(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: Feeding Schedule
Sleeping deer/ SY, what to do, u see her size - must continue to provide her food or else, she'll fuss...=P I did try to lengthen the gap between feeds but it doesnt work all the time.

re: hoilday with bb

longed to go hoilday and take a good break. since bb is older now, the thought is even stronger... but my parent sure will be the first to shout NO!!! sigh....

recently one of my gal friend went japan wit her hb and little gal (4 months) to attend a wedding dinner. so nice!!!! thats my reaction. so sian......

babylon - yeah my hb recently came back and bought many oshkosh suspenders and jacket. all cheap.
will go and check out. heard old navy is also pretty hot in the market place.

sandra- no not bringing bb. gg for biz trip and then extend for personal. gonna miss bb big time but then i need some time out too.
mix emotions la.

HI mummies
DO you all have any books related to signing? those we can teach baby to learn to sign...for better communication?

cookie

why say sorry leh??? btw dylan did not kena UTI, its due to most water goes to his poo, as he start to have more watery poo due to teething, thats why causing the pinkish pee(which happen only once).

about immunity to UTI, im not sure leh.

got a question to ask you all here since u all already had the experience.

1) I be going for c-sect most prob on friday n now settling up my bbcot.
was wondering if we need to put anything in between the mattress n the bedsheet? something like our mattress protector?? won't the mattress get wet n dirty if bb poo or pee? or when the bb is in the bbcot,do we let her sleep on those rubbery bubble thingy?

2) i was trying out my pigeon steriliser n haha was actualy quite bad at fixing up the bottles aft it had been sterlised.have to use our hands somehow.any good way to assemble the parts to share?me using avent bottles...once sterlised,where do u all keep the bottles har?do we need to keep it in a sealed container or we can leave it lying around on the table.

Hi SSF, Rachel,
not sure leh, I only know coz Bay* supplies emailed me about it... if got milk powder and Diapers, I would also like to go... but probably will go on weekday when lesser crowd...

Wendy,
haha, I would be laughing like mad too if my bb's reaction to MIL is the same..
Your ILs take care of Arienne? Honestly, I really pei fu you, I HATE, absolutely HATE cigarette smoke, and cannot tolerate smoking... my fuse is super short when someone near me smokes! My hubby used to social smoke, and my first reaction to him was 'I won't go into a relationship with someone who smokes..' and that's the end of his social smoking....

Sandra Chu,
your ILs also lagi super ah, put sugar in water...! Right now, Gripe water is already a worry to me coz it's sweet!

Rena,
enjoy yourself! Am sure Sumo will be guai, he is already so guai at home... keke...

SSF,
drooling.... U.S.!

Rachel,
me also very gian to go for a short trip... will try to plan a trip to Perth to visit my good friend in Septmber, but dunno whether have the confidence to sit through the plane ride or not... what if she starts screaming??? *turning pale*...

sandra - it be about 2 weeks..business mix leisure.

angeline - 1) no i didnt put any protector and yes it has urine stain or it already. i just sun it occassionally and wash the sheets regularly.

2)i use hair too after washing with dettol. i will touch those outter surface or u can use a tongs. pigeon provide tongs as well.i just assemble everythg and place outside. if i am not using the steriliser so soon, i will leave it in it and take it out only when using.

Hi Wenyl,

Thanks! Yes, I remember Ethan was less than 2kg at birth rite? What a milestone for you now to see him at 7.3kg! Think we have both worked hard on/for them. *Pat pat* Would love for the 2 boys to meet!

My PD kept telling me & HB yesterday "You have both done a good job. He's such a happy & healthy baby. The environment is very important." It felt good to hear such sompliments

Sandra/Tracy/Sleepingdeer/Rachel/Rena,

Thanks! Will let you all know if I end up having Hi-tea at Phoenix Hotel with my frens. Then, can really meet up with all of you

Hi SSF,

Buy lots of baby stuff during yr tip. It's a good deal esp at the factory outlets. Used to buy for my cousins when I went US, esp in SFO & NY. Kept telling myself not to buy clothes for Cephas. Yesterday, went shopping after his jab. Ended up buying tee/shorts & swimwear for him
His wardrobe is full & all the hangers are used up.

Angeline Goh, I never put anything between mattress and bedsheet. Guess it's up to u. I only roll out rubber mat when I have to change her. So far so good.

After sterilising can place bottles on table top or in container but u have to make sure that the teat is covered, and the teat is already screwed onto the bottle. Like that, no germs can get in mah.

sysac - speaking of wardrobe, where did you guys buy them? my boy is still using those toyoga drawers to store his stuffs. and its overflowing with clothes already. last time wanna buy from ikea but then its already so ex plus we must pay for assembly and transport. not worth it lor.

Hi Angeline,

I did not place anything betwn mattress & sheet. I did place a nappy everything on the sheet itself so that it's get's stained 1st b4 anything else. So far, quite lucky. The sheet & mattress didn't kenna anything yet.

SSF
hmm... drooling.... wowwww

sleepingdeer
exactly! when i look at my boy.... forget it lah, better dont gamble, if not he will tear down the whole plane.

woww... perth.... =p

angeline,

ususally I keep the bottles the sterlizer until I need to use them..

the protector sheet .. I bought the cloth type .. not so hot.. you can get them from cheong choon..

Hi SSF,

Cephas' wardrobe is custom made. When we did up our masterbedroom, the designer designed a smaller one (1m lengthwise x 1.7m heightwise) for our misc clothes(travel wear) & stuff. We brot over to Cephas room becos our misc stuff got more & we went to build-in another one as big as the main wardrobe. Crazy rite?! My bed is in between 2 wardrobes! Death by clothes!

Yep, agree. Ikea wardrobes are ex. Maybe can get one from the neighbourhood shops.

Hi Rachel,

Can start with short trips nearer to home. By then, baby will be trained.

I am planning to bring Cephas to Bintan in Oct. He will be abt 10 mths by then. Hopefully, can go Perth next yr too. It's one place I have not been to in Oz. It's driving me nuts cos my parents, Hb & frens have been there except me. So I told them "Cephas & I are going next yr." Haha!

sysac

yah. thats what my hb said too! he plan to go Bintan for a short hoilday, even come to thinking of bringing my parent too so they can look after dylan while me and him can go jalan jalan haha.

shall see how, my neck is getting longer from all this thoughts. yes can understand the feeling of going nuts! heehee

hi sysac and wenyl,
Your babies are premmies too? Aaron is a premmie. I delivered him at 34 weeks gestation, he was 2.7kg at that time. He stayed in NICU for 9 days to mature his brain and lungs. This was one of the reasons why I couldn't TBF him successfully, he was on FM from day one before my milk could come in. How many weeks were your boys delivered?

Any of you bought high chairs yet? I thought of buying the Fisher Price Booster Seat. Dunno good or not.

holiday
i'm also dying to go for a holiday. I need a break. My hubby din allow me to travel when i was preggie. Maybe going to bring BB to Bintan too(somewhere near) after he turns 6 months

Angeline,
1) my baby sleeps on the comforter which comes with the mattress cover so if stain, i jus wash th comforter :p
2) i assemble my bottles after sterilizing and put aside anywhere till use.

going for c-sect? i c-sect too. take care!

sysac,
hope to see u on sat!!

cindy,

thanks! ya - me also reluctant to give my gal solids till she's 6 mths but if she only drinks 200ml for the whole PM, she's not getting enough. I also felt very pressurised to go home early cos if not, i have the feeling that she's starving and it's my fault. : (

solids:
alot of mummies are starting liao. My bb does show interest in the food that we are eating. He stares at the food intensely. I think he is ready for solids but we are not starting him yet.
My mum is worried.. say BB lugi ar.. cannot eat solids.. i was like huh...lugi wat? heehee..
my mum very paranoid.

Rena,
I have the pigeon set on standby now. Bot it during the JL sales 20%+5%member.

SSF,
I bot the Bellamy's BB cereals in Perth. Bellamy made in Australia. I tink u can probably can find HealthyTimes or Earth best in states. They are from US.

Rena,
It will be both fun & tiring to bring baby out for holidays. Dun worry, church camp always have many aunties & uncles who can help you out.

Cookie,
I m showing Baby Signing times to Ethan. But not everyday cos dun want him to look at TV too often.

queen,

maybe if you are concerned, can try to pump more? Just remember that the extra sessions are not to collect more milk but to stimulate the brain into thinking that the bb needs more milk so that the body will produce more milk.

mashy,
Ya, your boy has a lot of hair. He looks cute smiling with Mr Lion next to him.

Tracy/Sandra,
My boy screams and screeches too. I think sometimes he does it just for kicks. Probably amazed that he can actually make such noises and when he starts he wouldn't stop, often in the middle of a feed.

java,
Ethan was born at 36 weeks but weighed only 1.78kg. He stayed in NICU for 4 days becos he was considered low-birth weight baby. On the 5th day, he hit close to 2kg & was xsfered to nursery ward. Was discharged on the 6 day. He was on BM & Similac Neosure for abt 2-3 weeks. After that, it is mummy's milk all the way till now. We always standby Similac for him but hardly give him. The tin of Similac was bot in Mar & is still half full. Its for bb up to 6mths only. Now he weighs 7.3kg at 5 months.

Travel - me too planning for a trip to either perth or korea this coming jul. thinking for bringing boi boi out, need to prepare lots of courage.

sl,
She stays just 10mins from office, steps in at around 9.30am and leaves at 5.30pm. She says most prob her bb drinks more when latching on. Sometimes, she would rush back during lunch just to feed but on average her bb drinks about 300ml while she's at work when her maid feeds. Like Wendy Ng's Ariene who will rather starve than drink from bottle type. She was quite stressed as she often only has 1 or 2 bottles of spare EBM at any point in time.. but somehow she pulled through.

SSF,
Go to Macy's. It's a departmental store with lotsa stuff. Can get cheap and branded stuff like Tommy and Polo Ralph. Look for the sale racks. Sometimes, sale as good as 75% or 50% plus 25%.

Wenyl,
I try to finish my tin of Similac within 4 weeks as suggested on the tin. Dont keep for too long.

RE : Sweets
How can give sweets at such young age? No good. I wld make noise like you too. The antibiotics that my boy is taking is so so sweet. Gotta dilute with milk but still smell sweet....urgh....

RE : Exhaustion
Felt total exhausted yesterday. Everyday is the same. My mom will help bathe my boy while i eat breakfast. Then I'll dress him to bring to aunt. Shower and rush to work. Back from work, quick dinner and look after baby. Got to wake up twice for night feed. Handle myself as I stay at moms and hub at home. I dun expect mom to wake for night feed as afterall he's my son. The cycle will go on and on. Wkend, go home oso lotsa stuff to do. Hub will help with night feed but I'll be around to help. Wake up early to bathe him and look after while hub sleeps. When will I get to rest? Seems like no opportunity at all. Frankly, all I want is a little appreciation and initiative from hubby and no black face from mom. Mom is very tempremental. Constantly complain tired so I try to minimise her help. Told her i'll wash his clothes but she will still wash. However, if I let her wash a piece or two more, her face will be black. If I use the hot water from flask when she had just boiled water, I'll be scolded for not using water from kettle instead. How wld I know? Urgh...dunno wat she wants from me.

RE: Gathering
1) rena + hb + bb (confirm)
2) Java + hb + bb (confirm)
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb (confirm)
4) rachel + hb + bb (confirm)
5) Clare + hb + bb (confirm)
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb (confirm)
8) Tracy + hb + bb (confirm)
9) MamaChan + hb + bb
10) sandra + hb + bb (confirm)
11) God's child + hb + bb

Please confim ..
VEnue:phoenix hotel garden cafe
Time : 2.30pm

Price : 19.90+++ ~ approx: 23 dollars

so now only left 3 to confirm..

if anyone has their number can sms them see if they are going?

Y, u so poor thing... Can u get ur hubby to help a little? I get mine to help out with bb over the weekends and public holidays. Told him weekdays I do, since I SAHM. Last time he never take initiative until I blew up. Now he guai guai already. =)

Y,
I didnt know we have to finish the opened tin in 4 weeks leh. I thot so long as it doesnt get clumpy...should be ok. Hmm...i better throw the tin away then. So wasted!

Agree...should ask hubby help out too. Tell him if he doesnt, it's his fault if bb doesnt want to be close to daddy next time.

wendyl
signing times.. is DVD/VCD ? will teach bb to sign?
Very ironical, I also bought bb einstein for bb, on 1 hand meant to let her watch.. on the otherhand.. dun wan her to watch too much TV.

Y,
I can sense your exhaustion. Sometimes I would wake up in the middle of night wondering where my bb is... or mistake the pillow I was holding under the comforter as bb and pull it out in shock.

This may sound frivolous but maybe you can give yourself a day off once a while, go for massage to soothe our aching muscles. Tell your hb and mom that you are exhausted and would like some time off. For me, it was difficult initially not cos no help available but more because I wanted to do everything myself and very possesive over bb. Then I realise sanity is also very important and gradually let go.

Wenyl,
Ya...tin wrote, should finish within 4weeks.

My hub does help out during wkdays when he's working morning shift. He wld go to moms at night and leave when bb sleeps. However, if he's working night,I'll handle myself. If at home, he will look after but the bulk still lie on me. Bathe, wash butt, laundry, play with bb, housework....to a certain extend, i think my hubby has not realised that life is different nw. he asked why i always have so many things to bring when we go out. Com'on diapers, milk bottles..etc. Man will never understand.

cindy,
my mom ironical din understand. She always tell me the man works and tired, i must understand. I also work wat, somemore her daughter. If i asked her to help me look after, she wld give me curfew. Like once, i went out for high tea at 11am and MUST be back by 2pm. Only the pathetic 3hrs, inclusive of traveling time. Sian...she stress me out totally.

Y - maybe you want to talk to your mum or if she is really worn out, can consider getting a part time nanny or a maid to help out? I mean its true, its our baby but at the end of the day, we also don;t want to tired either of us out.

to think of it, i am quite bless to have my in law and mother taking turns to take care. mon to wed, my mum will look after and thurs and fri its MIL. although we are quite tired with the travelling and packing of his stuffs, the older ones aren't tired. at least we are younger and can 'tong'. so have a talk with ur mum and have a positive mindset.

wenyl,
me and my hubby knows sign language. when should we teach our baby how to sign? u start showing the cd already? I am showing my baby, Your Baby can Read cd by Dr Robert C. Titzer. she enjoys it alot.

Y/wenyl,
I also din't know that have to finish within 4 weeks. I thought can last as long as the expiry date and it's not clumpy. my gal only drink 1 scoop or half scoop of FM per day, still have more than half of the 400g tin. so wasteful to throw away.

rena

i have sms durianlover and mamachan. hopefully they reply shortly. i dont have god's child contact, so hope any mummy has her contact can help ask??

Y

I think I'm very blessed compared to you. My hb is very hands on with my boy. For the 1st few mths, he's the one who bathes, cleans, changes diapers for my boy. Now on weekends, he'll bathe him and change diapers.
My boy absolutely adores him. Keeps smiling when he comes home. He'll give my boy the first feed in the morning and the feeds when he comes home.