(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

krissie,
my boy also bb talk with hb only and maid too..

tracy
i hope that bb really know who mummy is....i dun wipe him down now but think once i start work, i will take over from maid. think she also need a break from taking care of him the whole day....

sl,
u bring the PIS out to pump? i m thinking of bringing that..so heavy right....

wendyheng,
my fren's bb doesn't wake up at night since 2 months. now abt 5 months already. she told me when they wake up at night, dun feed them but try to make them go back to sleep. after a while they will know that they dun get to drink milk and won't wake up. it works for her. i haven tried yet.

SSF
i m using similac. so far ok but my boy doesn't poo everydya. as for drinking water, why dun u try giving him near feeding time? that's the time my boy will drink more water. initially he din want to drink also but if we dun let him start now, he will not drink as he grows up

sleepingdeer
is it possible for u to tell hb abt what u feel abt MIL not letting u care for bb fully? maybe tell him that MIL shd take a break and let u care for Shannon since that's the reason why u quit in the first place.

i also got a bumpermat for bb long long time ago..

i know i asked this before. when shd bb go for the 2nd dose of 6 in 1? i remember someone replied 6 weeks after 1st dose. my bb went for his first dose at close to 6 weeks and i brought him for 2nd dose at 11+weeks. is that too early?

any mummy bring bb to GP for jab? does your GP do the assessment checks or u go back to PD for it?

Well sleeping deer,

my MIL is also like that .. on 1 hand ask me to work then she keep saying that she can't cope.. at time when I go over she will be like that too.. but I am very firm with her.. I always tell her I have my own way to take care of him.. if she continue like that the person who suffer is me and not her....usually she will let go..

SY,
i'm the one who said 2nd dose for 6-in-1 jab is 6 weeks after the 1st dose. That's what the nurse at the clinic told me leh. Perhaps u can call up your PD's clinic and check with them? Btw what's a bumpermat?? Is it like a gym-mat?

Sept03 bride,
The Kidslink clinic contact no. is 63100900. But sometimes i hv to call many times b4 someone picks up the phone.

sleepingdeer,
Think u'll hv to draw boundaries with your MIL. My hb and i made it very clear that we wanted to take care of our baby ourselves, so our parents & ILs all respect that decision. But gotta be tactful in putting in across too!

Re: baby sleeping thru the nite
My gal also wakes up for 1 feed at about 5am. I did consider not feeding her so that she can sleep thru the nite. So far i've tried giving her pacifier, delaying the feed, and carrying her back to sleep - in the hope that she wouldn't want milk and be able to sleep thru the nite. But it doesn't work. Think when she wakes up she's hungry. So to make things easier i just feed her and she'll fall asleep immediately after her 5am feed...so i figured it's much easier to just feed her than to try out methods to get her not to feed!

rena
thanks..

re milk powder
I'm using similac.

SY
So sad, right? I feel that he prefers hb to me. coz hb is the one feeding him and burping him. Me mostly pumping.

krissie
i worse. hb only plays with him. only feeds like one feed on weekends whereas i do abt 4 feeds each day n he still likes to play with him.

durianlover
i did call them up and got a bit confused cos one nurse say 6 weeks for 1st jab early and yet when i called last time they say 6 weeks ok....

sl,
your lc really say dun need to pump at night anymore? :D Then will ms decrease?

ssf,
my boy also dun like water. i tried giving it to him earlier when it was just 1 hr after a feed and he just wanted to suckle. he rejected the pacifier too: cried and cried.
but I realise he drinks when he is really hungry... like the other night BB woke up at 3am for feed, and I thought I'd train him to sleep thru by not giving him milk, so offered water and he gulped dowm 40ml of it!!!! Then after that not satisfied, and he cried. I felt so evil then...In the end I gave in la... was thinking to myself what for when BB still so young, dunno if his stomach can take it or not. Furthermore my breasts was full.... and I latched him on in the end.

tracy, sept 03 bride,
my gynae is also Dr Soong. Yvonne right?

Wendy!!!! OMG!!!!IMPRESSIVE or what!?? the last pic has got a dramatic effect with a colour spot at the centre of it....

SY
dun tink too much, jus enjoy urself when spending time w bb. e bond will always b thr.i used to fear bb will stick more to MIL, but aft going bk 2 work n being busy, dun bother abt it liao. now jus happy to c my bb aft work everyday.

Denmy,
ya yvonne soong. she everyting also ve hor..slimming gel, slimming oil. u still taking calcium n DHA from her? she say muz continue while BF...aiyo, v ex ah!

queen,
tried 2 pumps las nite, cannot mk it
aft oni 5min hand pain oredi. also i was v messy, had milk dripping all over. so nw bk to 1 pump.

pumping at nite
my last pump is 11pm. then zz till 5am (like nw). wunder if can pump earlier at 10pm so can zz earlier..wori will get milk clog. eversince start work, get milk clog once a week
sianz.

sleepingdeer
my MIL opp of urs. wanna look aft ALL her grandkids. she's looking aft mine n my 2 nephews (5 n 2 yrs), wunder how she handles. i dun like e way tings are done, but dun choice.. my poor bb often gets "bullied" by the 2 nephews.

the 2yrs one too young to understand. he always like to squeeze her hand. when my older nephew tells his own mum, my SIL, she can say (in front of me), itz ok, as long as megan dun cry. huh?!! i tink by the time she cries, fingers broken liao..

once he even press the soft part of her head n i happened to c. i almost fainted! n he did this while my MIL was burping her but she happen to look away! so i dunno wat else goes on at hm whn i'm at work...all i can do is pray dat God will protect her.

the 2 boys often fall sick too n they dun make an effort to separate them fm my bb..like now they both got cough n flu. sigh, they r still allowed to put their faces into my bb's face.

i can't wait for her to grow bigger then she can wack the 2 boys.

morning mummies...

had a good rest yesterday..didnt woke up to pump. instead last pump at midnight and slept till 7.30a.m this morning. was just so tired yesterday looking after my boy. and i realise my breasts aren't engorged at all after more than 7 hrs. guess i will stick to this schedule so i can sleep longer. great..no more 3a.m pumping session! just worry MS will dip further.

krissie - really more milk har? like that i will go n buy some durian later n try if it works for me

SY- but to feed him water near feeding time...won;t it decrease his milk intake? yesterday tried feeding him directly after milk n he give me the bitter kind of face n keep pushing the teats out.in the end..give him my EBM in the next feed so as to quench his thirst as well. luckily my boy poo everyday n its still yellowish.

those mummies whose bb is on total FM..is ur bb poo poo green in colour?

krissie
really?? no wonder last sunday i had some durian paste n i express immed aft dat got slightly more milk...keke..muz go eat more durian.

Morning Mummies,
back at work after two days of leave...

Wendy Heng,
the bulk purchase for the bumpermat closed liao, but you can look out for it again in teh Marketplace and exchange thread, quite alot of good stuff going on... I got it for $151 when usual price was $189.

CLoth books are story books made from cloth, good for babies to feel and touch while being entertained at the same time....

SL,
hee hee, me too, saw the Carters Rompers bulk purchase, and was debating whether to get it since it's cheap, $19.50 for 5... but I heard from a mummy that the material is very thin, so in the end, didn't get it...

SY,
me also, bring the PIS to work to pump.. but I only bring on Mondays, and bring home to Fridays...

SY, Durianlover, Rena, Tracy,
yeah, I told my hubby about it when he came home, he will talk to my MIL about change in roles since I will be staying at home to take care of Shannon... hopefully, he will get the right message across and she can stop bugging me...! THink I am really soft with my MIL, like the day I was discharged from hospital after birth, and we get into the car for her first signiciant car ride home? Well, my MIL insisted on carrying bb, and I felt so robbed of that first experience, of bringing bb home... sigh, so weak..!

Tracy,
your two nephews are really one kind, hearing you say that they bully your gal make me so sad for her! Really hope she grow up fast and like you say, wack them upside down!

SSF,
my bb's poo turned green once, but that was coz she was on BM, and getting too much foremilk, and not enuff hindmilk... our PD say that if bb on FM, and poo turns green, check your sterilizing methods to ensure that the bottles are clean... we changed from boiling to steam sterilizing our bottles also once we started using more bottles for EBM.

SY (sychua79)
Oic but different baby different character. Her baby easy to coax ma mine i think cant do this as last nite i try not to feed him use zhuzhu ende up still crying cant calm down so no choice feed him. hehe is my mil feeding him for midnight feeding. But sometime i hear him i'll wake up c wat happen. help out my mil

SSF,
My bb poo is now mostly green. Used to be yellowish when he was on partial BM. As long as color not greyish or black it's ok.
The texture varies from time to time though...
He poos once a day in the mornings.
Farts sometimes quite smelly hee hee... must be the FM.

Rena,
Pay you the gathering $ on Sat can? No time to find atms... started work this week and always thinking of bb.

sleepingdeer,
green cos of sterilizing not well done? My bb poo turned super dark green (like algae) and i panicked. I called the KK helpline and went to PD they all say its formula. So i call milk company, they say it's the ingredient (iron and whey protein) that is passed out. I asked why like that suddenly and they said prob bb not absorbing them cos body has enough already.
That was more than 1 mth ago and bb has been fine, so i din bother much abt the color anymore.

sleepingdeer,
green cos of sterilizing not well done? My bb poo turned super dark green (like algae) and i panicked. I called the KK helpline and went to PD they all say its formula. So i call milk company, they say it's the ingredient (iron and whey protein) that is passed out. I asked why like that suddenly and they said prob bb not absorbing them cos body has enough already.
That was more than 1 mth ago and bb has been fine, so i din bother much abt the color anymore.

green poo
my bb had little bit of green poo long time ago too. she was on both BM and FM. but so far once oni. dat time my mum said muz be she got scared then got green poo. *roll my eyes*

sleepingdeer
hope ur hubby's tok to MIL will help. the first ride hm fm hosp..expected one. my MIL also like dat.

wendyheng
looks like ur son is jus fussy this period. it will probably go away, jus ve to tahan for this period if u ve done all u can.

wendyheng
his poo is mustard. but, he's only on 1 FM feed per day. Rest of the day is EBM.

Rena
what brand is the travel steraliser? hmm.. me thinking whether to get this one (next time go tour can use) or the big one for my mum. is it good to use? any prob?

SY,
re: Feeding at night
I can't not feed my gal, she will wail like kana tortured like that... last night, she woke up at 1am, 4am and again at 5:30am... I thot she wasn't hungry at 530am, so kicked my hubby out of bed to settle her... who knows, the sniffing became crying, and the crying became wailing, and only stopped when she latched on greedily... can only conclude that she is having growth spurt... sigh!

Re: colour of Poo
yah, maybe the milk content also affects the colour of poo also huh?

Poo

My ds's poo used to be watery green. He's on FM and only 1 EBM feed a day. But since 2 days ago, he started have yellow mustard colour poo that looks a lot like plasticin. My hb said maybe we can knead into something. :p

Krissie..

it is pigeon brand.. it can only hold 2 bottle.. quite good.. I bought 2 one in my mum place and one for travelling..

RE: feeding..

my boy is getting terrible.. now drinking much lesser.. usually he can finish 5oz but now only 3 oz.. sometime only 2.. so nowadays I only give him 4 oz.. but still can't finish.. I am worried..

i really hope the massage will come soon.. coz I heard that massage bb before feeding the can drink better less cranky .. or after feeding 2 hours they can get rid of the air easier and sleep better..

Re: Feeding

My boy is now taking 150ml 6 times a day. He's terribly underweight, now it's playing catch up. He has gained about 400g to 500g per week. Now then finally reach the 5kg mark. Hopefully he'll be on par with his peers soon.

wendy heng,

the massage is free.. with compliments of cindy's friend.. on the 8th april the gathering.. we will be having high tea.. so only need to pay for food.. and to pay for the instructor's share only.. you are welcome to join..

RE: instructions for the flash cards

for those who come I will just give the instructions .. me so lazy to count.. I will print some extras.. also..

I will PM those who are coming the address of the gathering...

Mashy,
how old is your boy? Dun worry, by the rate he is drinking, he'll catch up super soon!

Rena,
Hear from frens that bbies will want to 'regulate' their own body weight so that they can achieve the proper physical milestones.. too heavy cannot flip and crawl as easily.
I can understand how you feel. My boy also like that... heartache and worried if they start using up their 'reserves'.

Rena,
probably what Cindy said is true. my girl is only 5.35kg at 3 months plus and she finish her 120ml 3hrly till the last drop. no sign of change in feeding pattern. wanted to increase for her but she refuse the extra so we just let it be.

re: mastitis
had a slight fever yesterday. went home after lunch to latch on directly hoping to unblock the blocked duct but still can't do so. finally got Yen Ping (LC from KKH) today and she asked me to see a dr to get a course of antibiotics coz fever means infection. really quite reluctant to start the antibiotics. asked the dr if I can start later and he said that the bacteria is already present, if I don't start then there is a chance that it may come back again. I have decided to wait for another day to start since I don't have fever already. will take raw garlic to replace the antibiotics since raw garlic also has antibiotics properties.

re: baby poo
my baby has been passing motion 2-3 times daily. at times, there is lot of poo. Poo is mostly pasty, more on the wet side. she is on 90%BM. thought that BM should be adsorbed almost totally by now. was taking fernugreek previously. wonder if it has something to do with that. does any of you know?

Tracy,
yes, still taking DHA & Calcium...
actually the caltrate 600 can be bought at Watsons/ Gaurdian... I'm going to see her tomolo for DHA.

sy,

i lug the pump to work everyday.. It's heavy but i find that it's good - I can get more with this pump. I find the manual pump good but tiring.

denmy,
ya - if you are latching her on at night then no need to pump already - so tiring. I think this is when your ms is already established. If you still want to increase your ms then pump every 3 hrly. It's really effective.

sleepingdeer,

I bought the carter dresses - not the rompers. : ) The dresses are really sweet.

mashy,

my baby's on tbf. Her poo is always mustard yellow in colour and doesn't smell.

mongs,

my baby's on tbf. She also poos 2 -3 times daily and the morning poos always very heavy one. But if I notice that the frequency is already a lot lesser than when she's younger. Previously, she poos before she feeds and poos after she feeds.

I think it should be alright if your baby grows well. Don't worry too much.

SSF
my mum was the one who fed him water. initially i tot he will refuse his milk after tat but he was ok. waited a while b4 feeding his milk after drinking water.

my boy's poo is yellowish though he takes FM.

7 hours n u dun feel engorged? though my MS not a lot, i have blocked ducts when i was lazy and din pump for 6 hours.... got to massage so hard in the end...

sleepingdeer,
i think i have no choice but to bring my PIS everyday cos i tried to use the avent n can't extraxt much milk...

good to hear that u will be getting your hb to talk to MIL.actually for the first ride home, my mum carried my boy. guess if it's MIL, i wd feel differently.

wendyheng
mine also not easily pacified. my fren's bb really very guai. sleep thru the night and toilet trained at 2 months plus. i also tried not giving milk last night and in the end give also...

mashy
my boy's poo also like tat but it smells real bad...

baby poo
gee, my bb started to poo only on alternate days since i started work. she's on 4 feeds of BM & 2 of FM, been like dat since birth. but the poo still yellow and watery so i dun wori abt it. but last sun & mon she didnt poo, till tue. when she did, it was ALOT!

Denmy,
ya, i saw the calcium at e pharmacies.

RE: gathering (8th april)

The final price will be 10.80 per person and 21.60 per couple.. money can be transfered to me or pay me on that day.. I will be ordering the food TODAY therefore.. no more withdrawers

this is the latest list
1) rena + hubby + bb
2) sunny + hubby + bb
3) cindy + cindy's mom + bb
4) queen + hubby + bb
5) Denmy + hubby + elder son
6) sl + hubby + bb
7) mongs + hubby + bb
8) pochacco + hubby + bb
9) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb
10)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom + bb
11) Wenyl + hb/wenyl's mom + bb
12) SY + hubby + bb
13) Clare + hubby + bb

There may be no nursing room therefore bring EBM may be a better idea..

Things to bring for the massage

1) one big soft towel
2) mattress/exercise mat to lay on floor (optional)
3) Your own preferred lotion/oil if you have. Otherwise, Johnson's Baby Lotion & Oil will be provided

Mongs,
take care! Must be tough... I also took antibotics when I was hit with severe stomach flu... the doc say some may pass to bb, but it's harmless, just that of course the best is if bb doesn't get exposed to antibotics but her own body develop immunity...

Re: Baby poo
My gal also suddenly reduced poo frequency since I went back to work, now it's once in 2 days, she is on 80% BM... it's very pasty and yellow brownish...

Mashy - my boi also now taking 150ml every 4 hourly. i think our boi is born on the same day 1st jan, rite?

Rena - thanks for arranging. i will get to see your cubby boi and all the babies on sat...

SY - how much my boi poo is green colour... PD say normal????

Poo:

Started Cephas on Semi-solids. His poo is still yellowish-greenish & pasty likfe before. However he poos 3 times everyday instead of twice since he started on semi-solids.

RE: food

as we are ordering the mini high tea. it does not come with the warmers therefore most of the items I choose would be pastries is it ok.. however there will be one dish of the pineapple rice.. the rest will be sandwich, spring rolls pastries and drinks...
let me kow if anyone object..

sy - ya... PD say fm will cause the poo poo to be greenish esp for enfalac. similac will be slight more yellowish. i have just recently change the fm to similar so got to wait for the result. ur boi on wat milk?

Rena,
I m ok with the food selection. Thanks for arranging. By the way, do invite ur uncle & his family to the buffet. I m sure most of us would like to thank him for booking the function room for us.
I m looking forward to the gathering! I want to bao bao ur SUMO boy ley!

Sysac,
How often do u feed Cephas with semi-solids? Is it only once in the morning? U are giving him Chor-Bi rite? Where do u buy them? I m tinkg of getting organic cereals from Supernature but the shop is in Orchard. I hardly go town nowadays.

Here's a pic of Ethan taken today doing "pushup" on the playmat. He flipped shortly after the photo was taken. Caught me by surprise.

399296.jpg