(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

chenoa,
at 6 weeks, i still feed my baby regularly at 3hr interval, even at night. if your baby drinks the milk u feed her, means she is hungry. babies will know if they are full. they will reject the milk. i guess at this age, its still better to feed them on demand.

Rena,
Haha... The last time i brought Ashley (3mths old then) back to Kota Kinabalu with my mum & bro (HB didn't go) for 5 days 4 nights, I kept telling myself since we're flying direct from Sin never mind lah just bring JUST IN CASE as anyway dun really need to carry the luggage.... so I also packed LOTS of stuff for BB. I even got my mum to pack the Pigeon sterliser along hahaha... imagine me & my mum each had a medium size hard-case luggage but more than half in BOTH luggage was stuffed with Ashley's things. Me really kiasu mummy too... = P

HAVE FUN!!!

re:MIL & milk
there is something seriously wrong wif my MIL..now that my gal is drinking 180ml n my reserves are packed in 140ml/pk, i give my MIL 140ml x 4 packs, asking her to take one pack of 140ml to divide into the other 3packs, making it abt 180ml per feed.

but the strange thing is at the end of the day, the 140ml pack she uses to divide, still balance 100ml!! so i told her its either she put too little, or she forgot to add. she stubbornly insist no, said my 140ml packs are already about 180ml. which is not true!! cos i express out n pack myself! so every night i bring back 100ml balance of milk, which is neither here nor there cos i need to feed my gal 180ml at 11pm.

this morning, i purposely defrost 1 pack of 140ml at home myself, pour into a bottle then pass to her. i told my husband, this time should not have balance hor. i get terribly annoyed when schedules get messed up like this.

Yaya, I was at the Motherhood exhibition from 4pm onwards. saw sl and chatted for a while. Shermaine looks very well fed for a TBF baby! my clariss is 1 month older yet smaller build!

Ya, agree with Mamachan that the nursing room is pathetic. because it's a nursing cum diaper changing room so some hubbies also wanted to come in but there are mothers who are breastfeeding so it's kind of embarrassing. actually the mothers should turn to face the wall to avoid such embrarrassing moments. I have a breast bib so it's quite ok for me. Better remind your husbands not to go to the diaper changing room.

I thought that there is really nothing much. given the GSS around, I think I would have more things to buy and with more discounts if we shopped at other places. I bought nothing and just got a free Motherhood magazine after filling in a survey form. one item that really tempted us is the babyjogger which is now $439 instead of $599. we may go back and buy. have to think about it. Ya, the MIM booth is quite crowded. should have brought my sling to ask them to demonstrate and practice on the spot.

Hi sandra,
Wenyl n I are still gonna go... the most if nothing there, we go drink coffee.. hee hee, alo my virgin drive w bb alone! gulp!

can pm me your hp np then we can contact each other? 230pm ok?

any other mummy wanna join us is very welcome!

Tracy
I would have bought the wet wipe for my dogs too

Re: bumper mat selling at motherhood fair?
Any mummies has idea is bumper mat selling at discount at motherhood fair?
my colleague interested in getting but no BP now.

re:he's the woman, i'm the man
find that my hubby has become more 'woman'. during my pregnancy, he was the one getting forgetful. now after i've given birth, he tears easily. his eyes turned red while watching '8 below', 'i not stupid 2' and yesterday the variety show where quan yifeng's hubby surprised her with a wedding..

now he's the woman, i'm the man?

Hi SY,

Your lovely boy & his lovely hair

Hi Wendy,

Yr gal really looks like you!

So Motherhood exhibition nothing much? Yhink I shall skip it then
Bring Cephas for his 2nd dip in the pool instead

Hi Sleeping Deer, I actually went down to expo last night with hb n MIL cos they both wanted to go. Dunno whether got good discount or not but found it quite interesting leh. Got so many baby pdts to check out. I signed up for magazine subscription n got a goody bag to take home. Bought Sealer diapers to try cos heard from someone that its pretty good for a low end diaper. Otherwise, would hv stuck to pampers alone. Brand loyalty. =) Bought two dresses for Sarah under some Australian brand. The lady very friendly. Took part in HSBC cute baby contest - but Sarah wasnt very cooperative so she managed to look Guai Lan n not cute. =( My MIL bought some baby detergent for laundry. HB bought the baby soap n shampoo and some moisturising range from Gaia. He likes the spa smell. =) I think we bought some more stuff but cant remember right now. I was also checking out Mary Chia and Moms in Mind sling. Quite interested in the sling actually. So might go back with u on Friday to walk walk again. Otherwise, just go there to eat orange julius or burger king lor. Me got fast food cravings. =)

I have a problem with BB drinking habits. Anyone's baby develop breast preference? Sarah Mae suddenly developed partialty for my right boob n would cry/fuss when I try to latch her onto the left. I feel kinda upset with her cos she stubbornly refuses the bottle n now she's fussy about which breast to suck from. Really frustrating. As it is, I have to throw away like 10 packets or more of EBM today as she havent been drinking them. So heart pain... =(

cheona
I agree with tracy, your bb is still so young, feed on demand and if u think she is hungry do feed her even tho she never cry.
usually by the time she cry means too late liao

Rena
have a Good trip! Enjoy yourself,
Oh and share with me how you sterilise and make milk for your sumo.
On 15/16Jun I gng to JB but not bringing bb... I dunnow how to safely sterilise milk bottle and make milk lor..anyway HB prefer we dun bring her so can enjoy better...but I know I'm gng to miss her soo much...even if just for 1 nite.

Rena thanks for wanting to loan me the sling. I guess I wont need it for now lah - will let u know when u come back from the trip. Have a good one btw. =)

sandra,
have a tried nepia diapers? it's good and affordable. u saw the samples a the fair? if not go check it out this friday.

Re:passport for baby
gee..i've yet to make passport for my bb. so how do u take the photo? is it put a white cloth behind her head then try to take the best shot? i'm planning to do online submission.

Hi Sandra,
okie, no problem, PM me your HP if you want, and I will sms you mine... if you decide to go, we will be there about 230pm... can call me lah...

RE: Breast preference
Yep, my bb did it to me once, very distressing...lasted 3 days, she refused to lower and sit on my lap when I am getting ready to feed her form my right breast... I called my LC, and she suggested that maybe she is not comfortable... but it just suddenly happened, so I ruled out my holding position, and concluded maybe her neck strained? hee hee, anyway, 3 days later, she was fine again...

Rena,
have a good trip yah! Let us know how it went and whether Sumo was a guai boy when you are back!

Choeana,
yeah, agree with the mummies, feed her on demand, and also if she sleeps and doesn't wake up for more than 3 hours, wake her to feed... bb these young dun really know. if given a choice, sometimes they will sleep on...

rena, cookie
I am going to port dickson in 2 weeks time. driving there with my in laws and family. 3 cars altogether. intend to bring the bathtub, pram. I think she has the most things to bring. how are you intending to bathe you boy? she will be on breastfeed so think no issue with bottles.

sandra,
wow, sounds like you bought quite a lot of things at the exhibition. maybe I am fussy but nothings seems to catch our eyes except the babyjogger.

Tracy...

can email me the gathering pics? wana show my hubby the cute babies and pretty mums...
and also to persuade him to go for next gathering...

tracy
the platform is in my bedroom actually. my mattress sits in a hole in the platform.

thanks for the compliments!

durianlover,
my boy also got the same problem. he actually sleeps quite well at night but the problem is sometimes he wakes up crying and i have to give him pacifier. he is not really hungry but just needs the comfort.

if u have any ideas how to deal with this, let me know. my plan is to wean him off the pacifier and hope it helps..but then on second thoughts, when he cries, i dunno what to stuff in his mouth!

Denmy
i dunno how heavy my boy is. think abt 7.5-8kg??

so sad hor that wehn we walk into the room, they dun smile..i can understand totally how u feel.

thanks for the compliments on my boy. my hb thinks he looks less handsome now cos he getting fat....

rena
enjoy your trip and take lots of photos!!

sandra
my boy prefers my left breast. think it has to do with the position i hold him cos i m more comfortalbe with my left hand holding him. but my right breast has more milk thouhg...strange

cookie
congrats and lucky u din miss her first flip! i kept telling my boy to reserve his firsts for the weekends....

Tracy,

Passport
I just used one of the old pics I took last time when Ethan was lying down in his cot. His bedsheet is light blue but they accepted it. Wasn't the best looking pic but I just quickly submit for application cos my Perth trip was only less than 2 weeks away then. Anyway, baby passport is only 5 yrs validity.

Rena,
Enjoy ur trip with Sumo!

Rena,

Enjoy your trip with your family - imagine your first family vacation together. Have fun and update us when you return okay? : )

Hi mongs,

thank you. Actually Charmaine's weight gain slowed down already. At her checkup yesterday, she only gained 700g in a month as compared to 1.1 kg and 1.2 kg in her previous monthly checkups.

I didn't even realise that there's a diaper changing room and nursing room... : P

btw, I signed up for the GD programme liao. I did some calculations and figured that at 60 cents per flashcard, it's really worth it plus got support from Lawrence. With the time I saved from making the eng set, I can perhaps start working on a german set. kiasuism at work I guess.

cookie,

there's a booth selling the bumpermat. The price is $165 for the small one and $185 for the big one. Think the BP price is better.

tracy,

I took my bb's photos at Clementi photo studio - they can do it for bbs. What happened was that the studio pple drape a white cloth over my front while I hold bb. that's it.

god's child
okie, will email u the pics.

wenyl,
thanks for the passport photo advise.

sl,
good idea, i shall do dat!

sl,
so you took the english package only? I think he mentioned $480 for the whole english package. I colleague bought the whole set which consists of english, chinese, maths and storybooks. all in all is $2000 plus. she shared it with her sister. her son is now 4years old. she seldom flash the cards nowadays. she says the best time to do it is before they can walk because they have nothing to do and they can't go exploring on their own so they will look at the flash cards.

wenyl,

yip - signed up at the motherhood exhibition - got discount mah. It includes the book "how to teach your bb to read", 800 pcs of the flashcards, one bk, lifetime support, workshops, progress review. Basically you paid for the materials (flashcards/books) and the spoonfeeding by the instructors.

mongs,

yip - I took the eng package only to try out. Lawrence mentioned that he will also cover chinese, encyc knowledge and maths in the workshops. If you would like to buy the other materials later still get 10% discount. I wanna start the eng one to try out first. I think if you take the whole package during the exhibition, the cost is $1K plus. The eng package after discount is $430. If you have UOB card, can pay by instalment.

sl,
I see. I think the support is very good. sometimes, when we get a bit sian about flashing the cards, we can get more motivated by attending the workshops. I have made about 400 english cards and I also made my own maths cards but so far only flashed a few words. very lazy. must really start doing it already. else waste my effort.

cookie,tracy and sleeping deer:
get your point.

btw, how much MIM sling sell at the fair? Also herad there's the ergo carrier. anyone consider getting that?

Re Flash Cards (English)
Mongs - Can i check with you how u make your english flash cards?? U print out n stick onto the card? What font size leh? If can show some photos of your cards pls?

Yeah! I am planning to take passport photos for Cephas. Now I have some rough ideas

Either a white bedsheet with him lying down or drape a white cloth & let him sit on my lap.

clare,
ok I go home and take some pics of the cards. upload later tonight or tomorrow.
I use a red marker to write on the cards. I bought the marker from Art friend. I will check on the brand and let you know. it's a good brand because there is not much solvent smell. I was doing the cards when I was pregnant so was quite particular about the smell. I bought the cards from a paper supplier but decided that those sizes recommended by the GD program is really too big, so I gave those huge cards to my sis and I bought big cardboard sheets from art friend and cut the cardboard myself and write on them. I think my card length is only 30cm. I think GD program recommend 24" which is 60cm.
I actually wanted to print on the cards but the size of the words need to be big and I also don't own a A3 size printer so can't. I saw that there was a BP for printed cards some time ago. quite good buy but it turned out that a lot of words were spelt wrongly by the printer and the mothers were not very happy.

ya sysac, I used a white bedsheet. the pic turned out quite nice. collected her passport yesterday. the queue was quite long coz sch holiday. 60 people in front of me. waited for 30mins to collect her passport.

Mong
1 of the best part of BF is no bottle issue.. so good. If I still BF my gal.. will definitely bring her to JB

I went to the fair yesterday and guess what I bought? Just 1 pathetic tin of Anmum! Heard from my friends that last year's fair and the fair from 2 months ago were better. Prices also not much cheaper than outside, and since HB not there to carry things, I might as well buy from the shops.

To add on the Tracy's list,
list of exhibitors dat i can recall:
1)mums & babes
2) kidzloft (got swimsuits from i-play, but not alot)
3) nepia ($14/pack) now order thru phone also got $5 NTUC voucher, min. 4packs.
4) Mums R Us
5) Mums in Mind
6) HSBC
7) Studio Loft
8) AIA
9) Dumex
10) Sealer & EQ Diapers
11) Angel wet wipes
12) Wyeth
13) Bay* supplies
14) NUK
15) Healthy Times
16) Pureen
17) Anmum
18) GD program
19) Diamond Water filter

I didn't see the ergo carrier that sleepingdeer is interested in leh, maybe I missed it. But I saw the smaller swivel bath chair that Denmy posted before.

queen, thanks for the advice. Sometimes, I want to make gynae appointment but suay suay, kena the spotting again... not fated to do pap smear!

Tracy, you so funny about the man and woman...

I wonder if it is ok to start the GD program while I'm showing my girl the Baby Can Read VCD. Won't it be confusing to show so many things and then with different methods at the same time?
kao_confused.gif

Tracy, we also checked out the nepia ones but my hb say box so big so dont want to buy (he quite gu niang one lah). He asked them whether got samples and they say dont have so we went and got the sealer ones (cos smaller package).

Mongs, we only bought basic things like shower gel and dresses etc - mainly aesthetics lah. We quite fussy about most of the things that we get for bb that's y nothing much to buy except for those aussie brands - they are quite unique. Had to hunt long long then found nice ones. I found the fair interesting cos i had never been to one before. Like to patronise each booth and check out wat they have... not enuf time...

Re Passport photo
Its really very easy applying for BB's passport thru the net. I just happened to fnd one of Ashley's big head photo against a white bedsheet, crop abit n viola sent it i. Within 3 days can collect already very fast! But i think her face so so much fatter cos pic was taken from the top at that time... n ABOSOLUTELY BOYISH.... hahaa

432102.jpg

BB Ashley's passport photo @ 2 months+ old

432111.jpg

Recent pic of Ashley in her bumbo. Bumbo was place on a kitchen chair n her po po put her elephant head cushion behind her to make it more comfy.

Re. rejecting EBM
My boy is really making me angry! Since Monday, he's been rejecting my EBM. I prepare 5 bottles of EBM for him while I'm at work. On Monday, he drank 4 bottles (out of which 3 were frozen). Tuesday, he drank 3 bottles, rejected 2 bottles. Yesterday, only drank 2 bottles and my MIL had to throw away 3 bottles and feed him FM. Today, he rejected 4 bottles and drank only 1 bottle of EBM! What's wrong with him man! Feel so angry cos I make so much effort to pump and he doesn't want to drink? My MIL was again harping on how he's happily drinking FM. I don't think she meant it in a bad way, just pointing out that he drank the FM. But don't have to keep saying 'happily' right? Last week, Isaac had no problem with the EBM at all. In the past, sometimes he'll reject EBM, but usually last only 1 day. The next day will drink EBM as per normal. Makes me feel like weaning him off since he's so picky. How? My MS is still quite ok, last week MS dipped, but now back to normal. Dunno whether should still persists in TBF... Had wanted to continue till he starts to teeth. But now sigh... I really don't want to go home with bottles of EBM only to have my MIL throw them away because he doesn't want it. Feel so heartpain and unappreciated! Really don't think there's anything wrong with my EBM. Cos it seems like frozen or not, he also doesn't like. He has no problem drinking direct from my breasts though.

clare,
hahaha, i like the elephant ears pic! okie, the passport photo sure doesnt look like her...

queen,
calm down *fan fan u*...ve u tried feeding him the milk yourself via bottle?

Queen,
I normally direct latch but sometimes I will pump out & feed bb EBM. I noticed that EBM stored for 1-2 days tend to have a slight oily smell. Not sure if u notice that?? Maybe ur boy is fussy about the smell? Maybe he wants fresh EBM. Why dun u try passing ur MIL new EBM tomorrow and try feed bb?

Wenyl,
I know EBM kept in fridge or freezer sure got smell. The thing is I have to pump in office for the next day's feed and bring back and put in fridge overnight mah. Like that not considered fresh enough? How to give EBM that is as fresh as direct from breasts? If Isaac really cannot take the smell at all, then no choice have to give FM when I'm at work. If not how?

Tracy,
I tried feeding him 1 bottle after work. He really doesn't want, but I think it's because he's sleepy, not really hungry. I latched him on, he drank a while and want to sleep liao... so can't tell much.

God's Child,
So it was you. I recognise your baby too. hehe..

RE: Studio Pic
I have just got the pic this afternoon.

432192.jpg

432193.jpg

432194.jpg