tables and chairs, the spot is near the heated whirlpool, so we can take our food around the pool area, cost $10 to book.
What say you?

Rena,
When we cater, we'll need tables from the caterer if it's in the clubhouse cos there is only a couple of small tables in there.

Swimming Gathering

Where: Waterplace Condo @Tanjong Rhu Road
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
4. tracy + HB + BB (not swimming but going)
5. REna + BB + HB
6. rachel + BB + HB (not swimming but going)
7. Cookie + BB+HB ( not confirm if swimming or not)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (if 1st July or later)
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (not swimming but going )
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. MamaChan + HB + BB (TBC, best if end july)
13. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
14. queen + HB + BB (TBC)
15. valerie + HB + BB
16. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
17. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
18. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)
19. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
20. Tabby + Hb+ bb

Waiting list

1)Sandra (sunraye)

hello mummies
these few days are really bad for me. I'm v busy at work, plus am sick. plus hb is studying for exam so I hv to look after bb myself. so tiring.
tried giving ger carrot puree yest. though he didnt really like it, he managed to finish it with his cereal

flo
sleeping in sarong and pacifier is not considered sleeping on their own. coz u hv to pick up the pacifier if bb drops it in the night and give it to her again. but, if give bb a pillow or bolster to find himself and fall asleep again, then is considered as sleeping on her own.

SH
I put bb to sleep first before pumping.

denmy
may i know how times are u pumping now? coz i'm thinking of cutting down to 2x a day and am afraid that ms will also drop drastically.

tracy
am v sure that we can still bf when we hv flu. My PD says that we shld bf more when sick, coz that's when the antibodies go to bb.

Ling ling,
my gal has alot of problem falling asleep in the day as well... her average nap time is 1/2hour, and only 3 times in the day, extremely short... so come night time, I am totally shacked already. She will wail and lift her arms up to be carried in the cot when I put her down, very tough... but I also know that if I dun be heng xin, she will be even more cranky later on.... what my mum does when she is babysitting Shannon which I find extremely useful is to play with her on the bed. She will prop a pillow for Shannon and just let her play there... once she sees that Shannon is starting to tire, she just slides the pillow away, give her the pacificer, and her smelly teddy, close the curtains, and she will drift off to sleep quite easily.

At my home, I dun have this habit of letting Shannon sleep on the bed, so I guess the transition from play to sleep is tougher, when I place her in the cot, that is when she will start wailing...

Cookie,
kaelyn is sooooo pretty, her features are very vivid, dark dark eyes and black thick hair...!

RE: Car seat
Shannon has also been crying in the evenings on the way home... I attribute it to her sleepiness and need to sleep... hee hee, I was also conned the first time, gave in and carry her, coz thought she hungry, so know she start looking around, being busybody. So now I know better, just talk to her, and tell her we are on the way home liao, wait 10min and she will be able to sleep...

Rena,
Sumo is fanastic weight! Shannon was 7.3kg early June, we just weighted her last night, she lost 300gm! Only 7kg... starting on rice cereal already... hope she can start gaining weight again...

SSF,
Heinz is not bad... though if you use BM to mix, the mixture will turn watery... I still trying it out on Shannon...

sleepingbeer
my gal have a few short nap, range from 10min - 2hr. She dun have a routine during the day. Although we try very hard to fix a routine for her, but she still cry for nap when she wants, that's why i think her nap is really short. Luckily she manage to sleep through the nite.
But I feel so bad for my mum who babysit her during the day, must be really tired tht need to entertain her during the day.

HT Brown rice cereal
I bought my HT Brown Rice cereal from Clementi and Jurong POint NTUC

Car Seat
Christabel too cry on her way home. At first tht it could be the maxi cosi car seat that is too warm and uncomfortable for her, later realise same as sleeping deer, kanna 'con' by her. She just wanna be a busy body, so I also very heng xin and put a few toys for her to play with. Luckily Clementi and Jurong short distant...Need to be heng xin, else later like my friend gal now 1 year plus refuse to sit car seat, every time cry when put her on....cause every time she cry, her mummy will carry her out.

SL
Oh...sorry for the confusion cos I ask too many qn...heehee. I thought you were talking about waking up too frequent for milk at nite.

Sleepingdear,
Thanks for the advice. We do actually give her a bloster since she's about 3mth old. If she wake up and cry in the nite, she didn't even want the pacifier, juz want milk

Re: Sleeping and Dream Feed
Have been using the "dark room" method for the past few nites. But the problem is, Mel kept waking up and would only get back to sleep after she had her milk. Her consumption in the day has dropped alot and instead starts tanking up from 8pm (and thru the nite lately). Am wondering if she's finding comfort in milk to help her to get back to sleep or she's really hungry (but even if she's awake she'll want milk every 1.5 to 2hr). She woke up @ 1.30 am again last nite, I resisted giving her milk, cos I last feed her around 12.30am. So used the "pick up" and "put down" tactic but she kept crying for 1 hour. Finally we gave up and gave her some milk then she went back to sleep till 9am this morning. Mummies, when you do "dream feed" do you feed at a fixed time or you give when bb cry?

RE: Car Seat
Mel used to wail out loud when we put her in the car seat. Initially I thought she cried cos she's hungry but after I carried her out and fed her for less than 5 min she would stop drinking (kena con also). So subsequently, I sing and use toys to distract her when she cry. Now, I can even leave her to sit at the back alone when I drive her. Sometimes she will play and fall alseep on her own in the car seat without making any fuss.

Mamma Chan
Maybe you can try giving Daren the HT Teething Rusk again. I tried that with Mel for a few times. She didn't like it initially, would take a few bite then hit it against the high chair table then throw it on the floor and scream for us to pick up (would throw it again after we pick it up for her). She enjoyed it much more now. We can now leave her alone watching the entire Baby Einstein VCD in her high chair with her HT teething rusk when we are busy.

Cookie,
Kaelyn soooo pretty! I lurve her features! Keenan is a lucky chap!!!

SEMI SOLIDS
Yesterday, we gave Ethan his 1st taste of REAL food after 6 months of milk. I mixed my BM into 1 tablespoon of the HT brown rice. Fed him after I BF him. He simply enjoys it! Finished all of the cereals I prepared for him. Then, I remembered we r supposed to feed only 1 or 2 mouthfuls for the 1st few times to get him accustom to semi solids. But he just wallop all of it!
After that, we brot him to take his 3rd Hep B jab at 6mth. He weighs 7.8kg. Up 0.5kg since last month.
I asked PD abt the constant waking up at nite...is it caused by teething or growth spurt? He says no more growth spurt till they are abt 2-3 yrs old. As for teething, he examined bb's gums & said he is gonna teeth soon. But waking up at nite is probably a habit tat bb needs to kick off. He suggest we put bb in his own room. But hubby feels not ready for it.

LEAPPAD
I have submitted our orders to the lady supplier. She says she will update me on the leappad sets availability in 2 weeks time. As for books, she needs more time to gather the quantity. So we may not be able to get all the books we ordered. She mentioned that as of 12/6, she has increased her price to $65 per set & $20 for books. But will still sell us at the old price since I confirmed with her before 12/6, i.e, $60 per set & $15 per book.

CARSEAT
Same here. We have been placing bb on his car seat since he was abt 2-3 mths old. He will normally sit & sleep thru the journey. But nowadays, he knows by crying LOUDLY, I will "xin luan" & carry him. I was telling hb that babies are very smart. They always test our limits. Maybe I should try sit in front with hb, turn up the volume & leave him behind to WAIL!

sleepingdeer,

Ya lor - hiaz. No wonder the PD said that diarrhea cannot be avoided one.

Charmaine also bites her lower lips sometimes now. I think she's teething cos can see something coming out.

SL/SY,
Ha ha...my boy puts everything in his mouth too! In fact, recently, i think he knows it will upset me coz recently he will deliberately push his shirt or bib into his mouth and then let go of his hand while still holding the fabric in his mouth to show me.

WTS the below unopened items:

1) Dumex Mamil Gold Follow-up Step 2, 400g, 1 tin - $8
2) Promil Gold, 400g, 5 tins - $7 each

Interested pls call/sms: 98738741. Will deliver if staying ard Sengkang area, else collection place shall be advised.

Tks!!

semi-solid food
like to ask mummy who started solid, how many tablespoon of cereal to U give to complete as 1 feed? Christabel is on 120ml of BM per feed. Since I start cereal, I will give her 5 tablespoon of cereal mix with 60ml of EBM. do U think if its sufficent for her 1 feed? Also do bb cry when spoon feed? Christabel seems to cry when spoon feed her.

LingLing

Do you mean tablespoon or teaspoon? They can't eat so much for a start. In fact the initial few feeds are just for them to get use to the spoon & taste. BBs are used to pushing their tongues when drinking milk while they need to curl in when talking solid. So it takes a while for them to get use. I just mix the milk to get a runny texture. But if you use EBM, the texture will turn more watery thru the feed. Also don't feed christabel when she's hungry. Either give her some milk first (but make sure she's not full) then give cereal. Alternatively, you can give the cereal about 1/2 hr before her usu milk time.

Just introduced carrot to Mel yesterday, she finally is receptive to solid after rejecting cereal for the past few weeks. I guess she got sick of eating the rice cereal for almost 6 weeks (first introduced rice cereal to her when she's 4.5mth and now she's 6mths). For mummies who have started cereal, maybe you would like to add other varieties before they get sick of it.

hi flo
I introduce 1 tablespoon per day..and increase a tablespoon each day..and instruction show 5 tablespoon per feed...no wonder she cry so much after each feed...probably i will give her milk after each feed....BTW, so when can I consider 1 complete feed w/o milk? Is 5 tablespoon plus 120BM too much for her 1 feed?

Hi LingLing

Actually I didn't start with a tablespoon, I started with teaspoons instead (as per Heinz first rice cereal instruction) cos I thot the amt recommended by HT is too much. Anyway, till now the most I ever gave Mel was only 2 tablespoons. She got tired of rice cereal (in fact I would say phobia) and would make a fuss if I feed her too much. When I mixed cereal with carrot yesterday, she didn't want to eat at all. Later I just gave her carrot puree, she finished it all. Mel is normally on 120ml per feed, I will cut down to 90ml if I give her 2 tablespoons of cereal. But I guess the amount will vary from bb to bb, so I think so still need to trial and error with Christabel.