(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi, I am new to this forum. I just want to check how much milk does a 4 and half month bb normally drinks? I have been increasing my bb feed steadily but my MIL has been insisting that bb didn't have enough. I am very stressed coz as it is, I am having difficulty keeping up with my bb's intake (coz i can't seems to pump enough for his daily feed). Though strangely over the weekends, i feed my bb directly & he seems ok....

I think my mum feed my gal abt 5oz of EBM every 2.5-3 hrs ..that is about 140ml? My gal weighs 7.3 kg now...

my elder gal used to feed ard 4oz...

if baby did not fuss after finishing the milk, then baby should be full. There are other reasons for fussy baby e.g., gassy stomach, unwell, nappy too wet

shu hui,
my boy drinks 6oz every 5 hrs. but at nite he will drink another 6oz b4 he sleeps even thou his earlier feed could be juz 2hrs b4. he needs to sleep with a full stomach! :p

durianlover, one tin of Anmum costs $18.90 if you buy one from the fair. If you buy 2, then each will cost $18.50. But can only pay cash.

god's child, same here, I will have clear spotting, then yellowish, then brownish, then pinkish, then back to clear again and cycle repeats. Change colour like every 4 or 5 days, i think... So strange, I used to have regular menses, maybe haven't stabilized yet...

shu hui, my PD told me BM intake should be 120ml times the weight of bb in kg. But mine, has been taking about 110ml per kg only. I think the formula is only a rough guide, don't get too hung up on it! If bb is satisfied, it should be good enough.

Thanks celine & MH. So if the bb keeps waking up during the nite...is it possible that he is not full enough? He used to feed around 11pm to 12am then sleep till around 6 to 7am. Recently, he just keeps waking up crying (at 2am, 3am & then 5am). Finally we gave up & feed him at 5am & then he stop fussing already....

SH
Rcently my 5 months old bb also wakes up a few times at night (2 a.m, 3.30a.m. and 5.30 a.m.). We feed him milk, but he only drinks half or about 70ml. Not sure why, my friend said could be teething.

SY,
re: BB flipping at night
You might want to consider using a baby sleeping positioner. same concept as what durianlover suggested, it has 2 bolsters on both sides when BB is sleeping on it, to prevent him from flipping. That's what I use at night when Keenan sleeps since newborn. Maybe tt's why he has only started practicing flipping recently...

SH,
It's possible that bb is not full enough. He's 4.5mths right? Or he might be going thru a growth spurt. If this carries on for the next few days plus he is showing other signs that he is ready for semi-solids, you might want to try giving him a little feed in the afternon. Signs to look out for will be:
*neck is strong enough to keep upright position
*drools and imitate chewing action when he watches you eat.
hope this little helps.

re: snack for BB
I tried giving him Honeydew today. I think it's soooo sweet that he got addicted to it instantly, refuse to give it away when i try to remove it from him so that I can feed him cereal. OMG! Will wait a little longer b4 I introduce honeydew again.

Re: Clare's 4s'
I was telling some mummies on MSN that I tried Clare's 4s' 2 nights ago by stirring Keenan at 3.30am (1 hr b4 he wakes up habitually for the past few nights. And it worked so well that he slept straight up till 9.15am, missing his 7am feed. That's more than 12 hrs of sleeping thru' and he woke up screaming for milk! Then Wenyl wanted to know if I have actually broken his night waking habit already. So I did a test last night and left him as he is and did not stir him to see... and I think the answer is: YES, I have broken the habit liao, as he didn't wake up at 4.30am anymore. This time round, his sleeping hours is more acceptable: 9pm to 7.30am. Will see agin tonight to reconfirm. Thanks Clare for your 4s' pointers!!!!!!

Kirsten has teethed. It was so obvious that I can see the whole width of the tooth. I'm such a blur mummy, only noticed it today. No wonder for the last few days, she has been crying until very qi cham, clutching both her ears and shake her head while crying. Now then I'm bringing out the teethers to cool in the fridge for her. Super BLURRR...

Denmy,
We tried bring bb up & try to coax him back to zzz. Takes very long but he will usually drop back to zzz. After a few nites of fussing, he stopped the 2am waking up but still wakes up around 5am. But he will drop back to zzz till around 6-7am before we feed him. So he actually goes back to zzz but i am worried (abt him actually starving) coz he keeps waking up & crying. Especially when he will quiet down after we feed him.

Re solids, yes my bb is showing all the signs you mentioned though I am a bit reluctant to start solids till closer to 6mths (read from somewhere that it's better to start them off after 6 mths). Anyway, does anyone has any good recommendations what are the kind of solids or brands i can try?

SY
re BB fliping at nite. My baby does that all the time too. In fact, the moment he hits any flat surface, he will flip over & he wants to suck his thumb & fall asleep on his tummy. Was a bit worried abt SIDS initially so I kept flipping him over. But then he will fuss, get angry & cry. So nowadays i give up. I just let me sleep in the position he wants. When he is more sound asleep, then i will flip him on his back to zzz again. Though, somehow by the time we wake up again, he have flipped himself back on his tummy again (very stubborn fellow).

I was going through some of the posts & I read with interest abt BB swimming. Can i find out when can we let BB swim & wat are the things that are needed. Wanted to let my BB try but don't know whether he is ready.

One other thing is that I read abt Clare's 4s...I used to wake my bb up at around 11pm plus to 12am to feed him (before i go to bed). I do this although he is sleeping soundly. He usually feeds around 9 to 10pm. I was hoping with the additional feed, he will sleep later through the nite. Am I asking for trouble?? (coz recently bb doesn't sleep till 11pm/12am!!)

Sorry so many questions at one go....just that I am suddenly learning so many things from this forum....

Hi Hi,

Denmy,
Dun need to thank me la... me only type from the book "The Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problem" hee hee... Good to know that it worked! There was 1 period of time i realised Ashley was also strangly waking up at the same time every night 5am... lazy me just walked over n stuff her choot choot into her mouth n went back to sleep. Thank God it lasted for about 3 nights only and she was back to normal so I did't have to make the extra effort to break her habit. =OP

SH,
According to the same book i got 4s from, 11pm is known as the "Dream Feed" and it is absolutely fine to do that n infact should continue until BB is about 7 or 8 months when BB's solid food is well established. However, you do not have to wake BB up to drink... just gently lift BB up n wiggle the bottle into BB mouth and believe me he WILL drink eventhough he's still sleeping... i.e. Dream Feed. After finish just burp him gently n put him down to sleep and he won;t even know he has drank. My HB has been the one giving Ashley her dream feed since she was almost 2 months old till now and he enjoys it soo much he was telling me he may have withdrawal symtoms when its no longer necessary to do so. = )

Valerie,
Poor poor Kirsten, if she can speak, she'll probably be telling her mama off for being so sotong... hahaha... that reminds me actually, I should go and buy a couple of freezable teethers to standby soon....
since my mum said that frozen bananas are too liang and will cause diabetes...

Valerie,
wow so fast Kirsten is teething! i think i better start to look out to see if my gal's teething too. heh.

Denmy,
Wow thanks for sharing! So the waking baby up method really works?? i wanted to try but then my gal started sleeping thru the nite again. Sigh. So unpredictable. I also dunno whether or not to try stirring her up coz sometimes she sleeps thru the nite, but sometimes she wakes up at 5+am.

My Isaac really funny one leh. Today my MIL said he finished all his EBM with no problems. No FM today for him! Aiyo! What to do with him man!

Re. classes,
wah, so fast thinking of classes liao???
YOu mean there are places which start taking in students of less than 1 year old? I'm actually thinking of starting my boy in music, but maybe at about 4 to 5 years old. Cos I took piano lessons when I was young and even though I hated it from Grade 1 - Grade 4, even begged my mom to stop sending me to lessons. But she refused and I was glad that she forced me to continue cos eventually I grew to appreciate classical music and enjoyed playing the piano. And I feel that knowing how to play a musical instrument promotes mental and emotional development. Though I would like Isaac to pick up the violin or cello instead.

Denmy,
Thanks for the meal planner. I'm going to buy a food processor this weekend!
Going to start trying out the rice cereal next weekend. and after that start to make purees for him.

valerie.

so exicited .. coz kristen is teething.. I am really looking forward for sumo to teeth..

Denmy,

my big mistake for giving sumo fisocream.. I think it is sweet .. coz when i switch backt o gerber rice cereal.. he refuse to eat.. very ciam..better introduce fisocream much later..

RE: my trip..

ho ho now I am pack an ready to go.. for six days.. sure got alot to follow up when I come back...

Re Teething Biscuits
Any good brands to recommend? Though Ashley has not started to teeth yet (at least i can't see any la) but my friend kept telling me must introduce teething biscuit early n keep feeding them that so it'll not be so painful and BB won't have fever... dunno how true but just buy n standby loh... = P

Denmy, yah, I'm sure she must be scolding me in her heart. She cried so many times and opened her mouth big big, yet I can still miss it... poor bb...

durianlover, yes, look out for it, especially if you were an early teether too. I teethed when I was 4 months old, so Kirsten is 1 month slower than me.

rena, i was quite excited too. HB even came home eagerly to look at it over lunchtime! Wah, 6 days holiday with bb sounds like 2 weeks honeymoon in the good old days! Enjoy your trip!

wenyl, sleepingdeer, sandra, did you gals meet up to go to the fair? Found anything interesting?

Clare, I already have the Healthy Times Maple teething biscuits to standby but I haven't introduced Kirsten to solids yet, want to wait till 6 months. But now that she has teethed, I dunno if I should give her now or wait till 6 months. Any advice?

Valerie, clare,
I got the same teething biscuits also. and i've already given it to Keenan to munch for fun liao... when it's wet, it's still hard on the inside and marshy on the outside...dun worry, it doesn't break off just like that when bb sucks on it... infact it's so hard, even my dogs can't break it into pieces!!

Valerie,
I also in dilemma. Jamie is teething. Haven't start solid food so dunno whether can let her chew biscuit.

RE: BB Behaviour
Was glad that it is easy to make her smile so that the photography session went smoothly.
My mum was telling me that day luckily Jamie is easy to handle. Eat,play and sleep every day. She seldom cry or make noise. At most cry out softly when she want to be carry, sleepy or hungry. Or else she won't help me look after her while hb and me work. But my mum is super PAN TANG and make sure I dun say it in front of Jamie. And normally night time Jamie will sleep thru, we will dream feed her twice, once before we sleep and once when I wake up. Really hope she will be a good girl thru'out her growth. One bad thing is she has inherit one of mum and dad's temper: Get irritated easily and she will frown when she is irritated.

Denmy,
4s so effective woh!! I was eager to try it on Ethan after chatting with u tat nite. But hor....b4 I can try stirring him.... he woke up & cried almost every hour! 12mn, 1am, 2am,... 4am! Wah piang! I was "zombified"... almost couldn't crawl out of bed to coax him for the 4am one. Usually, its only 2am & 4/5am.

Just now, he woke up at 3am, instead of 2am. Tat's why I m awake at this time. Waahaahaa! Gonna try stir him now. Heehee! See if he will still wake up at 4/5am or not. I hope he can sleep till 7am later.

Valerie,
Wow! Ethan's girlfren got teeth already ah! Ethan still "bo gay" leh. Hahaha! I tink I will go standby some teething biscuits too.

Yeah....sleepingdeer & I met Sandra at the fair. Didnt really have the time to walk thru all the booths lor. But sleepingdeer & I managed to get a bit of discount cos we combined our purchases at MIM for their nursing bras (spent abv $50 & get $5 off) & Bumwear bandanas (2 for $30).

The nursing room was really pathetic! Small, stuffy & noisy! Our babies got so distracted & in the end, didnt really drink much lor!

Queen
maybe your boy like milk fresh from tge breast. I have a cleeague who's son only take milk from the breast direct. can't feed him through the bottle or cup. He will take juice from the cup with straw.

We might let Gerald take piano or violin too. Nanny says that violin is good for the brain devt.

denmy
great! keenan is sleeping thru. How did u stir him? touch his tummy or carry him? haha.. he's so cute. think honeydew is a bit too sweet leh.

valarie
does your bb bite on the teethers? i gave my boy, but he dun seem to know how to use it. haha...

SH
for cereals without sugar, think there's Gerber, Heinz and Healthy Times (brown rice).

clare
we also dream feed him.. haha, feed him when he's in his cot, dun even lift him up.

RE:Motherhood Exhibition
To be honest, probably coz it was my first time going to a mummies and babies fair, there seemed to be lots of things which I could buy, just that I didn't bring enough cash... haha! I bought a bumwear dress and bandana and a swim diaper for my gal. Bought Pureen baby bath as well, $3.70 instead of $6.80 if you buy 3... also boutght a MIM nursing bra.

Sl,
saw the Ergo carrier at the Bay* supplies.. it's not bad, just that I can't carry bb with her facing the front... but the weight is very well distributed...

Sandra,
found this from the book I'm reading... 'What to expect - The first year

No Honey for your little Honey
Honey not only offers little more than empty calories, it also poses a health risk in the first year. It may contain the spores of Clostridium botulinum, which in this form is harmless to adults, but can cause botulism (with constipation, weakened sucking, poor appetite and lethargy) in babies. This serious though rarely fatal illness can lead to pneumonia and dehydration. Some doctors okay honey at eight months, most recommend waiting till year's end.

May,
wow ur Jamie is really a very good baby!

sleepingdeer, wenyl, sandra,
aiyah i checked the forum too late. By the time i realised you all were going down to the exhibition it was nearly 2:30pm...so sad. Seems like got lots of things to buy! i intend to buy MIM nursing bras too, and go shop shop.

Re: motherhood exhibition
When's the exhibition until?
Any mummy still wants to go down expo together with me next week? i'm on leave!

Re: semi-solids
i bought Healthy Times brown rice cereal, but is it alright to start babies on that first? The box doesn't state from what age can baby start taking it. Not sure if brown rice is too heaty or indigestible for a start...dunno why i always hv the impression that normal rice cereal is easier to swallow!

Durianlover,
The exhibition is until tomorrow only.
I have got the Dumex Rice Cereal sample from the exhibition and tried on Jamie. She doesn't seems to like it. Was think of mixing it into her FM.

durianlover - its always better to start wf white rice cereal cos brown rice is heaty and can cause constipation.so far i am giving Celeste white rice cereal and only recently started giving her eu yang sen brown rice. i feed her thru spoon...

May - its best not to use bottle to feed cereal as baby might choke easily.you can actuali use FM to mix the cereal and feed her thru spoon. I am using Gerber and it smells and taste pretty nice
think so far Celeste has taken close to 5 boxes of cereal...but i only give her bout half the portion as recommended as a start until she turns 6mths old...

SY/Yuki,

My gal didn't flip when she's sleeping but when we put her on the bed to dress her after her bath. She kept trying to flip when we are dressing her. Think she finds it amusing.

pochacco,

when and where are you bringing your boy for the kindermusik trial lesson? I am interested. Can PM me the contact? thks!

God's child,
How do u mix the cereal? I know alot of mummies had posted many times regarding the mixture portion but didn't take note. I am also interested in getting GERBER rice cereal.

celine/pochacco,

my churchmate brought her son to julia gabriel when he was 8 mths. She said that she felt that her son didn't really benefit from it as he's too young. He was running around all the time during the class and she was busy chasing him. : ) She will bring him again when he's older.

Sleepingdeer,

Really? Thanks for your inputs on the ergo carrier. Do you think it is worth the price? Would you be joining the bp for it?

god's child,
thanks for the info on the brown rice cereal. In that case i shall use that later on when my gal's older.

How about Heinz vs Gerber rice cereal? Which is better? Appreciate your comments!

I gave Keenan apple puree with mix with brown rice cereal and FM this afternnon. He loves it. Only gave about 1 tablespoon. Then I let him suck on 1/4 of a steamed apple placed in a Munchkin Netted food holder. And he sucked until the apple was bone-dry of juice. Only the dried-up pulp was left in the net.
will try again with apple tmr.

May - For Gerber white rice cereal, the recommended portion is 3tsp wf 100ml water/milk. when i first started, i gave her 1.5tsp cereal wf 50ml FM. My FM works in 30ml each scoop so i gave 1.5scoops FM and use 50ml water to mix it.this is to make sure the mixture is not too thick when they first start.it will be a little watery. after a week, then i increasd to 2tsp wf 2scoops FM mixed wf 65ml water.til now , it is still like tat. think when she get to 6/7 mths, i will make it a thicker consistency...

Re : Baby flipping
Celeste flipped!!! i have been waitin for this day and YES!!! she did it on the sofa 4 times on her own just now... was delighted
Dr Ng was rite, they will flip one day!

chenoa - i have not given Celeste fruit juice yet. But my PD Dr Ng did say can give apple/pear juice if baby is constipated...

Sleepingdeer thanks! Will show that to my MIL when she gets home. I actually explained it to her in detail that day when I got home and she said 'ohr' - albeit unhappily. I'm still figuring out how to work the sling. Really clumsy with it - hope it won't be another of my white elephant buys. =P Understand what wendy was trying to tell me now...hehe...

I'm still thinking about going down to Expo again. So much things to see leh - like not enuf time like that. The Slimming centres booth keep approaching me leh (what does that say?) and now I quite gian to go but dunno whether I should or not. Obviously the best way to lose weight is to exercise and eat wisely but slimming centres seem to offer a quick way to get back in shape. Anyone tried before?

sleepingdeer,
u bot a bumwear dress at the expo? i bot one too for my gal. the batik print sleeveless pink one.

Sandra,
Nice meeting u at the expo. Sarah Mae is very adorable! I also thot of going there again but tomorrow is sunday & somemore last day, sure very crowded. Sianz. Did baby supplies provide u with the instruction brochure? Try the sling when ur gal is in a good mood. Practice more & u will get the hang of it. I have yet to perfect it but at least I am able to bring my boy out on my own for a few hours in it.

Denmy,
My boy didnt sleep thru last nite leh. sob sob! I stirred him at 3+am. Instead of waking up at 4am, he woke up at 5am! But slept till 8am today. I will try again tonite....stir...stir...stir!!!

I have another query. When I put bb in the cot to sleep at nite. He will fuss & cry for abt 10-15mins then he will fall asleep. Is there any method or trick tat can help him slowly drift off to dreamland? He doesnt want the pacifier now. I see him struggle every nite so sim tia! Anyone with the same problem??