(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy,
Same sentiments. Recently a gal fren of mine commented bb looks more like daddy....I was like....okie. But when she further commented that bb resembles a little of my MIL too.... I was like.....Yeee....Yucks!!!

Cindy / Mashy,
I got the same Elmo one - hand-me-down from his cousin. BB likes it alot. We hang it in the car. So whenever we go gai gai, he will always wait for me to press the button for Elmo to sing. So we decided to get him a soft toy to bring along to Perth.
BB likes Elmo especially its eyes....so delicious, like fishballs!
426879.jpg

Wah, so many postings. Me just came back from wedding dinner... tired.

Re: How to Bring Baby go Cinema and watch show.

As long as baby under 6 months, we can sometimes get away with watching a movie with baby. Just buy tickets for u and hb and bring baby in lor. When baby cry, just BF bb until bb fall asleep. Fuss free. Da Vinci was my first attempt. Quite smooth sailing. Going to target Over The Hedge next. =)

DON'T ask the ticket counter staff whether can bring baby in though. If u unlucky meet guai lan ticket sales staff, they will not let u in. So, just buy and bring baby in. The ushers are fine with it.

Re: Solids

Got this info from a literature at PDs today, since so many of us starting on solids soon...

Foods that are least likely to cause allergic reactions:
Rice, Pear, Prune, Carrot, Apple, Pork

Foods which are usually well tolerated but occassionally cause allergic reactions:
Barley, Apricot, Beef, Wheat, Plum, Spinach, Cabbage, Oat, Banana, Chicken, Peach, Broccoli, Lamb, Turnip, Potato, Cherry, Corn, Fish

Foods which are most likely to cause allergic reactions [to be introduced from the 9th mth only]:
Berries, Cow's milk, Legumes

Foods which are highly allergenic [to be introduced from 12mth onwards only]:
Seafood, Nuts, Egg White

SY, Y,
Keenan also shouts (or screams) when he's really bored and tired... kekeke.. he also has a very sensitive neck.. he will chuckle like nobody's business if i talk into his neck...

another thing also is that when he feeds from a bottle and is abt 3/4 way thru', he will pause and complain or grumble, still with the teat in his mouth. Then he drinks a bit, stops and grumbles again. He will do this repeatedly until the end of his feed. Does any of your bb's do that?

Rena, Sleepingdeer, Cindy,
just sent you the M. Planner, this time with attachments... :p

Y, Valerie,
I don't have your emails....

Cindy,
Lucas the botak looks so cute in his bumbo...
Keenan also got problem squeezing his thighs into the seat...

Wenyl,
Ethan looks like he is in Nirvana with Elmo's eyes...haha

Wenyl,
The Bellamy baby porridge seems ok, since it says its for BB age 6 mths onwards. I sure buy it for BB if only they sell it in S'pore...As for brown rice, u need not DIY. Can get Healthy Times Orgainic Brown Rice Cereal fro NTUC. It works the same way as other brands' baby cereals.

sysac
I missed the mind your body article. did they say that the pushwalker is ok? i also hv one as a gift.

wendyheng
my nanny charges $550. I think price ranges from $500-600. even heard of $800.

rachel
wah, what a scare. luckily dylan is ok now. didnt know that teething will hv such signs. thanks for sharing.

rena
I saw one organic shop at forum. sells qt a lot of bb food.

mashy
3-4times a day, i dun think it is considered cough? anyway, if the cough is bad, can hear the phelgm and cough more often.

re: walker
argh..can someone jus kill me?? jus when we on topic of walker.. this morning my MIL touch on topic of walker. she commented that both my nephews were in walker when they turn 4 mths, so good, they can move around. i jus turn a deaf ear. hello!!!!ya, they can move around, but when they first learn to walk, they were on tiptoes!!

Rachel
I would be very scare too...thanks for sharing with us the expereince, we can learn from it too .Very glad your bb is alright now.
When I was reading.. it was UTI or something..

Tracy
understand your frustration...sometimes it's juts sooo difficult to be in your shoes..
Never mind vent your anger here.

TRacy,
your MIL is typical old generation woman, no matter how many times we tell them, it just doesn't get into their brains... my mum is the same, I had to tell her over and over and over again about the benefits of BM until I blew up and scolded her for 1 full hour before she finally understood! Maybe you tell her that it is shown that the most FATAL bb accidents happen while they are in the walker..

Denmy,
got it liao, thanks thanks!

CIndy,
the last photo of Lucas very cute, he was like posing for the photo.. haha..

Thanks for the consolation on the dipping MS. I know it's silly to feel depress over it. I have only about 4 to 5 bottles in frozen reserves but been dipping into the reserves sometimes. If MS keep dipping, then reserves will also run out soon! Sigh... yah loh, just let nature takes it's course.

Re. rash
Isaac has rashes on his neck for quite some time. At first only on the left side, now seemed to have spread more to beneath his chin. Remember some mummies here recommended some cream that we can get from Guardian, can anyone remember the name?

Re. walker
Think I will still get one, but definitely the push kind. Cos cannot expect my in-laws to hold Isaac's hands all the time when he learns to walk, will be very tiring for them.

Sunny,
I try to pump 4 hourly at work, sometimes can stretch to 6 hours. On the average, if MS is good can get 200-220ml after 4 hours. For the past week, I can only get 160-190ml even after 5 hours.

Re. movie
yesterday took half day to watch movie with HB, Da Vinci Code. Not very good actually, the book is much better. Never thought of bringing BB to movie leh... what if he cries???

queen,
you are really one devoted mother. wake up at time to pump. For a long long time, I wanted to do that but really can't bring myself up to pump and also baby still drinking milk in the night. my ms also dropping but am trying not to be too affected by it.

re: milk intake,
my MIL told me to increase the qty of milk for my gal. she has been drink 125ml from 6 weeks onwards till now. am surprised to hear that a lot of mummies here have prob with feeding your bb. I think bb are regulated their weight. my baby is on the smaller side and perhaps trying to play catching up. too heavy babies may have prob learning how to crawl and walk later so babies are clever enough to regulate their weight. so mummies dont worry.

Re: Movie
Yah, I also prefer the book. Baby cries, BF him lor.

Re: Baby Noises
Sarah used to make babbling sounds when she was one and a half months old up till a couple of weeks ago. Now, she's always screeching when she tries to talk. Anyone got similar experiences?

sandra21,
yup, my gal is screeching nowadays too, like trying to talk using high pitch. so cute. she luvs to look at hair blowing in the wind too. when i bend and hang my hair over her face, she will grab my hair and go 'oh, oh , oh...' keke. tinks she wants long hair in future.

she can laugh now too. so cute when they laugh. wunder if the screeching sound applies to boys too?

Thanks Tracy. For a moment there, I thought she has speech problems or sumthing. My husband's nephew never displayed such vocal pyrotechnics. =)

Cindy

My boy prefers Ernie coz the duck will go 'quack quack quack' but on the whole, he doesn't really fancy those two toys. He prefers his Mr Lion and will smile and talk to him. I even saw him reach out to touch his nose. :p
426996.jpg

Hi Krissie,

The article only informed the the sit-in walkers are no good & are banned in Canada. I wld guess that the push walkers where baby holds on and learns to walk is good since sit-in walkers are not recommended.

I also went to watch Da Vinci Code last nite. Didn't read the book though.I liked Leigh's butler. He looks like a 007 character! Haha. I kept telling HB " Wow, he's not lead but he sure is good looking"

Wld love to meet you gals but it's my BD on Sat & my friends are giving me a Hi-tea treat. Maybe, will end up at Phoenix. Then, I can check you gals out

Cephas went for his 6mth jab yesterday. He took a 6-in-1 & the 2nd dose of Pneumoccocal. Will be going back in 4 weeks time for his 3rd dose. He weighs 8080g & is 70 cm long. Good 4D no. to buy 8080

PD says he is in the 50-75 percentile. He's is just right in size. Finally, after being in the 10 percentile all this while. However, will lose weight once they start crawling.

Oh yes!

The baby photos are all lovely!

Sandra,

You gals has more folds than my boy! And I thot mine was really chubby!
She can be poster gal for Michelin!

Denmy,
Thanks! I tink I will start bb on HT brown rice 1st. Then slowly intro the oat cereal. It is very cheap to get Organic bb food in Oz. Bellamy & Heinz all selling ard S$3+ only.

Tracy,
My boy likes to shout. Maybe boys are more chor lor. Hee! He enjoys looking at moving curtains...when there's wind blowing.

Mashy,
I like ur boy's hair leh! So funky! My boy still botak botak. Even my MIL also commented how come he got so little hair. **How I know?!

Sysac,
Happe Bday in advance! Me also wont be going for the gathering cos hb got to work. Hope 1 day Ethan can meet ur Cephas. I think they r the older boys in this thread. Hee! I hope Ethan can reach 8kg by next mth. Now he is 7.3kg. He is also a preemie like ur boy.

Denmy
my boy drinks like that. when he is down to the last 2 oz, he will play with the teat in his mouth or make weird grumbling noises..been doing that for some time liao.

so tired today. boy refuse to sleep till 12+ and i had to put him on mattress and lie with him then he sleep. in the end i totally miss my night pump and woke up this morning with super hard rock breasts...8 hour interval! almost fainted. luckily it din feel clog...

sandra,
wah your bb really good at the movie.

i also dun quite like the movie plus they din keep to book well...

Wenyl

My hb was botak when he's a baby. So I can rightly claim that his hair comes from me.
My family including me had a lot of hair as babies. So happy. I think this is the only thing that my MIL approved and agreed on.

wow so many of u already starting on solids? I don't think I'll start on solids anytime soon. My girl still loves to latch on. In fact, I'm getting worried now cuz she'll only drink abt 80-100ml from bottle once in the morning at 930am then she'll sleep throughout and refuse to drink anymore until I come back from work at 2.30-3pm. *faint* She'll latch on like crazy once I get home (every 1.5-2hrs) until her bedtime at 930pm. Lucky for me, school hols are coming and by the time school reopens, she'll be coming 6 months and ready to start on solids.

staring at u eat
Ariene is always staring at me eat and drooling with her mouth wide open nowadays. She seems satisfied when I feed her plain water with a miniture of the same cup i'm using but she keeps fighting for the spoon with me and want to feed herself, spilling water all over her face and clothes. messy, messy. Ur babies stare at u with mouth wide open too?

Sysac Happy Birthday (in advance)! =)

SY, bb got no choice lah. Used me as pacifier - at the end of the show, I had to check if my nipple was still there. =)

Re: Starting solids

Looks like most of ur babies show some reaction when it comes to solids no? My bb got no interest leh. We sit her with us during meal times but she just stone only leh. Up till now, whenever we try to spoonfeed her with water or gripe water etc, she die die don't want. Even resorting to screaming. Only want my boobs. Can't wait for the day she'll start on solids so I can get some time away from her. Now she also feed every 1.5 to 2 hours the ENTIRE day. She only lets me rest at night when she sleeps. (Thank God)

sysac,
happy birthday in advance too!!

sleepingdeer,
yup, the oldies dun really like to listen to us. haiz...

wenyl,
so boys dun screech..sounds logical for them to shout. shouting at blowing curtains?? thats cute..

FIL complain
Last night had a "argument" with my FIL. He like to eat sweets, he can eat until he get diabetes and all his teeth rot for all I care but he want to feed Ariene sweets as well. No way! What rubbish. Children never eat sweets will grow up abnormal??? I shouted back very clearly NO SWEETS. Then he keep grumbling, saying baby so "ke lian" and insist he will feed Ariene sweets so I shouted back at him NO SWEETS IN MY HOUSE until my hubby tried to make peace. So I sacarstically childed my husband I disapprove of feeding sweets to children but if u "tou tou mo mo" do it behind my back, I also LL but as long as I can help it, I forbid sweets and I expect my wishes to be respected since I'm the baby's mother. I think my FIL hates me cuz nobody dares to talk back and shout at him except me cuz he's the type who will keep insisting on things his way. BUT, I'm the type who will not give in to his nonsense.

ARGHHHHH! Think of it only make my blood boil. Sorry for the grumbling.. need somewhere to vent steam..

Hi Sandra and Wendy,
wah, every 1.5 to 2 hours! How can you gals take it? My gal was feeding very 2 hours in the first 3 months, and I was going crazy liao... now it's a little better, every 3 hours except come night, she will sleep about 4 -5 hours...

I'm not starting solids for my gal until 6 months, hopefulyl she can dong until then... one more month to go!

Sysac,
happy birthday in advance.. haha, really can buy 4D, your boy's weight reminds me of the time of my gal's birth, 1818hr... haha..

wendy

cool down cool down... not good for your health leh.
yah agree that he should not insist on his nonsense to feed ariene sweet. he should know sweet should not be given to bb, causing them to reject other healthy food which is plain in taste. good for you to state your ground! if i were you i think i oso cannot take it.

sysac
happy happy birthday in advance!! enjoy yourself and hopefully next round of gathering you could join in and bring Cephas (the big guo guo) to meet up with the rest of the di di and mei mei!

sleepingdeer
I don't really have a choice cuz she only had 2 feeds in the morning at 6am and 9.30am then she rather sleep until 3pm to wait for me to come home to latch her on. She'll definitely nurse like crazy cuz she hungry. Weekends when I'm at home, its every 3 hours from 7am to 10pm.

fever
Ariene has been having fever on and off since saturday. Temp range from 37 to 37.8deg. Brought her for 5-in-1, pneumococcal and rotavirus vaccination on friday. Wondering if I should bring her to the PD or not. Or maybe she's teething, cuz she kept biting my fingers and hand and shoulder when I burp her.

krissie

thank god its over and dylan back to his old self le =)thanks for your concern.

where you live? maybe can ask your mum to come along with you to the gathering so at least she can help care for bb during the gathering?

cookie

once is enough! *touch wood, touch wood* i oso ask PD is it UTI but he say not possible bcoz it only happen once. if UTI, the urine will be very smelly and bb will have fever too. so he said its just lack of water that is causing this... *phew*

sysac..

happy birthday to you..

RE: bb ware

tracy I dun sterlize the spoon and bowl but i wash them clean and keep them in the cabinet and when want to use I will use hot water to rinse them..

so far I have use many types of spoon but so far i think the pigeon travel set is the best.. it is yellow and comes with a cover and spoon.. the spoon is quite good as it is slightly slant.. so the food can go in esaily..

now I train sumo to sit in bumbo for feed ..

wendy

think its partly bcoz of the vaccination and she is teething too. dylan was like that last weekend too and he just had the 5-in-1 jab. if she is feeding well and alert then should be fine. anyway its always better to see Dr Ng so to have some reassurance.

Hi Wnedy,
think your FIL is really too much liao. Sweets are definitely a NO NO for bbs, especially so young. Good that you stand your ground, if not, they can do anything... the way things are as it is, do you think your FIL will feed her sweets behind your back?

heard that there is a Motherhood Exhibition going on from 31st May to 4th June at the S'pore Expo, is it true? Anyone planning to go?

sleepingdeer - yes its true. i be gg down. heard it start at 12p.m. do u know if they sell milk powder? i want to stock up diapers and FM.

wenyl - where did you buy those cereals from? I be gg US next month and thought of buying some. anyone has any recommendation and if its cheap
there?

wendy - yeah no sweets..its a big no no. I am behind you too. but like u say..if they give behind our back, we also LL.

wendy
your FIL is so horrible!!! why they can't understand something so simple like babies shouldn't eat sweets?? in fact, i won't wan my boy to touch sweets until he is much older! my bro loves to eat sweets when young and he got tooth decay at a young age....

wendy, sandra,
pei fu the 2 of u....not easy to have to keep latching them all the time. really have no time for yourself.

re fever
does teething cause fever? feel that my boy is quite hot now but when i took his temp he has no fever.

sleepingdeer,
He might but its beyond my control cuz he's free and not working while I have to work. I hate to even think about it but I still should let him know my stand that I don't support feeding sweets to children. For now, I'm still quite safe cuz Ariene only wants me to carry her and she'll scream and wail if anyone else, esp my FIL tries to carry her. Last week, I almost burst out laughing when my maid told me Ariene just cried louder and harder when my FIL tried to catch her attention when I was at work. I'm so bad.. but I must admit I was secretly giggling inside cuz I really dont want Ariene to learn all the bad habits from him esp smoking. He always smell heavily of smoke. Once I told him he smells of smoke, he still dare to tell me don't have. Hello?? Don't have then how come I can smell right? He even turn the fan towards him and Ariene was breathing in all the 2nd hand smoke from his breath. Just reminds me of how pissed I was last time when I was pregnant and without my maid to cook dinner for us. Had to breathe in the polluted air filled with 2nd hand smoke in his house every night during dinner time.

re: feeding soild

will wait till dylan hits 6 months then will intro. so still have 2 months to tong! unless his weight gain not good if not will not touch on it yet. my mum is no no to the idea when i brought it up last night.

sleepingdeer
really? so there will be great offers too. im not aware of that leh.

oh I am so excited.. we will be bring bb to KL on the 3rd june.. we are going for church camp with bb for the first time...

hope that he is good boy lor...

we really peng san coz got to bring so many things ..

Rena - great..enjoy quality time with your hb and bb. and yes u need to bring lotsa of stuff. last time we went to bintan when he is 3 mths. a large suitcase and a hand carry luggage. all for a 3D2N stay. he occupied 80% of the luggage. haha... but now that sumo is bigger shld be easier coz no need to bring breast pump and lesser diapers.

rena

so nice! enjoy yourself! so be driving there?

sure your sumo will be good boy, bcoz its his first time go hoildaying with mammy and daddy =)

Wah Liau, Wendy ur FIL really too much. Reminds me of an incident with my MIL/ FIL too. They wanted to try to get sarah to drink from bottle so they put sugar in the water. I got so mad with them also. They keep insisting that she will latch on cos she likes sweet things. And I was like HULLO?! How would she like sweet things since she doesnt know what sweet is yet?! Wah biang, i just took her away from them but inside was seething...

Wow SSF, u going on such a long trip with baby? So brave. I dare not. My HB wanted to book tix to Spain, but I kept telling him no. Cannot imagine bb on long flight. As it is, I got fear of flying - plus bb dunno how...

Rachel
sorry sorry... ya touch wood... cannot happen again.
SO.. bb will develop immunity to UTI if happen before?

Wendy ng
you FIL too much la...cannot be so irreponsible.
How abt you MIL?.. can get her to brainwash your FIL?
I cannto imagine bb being feed with sweet now...