(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

410568.jpg

BB Ashley holding her own bottle for the first time. = )

hmm... looks like tomorrow.. I must start to train Kaelyn hold her own bottles...

Clare.. Rena was telling me this afternoon, have to train bb old bottles and there you are.. showing Ashley holding her bottle..heehee

Wendy
Ya lor.. I know she misses her.. but jut very irritating at time :p
ya old folk.. I suppose is not good at expressing themselve.. will try to understand.. sigh...

My gosh, all the babies togetheri n the photo, SO CUTE!!! All make friends liao

Joanna,
No menses for me. Am on TBF too...
Could it because your frequency of pumping / latching has decreased such that your body thinks that you are weaning, hence menses came?

Re. Stopping BF
How to do that? Do we need to take pills to dry up the milk or can just wean off naturally? Not that I'm thinking of BF anytime soon, just wondering how to stop naturally, cos if decrease pumping and latching, the breasts will be like super full the whole day right?

Re. Solid foods
I suppose to start off, probably only feed once or twice a day on solids? How soon to increase intake of solids?

hi mummies who went 4 gathering,
Keenan and I had fun too! Rena, thanks for letting us use your place.

Cookie,
Kaelyn is you hb's precious little princess leh... don't tell him about the "tong chuang" ok? shhhhh......

How come my photos turn out very very small when I make them into 50k in photoshop. Anyone got a clue?

Tabbs,
re: weaning
I was also planning to wean Keenan from the breasts and BF, and start feeding EBM and FM from bottle, cutting down on EBM slowly and stopping eventually in 3 mths. Felt very emotional just by thinking if I should do it or not... until the breastfeeding talk I went to yesterday at KKH... so quite inspired and some mummies even BF their bbs until 2 years old. Now I'm sticking to BFing as long as MS lasts. I will still feed Keenan EBM during the day and direct latch in the wee hours of morning if he wakes up, as well as early morning. I will only start to wean him from the breasts when he starts to teeth.

Cookie,
I know what u mean....the irritating part....hee!
Old folks not just not good at expressing themselves, they also ai mian zi (want face!) They will never admit they not up to the job one.

queen,

from what I know we will need to take cue from bb's reaction.. and it varies from bbs to bbs

Wenyl,

my hb tot that ethan was elijah ont he last pics..I should let him wear that pieces too hor..

Re: Gathering

Wow! Looks like the babies all had a fun time! Wish I could join you all the next time round.

Rena
I would like to place an order for the bumbo seat, color aqua. Thanks!

sleepingdeer
try to just ignore what your MIL say. sometimes, they dun really mean it. My MIL also sometimes makes silly remarks. I'll just ignore. she even told me "must" feed FM??? I was qt firm on that when I was in hosp and said no. plus she kept promoting pacifier.. even until now keep saying that he suck thumb coz no pacifier, etc... basically, I'll ignore what she says and complain to my mum or gfs... ha ha...

tabbiesus
agree with you on the bonding for latching. At first, I missed it too and was v sad. now, got used to it coz my boy doesnt drink v well when at the breast.. it's a matter of getting used to it. can gradually cut down lah..then not so sad.

janmom
maybe coz papaya is supposed to be cooling. but, i still take lah, coz gt v bad constipation.. no choice loh.

re gathering
so cute, all the bbs sleeping tog.

rachel,

so nice to be able to make use of the sling. I only dare to put my baby into the sling when she is sleeping. she will wail when she is awake. maybe because I don't know how to make her comfortable in the sling. can I just go to MIM like that to ask them to teach me?

The pic with all the babies is so cute but somehow the babies look quite alike. heehee! all so chubby and adorable.

re; solid food
I don't intend to let my baby start on solid until 6 months or later or unless she show signs that milk is no longer enough for her. esp since she does not has very good skin, I want to minimize chances of her getting allergies.
see the link here on starting solids.
http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/solids-when.html
Clariss took a few licks at a drumstick and a biscuit at the ceremony to eat solids on sunday.
410813.jpg

RE: MIL
thanks for the 'cooling advise' ladies! I am learning 'one ear in, one ear out' gong fu now

Krissie, SY, Tabbi,
I totally agree, sometimes they say totally stupid things... sigh... I just hope that as Shannon grows up, she can stop hearing these things or she will start taking sides.

Mashy,
you're so right... I CAN'T WAIT until I stop work!

May,
that is the scary thing leh, not feeding bb enuff...I always worry about her not getting enuff, coz I find she gets grumpy when she is not really full... just like the dad... sigh...

Re: Gathering
Yeah, Swimming is a good idea! But hoh, I heard they should be 6 months and above? Anyway, my place has a small baby and adult pool, so you mummies and babies can come over anytime...

Clarye,
so smart! AShley can hold bottle by herself already... Shannon is still doing 'boxing', clenching her fist under her chin.

Denmy,
I change the image size to 300K using photoshop, either width or length, whichever is the bigger of the two.. try it?

mongs,
clariss so cute..trying the drumstick. there was once when i offered my bb some fruit (just put in front to tempt) and he leaned forward to try to lick it. so funny.

re swimming
i intend to bring my bb swimming when he's 6 months too. wanted to buy those swim diapers cos so cute but not cheap.

my place also has pool so it's open as well...

sleepingdeer,
shd tell your MIL that if bb dun eat enough, they can't sleep as well which is not good for their growth!

RE: bumbo

Those who wants to purchase , kindly update the list for my easy reference..

1. Denmy - aqua
2. Cookie - Yellow or Lilac also can
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua
5. Cindy - Lime green (confirm)
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac
8. Clayre - Lilac
9.God's child - lime green
10. krissie - yellow
11. Babylon - aqua
12. Mama chan - aqua

Avent Open House(Family Event)
Date: 13 May 2006
Time: 10am - 4pm
Location: 152 Beach Rd,Gateway East 4th floor conference room

Family activities include mothers,fathers n caregivers
Public talks include Breastfeeding Techniques,Hands-on Baby bath Techniques for Caregiver
Special programmes for dads and other family-oriented activities

Special sale on 32nd floor,with goodie bags,promotions n savings on purchases.Light refreshment will be served.

For more details on the registration,fee,programme and schedule,please call Avent's customer service hotline at 63919191.

The babies are so cute! So sad didn't get to go coz the skies looked so threatening at my place.

Swimming is a great idea! But when can we let bb swim? After which jab? Scared he swallow the chlorine water leh.

Re: Avent Manual Pump
SO frustrated with it! I already have very low ms and it still leaked like mad. I think today probably leaked about 10ml! Even the bottle was leaking! Was shocked when I saw the puddle of milk below the bottle! Urgh!

Hi Mashy,
too bad you didn't come, we can bash our MILs then... hee hee...

Think Swimming is ok once they hit 6 months? I've seen Europeans bring their 3 month old babies swimming, scary!

How come your Avent pump leaking? I nearly bought one coz I heard very good comments about it?

mongs
you are using MIM sling? if yes you can bring your sling there and ask the staff there to teach you. thats what i did. even if you are not using their sling can still loan one from them and ask them to demo and teach you.

Sy - we actually bought a swimming trunks for my boy at kiddy palace for $25 plus. very cute and nice. also bought him a arm float. hehee..

Then later we went to cold storage and saw the disaposable diapers by huggies at 15 plus for 12 pcs. so in the end we bought the disposable ones and went and change the swimming trunks in kiddy palace for something else. i think disposable is better ..after use can throw. dun worry if he cannot wear anymore..the most can sell it off and also need not wash the trunk should he poo in it. u can go to cold storage and check out. i bought the smallest size. now i cannot wait to see him swim in those cute trunks!

re avent manual pump
i also have the same problem as mashy. think not very good at using it. always end up wasting my milk.

mashy
how come dun wan to get electric pump? my MS increase since i start using electric pump and less wastage also (except when my butter fingers accidentally spill the milk)

SSF
that's a cute idea. not too ex at 15 plus for 12 pieces. plus they grow so fast...i almost want to buy size S for swimming shorts and size M for swimming diapers cos it's so cute....

yah i m waiting for the day he can go swimming...

re: avent open house

sound interesting. any mummy wanna go? so there will be admission fee?

mashy
where does it leak out from?? mine working fine since bought it and use for 3 months liao... can say its good and comfy then those electric ones.

anyone using wipes at home? my mum who is looking after my boy is using wipes as its too troublesome to use cotton wool and water. the thing is that the wipes finishes so fast. any recommendation on a cheaper wipes? i currently using avent ones and its moist and good.

wow. the gathering looked very fun. babies are very cute.... too bad that i can't attend, got to work...

SY
i also wanna bring my gal for swimming. do we need to buy swim suit?

so are we organising swimming session for our babies? anyone staying at condo? it be so cute to see so many babies in the pool

Wld like to get one too. Thanks!

1. Denmy - aqua
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac
8. Clayre - Lilac
10. krissie - yellow
11. Babylon - aqua
12. Mama chan - aqua
13. Y - lime green

RE : Anyone seeing PD?
Wondering anyone seeing PD? Results came back and his infection has cleared. However he still needs to take a preventive antibiotic before the MCU. His stools has been loose and afraid diar soon. Can help me ask PD if its necessary to take preventive antibiotic even the infection has cleared? Very sim tia to see him like that. Thanks.

RE : Gathering Pics
The babies look SOOOO CUTE!!! Wld try to join the next time. Been chatting yet to see how everyone look like!

SY
your MS increase after using the electric pump? i jus bought one electric but after each pump when i hand express there will still be some milk. does that mean the pump did not empty my breast?? have not see any increase in MS leh....

SSF

RE: wipes

I am using tollyjoy which is cheap but the pieces are thinner and smaller and have tendency to come out all stuck together which is irritating, and pigeon brand which is much better, thicker and easier to pull out but more expensive.. but I think its still cheaper than avent brand.. can see at the below website.. got some other brands like Farlin which I haven't tried yet...

http://www.shopbug.com/store/product_info.php?cPath=79_87&products_id=317&osCsid=a447bb68bc3771d3934139fa6abb534f

http://www.shopbug.com/store/product_info.php?cPath=79_99&products_id=1775&osCsid=a447bb68bc3771d3934139fa6abb534f

I bought the Tollyjoy one from the shopbug site but I usually stock up during JL or Robinson sale! I will be one of the mummies buying lots of wipes and detergent then...

rachel,think got $5 admission fee but will have goodie bag

SSF,
i m using wipes at home. using johnson all these while from day 1. how much is avent? i got my johnson from one of the mummies in forum at $2 per pack. got a dozen packs.

sunny,
not sure whether need to wear swimsuit but sure will look very cute.

re swimming
i stay in an EC so got pool. quite big pool. so if interested, i will org a gathering when our bb are abt 6 months.

re: swimming,
I also stay at EC at admiralty. can also come if interested. my girl has 2 sets of 2 pcs swimsuit. very tempted to bring her swimming in the evening but have not done so. my colleague brought his son for a swim when he was 11 weeks. keep the head above the water should be fine. best to swim in the evening when the water is slightly warm.

for those who are interested, kindly update the following list..Wed is the last day to confirm coz I do not want the mummies to wait too long

1. Denmy - aqua
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac
8. Clayre - Lilac
10. krissie - yellow
11. Mamachan - Aqua
12. babylon - aqua

SSF
me same as tabbiesus. using tollyjoy (non-scent) and like what tabb mention tends to come out 2 to 3 pcs stick together. pigeon better but more ex.

re: gathering
so envy. mummies and bb sure have so much fun! really wish to have one coming up so can bring my boy to join in the fun too!!

Sleepingdeer & Rachel

Ya lor, then can do some MIL bashing. hahaha!

Apparently a lot of people's avent manual pump leaked. Urgh! It's from the edges near the valve and today, my bottle leaked too from the sides of the cover.

SY
I'm using medela's mini electric too. But find like not much use like that. My ms so low, i've to squeeze my breasts each time for milk. Squeeze until bruise liao. Cannot auto milk flow.

sigh. Then now my ducts kenna clogged again. So sian, kept getting clogged.

SSF
I'm using Pigeon wipes and i love it. so easy to use. Tried Johnson and tollyjoy. Tollyjoy also good. Didn't like Johnson, find too thick and when i pull out 1 pc, a few pcs came out together.

Re: swimming
Kidzloft sells swimsuits. Very cute! Maybe i might at a shirt for him to wear with the disposable swimming diapers.

RE : Bumbo
Rena, added mine in the previous msg. Anyway, updated this one.Thanks.

1. Denmy - aqua
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac
8. Clayre - Lilac
10. krissie - yellow
11. Mamachan - Aqua
12. babylon - aqua
13. Y - lime green

the pics of the gathering soooo cute! wish i was thr too.

SSF,
i use tollyjoy wipes. so far so good.

re:avent pump
leak? i've not experienced dat leh.

had a heated quarrel with hb yesterday... over going back to msia to visit his parent. i have been hesticating to go back since giving birth. with the travel time and the house condition im really turn off...
imagine bedsheet not change for at least 4 months! if i did not voice out to have it change i think no one will lift a finger... and the kitchen is sooo messy and oily that i cant think of a place to put my washed pump and bottles... its a dry and wet kitchen so can imagine they dont bother to clean up the wet kitchen area. im using boiling method to sterilize my pump and bottles, but the oily and black stove really turn me off. i cant imagine to pump in the night and still have to go downstair to wash and boil water and try to find a safe way to dry my things without having lizard or what ever to run in. i dont even dare to touch their table cloth which is stain with all kind of sauce and dont know what else...
he keep wanting to go back this long weekend. really dont wish to stay there for 2 nights. during the last visit im really burn out, with bb crying and no one but myself to handle him. when bb is happy and fun PIL wil play with him, when he cranky and cry they will throw back to me... and i dont want tv screen incident to happen again (MIL carry bb right infront of the switched on TV screen)
mummies, am i asking for too much? bb is small and i really find it tough for me to do my routine washing and pumping there. its not that i totally dont want to visit them but to cut down the number of visit... he even accused me for slamming the car door so hard and show him black face. does he really know im really tired with all the mid night feedings and pumpings and he is happily sleeping away... i jus wan to get out of the rain asap and think i use more force to close the car door. im wrong to do that?? do he need to yell at me and boyboy actually jumped...

so sorry for the long stroy, wanted to vent my anger here........ vy tired

SY, Sleepingdeer,

re: swimming
should be OK to swim for BB under 6mths. Keenan had his 1st swim around

2 mths. Infact, i thinking of joining BB swimming class....

re: swim nappies
I saw some selling at Bumwear for under S$10. Otherwise can buy Huggies

disposable swim nappies.

re: Avent open house
Thanks for the info.

Mashy
re: leaking bottle
Do you mean the bottle leaks when u are pumping? I also had the same

experience... i think it's becos we tilt the bottle too much. Try to

keep bottle straight and it should be ok. Or try using a bigger bottle.

rachel,
I can understand how you feel... don't be so stressed cos ultimately, we don't want our BBs to be affected, as they can sense the tension going on one. For BB's sake, try to close one eye lor. As for HB, can try to tell him how you feel, with a bit of tear thrown in. It normally works... keke

denmy
i told him before how i felt, still he want to go back. he said can compromise one mah. how to compromise? who will clean up the place and keep it clean and neat?... he is not the one breast feeding how he know the difficulties and inconvience! fedup with him. im even more angry with him yelling at me.
did not speak a single word to him since last night...

re: leaking avent bottle
yah dont tilt too much, else the milk will flow to the thread and thats why will leak from there.

rachel
last time when i use the avent, i cd only get like 40ml max every 3 hours. since i switch to PIS, i cd get 60ml or every 3 hours. nowadays after 5 hours, i get about 120ml. i still hand express after using. what i do is i will massage and pump (repeat 2 more times). this usually will extract close to 90% of the milk. then just hand express remaining. find that after i started to hand express remaining milk, MS is slightly better.

re wipes
so far johnson is ok with me. i can pull out pc by pc....

mashy
i also had very low MS in the beginning. and i still get clogged ducts too. how often u pump?

rachel,
i can understand how u feel. sometimes hb just dun understand how tired we are in trying to do our best for bb....pumping etc all not easy. last time i also angry with hb for wanting to go back to IL place on weekday after work during my preggy days and already feeling so tired. plus they dun cook and we have to ta bao each time so always end up eating very late.

which part of malaysia do they stay? is it possible to go only as day trip or your IL come over instead?

SY
thanks for the info. think will try to massage more times and hand express after that. these few days think too tired liao, MS drop by 40ml! sian. i get around 120 ml after 6hrs interval nowadays...

they live in johor estate, senai, about 45 min drive from my place to theirs (not counting in the jam) day trip think not possible, PIL will complaint and hb will not do that one. IL coimng over... wait long long, its actually much easy for them to come visit us and its not that they dont have car. they just dont wan lo... sigh

the recently trip back we actually only reach their place by 6pm, coz bb dont know why super cranky and keep crying. by the time he is more settle down and we stuck in the as usual jam at crossway, its already evening time and next morning we leave after bath bb. like that rush here and rush there he oso happy...

SY

Wah, can increase so much. Ai yah, if earlier i would have probably gotten a PIS. But now already 4mths liao. Think i just tong another 1-2mths, then i close shop liao.

Used to pump every 3hrs. Nowadays a bit lazy and pump just 3 times a day. Surprisingly, my MS actually went up after that. Now dunno why kenna clogged up again. hiaz...

Rachel
It's his parents mah. Bo bian one lah. Next time your boy may also be like that to his wife. Tell his wife no matter what must come and visit you. Maybe u get the sterilising tablets? Like that can keep inside container. Don't even need to step into kitchen.

You already very lucky lor, long long time only see them once. For me, it's every week.
Maybe they're like my father, thinks that it's a disgrace have to visit their grandchildren. Their children and grandchildren should come and visit not the other way round. Like cheng he ti tong. My bro never visits my father. Even CNY also didn't come. Always excuse say very busy. So busy still can go holiday. My father was very pissed. He's very good already, didn't scold him, just complain to me. If it's my ILs, i think my ILs will scream at us.

Rachel,
well, I wldnt be keen to bring bb back in condition like that. Its very impt to keep everything clean and hygiene is super impt now. Hubby doesnt understand our concern as we are the one going through and not them. U are the one hving to wake up, pump, wash, feed...change...when bb is cranky, everyone will look at the mum and expect us to be able to handle them. Just use the love of your child to conquer your frustration. Your hub probably feel that the grandparents love the bb too much and wld very much like to spend time with bb. Explain your concern with him again. If really need to go, tell your hub he has to help out as much as possible.

Hai...i'm super TL wif hub too. So everyday, i'll just look at my son and use the power of LOVE to give me the extra energy i need.