(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie,
haha, my dog looks innocent but the way he messes the house, you would think he's a german shepherd!

rachel,
was juz grumbling to my colleagues again abt my hubby. grumble more will feel better..so feel free to grumble here.

u avoiding him by not logging on msn? i opposite, i log on msn so that i can scold him for free..no need waste sms.

cheer up..our men considered not bad already, once awhile will help out. guess its better than nothing. they're just not cut out to look after babies. i always remind my hubby, he still has his soccer with frens every sunday, so that is his time-out. Me, what time-out. even go out drink kopi with frens i also wanna bring baby along cos can't bear to leave her behind.

thus the difference between men and women...

Rachel - if i were u, i wld log on msn and see wat he gota say... then be 'dao' for a looooong while then reply him... afterall, you have to face each other at home later.so, try to give in a little.. and hopefully this time round, he knows u mean BUSINESS!!!

Tracy - ya... i also ask my HB why he can go out to met frens for kopi session instead of being at home wf celeste.. spending time talk n play wf her... he juz say : we need time of our own to unwind also... even encourage me to go out wf him alone and frens...he scared i too attached to bb, later end up no frens, no life... so far, oni went out once without bb ( left her wf maid and MIL ), and tat nite she got fever!!! how to leave her alone like tat???

tracy / god's child

thanks thanks =) now cool off abit le. lucky have this forum and all of you ladies here!

he sms me i oso did not reply. let him wait long long, maybe later then log in msn. aiyah, scold him oso no use one. waste my time and kill more of my blood cell only. yes this time i mean business, real business.

agree on how to have own time. where i go, dylan goes. so far only left him twice with my mum, but my mind keep thinking of bb. not so healthy but cant help it leh.

Re Stay At Home Mums

I liken being a SAHM as my HB's Personal Assistant. He runs the biz outside the home and I run the biz inside the home. He gives me my 'monthly pay' and takes care of all our expenses. I settle our loose ends at home so that he can concentrate on his work outside. Things are working out pretty well - the only thing is that sometimes I do crave for a day off (without baby and all), but I guess that's something even FTWMs can't achieve cos mummies just can't stop worrying about their babies. =)

SH
Can understand how u feel. my immediate male boss also not v understanding. always looking for me and ask my colleagues where i go. but, fortunately, the other bigger bosses are ok.
just rem why u wanna bf? coz of all the goodness for our bb.

cookie
hv u asked the nurse? 3 weeks is a bit long leh. I rem that my PD wanted me to take the jab on a particlar. I cant rem if my choice was too early or late. so better check. coz some vaccines are less effective at certain dates.

Rachel, noe what u mean exactly. My hb also insensitive caveman sometimes. Always promise wont do the same mistakes again but always break his promise. Damn irritating. But no choice lah -angry also cant stay angry too long. Or else, angry vibes get pass on to baby. So for my baby's sake, I tend to bo chap him for most of the day (to show him i mean business), until just before we sleep. Then, I'll accept his apology. Whatever it is, we women tend to draw the short end of the stick when it comes to relationship issues. Maybe cos we are more sensitive and empathetic to others.

Flo can I also trouble u to pass the Leapfrog and books to me at Raffles Place? Either I go down to that area or I'll get my friend or Hubby to collect from u. Which part of Raffles place do u work at?

Hi Rachel,

Good to cool off
Dun stay angry too long. Later we have all the wrinkles while the men still look young

For me, HB is hands on. Can be good can be bad. Sometimes, I find him too interfering esp since my mum is lookg after baby on Mon-Wed. When my MIL looks aft on Thu & Fri, I do not interfere.

Once, he kept sayg that my mum wld carry baby whenever he cries. I told him "She carries him to comfort him, then put him down. What makes u think yr mum does not carry him on Thu & fri when baby cries?" He then told me "She does not when I am there." I replied "Are u there all the time?"

After that, he shut up! Hee hee, I am so mean, bitching abt him here.

Hi Sandra

No problem, I can pass the stuff to you at Raffles Pl. My office is at Prudential Tower (next to China Sq food court).

Hi Clare

Just to check how's the food grinder your mom and aunt bought, am thinking of introducing veg to Mel soon.

P.S. Did you end up buying the mattress with side bumper?

sandra
yah. man really can make our blood boils.
this morning i totally treat him transparent but keep smiling and playing with my boy.he dont dare to come near me too, think he can see the fire on my head hahaha

re: pigeon breast pad
mummies, check with you, anyone bought their pigeon breast pad from ntuc lately? my hb got one box at $8.60 from nutc last night before it close for the day. at first i thought "oh, cheaper than other shops which sell at $8.90" but when i checked it was a 24pcs pack, not the 36pcs pack! i quickly get hb to go back and confirm the price. they say is correct. ???? funny leh.....
so ex!!

Ling ling,
u r very motherly.... tey say first 2 years are the best time to bond wiz bb. Thereafter, if SAHM wans to go back to the working society, their bond wiz bb will still b very strong.

Tracey,
Mi too is clearing my 3rd mth maternity leave. I'm off every mon n tue. This week will be my last 2 1/2days. I will miss this kind of life..
My situation is the same as urs... when i'm off, my MIL will go jalan jalan n leave bb wiz me.. wan to rest also cannot... everyday "panda eyes" dark circles also getting very dark... "sigh".

Rena,
I do understand the sacrifices SAHM goes thru. Tat is y i salute all SAHMs. I almost gg to be 1 myself. Late last mth, my MIL (who help to look aft my son) was admitted to hospital for kidney stone infection. There in the hospital, bcuz of her infection, she develops high fever n suffer a heart seizure. While she was hospitalised, i got my granny to come ovr to help me as it is sch holidays nw n my cousin who is looked aft by my granny will not come ovr. Bcuz of her heart seizure, i was very worried tat she cant take care of my boy anymore n my mum cant help as she is working. I also do not trust tat my boy is taken care off by maid. I told my husband if worse come to worse i will hve to stop work n he support d family. For a moment, i was very sad.. tinking of losing d extra income n d amt of stress my HB will hv to go thru..

On own time out, I think is important that we strike a balance in our life (not just revolve our whole live around bb). Sometime is good that we (as a couple) go out for a short while (be it a meal or show) without bb (if there is someone there that you feel safe leaving your bb with for a while). Hb and me do occasionally go out for lunch alone on Sun and leave bb with mum. I guess we need time to reconnect ourselves as spouse at times too. As my hb always say, is him and not Mel that I am going the spend the rest of my life with. But as mummies we are worried to leave bb alone at home and guess that's the key different between men & women :)

tracy
your dog is maltse rite?
cannot imagine he can mess your place heehee..
FIL uas to have one..very dainty, very gentle one

Kriss
the most faint thing is... even the nurse is not working. The whole Clinic is Close when the PD go for holiday.
Ok I will check with my PD friend again to make sure delay for 3 weeks is alright.

sandra chu,

so what biz your hb is in? at least you both can help one another...

Sandra (sunraye),
although you may lose one income but come to think of it which is more important.. enjoy now suffer later when you child has problem?? nothing can ever be replace by love and the child..

Re. leapfrog
Now my HB making noise on the price...
says why cannot just buy books. Aiyo.

Wenyl,
When are you placing orders or have you already placed orders? I'm tying to show the thing to my HB at Kiddy Palace first.

Re. falling from bed
Thanks mummies for the concern. Isaac seems ok, cry a while only. After that back to his smiley self. My bed frame has a small cushioned ledge at the sides, so maybe it broke the fall. I really dunno how he can flip with the pillow beside him. Anyway, just be really careful and attentive with your babies!

Tracy,
Yah, I meant the Cold Storage soft toy doggie lah. But your real doggie is really pretty!

Clare,
my boobs same as yours. Before preggy already left side bigger. Now left side has twice the capacity of my right breasts and is fuller. Can pump out more. But funny thing is, during letdown, right side will spray more milk. And if I don't pump after long hours, my right breast pad will get soaked while the left one remains pretty dry, even though left breast has more milk! The size difference between left & right is only obvious when naked. I try to wear thinly padded bras so that the difference is not so obvious. Nowadays seldom wear tight fitting lycra tops (unless it's black) cos quite conscious of the increase in boob size when the breasts fill up with milk. So been wearing fitted but not tight tops instead.

Re. HB
I think communication is important. Have to tell HB upfront on your expectations of him as a father and make them understand that BBs can only express their discomfort through crying. I'm quite glad that my HB has been terrific so far. Hands on in changing diapers, will rock him to sleep when I'm busy, will play with him when I do housework. Sometimes in the middle of night, when BB cries, if I ask him to go check on BB, he'll go and even put him back to sleep himself. He has never thrown tantrums at Isaac even though Isaac is crying non-stop. In fact, I was the one who will lose patience with Isaac sometimes and he'll scold me and say whatever happens, it's never BB's fault cos BB does not know or understand. So even though sometimes he's stuck to the TV during EPL season or wants to have a drink with his friend, I'll let him be. He'll also ask me to go out with my friends. But now difficult lah...

cookie,
he's maltese x silky..guess he inherited the silky character
i used to ve a silky, passed away already...she was a very mischevious dog.

queen, clare,
yes the boobs thing is very irritating. alot of clothes cannot be worn nowadays, so v limited. my breasts also not balance in size. whenever i wear t-shirt, i will ask my hubby if my boobs look too big. i feel v conscious abt the boobs now, esp when its full with milk..

my colleague noticed my breasts become fuller come afternoon n after i empty them, they shrink..

in fact i've not worn strapless bra for a long time.. cannot wear spag-strap tops. no suitable strapless bra with good support and can accommodate breasts when expand from empty to full.

re: pigeon breast pad

any mummy can advise me on the price?? me no time to check from other branch of ntuc. saw that gaint selling at $9 nett.
ntuc selling 24pcs pack at $8.60...

Queen
gald to know issac is fine!
I was stil placing kaelyn on the bed when she is sound alseep and walk out of the room but with pillows around..
but these few days.. either I will sleep with her or place her in cot after HB several caution cannot leave her on the bed...
Looks like I really got to be careful...

queen, luckily you have a soft padded ledge... Saved Issac from painful fall. I have to be careful with mine. Mine is a timber bed frame and got an extra step. Bb will suffer double the pain if she does fall!

Sometimes, I enjoy being SAHM, other times, I feel quite sian, especially now when Kirsten is teething, she can be so cranky and after checking everything, she still cries. Like today, I actually shouted at her, sigh, feel bad now after I realize it's her teething pain again. I applied Dentinox teething gel and she stopped crying immediately after that... It's a miracle gel!

rachel, I think that I bought 36pc pack at $8plus before from isetan. I always check the price first because there are some places that sell more ex.

rachel,
they ve 2 pkg. looks like ur hb bot the 24pcs one. should buy the 36pcs one @ $8.90 and with additional pieces free!

439746.jpg

valerie

wow, teething really cos so much pain and discomfort ah...... now worry mine will be super cranky when he start to teeth....

sigh... last night is a last minute thing that i ask my hb to buy for me. all along im the one buying so he totally no idea how much for how many pcs...
but its a shock to us that nutc sell so ex. another thing is that the print out recipt show its 36 pcs, but my hb got the 24pcs pack coz there isnt any 36 pcs pack on the shelf.... felt cheated...

Flo cool, my hb works at citibank - next to ur building. =) Can I PM u my number and u contact me as to when to collect from u k?

Rena, my hubby not business man lah. I'm just saying figuratively that in our relationship, we make it work like a business enterprise - he go out and work and I stay at home and take care of the household matters. I'm just like his personal assistant. When he needs me to get things done for his clients ie buying gifts or writing cards etc, I help him. But apart from that, I look after baby mostly and maybe some housework. He 'pays' me monthly and takes care of all our expenses whilst I make sure that he is not too bothered with household matters so that he can concentrate on work and bring home more money.hee hee... He works at citibank international personal banking.

Im also running a small online business dealing in customise jewellery but has left it largely to my partners to run for now cos must take care of baby. A bit hard to juggle lah.

Actually being a SAHM quite fun cos we get to become more creative with our time and can get to do things at our own pace on top of looking after our babies firsthand. =)

tracy
thanks for highlighting. like what i mentioned to valerie, felt cheated leh. dont know its ntuc mixed up the price or what...
i know some place selling $12 for the 36pcs pack, eg. kids mall

Valerie
where did u buy the teething gel har? I wonder if I have to buy for stand by

Re: bb refuse dream feed
Usually dream feed is one of the easiest feeding time... cos bb will drink well.
last nite is the 1st time my gal get angry with dream feed ley...and refuse to drink so no choice let her sleep without feed.
Only drink 4 times perday @ 150-160ml only...
so scare she lost weight if continue to be like this. I find her face already sharpen like slimmer now... not that I wan her to be really fat but at least eat well mah...
when I told my MIL bb seems to lost weight..
she will rebuk me.. bb so fat for what?!!.. Arrrggghhh.... I'm not even saying I wan bb be fat.. just dun wan her lose weight...fed up manzzz

Mummy who do dream feed.... your bb will refuse dream feed one or not har?

Re Boobs lopsided
Mine are also strange looking now. Guess that's the price to pay for being a mummy. =) Our hbs better appreciate us more for all the shit that we have to go thru. hee hee...

Think Sarah's teething too. She's getting really cranky lately. Not much of an appetite and yesterday had a really distrupted sleep. She got up at 3, 5 and 7 am, whining away...*faint*

Dunno how to make her happier...

cookie,
my gal dropped her dream feed recently too. she rejected the milk totally. so now she drinks 180ml x 4 times. last feed is around 9.30pm-10pm. it can last till 7am so still quite ok.

i guess their system adjusting, like us adults, after dinner no need to eat liao. sleep can oredi. many experienced couples i spoke to, said at this age let them sleep thru. if they are hungry, they'll call for it.

my MIL insist i feed her at 11pm. i said she dun wan to drink wat can i do...

Tracy
my gal use to drink 160ml.. then lately she vomit milk out sooo easily.. we drop back to 150ml she seems better and also never cry for milk earlier.
Her last feed around 7-8pm, I will usually feed her around 11-12mn her dream feed so at least she can catch up what she cannot concentrate during daytime...
so I still worry a bit lor... like she drink so little

ya I suppose if she hungry she will fuss.

Re : dream feed
i guess im one of the 'experts' here in dream feeds! cos Celeste can only drink while dreamy
since 4mths she has been refusing milk while eyes BIG BIG... only when eyes closed ( or alittle peeping ) will she drink...

its hard at times cos i gota slowly twist the bottle into her tightly shut mouth.norm i stuff the pacifier in, let her drift far into dreamland , then i slow motion take out her pacifier and put the teat in. if she fusses, i quickly put the pacifier back, pat pat and the whole process repeats... normally it takes only 3-5 in and out (max.)before she reali suck her milk...

CHALLENGING hor ?

hello mommies,
sorry for the intrusion to your thread.. i m from dec 2005 mommies thread..

Hi Wenyl
I m the friend that cookie mentioned this AM.. I have updated the list with additional order on the leappad n books..

thanks a lot for yr efforts in co-ordinating this BP.. greatly appreciate.. God bless

attachment_icon.gif

Leadpad_Orders-439199-439211-439485.unk (23.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi mommies
wow so many posts!

Rachel,
Re: hubby's bad behavior
I guess men are just dumb when it comes to things like that... I would've behaved EXACTLY like you I almost laughed when reading cos this is how I am with my hubby sometimes... I know how u feel... hope he learns from it and makes it up to u soon...

Father's day is coming up! Guess what I got for my hubby!!?? i've gotten my hubby 2 books! har har<font color="0000ff">
1. Happily married with kids.. its not just a fairy tale,</font> Carol Ummel Lindquist
<font color="0000ff">2. The Involved Father</font>, Robert Frank
hope he gets the hint hint...

rachel, it seems that when babies teeth younger, they will suffer more pain. As they get older, it won't bother them that much. So, haizzz, I have to dong thi period. Some more, hb going to china for work for a few days soon. Dunno if I will go mad before he comes back!
kao_dizzy.gif

Cookie, you can try getting it from the pharmacy. But if kaelyn teeth later, you may not need to use it after all. My neighbour gave hers to me cos her daughter teethed at 9 months and it didn't bother her much.

God's child, wah, yours sound more challenging than mine. Kirsten is getting better, can drink even when wide awake but she will keep pushing bottle away if her hands are free. Then I have to hold her hands down and feed her with the other. Then, she will calm down and drink her milk.

Tabbie, what a smart hint! Your presents can't be more perfect!

Hi Cookie and Tracy

At least your gal don't want to drink at nite. Mine is the total reverse esp in recent weeks.

For eg her schedule yesterday
6.30am try latching her on but too tired to drink
8am dream feed - 120ml
2pm when she's wide awake - 100ml + HT brown rice
5.30pm bottle feed 120ml
8.30pm scream so loud but latch on for only 10 min
9.45pm latch on
10.45pm latch on, fell asleep and wake up at 11.15pm
12.30am bottle feed 120ml
1.30am latch on
3.30am I think cos I fell asleep and hb bottle feed her 120ml
6.30am latch on

Challenging??? I can ***Faintz***

Hi Valerie

Does the teeth need to grow out before you apply Dentinox teething gel? Mel has her cycle reversed lately so not sure if it's because she's teething (she's not cranky but very energetic at nite). Her teeth has not grown out yet but she has been biting anything she picks up. She even bite my hb hand until it bleed internally (like love bite). How's Kirsten teething like? The teeth has grown out?

Thank you all for the reassurance on the loop sided boobs... so glad to know that its quite common actually.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Florence,
Wah Mel is really a late night owl! But U still look so fresh everytime I bump into you its unbelievable that u only get so little sleep!
Re grinder: Both mum &amp; aunty still have not tried the grinder so sorry can't give any feedback yet. =(

Florence,
Re Side-Padded Matress
Tried to call the guy once but no body picked up. HB also dun allow me to start another BP cos he says too much work after seeing me "working" till late at night when organising the last bumpermat BP. Anyway i think I saw the mattress at Carrefour, $99, dunno is it the same as the one you have. If i dun remember wrongly from your pictures the side padding is actually sectioned and can be removed? The one a Carrefour can't. Same??

Re Potty

Just to share this interesting potty with all of you:
439866.jpg

Someone was asking in the Mkt Place where to find and so happen i saw something similar (Safety First brand) at Isetan Scotts baby section just last Sunday. Thought its quite a good invention especially next time when our babies (espcially girls) have to poo poo or shh shh outside when there's no toilet. = )

Re Potty Training

Also to share, actually we can start potty training our babies now. My mum has done a great job potty training Ashley since she was 3 months. Mum bought the cheap traditional plastic "Tum Tong" (potty in cantonese) during my confinement and wanted to start using already but i was very skeptical cos i never thought babies can be potty trained so young. So mum only really got to start her on potty after I went back to work and I must say I'm very proud of mum cos Ashley now knows its time to poo poo whenever we put her on it and 8 / 10 times she does in fact poo! haha...

rena,

oic. Those are catholic churches right? i am lutheran. : )

the picture of sumo really look quite poor thing. sayang sayang him for me okay?

Florence,

I leave my gal at my mil's place or with my mum. I think it's not wise to depend on just 1 caregiver cos if that caregiver is not available, then you run into problems.

clare,

my right side used to yield 3 times the vol. as compared to my left. But somehow it balances out after the third mth.

ling ling,

no probs. : ) It's near to where my mil stays. I will pm you after I have collected the sets then. Could you pls pm me your order?