(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: gathering
the photos of the babies are all so cute!! hee
Looks like u all had fun! Wish i could join in!

joanna,
i'm on TBF and menses not back yet...strange that your menses hv come back. Mabbe check with ur gynae? Thot TBF menses shdn't come back so soon...

Re: Avent manual pump
Yes cannot tilt the pump if not it will leak. i ever kena worst case...i left my pump with 120mls of EBM on the sofa and it accidentally tilted w/o me realising...then my whole 120mls spilled onto the sofa and i had to wash my whole sofa set! Not to mention, i wasted 120mls of EBM!

Rachel,
thanks for bumbo website!

Rena,
let me discuss with hb first to see if he's willing to buy the bumbo! will let u know by tonite if possible.

mashy / Y
sighhhh... think i can only adjust myself rather to pin on hope for them to lift their finger to keep the place clean and change the bed sheet often. i really cant imagine letting boyboy to touch the floor when he start to crawl!

whats so difficult to visit grandchildren when they know bb is better not to travel for long hour? especially trap in the car when we are in the jam, with all the heat and rocky rid (all of us should know the condition of masia road)...

i sure will be understanding to my DIL in the future coz im been through it myself. now is a transition period, cant they be supportive rather than keep saying must bring bb back more often?? why dont they look around the house and relise its not good for bb? sigh...

mashy
err.. think your brother abit over for not visiting your dad even on CNY woh. your dad got reason to be angry.

Y
sleep is vy important to him! wait long for him to help me, coz end up he wil start rising his voice at boyboy and scare him. thats once he even slam the door when boy keep crying in the middle of the night and im trying to calm him. i did not expect him to help me liao but he need not add on to my stress by slamming the door rit?
why are man like that?? abit worry that my boy wil turn out to be like that too when he grow up...
yes, im oso keeping my spirit up by looking at my boy and use the power of love to move on no matter how tired i m.

Denmy and Cookie,
Keenan and Kaelyn look so sweet!!
Kaelyn is so adorable and demure!! very pretty.
My girl has no hair so unless I let her wear pink, she maybe mistaken as a boy but your Kaelyn look so pretty.

Rachel,
Agree he shldnt slam the door. Shldnt you the one to slam??? :p

Dont worry abt your boy becoming like him. Its how we bring our child up. If your child spend so much time with you, I believe he will turn out to be loving and a SNAG even! I'm hoping mine will. Surely wldnt let him become like the father. A very unexpressive person.

I'm usually the one that wakes up and feed.Even when i get hub to do it, i'll make milk and juz pass him and feed (usually once in the middle of the night). In the morning, I'll bring bb out to living room and play, shower...to let him sleep late. However, he fails to realise that i'm being understanding here (he works shift). He wld usually wake up ard 12noon while i'll rush through hsework and go without breakfast. Even when i go shower, i'll settle bb and all he needs to do is to keep a lookout. Being man...he will continue to surf net while my boy is wriggling in the sarong! I'll be out and start all over again to settle him. Once I told him its feeding time and it clashed with our dinner time, he snapped that dinner wld be cold after feeding. Why din get him to buy dinner earlier! Com'on, he has been eating hot meals while i handle bb and I'm the one eating cold food for weeks! I've yet to complain, who is he to complain! I even carry bb and eat while he can enjoy his meal in comfort. Man lacks initiative.I give up on him liao!!!

hi gals - i have mia so long as really busy with work...i think i missed out lots of things here...

Denmy - your boi went for swimming alreadi? i read from somewhere tat only after 6month then can go swimming... due to the sunlight or wat.

so much thread for me to catch...

oppss.. pic so big..sorry ne.

Demny
If you come across any bb swimming class.. please let me knwo too.. cos I also wanna kaelyn learn swimming

Avent open house..
Anyone going.. can check if they also sell the descaling powder?...
If selling can buy for me or not har?
my Avent steamer bottom black black liao..

Rchel
understand your worries.. if Im in your shoes I will be very worried too.
Hmm.. looks like still have to talk things out with your HB. Last time.. quarrel still can cold war with HB.. but now I always talk things out with him.
Make sure he understand what is my concern and why am I angry. Becos all concerning bb mah..esp I want to get HB involve in raising so everythin he should know and when I'm not around he take care of bb.
So.. try your best, stop the cold war, take deep breath and remain calm and talk to your HB.
Your hb probably feel bad abt yelling too but scare u still angry so also dun dare to talk to you.
So if you talk to him first.. he will be taken by surpise..
and YEs.. demny's suggestion.. throw in some tears is good too

and we will here to listen...cheer up!

Thanks. Mong.. Must be the Pink top that make her look pretty...heehee

this morning sling her down.. and this lady selling musical books say " wow congrats to your baby BOY!"... faint..haha

Rachel
Hmm... I also cannot agree with you HB slamming the door

what occupation is your HB doing? could it be.. due to his work he cannot afford to be sleepy?
My friend HB is some engineer with SIA so he cannot be sleepy on the job one.. bo will cause major mistake.
So my friend.. din get his hb to help out when bb cry also.

cookie,
dun let ur hb see them "tong chuang" woh! But they look very compatible ....even their names start with "K"!!

cookie,

i called Avent office @ 63919191 for the descaling powder and they actually can do it posting to you. and you just need post the cheque to them first. you may want to call them up first

y

my hubby also work shift..so when he is on niteshift..i need to take care of my 2 boys..

BB wake up twice at nite for feeding..and i oso need to work the next day.

babylon
ok thanks alot!!
I will call them
Oh is the powder expensive?
How often do we need to descale? is it when the black black thing come out?

babylon,
oh...u hv 2 boys!!! Must be very tiring. Me with one already super stone now.

Now wkdays i stay at moms to let him sleep and wkend i'll go back. I dun think its too much to ask him to help while i catch some rest. He shld "zhi dong" rite? I work too. 24hrs, 7days a week is too much for the body. Been ages since i get to sleep through the night.

SSF
I'm using Johnson Wipes, quite good similar to tollyjoy ones in terms of wetness. Or else I would bring bb to the sink and wash the butt if he big poo and use towel to dry off. Cleaner also. I used to use cotton wool and water but like very troublesome. Heh heh. My mum says I lazy.

Swim Gathering
Sounds like a superb idea. I would love to join you mummies in the swim gathering, gotta wait till July for my coz Daren would turn 6 months by then.

Waking up to play in the wee hours of the morning
Has this occur to any of you mums? Only recently my boy has a tendency not to want to go back to sleep immediately after his second feed (TBF) in the wee hours of the morning. I nearly wanted to strangle him!! (oops!) Instead of sleeping, he gave that all ready smile as though he wants to play. It's after I left him in the cot in the nursery room where it's dark and he started crying (left him to cry for awhile), then after which I picked him up and 'scolded' him and let him nurse to sleep which he did. How do you mummies deal with it?

cookie,
how could the music lady mistaken Kaelyn for boy?? she looks very girl girl wat..

rachel,
Denmy is right, drop some tears. men can't stand it when women cry.

thankfully my hubby helps me with the last feeding at nite while i pump milk so we can all sleep at the same time. it's my MIL who's concerned about her darling son. once she saw him looking so tired, she actually told me,"eh, he's v tired leh, night time let him sleep lah." i was so irritated, i replied,"orh, anyway he sleeps like a log, if wanna wake him also hard."

i understand wat u mean by dirty kitchen. my MIL luvs to cook but hates washing, so the sink area is perpetually full with utensils and the sink always choked with water. whenever i go there, i have no place to wash my pump. i will stand there for awhile with the pump in my hands and pretend to look lost. then she will quickly make space for me.

there was once i was going out, so i told her that the tupperware of water is for me to sterilize the pump, pls dun throw away. she replied,"dun tell me, tell the maid." i was a little put off by her reply. did she think i treat her like the maid??

aiya, MIL issue is never ending one...

mashy,
i also plan to close shop for breastmilk in end June cos i get clogged ducts once a week. Like today, i'm trying to unclog one.

i also cannot wear those nursing bras. i bot tonnes of it, different brands, different sizes, i tink i spent close to $300 on bras, but none fit well. cos when my breast fill up with milk, it goes one size bigger, when empty, back to smaller size. how to wear bra? so in the end, i'm wearing sports bra nowadays. expandable.

rachel,
hmm, sometimes i guess it all depends on how understanding the older folks are. like my parents wouldn't mind driving all the way from west to east to see their grandson. but my IL would wan us to go back every week even if no time. last week, i brought bb back by myself and my hb din even go.

mamachan
the time when kaelyn dun wan to sleep after mid nite feeding is when she is not full enough.
after I feed her more she seems ok to sleep again.

tracy
this morning kaelyn is sleeping in the sling with head out and she has crew cut hairstyle.. so maybe the lady mistaken her for boy boy ba..

cookie,
the pic of kaelyn and keenan so cute!!! i also interested in swim class. maybe our babies can all go togehter. i know my place there got swim class but dunno for what age group.

tracy
so irritating hor when MIL so protective of their sons....last time my MIL told me i must peel the skin of the fruit for my hb to eat. i dun even do that for myself.

hello mummies! It was really fun during the gathering, we got to do this every month!

Rena, thanks for opening up your house, it's lovely!
Sleepingdeer, thanks for the ride! Especially when the rain was super heavy.
Wenyl, such a small world hor?

Denmy, thanks for the sling demo! Keenan is such a good boy.
Cookie, your Kaelyn is really pretty. Must send her for baby model contests, sure win one!

Couple #1 - Keenan and Kaelyn
411177.jpg

Couple #2 - Shannon and Sumo
411178.jpg

Couple #3 - Ethan and Kirsten
411179.jpg

411180.jpg

Last night very funny.

My hb suddenly jerked up and said 'Going to drop down liao!' and did a hand wiping movement! Haha, he's sleep 'walking'. I woke him up and asked him do you remember what u did? Guess what, he dreamt that he was holding my ds and his saliva was coming down and he was rushing to get hanky to wipe off his saliva! Hahaha, so funny.

I think i'm rather blessed lah. My hb helps me with last feed and cleanning up while i pump. In the morning, he will take the first feed before he goes to work so that I can sleep longer after night duty. My son adored him. He'll chuckle and laugh when he comes home. Sigh, my ds doesn't even laugh and 'talk' so much to me. I think my hb more fun lah, will play with him. I only put him to sleep very often so that I can have some personal time. hehe.

My MIL also very protective of my hb. Everytime expect me to do the stuff. Last time my hb never steps into the kitchen. All the housework and cooking chores are given to his younger sis. No need to lift a finger one. Thank God he wasn't spoilt. Now my MIL sees my hb do the household chores like so xin tong like that. Haha, my MIL also expects me to peel fruit for my hb. But my hb doesn't really care lah.

My hb doesn't mind cleaning up and taking care of my ds. In fact, he's much better than me. He always joke that he should be the one staying at home while i go out to work.

Y
my hb oso like that! we as wife have been trying our best to handle our bb and let our hb have a good night sleep or peacefully have their meal. while we drain ourselves with all the work handeling bb and taking our meal with one hand carrying bb. we oso have to work and so super lack of sleep. we are not asking for too much right... so TL!

cookie
my hb doing sales line, so need to drive around to meet client and recieve complaints from them. so im trying to let him rest as much as possible too. if he lack of sleep he will easily fall sick. but im not asking for too much for him to be understanding. here im so stone and burn out. he still have to time to sit infront of TV and surf net.

actually the photos you post really brighten up my day =) so sweet little darlings!

Mashy,
you r indeed blessed! my hb doesn't wake up at night. but now that i m working, he does help to wash the bottles after the last feed. but i stil do the night duty. my son adores him too! and somehow my son prefers to talk to guys. he only smiles at ladies but will talk to guys. funny right.

re: Swimming
Is it ok for babies to wear just diapers to swim? Seems quite cold leh, sometimes, I can't even tahan the water myself.

rachel, think your HB still not used to being a father? I can't even imagine going to Malaysia so often, got to survive the jam. Let alone bringing along a 3mth old baby...

Tracy, sounds like your HB is your MIL's dear son. Why can't MILs treat DILs like their daughters when it always seems like our mothers treat their SILs like their sons? So unfair hor?

cookie

I was wondering if he has enough or not and did offer him the other breast but his body language tells me he doesn't want to drink. Quite exasperating.

mashy brainz,
my hubby same as your hubby, never do housework at home as his mother is a house wife. my MIL sort of expect me to take good care of my hubby just as how she takes care of him. His sister is also the one kena all the household work. luckily, he is also not spoilt. now he help me mop floor, iron clothes and occasionally other stuff. he is also very good with my daugther.

SY
yah agreed that it all depends on the old folks... no choice lo. we as DIL has to give in and adjust ourselves.

tracy
ya lo.MIL issue never ending. but you are forturate your hb is helping you out.
me oso wan to close shop for BF. but i keep telling myself must tong must tong, for as long as i can. wat i know the reason for block duct is duee to breast not empty totally. so try to hand express after your every pump. although it is super tiring la.

mashy
your hb so cute. its very sweet of him too.

mamachan
what time does your boy sleep? i have difficulty putting my boy back to sleep if he sleeps early like 8+. but if he sleeps at 9+, he usually goes right back to sleep after 2nd feed.

SY,
peel skin off fruit for hb?? ya right, as if we will do such things in this generation! hb peel skin for us more like it!

val,
ya, my hb is e eldest so he's the precious one. it is indeed very unfair. i told my hb next life i wanna be man liao. woman's life very hard. :p

mamachan
you try to avoid having eye contact with your boy. just pat him but keep your eye away. coz bb like my boy oso, will search for your eye telling you he wan to play.
after sometime he will get the signal its not playtime liao. and hopefully he will get tired of trying and zzzzz... =) it helps for my boy.

re: gathering
like what valerie sugguest, lets have gathering every 1 to 2 months! really wan to meet up with all bb and mummies!

valerie
he adore boyboy, but think his temper really cant make it when it comes to lack of sleep or he is distrubed from his beauty sleep. what to do, he die die want go back can i say no... sigh...

just read somewhere if you're BF, menses shouldnt come, is it true? I'm actually a mtb Sep 06....sorry for intruding but trying to find out mor info during my pregnancy. BTW, whats TBF?

val,
actually, during labour pain i oredi told my hb next life i wanna be man.. haha

SSF,
haha, looking for ur future daughter in law already?

rachel,
next gathering u muz bring ur boy, otherwise my gal no partner. she's too tall.

mamachan,
i tink u can try giving ur boy the other breast. most prob he needs more milk. and also avoid eye contact like wat rachel said. sometimes after the night feed, my gal will smile at me like wanna play. i jus ignore her and put her back into cot. after awhile, she'll go to zz.

re: menses

since birth of boyboy, been having spotting twice le.
each spotting last about 3 days. me on partial BF not so lucky to TBF (total breast feed) la

thank you so much for your advise and comfort. feel much better now. feel even better after seeing all those bb photos =) now the dark clouds above me are getting thinner liao

tracy
sure sure! will try my vy vy best to join in for the next gathering! so i "book" your little gal for my boy boy partner okie? heehee must remember to tell my boy when i go back after work today. so he can dress up for the coming meet up =p

Valarie,
the photos are so cute.. email me the soft copies, big ones can? [email protected]. Dunno about the rest of the mummies, but I find all three couples have 'FU QI XIANG' leh! Their faces so alike, Keenan and Kaelyn, Shannon and Sumo with chubby face and legs (with th lines somemore!) and Ethan and Kristen with their eyes which look alike...!

Mamachan,
my gal too! Somemore at 4am in the morning! She can latch on and after about 5 min, she will catch my eye, stop drinking and smile at me! Many times somemore! Everytime, have to talk to her, and push her nipple back into her mouth, and awhile later, there she goes again!

Aiyoh SY!
Your hubby is really pampered by his mum leh!

Mashy,
your hubby so funny, saliva dropping, haha...

Tracy, Rachel,
MIL issues will never end... sigh... sometimes I wish my hubby will get a overseas assignment for 2 years, then I will be super happy... hahah

Tracy, now that you reminded of the labour pains. My HB went opp TMC for his fav beef hor fun for late lunch while I'm in the birthing room. Nvm, I'm ok with that since he didn't have his lunch and I did. But TMC has to renovate at that time lor. When my pains started to intensify, there was this loud and long drilling going on and wah lau, made my pains triply worse. HB came back but pains were quite bad already. Had to take pentithine (dunno spelling) after that.

SSF, quickly book a bride for your son first! Even rachel and tracy have matched theirs liao.

sleepingdeer, I thought so too! Got fu qi xiang. I've sent you the photos already.

Mashy, your HB so cute. He must be really tired. When my girl was still waking up 2/3 times a night, my still asleep HB will always pai pai his bolster and say "It's ok, it's ok" and bb was still crying in her cot... So funny... After I got up to feed her, he's still hitting his bolster. hahaa..

re: menses
I'm still TBF, so far spotted once for about 2 days. same as you, rachel.

sleepingdeer

Overseas assignment? 2 years later still gotta come back. Haha, i wish we migrate to somewhere else! Been telling my hb that. Haha, my hb also had that thought, bless him!

I told my hb if i get preg 2nd time, i want to go on real confinement. I'll disappear for that 1mth with the baby where his parents cannot find me. Haha! I cried dunno how many times becoz of them during my confinement. And yes, i blame them for my low ms. Imagine all the stress from them. Of course milk supply will go down.

i was blessed that my hubby is helping me with the housework and taking care of my elder son.
I really dun have the extra energy to play with my elder son...feel bad.

things was tough was only when he is on nite shift or oversea trip..blessed it is over..he just come back from Taiwan..and whole of this month was pretty stress for me..coz i m having exam, my bb was sick..and need to entertain my elder son coz hubby not around.
i would say tat when you are having 1 kid..it is easy to handle..but when you got 2..this is bigger challenge..
dun think i will going to have the 3rd one..unless accident...

Y,
My bb feeding hasn't improve. Infact now he can go for up to 7 hrs without milk when last feed was just 120ml! He averages about 600-750ml each day depending whether he sleeps through the night.

I kinda tell myself not to fret over the amount he's drinking... he's happy, poos and weighs ok so I'll just wait till his next jab in end May to ask PD. Today just started mixing 1 scoop of similac with 2 scoops of Nan HA, will see if he likes it better

SSF,
Re: Wipes. I'm biased as I work in J&J... so got tons of wipes at home and I must say I have been using it very extravagantly cos too much supply at home and wipes have an expiry date.
Personally I like the skincare wipes cos very thick and poo poo doesn't seep through + 'conditions' my bb's butt at the same time hee... Some moms prefer the fresh cleansing one as it is more multi-purpose and quite pure without fragrance & hypo-allergenic.

SY,
wow... you manage to get 80s pack for $2? That's about as cheap as my staff sale. Maybe the stocks 'leaked' out... happened when I was working in Nestle too, somehow the bb cereal samples ended up being abused by retailers (when we give them for free to distribute, they ended up selling them)

Rachel
men is like that one.. they can let go and play PC game and watch TV.. but for me.. I couldn't I will feel guilty for not playing or spend time with my gal.
Sometimes I think... its their mind set that set them do things different from us.. like me gan cheong spider one, everything must do properly, must spend time with my gal scare she dun like me etc.. but my hb dun care one lor maybe he confident bb sure like him. of course when he come back home he still go and play with her.
Like now I typing forum, my hb play game lor.

I think you are not demanding to ask HB to help at all.. for me.. I also get HB involve, when he is around, I attend to bb will ask him to help make milk and wash bottle.. like that he knows he has responsible for bb task also.
Maybe U can get your hb to do things while he not sleeping.. slowly slowly "train" him.

Babylon
Thanks.. thats good.. not too expensive.

SY
if your place has swimming class .. good ley.. very near my place also.
That day I watch xin xin mummy.. Channel U.. I saw them having bb swimming class on the roof top of Suntec City I think.

Valerie
I look at the couple #1, 2, 3... I laugh.. make my day!!

Re: 2nd feed bb..
Oh.. dun on the light if possible.. last time I only leave on light from toilet from close door. so bb cannot see my face but drink only.. and will not be awake.

Re: Hb not do house work
My hb also only son and from young.. also golden finger MIL do everything for him.
When good enough, my hb not spoil also la.. when MIL not around he will do housework.
But strange thing is when MIL is around.. he never do house work one and leave it to his MIL..
When he dun do that means I got to do mah... he is son, mil will not be unhappy..
can u imagine I also dun do, MIL sure think this DIL so lazy rite?
SO when I'm tired and dun feel like washing plates.. and MIL around.. I got to beg my hb to help wash plate then my HB will say leave it to mum.. faint..!!! end up I got to wash..

Rachel,
maybe u can compromise by bring ur own things? Eg, cloth to lay over bed for bb to sleep, bring own changing mat for bb to change and scrub the pot real clean when u reach there?

This is what I do when I go my PIL place. Although travelling is not as far as urs, mine is from Jurong to Seng Kang. We already make effort to bring bb there at 9am so to let them "SEE" her as they work at 1pm every week. If we are 30mins late, they will start calling and question. They dun wash bedsheet often too, so I bring own changing mat. They dun wash kettle everytime they use, so I bring my own hot flask to make milk. I am going to request my hubby to ask them wash the sarong everytime we left the place, else the sarong will be hanging there trapping dust!

Understand how u feel, first must let ur hubby agree that ur PIL place is dirty. Then u can start bring ur own stuff there.

hi rena,
added in my bumbo order!

1. Denmy - aqua
2. Cookie - Yellow or Lilac also can
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua
5. Cindy - Lime green (confirm)
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac
8. Clayre - Lilac
9.God's child - lime green
10. krissie - yellow
11. Mamachan - Aqua
12. babylon - aqua
13. Y - lime green
14. durianlover - lilac

the pictures of the babies are so cute! and i agree with sleepingdeer - they really have fu qi xiang! heh

mashy,
ur hubby's dream really funny! haha

mamachan,
my gal also used to wake up wanting to play in the wee hrs of morning. i just leave her to play by herself...she'll talk to the animals on her musical mobile and play by herself. Then after abt 20mins when she's bored she'll start making noise, wanting to be entertained. i'll carry her for a while then stuff pacifier into her mouth. Usually she'll drift off to sleep after that. But sometimes when she doesn't, i'll shift her to sleep beside me so i can always pop back the pacifier when it drops from her mouth (to prevent her from making noise!) and she'll go back to sleep.

Re: Gathering
bbs so cute!! ..couple couple somemore...so sweet!! Wish I was there with Brandon...want to find girlfriend for him too...heheh!

Re: Swimming
I want to bring Brandon for swimming also..count me in if got gathering. Brandon loves his pom pom sessions, everyday bathe 2 times still not enough. Carry him up from bathtub always cry and cry.

Re: Menses
Got my 2nd spotting in 3 weeks. Lasted for 3 days only. My MS also dropped quite a bit during this period.