(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Cookie/ denmy

Keenan and Kaelyn very compatible to each other leh... hehehe... somemore both names start with K!

Cookie

I bought the same skirt for Clarisse too from fox baby...

Couple #2 Shannon and Elijah also very compatible... same as couple #3 Kirsten and Ethan wor... so fun!

Hi mummies... trying very hard to catch the post... just read that many mummies started to flash cards to babies liao... where can I get more info on flashing card?

Rena

I would like to get the bumbo seat too... thanks very much for your effort in organising.

1. Denmy - aqua
2. Cookie - Yellow or Lilac also can
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua
5. Cindy - Lime green (confirm)
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac
8. Clayre - Lilac
9.God's child - lime green
10. krissie - yellow
11. Mamachan - Aqua
12. babylon - aqua
13. Y - lime green
14. durianlover - lilac
15. Zhimin - Lilac

Cookie

Kaelyn seems so steady sitting on bumbo... but my Clarisse's neck still not so strong leh... dunno whether can she sit on bumbo yet.

So envy with babies with lotsa hair... I not sure should I shave Clarisse. But my mum din shave for us when we were small wor... so I tot I should follow too.

re fernugreek
anyone still taking them? I've stopped since sat, but i find it takes a longer time to achieve the letdown. thot of retaking it again. is it ok to take it for long?

rachel,

she sent us something via email - I forward you the mail okay? anyone else who wants the email just let me know.

Krissie,
I stopped taking after 2nd month liao, coz I found that it had no effect on my MS.

Valarie,
thanks for the photos, I got it, and my hubby is laughing away at the photos...

Cookie,
my hubby say Kaelyn very very pretty baby leh, make my Shannon jealous and angry with her Daddy... hee hee...

Rena,
I found my receipt liao, but I read you bought the Water one already... that one is nice huh? Now both of us have one animal and one water one... hee hee, we must be crazy mummies...

Mummies, think all our darlings are so lucky...
I can't seem to stop buying bb stuff for Shannon, so far have gotten her the bobux shoes, the bumper playmat, musical mobile for the car, the Baby signing Times DVD, and flash cards... make me stop! My bank account is super low now!

gathering:
all the babies look so cute and adorable.. the couples look very compatible..
hopefully the next gathering can be on a wkend, so that we can join..

Krissie,
I stop altogether about 1 month ago when I came back to work. I took 8 capsules a day after my 2nd month and took that amount for about 3 weeks then when the milk came in, I reduce the amount and finally stop 1 month ago. actually as long as you keep removing milk from your breast, the milk supply should not drop. mine did not drop after I stop but now it dipp a bit because of some block ducts.

sleepingdeer,
you are right, think our children very fortunate. I also kept buying things for Clariss. was thinking of buying $3000/annum worth of insurance for her, then we stop and think. our 2nd child will have to have the same and that will be $6000/annum for the 2 kids, then we started to have 2nd thoughts. so now everytime before I buy things, I will think if I can afford the same for my 2nd child or whether it will be a good investment and the 2nd child will get to use it as well.

sleepingdeer,

me too..keep buy thing for my bb..alothough This is my second child. He already inherit so many things from my elder..
I keeping thinking that all the thing for my elder was brand new and was unfair for him to have most of the used item from his elder brother.
Although I still have the stroller from my elder son (he no longer using), but is still buy another one for him..now my house eventually got 3 strollers.
Hahahahaha.hubby keep saying that I good at wasting money.

The babies photos are so so cute!!!! Indeed the couples have fu qi xiang! Ha Ha.

Talking about MIL and hubby, i really thank God for mine. Hubby is the eldest son and MIL has been working all along. When young, hubby has the responsibility to look after his younger sister so he does help with the housework etc. Plus he used to study overseas, he knows how to do housework and cook alittle. But MIL's house has maid, so he tend to rely a lot on the maid. SOmetimes he can call the maid from the room to ask her to wash bottles or make milk for baby etc.

As i shared earlier, my only complain is MIL spoilt my kids. BUt she's quite understanding towards me and sometimes ask hubby to help me out.

My hubby also needs to drive during the day so i am always on the night shift. Anyway i latch baby on for night feeds so he can't help much either. But weekend is my time, usually he will take over the morning duties. He's quite good and can manage both gals at the same time. I will catch up with my sleep then.

Sometimes MIL helps too by taking care of my second gal, Megan so that i can take an hour nap in the afternoon.

PArdon me but i read in the previous posting that some mummies are complaining that MIL alwaysa ask them to eat first so that they can play with baby. I thot that's a nice gesture? Why complain? My MIL always do that and i will feel paisay.

Hi babylon,

I understand cos i have two children too. But i have two gals instead of boys.
My elder gal is coming to three and it's the "terrible two and three" period.....

Nowadays her conversation always starts with why? She even ask me why stars are call 'xin xin' when i tried to teach her Mandarin......

Hi sleeping deer,

That's a mother for you. I guess it would have been a long time ago since you shop for yourself huh? Or while you are shopping for yourself, you will wander off to the children's dept.........
Wait till you have two kids! Was out shopping yesterday to replace my younger gal's bottle teats and bought her a teether too since she likes to grab things and put into her mouth.... I know my elder gal sure get jealous so i need to get something for her too.... end up buy her a music CD since she has tons of Barney VCDs........

Hi Tracy,

My gal's name is also Megan.
Elder gal is name Ashley.

cindy - is it possible to get cheaper price for J&J wipes? hee...maybe we can make a BP on this too
those wipes are really costing a bomb with the rate we are using.

if i remember correctly, there are too many boys and too little girls in thos thread. so there definitely be some bachelor left alone. haha..

re:diapers
i just called nepia to make purchase of 4 size M diapers. They say can collect 10 pts and get $10 off ntuc. anyone who don;t need the label, can send to me. I will pay for the postage. hee..need to find all way to save money. agree with sleepingdeer, we are spoiling our kids with all the good stuffs and toys!

yuki,

my elder boy is 3 year old..keep asking thing..somethime really can't wait for him to shut up..but can't Simply tell him straight.

SSF,
I can order through staff sale (happens every 3 mths) for you. BP not possible as there is restriction on quantity. But I am ok to help a few mommies to buy. The last staff sale just over, next one will be in June. I know, can be quite siong, but I was super kiasu and stocked up too much. Now my bb poo once a day only so 1 pack of 80s can last me about 2 weeks... I have about 20 packs at home, can you believe!

Re: baby pics
All the bbies so cute! Am thining since so many of us buying the bumbo seat, it'll be adorable if the next gathering we have the bbies sitting on the seats and take group photo haha...

Hi Yuki,
same name!
in fact there's another Megan in the dec-05 thread as well. seems like its a popular name for this generation. i was deciding between Mira and Megan, and since my ILs pronounce Megan better (can't do the 'r' thing), we chose Megan.

sleepingdeer,
everytime i ve free time to shop, i will plan to buy some working clothes but end up going to kids shop instead and buying nothing for myself!

re:stroll
everyday i plan to to bring my bb out for a short walk, but she always go to sleep so no chance to bring her down. i try to do it in the morning not so hot, but after morning milk at 7am, she will go back to zzz till 10plus, which is bathing time, then milk again and back to zzz again!

Hi mummies...hehe...me called Mrs Wong from TMC...she told me that it is normal to have menses even tho I am TBF...However, she said the MS will decrease slightly during the time when I have menses due to the hormonal changes...at this time...the milk will also taste a little different...but all else being the same...i shld continue TBF....

Also...I'm gonna join a breastfeeding support group at TMC...seems they organise monthly talks for breastfeeding mothers and whatsmore...it is FOC...the PD and the gynae will be there and they will answer queries...but as of now...I do not have all the info...so I'm not sure if mummies who did not deliver at TMC have to pay anot...let me go find out more and keep all mummies here in the loop...

Ohhh...the babies are ALL Soooooooo cute...me wanna join in the next gathering too...too bad I have to work...sigh....till next time...tata!

mummies / cookie / May

why are man like that??! really cant stand my hb!

know what, he said sorry to me for blowing his top at me. but whats the use? still like what cookie said to talk to hb about my feeling.. i practically pour out all my feelings about going to visit PIL and the condition of the house. he said the condition of the place wouldnt improve but what he can do is to clean up here and there... i find so helpless when our weekend at home is busy doing housework and caring for boyboy and now even go back to PIL place somemore have to do cleaning ourselves!!! sigh... ended up i might as well as bring all my stuff there, like what May said. but wont it look bad when i do all this, what will PIL think when they see what im doing?? i want everyone to be happy not the situation jus dont allow it to happen... think i plainly will be the bad guy liao...

last night... guess what. i was woke up by hb and saw him carrying boyboy crying for milk. i was surprise he got up and help me to bring boyboy to me. after feeding boyboy and on the way carrying him back to his baby room, saw hb sitting in front of TV watching soccer match!! so thats why he is so alert and awake! really cant stand him! he can get up to watch soccer match but cant help me take care of boy boy... so angry!

cindytan,
so nice, can get wipes at staff discount
i oso stock up alot of avent wipes when robinsons have 20% discount. i have 30packs at home. more KS than u! keke... like u, i like the thick wipes like J&J and avent. i haven't found others that are good besides these 2. and i think avent is cheaper compared to J&J.

sl
yah i saw the email you sent me. thanks! will check out the website later and hopefully everthing can go smoothly and can get our choosen bumper mat!
yah, the demo at MIM open house really help me. now have more confident to use it le. you should go to their next open house, or maybe when the next gathering Denmy can be our teacher!

Hi Tracy,

Yeah. A popular name. I already know quite a few. In fact my neighbour almost name her gal Megan too! But she change last minute else we have two megan on the same block... hee.

hm..

RE: wipes

do not use too much wipes on bb backside.. especially for girls .. unless going out bo bian.. if not at home hor..try to use cotton and water.. I heard that using wipes to clean the chemicals will go in to the private parts and for long term it is not advisable..

RE: bumbo..

I am closing the BP already...

Final name list

1. Denmy - aqua
2. Cookie - Yellow or Lilac also can
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua
5. Cindy - Lime green (confirm)
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac
8. Clayre - Lilac
9.God's child - lime green
10. krissie - yellow
11. Mamachan - Aqua
12. babylon - aqua
13. Y - lime green
14. durianlover - lilac
15. Zhimin - Lilac

What colour is your breast milk? Mine is whitish yellow rather than yellow and looks very diluted. Worried that it's lack of nutrients.....

Do you all drink herbal soup etc cos i didn't. Just normal meals with potato carrot soup, corn soup etc.....

Any other supplements that you are taking? Anyone still taking the Neurogain fish oil?

yuki - mine is white and also looks diluted. didnt really eat any extra nutritious stuffs. which may explains why i slim down so much! even slimmer than pre pregnancy wgt. tats why i decided to stop BF already. now i only pump thrice per day and get as little as 120ml per session.

yuki

i find eating fish helps the milk become very creamy.. esp cod fish and 'ma yau yu' ...

my LC says that BM looks diff for diff ppl... doesn't mean not nutritious..

yuki
mine oso whitish yellow. been taking muilt-vitamin pills and fernugreek. plan to take calcium supplement soon coz knee cap pain after birth of boyboy.

SSF
you are blessed! even slimmer than pre pregnant! me so sian, still have a tummy like 4 months pregnant! yesterday one new supplier even ask me how many months pregnant im now! .... faint.... so paiseh! i oso only take normal meal and no snack or supper but why still like that? my arms and legs are slim as before but its my tummy that bothering me very much!

Rachel,
Well, they surely can get up if they want to! Its a matter of they want to do it anot. My hub wld stay up late to surf net rather than sleep and wake up late the next morn as he's tired. He'll simply leave the bb to me. When I wake him up, he'll help out a little or as required and go back to slp immediately!

RE : Smoking
My FIL smokes. He used to smoke in the kitchen when i bring my boy over, however, recently he starts smoking in the opp room where bb naps. Trying to get hub to tell him to smoke in kitchen instead as bb is too young and not very healthy for him. Too much to ask???

RE : Blood Circulation
I realised that sometimes when bb is being carried in a certain position, one of his leg starts to turn a little purplish. Err...poor blood circulation? His aunt carried him and it happened a few times, wondering if she'll carrying him too tight. When put him down, the color will return.

RE : Holding Head Up
I hardly give my boy tummy time. Saw several pics and amazed that those bbs can hold their heads so high. Tried on mine but not very successful. How often do you give them practice time??? Starting to worry.

rena,
14+ weeks. shld be abt 6kg. He can hold if i hold the head before letting go. however, if his head is down, he will only manage to get it up a little. Telling my mom must let him practice more. He sleeps on his back and side only. Once i let him sleep on my chest,tummy position, he's able to lift his head and turn it to the other side.

Hi SSF,

Lucky you! I am back to my pre preggy weight but still not satisfied. Want to lose more. Hee Hee. Got three more kg to lose to my ideal weight.

I am also TBF but the weight still remains leh. And not to mention my tummy....

Hi RAchel,

I think i should start to take calcium pills too. I don;t drink milk and worse - i drink coffee....

Hi tabbieus,

Thanks. I don't really eat fish everyday.... Cod fish are sure expensive huh? Sometimes i share with my elder gal and you know being a mother, i rather let her eat and i eat whatever leftover by her.......

Y

our hb is sooooo.... do know what to say... sigh. ask you hb to tell his father to get as far away as he can when he want to smoke! its inconsiderate of your FIL to smoke so near bb, when the smoke can easily travel over. my FIL oso smoke, so i already warn my hb to highlight to his dad to stay away when he wants a puff. now my FIL will get out of the house to smoke but sometime the smell will still get in. then i will quickly carry my bb away as far as possible lo.

my boy oso sometime turns purplish at his hands and legs. think its the temperature, when its cold for him he will like that one. his aunt might grab him abit too tight too. maybe when his aunt carry him again you casually chat with her and then act as if discover about the color of your boy's leg. then you can really check whether is it the problem lo.

you can try putting him more his tummy more often and get something to attract his attention making him to look up.

babylon

i oso want to buy and try it out on my tummy but thinking of the time when i can actually use it is so little. every spare time at home is caring for my boy, so not possible to use it when im feeding him or carrying him right? when the trimax keep vibrating, wait my boy oso vibrate together haha

Yuki
then you must take calcium pill lo. me on off will take milk and cheese. i oso have to take soon, coz since we are BF, our body keep taking calcium from us to produce milk for bb. if we dont take care of ourselve now, when old liao will kena lo.

Wow.. I had been too busy to read postings since last week and I gave up trying to catch up. Too many.

I'm also on TBF and I've not had any signs of period coming at all. Still dry dry.. Weight has dropped to pre-pregnant weight already. Now that I've started working, weight dropped further cuz no time to eat. Spent my 30min break being mother cow so gotta go hungry till 2+pm.

Medication
Girls, be careful when giving ur baby antibiotics. If the doc says 5 days, make sure u only give 5 days and throw away the rest. My sis's MIL feed ALL the antibiotics to my niece and now she's in hospital for swollen liver and spleen (indicating infected liver and spleen), high fever (blood infection) and diahrrea (has had diahhrea since 2 months ago after finishing the WHOLE course of antibiotics). Worse still, her MIL refused to bring my niece to a proper PD and insisted on taking the baby to a normal GP who prescribed MORE antibiotics to fight the diahhrea and fever. My sis finally couldn't take it anymore and sent my niece to KK A&E on saturday. My heart so pain when I see my poor niece in drips and the skin on her buttocks totally shredded off, exposing raw meat due to prolonged diahhrea.

rachel,
but very sensitive to tell him. Luckily my MIL herself said let my boy slps on BIL bed when needed. I already told my hub i do not want my boy on their bed with the stale cigarette smell.

I did casually tell her to change the carrying position. Told hub to tell them not to carry so much and so tight. Err...they sure think I'm being so difficult and so particular.

wendy

oh my god!!! your sis must be heart broken! my heart oso ache when i read about the drips and skin shredded off. suffering at such young age, how old is your niece?
now believe your sis's MIL must feel vy bad and guilty bah. why this MIL like that one?

Y
sigh... we mummies are jus concern and protective of our little darlings welfare. but others think we are being difficult and particular... what to do...

Wendy

Ai yoh, that's terrible! If i'm your sis, i'll kill her MIL! How can diarrhoea for 2 mths and still see GP? Can die one leh from prolonged diarrhoea.

I've been reading this thread for very long since pregnant days, but never join in. Here's my boy's details

Name: Aaron Goh
DOB: 28 Dec 05
411775.jpg

I saw the babies pics and it was so nice to see other babies same age as my Aaron. Hope to join you gals in the next gathering.

BTW where did you gals bring your babies to shave their head? Any recommendation?

RE : Medication
Oh!!! That's terrible. Why didnt your sis stop her earlier? How old was the baby? My boy taking antibiotics and it does cause diar. Urgh!!! I'm to finish according to my PD. So afraid to have a second course of diar!

Mashy, Rachel,
My sis's baby is only 9 mths old!

Rena,
What does the Bumbo seat do? Is it a car seat or feeding chair or what? Noticed that's a bulk purchase going on.

yes wendy,
can be use as a feeding chair.. not a car seat.. good for their backbone..

Y , I will put up my bank account later on..

Wendy

OMG! That's so terrible! AFter seeing GP for 2 months your sis's MIL still insistent on seeing GP? I hope your sis's MIL wasn't thinking of trying to save money on that. I know some folks including my own mum knows that seeing a PD is expensive but this is really extreme!